Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

The S730G Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover Phone includes a 3.5” touchscreen that allows you to perform a variety of functions. Use the 3MP camera to capture important memories and enter in as many contacts as you want in the phone book. You can make calls with this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phone for up to 8.5 hours before the battery needs to be recharged. The Straight Talk prepaid cell phone comes with 3G/WiFi connectivity that lets you surf the web easily. It includes a battery, a charger and an activation card that will help you get connected.
Average Customer Rating:
2.579 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation47%9 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

High Value for the money

12/02/2013
By ,
Leander, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The other two reviews are unfair because they cite being on AT&T towers versus the wanted Verizon towers. If you want to be on Straight Talk you need to do a little research. Check the boxes (bottom left corner) they tell you which network you will be on:
GSM-A > AT&T
CDMA-V > Verizon
CDMA-S > Sprint
The phone models have a hint in them too, like Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G < the “G” meaning GSM. If buying online don't expect the Straight Talk help line to explain which phone is which carrier, my experience they are clueless. Just do a little googling on user forums. Bottom line you can order online if it is not on your preferred carrier Walmart is fantastic about returns. Opened or not you can return within 15 days. I specifically bought this phone because I frequently travel to an area where the only tower is AT&T. I refuse to pay $500 for a phone. This one does everything I need maps, texting, internet, and oh yeah phone calls. Great phone for the price. It replaces my Galaxy Proclaim that was on Verizon. This phone has the newer 4.0.3 Android and has twice the internal memory 2 GB user usable. Do yourself a favor if you like to store stuff on your phone music, pics videos, etc buy a micro SD card.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+148points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Bad choice for area that demands Verizon coverage.

10/10/2013
By ,
WNC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the phone believing that it would only use Verizon towers. Being that I have lived and worked in the same area that I have used Verizon for the past 11 years, I have to say that there is NO way this was using Verizon. I have had it for two days. If it wants to call out, it will. If it doesn't, it doesn't. Some times people can call me,most of the time they can't. I never get more than 1 bar of the 3G network. Sometimes I get an E over the bars. To make matters worse, I get an error message that says sim not provisioned mm2. I never could get online, not even using my WI Fi. The original switch to Straight Talk involved an LG Optimus, reconditioned. I don't care for the phone's feel, speed or button placement, but it sure does make calls when I tell it to, receives calls and messages and surfs the web like no one else's business! I am returning this Discover and have ordered a Proclaim. The reviews for Proclaim say it pings Verizon towers only. I'll let you know how that works out. If not, strike three, I'll deal with the Optimus!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kentucky
Wrong phone if you want verizon
Posted 12/29/2013
Straight talk uses different phones for different networks. If you want a verizon network phone you need to look for one that has CDMA-V on the box. This phone operates on GSM network which is ATT or t mobile. The same phone on the CDMA network is the Samsung Centura w/ straight talk. Speaking from experience. Had both phones so I know they are the exact same phone w/ the exception of the networks. Your CDMA phones typically don't have a SIM card either.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Not Working For Me

12/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For my general use I don't need a high end phone but this one is even below my expectations. My text messages were continuing to go to my old phone until Straight Talk did some magic on their end. Very disappointed in the camera as pics are very grainy. For my personal use I find the keys are too close together so I'm consistently making typos. I will be replacing this phone with a new Straight Talk qualifying phone before the end of the year. Unfortunately, I'm out the money I spent on the phone as I didn't get the phone returned within the 15 day return policy which lapsed by a few days ago. This may be a great phone for some but not working for me.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Smartphone #2

