Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.8-inch Super AMOLED touchscreen and an 8MP camera. It runs on Android 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean). It is compatible only with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
4.602 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(517 Reviews) 517
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
392
4 stars
87
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation94%488 out of 517reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
256 Questions | 622 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
392
4 stars
87
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

GOOD BUY

01/15/2014
By ,
Saint Petersburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 13, 2014 date purchased. Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 White, is the best Cellphone to get. Excellent signal for at&t and Verizon and T-mobile too! It has all the features you want. I love that I can just talk this phone instead of typing in the keypad to send a text messages. GPS is excellent service never lose signal with this phone. $45 Unlimited Nationwide Talk, Text, Data and 411 And if I want International Calling just buy the $60 card then I can enjoy talking to my family in Philippines everyday. I like this phone much better than iPhone 5S it's about the same features. My old phone was also No Contract paying $50.00 a month Unlimited Talk & Text plus Web but I can only check email, can't open other websites not even Facebook. I'm very happy & content that I choose this product it has everything I need. I've done all my research before I purchased this phone. Great deal, great Cellphone to have!!! Pictures are beautiful!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+195points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
des moines iowa
?
Posted 01/28/2014
i have a ? does striaght talk run off of sprint towers
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Worthy of the hype

02/12/2014
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've lived with the S3 for a few months now and haven't noticed too many scratches on the back, which is impressive considering we haven't been using a case. Indeed, as predicted Samsung's choice of finishes – glossy white and faux brushed metallic blue wear what scratches they do have reasonably well. A new glossy black version is soon to become available too, though, so we'll have to wait and see how that one holds up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
goose creek
can you see others when talking on the phone with
Posted 03/06/2014
Can you see the person you are talking to on this phone?
0points
Customer Avatar
House Springs
Questions
Posted 03/06/2014
is this a 16GB and does it have a hotspot?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Fantastic!

03/23/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never been so satisfied with a smartphone before. I have had a few Samsung smartphones through Verizon and U.S. Cellular and they always had problems. I constantly received replacement phones for the same issues. This is my second StraightTalk phone (my first was a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim) and I only upgraded because I wanted a faster processor and updated android os.
I am not sure why but for some reason it seems like these prepaid phones are of much better quality than those through the large cellular companies.
The S3 is quite fast and I am able to download and use all the apps I had dreamed of having before, without any trouble. The rear camera takes amazing pictures. The front camera takes lower quality pictures but I never had one before so it is still nice to have. Battery life is better than my previous smartphones. I will be sticking with this phone as long as possible and will definitely continue to be a fan of the Galaxy S series.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Samsung Galaxy 3 Straight Talk

04/05/2014
By ,
MIDWEST
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I ordered these phones, they were delivered within a couple days site to store.We are enjoying them so far.They have many of the features of an iPhone such as front camera,suri type voice app, 16gs of internal mem & can hold up tp 64g sd card.Web surfing is very fast & you can watch videos on YouTube without choppyness.It also helps if you have a wifi connection.The rear camera quality is nice quality 8mp, flash.The screen is large & the images appear very sharp & clear.The phone has many other features that will take us awhile to figure out :) We also purchased phone cases as Walmart that have an external battery & screen protector. The phone is slippery & large in the hand although slim so a case is definately needed.I subtracted a star because the call quality is less than our old Straight Talk smart phones.I think these run on the At&t network instead of Verizon. Also I think the price is a bit high considering they have already come out with the Galaxy S5. A
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Most amazing phone ever!

02/11/2014
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone so much. It has so many awesome features that it would take me all day to describe them. The camera takes amazing pictures and videos. The only bad thing I could possibly say is that it says it comes with a 4gb SD card and it didn't have it with it. HOWEVER, I did get a 100 gift card as advertised in the special deal, so I can hardly complain. lol I like how it asks and converts my videos i take from my computer and put on the phone. My old phone I had to download a special app to watch avi files, this phone uses wmv but like I said, it converts them for you. I bought one for me and one for my husband, which was quite the price tag so I was afraid but I don't like iPhones and the reviews on this phone were great. They were all right. It was worth every single penny. Oh quick fun hint. Use the voice assistant and ask her weird and crazy things. I asked her "What do you think of my son?" and she said "I think he is adorable" hahahaha! too much fun, especially when you're bored and have some time to kill.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Goodbye Verizon!

