Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Microsoft Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Microsoft Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

This 32 GB Microsoft Surface 2 Tablet weighs less than 1.5 pounds and with Windows RT 8.1 and Office 2013 RT pre-installed, you carry less while you do more. This device features a NVIDIA Tegra 4 processor and a high-resolution touchscreen with a Surface keyboard. The Microsoft Surface tablet PC also has a 5MP webcam at the back for taking pictures and making movies, and a 3.5MP HD webcam with microphone at the front for making video calls. The 32 GB of storage gives you plenty of room for all your files, pictures and movies and with the built-in WiFi and Bluetooth, it's easy to stay connected.
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation89%25 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 76 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Great for School and Work

11/22/2013
By ,
Trinidad and Tobago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the surface 2 mainly because my laptop is way to heavy to tote with me to work and school. I'm a teacher, so having the surface 2 at my disposal to update class records and quickly search online is invaluable. As part time economics student, the surface allows me the flexibility to carry less physical books (thank God). Plus I've been getting more looks from other students asking me about the device. They usually marvel at the build structure and the functional keypad and kickstand. Entertainment wise, its great for watching my movies and the inbuilt bowser is great for streaming movies and watching game from my NBA broadband subscription.
There are negatives though.
First of all after unboxing my surface and powering it on, I observed constant glitches causing the swipes and gestures to freeze momentarily. This behaviour continued for about 2 days until I finally decided to give my surface a full charge.
The surface is a tad bit to heavy to function as a one handed use device and only once have I used it in portrait mode. Secondly, using you finger to browse some sites renders the surface almost useless as some dropdown menus on many sites do not seem to respond well to the touch input.
I am also very disappointed with the lack of functionality in Microsoft office 2013 for the surface 2. Many functions that university students actually use excel for aren't there. I frequently had to go back to my desktop to complete assignments.
All in all its a recommended buy if you wanna do more than browse the web and watching movies. I had very high expectations of the surface 2 as a productivity device for a budget consumer like myself and so my negatives will generally outweigh the positive things I spoke about. Nevertheless, The sufrace 2 does what I want it to do 99% of the time, with adequate battery life, 200Gigs of skydrive free (THANK YOU MICROSOFT) and eye-catching design and portability, you can't go wrong. Pleased with my purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Great little computer

11/15/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my son, wanted more than just a expensive photo album. He really likes it, and the Walmart protection plan is awesome for the price, gives me some peace of mind. Unfortunately, make sure you read what comes in the box, because they don't come with the detachable keyboard, as shown in commercials. It runs really good, can actually get to a desktop, and the office works good too, its actually kind of snappy. Awesome USB 3 port, popup keypad on the screen, and my son said there is feedback as you type as it sort of buzzes. I can't speak to battery life, haven't had it long enough so I don't want to speculate or give false answer, sorry. Remember Microsoft doesn't have all the apps I guess the others do, but if your looking for something that could be more than just a tablet for surfing, this is good because of the detachable keyboard. And, it has that video out port, that's another great feature for making it useful for doing homework if possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Ten stars if I could!! For me the surface!!

11/09/2013
By ,
Westbury
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my Daughter and she loves it. I thought this whole computer pad tablet thing would just be a passing fad. But I started checking it out and fell in love with it. Added the keyboard and it's a fast computer which she can take to school. Record notes in school. She even has all her textbooks on it! Her backpack use to weigh 23 pounds now she leaves the textbooks in school and carries a 1/2 pound Surface. I loved it so much I went and bought my self a Surface pro2. More memory and speed. Guess who wants it now. We added Xbox music for $99.00 a year and now she has every song just released and 40 million other songs. So pretty much every song ever made. With xbox music you can add up to five devices to it. So I have my windows phone with 583 songs, my wife had hers with 804 songs and my daughter has hers with I think somewhere around 1300+ songs. one price every song change them when ever. You don't even want to figure out how much that would of cost me on I tunes. If your interested and like music it's the only way to go. Oh plus built in WiFi. I connect through my cable company who provide it free. I'd give it all 10 stars if I could. Even more. I watched an online torcher test of this and they put it into a freezer for six hours and it powered right up. I can't say enough about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

A great tablet that works like a PC.

06/19/2014
By ,
Pacific, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Surface 2 works on Windows 8 and has Microsoft Word, PowerPoint and Excel. It is great for taking on trips, and can run off your smart phone. It has Microsoft Defender to protect it against virus and spyware. It is great at home when you don't want to drag out your computer. Make sure to get the separate keyboard, it makes using the Surface 2 so much easier, and folds up to protect the screen when you are not using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Great tablet but needs more memory

04/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice tablet especially after all of MS updates got installed. Had to reinstall the OS to get them all to install. The addition of office to 8.1 is a plus but this is still a RT version of windows so this will not run normal windows software also 32GB is barely enough memory. A big down side is the SD card can only be used for files music pictures movies ect. after update and no extra apps I only have 7 GB left. If I were to purchase the Surface again I would go with the pro model with all the internal memory available as they are the full version of 8.1.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Love it

