Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

This Z795G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone gives you the best features of a smartphone without the hassles of a long-term contract. It features a 4.5" touchscreen and 3G WiFi connectivity. A 5MP camera, GPS capabilities, a simple interface and a talk time of up to five hours make this Straight Talk Android phone one suitable for adults and kids alike. The included 4GB microSD card gives you plenty of room to store your favorite photos, videos, music and apps. It runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean), and it is only compatible with the Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
2.114 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation34%12 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone -- I like it, a lot!

01/19/2014
By ,
Warrensburg, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my ZTE Solar for ~2 months now.
Pros -- Its a dual processor that runs my apps very quickly. I Geocache and it has been great for finding Geocaches on the go. GPS pulls in the sats very quickly, quicker than my GPSr most times. Sensors in phone work great (look up f-droid SatStat) It runs my audio books and does all the other things I need it to quickly. My sister commented on how quick it was compared to hers. I also wanted GSM instead of the CDMA network, goodbye deadspotsin my area!
Cons --The only problems I have had is twice it dropped my Bluetooth and once I had to take the battery out/restart it for the 3G to pickup. Battery life is hard for me to judge because I run any electronic device hard and I leave it plugged up alot. (10 + hrs a day).
*** I did some reseach before I bought it, I had to order it, my walmart doesnt stock it. I knew the battery life would be shorter but it hasnt been a problem for me. For me its a 5.***
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Having Similar issues to Most People

03/22/2014
By ,
ky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Just like many of the reviewers here, i am having issues with the network connection. My friend initially bought the cell to use straight talk's service and he couldn't stand that the signal was spotty, i offered to take it from him but it is doing the same thing to me. It will show bars for signal but say that there is no network connection, texts arrive late often and I have to constantly restart the cell to get it to let me text or call back. Other than theses issues it is a pretty phone with good app features, If it would just work it would be absolutely ideal for me, but it doesn't. It is frustrating and although numerous calls have been made to customer service about the phone itself, none of the representatives are actually helpful. They claim it must be the sim card, or some other issue, when after putting 2 different cards in it is still having the same problems. This phone clearly has some sort of programming or manufacture default.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

So far so good!

08/03/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am not good at change, but this phone has been amazing for having all I needed. I ordered online through a Walmart rep at store. The first phone I received through the mail quit after 7 days just shut down. Nothing. Walmart replaced it promptly with same product they now had in stock at the store.
Called within an hour of phone being shut down to straight talk, Phone rep was telling me he couldn't find my information, because the phone was off. It was off because of straight talk phone shutting down. I asked for a manager who never came on the phone. But I was put back on line about 15 minutes later. and the phone is still working very well. I believe the rep was new and just didn't know where to find the information. I have had this new phone not quite 7 days and all seems well. Service great. Thank You. When I travel to other time zones I am hoping for good service. I have family in Louisiana and Tennessee and Indiana.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible phone, horrible service

06/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this phone back in early November of 2013. It stopped working in late november, sent it back to straighttalk, received a new one, it stopped working in late January. Sent it back. Took EIGHT WEEKS to get a refurbished one which stopped working yesterday (and during that eight weeks I spent countless hours on the phone with straighttalk trying to ascertain the problem with delivery). Spent one hour fifteen minutes on the phone with straighttalk last night. turn the phone off, turn the phone on, take out the battery, can we put you hold, on and on. Finally I was told that the problem (mobile network not available issues, no bars, full bars, no bars, full bars, back and forth stuff like that) was a problem with the phone and we would need to call back in 24 hours. Well, I am done with this phone. Wish my husband had waited to purchase this phone til some reviews had been published. It is a beautiful phone-great screen. But even the wifi stopped working yesterday. So I CHecked out reviews for some other phones on another network--actually the service I use (this ZTE phone was my husband's), and have already sucked it up and spent the money to switch.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible phone!

