Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.8-inch Super AMOLED touchscreen and an 8MP camera. It runs on Android 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean). It is compatible only with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
4.516 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(735 Reviews) 734
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
532
4 stars
131
3 stars
24
2 stars
15
1 star
33
Customer Recommendation93%681 out of 735reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
501 Questions | 1,211 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
532
4 stars
131
3 stars
24
2 stars
15
1 star
33
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

GOOD BUY

01/15/2014
By ,
Saint Petersburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 13, 2014 date purchased. Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 White, is the best Cellphone to get. Excellent signal for at&t and Verizon and T-mobile too! It has all the features you want. I love that I can just talk this phone instead of typing in the keypad to send a text messages. GPS is excellent service never lose signal with this phone. $45 Unlimited Nationwide Talk, Text, Data and 411 And if I want International Calling just buy the $60 card then I can enjoy talking to my family in Philippines everyday. I like this phone much better than iPhone 5S it's about the same features. My old phone was also No Contract paying $50.00 a month Unlimited Talk & Text plus Web but I can only check email, can't open other websites not even Facebook. I'm very happy & content that I choose this product it has everything I need. I've done all my research before I purchased this phone. Great deal, great Cellphone to have!!! Pictures are beautiful!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+652points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
des moines iowa
?
Posted 01/28/2014
i have a ? does striaght talk run off of sprint towers
-4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Worthy of the hype

02/12/2014
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've lived with the S3 for a few months now and haven't noticed too many scratches on the back, which is impressive considering we haven't been using a case. Indeed, as predicted Samsung's choice of finishes – glossy white and faux brushed metallic blue wear what scratches they do have reasonably well. A new glossy black version is soon to become available too, though, so we'll have to wait and see how that one holds up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
pana,ill. 62557
samdung galaxy 3
Posted 08/04/2014
I don't know how to transfer pictures to my home computer, when I plug it into computer, it charges the battery, no options to load pictures to computer, if any one can help me with this issue
0points
Customer Avatar
DeQueen
cracked phone
Posted 06/30/2014
I was wondering if I cracked my phone can I send it in to get fixed. its straight talk at&t Samsung galaxy s3
0points
Customer Avatar
39773
samsung galaxy s3 replacement plan
Posted 06/22/2014
if i buy a this phone and want a replacement plan, do i have to buy it when i buy the phone or can I buy it later on after I buy the phone??
0points
Customer Avatar
ohio
galaxy S3
Posted 06/03/2014
I would like to know what network it works off of
0points
Customer Avatar
goose creek
can you see others when talking on the phone with
Posted 03/06/2014
Can you see the person you are talking to on this phone?
0points
Customer Avatar
House Springs
Questions
Posted 03/06/2014
is this a 16GB and does it have a hotspot?
0points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Disappointed

09/20/2014
By ,
Southeast Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I upgraded from the Galaxy S2, which was a great phone, to the S3. I was very disappointed, the S3 is much slower, has poor battery life and has very poor signal strength. The main reason I upgraded was because my S2 battery life was getting bad, I had been using it for about 2 years (I should have bought a new battery). I noticed an immediate difference in the performance on the S3, it's much slower. My S3 battery life was worse than what I had, I noticed after the first week, I was charging it daily and I don't spend much time on my phone, my S2 would last sometimes 4 days when it was new. Finally, the most frustrating thing about the phone is the signal strength. The phone rarely gets more than 2 bars. I never had so many dead spots with my S2 and that's with the same provider so I know the issue is with the phone. I have to go outside to use it when I'm at work, that never happened with my S2. What's the point of having a phone if you can't use it. I might just reactivate my S2, sometimes newer isn't always better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Good phone but unreliable receiving text messaging