11/12/2013
By ,
Andrews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love this product!! The only thing I don't like about it is the fact that I can't read my eBooks from my online school and I can't download Google Chrome and Firefox.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Absolutely perfect

12/30/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought as a gift for my boyfriend he loves it! Had a little trouble getting it setup but I think after updating the software its been smooth sailing. I'm personally into smaller sized tablets like the Kindle fire so to me the size is awkward. Its a long rectangle. Its very light especially compared to the iPad which in my opinions was very heavy. The kick stand seems sturdy. I expect the app store to grow due to this products popularity. A few key apps I use aren't there (like Pinterest) but I can visit the site through the browser. We arent big into apps and I got this knowing it would replace his netbook and it will definitely be more than a fine replacement for that. The micro SD slot was tricky to find but its there which definitely is huge especially since I couldn't find the 64GB model.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Great product for school work and homework!

11/04/2013
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son bought the Surface 2 for school. It's been the best purchase he's ever made. They do a lot of work that has to be saved to a flash drive then turned in. The Surface having the USB port was the biggest selling point for him, and it's more than paid off!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

SO far so good

12/20/2013
By ,
Ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alright, I did not purchase this tablet at walmart, I purchased it at staples. I don't know if a regular person would be crazy enough to buy this at best buy because even though the price of the tablet itself is the same, the 2 year accidental protection plan is $159.99 at best buy.
At Walmart it's $57 and at staples it's $99.
... FOR 2 YEARS.!
I got mine at staples and only had to pay about $80 because they had some deal where you get something percent off.
Anyways, I am not a techy person
I am an ordinary full time college student who is 20 years old.
I've never owned an ipad, I've fiddled with my aunts before
And I have phones that are on android
This is my first tablet ever, but I used to always keep my moms tablet that was on android.
I really like this tablet
It IS confusing though
I read lots and lots or reviews on this tablet so I knew what I was getting into
I originally wanted a touchscreen laptop, but fell in love with this tablet once I saw it.
ANYWAYS.
I logged in which was easy
I copied all of my music from my mp3 player and put it on the tablet which was confusing at first, but then I figured it out and it copied it to xbox music even though I've never owned or played xbox before.
The whole personalization thing is a little complicated
There isn't as much customization as I thought there would be, but like I said, I have yet to figure everything out on the tablet yet.
I want to change the color of the tiles, but I don't know how.
I don't even know if theres an option.
(Oh yeah, and the tablet comes with NO DIRECTIONS.
Just wanted to through that in there. I really wish they'd give us directions especially since it's not as easy to figure out as android tablets or ipads)
You can delete tiles and move them to bigger spaces
I really like the webcam on the tablet
I was on it in the dark and it looked like I was in a room that was lit.
I played some games on it which was awesome... I think (I'm not a gamer) but from my experience it was so smooth and no lag at all.
I'm pretty sure the tablet will take some time to get used to it
I'm still trying to master pulling the other multitasking things from the side.
You can only do the split screen thing with 2 applications only.
To get to the desktop there should be a tile, or you can assign a tile from the apps menu.
I went on internet explorer on the desktop thing and like reviews said, you should only be on it if you bought the keyboard because otherwise it is a LITTLE hard. Not complicated, but for someone with bigger fingers, you might have a tough time.
I was playing with the touch keyboards in staples and it seemed like I could get used to them so I purchased a white one.
It's really good at picking up wifi.
In my room if I'm on my laptop, it can't pick up the connection.
It will only connect if I move it in a certain position then it will go away
On my android phones I can get connection in my room, but it is poor.
I was playing on the tablet in my room and the connection was excellent.!
I'm really happy about that.
Soso happy.!
I LOVE the dual kickstand it helps A LOT.
One thing that I HATE is that the screen is a fingerprint magnet.
It's so bad that I thought that my screen would stay ruined with prints
Because even when I rubbed it with something, it wouldn't come off or look clean.
I have a certain cloth so I'm going to try cleaning it with that, if it doesn't work I'm going to be very upset.
So PLEASE buy a screen protector.
You can get them on amazon instead of wasting $30 dollars on them in the stores.
Another thing I hate is that in desktop mode the keyboard won't automatically come up.
You have to click it at the bottom of the screen and click X for it to go away.
I's really irritating. i don't know if there is a way to make it pop up automatically when u wanna type something, but if there is I have yet to find it.
I guess that's another reason why they say to stay out of desktop mode if you have no keyboard.
Also in the camera sometimes a light comes on.
I don't know if it's flash or not, but when I turned on the camera a white light turned on in the back.
Also the sound is REALLY loud
I'm so happy it's loud
When I have my headphones in videos are louder on my tablet than on my imac!
Oh yeah!
And like others said there really are barely any apps.
That's okay for me because I'm not a big app person at all.
It doesn't have pandora, or spotify
But it may have SOME of the main ones.
Like I said I'm not an app person so I wouldn't really know.
All I do on computers/tablets is browse the net, listen to music, and do school work.
That's all I can really think of right now
If there is anything else I'll be sure to write.
I bought this tablet for fun and for school work once spring semester comes up.
I'll be able to use word and powerpoint (:
If I think or find out more I'll update!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
UPDATE
Posted 12/22/2013
Okay. I Purchased this tablet Friday, december 20th.
It is now Sunday, December 22.
I was listening to music on my tablet and then the screen turned off.
I didn't think much about it because my music was still playing and I was able to turn up and down the volume.
When I tried to turn the screen back on IT WOULDN'T TURN ON.
The music was playing and everything.
I could still turn up and down the volume but it still wouldn't turn on.!
I held the power button, nothing.
I pressed the power button quickly a couple of times, nothing.
I held it down for about 15 seconds and more but STILL NOTHING.
I start getting irritated and freaking out a bit because I was SO in love with this tablet and spent a lot of money on it.
I put it on the charger and the charger doesn't light up at all.
The music is still playing.
I try looking for a reset button which i can't find
I then think that hopefully the battery will run out on it's own. but it has yet to happen so far
I wait about 5 minutes, put the charger back in and it lights up
So I try turning the screen back on again, but it still has yet to come on.
I google it and it turns out that A LOT of people had this problem with the first one.
I'm so upset.
I spent so much on this tablet and I love love the kickstands and the quickness and the screen
I spent $569 on this tablet and it's already messing up.
I just tried again because I read something online, and it's finally turned on after about an hour or 40 minutes, but that's not the point. It shouldn't have messed up like that in the first place.
I really likeed this tablet and wanted it to work, but I don't know if I should ignore it and keep it. But I also don't want that happening again while I'm doing school work..
Idk if I should return it and buy a cheaper tablet, or just trade it in for a new one, but the new one might do the exact same thing.
Idk, I'm pretty bummed out right now, lol.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Perfect purchase

