Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Walmart Family Mobile Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

Walmart Family Mobile Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

The WFM Alcatel One Touch Evolve Prepaid Cell Phone offers an affordable and enjoyable experience for those looking for a simple and easy to use smartphone. The high quality, large four-inch WVGA screen provides vivid details for photos, videos and games. The simple and intuitive user interface runs Android 4.1 Jelly Bean, and it features an adaptive keyboard for typing accuracy. It also has voice typing capabilities. This prepaid smartphone shows the Airtime Balance on the screen when you call so you can keep track of the call costs. With a talk time of 13 hours and a standby time of up to 410 hours, this phone offers convenience when you are on the move. This item includes multimedia games, a screen saver and wallpaper.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation64%23 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!

08/10/2014
By ,
Stamford, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is not worth the price even at the roll back price. I had the phone for 8 days and it wouldn't stay charged even when I wasn't using it. The processor speed is very slow causing the apps to always shut down. The last straw was when I picked up the phone to answer a text message and the phone turned off by itself and wouldn't turn back on with a battery at %76 charge. All Alcatel phones are below expectations and should not be bought if you can save money and purchase a Samsung or another cell phone company. THESE PHONES DO NOT LAST LONG AND ONLY CAUSE A WASTE OF MONEY. (My second Alcatel phone).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

Great first phone for your pre-teen or teen

10/10/2014
By ,
Huntington, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 12 year-old daughter kept bugging me for a smart phone, because all her friends were getting them. I saw this for $29.95 and thought if she looses it, breaks it or gets stolen, no big deal. She is very pleased with the phone. She's had it for 3 months. Works great ! She no-longer uses her IPod touch or IPad. She's on this thing all the time. It has a nice large screen. Vivid color display. Quick. I purchased a 16gb micro sd on Amazon for $6 so shes got plenty of storage for video, apps and photo's. Rear facing Camera very sharp. Good photo's. Front is o.k. a little dark. It holds it charge pretty well. Charges very quickly. For $29 how can you go wrong ?.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

HORRIBLE!!!

09/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please save your money , do not buy this phone.
It Freezes
It does not stay charged
Its slow
It does dont open any app
It repeats the same text messages 20 times over and over again.
It drops calls 24/7
it shuts down by its self
ITS NOT WORTH YOUR HARD EARNED DOLLAR!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

Extremely Disappointed

05/26/2014
By ,
Hiram, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1. Battery life: Has to be recharged before the end of the day.
2. Apps disappear from screen or float from one screen to another.
3. Very, very, very slow
4. Alarms: I can not depend on my alarms to go off as scheduled. When they do it is difficult to shut them off or to push snooze.
5: Can take a video but it impossible to view it.
The only positive thing I have to say about the phone is that it is easy to see when I have a text or a missed call, a lot easier than with previous phones.
Overall I would not recommend this phone. I am hoping to find a better phone that I can afford.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

good basic phone,easy to operate and navigate

03/23/2014
By ,
bolingbrook il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I justbrought back that windows phone after a week in exchange for this one.What a night and day difference with the easy set up and app downloads(with the windows phone you need a microsoft accnt that's a big hassle)There's no subsitute for androids ease of set up and operation.In the price range its a great phone.Its easy to pick any product to death about camera etc but at this price all that's on there its a pretty good bang for the buck
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

Good bang for the buck!!!

11/22/2013
By ,
Waldorf, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter needed a new phone and was looking at the Galaxy 2/3. I bought this phone as an interim phone. From the moment I gave it to her she loved it! Im technology challenged, but she seems to love the apps this phone offers. The battery life can handle her busy social life (Lol). She told me that she plans to keep this phone and has no plan to buy a Galaxy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+226points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

Looking for a Great Smart Phone - THIS IS IT!