01/21/2014
By ,
Perry Heights, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our first attempt at ordering these phones was not successful. We tried to order two bundles that contained a phone, a case and a $50 gift card. We paid for rush shipping, the gift cards made it on time. Nothing else did. In fact the balance of our order was stuck in some sort of processing limbo. After a few customer service calls, the original order was cancelled and a new one was entered. This order shipped on time. Here is my experience activating and impressions of the Galaxy S3 after one week of use:
1-Call Straight Talk to have your phone activated if your porting over a existing phone number, it's much easier then doing it online. The activation process only took around a half hour, very fast!!
2- Make sure to research and make sure that the phone you are purchasing uses Verizon towers, other posts on here help with that. With that being said, I love this phone, and Straight Talk! Same quality as Verizon service, half the price! As long as your not a data hog, 2g is plenty per month.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

StraightTalk version won't upgrade OS

01/16/2014
By ,
Huntsville, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I spent a couple of hours online attempting to update the OS (Mine is the Verizon version; it came with Android 4.1.2 when I purchased it from WalMart 2 weeks ago; the updated version for this phone is 4.3). Unable to get the phone to update its OS, I called Straight Talk, who blamed the lack of update on the manufacturer. I called the manufacturer (Samsung), who said StraightTalk is responsible to enable updates. Called StraightTalk AGAIN, talked to a manager who also blamed the inability to update on Samsung. After some 30+ minutes, he FINALLY told me that because of some system modifications on the phone (memory modified, as I understand, by StraightTalk) the OS is stuck at 4.1.2 "for now." He gave me no estimate of when/if the Operating System would be updated.
Although, this was not a "Bring Your Own Phone" device, through my experience I learned that if you want to use a BYOP with StraightTalk, best you CALL THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE with the serial number FIRST.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Ridgecrest CA
OS upgrade lock on Straight Talk SCH-S968C
Posted 04/22/2014
Daughter got this phone yesterday, with Android 4.1.3 pre-installed. Won't update to the latest Jelly Bean through the software update engine on phone nor through the Kies Samsung software. It says it has the latest version. Which means she is unable to use apps like App2SD because of the locked OS. There were some confirmed issues with the 4.3 update reported as late as March 2014, but nothing after that to say it is resolved. I have a different model S3 than hers and it took a month or two before it said an update was available, but I'm on AT&T. From the looks of the Kies software, I would recommend getting that for the phone to move apps. It's supported by Samsung and you get a suite of utilities that allow you to back up your data.
0points
Customer Avatar
hudsin nh
update
Posted 03/14/2014
straight talk locks phones from updates happened with my s2 i have at the moment
0points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
thanks for letting us know!!
Posted 01/19/2014
I just got my new Galaxy the same time you did and was unaware of the update. I prefer to wait till the bugs are ironed out before I update the OS......on my Samsung Tab 2 tablet I put the new OS on for that and it would NOT shut down and I had to send it to Samsung in TX for them to reload the OLD OS onto it. I refuse to update it now as it was in a "reboot loop" with the new OS. Horrible.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Big Screen

01/15/2014
By ,
Cloquet, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like the big screen, dwarfs my former 4s phone. Bought it to replace a phone with Verizon where I was paying too much for too little calling features. Now I am saving $21.00 a month and getting more for my money. I bought it as it uses Verizon cell towers for transmitting. The S voice seems to work ok. Used it to make appointments on my phone calendar. Do not know if it will remind me or not as it does not have a place to make reminders as it did on my old phone. I bought an Otterbox Defender case for the phone to protect it which it does very nicely. Used Bluetooth feature to pair with my VW in car connect and with my HPe-print remote printer. Still getting used to using it and its features. It comes loaded with lots of useful apps. It was easy to set up with Straight Talk by following directions and I selected to have automatic billing for the $45.00 a month
charges to my credit card. All in all I am happy to be saving money and getting more for my $s.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Like Nike says, JUST DO IT!