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not technically savvy so I'm always nervous when I get something new -- but this was so easy to set up and use. I love that you can purchase a cover/keyboard since I do not like using the keyboard on the screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

This is a little powerhouse.

02/03/2014
By ,
The Woodlands Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife has a iPad and my daughter a Kindle but I needed something I could work on and the Surface 2 is GREAT. I have a windows phone and can back and forth with ease and can work off my companies cloud site without a problem. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Exactly What I Expected

11/10/2013
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great display, quick boot, and excellent battery life. I'm not a big app person so the Windows Store issue really did not figure into my decision. I wanted a tablet where I can multi-task, use Office, and get work done without lugging around my 17" laptop.
I originally got the touch keyboard but returned it for the type keyboard. I'm just a little old-fashioned, I like to feel the keys depress when I type. Oh, the Bluetooth wedge mouse is a must!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Better than expected!

11/29/2013
By ,
Arbor Vita, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Takes a while to learn op system. Should include keyboard.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Exactly what I was looking for

12/31/2013
By ,
Belleville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Surface 2 is near perfect. While yes it does lack some apps, all you do is find a third party app or pin the website to your page. The hardware is excellent and the software is beautiful. My only one minor complaint is that my volume rocker buttons are a bit loose. The volume never changes at inappropriate times from it, but if I were to shake my Surface the rocker would rattle against the Surface case. Not a huge deal at all though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Excellent Tablet while it worked

01/14/2014
By ,
Jonesboro, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I picked the Tablet up from the store on Tuesday and took it back to the store on Sunday (less than one week). Without warning, the Tablet stopped powering up. I was very disappointed because I had waited for it to come back in stock for over three weeks. This was my Christmas present to myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ny
not powering up
Posted 01/21/2014
I have had my surface 2 now for almost 2 months. The same thing happened to me and I called Microsoft support. They first had me hold down the power button for 5 sec, and if no power do it again for 10 sec; viola.... it worked. They explains that just before me last shutdown it may have been doing a update and something might have been stuck halfway By holding down the power button longer it made whatever was stuck push through and it worked. Microsoft support is great; talk to a real tech they are very nice and knowledgeable.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Poor rating due to product did not work

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product did not work when I received it. I had to send it back for replacement.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

awesome!!!

01/16/2014
By ,
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Microsoft Surface 2 has gone above and beyond my expectations, it blows all iPads out of the water with out a doubt! The best item on the market I would recommend it to everyone! It's easy to use and have amazing features!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Great tablet/computer

12/30/2013
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good! The first week I didn't like so much but the more I played with it the more familiar it became. I mostly use it for internet, check email and Facebook. Its perfect for those things. I also got the Type Cover 2 keyboard and I love that too.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Died after three days

01/08/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I recieved this tablet on Friday and by Monday I had the "blue screen of death"! I was extremely disappointed. Up until that point, I was pleased with the Bing functions, the clarity of the screen, and the speed of the processor. I was a little disappointed with the app selection from the microsoft store. I'm going to give this tablet a second chance, however, because I love that it has the entire office suite.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Microsoft Surface 2 with 32GB Memory and Windows RT 8.1

Great product

11/28/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next