Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vivitar Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Vivitar Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Designed with the extreme sports enthusiast in mind, the Vivitar 12.1mp Digital Camcorder,DVR 787HD makes it easy to capture every skydiving, biking, rafting, snowboarding, surfing or other excellent adventure in dynamic, Full HD 1080p at 30 fps. With its easy-to-use remote control and bike/ATV and helmet mounts included, the Vivitar 12.1mp Digital Camcorder,DVR 787HD is perfect for hands-free recording of every heart pounding second in first-person point of view to share the adventure with friends. The Vivitar DVR Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit remote lets you capture only the footage and still shots you want with the touch of a button, without having to stop or fumble with the camera. This on-demand start and stop recording means you can capture only the most exciting shots and leave out the boring stuff to conserve storage capacity and save time in the video editing process.
Average Customer Rating:
3.705 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation77%47 out of 61reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 73 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Fantastic Price - But came with a Cracked Case

03/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shipping to the store was fast and everything you get with this kit is well worth the great price. My son is using it to tape his Parkour with his friends. The waterproof case had a long crack right across where the lens of the camera goes. My son says it's okay because he'll probably not use it but that was one of the selling features for me. Seems odd that a large crack like that, right in the middle of where the lens goes, wasn't noticed by the quality people. All in all my son likes it and has used it quite a bit. Wish it had come undamaged, though.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

don't waste your time....

02/01/2014
By ,
Savannah, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I see the price has jumped up from 49.88 to 99.00 .....it should drop to 19.99
This overall, with all the accessories, seems like a great deal. It would be if it was a little more user friendly. Some of the pictures in the tiny manual didn't look like the product accessory given. Very vague instructions. Opened mine up to find one of the mounts was broken. Not such a big deal. Used it once, filmed a car video. Thought it was filming consistently, but it paused and restarted every 3 mins. Not such a big deal, the touch screen is difficult to use unless you have tiny fingers.
The next time I went to use it, I mounted it on my Motorcycle, turned it on....it showed it working. Got to my destination, only to find out the screen had froze up. Per instructions, pushed in the reset button, it unfroze but lost all if any video it had recorded. Now, the next time I went to use it, it would not even come on. Got my money back.....don't waste your time on this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Cluncky and poor design

02/10/2014
By ,
KC, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this camera in just a few days time even though I really tried to like it. I purchase it since it had a rugged dust and waterproof case, but this becomes a big stumbling block when trying to switch between camera modes. You literally have to stop what you are doing, remove the camera from the case, switch modes, place it back in the case, then reset the camera mounting. And that my friends, is absolute rubbish! If you keep you fingernails trimmed short, it will be very difficult to operate the case latch also. The video capture perspective is very odd and does not give a real feel look to what is actually being shot. As well, the sound quality is very muffled with odd noises that certainly are not heard in the real world.
The only positives I can give this camera is that it takes a wonderful still image that is much better than a typical cell phone image. Also, it has a great array of mounting options that are probably more valuable than the camera itself.
So all in all, I would not even consider this as an entry level camera. Simply save more money and purchase something that is a proven performer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Better than expected

03/12/2014
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the kit mostly because of the mounts that were included and that they were compatible with gopros. For $40, it was well worth it just for the mounts. Obviously the video quality isn't as good as my GoPro Hero3+, but it's pretty good for the price. The video starts to become grainy when there's an overcast but is still visible under a well lit area in the evening. The best part about the camera is that it has a touchscreen lcd display. The display automatically turns off by itself after a minute but there is also a button on the camera to turn it off or on. You can record in 1080p/60fps/30fps or 720p/30fps resolution. You can also record with the camera upside down by simply pressing one of the buttons on the lcd display.
So far I've only used the camera in car mode since I primarily used it as a dashcam or security camera. The camera has a small blue led light in the front and although it's not too bright that it would distract other drivers, I covered it up with tape. When in car mode, it automatically turns on and records whenever it's plugged in. It divides the videos into 3 minute parts and continually records by looping over the oldest video files when the memory card becomes full. When it's not plugged in, the battery life lasts about 2 hours (when recording in 720p). With a 32gb memory card, you can record about 8 hours of 720p video. Overall, I'm impressed with it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

You get what you pay for!

01/17/2014
By ,
mission, texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Im going to return this unit, me and my friend purchase one. Their is an AUDIO sync issue & also the video freezes sometimes, I have tried many things for example: use a faster sd card class (10), I tried recording in different modes and quality, reset the unit,re-formatting the card which I have tried 3.. This issue is on both cameras. We are both returning it, if u don't care about the audio sync then you should be fine. The video quality is good, and is very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Great for the price. A lot of mounting options

01/19/2014
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's not bad for the price. But I have already broken a helmet mount and the latch for the water proof housing. A pen will open the housing just fine I used a knife and broke it.. Also if you are wondering it records in .avi It has to be converted to mp4. Before it can viewed on an I pad or used in iMovie. It does not have image stabilization, But the picture quality is very good. Also the battery last about 2 hours. You can film with the camera mounted upside down. It also records at 30 fps 1080p or 60 fps 720p. I have mostly used this camera mountain biking and am very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Great deal

02/08/2014
By ,
Winter Haven, Fl.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this camera a couple of days before a fishing trip and did not really read all the directions but still managed to film some pretty good footage. I think this is a great deal. I clamped the camera in its waterproof case to top rail on boat console and used the remote. The video is pretty good for the cloudy, dark day we were having. I also love all of the accessories that came with the camera. I followed another reviewers suggestion and purchased a 32 GB card. Don't make the same mistake I made when I ordered mine. The camera takes a mini card. I ordered a regular one. Took an extra trip to Wal-Mart but they took it back and got us the right card with no problem.
The only reason I did not give it five stars is that I have only had it a couple of weeks and will have to wait to see how well it holds up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Does not work. Continually locks up.

