Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for TomTom TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

TomTom TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Make traveling to your next destination simple with this TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS. It has more than 7 million point of interests stored within its databases so finding nearby attractions is easy. This auto GPS unit covers North American locations and offers free lifetime map updates. Its user interface is designed to be simple to navigate. The map share technology is an added bonus. It comes complete with a USB cord, a case and a battery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.151 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation86%63 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

So far So good

01/04/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received the GPS a day ago. I previously had a GARMIN NUVI and it recognized the touch screen half of the time, and the cable was in a horrible spot which ultimately caused it to stop working due to the cable being bent against the dashboard.
This tomtom has the cable up top and aiming to the right direction.
The touch screen is very sensitive which makes it easy to type the address.
The lifetime map updates can only be used 4 times a year, which is a little disappointing but not a big deal.
I searched one of my favorite destinations and it actually found it, instead of having to drive to it and the save the spot on my garmin.
Note: The first time you update the gps, it takes about 5 minutes to download the update but 40 minutes to update the actual gps. Even though that is a long time, this is my third GPS and they are all slow when it comes to updating. On the other side, the update was rather simple to get and even a non computer savvy person should be able to do it
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 2 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Overall good product so far.

03/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just received this last week, but so far it is better than my old Garmin. My biggest complaint is with the software used to load maps onto the device. I had to go and edit a bunch of INI files with each downloaded map to switch ports that the map software uses to connect to the maps web service. If I left the default port or didn't switch the configuration after each download, then the download would grind to a halt. With a fast fiber internet connection it was not on my end. This required killing the maps updated, editing a very we'll hidden configuration, and then relaunching. The actual load to the device was quick. It took me hours of research on the TomTom forums to find solutions that work and I cannot believe that a non-technical user would figure it out. If you just need U.S. Maps and are not technical, then the device is fine. If you need more, then good luck downloading (a 500mb file does not take 5 days to download when you have a 75 Mbps connection).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 3 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Great GPS

12/02/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love my TOM TOM, I own two. The live traffic is great in the cities for routing around trouble.
Word of warning, when you update for the first time you have a code that comes in the box, DO NOT through it away. I lost my info and now my maps to not update unless I pay.
Also if you register more than one TOM TOM, each needs its own email address.
I never travel without it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+93points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Northwest FL
Not what it says!
Posted 12/12/2013
Lifetime Maps - Only for MAC and Windows. NOT Linux! I am exclusively a Free Open Source Software (FOSS) and Linux user. So even though the TomTom is built on FOSS it can't be updated by FOSS. Why?
Has a micro SD slot which is NOT ACTIVATED. Why?
Maps are not correct for my area. Tried to set Schools and it missed several which have been there more than ten years. A few roads are also wrong, again in place for more than ten years. These roads are paved and maintained by the county road department.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Surprisingly good GPS!

03/08/2014
By ,
Louisville KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only thing I don't like about it is that you cannot "unclick" the GPS and leave the mount when you don't want to leave the GPS on the windshield---you have to remove suction-cup and all. That said, this thing is a really good value for the money, large screen with lots of settings to customize it the way you like it. You can leave set it for the standard single-screen display or set it to go to a split-screen when you hit major intersections on the Interstate. With split-screen, you get the standard display on the left half and on the right half, your path and the lane(s) you should take are clearly marked in orange arrows. I'm planning to drive from KY to SC in a couple of weeks and this will be a great help in navigating a 10-hour drive. Power-cord is a USB end with a cigarette-lighter device you can plug into, so I like the option to choose between the two. I'm very pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 5 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Easy to use.

