Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vivitar Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Vivitar Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Designed with the extreme sports enthusiast in mind, the Vivitar 12.1mp Digital Camcorder, DVR 787HD makes it easy to capture every skydiving, biking, rafting, snowboarding, surfing or other excellent adventure in dynamic, Full HD 1080p at 30 fps. With its easy-to-use remote control and bike/ATV and helmet mounts included, the Vivitar 12.1mp Digital Camcorder, DVR 787HD is perfect for hands-free recording of every heart pounding second in first-person point of view to share the adventure with friends. The Vivitar DVR Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit remote lets you capture only the footage and still shots you want with the touch of a button, without having to stop or fumble with the camera. This on-demand start and stop recording means you can capture only the most exciting shots and leave out the boring stuff to conserve storage capacity and save time in the video editing process.
Average Customer Rating:
3.809 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
36
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation81%89 out of 110reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 136 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
36
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Great action camera

06/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Vivitar 787 HD is a great action camera with 1080p HD image, came with waterproof case all the mounts; outdor kit mount, surf kit mount, car mount, helmet mount. The Vivitar 787 come with all you need for your adventures.
I do recommend this product if you are looking for a action camera.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

awesome camera

05/30/2014
By ,
hubert nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this camera i had doubts about but i fish daily and take pics and video all the time ,easy to use downfall is camera back screen shuts off quickly but it is still recording and thats what counts a quick tap of the the button and the screen comes back on.
alot of bad reports from others but from me nothing but good,pic qaulity is great not as good as a go pro but this camera isnt 300.00 it is great HD and still pics come out great,as i said it is not a go prob but it is a good quality camera for the money.
picture and video is a little grainy in low light but worth every pennie i spent ;)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Great little action camera

05/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was considering one of other brands at a much higher price. The Vivitar was an easy decision for my first action camera. The high definition video is great for driving through real estate projects to capture video of development progress. Pictures are worth 1,000 words. Video is worth 10,000 words. If you need still images to use in presentation, screen prints work just fine. I have recommended the Vivitar 787 to friends and co-workers with kids. It was nice having all the mounts bundled into one package.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Fantastic Price - But came with a Cracked Case

03/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shipping to the store was fast and everything you get with this kit is well worth the great price. My son is using it to tape his Parkour with his friends. The waterproof case had a long crack right across where the lens of the camera goes. My son says it's okay because he'll probably not use it but that was one of the selling features for me. Seems odd that a large crack like that, right in the middle of where the lens goes, wasn't noticed by the quality people. All in all my son likes it and has used it quite a bit. Wish it had come undamaged, though.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
wilmington delaware
contact the manufacturer
Posted 05/15/2014
i always contact manufacturer and they always replace the broken item with no problem. I do with anything that comes and something is missing/broken
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Bought to use as a dash cam, but okay for fun too

04/20/2014
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a G1W dash cam in my truck. (EXCELLENT DASH CAM if your looking for a AWESOME dash cam buy a G1W). My wife wanted a dash cam for her car, and I wanted one to use in our boat so we bought this. It's not the quality of a real dash cam like the G1W, but it works well. The water proof was wanted for boating.
The attachments are awesome, though we wont use most of them. On Window 7, plugging the camera into the PC the menu pops up and you can click to play the videos. There is a little fish eye effect to it, but looking at the size of the lens it's understandable. The sound works well. Get a YouTube account (free) and you can upload your videos.
I'm not sure how long the water proof case will last as where it locks shut is kind of weak feeling. I would recommend this camera if your wanting something fun while hiking, jogging, or on a joy ride. I wouldn't (WOULD NOT) use it to record precious memories you want though.
I bought a 2 yr warranty for this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Great camera for cruising

06/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera for 2 reasons, to use while riding my motorcycle and also to use for water sport activities. I LOVE this camera for those purposes. I think at $50 you really couldn't ask for any more, all of the mounts are worth that to me. The video is pretty good, and the sound is so sensitive it actually picked up everything I was saying through the helmet. It takes awesome photos and with the vivitar download you have great organizing and editing tools. It's easy to use with a touch screen that is really self explanatory. My only complaint is that the directions for mounts are non existent. The helmet mount is for a bike helmet with big air holes, not a solid motorcycle helmet. I ended up using the car mount (suction cup) which held very well up to speeds of 120 mph. So I'd like to see a better description of the mounts and how they can be used, but a great camera overall for young and old.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

More than worth the money!