03/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love action cams, I have 3, and I thought I would supplement my collection with this economical vivitar. I kept my expectations for video quality in check of course, given the price.
Unfortunately I couldn't even get that far with the camera, It locks up constantly which requires holding the tiny reset button with a paper clip until it reboots (sometimes twice)
It never runs more than a few minutes, before locking up, and of course I make sure its all charged up.
very disappointed, Ill see how walmart support handles it.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Great price and specs, lousy results.

02/14/2014
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This package was a great price and everything appeared to be good quality. The quality of the video was so disappointing that I only used it for one day and returned it. The return was very easy, no hassle. Great Walmart customer service! For me it was worth trying because of the price, but in this case you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Piece of junk.

02/01/2014
By ,
Annapolis, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It arrived with a broken hinge on the "waterproof case", and the camera would not focus on anything. Bright daylight, outside, inside, sunset, mid afternoon - no matter the light levels, everything was blurry.
It's going back tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Incredible deal compared to goPro, but mine broke

04/09/2014
By ,
Philadelphia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let me start off by saying i purchased this bundle in February for the sale price of $40 including all mounts. It was a great deal and even at $55 I would recommend it over the goPro for anyone casually looking to use an action camera as when it comes to function they are pretty much identical.
Anyway the camera is easy to use and does what it says but it isnt perfect. The touch screen controls are fairly cumbersome and laggy, the camera feels cheap and plasticky and it is terrible in any low light situation whatsoever.
However, the video quality is exactly on par with what youd get using a $300 gopro. Sound recording is better than expected, and all of the included mounts work great. The water proof mount works, I snorkeled with it, and the adhesive helmet mount is solid.
Now the reason I give it 3 stars is because I purchased in Feb and the unit has just stopped working in April. It lasted less than two months. The record button has broken and lost its click, meaning the camera records and stops recording every few seconds because the button is just stuck in the 'engaged' mode. I have emailed Vivitar about the problem and hopefully they will replace it, as the unit is supposed to have a 1 yr warranty.
If vivitar replaces my camera I would give this camera 4 stars but as it is I have to give it 3 since it broke within two months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

you barely get what you paid for

03/01/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The accessories that come with the camera are worth the money. Huge selection. The camera is just above the quality of a Barbie. It constantly freezes and needs resetting. The touch screen work about 60% of the time. However when the camera does work it does a good job.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Inexpensive camera

02/13/2014
By ,
Chico, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture quality is wonderful!! I was rather disappointed with the sound quality. I figured it was because I had the camera in it's waterproof casing, which makes sense. So I recorded a few minutes without it and got the same result...poor quality sound. I thought the bundle would be a great deal but i have yet to even open up all the kits.
I also found that the threads on the camera are deep and do not catch the threads on the attatchments, but the waterproof casing is much easier to attach.
Overall, I like the camera although I have yet to use it to it's full potential.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Using it as a car cam

12/24/2013
By ,
Mountain View, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can't beat the price with all the included accessories. I'm using it as a car cam and the video comes out very clear. Only reason I'm giving it a 4 star for this 2nd tier camera is that the touch screen doesn't work well. Have to use a stylus to poke hard on it. Other then that it works fine as a car cam.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

incredible value

12/21/2013
By ,
Dallas, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a Hourly Special but even at it's full MSRP it would still be a great value. Especially when you consider all of the standard mounts that are included. A comparable Go Pro with mounts could easily cost five times as much as the Vivitar.
The camera's picture quality is very good. Depending on the quality setting you use it will record between 5-8 hours on one charge (with a 32gb card). I was impressed enough with this camera that as soon as I looked at it I ordered one for a friend.
I have not yet tried it attached to my motorcycle or kayak but I have no reason not to think that it will do great. All of the mounts and the water proof case seem solid and well made. The camera by itself will easily fit in a shirt pocket and take still or video shots
Again....a GREAT value!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Great camera for the price

04/10/2014
By ,
Washington state
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This camera is easy to use and quality is good. Like the wide angle feature and LCD display. The extra attachments are worth the price alone. Very pleased. My first action camera and did not want to try out on events with expensive one. May update later but do not see any reason now. Have a Mac and must use a card reader as the camera will not download on maverick OS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Had to return product

02/22/2014
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to return the camera. The latch on the water proof housing was broken right out of the box. The plastic bags that the accessories were in were dry rotted and opened. I didn't even try out the camera. I wasn't expecting much based on the low price, but I never expected such poor quality from Vivitar.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Not happy with product

12/25/2013
By ,
Mechanicsville, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The safety locking device is broken and the product has to be returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Excellent camera for the price !!!

02/22/2014
By ,
Glenwood Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Im really satisfied with this camera! the accessories are amazing! you have everything!
The quality of the image and the sound is good too! for this price you cant find anything better !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vivitar DVR 787HD 12.1MP Action Full HD Camcorder with Universal Car Kit, Surf Kit and Outdoors Kit

Good for daytime videos use only

03/07/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased 2 kits, both USB cable too tight to plug in & finally one was broken apart.
One camera not able to transmit the videos to PC & got freeze forever with the front sensor light turned half pink & blue.
The other one works good during the day under FHD 30 fps, able to see the front vehicle license plates. But then night time, very poor & dim videos taken anywhere. Microphone has a good quality recording. The car kits are good to be used. Automatically turn on/off with cig. charger. The camera tested with 5MP & 12MP, both are very poor blurry quality.
Overall, if you are looking for a cheap DVR daytime use only, it is for you.
But consider using video under no sun anywhere or 24/7, or thinking about using the camera even as 5MP-12MP, the quality is poor, better look for something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next