Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Microsoft Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Microsoft Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

This 32 GB Microsoft Surface 2 Tablet weighs less than 1.5 pounds and with Windows RT 8.1 and Office 2013 RT pre-installed, you carry less while you do more. This device features a NVIDIA Tegra 4 processor and a high-resolution touchscreen with a Surface keyboard. The Microsoft Surface tablet PC also has a 5MP webcam at the back for taking pictures and making movies, and a 3.5MP HD webcam with microphone at the front for making video calls. The 32 GB of storage gives you plenty of room for all your files, pictures and movies and with the built-in WiFi and Bluetooth, it's easy to stay connected.
Average Customer Rating:
3.902 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation77%47 out of 61reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions | 145 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Great for School and Work

11/22/2013
By ,
Trinidad and Tobago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the surface 2 mainly because my laptop is way to heavy to tote with me to work and school. I'm a teacher, so having the surface 2 at my disposal to update class records and quickly search online is invaluable. As part time economics student, the surface allows me the flexibility to carry less physical books (thank God). Plus I've been getting more looks from other students asking me about the device. They usually marvel at the build structure and the functional keypad and kickstand. Entertainment wise, its great for watching my movies and the inbuilt bowser is great for streaming movies and watching game from my NBA broadband subscription.
There are negatives though.
First of all after unboxing my surface and powering it on, I observed constant glitches causing the swipes and gestures to freeze momentarily. This behaviour continued for about 2 days until I finally decided to give my surface a full charge.
The surface is a tad bit to heavy to function as a one handed use device and only once have I used it in portrait mode. Secondly, using you finger to browse some sites renders the surface almost useless as some dropdown menus on many sites do not seem to respond well to the touch input.
I am also very disappointed with the lack of functionality in Microsoft office 2013 for the surface 2. Many functions that university students actually use excel for aren't there. I frequently had to go back to my desktop to complete assignments.
All in all its a recommended buy if you wanna do more than browse the web and watching movies. I had very high expectations of the surface 2 as a productivity device for a budget consumer like myself and so my negatives will generally outweigh the positive things I spoke about. Nevertheless, The sufrace 2 does what I want it to do 99% of the time, with adequate battery life, 200Gigs of skydrive free (THANK YOU MICROSOFT) and eye-catching design and portability, you can't go wrong. Pleased with my purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hi i have a question
Posted 09/10/2014
Does this come with Microsoft Word already or do you have to buy it separately?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Great little computer

11/15/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my son, wanted more than just a expensive photo album. He really likes it, and the Walmart protection plan is awesome for the price, gives me some peace of mind. Unfortunately, make sure you read what comes in the box, because they don't come with the detachable keyboard, as shown in commercials. It runs really good, can actually get to a desktop, and the office works good too, its actually kind of snappy. Awesome USB 3 port, popup keypad on the screen, and my son said there is feedback as you type as it sort of buzzes. I can't speak to battery life, haven't had it long enough so I don't want to speculate or give false answer, sorry. Remember Microsoft doesn't have all the apps I guess the others do, but if your looking for something that could be more than just a tablet for surfing, this is good because of the detachable keyboard. And, it has that video out port, that's another great feature for making it useful for doing homework if possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

a very good buy

10/11/2014
By ,
staten island, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the device to compliment my ipad. It allows me to now type microsoft documents and transfer photos and documents. I also purchased an additional 64gb removable drive. i have no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Love the Surface!

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was expecting to purchase an IPad when my son talked me in to the Surface 2 instead. At first I wasn't too sure I had made the best choice, but I have come to love my Surface! I like that it has the USB port. I've purchased a wireless keyboard as well. I love that it has the excel and word installed. I use this for my grocery shopping lists. I love it so much I will be buying each of my sons one for Christmas.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Just What I Was Looking For

10/09/2014
By ,
Yonkers, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a combination laptop and tablet that I could use wherever I travel. This is perfect for me with the separate cover/keyboard that converts this to a laptop. I have always favored Microsoft products, and now that they make their own computers, it is a win, win for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Like the tablet, but it keeps failing...

10/16/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would give this tablet a 4 star except that I now have had two failures during the warranty period, and on this second failure, I can't get the Microsoft Service Center to function properly. In addition, I can't get their customer support system to function properly either. Something seems to have gone bad in their support system. After two days of trying to get support, I now fear that I may not be able to get a replacement before my warranty expires next month. I wish I could get my money back and get something else. Best feature is that this tablet had a USB port. The apps are limited. You can't even get Google Earth for it. Pretty disappointed at this point.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Ten stars if I could!! For me the surface!!