05/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone to months ago. It was amazing, for roughly six days. I called Straight Talk (who by the way is horrible with their customer service skills) and they sent me a replacement. I was sweet, they guaranteed this one would work. After TWO days, it started doing the same thing. It will NOT connect to the Mobile Network, and you cannot send text messages. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT waste your money on this horrible useless paperweight!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Manufactured Failure

12/28/2013
By ,
Radcliff, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
So I got this phone from Straight Talk's website about less than a month ago, when it came in, I was so excited to have it. I started using it and it was very well ordered and the porting process did not take long. After about 4 days, for some reason the phone did not want to access the mobile network or send texts, or make calls. I had plenty of service days left so I thought it was strange. After contacting straight talk, they said to reset the phone which I did...twice; and also to remove the battery and clean the SIM which I also did twice. After that still didn't make the situation better, I sent it back and got a new one. Now after having this one for a week, it is doing the same thing all over again. My friend says that it happened to him and to just wait it out but I can't see myself waiting another 2 weeks to see if the kinks will work itself out.
Overall, the phone is good as a working phone and with using apps. I love the internal storage because I am quite an app user. The display is great, the sound is kinda an either/or thing but the device clearly has a manufacturing problem and I think that they all need to be recalled.
Bottom line: Don't buy this phone or just buy at your own risk.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
have had mine only a week
Posted 01/01/2014
myself and a couple other people havent had any problems with ours yet and I hope we dont
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible Phone!!!

03/15/2014
By ,
salt lick, ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I absolutely loved this phone the first week...then my pictures would disappear...they would come back if i turned phone off and reset so I decided I could live with that...the second week it randomly wouldnt call out or receive texts...for hours at a time..I called straighttalk 4 times one day...each time they would have me take battery out and turn back on..make a test call wich worked but then within 5 min I couldnt make calls yet again....had one straighttalk employee tell me I didnt have enough bars to call out! Yet i was in same place and have had straighttalk service for many years and never had these problems..when I returned the phone to walmart the sales associate said that half of the zte solar phones they sold came back....I loooved the phone....if only it worked...will never buy zte again...last zte phone didnt last long either
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Three strikes and you're... in?

01/09/2014
By ,
South Bend, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm not going to go in to the specs and features on this phone because you can find those on the Straight Talk web site. Extra things not mentioned: It uses AT&T network. Fits the hand well and feels well built. Attractive case with metallic looking side trim. The screen is plastic - not glass. Many accessories now available on Ebay and elsewhere but Walmart will probably not carry them due to limited sales. Extra batteries available NOW same places. The ZTE Majesty and Solar use the same battery.
This phone is getting a reputation for being unreliable but I believe this is undeserved. The reason seems to be that this is a GSM phone with a MICRO SIM card and most Solar buyers are upgrading from lower end phones. Straight Talk seems to be having a problem migrating accounts from previous SIM's to these new MICRO SIM's which causes AT&T to keep shutting off connections. Your phone might work fine for a day or a week before suddenly "mysteriously" losing service. It looks like as long as you're starting up a new account and phone number, everything is reliable. I went through three phones and many,many hours talking to various Straight Talk support people before getting the problems ironed out. If it hadn't been for the pain of having no working phone for nearly a month and then having to switch over to a new phone number, I'd give the ratings 4/5 stars but Straight Talk's service is really crippling this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Um, no

01/18/2014
By ,
Hixson, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone on Black Friday. I ordered it from Straight Talk's website and got it the following Monday. I was super excited because it was a major upgrade from the phone I currently had. It was working great! It was fast and had tons of space for apps. That Friday, I went to a location that didn't have great reception. I would get a text and then wouldn't be able to send one back. When I left the area and had better reception, the phone still wouldn't let me send any messages or call out. I tried turning the phone off and on. Battery life went down VERY quickly when I did this and the phone got VERY hot. I had turned it off twice and then it wouldn't come back on, even if I charged it. I sent it back and got another one like 2 weeks later. It was working fine. I thought everything was fixed. Thought maybe it was just that one phone. I haven't even had the newer one for a month and guess what. It's messed up too. Where I work, the reception isn't great, but I get service. I went to lunch one day and was trying to make a call, and the phone just restarted on me. When it came back on, it said I had no service. I waited a couple hours and the service came back on. It's been about 5 or 6 days, and the phone continues to say I have no service. It goes in and out. I have tried resetting to factory settings to no avail. The WiFi works on it with no problem. I don't know if it's a software or hardware issue, but I know it's a manufacturers defect. I wouldn't advise anyone to get this phone until ZTE can fix their product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

