Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Asus Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Asus Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

This Asus Tablet with 64GB Memory - Black is powered by the latest Intel Atom Z3740 processor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.104 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(268 Reviews) 267
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
143
4 stars
72
3 stars
16
2 stars
12
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation83%223 out of 268reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
106 Questions | 458 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
143
4 stars
72
3 stars
16
2 stars
12
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

A happy medium

03/26/2014
By ,
McKinney, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to wait a while before I wrote a review. I have to say this is one of the best computers I have purchased in recent history. I'm normally a Toshiba fan, but my son advised me to try this, as I wanted to replace my table (Toshiba Thrive) for something a little more portable. This fits the bill nicely. I was very unsure about Windows 8, but I have come to like it very much. I had one issue with it, not wanting to come out of hibernation, I contacted the technical support via email and in 24 hours was told how to update the bios, which fixed the issue. I now check at least once a week for updates. The fact that I can install software on it like a computer then use it like a tablet is awesome. I'm a Street & Trips user and with a Android tablet you have to be online to access maps. I can now open Streets & Trips plan my route and check it anytime without internet connections.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great all purpose entertainment and productivity

03/12/2014
By ,
Folsom, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While one can obviously get a more powerful device, it is hard to beat the value and effectiveness of this device. Great value. One can definitely spend more for less.
I am glad I got the 64GB version of this device. The OS takes a good chunk of memory. You can add a micro-SD card, but that isn't as versatile as having the primary system storage larger in a single volume. The Win 8.1 and Office combination is a good mix, however the Office contents are limited. If you want Outlook and Publisher, be prepared to spend more on SW.
My daughter mainly uses this device. She greatly appreciates the size and performance of the unit. Battery life is great.
The unit required many updates right out of the box, however they were easy and relatively quick to install. Reliability has been good.
The HW is 64 bit capable, but installation is 32 bit. This has really not been an issue. Later updates to drivers many allow 64 bit installs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

It's a Tablet & a Netbook

11/17/2013
By ,
Kingston, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Full Win 8.1, NOT RT so you can install desktop programs and Win 8 Metro/Modern Apps.
Comes with Office Home and Student preinstalled, just enter the included product key
2.4 & 5 Ghz wifi
microSD slot
Keyboard dock INCLUDED
USB 3 port on keyboard dock
great battery life
Cons: Not a lot of Apps in the Win8 Store
You can install the desktop versions of what's not in the store but they may not be optimized
for touch.
Trackpad not the most responsive one I've used
Screen and back of case are fingerprint magnets. Don't know why the back is so glossy instead of textured.
I've had mine for a week. Flashed the BIOS/Firmware to the latest version which helped the trackpad some but it still a bit laggy/unresponsive at times. Fast wifi, great display, plays videos fine.
For $379 this is a great little unit. Add a 64Gb mSD card and one should have enough space to install programs (NOTE: Win Store Apps ONLY install to the C: drive so install your desktop programs to the mSD card). I was looking at Dell's Venue 11 Pro but by the time you add their keyboard dock and Office you're over $1000. The ability to work on my job docs using Office while on the road with the small size of this T100 is great.
This is the future of what computing is going to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great tablet and laptop combo for the price

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this machine and took it our of the box, plugged it in downloaded the windows updates and I was off to the races. One thing to be aware of prior to going live on the internet is to ensure that the firewall and antivirus system is turned on and working. Mine was not and I had to clean up a lot of viruses. Once cleaned it works like a charm. This is a great value for $349.
I looked at a lot of the competitors products and they were much higher for the same specs as this one. I read a lot of reviews and comments about the Asus and the vast majority were good. This has enough power, memory to do most anything that you want. Windows 8.1 and Microsoft Office are great for this machine for business and personnel needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Starter "kit" for the 21st century

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this to bring my mother in law into the 21st century. Having the ability to touch the screen (never used a mouse) as well as type on a keyboard (never typed) was a great combination and made the learning curve easier for the novice. Synching OneNote and OneDrive to her phone made life easy and convenient for the beginner. The compact form factor and included keyboard makes this the best of both the tablet and laptop worlds and a great tool for anyone in the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

going to try another one

07/24/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I owned an Asus tablet and have been happy except for the fact that some of the apps I like don't like android. I purchased this because the operating system is windows 8.1. It was great for a couple days then it updated. After that I couldn't find my pictures or my music. Fortunately I left a copy on my tablet. The Asus rep said it should be returned for repair. Rather than send it in to Asus I returned it to Walmart. It is very highly recommended and other 2 in 1's compare themselves to the Asus. I will be getting another one. If it also malfunctions I will look for something else. So far, this jury is still out. Looking forward to a win with the next one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Does not display 16:9 on 2nd display via HDMI

