Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Brother Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

The Brother SQ9185 Sewing and Quilting Machine comes loaded with features. This device includes 130 unique built-in forms of stitches, including utility, decorative and heirloom. Also included are 55 alphanumeric options for basic monogramming and eight styles of one-step, auto-size buttonholes. With an extensive array of accessories, including 11 different feet, this Brother computerized sewing and quilting machine will accommodate the simplest and also the most complex projects. It also boasts a free arm for designing cuffs and sleeves and comes with a wide table for larger projects such as quilts and gowns. The variable speed control allows you to work at a rate at which you feel comfortable and productive, and the advanced easy needle threading system makes your job much easier. This Brother sewing and quilting machine's smooth fabric feeding system utilizes seven-point feed dogs. A brightly-lit LED work area makes it easy to see your work.
Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation91%94 out of 103reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
107 Questions | 206 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
76
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Passed my test

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this machine while working on a quilt. It was quilt as you go and in some places there were 15 layers of fabric to sew. This machine passed with flying colors. I used almost every feature. Yes the feed dogs appear they are not coming back up after free motion quilting but they do. The tension is controlled by sliding the thread between two metal plates on the far right before bringing it down to the front of machine. I replaced the needle a few times but it wasn't the machines fault. The semi auto threader works great. I own another brother but felt it was cheaper to purchase this one than have it serviced. Even the quilt shop owners can't find a reliable dealer to service their machines. I was already familiar with an auto threader and understood what the machine was trying to do. This version is better than the complete auto. I have been sewing/quilting for 36 years. This machine is willing if you are.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great Machine even for a beginner

01/24/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased the Brother SQ9185 Sewing and Quilting machine. I am a true beginner meaning I have never used a sewing machine in my 50+ yrs of life. My very 1st project was a patchwork baby quilt (I probably should have started with something smaller and easier). After 5 days my project is complete and I am both pleased and humbled by it's finished look! I am very pleased with this machine. The user manual is very easy to follow and extremely helpful for a beginner. My craving for learning to sew, the 130 stitch and quilting availability and the reasonable price led me to purchase this machine. I'm looking forward to sewing and quilting many more projects. Just a few quirks but I attribute them to the user and not the machine. My Lil' Brother is surely becoming my best friend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Excellent for home sewing and baby quilts

05/09/2014
By ,
southwest Missouri USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Great machine at a good price. Easy to operate. Sews well on different thickness of materials. Fantastic for quilting baby quilts using the furnished quilting walking foot and extra extended tray. Lots of included useful accessories including DVD instructions and good manual. This machine replaced my 25+ years old machine and its amazing how soon I've become thrilled with this new Brother 130-Stitch SQ9185. Cons: Although 4 bobbins were included with the machine, I would encourage others who buy this machine online to also buy extra Brother SA156 bobbins at the same time, as the WalMart stores didn't carry those bobbins in stock. I would have liked a metal top spool holder instead of the plastic, but the style works smooth, and the top spool doesn't actually spin, like on older machines, just has a very smooth threading motion. Very satisfied customer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great sewing machine for quilting.

10/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this sewing machine on line and picked it up in the store the same day. It arrived a day earlier than estimated and I was thrilled because I was able to take it with me to my quilting class that night. It has many great features with stitches and accessories. I love that it has a quilting foot and a walking foot. I also love the up/down needle feature and the automatic sewing feature where you don't have to use the foot pedal. I love the machine what can I say. :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great for all, beginner to pro!!

09/20/2014
By ,
Panama City Beach Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted it for a while and it has not let my expectations down..The more I use it the more I love it. I just finished quilting a king size quilt...Could not have worked any better!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

More than I expected

12/07/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been sewing for over 25 years. I've always had basic machines that have lasted me years and years. I originally purchased the Singer 7258 and it went back, was an awful machine, nothing was right starting with the timing. So, I got this one at Walmart, figuring I could return it if I had problems.
Pros:
Easy to thread and understand. (see cons also#
Has the extended table included.
Has many accessories, all the feet you'll ever need.
It's quiet! Sounds like a mini spaceship.
Runs smooth.
Does everything you can expect it to.
Is a dream to work with.
Cons #these are pretty minor!#
The thread cutter isn't 'smoothly' accessible.
You HAVE to place your spool of thread so the thread comes from UNDER the spool. And most thread spools have a 'catch' at that end of the spool which grabs your thread as you're sewing. #I heated mine on a hot iron and smoothed the spool thread catch#
The LED light could be brighter.
All in all, I'm super pleased with this machine and excited to use it every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+104points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Good machine for the price