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 12 year old son and I were looking in store to purchase Go Pro and was skeptical to spend almost $400 for the set up. Just happened to get redirected when checking out accessories in the store on my phone when this camera popped up. I was surprised when we had read it has the same megapixels as the top of the line Go Pro and decided for $50 what the heck we will give it a try and man is it a good little camera. It has quite a bit of mounting kits (some that we will probably never use) and the waterproof camera. My son could not wait to use so on the way home he talked me into taking him to the community pool so he could try out. Very impressive camera under water. Next he mounted on his bicycle and then the dirt bike. Nothing but new adventures awaiting him and he is super excited to be able to film them now. Thanks Vivitar for making this camera affordable and I hope you are able to make your fortune with this camera and put a dent in the Go Pro market. Did I mention the site to store shipping? Wow 4 days and it was there.
Keep up the great work Vivitar!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

don't waste your time....

02/01/2014
By ,
Savannah, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I see the price has jumped up from 49.88 to 99.00 .....it should drop to 19.99
This overall, with all the accessories, seems like a great deal. It would be if it was a little more user friendly. Some of the pictures in the tiny manual didn't look like the product accessory given. Very vague instructions. Opened mine up to find one of the mounts was broken. Not such a big deal. Used it once, filmed a car video. Thought it was filming consistently, but it paused and restarted every 3 mins. Not such a big deal, the touch screen is difficult to use unless you have tiny fingers.
The next time I went to use it, I mounted it on my Motorcycle, turned it on....it showed it working. Got to my destination, only to find out the screen had froze up. Per instructions, pushed in the reset button, it unfroze but lost all if any video it had recorded. Now, the next time I went to use it, it would not even come on. Got my money back.....don't waste your time on this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

**CARD ERROR**

06/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited upon receiving this camera. It has a lot of mounting accessories for different activities. The problem I have was constantly getting a Card Error. I have 4 different types of microSD cards. Kingston Class 4 8GB microSDHC, Samsung Class 6 8GB microSDHC and Samsung Class 10 16GB EVO microSDHC. To my dismay, non of these worked. I tried to format each of them and even formatting the card through my Sony digital camera but the same thing happens. I also tried resetting it through the reset button to no avail. Initially, the Class 10 seemed to work when I put it in, but when I clicked on record, it gives that error. I also followed an advice to connect this to the computer with the card in it but unfortunately, it will not read it. I guess the card reader/writer of this camera is done. Luckily, I bought a 2yr plan for this for 5 bucks so hopefully I could make use of it. Otherwise, I will need to return it. I like this camera and all the accessories so hopefully I could get a new one or have it replaced with one that actually works. I suggest testing this camera right away to make sure you are not getting the error as I experienced when received.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Picture quality and Playback is excellent,

07/21/2014
By ,
Bellbrook, ohio, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This excelled all my expectations with just one exception the sound quality on playback, I'm still finding out just what this can do, and I feel I can tweak this to improve the sound.
I would recommend this to my friends, in fact I have, and they are looking to purchase after seeing the video footage of a recent Motorcycle trip along the Dragon's Tail, looked spectacular and was to ride also. if you want an alternative to the go pro, with little lost in picture quality, this is the camera for you, a must is the 32 Gig SD card
With all the attachments that came with this package, it is the absolute best value for money, the options are all covered.
best value for money at $50
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Cluncky and poor design

02/10/2014
By ,
KC, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this camera in just a few days time even though I really tried to like it. I purchase it since it had a rugged dust and waterproof case, but this becomes a big stumbling block when trying to switch between camera modes. You literally have to stop what you are doing, remove the camera from the case, switch modes, place it back in the case, then reset the camera mounting. And that my friends, is absolute rubbish! If you keep you fingernails trimmed short, it will be very difficult to operate the case latch also. The video capture perspective is very odd and does not give a real feel look to what is actually being shot. As well, the sound quality is very muffled with odd noises that certainly are not heard in the real world.
The only positives I can give this camera is that it takes a wonderful still image that is much better than a typical cell phone image. Also, it has a great array of mounting options that are probably more valuable than the camera itself.
So all in all, I would not even consider this as an entry level camera. Simply save more money and purchase something that is a proven performer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Better than expected