03/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall it is a great tablet for the price. However, if you hope to connect it to a 2nd display such as a TV or monitor it will NOT display in 16:9 size (fill the full screen of the 2nd display) but only displays what is on your table screen about 2/3 of the size on the 2nd display. The only way to see it full size on the 2nd screen is to choose the option of 2nd display only (shows on the 2nd display but not on the table at the same time). This means that you can't use the touch feature, but have to connect the keyboard and use the mouse. Plus you have to look at the 2nd display to click on things. I find this useless as it is most common if you are giving a presentation your back is to the 2nd display and you can't see it to move your mouse around and click on things. Also, why purchase a "tablet" instead of a touch screen notebook if you have to use the keyboard and can't use the touch feature on this tablet.
This is a known issue by ASUS but they don't point this out in any of their marketing of this unit nor do they have a fix for it and sounds like #at the time of this writing# that they do not plan on releasing a fix.
So if you will be using the HDMI port to display to a 2nd display avoid this item and look at other brands where the 2nd display option actually work correctly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

It stopped working

06/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It has been working fine the couple of weeks that I had it but for some reason it will not turn on at all. The battery is fully charged and the "on" LED is lit and all I have is a totally black screen both connected or not connected to the docking station.
I have read many reviews about how other like this tablet that is one of the reasons I bought it. I am hoping that customer service can help me restart it, like in safe mode or something.
Bruce
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great Tablet/Notebook

11/21/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
did quite a bit of research before buying this latest model, my first initial impressions were skeptical because of the minor problems after the Asus OTA updates & the Touch-pad...
Finally decided to take the plunge, bought Store Direct & came home...charged for 4 hours before the charging light changed to white and went ahead & powered up the Tab, while keeping it plugged into the charger for another 6 hours; entered set-up and completed without problems and the Tablet was working perfectly...went to the desktop and there was Asus Live Update asking for permission to update, so of-course i clicked ok..after rebooting there were problems the screen was flashing and the Tablet was not responding, so i had to force shutdown.
Powered back up and it went into automatic diagnostics...i wound up Refreshing the Tablet and she has been running smoothly every-since.
found out a few things, the Micro USB port on the Tab also supports Host, had an old Micro USB OTG cable & plugged it in and my usb devices were recognized...
Also the USB 3.0 port on the keyboard dock is fully functional and recognized all my devices, 2.5 drives, hub, ect, including being able to connect to the internet thru my broadband USB Lan Adapter which is very nice for downloading Windows updates...
after working out the initial bugs i am very pleased with this purchase and now learning to use the touchscreen in Windows, it's a Trip without the keyboard but it's been fun so far.
The look & feel of the Tablet/Notebook is very nice (quality), it's definitely a fingerprint magnet but hey that's what lens cloth is for so i don't mind..the sound is much better than a regular tab or laptop this was also nice, Video looks good and the viewing angles are nice, downloaded the shark's video codecs & MKV files now play great on Win media player.
Touch screen response is very smooth & snappy....
Overall i would recommend the T100T.
.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Louisville, KY
Accessories & Info
Posted 11/27/2013
Recommended Accessories:
Ethernet (USB-LAN) Adapter-
http://www.sybausa.com/productInfo.php?iid=364&currentPage=0
(or similar equivalent).
Bluetooth Mouse-
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Bornd-C170B-Bluetooth-Wireless-Mouse-Black/31022188
Bluetooth Headphones-
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Rapoo-H6080-Bluetooth-Foldable-Headset-Black/27435054
Micro HDMI Adapter-
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Micro-HDMI-Type-D-to-Regular-HDMI-Type-A-Adapter/20551744#Product+Reviews
use with your size of choice HDMI Cable.
USB 3.0 Hub-
http://www.walmart.com/ip/StarTech-Portable-4-Port-SuperSpeed-mini-USB-3.0-Hub-Black/27858754
USB 3.0 Card Reader-
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Kingston-MobileLite-G3-USB-3.0-Reader/29670204
64GB MicroSD Card & USB 3.0 Portable 2.5 external Hard-Drive,
Portable external CD/DVD Drive.
Case Logic 10.2 Attache-
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Case-Logic-10.2-quot-Netbook-iPad-Attach/14658813
Asus T100 Forum-
http://www.transformerforums.com/forum/asus-transformer-book-t100/
+16points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Worth the money

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to use a lighter alternative to my primary laptop. With Windows 8.1 I can check email VPN to clients, remote desktop machinea, browse web, run office etc all on a smaller lightweight device that I can easily take with me anywhere. Battery life is great as well. When my laptop dies I will probably replace it with something like an MS surface, but this will probably still be the device that I will throw in my car whenever I go someplace and need to be sure I can still access clients. At < $400 if it got stolen or broken I would not feel as bad as if it cost $1200.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Good as a toy

07/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this tablet because I needed something portable for business and travel. I saw this online so I know Asus is a good company so I thought I would give it a try. Well as far as things working from the app store and playing normal files its fine, however I was trying to use a external DVD drive and I could not get it to work properly, it would show in the device list, but when you would put a DVD in the drive the system would go bananas, the drive would appear and disappear. it would not play a dvd movie from a disk under any circumstances. I tried installing software from my library and it did the same thing. I am very disappointed, what a waste of a good idea. returning it to the store and buying a Surface.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

It does what I need it to plus more.

