Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Brother Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

The Brother SQ9185 Sewing and Quilting Machine comes loaded with features. This device includes 130 unique built-in forms of stitches, including utility, decorative and heirloom. Also included are 55 alphanumeric options for basic monogramming and eight styles of one-step, auto-size buttonholes. With an extensive array of accessories, including 11 different feet, this Brother computerized sewing and quilting machine will accommodate the simplest and also the most complex projects. It also boasts a free arm for designing cuffs and sleeves and comes with a wide table for larger projects such as quilts and gowns. The variable speed control allows you to work at a rate at which you feel comfortable and productive, and the advanced easy needle threading system makes your job much easier. This Brother sewing and quilting machine's smooth fabric feeding system utilizes seven-point feed dogs. A brightly-lit LED work area makes it easy to see your work.
Average Customer Rating:
4.515 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation91%30 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
60 Questions | 102 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great Machine even for a beginner

01/24/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased the Brother SQ9185 Sewing and Quilting machine. I am a true beginner meaning I have never used a sewing machine in my 50+ yrs of life. My very 1st project was a patchwork baby quilt (I probably should have started with something smaller and easier). After 5 days my project is complete and I am both pleased and humbled by it's finished look! I am very pleased with this machine. The user manual is very easy to follow and extremely helpful for a beginner. My craving for learning to sew, the 130 stitch and quilting availability and the reasonable price led me to purchase this machine. I'm looking forward to sewing and quilting many more projects. Just a few quirks but I attribute them to the user and not the machine. My Lil' Brother is surely becoming my best friend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

More than I expected

12/07/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been sewing for over 25 years. I've always had basic machines that have lasted me years and years. I originally purchased the Singer 7258 and it went back, was an awful machine, nothing was right starting with the timing. So, I got this one at Walmart, figuring I could return it if I had problems.
Pros:
Easy to thread and understand. (see cons also#
Has the extended table included.
Has many accessories, all the feet you'll ever need.
It's quiet! Sounds like a mini spaceship.
Runs smooth.
Does everything you can expect it to.
Is a dream to work with.
Cons #these are pretty minor!#
The thread cutter isn't 'smoothly' accessible.
You HAVE to place your spool of thread so the thread comes from UNDER the spool. And most thread spools have a 'catch' at that end of the spool which grabs your thread as you're sewing. #I heated mine on a hot iron and smoothed the spool thread catch#
The LED light could be brighter.
All in all, I'm super pleased with this machine and excited to use it every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Good machine for the price

12/15/2013
By ,
Homewood, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this machine. My old one broke down during the middle of a quilting project. I went online and looked for machines that cost less than $200. I found the Brother Sewing and Quilting Machine. I compared this machine with others and finally decided to buy it.
I like several of the features. I like the large quilting bed and keep it on all the time. I like that it has the extra quilting feet. The project I was working on was a wall-hanging with many blocks and decorative stitches. The old one went out while I was doing decorative stitching. The Brother picked up where I left off.
I use the Start/Stop button instead of the foot pedal. It's much easier for me. I had trouble at first with learning how wind the thread through the upper threader and now I'm still having trouble with the lower part of the needle threader, so I thread it by hand. Threading the bobbin is really easy for me.
I watched the DVD twice and read parts of the book before I tried any of the functions. I always keep my sewing manual near my machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Really great machine for the price

04/04/2014
By ,
IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine at my local walmart after first purchasing the Brother CE1100PRW. That machine is not nearly as nice as this one and after trying it out, it didn't sew nicely at all. Also had thread nests on the underneath of the sample fabric i sewed on. I decided to take it back and get this one. Definitely worth the extra $60 dollars.
I have sewed a few things with this machine and through some very thick fabric and it hasn't had a single problem. Also has a self threading needle that is easy to work.
This one has a lit up lcd screen whereas the other one did not. It also comes with the extra snap on work area and nice extra feet including a walking foot that is about 30 dollars alone on amazon.
I am very happy with this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

LOVE it!!

10/04/2013
By ,
Cape Cod, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine sews like a dream. It's pretty quiet and handles thick layers of fabric with ease. I love all the stitch patterns it comes with and was amazed it came with 11 presser feet!! One of the feet I was shocked it came with was the walking foot which is perfect for quilting, normally on other machines you have to buy it separately. It has a larger work space area than most machines, and with the table that is included makes it even that much better! Sewing larger projects is less of a pain with this machine..I use this sewing machine everyday and I am very happy with it. It does not come with a cover like some do, but for what you are getting I wasn't disappointed at all. I just made myself a quilted dust cover for it. Absolutely happy I went with this sewing machine. I am a Brother customer for life. Thanks for a great product at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great beginner-intermediate machine!

