Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone ZTE Valet Z665C offers many features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 3.5-inch touchscreen, a 3MP camera and GPS capabilities. This Straight Talk ZTE Phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean), which provides access to a variety apps and games. The phone is capable of 3G and WiFi connectivity for greater access options when you are on-the-go. The phone features a phone book with unlimited entries so you can keep track of all your important numbers. The phone has a talk time of up to 5.5 hours and a standby time of 11 days. The cell phone includes a battery, charger, activation card and 4GB micro SD card. The Straight Talk prepaid phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
2.711 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation42%16 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Useless cell phone

04/08/2014
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have found this phone a very frustrating experience. Volume: Even with volume on HIGH, ringtones cannot be heard. I have tried every ringtone and making the change is difficult as the phone will not change even though a different name is identified. You have to turn the phone totally off each time and most often will still not change! Camera: The 3MP camera is useless with mobile banking - pictures very blurry. Even taking normal pictures (not banking), the pictures are very blurry. I was hoping to complete many deposits while traveling but the bank could not recognize the picture it was so blurry. Accessibility: Phone turns off when held to the ear as your ear hits the phone and changes the settings. You have to hold the phone away from your face and ear. I changed to Walmart prepaid to have access to Verizon while traveling. The phone is constantly looking for 'GPS' location. Don't waste your money on this phone. I am sorry I did!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Very disappointed for the price.

01/18/2014
By ,
Virginia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am replacing a Straight Talk Galaxy SII I bought on this website last March. ABSOLUTELY LOVED my Galaxy. This phone is like going back to a phone from the 80s after using a Galaxy. It freezes in the middle of texting and just goes to the home page. The wallpaper just changes on its own and goes back to factory almost every day. Apps take FOREVER to load. This phone should of cost no more than 30 dollars for the poor quality. The biggest complaint...... NO ONE can understand me on this phone. I have been told I sound like I am Charlie Browns teacher. It also has a horrible echo. How embarrassing when my bosses call me and they can not understand me. I bought this phone Jan 2 when my galaxy just decided to not cut back on. I intended on buying the SIII at tax time and really do not have the money to do so at this time but something has to give. Glad Walmart has a 30 day return policy. THIS PHONE IS GOING BACK!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

good phone for the money

11/02/2013
By ,
rome new york
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For under $100 you will not buy a new phone any better. Plays youtube videos fine and games are ok.has some issues connecting in large buildings, but will get it done.battery life is good and screen looks nice. Only bad thing about the phone imo is the camera, only 3mp and the color is kinda washed out and IT HAS NO AUTO FOCUS! So if you wanna use them bar code scanner apps like red laser, you can not! Up close the numbers on the bar are to blurry for the camera to read and far away there to small.but you can still enter the numbers manually in the program. But it takes normal pictures and video fine.All in all its a good phone, its as close as I think you can get to a high end phone for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

WAY better storage than my old phone.

03/02/2014
By ,
Southwest, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just upgraded from the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent Android which I had for almost 2 years to the straight talk ZTE Valet.
My old phone had horrible internal storage, no applications would transfer to my SD card and I wasn't able to download more than at least 2 apps on my phone.
The storage on this phone to me is great, I can download more than two applications and most of it will transfer to my SD card. And so far it hasn't slowed my phone down.
Texting and calling is no problem so far.
For being a pre-paid smartphone this phone has really good upgrades and good quality.
I don't like the screen feel too much, I have trouble texting with the touch keyboard, it slows down. but not sure if that's just me or if the keyboard text reacts slow.
the price for this smartphone is worth the buy.
Definitely am much happier investing into a newer and fast running phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great for Phone/Text - Unhappy with Web Browsing

11/15/2014
By ,
Minerva, Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My review is strictly of the phone model (ZTE Valet Z665C) and not for the carrier (Straight Talk). I had purchased a ZTE Valet from a different retailer a couple months ago. It was my first smartphone so I had no high expectations. My experience included notifications where the date and time made no sense (ex: 35/46/83 for date or 27:34 for time) and web browsing that would freeze or be so slow it reminded me of the old dial-up internet days. (When opening a web page it was like trying to download a song on dial-up internet - so slow to the point that I would just give up).
The bottom line is that this phone is fine for making phone calls and sending text messages - but why would you buy a smartphone if that is all you wanted to do? I ended up returning this model to the store where I bought it for a refund and then came to Walmart and purchased a different model phone through Straight Talk (for which I am absolutely delighted).
There were things that I did like about this phone. It was easy to swipe to a different screen to turn data on/off. I used wi-fi at home or wherever available so as to keep the data usage to a minimum - and this phone makes it extremely easy to do that without having to go through settings. I liked that all the Google apps were already pre-loaded. The camera is EXCELLENT - I really liked the Timer feature for taking pics and used it often. It also takes really good videos as well. The other thing I liked was that it came with a micro SD card already installed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

I hate this phone

10/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to have a galaxy proclaim and bought this phone when it died. The valet is kinda like a drunken valet....it works when it wants, freezes constantly, won't dial much of the time, reboots when I try to write a text and will simply not run the browser without freezing and crashing. Less than six months into owning the phone, now it will only work on speaker phone and even then the person I am calling cannot hear me.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great buy for the money!