12/10/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Went from Virgin Mobile which uses the Sprint network to this Verizon tower using monster! I NEVER loose signal. My wife has a Iphone 4 and (shhhhh) soon as a Christmas present an Iphone 5, but I like this S3 better. Too many bells and whistles to cover here. The 'gesture' operations are neat. I took about 20 camera shots in rapid fire before I realized what I was doing..lol Dog looked very worried at all that noise coming from my hand? Huge screen means the battery burns down fairly fast, but after a 12.5 hour day of light use still had plenty of juice. I see that Samsung has released an upgraded battery of 3000 mah (30% more power) that you can find online. But for me, typical light user, the installed one is fine. Very light, very responsive, and tons of on board memory (16 gb). Picked up a class 10, 64 gb microsd to go with it. In my opinion, this is the best bang for the buck on the no contract market today. Just look for S968C in the product code.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+150points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
jasper
Verizon
Posted 03/21/2014
Does this phone run off verizon towers?????
0points
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles CA
Thanks for your great review!
Posted 12/29/2013
It was so helpful that you shared needed details that helped me get the right phone/accessories. Thank you! I'll check back after I've got it activated, etc.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Excellent phone and service

02/18/2014
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been using this phone a few weeks now. My wife kinda forced me to replace my old smartphone with this one. At first I was hesitant but now I am happy I did. This phone works great, clear and large screen, easy to use, plenty of bells and whistles and goes our over the Verizon network. What pay Verizon prices for service when you can pay Straight Talk $45.00 per month? With the difference in service price the phone will pay for itself in a few months. Battery holds up great and has a long life to it. By the end of the day I only use 25% of the battery life so plenty of reserve. I keep all my appointments on the calendar which is so easy to use. I can set the alarm one time (many different hours) and it will work all week. Just wish the alarm was louder but I am sure I am just missing some setting to increase the volume. For me I purchased a belt holder case which makes it easier to carry than in my pocket. I also purchased a blue cover which makes the slippery phone easier to hold onto (okay, I drop things,lol). Would say this phone is a strong buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Great Smart phone for price

12/18/2013
By ,
Indianapolis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased phone on Black Friday sale on line to get features I was looking for in a smart phone. Nice voice recognition, have to learn to speak slower and more clear, but works great. Swipe is also a time saving feature. 3G is fast enough for me at this time. Like the larger screen over compared I4 and I5 phones. Recommend buying a phone protector with screen protector. When purchased on line, quite a savings through site to store option. I am a beginner with smart phones, wanted Jelly Bean operating system, phone, messaging, maps, etc at fingertips for work. Other phones with smaller screens can be tedious when typing, this one works fine at either direction. Verizon towers/service through straight talk or AT & T are only options considered. This one is Verizon by Samsung. Like Samsung and Verizon combo and recommend. Still learning new functions as time allows, lots of options available. Good luck with your search.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dalton,ga
camera
Posted 01/04/2014
does it have a front facing camera?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

goodbye sprint,hello straight talk

04/04/2014
By ,
IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was with sprint about five years and endured coverage problems and lack of response to phone problems .Finally I had enough of 100 dollar phone bills. I did the math and in 5 mos. it pays for its self.
I had tried to take my old phone and # with me as advertised, but, struck out after days dealing with customer support. And I barely was able to return the "kit"(69.95) to my local walmart store.
In the end I went to Walmart.com and bought the S3(350.00) a cheap case(9.00)an airtime card (45.00) and a years worth of insurance loss/accidental breakage for I think 39.95 .So I have around 450 invested my coverage has been good I enrolled in auto re-fill to avoid the refill hassle, the overall quality of the phone is great,i went ahead and got a new # because I was through battling with customer service.
I read a lot of reviews before buying this phone and I hope mine has been helpful good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Can't get a signal, can't use WiFi calling

