Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Microsoft Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Microsoft Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

This 32 GB Microsoft Surface 2 Tablet weighs less than 1.5 pounds and with Windows RT 8.1 and Office 2013 RT pre-installed, you carry less while you do more. This device features a NVIDIA Tegra 4 processor and a high-resolution touchscreen with a Surface keyboard. The Microsoft Surface tablet PC also has a 5MP webcam at the back for taking pictures and making movies, and a 3.5MP HD webcam with microphone at the front for making video calls. The 32 GB of storage gives you plenty of room for all your files, pictures and movies and with the built-in WiFi and Bluetooth, it's easy to stay connected.
Average Customer Rating:
3.947 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation78%59 out of 76reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
88 Questions | 165 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Great for School and Work

11/22/2013
By ,
Trinidad and Tobago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the surface 2 mainly because my laptop is way to heavy to tote with me to work and school. I'm a teacher, so having the surface 2 at my disposal to update class records and quickly search online is invaluable. As part time economics student, the surface allows me the flexibility to carry less physical books (thank God). Plus I've been getting more looks from other students asking me about the device. They usually marvel at the build structure and the functional keypad and kickstand. Entertainment wise, its great for watching my movies and the inbuilt bowser is great for streaming movies and watching game from my NBA broadband subscription.
There are negatives though.
First of all after unboxing my surface and powering it on, I observed constant glitches causing the swipes and gestures to freeze momentarily. This behaviour continued for about 2 days until I finally decided to give my surface a full charge.
The surface is a tad bit to heavy to function as a one handed use device and only once have I used it in portrait mode. Secondly, using you finger to browse some sites renders the surface almost useless as some dropdown menus on many sites do not seem to respond well to the touch input.
I am also very disappointed with the lack of functionality in Microsoft office 2013 for the surface 2. Many functions that university students actually use excel for aren't there. I frequently had to go back to my desktop to complete assignments.
All in all its a recommended buy if you wanna do more than browse the web and watching movies. I had very high expectations of the surface 2 as a productivity device for a budget consumer like myself and so my negatives will generally outweigh the positive things I spoke about. Nevertheless, The sufrace 2 does what I want it to do 99% of the time, with adequate battery life, 200Gigs of skydrive free (THANK YOU MICROSOFT) and eye-catching design and portability, you can't go wrong. Pleased with my purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hi i have a question
Posted 09/10/2014
Does this come with Microsoft Word already or do you have to buy it separately?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Great little computer

11/15/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my son, wanted more than just a expensive photo album. He really likes it, and the Walmart protection plan is awesome for the price, gives me some peace of mind. Unfortunately, make sure you read what comes in the box, because they don't come with the detachable keyboard, as shown in commercials. It runs really good, can actually get to a desktop, and the office works good too, its actually kind of snappy. Awesome USB 3 port, popup keypad on the screen, and my son said there is feedback as you type as it sort of buzzes. I can't speak to battery life, haven't had it long enough so I don't want to speculate or give false answer, sorry. Remember Microsoft doesn't have all the apps I guess the others do, but if your looking for something that could be more than just a tablet for surfing, this is good because of the detachable keyboard. And, it has that video out port, that's another great feature for making it useful for doing homework if possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Love the Surface!

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was expecting to purchase an IPad when my son talked me in to the Surface 2 instead. At first I wasn't too sure I had made the best choice, but I have come to love my Surface! I like that it has the USB port. I've purchased a wireless keyboard as well. I love that it has the excel and word installed. I use this for my grocery shopping lists. I love it so much I will be buying each of my sons one for Christmas.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Works just like a laptop!

12/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was tired of my heavy dell laptop and was looking for something lightweight. I mainly use my laptop to do school work so I was glad to see that the surface 2 had Microsoft Office. I am able to write essays and view powerpoints at my ease. I am happy with the overall performance and haven't experienced any lagging. The only downside to the surface 2 is that the apps are limited and a bit outdated.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Like the tablet, but it keeps failing...

10/16/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would give this tablet a 4 star except that I now have had two failures during the warranty period, and on this second failure, I can't get the Microsoft Service Center to function properly. In addition, I can't get their customer support system to function properly either. Something seems to have gone bad in their support system. After two days of trying to get support, I now fear that I may not be able to get a replacement before my warranty expires next month. I wish I could get my money back and get something else. Best feature is that this tablet had a USB port. The apps are limited. You can't even get Google Earth for it. Pretty disappointed at this point.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Great for BUSINESS!!!!!!

