Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Brother Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Walmart.com Price Reflects a $20 Instant Rebate from Brother for a Limited Time! Rebate included in Price. Effective November 30, 2014 to December 20, 2014 If you're looking for an easy-to-use, economical color inkjet all-in-one that won't waste valuable workspace, the Brother MFC-J450DW Compact All-in-One Printer may be exactly what you need. In addition to its budget-friendly purchase price, it offers a lower total cost of operation thanks to high-yield replacement ink cartridges and paper-saving duplex printing. Features like an automatic document feeder, mobile device printing and free Brother Cloud apps make this Brother MFC-J450DW Compact All-in-One Printer an excellent choice for your home/home office.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation90%94 out of 104reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 93 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Excellent

03/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this printer for over a month and it is great! It quickly prints excellent quality documents. The printer is quiet and it was easy to setup.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

I like this unit so far

09/07/2014
By ,
philadelphia, pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used all the features of this device, except for faxing, and so far it works pretty well. I copied a 20 page document in about a minute. Scanning is easy and gives you the option to save to PDF, which simplifies things for sure. Changing print options is fairly simple too. While the device is in operation it is a bit noisy. And the paper tray only holds approximately 30 sheets at a time. For me that is no bid deal but if you are doing high volume tasks that could be an issue. The plastic parts do seem to be on the flimsy side but if you aren't going to be doing a lot of volume there shouldn't be a problem. For light home use this device is a really good value; for business purposes, I would spend a few more dollars and get a device more suited for higher volume usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Perfect Brother Printer

02/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up. Ran an ink test in minutes and it was crystal clear. The wireless feature was quite simple. Just put in the CD and it automatically sets it up using your home network. This replaced a 6-year-old Brother that didn't have wireless. I am very happy with Brother because they don't hold you hostage to multicolor ink cartridges. I was buying the single ink cartridges online and then discovered that Walmart has a great deal on ink which I just tried also. Highly recommend the printer and ink.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

A Solid Feeling Machine

06/20/2014
By ,
Northern Vermont, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first Brother printer and my initial impression is that its a solid machine that makes Good to Above Average output.
Setup: the hardest part was getting the cartridges installed properly - black plastic going into black plastic holders does not make for easy insertion. Other than that, the machine pretty much sets up the machine for you. At this price level I'm pleased to find an enclosed paper tray and output paper stop (my defunct HP didn't have that).
Output: text is reasonably crisp and without any extraneous marks. Its not laser quality, my HP did print slightly darker blacks, but for everyday use, its perfectly fine. The story is the same for color printing: on the plain paper / vivid settings, output was well saturated, but not what I would call vivid. I imagine it will work much better with photo paper.
Final Thoughts: One of the features that I specifically wanted on this printer was an Auto Document Feeder; to date and with some differences in the input quality, the ADF worked fine. Its all part of this feeling like a solid product. Despite what may feel like my criticisms, this is a good printer, it feels solid and has more than acceptable output; but neither does it elicit an "Oh, Wow" response. But for what I paid (on sale), its an excellent deal.
Regards,
BearPup
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

brothers produce forever

02/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very each to use especially for a senior citizen. I will surely recommend this product to senior and others.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Totally and Completely Awesome!

09/07/2014
By ,
Eagle Lake, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love this printer! Wireless is definitely the way to go! I can now easily print, scan and copy using my mobile devices, as well as my laptop, with absolutely no wires! It only took about five minutes to connect the printer to my network, right from the printer itself. Took another 10 minutes to set up my laptop with the CD-ROM.
I also downloaded the app from the app store for free, which makes it really easy to scan, print and copy with my mobile devices. This app is not absolutely necessary to print, scan or copy, because the individual apps themselves are able to recognize the printer, but it is a really cool and convenient option. Now I can scan pictures directly into my mobile devices, and use them as wallpaper!
The printer is also super-fast, and you can change the desired print quality right from the printer itself.
Making quick copies is also really easy with just the touch of a button.
There are two things, however, that could use improvement. The cover is a bit flimsy and has a tendency to detach itself if you push or pull it at the wrong angle. If you avoid that angle, however, everything is fine. The other bad thing is the paper tray is also a bit flimsy and also has a tendency to detach itself if you pull it out too far.
Other than those two things, though, everything works great. I really like the way you can see the ink levels at a glance, right on the printer's screen. I also really like the way the cover has some weight to it, which helps with the quality when copying and scanning. And I also like the way the printer turns itself off automatically after a period of non-use. It also wakes itself up automatically when you start using it- you don't even have to fiddle with the power button.
I am so glad I found this printer and am enjoying it immensely!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

What A Deal!!!!