05/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before I purchased this smartphone, I had a LG smartphone. I wasn't impressed w/ that one, so I decided to try a different brand when I turned it in. In testing out two different brand smartphones, I realized there are some things that just seem to be common for this type of phone. One issue I've experienced w/ both phones was keeping the touch screen keyboard lit while I am going through automated prompts. The phone lights up for a second or two after I remove the phone from my ear and, some of the keys I have to try to press repeatedly until I finally can make my selection. I can usually bypass this frustration when automated system prompts allow you to speak your responses too.
One feature I'm impressed w/ on this phone is the camera capabilities. For one, I think the quality of photos this camera takes are really good. I like that I have instagram-esque features built into the phone for editing my photos. I can make them black and white, sepia, auto-fix, add shadows, saturation, film grain, doodle on the pic, red eye removal, etc. Maybe I didn't play w/ my last smartphone enough, but I didn't notice these features on the previous phone. I had the last phone for a few months before I traded it in for this one.
I marked down that the value for this product was excellent b/c I got this item actually at almost 50% off (I think it cost me about $60 before I added the Walmart protection plan). While I realize no phone is perfect (at least not in my budget, anyway), I am quite pleased w/ this phone. It has served my needs well. I'm glad I made the switch to this smartphone. My only wish is that the battery had a longer life (that was an issue I had w/ the last smartphone too).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Save your money

06/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a long time Straight Talk customer, I have used several phones. The Samsung Galaxy is by far the worst. Does not perform as claimed. With more than one function on, the battery life is 2 ½ - 3 hours at best. With no functions on, battery life is 8 – 10 hours. It takes pictures but will not send or receive any. Downloads disappear. The touch screen response is erratic at best. User directions have to be downloaded and were clearly written by someone with a poor command of English. For me, it is a complete waste of money. I wish I had my reliable flip phone back; I'll gladly forego the so-called great options of the Galaxy for the dependability of the old flip phone! And no, this is not the first "smart" phone I've used, but it might be the last.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Montgomery
Bad phone
Posted 07/22/2014
The phone is the worst I have every had. The reception is not all that good and I have had to take my battery out more than I have used it. I will never purchase one of these phones again!!!!!!!! I am looking for me something better or I am going to try another phone plan.. will never buy again.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Not a good phone or service provider

05/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This Straight Talk phone and their customer service is terrible. Paid for data that wasn't able to use and their representatives couldn't help troubleshoot to get it to working right. Straight Talk WILL NOT refund any of your money for the phone or the service when their product is defective. Long calls trying to get them to help you and their English is poor. BUYER BEWARE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good deal for a smart phone....well worth the buy.

02/02/2014
By ,
Monticello, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was my first smart phone purchase...so needless to say I researched and compared many types. I knew I wanted a descent phone but did not have any desire to pay out the nose for just a phone. I was a little hesitant when I made my initial purchase....but my fears were quickly relieved when I received my phone and had it activated. I will say its not the quickest phone, but I sorta expected that. If you want higher speed processing and more ease of use, then go with a higher grade phone. But again....for the money and what I needed a phone for, it was a good buy and I would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

I would not take this phone for free!

04/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone runs slow and the battery is not worth a flip. The battery will only stay charged a few hours even with all the settings to optimize the battery. Also the phone locks up and freezes often. Seems this phone should not have been launched out onto the market til all these issues were resolved. No wonder the prices range from 49.99 to 99.99. Beware of this phone if you do try it out make sure you keep your receipt for the return policy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Can't beat it for the price

01/19/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had it about a month now with no problems.does everything I need it to do. I like it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good deal!

02/03/2014
By ,
Benton, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is the AT&T version of the Centura. Centura operates on the Verizon network. I would have chosen the Centura as the Verizon coverage in far Western Ky is better. However, if you plan to travel toward the east in Ky, you should know that Straight Talk phones on the Verizon network will not work in the central part of Ky that is covered by Bluegrass Cellular. This extends from around Madisonville to near Louisville. So, if live in, or plan to travel in that area, you should select the Discover. Phone seems to be more than adequate for the casual user.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Call home phone

11/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone was a gift to my youngest son and is great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Prepaid Droid Phone, great network

