Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Brother Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

The Brother SQ9185 Sewing and Quilting Machine comes loaded with features. This device includes 130 unique built-in forms of stitches, including utility, decorative and heirloom. Also included are 55 alphanumeric options for basic monogramming and eight styles of one-step, auto-size buttonholes. With an extensive array of accessories, including 11 different feet, this Brother computerized sewing and quilting machine will accommodate the simplest and also the most complex projects. It also boasts a free arm for designing cuffs and sleeves and comes with a wide table for larger projects such as quilts and gowns. The variable speed control allows you to work at a rate at which you feel comfortable and productive, and the advanced easy needle threading system makes your job much easier. This Brother sewing and quilting machine's smooth fabric feeding system utilizes seven-point feed dogs. A brightly-lit LED work area makes it easy to see your work.
Average Customer Rating:
4.494 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation92%80 out of 87reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
91 Questions | 178 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Passed my test

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this machine while working on a quilt. It was quilt as you go and in some places there were 15 layers of fabric to sew. This machine passed with flying colors. I used almost every feature. Yes the feed dogs appear they are not coming back up after free motion quilting but they do. The tension is controlled by sliding the thread between two metal plates on the far right before bringing it down to the front of machine. I replaced the needle a few times but it wasn't the machines fault. The semi auto threader works great. I own another brother but felt it was cheaper to purchase this one than have it serviced. Even the quilt shop owners can't find a reliable dealer to service their machines. I was already familiar with an auto threader and understood what the machine was trying to do. This version is better than the complete auto. I have been sewing/quilting for 36 years. This machine is willing if you are.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great Machine even for a beginner

01/24/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased the Brother SQ9185 Sewing and Quilting machine. I am a true beginner meaning I have never used a sewing machine in my 50+ yrs of life. My very 1st project was a patchwork baby quilt (I probably should have started with something smaller and easier). After 5 days my project is complete and I am both pleased and humbled by it's finished look! I am very pleased with this machine. The user manual is very easy to follow and extremely helpful for a beginner. My craving for learning to sew, the 130 stitch and quilting availability and the reasonable price led me to purchase this machine. I'm looking forward to sewing and quilting many more projects. Just a few quirks but I attribute them to the user and not the machine. My Lil' Brother is surely becoming my best friend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Excellent for home sewing and baby quilts

05/09/2014
By ,
southwest Missouri USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Great machine at a good price. Easy to operate. Sews well on different thickness of materials. Fantastic for quilting baby quilts using the furnished quilting walking foot and extra extended tray. Lots of included useful accessories including DVD instructions and good manual. This machine replaced my 25+ years old machine and its amazing how soon I've become thrilled with this new Brother 130-Stitch SQ9185. Cons: Although 4 bobbins were included with the machine, I would encourage others who buy this machine online to also buy extra Brother SA156 bobbins at the same time, as the WalMart stores didn't carry those bobbins in stock. I would have liked a metal top spool holder instead of the plastic, but the style works smooth, and the top spool doesn't actually spin, like on older machines, just has a very smooth threading motion. Very satisfied customer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great for all, beginner to pro!!

09/20/2014
By ,
Panama City Beach Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted it for a while and it has not let my expectations down..The more I use it the more I love it. I just finished quilting a king size quilt...Could not have worked any better!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

More than I expected

12/07/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been sewing for over 25 years. I've always had basic machines that have lasted me years and years. I originally purchased the Singer 7258 and it went back, was an awful machine, nothing was right starting with the timing. So, I got this one at Walmart, figuring I could return it if I had problems.
Pros:
Easy to thread and understand. (see cons also#
Has the extended table included.
Has many accessories, all the feet you'll ever need.
It's quiet! Sounds like a mini spaceship.
Runs smooth.
Does everything you can expect it to.
Is a dream to work with.
Cons #these are pretty minor!#
The thread cutter isn't 'smoothly' accessible.
You HAVE to place your spool of thread so the thread comes from UNDER the spool. And most thread spools have a 'catch' at that end of the spool which grabs your thread as you're sewing. #I heated mine on a hot iron and smoothed the spool thread catch#
The LED light could be brighter.
All in all, I'm super pleased with this machine and excited to use it every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Good machine for the price