10/25/2013
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm replacing a Samsung Centura with this phone. This is a great buy. It has a higher processor, (1Ghz) than some of the other Straight Talk phones. It is also a MP3 player and comes with a 4GB microSD card. It is also loaded with the newest android 4.1 (Jelly Bean). I get great service where I live which is a rural area that normally has poor reception.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
deland
Dont trust coverage maps
Posted 10/30/2013
Have had the Valet for a week now. One bar. Reception is one bar at my home, indoor and outside. The coverage map shows great service. Not! Annoyed, disappointed, and the screen is like impossible to read outdoors. Otherwise its ok average...
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

very impressed.. call quailty is great!!

11/07/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This ZTE valet is the first low end phone I have ever bothered to try mostly I have allways
Bought high end Motorola or HTC ext.. but this phone has all the features that matter
and is so inexpensive I'm going to buy another for our teenagers.
The call quality is very good, the screen resolution is very good.. I can't find anything
Negative to say about this phone at all.. and for me that's really saying something
If you are on the fence about the valet.. dont be.. its worth the price and then some!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

ZTE Valet - just say no!

06/07/2014
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My husband and I switched from Verizon to Straight Talk after our contract was completed about 6 months ago. We both chose to get the ZTE Valet phones. Both phones have proven to have their very own personalities. Rarely they work moderately okay but neither are dependable. Many apps do not run correctly and often shut down while trying to use it. Black screens (lock ups) and Looooooooooong wait times are frequent. Weak reception using the telephone and always be prepared to pull over to restart Maps when using the GPS for directions.
For $99, we expected much better performance. It will get the job done...... eventually. Just be ready to wait, and wait, and wait......
Do NOT get this phone if you are impatient!
I would never purchase this phone again but will continue to use it until I eventually throw it out the window.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Waste of money and time

04/10/2014
By ,
Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WIFI is so poor you have to be within 10 feet of a router to connect. ZTE was measure at 22dbm below my wife's Samsung phone when standing in the same spot. Very slow old technology. At times CPU utilization is pegged at 100% for periods of up to 30 seconds. I.e., the phone is locked up and your unable to do anything until CPU frees up some cycles. Android is unstable and Google apps terminate 2 or 3 times a day with errors. ZTE product support does not know the difference between WIFI and the 3G phone connection and unable to address any of the issues. Many complaints over the web on these issue as well as the lack of support. Based on my experience with both the product and the product support(or lack thereof# I will never purchase any ZTE product again. #Product was returned)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
ZTE
Posted 10/14/2014
Greetings utinfo ~ I stand in your corner regarding ZTE phones.....Lousy !
Had problems w/ ZTE handsets of my own 2 years ago. I very recently answered q&a here for customer also disappointed w/ her ZTE phone -- seems ZTE is no better now. I certainly do Not recommend ZTE as a brand to purchase.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Average Phone Good Camera

06/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Switched to this phone from Samsung Galaxy S2 with Sprint. Never had good service with Sprint so I am very happy with the quality of the phone calls and texting. Calls are rarely dropped. Camera takes very good pictures during the day and very poor quality at night. Wifi works fine but is slow. You press an App or play a game and it is always delayed. 3G does not work at all. It drains the battery and shuts down so I can only use data when I have wifi. Every once in a while it will freeze and I have to take the battery out. If someone sends me a picture or a group text my phone will not download it. It is a good "transition" phone to see if I liked Straight Talk. Now I will spend the extra money for a better phone and stay with this plan. It is so much cheaper than the other cell phone companies.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Aweful phone

11/15/2013
By ,
Sutherlin,Or
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am on my second phone in the space of 3 wks. The first one I only had it about 2 wks. before I it started acting up. When receiving and making calls I couldn't hear a thing unless I put it on speaker. I took it back and got another one because this phone had a 5 star rating. The second one I have only had since Sunday and every time I download a game it kicks me off when I try to play. The internet cuts in and out (laggy). I only have one game app on this phone the rest of the apps come preloaded when you buy the phone. I have tried downloading a few other games from google play store but I couldn't play those at all. This phone has been a night mare from the start and working with Straight talk is an absolute joke. I do not recommend this phone to any one that wants to be able to play and download games
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great starter phone