08/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a great phone let me start out with that, it has all the bells and whistles you'd want except for....It cant do basic things like you know receive all text messages sent to it which is kind of a problem. Especially texts from iphones or group text some never make it to the phone and some do and it says click download button to download. The little time lapse circle will spin for a minute or two and then you will get a failure to download text notification which is helpful. I've checked the Straight Talk forums about this issue and this problem is rampant. Straight Talk is out right unwilling to discuss this problem publicly. Someone will post this issue and they say yada yada yada this is ST so and so Im sorry you're having this problem I sent you a private message to help resolve this issue. Do some research before buying maybe Straight Talk will eventually resolve this issue some time soon I guess I will see. Check this out for yourself
https://straighttalkwirelessforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=6795&t=1263846
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Straight Talk MMS Issue
Posted 09/25/2014
I have found a couple of potential solutions.
1) If you have a SIM card it is possible that you have an old SIM card, even though they just sent it to you. Purchase a new $8 SIM card and transfer your number over to the new SIM card. - This worked almost a year ago so it may no longer be an issue. So try #2 first.
2) For months I had no issues sending or receiving MMS messages. Then out of the blue the same error started again. I was already using Handcent so was surprised this issue came back. Long story short, what I had to do was to go into the settings of Handcent, go to Application Settings and then MMS Settings. The default setting is "Smart" which tries to go into your phone's network settings and pull the proper MMS settings from there. It appears that Text programs have a problem pulling the MMS info automatically. So change the "Smart" to "Manual". Now click the MMSC and enter "http://mms-tf.net" which is the Straight Talk setting for MMSC. Click OK and go to Proxy and enter "mms3.tracfone.com" which is again the ST Proxy. Click OK and go to Port and enter 80. - Again, all of this info has already been entered into the Access Points information to get data working. But it appears that text apps have a hard time pulling this info automatically. It works well on some phones and some apps but the manual entry into your text app should resolve the issue. Previous MMS's will not work after this change but new MMS's should work after about 15-30 seconds depending on your connection strength.
Hope this helps!
0points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Same issue
Posted 09/05/2014
I have an HTC inspire, and my phone does the same thing. If I am receiving MMS texts I will get the same download button. I just make sure I have a strong signal on my cell bars, and since I used Straight Talk, I make sure my data hasn't been used up for the month as well.
0points
Customer Avatar
TN
Texts from Iphones
Posted 09/02/2014
The text issue is strictly a straight talk issue and nothing to do with the phone. I have a ZTE Majesty that did the same thing. It can be solved by using a third party text app, such as Textra, that lets you input server information. Or if you can, root your phone.
Under the MMS settings:
MMSC: http://mms-tf.net
MMS proxy: mms3.tracfone.com
MMS port: 80
My texts are recieved faster now and I get msgs from iphones.
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

There's a reason it's so popular

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far very few complaints. This is my first smartphone, so I'm still easily impressed, kind of like a caveman seeing fire for the first time. But I've talked to people who have had other smartphones, and they love the S3. I haven't really downloaded any apps to speak of yet, but the Netflix app works great on this phone. I work far from the city, and I still have a good signal, even better than with my previous Straight Talk "dumb" phone. The camera takes great pics, and I love the swipe to screenshot feature; very slick. I know this phone is capable of so much more than I'm doing with it, but I'll learn it eventually.
Oh, and great battery life, as long as you're not running a bunch of apps all the time.
Only red flag that's come up so far is that a little over a week after I had it, it freaked out a couple of times and froze up, so I had to take the battery out and restart it. I don't know if it was just a fluke or what, but if it doesn't happen again I'll have no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+95points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Very Nice Smartphone.