07/19/2014
By ,
Anaheim, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this tablet so that I had a portable option for working on reports, Power Point, etc. when I am on the go. I am in school online and very busy so it is perfect for getting my assignments completed while my kids are on the playground at McDonalds or playing in our backyard. It is much more portable than my laptop. I love that the touchscreen is available and makes it so easy to enlarge the print or navigate through my apps. The one thing that I do notice is that the keyboard is a bit touchy at the point of connection. When being used on a solid surface, there is no problem. However, on a less stable surface such as my lap, the tablet tends to lose connection with the keyboard. I have to push it back together to restore the communication every so often even if I don't move the tablet. Also, the only apps that are available for this tablet are through the Microsoft store. It is not compatible with GooglePlay so my son's account was not transferable. Though I think it has plenty of apps and does more than I had hoped, my son feels that the variety of game apps available through Microsoft is not as good as iTunes or GooglePlay. Even so, I spent a lot of time researching my specific needs and seriously looked at the Surface 2. I think that the Asus T100 is an overall better value. I love that it came with Microsoft Office already loaded and that I am able to work on my schoolwork while I am on the go. I would recommend this item to a friend in a heartbeat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Very good value for what it is.

03/31/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all I must mention that Walmart displays this as 64GB of MEMORY when in fact they are referring to the 64GB SSD hard drive. The memory is 2GB of DDR3. You can get the actual specs from here: https://www.asus.com/Notebooks_Ultrabooks/ASUS_Transformer_Book_T100/#specifications
AS for the product itself.. awesome speed on this and if you utilize google drive or other cloud you will find 64GB of storage is just fine. I personally own a few chromebooks which also have small SSD drive and do not miss the large local storage.
Yes it does take quite some time to charge as it utilizes the micro USB connector... just make sure you have actually powered it completely OFF in order to get it to charge over night otherwise you will find it will never completely charge. Pressing AND HOLDING the top sleep/standby button until you get the screen to display "slide down to power off" displays is the easiest way to confirm it is powered off. Just pressing the power button on the top will turn off the display only. As well, if you close the lid it will stay on. If you choose shut down from the normal power option this is fine too but be sure to wait until you see the camera tally light flash (white light) briefly and once it goes out it has powered off BEFORE you close the lid, otherwise it will just go to sleep and will continue to use the battery.
The battery is awesome with 11 hours of use over wifi without a problem. I turn off the bluetooth if I am not using it to provide even longer use. As well, you can adjust the screen brightness which is automatic but once you adjust, it remembers your setting until you press the sleep or shut down.
It is critically important when you first get it to get the latest bios updates and all windows updates. Basically any time you get updates it is important to be sure they get done as many of these deal with display drivers as well as sleep/power management (I'm a computer tech so this is something I am well aware of). Many people have returned the computer because it would not power on and that is most likely because the battery had completely emptied so it is important to plug it in so that you see the charge light (orange until charged and then turns white).
There is not a better unit on the market right now that provides you with a tablet AND laptop all in one with Windows 8.1 installed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great Product

07/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for $$$
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

GOOD product,

11/28/2013
By ,
kissimme fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
most of the problems people are experiencing out of the box, are the result of rush production, there is a high demand for this tablet, it is the first one of its kind, yes there are a few bay trail tablets out there, but this one came out first. i had some issues with it, first thing as soon as you boot it, do a bios upgrade, then use the asus update feature. that will solve most problems(2 critical updates so far), the tablets had no time to be charged, which is why you have to charge them for first use, i had to wait 30 minutes for first boot, battery has to be at 5 percent to allow boot. remember bios upgrade and asus update, if you have any more issues after that contact asus.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Great product at a great price point

07/21/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for what I use it for, think of this as a tablet with an optional keyboard (I use the keyboard maybe 10% of the time, the touchscreen the rest of the time).
I wouldn't plan on running graphically intense games on it, but for folks that just want essentially a netbook/windows based tablet, it works great for that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

Fantastic tablet!

05/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this Tablet. I have purchased a total of 4; one for myself and 3 as gifts. Two of them did have to be returned for a different one as they froze up. But over all I love this and so do the people I have purchased them for. The design is great! They could change the finish to make it smudge free, but that is my only complaint. Most reasonable table with Windows 8.1 on it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

good value

06/24/2014
By ,
sarasota fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great display, easy to navigate around - windows 8.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

worked as advertised

07/21/2014
By ,
memphis, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Other than it not having 8.1 pro (I didn't know I needed), product has met my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Asus T100 10.1" Tablet with 64GB Memory and Windows 8.1

A whole lot for a little (relatively speaking)

07/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This operating system (Windows 8) does take some getting used to and it does have its negatives (but so do Apple's iOS and Android and/or Chrome OS systems). Would not choose Windows 8 for a desktop (recently bought one with Windows 7) BUT this Asus T100 is remarkable for the price. I went into this knowing it would not be the very best due to its low price point, HOWEVER I have been very pleasantly surprised of late as I have beome more familiarized.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 268 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next