12/12/2013
By ,
New Lenox Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave this as an early Christmas present to my daughter in law. She had never used one before so I was kind of worried. When her and my grand daughter went on their trip she used it for every thing. She easily found her destination as well as gas stations and restaurants. Every thing was very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 6 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

got it on sale. Very good for the average traveler

12/14/2013
By ,
Clarion,Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to register. Speaks much clearer than my 8 year old magellan. Gives much more detail for turns.Free maps are good but seams like I am always upgrading the syatem. Icon appears on computer when update is ready. This GPS is great for the average traveler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Review 7 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Excellent GPS

01/22/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I thought this used a (separate) mounting bracket to secure this device to the windshield (I should have read the details better I guess), however I do like that the mounting system is built in to the device itself. It makes installation extremely easy.
(just press the GPS device's suction cup against the windshield, then turn the knob on the back of the suction cup until it "clicks")
This is very easy to use, and the information is easy to read. The only thing I wish this had would be to include Bluetooth (so the instructions could play over most radios).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

TomTom GPS

12/18/2013
By ,
Seal Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this was an excellent value, except it was sold out when I tried to make this purchase. I own this same device and recommend it to anyone that needs an easy GPS.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Review 9 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

My first GPS

03/14/2014
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The TOM TOM is superior to the Garmin that I have used. The voice does not say "recalculating" but waits and tells you how to correctly continue. The "integrated" window attachment is a bit cumbersome and the instructions are not new user friendly. But overall I like it and Walmart offers superior value over Amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 10 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

great navigational tool for anyone

03/02/2014
By ,
dunn , nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this product to everyone of all ages . Even the techno declined . We love it. TomTom will not let you speed or get lost. Also lets you know when a gas station is coming up and lets you know if the station is a Shell or any other one. We are very happy with our product and the services of Wal-Mart. Thank you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Excellent Product

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is precise. It has all the bells and whistles I was looking for. I upgraded from the Garmin and was very impressed by all the great features TomTom offers. Ex.) driving through Cinncinati Ohio can be hectic but TomTom not only advises you to be in the left lane but shows you on the screen what lanes will effectively keep you left. Also when you take a gas break it does not automatically tell you you are going the wrong way instead it gives the directions to return to your route. My old gps would tell me it was "recalculating" any chance it got and that was frustrating. TomTom just acts as if your still following your route. Amazing product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 12 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Here Tomm Tomm-

12/14/2013
By ,
Jamestown,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a tom tom for 8 yrs-but an older version. After purchasing this one-I never knew it could be so fun going places. I really like the big screen and the split screen feature come up upon exits so you never have to touch the device while driving. When you turn on your car-the device turns on (if you have it plugged in). Having to get used to removing the suction cup (nonremoveable from device) and device each exit- I really like this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Very useful

12/14/2013
By ,
Fresh meadows ,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i have not used it much, but it is very easy to use and the traffic warnings are quite good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 14 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Not a good choice

12/16/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was an online special. We have used it twice in areas we frequent often. It consistently takes a longer or out of the way route. It is not accurate. Could not recommend it to anyone. We are considering returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 15 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Gave up on Garmin after many years

04/01/2014
By ,
WA and AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used Garmin and Magellan for many years in our 4 vehicles. But I noticed that there were tracking errors in the Garmin. I also found that the mileage indicator did not adjust as you got near your destination in text mode with the Garmin. Out of frustration, I purchased this TomTom and am I glad I did. It offers far more features than the Garmin. It also costs less (better value) and the mileage indicator works properly. I can wholeheartedly recommend this TomTom
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Why wait

04/02/2014
By ,
Manchester, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wanted something outside of my phone for trip directions. Chose this item as priced right and available immediately. Was not disappointed. Could not imagine navigating the unfamiliar streets of Los Angeles with out it. Would have liked some better printed step by step directions as a first time GPS user, but it was not too difficult to figure out by trail and error. Lots of convenient optional settings in its drop-down menus
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Outstanding unit

04/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit to save data on my phone for road trips. Works like a champ! Just put in a destination and let her show you the way. Exceeded my expectations with finding a home in a new addition with no issues. Great product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 18 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

pretty good gps

04/06/2014
By ,
Georgiana, Al.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered this gps unit and it arrived within 3 days. Ran the program and it does almost the same as the gps unit I have for my laptop. We are happy with it so far....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 19 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

SUPER VALUE!

04/01/2014
By ,
Ormond Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TomTom replaced a 4 year old one that cost $40 more. Couldn't be happier. Technology is much advanced and windshield mount works great; no additional mounting device needed as I did with old one. SUPER VALUE!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 20 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

great product, even better price

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy, accurate even fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next