Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Brother Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

If you're looking for an easy-to-use, economical color inkjet all-in-one that won't waste valuable workspace, the Brother MFC-J450DW Compact All-in-One Printer may be exactly what you need. In addition to its budget-friendly purchase price, it offers a lower total cost of operation thanks to high-yield replacement ink cartridges and paper-saving duplex printing. Features like an automatic document feeder, mobile device printing and free Brother Cloud apps make this Brother MFC-J450DW Compact All-in-One Printer an excellent choice for your home/home office.
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation93%39 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

A Solid Feeling Machine

06/20/2014
By ,
Northern Vermont, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first Brother printer and my initial impression is that its a solid machine that makes Good to Above Average output.
Setup: the hardest part was getting the cartridges installed properly - black plastic going into black plastic holders does not make for easy insertion. Other than that, the machine pretty much sets up the machine for you. At this price level I'm pleased to find an enclosed paper tray and output paper stop (my defunct HP didn't have that).
Output: text is reasonably crisp and without any extraneous marks. Its not laser quality, my HP did print slightly darker blacks, but for everyday use, its perfectly fine. The story is the same for color printing: on the plain paper / vivid settings, output was well saturated, but not what I would call vivid. I imagine it will work much better with photo paper.
Final Thoughts: One of the features that I specifically wanted on this printer was an Auto Document Feeder; to date and with some differences in the input quality, the ADF worked fine. Its all part of this feeling like a solid product. Despite what may feel like my criticisms, this is a good printer, it feels solid and has more than acceptable output; but neither does it elicit an "Oh, Wow" response. But for what I paid (on sale), its an excellent deal.
Regards,
BearPup
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Good Not Great

07/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installs and works great with Windows 8 and 8.1. Installed ok with Windows 7 Home Premium, but is not recognized correctly in the printers and devices area. It works with Windows 7..... but there seems to be an issue with the scanner. I don't think Windows 7 recognizes that it's all ONE device. It tries to make my laptop the scanner, gives me the yellow triangle in the devices and printers area....and can't find drivers for the scanner. I read online that Brother didn't have the correct drivers / support for Windows 7. Print quality seems good, price was good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Excellent printer for the price

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice all in one printer. I really love the wifi print function. I have downloaded the print app to my phone and Kindle Fire and both work perfectly with this printer. I got this printer mainly to print pictures and it has great. Prints photos quickly and they have very good print quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

excellent All-In-One printer

05/21/2014
By ,
Washington, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit was very easy to install both to a specific printer and enable wireless printing from another. Good quality black and white and color. Good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Nice printer for the most part

08/25/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't use the FAX function, but have been happy with the print quality, the ease and quality of the scanner and consider the print speed perfectly adequate. It was easy to install and the instructions are all clear and simple to follow. Having separate color ink cartridges is also a plus.
However I have found two drawbacks. The paper drawer pulls out from the front and is inconvenient to load. Also, I am having trouble printing envelopes. Although the software program was set correctly and the envelopes loaded according to Brother's instructions, I kept getting a message to install the correct paper size. Hopefully this can be worked out, but as of now I consider it a major drawback.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great printer

05/18/2014
By ,
Troy Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to set up, and easy to use. Works well with windows 8.1
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Excellent printer for those who don't require much

06/15/2014
By ,
West Palm Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer is excellent for it's price and size. Easy to install and very good print quality. I'm always happy with Brother products. Just remember; buy something you can always pronounce the name of!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Love the Brother MFC-J450DW

08/19/2014
By ,
Coventry,Ct.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently replaced my aging printer and scanner. The instruction manual and CD gave very clear instructions, and I was up and running in about an hour? This included wireless set up for the Ipad. (I found the free Brother download app from Apple) The panel on the front gives very easy instructions for copying and printing. And I am not very computer savvy! You do need to purchase a USB cable, if you want to connect to your desktop. All in all, I am very happy with the quality, price, and ease of this printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Very good all-in-one printer for the price

04/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer was very easy to install. The print quallity was better than I expected. Well worth the money I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great buy

12/11/2013
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cannot believe this product for this price,...very happy with the product, the price and the purchase..i now own 3 Brother's in my home office,, very happy with all 3.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great for scanning pictures and docs

06/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this all-in-one printer. I wanted it specifically for scanning and it exceeds my expectations. The quality and color are superb! The only draw back so far is that it will not accommodate printing 8-1/2 X 14 size. Other than that it is a quality machine for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Perfect! Best Price :-)

04/14/2014
By ,
Orlando, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this printer on Amazon with excellent reviews and found here for $20 less. Most attractive feature is the fact that one can purchase aftermarket Inc. any relatively low price. I've only had it for a few days but I am very happy with my purchase. Very nice to be able to hit print from your phone or iPad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Very Good Printer

08/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked great right out if th box. Loaded drivers on PC. Downloaded Brother Print&Scan App from the Apps Store. Brother printer found my wireless routed first time. Can print from iPhone IPad PC. Like the 2 sided paper print option saves paper.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great printer for home office use.

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer was easy to set up right out of the box. It has office features that home owner would like. The two side printing is nice to have and it saves paper. Scan and fax when you need to handle your legal documents.I think this printer is a great buy at any price,I was lucky and got it on sale,tax free and free shipping. How can you beat that one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great all in one qualities

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this printer. It's setup was simple. It took about an hour to figure out it's components and its setup. The print quality is decent, but I have not printed out photos yet! Love the fact that it is wireless. I hooked the fax right up to my home phone number. Such ease! Great buy for the price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Fantastick!!!!

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not be happier, after trying 2!!! HP 1512 and both had printing problems right out of the box. And I was a HP fan!! this printer is GREAT!!!! uses very little ink and prints FAST! very clear and clean printing and ink is very cheap with after market sights on EBay. I am now a Brothers fan set up was VERY easy the machine does it all for you, just read the instructions and you are good to go, I was surprised how easy it was, I did not use the Fax as I do not have a land line, but that is not why I got it, I just hooked it up to my computer and good to go. Can't say enough good about this printer, very reasonably priced, very cheap for what all it can do.
THANKS BROTHER FOR MAKING SUCH A GOOD PRINTER AT A REASONBLE PRICE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great Printer for price

06/19/2014
By ,
Monee, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how fast the printer came. It also was so easy to set up and use. I have used it for about 300 prints and it still is sharp and colorful. Black ink is low but does not need replacing right now. Love this brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Just perfect

08/01/2014
By ,
Chesnee, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was easy to and works perfectly!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great printer

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up with our mac and ipad 4
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Don't last long!!!!!!!!!

07/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bad quality
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next