08/22/2014
By ,
Alpena, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a smartphone for business purposes as well as personal use. My previous phone only allowed me to install 1 to 3 apps before it ran out of memory even though it had a 32GB SD card installed. That just was not useful at all. I ordered this phone via Site to Store and it was available same day. I have now installed over 2 dozen apps on the phone and it has hardly made a dent in memory usage. I use this with StraightTalk and it is very reliable. I installed a 64GB microSD card which newer phones are now accepting including the Samsung Galaxy S3. Both cameras work well. The only problem I have are with the apps. Some act up from time to time. The phone itself works flawlessly. I can now deal with my customers while I am on the go. I have an online business and need to access remotely often times. Perfect phone for any use and an excellent buy!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

beware before activating

08/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I paid 299.00 for this phone. i went to transfer my straight talk service and phone service to this new phone. i activated this new phone and loaded the prepaid 45dollars onto this new phone. when i went to transfer the service, they told me i would lose the 45 i just 2 minutes ago put on there. i stayed on hold for almost 1 hr waiting for a supervisor on the toll free line. i ended up losing my 45prepaid card because they made me de-activate the new phone that i had just activated. so whatever you do, dont ever activate a new phone. just transfer the current phone service to the new phone and then load the phone with minutes. walmart really needs to make that change by allowing the toll free people in another country able to transfer money from one phone to another when its that visible to them that you just put the 45dollars on the new phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hampton, VA
Agree
Posted 09/07/2014
Yes, I experienced something similar to this back in December 2013. I just got a new phone the S2 then and wanted to keep the same number but did not have the S/N number from the old phone so they asked did I have the SIM card and I did not because I sent it in with the old phone and was told by the rep that I had to have minutes on the number and come to find out they could not do nothing but extend my plan by 3 days until the new SIM card came, which was not beneficial. However, the service is good and I enjoy being with the company. Its been over 3.5 years.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Samsung Galaxy 3 Straight Talk

04/05/2014
By ,
MIDWEST
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I ordered these phones, they were delivered within a couple days site to store.We are enjoying them so far.They have many of the features of an iPhone such as front camera,suri type voice app, 16gs of internal mem & can hold up tp 64g sd card.Web surfing is very fast & you can watch videos on YouTube without choppyness.It also helps if you have a wifi connection.The rear camera quality is nice quality 8mp, flash.The screen is large & the images appear very sharp & clear.The phone has many other features that will take us awhile to figure out :) We also purchased phone cases as Walmart that have an external battery & screen protector. The phone is slippery & large in the hand although slim so a case is definately needed.I subtracted a star because the call quality is less than our old Straight Talk smart phones.I think these run on the At&t network instead of Verizon. Also I think the price is a bit high considering they have already come out with the Galaxy S5. A
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+232points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cateyesf
The price is high?
Posted 05/10/2014
Have you seen how much the S5 sells for? It's like $900.! My friend just bought the Samsung Galaxy S5 WITH a contract and paid well over $300. for it.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Powerful with a few limitations

09/21/2014
By ,
Iowa, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really powerful phone and I am sure everyone has talked about all the great things it can do. Let me just go over the limitations first since that is a shorter list and maybe more helpful to a would-be smartphone buyer.
1. Cannot run anything that requires FLASH. So you won't be able to watch Amazon Prime videos for instance, which require flash. This by far is the biggest gripe I think most Android users have. Netflix, and YouTube will work just fine.
2. I personally wish that it had a better camera. 8mp is ok but all the newer cameras do much better than this. Sometimes I think the camera can be sluggish.
3. Battery life is generally good unless you have wifi or mobile data on then it just sucks it down quickly. Perhaps this is common among most cell phones though.
Why should you get this phone over another? Larger easily readable screen, Multi-window if you are into that, loads of customizations, and this thing is really surprisingly durable. I have dropped it more times than I care to admit and it hasn't cracked or become damaged.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Goodbye Verizon!

01/21/2014
By ,
Perry Heights, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our first attempt at ordering these phones was not successful. We tried to order two bundles that contained a phone, a case and a $50 gift card. We paid for rush shipping, the gift cards made it on time. Nothing else did. In fact the balance of our order was stuck in some sort of processing limbo. After a few customer service calls, the original order was cancelled and a new one was entered. This order shipped on time. Here is my experience activating and impressions of the Galaxy S3 after one week of use:
1-Call Straight Talk to have your phone activated if your porting over a existing phone number, it's much easier then doing it online. The activation process only took around a half hour, very fast!!
2- Make sure to research and make sure that the phone you are purchasing uses Verizon towers, other posts on here help with that. With that being said, I love this phone, and Straight Talk! Same quality as Verizon service, half the price! As long as your not a data hog, 2g is plenty per month.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+261points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Fantastic!