CHEAP NOT INEXPENSIVE...LIKE STRAIGHT TALK SERVICE

06/06/2014
By ,
Santa Fe, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this phone for several months. When I first got it the battery it would not stay charged over 4 hours. Gotten better the longer I have it. As others say, it sometimes shows signal but one cannot call out or receive calls. Restart usually works but very, very inconvenient. The worst thing about this phone is the carrier it represents (Straight Talk). When this or any phone goes out the process to recoup ones cost sounds good via their so called EZ exchange program. It takes approximately 2 weeks to get an exchange and you must return your old phone first. Then the phone is 50% of your original purchase price. It appears they send the cheapest ones they need to get rid of not equal value. Then the EZ program will charge your credit card the next year without your permission and to get a refund one must write them a letter.
For the above reasons I have decided to go back to T-Mobile. Actually they have a much better deal than ST. Beginners a great $40 plan that allows 500MB data and unlimited other. $50 gets much more and this is all 4G not 3G. If these were not sufficient the rudeness & bad English, of the customer service representatives be enough to make me change.
Come on folks change with me. It's a better deal and outstanding customer service and no contract. Good-bye ST....Hello T-M.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone

09/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job of a much more expensive phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Useless Phone

01/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this ZTE Solar phone was too good to be true. I had ordered it off the Straight Talk website during "Black Friday" where I was able to used a $50 off coupon. It was an excellent phone with great features and it only cost me $129.97. If I could rate the phone itself, I would give it five stars.
Unfortunately, I went out of town over the Christmas holiday and when I returned home, the
phone had little to no reception. None of my calls or texts would go through and I couldn't use my internet browser. I couldn't receive calls or texts from others either. The phone was just useless. The only area where it would sometimes have service was at my home, but once I left my neighborhood, the phone would go back to poor reception. I lived with this problem for about two weeks hoping it would go back to normal, but it never did. I had spoken to several Straight Talk representatives, but nobody had a resolution for this problem. Eventually, I had contacted a rep who explained to me that the phone uses AT&T towers and when I had traveled outside of my zip code, I had caused my service to go into "roaming" mode where I'm unable to receive reception upon returning to my area. This is very common to happen in ZTE Solar phones.
Every time I go out of town and come back, my phone isn't going to receive no reception and there's nothing Straight Talk can do about it... I demanded a refund!!!!
I would advise no one to purchase this phone if they plan on using it outside their zip code.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Morehead, Kentucky
Worst phone/service EVER!
Posted 02/08/2014
I couldn't agree more - this phone is the WORST cell-phone I have EVER owned. I experience constant network failure and the service is completely UNRELIABLE! Most of the time, my 3G connection shows full bars, but I can neither receive texts, calls nor do I have internet access. I am completely DISAPPOINTED with this phone and Straight Talk Service in general. Would NEVER recommend this cell-phone to anyone!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Like a new phone every other day

09/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
settings would set to default every 1 to 3 days. Would have to change them back to custom settings
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone

01/09/2014
By ,
Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First thing I only recommend this phone if you have a certain budget and need a GSM/SGH and all I can really say is so far so good! When I bought mine there was only 1 review on here and I have noticed they all seem to be about a malfunction. I purchased this phone the day after christmas and it has done everything I want it to do. If anything does happen with it I will update.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Arkansas
almost 6 months
Posted 06/08/2014
It has been almost 6 months and still works fine except for little bug outs like when it tries to do too much at once.
0points
Customer Avatar
Arkansas
Update
Posted 02/19/2014
Almost 2 month since I activated the phone and it is now starting to lag a little bit and some apps wont boot up otherwise I can't complain.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

I do not recommend this cell phone.

12/28/2013
By ,
kountze tx.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After powering off and turning off all day to reset, finally called customer support. She could call in from straight talk customer service, no one else could. It would go to voice mail. You could not call out on it. This phone goes back to Walmart today. The straight talk customer support people are great. My husband is a minister, and is on the phone a lot with people needing prayer, and could not go without a phone for a few days. Christmas eve nite, straight talk over the phone activated his old flip phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

First Android Phone Works Great.