01/18/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for Christmas and well, I cried! But I had no idea how amazing it would be. It has many bells and whistles. I'm a newbie, but I now can thread this thing in a minute. I haven't gotten to the design stitching or monogramming. The only problem I'm trying to figure out is the tension part. Sometimes my stitches come out wrong and sometimes my bobbin gets messed up. Other than that, it's been an awesome machine. I never thought I would be quilting, but that's what I've been working on now! There is a good book and video that comes with it, which I read and watched immediately.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AZ
Posted 02/28/2014
Make sure the bobbin gets threaded snugly. There is a little metal clip that the thread has to go through down by the bobbin. If you hold the bobbin down and then thread the thread through the arrows and cut with the cutter, it should be in there good. I use class 15 metal bobbins these days. They are the little heavier and so they stay put better. I've also learned that the upper thread should be threaded with the presser foot UP for it to catch correctly. Also, use good thread. Super cheap or old thread doesn't work well. Have fun!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

This has everything!

02/01/2014
By ,
San Tan Valley, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do a lot of quilting and needed a more portable machine to use when i go to classes or sew-in days. This is perfect! I can do start to finish on a quilt project with this machine. I'm having so much fun using it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Midwest
Quilting
Posted 04/08/2014
I want to know from seasoned quilters if i should purchase the Brother 6000i or the SQ9185. I am doing a lot of sewing/quilting and piecing. I am learning to free motion quilt and want to buy a new machine. Which do you suggest?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

A good purchase!

01/08/2014
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit that I bought this machine thinking it was a less expensive model--and only realized later when I checked the receipt that it cost almost double what I thought it had! Evidently someone had put it on the wrong shelf--but it was Christmas Eve and I had to get my gifts made........so we kept it. At first I was overwhelmed by all the bells and whistles: I hadn't done any sewing for years, and all I wanted to do was to get my projects done (the older sewing machine I had planned to use wouldn't work# without having to spend a lot of time watching videos or reading instruction manuals. Fortunately for me the machine IS easy to use and does a good job! All I had to do was to read the quick start instructions to find out what I needed to know to wind the bobbin #quick and easy#, thread the machine #manually for now#, and serge the burlap bags I was sewing. I did have some trouble with the machine jamming up and flashing an E6 error a few times, but I attribute that to the fabrics I was using #old coffee bags). Had I used the walking foot I might have done better. Anyway, I finished both projects and was very happy with the machine! I used the attachable table--which fit nicely and really did make my larger project easier to deal with. I'm looking forward to working on other projects with a less difficult fabric so I can use those special stitches and do some monogramming!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

AWESOME machine!

01/07/2014
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't sewn since highschool, 1974....so I asked for this for Christmas as now i have the time to try 'new things'. I wanted to learn how to quilt, my hubby got this for me for Christmas and I finished my first quilt in 4 days! This machine works like a dream, easy to thread, easy to get the bobbin in and just easy especially for a beginner.....and all the feet! Don't even read any further, just GET IT, you wont be sorry. It's got the extension board, it's got all the feet....a dream!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185
10/18/2013
By ,
los angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE IT!!!!!! I have 4 different sewing machines I got this one on August 2013 I know how to sew but knowing about machines no i'm not a technician it took me minutes and a couple of hours to figure what buttons where for din't even see the video and it is awesome so far it i have made a few thousand dollars sewing and selling what i make so this machine is on all day and almost all night long I got it for $200 and added $20 dollar 3 year plan I'm getting more than what I paid I must say that the attachable table I don't use it it does not attach well but since I don't use it I have not even cared to see if i'm attaching it right but besides that I LOVE IT!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great for my first Sewing Machine

10/17/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently got this sewing machine for my birthday. I have used it and really like the stitches and ease of working with it. I use it for quilting and love that it comes with the walking foot and the extra table so it has extra room when needed. It came with a bunch of different feet. It also comes with a video to watch to learn how to put the thread in and use all the feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

great machine

03/20/2014
By ,
Kalispell, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You get a lot of machine for the money! I was most interested in the quilting attachments - they have met all my expectations. The machine itself is quiet, smooth and has very good lighting. Brother has always put out a good product, this is no exception!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Easy to use, multi-purpose, machine