03/23/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never been so satisfied with a smartphone before. I have had a few Samsung smartphones through Verizon and U.S. Cellular and they always had problems. I constantly received replacement phones for the same issues. This is my second StraightTalk phone (my first was a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim) and I only upgraded because I wanted a faster processor and updated android os.
I am not sure why but for some reason it seems like these prepaid phones are of much better quality than those through the large cellular companies.
The S3 is quite fast and I am able to download and use all the apps I had dreamed of having before, without any trouble. The rear camera takes amazing pictures. The front camera takes lower quality pictures but I never had one before so it is still nice to have. Battery life is better than my previous smartphones. I will be sticking with this phone as long as possible and will definitely continue to be a fan of the Galaxy S series.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+194points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Espanola New Mexico
Posted 07/31/2014
does the phone come with sim card
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Most amazing phone ever!

02/11/2014
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone so much. It has so many awesome features that it would take me all day to describe them. The camera takes amazing pictures and videos. The only bad thing I could possibly say is that it says it comes with a 4gb SD card and it didn't have it with it. HOWEVER, I did get a 100 gift card as advertised in the special deal, so I can hardly complain. lol I like how it asks and converts my videos i take from my computer and put on the phone. My old phone I had to download a special app to watch avi files, this phone uses wmv but like I said, it converts them for you. I bought one for me and one for my husband, which was quite the price tag so I was afraid but I don't like iPhones and the reviews on this phone were great. They were all right. It was worth every single penny. Oh quick fun hint. Use the voice assistant and ask her weird and crazy things. I asked her "What do you think of my son?" and she said "I think he is adorable" hahahaha! too much fun, especially when you're bored and have some time to kill.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+184points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

StraightTalk version won't upgrade OS

01/16/2014
By ,
Huntsville, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I spent a couple of hours online attempting to update the OS (Mine is the Verizon version; it came with Android 4.1.2 when I purchased it from WalMart 2 weeks ago; the updated version for this phone is 4.3). Unable to get the phone to update its OS, I called Straight Talk, who blamed the lack of update on the manufacturer. I called the manufacturer (Samsung), who said StraightTalk is responsible to enable updates. Called StraightTalk AGAIN, talked to a manager who also blamed the inability to update on Samsung. After some 30+ minutes, he FINALLY told me that because of some system modifications on the phone (memory modified, as I understand, by StraightTalk) the OS is stuck at 4.1.2 "for now." He gave me no estimate of when/if the Operating System would be updated.
Although, this was not a "Bring Your Own Phone" device, through my experience I learned that if you want to use a BYOP with StraightTalk, best you CALL THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE with the serial number FIRST.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+125points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Espanola New Mexico
verizon towers
Posted 07/28/2014
does it work on Verizon towers as well
0points
Customer Avatar
San Francisco
S3 block for upgrade is the same as the S2...
Posted 05/26/2014
Just wanted to chime in that the S2 Galaxy as well as the S3, with StraightTalk are not upgradeable - StraightTalk has the capability locked out which is unfortunate because the software system will quickly obsolesce. Not sure why StraightTalk feels they have to do this?
0points
Customer Avatar
Ridgecrest CA
OS upgrade lock on Straight Talk SCH-S968C
Posted 04/22/2014
Daughter got this phone yesterday, with Android 4.1.3 pre-installed. Won't update to the latest Jelly Bean through the software update engine on phone nor through the Kies Samsung software. It says it has the latest version. Which means she is unable to use apps like App2SD because of the locked OS. There were some confirmed issues with the 4.3 update reported as late as March 2014, but nothing after that to say it is resolved. I have a different model S3 than hers and it took a month or two before it said an update was available, but I'm on AT&T. From the looks of the Kies software, I would recommend getting that for the phone to move apps. It's supported by Samsung and you get a suite of utilities that allow you to back up your data.
+1point
Customer Avatar
hudsin nh
update
Posted 03/14/2014
straight talk locks phones from updates happened with my s2 i have at the moment
+2points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
thanks for letting us know!!
Posted 01/19/2014
I just got my new Galaxy the same time you did and was unaware of the update. I prefer to wait till the bugs are ironed out before I update the OS......on my Samsung Tab 2 tablet I put the new OS on for that and it would NOT shut down and I had to send it to Samsung in TX for them to reload the OLD OS onto it. I refuse to update it now as it was in a "reboot loop" with the new OS. Horrible.
+4points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Big Screen