03/12/2014
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the kit mostly because of the mounts that were included and that they were compatible with gopros. For $40, it was well worth it just for the mounts. Obviously the video quality isn't as good as my GoPro Hero3+, but it's pretty good for the price. The video starts to become grainy when there's an overcast but is still visible under a well lit area in the evening. The best part about the camera is that it has a touchscreen lcd display. The display automatically turns off by itself after a minute but there is also a button on the camera to turn it off or on. You can record in 1080p/60fps/30fps or 720p/30fps resolution. You can also record with the camera upside down by simply pressing one of the buttons on the lcd display.
So far I've only used the camera in car mode since I primarily used it as a dashcam or security camera. The camera has a small blue led light in the front and although it's not too bright that it would distract other drivers, I covered it up with tape. When in car mode, it automatically turns on and records whenever it's plugged in. It divides the videos into 3 minute parts and continually records by looping over the oldest video files when the memory card becomes full. When it's not plugged in, the battery life lasts about 2 hours (when recording in 720p). With a 32gb memory card, you can record about 8 hours of 720p video. Overall, I'm impressed with it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Great Value - Incredibly flexible Mounting

06/23/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this package! More mounting options than I'll ever likely use at a very low price in contrast to its performance.
I read a dozen or more reviews on this package before buying it which included remarks regarding it's low light sensitivity being weak and that it had limited battery life, and was really a daylight-only camcorder. And I can see where for some this might be an issue. This camera has a tiny sensor and performs accordingly. If you want perfect full HD recording then you need to find something that has a much larger sensor - but you won't find one for less than a few hundred dollars!
I haven't tried it as car camcorder but can easily see why using it in a car at night might have poor performance, ie a very grainy picture. But used at night indoors in normal room lighting it was fine.
But I bought it to use a helmet cam on my daylight bicycle rides - and for that purpose it's been perfect! The video quality at FHD (1920x1080x30fps is quite good and shows little motion aritfacting - meaning that objects moving relative to other objects don't get jagged-edged or blurry. But the overall picture is slightly fuzzy compared to my Canon camcorder that cost 20 times as much money. But the overall color balance in daylight is excellent. And the slight fuzziness of the picture is only really apparent when shown on a large screen like my 61" older rear-projection TV.
Considering the overall good quality of daylight recording, it's the incredible array of mounting options that come with the camera that push the value proposition way up there. The box contained several plastic bags worth of what were retailed-packaged accessories - as though they were bundling every option you could get for this camera in this one package. Surfboard/skateboard mount, 2 different kinds of Car mounts (windshield and dashboard), the waterproof case, two kinds of bicycle mounts (or rather, a handlebar/pole mount, and a ventilated helmet-type strap mount), and an "outdoor" strap mount that you could use on upper arm mount and possibly in other ways.
I used the ventilated helmet strap mount. It's worth noting that it did not come with a barehead strap mount. None of the mounts included had a strap long enough that you use it on your bare head, let alone around a helmet. To secure the hemet mount you have to run the straps through 2 of the ventilation holes. But the way they implemented those strap mounts you are using two straps to independently secure the mount so that the loosening of any one of the straps won't cause the mount to become loose. And once I got the straps tightened, they haven't loosened up at all.
Another nice aspect of the various mount options is that they all use standard 1/4" camera mount threading such as is found on the most expensive DSLRs and old 35mm Cameras and down to the simple point and shoot cameras. In other words, all of these mounting options can be used with almost any other camera you are likely to own. Altought mostly plastic and not likely to take the load of an old VHS full-size camcorder or a Hasselblad or an SLR with a long lens, the mounts ought to work with almost any other digital camera you may already own.
So what you get is a decent full HD daylight camcorder plus an array of mounts you can use with other cameras as well, unlike the proprietary mounts of some other action camera systems.
As far as day to day usage, the camera's menu system is easy to use although the touch screen seems a little insensitive, i.e. often takes more than one press to take your input. But functions well otherwise. Menu system leaves a bit to be desired and takes getting used to, but this is, after all, a set and forget kind of camera - you're going to mount it in some way and then all you're normally going to do is start it and stop it. And the power on and start stop buttons are large and easy to access, even when mounted in the waterproof shell. The camera provides good on and off indications via blinking lights so it's obvious when it is recording and when its not.