12/15/2013
By ,
Homewood, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this machine. My old one broke down during the middle of a quilting project. I went online and looked for machines that cost less than $200. I found the Brother Sewing and Quilting Machine. I compared this machine with others and finally decided to buy it.
I like several of the features. I like the large quilting bed and keep it on all the time. I like that it has the extra quilting feet. The project I was working on was a wall-hanging with many blocks and decorative stitches. The old one went out while I was doing decorative stitching. The Brother picked up where I left off.
I use the Start/Stop button instead of the foot pedal. It's much easier for me. I had trouble at first with learning how wind the thread through the upper threader and now I'm still having trouble with the lower part of the needle threader, so I thread it by hand. Threading the bobbin is really easy for me.
I watched the DVD twice and read parts of the book before I tried any of the functions. I always keep my sewing manual near my machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Excellent sewing/piece quilting machine

10/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 44 years old and have been sewing for 25 years. I have found my love in piece quilting. I had a Singer Quilters Confidence machine and the feed dog gave out. It was cheaper to replace the machine than to fix it. After reading ALL the reviews on this website regarding this machine, I decided to give it a try. Having completed 2 quilt tops plus a binding of another quilt, I must say: I LOVE IT!!!!! To be honest my main concern was that some people had stated that the Brother brand machines were somewhat noisy. In comparison to the $5000 machines, that would be a true statement. But this particular machine is actually quieter than my Singer was. It has many wonderful features and is easy to use. Read the instructions that come with it and you will be set. It is not a Cadillac of sewing machines. But I look at it this way: for $25 I purchased the 3 year warranty from Walmart. If I had to purchase a new sewing machine every 3 years, at the current price I paid for this one I will be in my 90s before I spend the equivalent of an entry level "Cadillac" machine. If you want a simple machine that can be used for piecing quilts and basic sewing skills, this is your machine.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

LOVE it!!

10/04/2013
By ,
Cape Cod, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine sews like a dream. It's pretty quiet and handles thick layers of fabric with ease. I love all the stitch patterns it comes with and was amazed it came with 11 presser feet!! One of the feet I was shocked it came with was the walking foot which is perfect for quilting, normally on other machines you have to buy it separately. It has a larger work space area than most machines, and with the table that is included makes it even that much better! Sewing larger projects is less of a pain with this machine..I use this sewing machine everyday and I am very happy with it. It does not come with a cover like some do, but for what you are getting I wasn't disappointed at all. I just made myself a quilted dust cover for it. Absolutely happy I went with this sewing machine. I am a Brother customer for life. Thanks for a great product at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Really great machine for the price

04/04/2014
By ,
IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine at my local walmart after first purchasing the Brother CE1100PRW. That machine is not nearly as nice as this one and after trying it out, it didn't sew nicely at all. Also had thread nests on the underneath of the sample fabric i sewed on. I decided to take it back and get this one. Definitely worth the extra $60 dollars.
I have sewed a few things with this machine and through some very thick fabric and it hasn't had a single problem. Also has a self threading needle that is easy to work.
This one has a lit up lcd screen whereas the other one did not. It also comes with the extra snap on work area and nice extra feet including a walking foot that is about 30 dollars alone on amazon.
I am very happy with this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Brother 130-stitch sewing machine is wonderful

06/20/2014
By ,
Midway, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has been years since I did any sewing. About A month ago I joined a quilting class and needed a new machine. After surfing the web, talking to the instructors and sewing on another students Brother I knew the Brother would be the right machine.
Walmart website offered it at a great price free shipping to my local Walmart and could pick it up the very next day.
This sewing machine is everything and more then I expected. Threading both top and bobbin is very easy with built in needle threaded, changing the presser feet is snap on & off, because it is a sewing and quilting machine there are presser feet just for quilts. This is a plus for a learning quilter as well as the experience one.
I took it out of the box watched the DVD that comes with the machine thread it and I was sewing. Started by trying some of the 130 stitches and button hole maker. Again I can't stress the ease this machine is to use. I replaced a hem in one of my granddaughters dresses using the blind stitch. I've done blind stitching but this machine made the hem look if it had been done on professional/commercial machine. To change from one stitch to another, push a button or two and you can do any of the 130 stitches.
I would recommend this machine for the beginner or the skilled sewer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great beginner-intermediate machine!