12/15/2013
By ,
Homewood, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this machine. My old one broke down during the middle of a quilting project. I went online and looked for machines that cost less than $200. I found the Brother Sewing and Quilting Machine. I compared this machine with others and finally decided to buy it.
I like several of the features. I like the large quilting bed and keep it on all the time. I like that it has the extra quilting feet. The project I was working on was a wall-hanging with many blocks and decorative stitches. The old one went out while I was doing decorative stitching. The Brother picked up where I left off.
I use the Start/Stop button instead of the foot pedal. It's much easier for me. I had trouble at first with learning how wind the thread through the upper threader and now I'm still having trouble with the lower part of the needle threader, so I thread it by hand. Threading the bobbin is really easy for me.
I watched the DVD twice and read parts of the book before I tried any of the functions. I always keep my sewing manual near my machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Excellent sewing/piece quilting machine

10/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 44 years old and have been sewing for 25 years. I have found my love in piece quilting. I had a Singer Quilters Confidence machine and the feed dog gave out. It was cheaper to replace the machine than to fix it. After reading ALL the reviews on this website regarding this machine, I decided to give it a try. Having completed 2 quilt tops plus a binding of another quilt, I must say: I LOVE IT!!!!! To be honest my main concern was that some people had stated that the Brother brand machines were somewhat noisy. In comparison to the $5000 machines, that would be a true statement. But this particular machine is actually quieter than my Singer was. It has many wonderful features and is easy to use. Read the instructions that come with it and you will be set. It is not a Cadillac of sewing machines. But I look at it this way: for $25 I purchased the 3 year warranty from Walmart. If I had to purchase a new sewing machine every 3 years, at the current price I paid for this one I will be in my 90s before I spend the equivalent of an entry level "Cadillac" machine. If you want a simple machine that can be used for piecing quilts and basic sewing skills, this is your machine.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Brother 130-stitch sewing machine is wonderful

06/20/2014
By ,
Midway, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has been years since I did any sewing. About A month ago I joined a quilting class and needed a new machine. After surfing the web, talking to the instructors and sewing on another students Brother I knew the Brother would be the right machine.
Walmart website offered it at a great price free shipping to my local Walmart and could pick it up the very next day.
This sewing machine is everything and more then I expected. Threading both top and bobbin is very easy with built in needle threaded, changing the presser feet is snap on & off, because it is a sewing and quilting machine there are presser feet just for quilts. This is a plus for a learning quilter as well as the experience one.
I took it out of the box watched the DVD that comes with the machine thread it and I was sewing. Started by trying some of the 130 stitches and button hole maker. Again I can't stress the ease this machine is to use. I replaced a hem in one of my granddaughters dresses using the blind stitch. I've done blind stitching but this machine made the hem look if it had been done on professional/commercial machine. To change from one stitch to another, push a button or two and you can do any of the 130 stitches.
I would recommend this machine for the beginner or the skilled sewer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

LOVE it!!

10/04/2013
By ,
Cape Cod, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine sews like a dream. It's pretty quiet and handles thick layers of fabric with ease. I love all the stitch patterns it comes with and was amazed it came with 11 presser feet!! One of the feet I was shocked it came with was the walking foot which is perfect for quilting, normally on other machines you have to buy it separately. It has a larger work space area than most machines, and with the table that is included makes it even that much better! Sewing larger projects is less of a pain with this machine..I use this sewing machine everyday and I am very happy with it. It does not come with a cover like some do, but for what you are getting I wasn't disappointed at all. I just made myself a quilted dust cover for it. Absolutely happy I went with this sewing machine. I am a Brother customer for life. Thanks for a great product at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Really great machine for the price

04/04/2014
By ,
IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine at my local walmart after first purchasing the Brother CE1100PRW. That machine is not nearly as nice as this one and after trying it out, it didn't sew nicely at all. Also had thread nests on the underneath of the sample fabric i sewed on. I decided to take it back and get this one. Definitely worth the extra $60 dollars.
I have sewed a few things with this machine and through some very thick fabric and it hasn't had a single problem. Also has a self threading needle that is easy to work.
This one has a lit up lcd screen whereas the other one did not. It also comes with the extra snap on work area and nice extra feet including a walking foot that is about 30 dollars alone on amazon.
I am very happy with this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great machine for the price.

