Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for TomTom TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

TomTom TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Make traveling to your next destination simple with this TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS. It has more than 7 million point of interests stored within its databases so finding nearby attractions is easy. This auto GPS unit covers North American locations and offers free lifetime map updates. Its user interface is designed to be simple to navigate. The map share technology is an added bonus. It comes complete with a USB cord, a case and a battery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation85%64 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 57 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

So far So good

01/04/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received the GPS a day ago. I previously had a GARMIN NUVI and it recognized the touch screen half of the time, and the cable was in a horrible spot which ultimately caused it to stop working due to the cable being bent against the dashboard.
This tomtom has the cable up top and aiming to the right direction.
The touch screen is very sensitive which makes it easy to type the address.
The lifetime map updates can only be used 4 times a year, which is a little disappointing but not a big deal.
I searched one of my favorite destinations and it actually found it, instead of having to drive to it and the save the spot on my garmin.
Note: The first time you update the gps, it takes about 5 minutes to download the update but 40 minutes to update the actual gps. Even though that is a long time, this is my third GPS and they are all slow when it comes to updating. On the other side, the update was rather simple to get and even a non computer savvy person should be able to do it
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Overall good product so far.

03/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just received this last week, but so far it is better than my old Garmin. My biggest complaint is with the software used to load maps onto the device. I had to go and edit a bunch of INI files with each downloaded map to switch ports that the map software uses to connect to the maps web service. If I left the default port or didn't switch the configuration after each download, then the download would grind to a halt. With a fast fiber internet connection it was not on my end. This required killing the maps updated, editing a very we'll hidden configuration, and then relaunching. The actual load to the device was quick. It took me hours of research on the TomTom forums to find solutions that work and I cannot believe that a non-technical user would figure it out. If you just need U.S. Maps and are not technical, then the device is fine. If you need more, then good luck downloading (a 500mb file does not take 5 days to download when you have a 75 Mbps connection).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Great GPS

12/02/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love my TOM TOM, I own two. The live traffic is great in the cities for routing around trouble.
Word of warning, when you update for the first time you have a code that comes in the box, DO NOT through it away. I lost my info and now my maps to not update unless I pay.
Also if you register more than one TOM TOM, each needs its own email address.
I never travel without it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Northwest FL
Not what it says!
Posted 12/12/2013
Lifetime Maps - Only for MAC and Windows. NOT Linux! I am exclusively a Free Open Source Software (FOSS) and Linux user. So even though the TomTom is built on FOSS it can't be updated by FOSS. Why?
Has a micro SD slot which is NOT ACTIVATED. Why?
Maps are not correct for my area. Tried to set Schools and it missed several which have been there more than ten years. A few roads are also wrong, again in place for more than ten years. These roads are paved and maintained by the county road department.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Surprisingly good GPS!

03/08/2014
By ,
Louisville KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only thing I don't like about it is that you cannot "unclick" the GPS and leave the mount when you don't want to leave the GPS on the windshield---you have to remove suction-cup and all. That said, this thing is a really good value for the money, large screen with lots of settings to customize it the way you like it. You can leave set it for the standard single-screen display or set it to go to a split-screen when you hit major intersections on the Interstate. With split-screen, you get the standard display on the left half and on the right half, your path and the lane(s) you should take are clearly marked in orange arrows. I'm planning to drive from KY to SC in a couple of weeks and this will be a great help in navigating a 10-hour drive. Power-cord is a USB end with a cigarette-lighter device you can plug into, so I like the option to choose between the two. I'm very pleased with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Lifetime Updates doesn't mean lifetime

02/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The lifetime updates apparently only allow one update. We updated our maps once and since then the website will not update the maps without asking us to buy the maps.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Easy to use.