02/28/2014
By ,
Hugo, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first android phone and it turned out to be much better than I expected. No glitches or anything. The camera has great quality and it comes with a flash. There are a couple of drawbacks though.. the battery doesn't hold it's life too well and drains very very fast. Also the SD card doesn't hold much memory so you will want to buy one as soon as you buy the phone. Other than that, it's a really nice phone for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Gift

08/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this was a gift for someone that is really enjoying it.
thank you walmart
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

FAIR

11/24/2013
By ,
Suffolk, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just got this re-branded Tracfone. It says it right when it boots up. After getting it up and running you can update to android 4.1.2. My battery indication says about 8hrs when fully charged (that is with WiFi and GPS on, screen on Auto Brightness, blue tooth off). Like all Straight talk plans, this is 3G only, and if you read your fine print, you'll see that after either 2.5GB or 3.5GB of use each billing cycle, you'll get throttled down to 2G speeds. It has a rear facing camera with LED flash, but no front facing camera. And a flashing status LED (ie red, yellow, green depending on your batter status, signal strength etc) that you can select off in the menus.
Pros:
-- Compared to the other off the shelf Straight Talk phones, It runs faster, and is just fast enough (1Khz processor?). That said it isn't a speed demon compared to other android phones in its size... nor is it super slow (there is a -little- lag between selecting some apps and them opening up, or clicking a text line and the key board opening up).
-- Compared to the other off the shelf Straight Talk phones, it has a better screen.
Neutrals:
-- Audio level with head phones is 'just good' enough at max volume. I understand many android phones have this issue.
-- Its straight talk... porting your number can take days. They couldn't port mine as I was traveling and didn't know my acount number from my previous vendor... so I had to activate with a new number until I got home. Then when I got home I had to call their tech services to port over (hard to get a person to talk to on the line, and once you do, you are talking to someone in the Philippines). The lady spoke OK English and was very nice, but she killed the SIM in the phone and said I had to wait 3-5 days for a new one to come in the mail with my ported number. So I was with out a phone for that time... :(
Cons:
-- I can't seem to find a case, or screen protector for it. That worries me; I'm hard on phones.
-- The back, home and menu buttons are fixed to the case (not on the screen like other android devices I've used), so when using it in landscape you have to remember where that back button is (is it on the right or left... hmm which way did I rotate this)... that is a bit annoying seeing my Nexus 7 has them in the screen and thus they rotate to the bottom.
-- No front camera.... so Skyping is awkward.. you need a mirror or something as you cant see the other person and show them yourself at the same time without one.
-- Maybe its me, but the 'calendar' app wont' sync up to my Google calendar that I've kept on my PC and my Nexus 7.
Summary: I only bought this phone because i was in a jam, needed a phone right then (lost my trusty old flip fone in the woods), and 'hoped' I'd get a decent phone for not a lot of money. And over all its not that bad, but I've come to expect more from Android devices (like fully syncing up with Google). For not a lot more money one can get a used unlocked phone from internet sales places, and then buy a straight talk SIM and end up with the same affordable service but with a better phone. I wish I wasn't in a pinch because now I'm stuck with this phone, and waiting for a new SIM. :(
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great fix for a wobbly table.

07/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My Samsung was covered under Walmart's protection plan and it stopped working. They sent this piece of garbage in its place for some reason. I waited forever to get it and was going out of town so had to keep it. Its slow and the speaker is pathetically weak. It seems to have ok battery life and camera. I would say if you had a wobbly table you could put this under the leg and only then it would be useful for something. Thanks Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk ZTE Solar Z795G Prepaid Cell Phone

DON'T BUY THIS PHONE!

02/23/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this at Christmas and it worked for the first few weeks and after then the service would go in and out. I will be texting and will run out of service for like 30 minutes and not be able to send or receive. The same problem with phone calls! It's very inconvenient. I would give it no stars if it was possible. Don't buy this phone ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next