01/18/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for Christmas and well, I cried! But I had no idea how amazing it would be. It has many bells and whistles. I'm a newbie, but I now can thread this thing in a minute. I haven't gotten to the design stitching or monogramming. The only problem I'm trying to figure out is the tension part. Sometimes my stitches come out wrong and sometimes my bobbin gets messed up. Other than that, it's been an awesome machine. I never thought I would be quilting, but that's what I've been working on now! There is a good book and video that comes with it, which I read and watched immediately.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AZ
Posted 02/28/2014
Make sure the bobbin gets threaded snugly. There is a little metal clip that the thread has to go through down by the bobbin. If you hold the bobbin down and then thread the thread through the arrows and cut with the cutter, it should be in there good. I use class 15 metal bobbins these days. They are the little heavier and so they stay put better. I've also learned that the upper thread should be threaded with the presser foot UP for it to catch correctly. Also, use good thread. Super cheap or old thread doesn't work well. Have fun!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

So far, so good; shipping method pathetic

12/07/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After a week of getting familiar with the machine, I like the convenient features such as the see through bobbin cover and the built-in thread cutter.
I have some doubts about whether the plastic spool spindle is going to last long.
My major concern about ordering from Walmart.com again is that this package looked like it had been dropped off a truck and backed over. Both ends of the bottom were ripped open, and the length of the top was scraped open. If this is what "Smart Post" gets you, I will pay more and get it in the store. It was the most mutilated package I have ever received. Thankfully the Styrofoam inserts kept the machine from getting trashed.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185
10/18/2013
By ,
los angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE IT!!!!!! I have 4 different sewing machines I got this one on August 2013 I know how to sew but knowing about machines no i'm not a technician it took me minutes and a couple of hours to figure what buttons where for din't even see the video and it is awesome so far it i have made a few thousand dollars sewing and selling what i make so this machine is on all day and almost all night long I got it for $200 and added $20 dollar 3 year plan I'm getting more than what I paid I must say that the attachable table I don't use it it does not attach well but since I don't use it I have not even cared to see if i'm attaching it right but besides that I LOVE IT!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

My New Friend

12/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this sewing machine. It does everything I could want to include quilting. Strong machine. I doubt I will ever have to purchase another sewing machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Almost perfect EXCEPT

10/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife does a lot of holiday sewing. She starts in July doing Halloween bags so this year we got her a new machine. For the first 30 days it was a good machine and she completed 50 Halloween bags for the local children's Hospital-then the trouble started.
The DVD was very helpful to start and she watched so she could thread needles and use all the fancy stiches. She had owned another "bottom of the line" Brother and trusted them. After 50+ bags she began to have tension problems that neither the DVD nor manual could correct. Reluctantly she traded it in because she loved the stitches and ease of use. I tried to convince her to go with a more expensive machine, but she was attached to this model and got another.
After another 60 Halloween bags, costumes , and a back pack for our grandson she will be returning it for the upgraded machine since once again she had tension problems and bobbin winding problems (if the thread is jarred while winding the bobbin you will end up winding thread onto the spindle underneath the bobbin rather than the bobbin)-since I have had to assist her on 3 occasion this is a problem that Brother should address SOON.
Also the more the needle threader is used the less reliable it becomes. Another problem Brother should address especially for women who are over 60 and want to be able to thread the needle themselves.
Long story short the machine is going back and she is getting another one. Because she is doing so much sewing right now every time it has been under warranty.
You guessed it-she is getting another Brother. She has been sewing since she was 9 and has used Singers (great when they were all metal- but not so good when they went plastic) a Nikki (I bought it when I was in the reserves and it was great for small sewing jobs), a Bernia her mother owned and now the Brother. She still has her bottom of the line Brother -great for straight, reverse, zig/zag stitches that she can use in a prince, she wants to do more. Here's hoping the SE 400 does the trick,
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

This has everything!

02/01/2014
By ,
San Tan Valley, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do a lot of quilting and needed a more portable machine to use when i go to classes or sew-in days. This is perfect! I can do start to finish on a quilt project with this machine. I'm having so much fun using it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Midwest
Quilting
Posted 04/08/2014
I want to know from seasoned quilters if i should purchase the Brother 6000i or the SQ9185. I am doing a lot of sewing/quilting and piecing. I am learning to free motion quilt and want to buy a new machine. Which do you suggest?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Not as the specs say!

12/06/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The only reason I bought this was for the increased spindle speed of 850 SPM but it can only do this speed at 2.5 mm stitches if you use 3.0+ it slows down to well below what my old Brother SE400 that runs at 710 SPM.
Overall it looked like a good machine and if speed isn't what you need you may be happy with it, I've been very happy with my other three Brother machines.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great for my first Sewing Machine

10/17/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently got this sewing machine for my birthday. I have used it and really like the stitches and ease of working with it. I use it for quilting and love that it comes with the walking foot and the extra table so it has extra room when needed. It came with a bunch of different feet. It also comes with a video to watch to learn how to put the thread in and use all the feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

AWESOME machine!

01/07/2014
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't sewn since highschool, 1974....so I asked for this for Christmas as now i have the time to try 'new things'. I wanted to learn how to quilt, my hubby got this for me for Christmas and I finished my first quilt in 4 days! This machine works like a dream, easy to thread, easy to get the bobbin in and just easy especially for a beginner.....and all the feet! Don't even read any further, just GET IT, you wont be sorry. It's got the extension board, it's got all the feet....a dream!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 103 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next