11/09/2013
By ,
Westbury
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my Daughter and she loves it. I thought this whole computer pad tablet thing would just be a passing fad. But I started checking it out and fell in love with it. Added the keyboard and it's a fast computer which she can take to school. Record notes in school. She even has all her textbooks on it! Her backpack use to weigh 23 pounds now she leaves the textbooks in school and carries a 1/2 pound Surface. I loved it so much I went and bought my self a Surface pro2. More memory and speed. Guess who wants it now. We added Xbox music for $99.00 a year and now she has every song just released and 40 million other songs. So pretty much every song ever made. With xbox music you can add up to five devices to it. So I have my windows phone with 583 songs, my wife had hers with 804 songs and my daughter has hers with I think somewhere around 1300+ songs. one price every song change them when ever. You don't even want to figure out how much that would of cost me on I tunes. If your interested and like music it's the only way to go. Oh plus built in WiFi. I connect through my cable company who provide it free. I'd give it all 10 stars if I could. Even more. I watched an online torcher test of this and they put it into a freezer for six hours and it powered right up. I can't say enough about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Great for BUSINESS!!!!!!

07/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you looking for great computer for work and a tablet for some fun this is the tablet for you. It is very fast and the computer side of the tablet works just like a PC its great!!!! If you are looking for a tablet to put lots of fun game apps this is not the one for you. Netflix and all the streaming apps work great and camera is awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

No Instructions!

11/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tablet is a little slower than expected and drags when playing video (even the ones pre-loaded). Plus it seems really big and heavy compared to my 8".
My biggest problem is there is NO instructions besides a 3 page booklet that basically says "Plug it in; turn it on; get started" There was not even a link to a website.
I had to find a website that had the manual and download it. Now I'm having a problem getting the battery to charge. The icon says there is No Battery Detected.
Again, I had to find a website to look for a solution. It says that I needed to update the software. If that doesn't work, then it needs to be serviced!
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Love my Surface 2

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased the surface 2 and the battery saving power keyboard. Love them. Have not run out of battery yet. the size is perfect. I basically use the keyboard and touch screen simitaneously. The app selection for other than games is huge. I would say it is a little lacking in games but only because I had an iPad and several of my games are not available. I am not having many problems figuring out windows 8 either and I have been out of the business world for several years. So, would definitely recommend the surface 2 for home use as both a computer and tablet.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Amazing!

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The surface is amazing! I find myself using it more than my iPad and MacBook! Love that it has Microsoft Office on it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

One big problem.

11/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The battery would not hold a charge. Everything wlse worked as advertised. Returned the next day.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Between a laptop and phone...Perfect

10/29/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since we moved into our new house my laptop is stuck up stairs and I hate having to go up there to use and the phone is not quite user friendly. The Surface is a perfect in-between option. It is light-weight, compact, and has a long battery life. I use it with a regular mouse and blue tooth keyboard. It has literally replaced my laptop. With so many online storage options out there storage space is not an issue for me. If I need more storage I use my laptop, or an external hard drive (the USB will only power my solid state drive not my HDD). I'm very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Love it

11/12/2013
By ,
Andrews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love this product!! The only thing I don't like about it is the fact that I can't read my eBooks from my online school and I can't download Google Chrome and Firefox.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Absolutely perfect

12/30/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought as a gift for my boyfriend he loves it! Had a little trouble getting it setup but I think after updating the software its been smooth sailing. I'm personally into smaller sized tablets like the Kindle fire so to me the size is awkward. Its a long rectangle. Its very light especially compared to the iPad which in my opinions was very heavy. The kick stand seems sturdy. I expect the app store to grow due to this products popularity. A few key apps I use aren't there (like Pinterest) but I can visit the site through the browser. We arent big into apps and I got this knowing it would replace his netbook and it will definitely be more than a fine replacement for that. The micro SD slot was tricky to find but its there which definitely is huge especially since I couldn't find the 64GB model.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Battery wouldn't charge

10/03/2014
By ,
Albany, In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Plugged in for three days, unplug it from the wall and the Surface powers off. Did get full refund. Common problem
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Microsoft Surface 2

11/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handy due to its size. Has many great features and desirable apps.
Windows 8.1 isn't for everyone. Takes a while to learn all the slide & drag features. Don't like being unable to load certain other programs in general. Too much control by Microsoft over this issue. Not as easy to work with as a regular menu-ed PC, but good for travel.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Great tablet BAD SITE TO STORE

09/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered mine site to store on September 11 and was told it would Arive on October 15th. I canceled the order and purchased it directly from Microsoft store online and received it the following day. So great product but be very careful with site to store unless you don't mind waiting an entire month for one item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

A great tablet that works like a PC.

06/19/2014
By ,
Pacific, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Surface 2 works on Windows 8 and has Microsoft Word, PowerPoint and Excel. It is great for taking on trips, and can run off your smart phone. It has Microsoft Defender to protect it against virus and spyware. It is great at home when you don't want to drag out your computer. Make sure to get the separate keyboard, it makes using the Surface 2 so much easier, and folds up to protect the screen when you are not using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Microsoft Surface 2 32GB Windows RT 8.1

Great tablet but needs more memory

04/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice tablet especially after all of MS updates got installed. Had to reinstall the OS to get them all to install. The addition of office to 8.1 is a plus but this is still a RT version of windows so this will not run normal windows software also 32GB is barely enough memory. A big down side is the SD card can only be used for files music pictures movies ect. after update and no extra apps I only have 7 GB left. If I were to purchase the Surface again I would go with the pro model with all the internal memory available as they are the full version of 8.1.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next