12/12/2013
By ,
New Lenox Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave this as an early Christmas present to my daughter in law. She had never used one before so I was kind of worried. When her and my grand daughter went on their trip she used it for every thing. She easily found her destination as well as gas stations and restaurants. Every thing was very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

got it on sale. Very good for the average traveler

12/14/2013
By ,
Clarion,Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to register. Speaks much clearer than my 8 year old magellan. Gives much more detail for turns.Free maps are good but seams like I am always upgrading the syatem. Icon appears on computer when update is ready. This GPS is great for the average traveler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

TomTom GPS

12/18/2013
By ,
Seal Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this was an excellent value, except it was sold out when I tried to make this purchase. I own this same device and recommend it to anyone that needs an easy GPS.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Worked great.....and then.

05/05/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really like this unit, until the 3rd year of ownership and it quit holding onto the satellite signals. It would have locks on 10 or 11 sats and just lose them for no reason, constantly. Did everything that Tom Tom suggested and it still won't hold lock. My 3 year older XL unit is still going strong. Hopefully it's just a case of electronics going bad after a while.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Here Tomm Tomm-

12/14/2013
By ,
Jamestown,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a tom tom for 8 yrs-but an older version. After purchasing this one-I never knew it could be so fun going places. I really like the big screen and the split screen feature come up upon exits so you never have to touch the device while driving. When you turn on your car-the device turns on (if you have it plugged in). Having to get used to removing the suction cup (nonremoveable from device) and device each exit- I really like this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Excellent GPS

01/22/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I thought this used a (separate) mounting bracket to secure this device to the windshield (I should have read the details better I guess), however I do like that the mounting system is built in to the device itself. It makes installation extremely easy.
(just press the GPS device's suction cup against the windshield, then turn the knob on the back of the suction cup until it "clicks")
This is very easy to use, and the information is easy to read. The only thing I wish this had would be to include Bluetooth (so the instructions could play over most radios).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

My first GPS

03/14/2014
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The TOM TOM is superior to the Garmin that I have used. The voice does not say "recalculating" but waits and tells you how to correctly continue. The "integrated" window attachment is a bit cumbersome and the instructions are not new user friendly. But overall I like it and Walmart offers superior value over Amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Not As Described

01/02/2014
By ,
Gaithersburg, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Description states "Covers North America". However, this unit as received only covered the U.S. As I drive to Canada occasionally, this was an important criteria for me. Item was returned.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

powercord could not charge it

02/08/2014
By ,
Tampa Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was charged when I bought it. I do like the programing.Power soon ran out and could not charge it as the cord did not fit the plug in and could not charge it again.The store did not have one for exchange. I am not pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

POORLY DESIGNED SUPPORTED WEBSITE UNIT FROZE

04/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had very bad experience using TOM Tom web site. First could not find user manual. continued downloading the maps anyway. but could not figure out whether it did or not. After spending 5-6 hours the unit completely froze and just showed Tom Tom logo and will not go back to starter page no matter how my times I turned it on and off Had to return the unit and this is my last TOM tOM purchase I will ever do.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Not a good choice

12/16/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was an online special. We have used it twice in areas we frequent often. It consistently takes a longer or out of the way route. It is not accurate. Could not recommend it to anyone. We are considering returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

no codes for maps

12/22/2013
By ,
bartlesville ok
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
two and one half hours on the phone then 9and half hours downloading updates not happy
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

great navigational tool for anyone

03/02/2014
By ,
dunn , nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this product to everyone of all ages . Even the techno declined . We love it. TomTom will not let you speed or get lost. Also lets you know when a gas station is coming up and lets you know if the station is a Shell or any other one. We are very happy with our product and the services of Wal-Mart. Thank you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Excellent product for the price

01/14/2014
By ,
Tinton Falls, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Large screen is wonderful. Options are excellent. All expectations we're meet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for TomTom VIA 1500M SE 5" Portable GPS

Gave up on Garmin after many years

04/01/2014
By ,
WA and AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used Garmin and Magellan for many years in our 4 vehicles. But I noticed that there were tracking errors in the Garmin. I also found that the mileage indicator did not adjust as you got near your destination in text mode with the Garmin. Out of frustration, I purchased this TomTom and am I glad I did. It offers far more features than the Garmin. It also costs less (better value) and the mileage indicator works properly. I can wholeheartedly recommend this TomTom
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next