As to battery life which I read complaints about in other reviews, in my experience it lasts over 50 minutes - how much more I don't know as that's as long as I have so far needed in one go. I suspect it will go more than an hour - assuming you turn off the display on the back. Probably the largest shortener of battery life in most modern devices is the energy put into illuminating the display. On the back of the camera on the upper left side is a button which turns the display on and off. While you're driving and shouldn't be looking at the display, or when you're riding or surfing or running, you shouldn't be watching the display so switch it off. I've read where some people claimed battery life was 40 minutes or less - probably is if you leave the display on. But why do that - the camera has blinking and static LEDs that tell you it's alive and recording - once you've confirmed that why would you want the display on sucking down the battery and presenting a visual distraction - if you can even see it on a helmet or bike mount or while surfing or snowboarding?
But because I was concerned about battery life, I investigated using an external battery source via the usb port. And unlike some devices I've run into, plugging something into the USB port does not force you into a mode where the device acts only as a disk drive. I had some external USB battery packs that were designed as portable cellphone chargers that when plugged into the camera worked perfectly, i.e. the camera had all its normally functionality but now had a much higher capacity battery system powering it. I haven't yet been able to determine how much longer but I'm expecting several hours - all from a battery pack that plugs right into the usb port on the camera. and weighs about as much as the camera. Such a device, velcro'ed onto my helmet will hardly be noticeable and will extend the battery life of the camera. I think I paid something like $20 for the external battery some years ago. So if having the camera run longer on it's non-replaceable internal battery is an issue, there's a simple and straightforward fix by using any of the external cellphone portable rechargers. Just make sure you get one that uses the mini USB plug rather than a micro USB plug like most modern cellphones use.
Another complaint in other reviews had to do with a shaky picture - that the handlebar mount resulted in a lousy blurry picture. I think people tend to forget the amount of vibration they absorb through their body, certainly on trail riding but even on smooth highways. When you mount something to the handlebars or forks you're going to get a lot of vibration. I have seen some decent video from handlebar-mounted camcorders - but it's always been from pro riders doing tricks or in competition where I think it likely they were using much more expensive equipment with camera shake isolation and image stabilization systems - not what you can expect from what is basically a $50 camera system. I've used helmet mounted systems and even sunglasses-based systems before. And I can safely say that if you want to record your rides you need a good shock absorber between the camera and the road - and there's no absorber better than your own legs and your butt off the seat if you want smooth video. So if you're going to record riding events on a bicycle, don't waste time on mounting to the handlebars. It was barely watchable in SD on my previous systems and will make you sick trying to watch in HD I think. Mount the camera to the helmet.
But therein lies my one complaint about this package - the lack of a mount that would work well as a sidemount to my bicycle helmet. Based on the ventilation holes available to me there was no way I could mount the camera to the side of the helmet - without drilling which is not the best thing to do to a lightweight bicycle helmet. So the camera sticks up a good 3+" above my helmet - which means you have to stay alert to the clearance above your helmet when riding on trails with overhanging branches you used to clear with ease. I've whacked the camera a couple of times now but am gradually learning to duck slightly more as I approach those trees. In defense of the camera - not a single glitch as a result - continued working without a hitch.
The last thing I'll say is about the recording method. It appears the camera creates videos in half-hour long segments in single files, at least in FHD mode, the only mode I've used so far. That means that that if you ride more than 30 minutes there will be at least two files, i.e.as many files as their are half-hour segments in your recording sessions. If you use a USB car charger to power the camera beyond its presumed hour-long battery life, to record say a long car trip (it said I could record 5.5 hours on the 32GB microSD card I installed, 8 hours in HD 30fps mode) then what you'll find at the end are several files. I used an external video editor to combine the files and they match perfectly indicating that the break between files did not cause the camera to miss recording anything for any significant faction of a second.
So - I like it - a great value for the money and gives you accessories you can use for other purposes and devices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Great camera for the money.