03/07/2014
By ,
Akron, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this phone for a couple weeks now. I cannot get a signal above 1 bar, and Straight Talk support says you cannot use WiFi calling on their phones. WHY NOT??? Stupid. Even in the downtown area of a major city, I rarely had more than two bars, and the WiFi was iffy. Support finally said they will send a replacement phone. If it is any better then I will update this review, but for now I am stuck with a phone I cannot use and will be without a phone for about 2 weeks while I ship it back for replacement. Yes I saved money over buying it at another store, and after hearing good reviews about Straight Talk service from a friend I thought I would save money monthly too, but so far I have nothing but regret. Also, FYI, Samsung doesn't even have this model available for registration on their website, and when I called them, they said it is manufactured for TracFone, and I would have to call Straight Talk with any issues. No support at all from Samsung on this phone other than the phone number for Straight Talk. *sigh* What a waste of time and money so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sullivan County, Pa
same thing here
Posted 03/19/2014
I am having the same problem you are/did. My fiancé has a straight talk phone (proclaim) that uses Verizon towers and I just bought this a couple weeks ago. We can be right next to each other and he will have 3 bars and I'll only have 1. Even when I have 3 bars and call some one they can't understand me and say my phone is breaking up. It won't let me send text messages unless it wants too. I can have 2 bars and it still won't let me send a message. I'm hoping to find the receipt and try to return it. It is the worse cell phone I have ever had!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

awesome phone , great price , verizon towers

03/18/2014
By ,
Mohegan Lake, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldnt be happier with this cell phone. I read a review on walmarts website that said the "white S3" works on verizon towers. So I decided to go for it. Always knew the phone was top notch. I have been with Straight Talk for a few years now. Never had a problem. I also own a samsung galaxy proclaim. Best phone except for the small screen of 3.5" inches. Back to the white S3 from straight talk but ordered through Walmart. You get 15 days to try the phone out. The phone was a breeze to transfer since I was already on Straight Talk. Took maybe 5 min and I was making calls and using my phone. Contacts transfered using google account. Clear call, no dropped calls, awesome camera.texting couldnt be easier using hangouts app. Web browsing is smooth. 4.8"screen is the perfect size for viewing everything clearly. I can go on & on about this phone. Android phones just need a little tweaking so you dont drain your battery as fast. Easily get a day and then some with a full charge with average use. If your on your phone all day long I would invest in a extended battery. I live in NY and verizon is king as far as great cellphone service. I dont regret this purchase at all. Thank You Walmart/Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Great phone for Straight Talk customers!

11/30/2013
By ,
Lookout Mtn., TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it in white. SO many more features than my LG Optimus Q I had before with Straight Talk. Prefer Verizon towers to Sprint too... better coverage and reception. Small complaints.. no ring tone option for "classic bell"... just annoying jazzy ones. And I DO miss my slide open Qwerty keyboard with actual buttons to press for texting. I don't have big fingers, but I swear, I can't type a typo-free text using this darn touch screen! Otherwise, a great phone! Easy to set up and navigate. Plenty of apps and screens. Good sound and reception. Easy to transfer my music and photos from my PC and set up email and Facebook. The free case that came with it looks good, but barely sticks up past the fragile glass phone face. We'll see if it protects when I drop the phone ;) Also has "OK" battery life... charge it once a day. Camera is great too. Nice to have a flash. Not a great bargain at $450 (including tax), but I guess to get it free, you have to buy through a non- Straight Talk carrier and pay a LOT more per month, not just $45. Guess it's worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Dalton, Georgia
ring tones
Posted 01/15/2014
You need to download ZEDGE off the play store. Its free and has thousands of ring tones to choose from.
0points
Customer Avatar
My Views.
Locked to 3G only
Posted 12/18/2013
To the person who asked about speed on the comments of this, this phone is locked to 3G only. Straight Talk locked all their 4G capable phones to 3G, except the Samsung Galaxy S4 for some reason..oh well. At least it's Verizon network on this one.
0points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
4g ???
Posted 12/07/2013
This phone says 4g lte capable. I know Verizon has the largest lte networks. Does 4g show up on the phone through straight talk or is it locked to 3G only?? I wanted to know before I take the 400 dollar plunge. Thanks
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Awesome phone!

