Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Brother Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Walmart.com Price Reflects a $30 Instant Rebate from Brother for a Limited Time! Rebate included in Price. Effective November 23, 2014 to November 29, 2014. If you're looking for an easy-to-use, economical color inkjet all-in-one that won't waste valuable workspace, the Brother MFC-J450DW Compact All-in-One Printer may be exactly what you need. In addition to its budget-friendly purchase price, it offers a lower total cost of operation thanks to high-yield replacement ink cartridges and paper-saving duplex printing. Features like an automatic document feeder, mobile device printing and free Brother Cloud apps make this Brother MFC-J450DW Compact All-in-One Printer an excellent choice for your home/home office.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%48 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 80 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

I like this unit so far

09/07/2014
By ,
philadelphia, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used all the features of this device, except for faxing, and so far it works pretty well. I copied a 20 page document in about a minute. Scanning is easy and gives you the option to save to PDF, which simplifies things for sure. Changing print options is fairly simple too. While the device is in operation it is a bit noisy. And the paper tray only holds approximately 30 sheets at a time. For me that is no bid deal but if you are doing high volume tasks that could be an issue. The plastic parts do seem to be on the flimsy side but if you aren't going to be doing a lot of volume there shouldn't be a problem. For light home use this device is a really good value; for business purposes, I would spend a few more dollars and get a device more suited for higher volume usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

A Solid Feeling Machine

06/20/2014
By ,
Northern Vermont, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first Brother printer and my initial impression is that its a solid machine that makes Good to Above Average output.
Setup: the hardest part was getting the cartridges installed properly - black plastic going into black plastic holders does not make for easy insertion. Other than that, the machine pretty much sets up the machine for you. At this price level I'm pleased to find an enclosed paper tray and output paper stop (my defunct HP didn't have that).
Output: text is reasonably crisp and without any extraneous marks. Its not laser quality, my HP did print slightly darker blacks, but for everyday use, its perfectly fine. The story is the same for color printing: on the plain paper / vivid settings, output was well saturated, but not what I would call vivid. I imagine it will work much better with photo paper.
Final Thoughts: One of the features that I specifically wanted on this printer was an Auto Document Feeder; to date and with some differences in the input quality, the ADF worked fine. Its all part of this feeling like a solid product. Despite what may feel like my criticisms, this is a good printer, it feels solid and has more than acceptable output; but neither does it elicit an "Oh, Wow" response. But for what I paid (on sale), its an excellent deal.
Regards,
BearPup
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Good Not Great

07/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installs and works great with Windows 8 and 8.1. Installed ok with Windows 7 Home Premium, but is not recognized correctly in the printers and devices area. It works with Windows 7..... but there seems to be an issue with the scanner. I don't think Windows 7 recognizes that it's all ONE device. It tries to make my laptop the scanner, gives me the yellow triangle in the devices and printers area....and can't find drivers for the scanner. I read online that Brother didn't have the correct drivers / support for Windows 7. Print quality seems good, price was good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Nice printer for the most part

08/25/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't use the FAX function, but have been happy with the print quality, the ease and quality of the scanner and consider the print speed perfectly adequate. It was easy to install and the instructions are all clear and simple to follow. Having separate color ink cartridges is also a plus.
However I have found two drawbacks. The paper drawer pulls out from the front and is inconvenient to load. Also, I am having trouble printing envelopes. Although the software program was set correctly and the envelopes loaded according to Brother's instructions, I kept getting a message to install the correct paper size. Hopefully this can be worked out, but as of now I consider it a major drawback.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

easy set up

10/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great and ink lasts a long time still on starter after 3 weeks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Totally and Completely Awesome!