07/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you looking for great computer for work and a tablet for some fun this is the tablet for you. It is very fast and the computer side of the tablet works just like a PC its great!!!! If you are looking for a tablet to put lots of fun game apps this is not the one for you. Netflix and all the streaming apps work great and camera is awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Just What I Was Looking For

10/09/2014
By ,
Yonkers, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a combination laptop and tablet that I could use wherever I travel. This is perfect for me with the separate cover/keyboard that converts this to a laptop. I have always favored Microsoft products, and now that they make their own computers, it is a win, win for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Battery wouldn't charge

10/03/2014
By ,
Albany, In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Plugged in for three days, unplug it from the wall and the Surface powers off. Did get full refund. Common problem
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Surface is great product

12/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Microsoft Surface is a good quality product. It was easy to set up and use out of the box. A recommendation for someone purchasing this product would be to download the user guide from the web. Some of the apps were a little difficult to use because of them being with a touch screen and I am used to using a keyboard and mouse, but it is still relatively easy to use and to work with. Overall, I am very satisfied with this product. After purchasing just the Surface alone, I went back and purchased the keyboard cover to use with it. I have not gotten this item yet. Overall, I'm satisfied.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Easy

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best computer experience in twenty years.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Promptlyreturned ...

09/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received in mail and plugged in to charge. After 12 hours I disconnected. It immediately turned off. After 1/2 hour of looking through book I realized that the tablet system was not recognizing the battery at all. I returned to the store soon after.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Ten stars if I could!! For me the surface!!

11/09/2013
By ,
Westbury
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my Daughter and she loves it. I thought this whole computer pad tablet thing would just be a passing fad. But I started checking it out and fell in love with it. Added the keyboard and it's a fast computer which she can take to school. Record notes in school. She even has all her textbooks on it! Her backpack use to weigh 23 pounds now she leaves the textbooks in school and carries a 1/2 pound Surface. I loved it so much I went and bought my self a Surface pro2. More memory and speed. Guess who wants it now. We added Xbox music for $99.00 a year and now she has every song just released and 40 million other songs. So pretty much every song ever made. With xbox music you can add up to five devices to it. So I have my windows phone with 583 songs, my wife had hers with 804 songs and my daughter has hers with I think somewhere around 1300+ songs. one price every song change them when ever. You don't even want to figure out how much that would of cost me on I tunes. If your interested and like music it's the only way to go. Oh plus built in WiFi. I connect through my cable company who provide it free. I'd give it all 10 stars if I could. Even more. I watched an online torcher test of this and they put it into a freezer for six hours and it powered right up. I can't say enough about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+121points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Not for the workplace user

12/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Completely app driven. If the programs you use aren't available in the App Store, you can't run any programs on the tablet it. This is good for using MS office and browsing the web. Otherwise, it's a reasonably priced paperweight. Can't even download Chrome or Firefox which is disappointing because I hate Internet Explorer. This is going back. Read reviews carefully to make sure this is what you need before purchasing.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

surface pro

12/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so far so good with our purchase of the surface.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Sad at Christmas

12/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looked forward to using the pad. Today it updated with the Microsoft adutomatic updates when done it turned the system off. Now it won't turn on no matter what I try. Returning it to store
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

love my Surface

12/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the Microsoft office that I can type papers anywhere . The surface was delivered early and in great condition!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Microsoft vs ipad vs samsung

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got my new surface pro RT 2 we also own a Samsung tablet and apple iPad in comparison I still choose the surface u can do more with the imports slots I transfer my photos videos and music in less that 5 min same as a
good with the 1080 p good screen size all around good electronic and reliable
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Surface 2 is an Excellent device to work

12/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this device because it has one note and other software such as word and excel and power point, which any one can use on a daily basis. Also use can take this when you are traveling and flying to watch video or movie.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Too awkward

12/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The concept is good and it's more like using a computer without a keyboard but it's not really a tablet. It couldn't run alot of apps that tablets usually can. Also the shape is really awkward. Look at the dimensions.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Absolutely perfect

12/30/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought as a gift for my boyfriend he loves it! Had a little trouble getting it setup but I think after updating the software its been smooth sailing. I'm personally into smaller sized tablets like the Kindle fire so to me the size is awkward. Its a long rectangle. Its very light especially compared to the iPad which in my opinions was very heavy. The kick stand seems sturdy. I expect the app store to grow due to this products popularity. A few key apps I use aren't there (like Pinterest) but I can visit the site through the browser. We arent big into apps and I got this knowing it would replace his netbook and it will definitely be more than a fine replacement for that. The micro SD slot was tricky to find but its there which definitely is huge especially since I couldn't find the 64GB model.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next