12/09/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I do not work for a competitive manufacture of cell phones and I did purchase and keep this phone!
Secondly, I always compare any reviews here with those on Amazon and only take into account where there are at least 30 reviews listed for any product, and I suggest you do the same in this case, and especially look at the reviews for the phone the only person who gave this phone a 1- Star Review!
All I can say is I bought this phone for myself, I love it, and my partner immediately asked me to get her one for Christmas, and that she would get rid of her Samsung phone which, is precisely what I did, and what she did, and she is also a very very happy owner of this phone as well.
I recommend you try this phone out and then make up your own mind!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
Alcatel Evolve vs Samsung Galaxy Exhibit T599
Posted 12/10/2013
Gee... because I bought the Alcatel, didn't like it, returned it, bought the Samsung Exhibit instead, loved it, saw what a completely different, professional phone it was compared to the Alcatel, and posted that online, it seems it's now being implied that I must work for Samsung or something (wow... I'd sure love to have THAT paycheck!)
I'm not going to get into an endless, mindless circle about this, so for anyone reading, it's very simple:
DECIDE for yourself.
Don't take my word. If you're trying to figure out WHICH ONE TO BUY, do the obvious:
(1) Download the complete Owners Manuals -- available online from their respective sites (as I wrote before, this is the Alcatel One Touch Evolve, the Samsung is the Galaxy Exhibit Model T599). Read both manuals and see what the Alcatel does/doesn't do compared to what the Samsung does (just the obvious ones: the Alcatel doesn't do 4G, the Samsung does. The Alcatel's camera is a cheap fixed-focus only one, the Samsung's is a full, real camera with a macro setting for up-close things like bank documents. The radiation level on the Alcatel is 1.47 (legal limit is 1.60), the Samsung's is 1.17/0.78. The Samsung gives you two choices for a bunch of stuff (stock Android Browser AND Chrome, Google Voice AND S-voice)... I'm not going to rehash all the differences. People can get the owners manuals and compare them themselves.
(2) Next, go down to your local WalMart and COMPARE the two of them in person, where you can hold them and see side-by-side the quality of how each of them are built.
(3) If you're not able to open up the boxes (or if you want to do this online) and you don't mind returning one to WalMart, remember, you can return a cel phone to WalMart within 15 days. You can always by both and compare them side-by-side YOURSELF. Heck, you can buy them both, then just swap your SIM card between the two of them back and forth and compare the two. Compare how they sound, how they're built, what they do. Pick the one you want, return the other. It's not rocket science. And you don't have to take my word (or anyone's word) for it. Decide for yourselves, folks.
The Samsung keeps selling out online (you might ask yourself why the Alcatel is never sold out online, but the Samsung is selling like crazy. The Samsung was sold out online for a while, they got more in, but now it's sold out again). But as I said, if it's sold out online, check your stock for your local store.
And by the way, I don't like all of Samsung's stuff either. I originally considered getting the Samsung Centura that was on sale for $29 during the 8pm Thanksgiving sale because it uses Verizon towers (by way of Straight Talk). But boy was it a piece of junk (I tried someone else's who already bought one a few weeks before that). So I decided to wait. Then I then found the Alcatel at Target for $49 on Black Friday weekend, but when I tried it out and saw how cheap it was, I was unsure what to do because I didn't want to have to spend $500 for a smartphone. Then I looked up the SAR (radiation) numbers for the Alcatel Evolve (1.47 -- the legal limit is 1.60; look for yourself at Alcatel's site, in its manual, or at the FCC's page) and decided to return it. Then just by chance I saw the Galaxy Exhibit for sale, couldn't believe the difference, bought it at the local store, plugged the SIM card into it, and was solidly impressed. I wrote up my review(s) of it (as well as the Alcatel's).... and now I'm being accused of working for Samsung. Hmm. Oh well. No good deed....
As I said... everyone.. don't take my (or someone else's) word for it, get (or examine and hold) both of them (and other models as well) -- and decide for yourself. Doesn't matter to me which ones people buy. I already bought two of the Galaxy Exhibits for myself. If the Alcatel floats your boat, more power to you. But I'm going to help others out by writing very clearly what my experiences were like having bought and used BOTH of these phones, and having compared the two of them.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

can't beat it for the price...

12/02/2013
By ,
arlington, texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i've had it 3 weeks and its been great. I am not a phone gamer or "app" collector, I wanted a phone to play pandora in the car and access a few of my financial sites.
Screen is big enough and has plenty of standard apps.
The camera is way better than expected for a phone.
Battery has a decent life... better than most of the phones i've had with 3G on most of the time will last coupe of days if i'm not talking on it alot.
... can;t think of anything bad to say so far...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

Excellent mid-grade phone.

12/13/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price, this phone is fantastic. Graphics card and processor hold up to gamer standards, decent camera and video recorder. My only complaint is that there is no flash for the camera, and therefore no flashlight either...other than that, more than what I expected from a phone for under a hundred bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

The worst phone I have ever owned!