09/07/2014
By ,
Eagle Lake, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love this printer! Wireless is definitely the way to go! I can now easily print, scan and copy using my mobile devices, as well as my laptop, with absolutely no wires! It only took about five minutes to connect the printer to my network, right from the printer itself. Took another 10 minutes to set up my laptop with the CD-ROM.
I also downloaded the app from the app store for free, which makes it really easy to scan, print and copy with my mobile devices. This app is not absolutely necessary to print, scan or copy, because the individual apps themselves are able to recognize the printer, but it is a really cool and convenient option. Now I can scan pictures directly into my mobile devices, and use them as wallpaper!
The printer is also super-fast, and you can change the desired print quality right from the printer itself.
Making quick copies is also really easy with just the touch of a button.
There are two things, however, that could use improvement. The cover is a bit flimsy and has a tendency to detach itself if you push or pull it at the wrong angle. If you avoid that angle, however, everything is fine. The other bad thing is the paper tray is also a bit flimsy and also has a tendency to detach itself if you pull it out too far.
Other than those two things, though, everything works great. I really like the way you can see the ink levels at a glance, right on the printer's screen. I also really like the way the cover has some weight to it, which helps with the quality when copying and scanning. And I also like the way the printer turns itself off automatically after a period of non-use. It also wakes itself up automatically when you start using it- you don't even have to fiddle with the power button.
I am so glad I found this printer and am enjoying it immensely!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Prints Well But Feels Cheap

11/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This printer was easy to:
Install ink into
Install paper into
Set up (Windows 7 Ultimate / Apple OS X Yosemite / Android 4.4)
Print (Windows 7 Ultimate / Apple OS X Yosemite / Android 4.4)
This printer replaced an HP Office Jet All-In-One.
It looks nice and was a great price.
This printer feels cheap and you have to be careful with it or it feels like it will break easily when you open or closing various things on it.
I have had it a couple of days now (today is 11/09/14) and everything seems okay. I will try to post an update in about 6 months.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Excellent printer for the price

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice all in one printer. I really love the wifi print function. I have downloaded the print app to my phone and Kindle Fire and both work perfectly with this printer. I got this printer mainly to print pictures and it has great. Prints photos quickly and they have very good print quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Excellent printer for those who don't require much

06/15/2014
By ,
West Palm Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer is excellent for it's price and size. Easy to install and very good print quality. I'm always happy with Brother products. Just remember; buy something you can always pronounce the name of!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

What a step up!

11/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I previously owned the Brother MFC 640CW but recently purchased the Brother MFC-J450DW and what you want a printer to do, this one does it all. With so many features it's comparable to buying a car with all the whistles without breaking your bank account. Really, I am happy with this. Setup is simple and I really like the sleep mode that allow printing when the machine is off. It's attractive and not noisy like the 640CW was. The J450DW is definitely a Best Buy for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

excellent All-In-One printer

05/21/2014
By ,
Washington, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit was very easy to install both to a specific printer and enable wireless printing from another. Good quality black and white and color. Good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Easy Peasy

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up, prints quick
Only had short time, will have
to come back in a couple of months
to finish the evaluation.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great printer

05/18/2014
By ,
Troy Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to set up, and easy to use. Works well with windows 8.1
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Not the best

11/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The set up was very difficult and had to spend 2 1/2 hours on the phone with tech support to get it working.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Very good all-in-one printer for the price

04/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer was very easy to install. The print quallity was better than I expected. Well worth the money I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Perfect! Best Price :-)

04/14/2014
By ,
Orlando, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this printer on Amazon with excellent reviews and found here for $20 less. Most attractive feature is the fact that one can purchase aftermarket Inc. any relatively low price. I've only had it for a few days but I am very happy with my purchase. Very nice to be able to hit print from your phone or iPad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great buy

12/11/2013
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cannot believe this product for this price,...very happy with the product, the price and the purchase..i now own 3 Brother's in my home office,, very happy with all 3.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Fantastick!!!!

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not be happier, after trying 2!!! HP 1512 and both had printing problems right out of the box. And I was a HP fan!! this printer is GREAT!!!! uses very little ink and prints FAST! very clear and clean printing and ink is very cheap with after market sights on EBay. I am now a Brothers fan set up was VERY easy the machine does it all for you, just read the instructions and you are good to go, I was surprised how easy it was, I did not use the Fax as I do not have a land line, but that is not why I got it, I just hooked it up to my computer and good to go. Can't say enough good about this printer, very reasonably priced, very cheap for what all it can do.
THANKS BROTHER FOR MAKING SUCH A GOOD PRINTER AT A REASONBLE PRICE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great for scanning pictures and docs

06/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this all-in-one printer. I wanted it specifically for scanning and it exceeds my expectations. The quality and color are superb! The only draw back so far is that it will not accommodate printing 8-1/2 X 14 size. Other than that it is a quality machine for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Easy setup, works great so far.

01/15/2014
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very quick and easy to set up and has worked great so far. Copy quality is very good and the ink cartridge location is very convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next