12/21/2013
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, I am not claiming that I know how to sew or have used many machines to compare this to. With that being said, I have found this machine really easy to use. Setup was easy thanks to the instructions and included instructional DVD. The fast bobbin winder is a breeze to use, as is threading the machine in general. My only complaint about threading is that the built in needle threader does not always get the needle threaded, so far there has been about a 95% success rate with using it. I love all of the built in stitches that this machine has. Selecting the stitch pattern is also simple, the machine has the stitch pattern guide right on the machine, the LCD screen also reminds you of which presser foot to use. Monogramming is easy, but don't let that be the selling feature for you. There is only one font and only one size to monogram with, basic block lettering a little over 1/4" tall. Monogramming is fairly easy and is great for adding a name to the breast pocket of a shirt. Changing needles, presser feet, thread, and bobbins is simple to do thanks to the included tools and instructions ( threading and bobbin instructions are printed on the maching itself). I have not used all features of the machine, nor have I sewn many materials on it, but what I have used came out great. The machine seems to have sufficient power and speed to get tough jobs done quickly. All-in-all, I would recommend this machine to anyone (especially for a novice like me) who needs a simple and reliable machine to sew or quilt.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Very happy with my gift

10/14/2013
By ,
Bentonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My parents gave me this machine as a gift, after my Singer Electronic stopped working correctly. I had used other machines in quilting classes, and found this machine easy to use and understand. I have not had the issue with the dog feet that others have reported on here. Happy sewing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Love it!

11/10/2013
By ,
Richmond, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sews awesome! I use it every day and so far it has been fabulous. Extremely easy to use and I am having a blast with my new sewing machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Great sewing machine for the casual quiter

02/13/2014
By ,
Washington Co Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Started using my machine to make a couch quilt for my husband's valentines present. Was worried I would not be able to finish it in time because my machine was in need of repair. When the repair was close to the purchase price of the new Brother 130 sew and quilt machine, I decided to get the new machine and use the other as a back up after repair. Well, the new machine is a dream come true. Makes quilting even easier than my old machine and my husband will get his valentines present on time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Amazing Machine!!

03/13/2014
By ,
Dayton, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine because all of the great reviews and all the items you get with the machine. Once I started using the machine I fell in love with it even more. Its a dream to work with. I mainly use it to make quilts (where I earn the main source of my money). This sewing machine is very capable of sewing heavy material. I would recommend this sewing machine to beginners or the most advanced sewers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

What a great machine.

03/12/2014
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use from the start and using within minutes of unpacking. I love this machine and would recommend this over other more expensive models / brands...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

Does NOT sew through thick layers or knit fabrics

02/01/2014
By ,
Somers, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a single mom, and someone who's very crafty, I make a lot of my daughter's clothing with primarily knit, denim, and fleece fabrics ranging anywhere from lightweight to heavy, so I need a sewing machine that can stand up to a lot of use, primarily for garment construction. I figured since this machine has 130 built in stitches, including monogramming, and a wide range of attachment feet, that it would be a perfect match for me. It also has features that I wanted such as start/stop sewing, needle up/down, variable speed control. On woven fabrics, the machine functions as it should, however when you place any type of heavy layers or knit material, the machine performs like the junk that it truly is. The fact that it says that it's a sewing AND "quilting" machine right on the box, AND it comes with a walking foot, leads one to believe that it can handle multiple layers of fabric with ease, but this is not the case. The first time I tried to sew two layers of knit fabric, the feed dogs chewed up the fabric, and it was a major headache/pain to get it removed. Then, I tried installing the walking foot to see if that would help. Well, it stopped my fabric from being chewed up, but the feed dogs on this machine are so weak, that even with the walking foot, it would not feed my fabric through. I purchased this sewing machine with the intention of it becoming my primary machine, and instead it became a complete disappointment and a waste of my time and money. As a side note, I do own other brother sewing machines, (Innovis 500d, 3034d Serger, 1034d Serger, 2340cv Coverstitch Serger) and they haven't given me any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother 130-Stitch Sewing and Quilting Machine, SQ9185

good for a step up from beginner

09/21/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was disappointed in the monogram part of the machine but it's good for doing decorative stitching & learning to make quilts.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next