02/01/2014
By ,
Susanville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been with Straight Talk for almost a year, I recently upgraded to a Samsung Galaxy S3 and I don't regret it one bit....this phone is awesome for a simple cell phone user. My daughter got this one before me and I fell in love...I had to have it for myself. My daughter lives off the cellphone, unlike myself, but the responsiveness, easy of use, and large screen are worth the few bucks more. I live out in the wilderness and I have had no problems with connections. I tell all my friends and I encourage all to get a phone like this one. I used to have a cell phone from all the big cell phone companies and their ridiculous plans....I was so frustrated, it led me to be a Straight Talk user.....I am hooked and I plan to stay with Straight Talk for a very long time. Straight Talk fits all my needs and more......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Nice product- Poor cell coverage for my area.

01/23/2014
By ,
Howard, KS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had high hopes for this phone, as I have carried a tracphone for several years with good success. (It was originally not supposed to work at my location; I registered it in another town and usually get 2 to 3 bars for reception.) The S3 is supposed to work at my zip code so I allowed Straight Talk to register it at their preferred location (another town); could not make calls from inside my house and had to stand outside to register the phone. 3G would come on sporadically, much less than 1 Mbps, comparable to the old dial-up.
I then found a location of a Verizon cell tower, drove by it while doing speed tests on 3G. By the time I was 4 miles away from the tower, speed was back to less than 1 Mbps!
Since I don't want to be tied to my in-house wireless connection, (which worked great), I reluctantly returned the phone, as I understand Straight Talk takes several days to attempt a location change to register another number. It may have worked better if registered at the same location as my old phone, but my return window was closing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lawrence,ks
It works off Verizon towers
Posted 01/26/2014
This phone works off Verizon towers. There is no way you got poor cell coverage in your area.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

awesome phone

12/31/2013
By ,
canton, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is awesome. WHITE S3 USES VERIZON TOWERS, BLUE USES SPRINT. I was going to get the iphone but it was out of stock so I went with the galaxy s3 and I'm glad I did. Its so much better than my mom's iphone 4. I've read a lot about the screen cracking easily when dropped so I got a case for it. Cases are very cheap on ebay ($5-$20). This phone does everything, the screen is so clear, the back camera is better than any digital camera I've ever owned. Front camera is good too. Everyday I find a new feature in this phone. The screen is huge, its a pretty big phone. Set up was easy, I got a new number and straight talk service in a matter of minutes. The verizon towers are superb in my area. Battery life is decent, I'm on my phone all day and usually only need to charge it once a day. Unlike the iphone, it has a removable battery so you can put an extended battery that samsung makes in it. The problem i had was the phone's screen went blank during calls, figured out that because of my case the sensor wasnt picking up movement and the screen turns off during calls so you dont press buttons with the side of you face. Click phone, hit menu key and click "settings" to turn the feature off. No complaints. Way better than iphone 4. Comes with android 4.1 jellybean, an awesome OS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Almost love it...

03/17/2014
By ,
White Mountains, Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using phone for a lil over 2 weeks now. I've had to factory reset it and spend A LOT of time on the phone with straight talk. If I'm not connected to wi fi I don't have access to web. The 3g data won't turn on, the icon is set to ON but its not actually on. Which means... no mms no email no play store no ANYTHING other than make calls or send regular small texts. If I wanted a "dumb" phone I wouldn't have bought a "smart" phone and paid extra for the data plan that the "smart" phones require. I love the phones features and capabilitie. The battery life is awesome as well. I keep it on power save mode most of the time and keep the screen brightness turned all the way down and its more than bright enough. Once straight talk and or samsung can figure out why the data won't work and why when I'm at home I'm in roaming mode. (When I shouldn't be!) Then I will happily give 5 stars!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Samsung Galaxy G3 on Straight Talk

02/16/2014
By ,
Buffalo NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't had the phone long enough to give a strong opinion. As an older user, it has taken some time to get used to the android platform- this is actually my second Samsung smartphone through Straight Talk. Be aware that different models of the Galaxy S3 use different cell towers (in my area the model 986 uses Verizon, the 980 uses Sprint.) A series of well made and easily found video tutorials explaining all the functions starting with the most basic ones would be helpful- I'm not impressed with the owner's manual. It took quite awhile to recognize that I had voice mail or missed calls- there's actually a decent drop down menu, once you find it! The phone itself seems to work well, I'll reserve judgement on the internet features until I have more time to test them out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 517 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next