09/30/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this phone reading the specs and knowing it was a low end phone. I am not a power userand have owned several other mid to low end phones with similar specs. I used this phone for a month before giving up on it. Despite all of my efforts to make it run smoothly(only installed 2 apps, turned off all graphics animations, etc..) it was constantly extremely laggy. Any app that was opened took 10-20 seconds to open. many times the screen would freeze for over a minute. I am usually willing to deal with a little bit of these issues for a lower cost phone but this time the phone proved unusable even in its basic state.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

Great phone!!!

03/22/2014
By ,
Mount Carmel, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace my Samsung Concord, which suddenly stopped working. I LOVE IT!! I was not expecting much with it being so cheaply priced but it is such a great phone. It is comfortable to hold, the touch response is remarkable, the speed is terrific. I would recommend this to anyone needing a phone. AND it is $5 cheaper online than in my store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

Easy to operate

10/09/2014
By ,
Oroville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to operate user friendly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

Decent phone

12/23/2013
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is a solid phone that does what it should. Nothing too fancy about it. The biggest negative we found is that the camera has no flash, so although the daytime pics look great, anything with less than perfect lighting does not look good at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

this is the phone to buy if you;re on a budget

12/24/2013
By ,
mt airy nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the phone to buy if you;re on a budget, Its my second smart phone and I am very pleased. Add a memory card for more apps and buy the insurance for 2 years for $7, I purchased a windows phone first and within 5 weeks the screen went black, nokia would not back the warrenty. I am on the tmobile walmart family plan and its unlimited everything for $46 so data is not a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

The Evolve is JUNK

01/14/2014
By ,
Elizabethtown, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After trying to live with this phone for over a month, I've determined that:
1. Battery life is less than two hours of talk time.
2. It MUST be restarted everyday for the bluetooth to reconnect to any devices.
3. When restarted, the factory settings are restored regardless of how many times you try to personalize them. Example: Turn over to mute box is always checked on restart causing missed calls when the phone is laid down with the speaker facing up. Laying the phone down face up causes the speaker to be pressed against whatever it is sitting on, which muffles the volume of the ring, resulting in missed calls and text messages.
4. Icons on the home screen will magically move, disappear, or climb on top of another icon at will.
5. Apps run extremely slowly on this phone regardless of what you do to try to boost performance.
6. Installing your own ring tones is an all day ordeal due to the poor naming convention of the folders.
7. When taking pictures, the last picture that was taken sits as a thumbnail at the bottom corner of the screen when trying to take a new picture. This can be a problem.....
I could go on and on about this piece of junk but instead I'll just say "Do NOT buy this phone."
I am already searching for a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Greensboro, NC
totally agree..no wonder it was cheap!
Posted 02/14/2014
as soon as I take it off the charger it goes down about 1 cell per minute..Ive tried repeatedly to turn off ALL the unnecessary apps.. The blutooth and secondary email app will NOT turn off and there is no way to disable or even move half the apps to your SD card..I'm very disappointed!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

Don't waste your money

09/20/2014
By ,
Rock Hill, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought it 2 weeks ago and it's already teaking. Don't even waste your money
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

Good starter smartphone

03/12/2014
By ,
virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seems to have all the necessary features for a starter cell phone. So far it's easy to use and the coverage of t-mobile seems good.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

Really Great Phone...

03/14/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my 14yr old daughter, She loves it a lot. She enjoys all the features on the phone specially the front facing camera. She has shared it with me from time-to-time. I like the fact that it doesn't take but less then a tap to get to the app you want.
Well done Walmart, you out did yourself with this one...
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

Not a very good phone

06/22/2014
By ,
Cincinnati
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone for my son specifically for Snapchat and didn't want something very expensive. Front camera very very dark!! Tried to adjust the light but nothing. I guess you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Walmart Family Mobile Alcatel One Touch Evolve Cell Phone

don't waste your time

06/14/2014
By ,
harvey,IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
- The phone's front camera is very blurry and dark
- The phone moves very slow including the internet
- The headphone jack was staticy on/off when i first bought it now its just staticy period now
- The phone doesn't hold any charge. as soon as you take it off the charger the battery goes down without you even being on the phone
- The pictures that i take don't always save or they are in a different arrangement
- i wouldn't recommend this phone to anyone. i guess because it's from Walmart and not T-mobil store
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next