03/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had seen a teacher's review of a similar model of this type of Brother copier 2 years ago. She remarked about the economical cost of the ink and how long it lasted. I made a decision that as soon as I could afford one I would purchase it. She didn't exasperate. Copy time us short, ink is economical and lasts longer than my previous copier. I am very pleased with it and heartily recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Love it!

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found that the printing was clear and colors bright. The unit it self is a good size not large and too bulky. The ink is very affordable which is great since the printer was also
affordable. It's nice to find a printer with ink that doesn't break the bank and make you not print everything you want to. I did have to call the tech service for help with setting up my sons mac system. They were very helpful and it took only minutes for them. I have scanned and sent attachments thru my email too. The only issue that I have had is paper jams, I had a few in the beginning but have not over filled the paper tray and have not had a problem now. All in all love the machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Good Not Great

07/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installs and works great with Windows 8 and 8.1. Installed ok with Windows 7 Home Premium, but is not recognized correctly in the printers and devices area. It works with Windows 7..... but there seems to be an issue with the scanner. I don't think Windows 7 recognizes that it's all ONE device. It tries to make my laptop the scanner, gives me the yellow triangle in the devices and printers area....and can't find drivers for the scanner. I read online that Brother didn't have the correct drivers / support for Windows 7. Print quality seems good, price was good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great Printer

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had it a few weeks but have found nothing it doesn't do well.
It take paper and also card stock. It will also print on fabric sheet really well.
Great printer and easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Slow to print

02/08/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: It was delievered ahead of the delievery date. very easy to set up
Cons: very slow to print. Paper takes a long time to load between pages so printing is slow. Trying to load the paper is tricky as the entire tray seems to come out easily. Very average in print quality
Not sure if I will keep it. Seems very cheaply made.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Won't Print

01/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this less than 10 days and it won't print. Spent hours on the phone with technical support. They blame the ink cartridge, but have no solutions. I am returning this printer.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Fantastick!!!!

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not be happier, after trying 2!!! HP 1512 and both had printing problems right out of the box. And I was a HP fan!! this printer is GREAT!!!! uses very little ink and prints FAST! very clear and clean printing and ink is very cheap with after market sights on EBay. I am now a Brothers fan set up was VERY easy the machine does it all for you, just read the instructions and you are good to go, I was surprised how easy it was, I did not use the Fax as I do not have a land line, but that is not why I got it, I just hooked it up to my computer and good to go. Can't say enough good about this printer, very reasonably priced, very cheap for what all it can do.
THANKS BROTHER FOR MAKING SUCH A GOOD PRINTER AT A REASONBLE PRICE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Excellent printer for the price

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice all in one printer. I really love the wifi print function. I have downloaded the print app to my phone and Kindle Fire and both work perfectly with this printer. I got this printer mainly to print pictures and it has great. Prints photos quickly and they have very good print quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Brother MFC-J450DW

02/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and use. Uses much less ink than my old HP printers. Great value for your money.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Excellent printer for those who don't require much

06/15/2014
By ,
West Palm Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer is excellent for it's price and size. Easy to install and very good print quality. I'm always happy with Brother products. Just remember; buy something you can always pronounce the name of!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Replacing the ink cartridges is difficult!!!

01/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While the physicality is easy I continue to get an error message stating the printer does not detect the new cartridges. Has anyone ran into this issue? I need help!!!
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great printer

05/18/2014
By ,
Troy Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to set up, and easy to use. Works well with windows 8.1
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Nice little inkjet

02/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit is compact which helps when fitting in tight spaces. I've just gotten it so I can't speak for all it's functionality, but what I have used so far has been good. It has five different ink cartridges which I find daunting, but supposedly, this unit costs less to feed. We shall see.
I'd give it five stars if I had greater experience using it, but being so new, I won't venture that far.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother MFC-J450DW Compact Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Very good all-in-one printer for the price

04/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer was very easy to install. The print quallity was better than I expected. Well worth the money I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next