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: This camera really works! The image quality is good. It's easy to use and very compact. I've tested it on my motorcycle, in my car and in the pool with the kids. The bundle is loaded with mounting options, a memory card and a wireless remote.
Cons: I couldn't down load video to Facebook( Not sure if it's possible). Some of the screws on certain mounts were too short to secure the camera. I had a lot of bouncy video on my motorcycle but very smooth and clear mounted in the car (could by my suspension). The three minute video bites in car mode is very annoying.
If you're looking to make professional quality video get a GoPro. But for the average Joe it's a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Incredible deal compared to goPro, but mine broke

04/09/2014
By ,
Philadelphia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let me start off by saying i purchased this bundle in February for the sale price of $40 including all mounts. It was a great deal and even at $55 I would recommend it over the goPro for anyone casually looking to use an action camera as when it comes to function they are pretty much identical.
Anyway the camera is easy to use and does what it says but it isnt perfect. The touch screen controls are fairly cumbersome and laggy, the camera feels cheap and plasticky and it is terrible in any low light situation whatsoever.
However, the video quality is exactly on par with what youd get using a $300 gopro. Sound recording is better than expected, and all of the included mounts work great. The water proof mount works, I snorkeled with it, and the adhesive helmet mount is solid.
Now the reason I give it 3 stars is because I purchased in Feb and the unit has just stopped working in April. It lasted less than two months. The record button has broken and lost its click, meaning the camera records and stops recording every few seconds because the button is just stuck in the 'engaged' mode. I have emailed Vivitar about the problem and hopefully they will replace it, as the unit is supposed to have a 1 yr warranty.
If vivitar replaces my camera I would give this camera 4 stars but as it is I have to give it 3 since it broke within two months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Questionable mounts

07/27/2014
By ,
Lakeland, Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was a purchase for the action mounts and underwater photography. However it appears I wont be able to use any of the mounts. I cant tell if the recessed hole is to deep in the camera of if the screws for the mounts are to short, but none the less I cannot use any of the mounts. Very little cooperation with Wal MArt about a return. Seems you can only return cameras in the first 15 days. I waited to long to check the mounts. I have used it underwater and as a camcorder and it has been wonderful, but I wont be able to use it like a go pro. I wonder if I can find another camera that can utilize the mounts. It could be worth while to invest in another camera cause the mounts would cost more than the 49 I paid for the whole kit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

First Camera was defective

07/14/2014
By ,
Greenville SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had to call to get my camera replaced, the battery expired after 10 or 15 minutes. The tech support people were not happy dealing with me even though I had purchased the warranty upgrade.
My replacement camera came in OK but I didn't care for the tech support attitude. The second camera is everything I had expected it to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

You get what you pay for!

01/17/2014
By ,
mission, texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Im going to return this unit, me and my friend purchase one. Their is an AUDIO sync issue & also the video freezes sometimes, I have tried many things for example: use a faster sd card class (10), I tried recording in different modes and quality, reset the unit,re-formatting the card which I have tried 3.. This issue is on both cameras. We are both returning it, if u don't care about the audio sync then you should be fine. The video quality is good, and is very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Very good quality for the money

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I contemplated on getting a more expensive action camera, but this met all my expectations. Very high quality images and video! Took it to Hawaii and did a lot of adventurous activities. The waterproof case worked very well and kept the camera dry. It came with many mounts but the main one that would have been helpful is a chest strap. It came with an arm strap that I mainly used. It would also be nice if it came with a stylus because it was hard to push the buttons. Overall I would recommend this to anyone that wants a good action camera for a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Waterproof Kit

Great Gopro alternative

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product. Comes with everything that you will need. Works great in water. Compatible with gopro accessories.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next