02/12/2014
By ,
Olympia, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second Samsung Smart phone. My last phone was a Samsung Galaxy Precedent which served me well. One of my favorite features on the new phone is the network, ATT. I've got good service at home and at work.
The phone itself is a good piece of hardware and runs Android 4.0. The processor is only 800mhz but seems to get through the screens and runs apps without any problems. I haven't had any problems with the screen freezing. Surfing the web over the data connection or wifi is very good. Data connection is a little laggy at times (expected with mobile).
The battery so far has been good, it could certainly be more powerful. As it is, with light use I've been able to stretch the battery 2 days without recharging. Of course your results may vary depending on your screen brightness, apps running, texting, talking and in general how much you use the phone.
Connects and pairs with my bluetooth headset and speaker phone without any issues. Overall, this is a good entry to mid (maybe) level phone. The spec sheet is more on the entry side of things but the OS just seems to work well. Use this phone everyday as my primary phone (no landline) and have been fairly satisfied. It's not a Galaxy S3 or S4, but who can afford that phone off-contract anyway :).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleveland, MS
Question
Posted 05/02/2014
Does this phone have a front camera?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

don't waste your money

05/21/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The phone does work on Verizon towers. I was able to have reception in the bowels of Wally World where my other straight talk sprint phone could not. The auto correct was really hard to get used to infact I never did before my phone up and died after only owning it for 5 months. I bought in the end of December and before the end of may it died! It worked one minute and died the next...with no warning. Although for the past month or so it decided to turn off and on all by itself probably 5 out of 7 days 1-2 times a day. The phone is finicky about chargers from what I could tell. Guess what? I'm going to quit playing around and get an I phone for myself. I however bought a straighttalk walmart flip phone that runs off verizon towers ( I could get great reception in WalMart) for my kids. They do not get an I phone! lol
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Very Disappointed

01/02/2014
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second Discover that I have had in the last month. The first one wouldn't hold a charge at all, within 6 hours of taking it off the charger the phone would die completely. Called straight talk customer service and I got nowhere. Took it back to Walmart and exchanged for another one, after two weeks , this one will not hold a charge either. Would never recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Did you...
Posted 01/05/2014
When you first got the phone did you charge it for a straight 15 hours? Usually that helps my phones' battery last longer. Sometimes that's even in the manual or on the box.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Ready to throw it in the river!!

02/16/2014
By ,
Oak Hill, Wv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had talked my husband into purchasing this phone for me when it was on sale during Black Friday. My phone at the time hadn't run out so it sat for about a week or two before it was activated. Now that is has been active for about 2 months it will restart itself in the middle of a phone call, crash, ask for updates and crash while trying to upload the update! I am so ready to throw this phone in the river! Checking out other phones to find something else. This phone turned out to be a joke. Don't know if it was refurbished or not, but didn't see anything on the box saying it was.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

HORRIBLE RECEPTION

10/14/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I go to UNC CHARLOTTE and this phone barely has any bars...also the phone dies fairly quickly and I havent downloaded anything yet. this phone DOES NOT USE VERIZON TOWERS, and I can definitely tell a difference from my previous phone which used them. if AT&T works in your area then its great, but if not STAY AWAY.
The phone itslef is pretty nice. Its my first smart phone. great clear display. Pattern lock security. linking google account...and EMAIL which is important for me. I havent had any freezing problem yet but I just got it yesterday...No problems with WiFi...pictures are fairly decent (NO FLASH)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kansas/Oklahoma
Worst Phone Ive ever owned!!!
Posted 02/13/2014
Had this one 6 mths and it wont hold a charge, doesnt get good service anywhere, and freezes up or goes back to the homescreen in the middle of a text or phone call and wont let you do anything, have to take battery out to restart it! This was a complete waste of money!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

not what I expected

12/30/2013
By ,
texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The battery won't hold a charge and when I called straight talk the person I spoke with didn't speak very good English so I got nowhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Meets expectations

09/02/2014
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I personally love my Discover phone.In this area AT&T is by far the best service. I love it more than the I-Phone that I sent back in order to get this phone. I bought it at Walmart.com for $49.99. I want to get my daughter one but the price has went up. If they offer it again at $50, I'll buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Discover S730G Prepaid Cell Phone

Ok for wife's 1st smartphone

04/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A little smaller than I prefer but a good start for wife's first smartphone at a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.