12/16/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although i prefer my iPhone , I purchased 2 of these phones for my Dad and my Uncle both whom are later 70's .
The phones access is easy , screen responsive . The only negative to the phone in my opinion is the ALERTS .
They are brief and the tones are not very loud .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Very Good Phone

12/12/2013
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good phone have had no problems in the last 2 months that I have owned this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worts phone I've ever owned

04/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love the Straight Talk service I get but this phone is AWFUL. It freezes constantly, goes back to the home page when I'm in the middle of a text, the texting keypad freezes in the middle of texts, etc. It is absolutely worthless.
SAVE your money- buy a different phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst Phone Ever!

09/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has been nothing but a problem. At least twice per week it totally locks up and I have to remove the back and take the battery out to reset the phone. Doesn't receive wifi very well at all, doesn't receive 3g signal very well either. The ringtones and notification tones are not loud enough and the phone seems to only vibrate when it feels like it... which is not very often. This phone is a total piece of trash. Please do yourself a favor and DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

my first smart phone - glitchy and laggy

09/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's a cheap smart phone, and my first one. I purchased it expecting it to be basic but at least work well. I've had it for 5 months. It's pretty disappointing.
- About once a week I have to take the battery out because the phone won't wake up from sleep mode.
- The screen auto rotate function frequently lags and won't rotate without shaking the phone.
- When I'm writing a text, it often lags and I have to wait for it to catch up.
- A few times it has shut itself off.
- The camera is terrible if you're closer than 2 feet away.
- Most of the time when I text someone, the phone adds random characters to the beginning of my messages like "@$#&" so the recipient thinks I'm "swearing" at them.
- Frequently when make a call, the phone screen rapidly cycles between "wake" and "sleep," so if I'm trying to use an automated message system in a call and I have to use the dial pad, I have to try to push the buttons while the screen is on for about half a second. Sometimes if I push the power button rapidly it snaps out of it. It's like it's having a seizure.
- I can't carry the phone in my pocket if I'm working outside in warm weather. Within a few weeks of having the phone, sweat, just from being in my pocket, apparently got sucked in behind the screen and messed it up. It's not like I was soaking wet. Just normal sweating from being outside on a hot day trashed my screen. It happened a few times before I realized what was going on. It's gross.
I only have a handful of apps on the phone, I barely surf the web on it, and only occasionally watch any sort of video. My phone has a pretty easy life, but it just can't handle it. It's junk. Even for a low end smart phone it should be able to handle simple, non-smartphoney things like typing and screen rotation and making phone calls. It can't.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good buy for a smart phone.

11/27/2013
By ,
Harrison, Ark
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my mom online and all was wonderful except the delay in recieving the pin from the phone card to activate the phone. Had a really hard time getting the site to pull up when retrieving the information. Other than that wonderful phone, straight talk has great service & for the price can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

Im liking it!

07/02/2014
By ,
Athens, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This will be short and sweet. I am on the Straight Talk $45 per month unlimited plan and had a Nokia E71 phone. I did not think I was getting the full value using that phone because getting on the internet was extremely slow if possible at all. With the ZTE Valet I can do everything that I need it to do. I have had no issues with the phone, unlike what others have stated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk ZTE Valet Z665C Prepaid Cell Phone

junk phone!

12/20/2013
By ,
Ackley, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I replaced my much loved samsung proclaim with this phone. What a piece of junk! It constantly freezes and I have to pull the battery to get it to power off and back on. Only sends pic messages when it wants to. will send the message but not the picture. camera quality is horrible. pics are either too washed out or too dark. zoom in and they get all blurry and pixelated. very slow phone. has a nice feature that shows the cpu running, and its always around 80%, not good! it has so many preloaded apps and stuff on it that run constantly. if you want to use location services, it will drain the battery constantly searching for gps. downloaded a game for my son to play and it freezes a lot when it is loading. have to pull the battery again! the RAM memory is 90% full and all my ringtones, apps, and pictures are stored on my SD card. is extremely slow while typing a text or email. phone can't keep up with my fingers ( I am not a fast typer by any means! I hunt and peck usually). everytime i close out the facebook app, it deletes all the contact info out of my contacts. when I re-open it again, I have to go back and re-sync all my contacts back to my phone. What a waste of money!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next