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a 30 year old sewing machine that has been a workhorse through years of sewing clothes, quilts and other items that I bought at JC Penney. I had always used Singer machines in the past. I thought I would try a Brother brand machine because I heard they were good. This machine has so many different stitches which I thought was awesome and a long bed for quilting. it's super easy to thread, although it's quicker for me to put the thread through the eye of the needle than use the automatic threader. So far it runs smooth and very quiet. It makes nice even stitches. It came with lots of accessories which bought alone would have been expensive. I'm happy with it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great beginner-intermediate machine!

01/18/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for Christmas and well, I cried! But I had no idea how amazing it would be. It has many bells and whistles. I'm a newbie, but I now can thread this thing in a minute. I haven't gotten to the design stitching or monogramming. The only problem I'm trying to figure out is the tension part. Sometimes my stitches come out wrong and sometimes my bobbin gets messed up. Other than that, it's been an awesome machine. I never thought I would be quilting, but that's what I've been working on now! There is a good book and video that comes with it, which I read and watched immediately.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AZ
Posted 02/28/2014
Make sure the bobbin gets threaded snugly. There is a little metal clip that the thread has to go through down by the bobbin. If you hold the bobbin down and then thread the thread through the arrows and cut with the cutter, it should be in there good. I use class 15 metal bobbins these days. They are the little heavier and so they stay put better. I've also learned that the upper thread should be threaded with the presser foot UP for it to catch correctly. Also, use good thread. Super cheap or old thread doesn't work well. Have fun!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Good overall value

10/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
On the plus side: lightweight, easy to use, great DVD to watch to learn how to thread the machine, it is very quiet, and I like the footless feature. All the stitches are easy to figure out and the results are beautiful. I have not tried the buttonhole function yet.
On the minus side: bobbin function not easy to use, the thread does not wind easily and you have to tie a knot at the beginning if you want it to work. The carrying cases sold by Brother are all too small for this machine so you have to spend (a lot of) money and go to a specialized store to find one. I find the needle threader difficult to use and do better without.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185
10/18/2013
By ,
los angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE IT!!!!!! I have 4 different sewing machines I got this one on August 2013 I know how to sew but knowing about machines no i'm not a technician it took me minutes and a couple of hours to figure what buttons where for din't even see the video and it is awesome so far it i have made a few thousand dollars sewing and selling what i make so this machine is on all day and almost all night long I got it for $200 and added $20 dollar 3 year plan I'm getting more than what I paid I must say that the attachable table I don't use it it does not attach well but since I don't use it I have not even cared to see if i'm attaching it right but besides that I LOVE IT!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Makes my hobby more fun!

10/21/2014
By ,
Texas City, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am just starting to quilt. Before I purchased this Brother sewing machine, I was using an older machine by a different maker. I originially bought this because of the price and feet it offered. I am so very glad that I purchased this one. It is so easy to use - the needle threader works like a dream, no more hunting for my glasses to see the hole. The bobbin is so easy to install and then the sewing can begin. I just LOVE this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Harp is to small

08/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a serious quilter. I purchased this machine for that purpose. However, the harp on this machine is very small. Making it very difficult to fit a large quilt in it. I have ruined a beautiful quilt with this machine. I can see using this machine for small projects but not for quilting.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

The worst sewing machine ever

10/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the top of the Brother line SQ9050 and have regretted it ever since. It is the worst quality machine I have ever sewed on. The auto threader doesn't work. The bobbin design is so weak that you need to fix it every 5 minutes, it won't sew any fabric that is not lightweight, and won't sew denim jeans. DON'T BUY IT, or any other Brother machines. They are awful. The cheapest straight line Singer machine would run. The Brother's don't.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great for my first Sewing Machine

10/17/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently got this sewing machine for my birthday. I have used it and really like the stitches and ease of working with it. I use it for quilting and love that it comes with the walking foot and the extra table so it has extra room when needed. It came with a bunch of different feet. It also comes with a video to watch to learn how to put the thread in and use all the feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Super Product

10/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this maching for my wife. We looked at lots of machines and read all the reviews but we kept coming back to this one. For all the featuers and the ease at which you can use all of them is outstanding. also, it doesn't break the bank
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Exceptional value

10/19/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best machine I have ever owned. The one I had before was more expensive and only half as good. I have not tried all of the features but the ones I have used are amazing. Thanks for the great product. I received this machine the very next day with minimal shipping charges. Thanks, Walmart, for the excellent service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next