01/15/2014
By ,
Cloquet, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like the big screen, dwarfs my former 4s phone. Bought it to replace a phone with Verizon where I was paying too much for too little calling features. Now I am saving $21.00 a month and getting more for my money. I bought it as it uses Verizon cell towers for transmitting. The S voice seems to work ok. Used it to make appointments on my phone calendar. Do not know if it will remind me or not as it does not have a place to make reminders as it did on my old phone. I bought an Otterbox Defender case for the phone to protect it which it does very nicely. Used Bluetooth feature to pair with my VW in car connect and with my HPe-print remote printer. Still getting used to using it and its features. It comes loaded with lots of useful apps. It was easy to set up with Straight Talk by following directions and I selected to have automatic billing for the $45.00 a month
charges to my credit card. All in all I am happy to be saving money and getting more for my $s.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+179points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
McLouth,Ks
GalaxyS3
Posted 05/21/2014
Just an awesome phone, you wont be disappointed, Talk to text is a great feature and the GPS will get you where you want to go. I am phone dumb but this phone was pretty easy to figure out with the help of my 16 yr old son LOL. Takes great pictures and has many features that I havent even gotten to yet. Setting it up with straight talk was fast and easy!!
+8points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Like Nike says, JUST DO IT!

12/10/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Went from Virgin Mobile which uses the Sprint network to this Verizon tower using monster! I NEVER loose signal. My wife has a Iphone 4 and (shhhhh) soon as a Christmas present an Iphone 5, but I like this S3 better. Too many bells and whistles to cover here. The 'gesture' operations are neat. I took about 20 camera shots in rapid fire before I realized what I was doing..lol Dog looked very worried at all that noise coming from my hand? Huge screen means the battery burns down fairly fast, but after a 12.5 hour day of light use still had plenty of juice. I see that Samsung has released an upgraded battery of 3000 mah (30% more power) that you can find online. But for me, typical light user, the installed one is fine. Very light, very responsive, and tons of on board memory (16 gb). Picked up a class 10, 64 gb microsd to go with it. In my opinion, this is the best bang for the buck on the no contract market today. Just look for S968C in the product code.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+224points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
jasper
Verizon
Posted 03/21/2014
Does this phone run off verizon towers?????
0points
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles CA
Thanks for your great review!
Posted 12/29/2013
It was so helpful that you shared needed details that helped me get the right phone/accessories. Thank you! I'll check back after I've got it activated, etc.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Glad I gave ST a try.

07/28/2014
By ,
ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After months researching and reading reviews of all cell companies available, all while contemplating trying the cheaper straight talk, I was apprehensive to say the least in buying a phone outright not knowing if it would work. Wow! I'm so happy with this phone. I think the trend is going away from contract phone companies and people want cheaper prepaid services. No cell phone company's customer service gets great reviews anymore so why not give ST a try? I'm very happy with my purchase and I'm saving hundreds of dollars over using Verizon! This phone is fantastic! If you are like me and do not care about having the latest, greatest and newest model phone, the Galaxy S3 from Straight Talk is the way to go! No more outrageous cell phone bills. I called ST customer service and activated my cellphone with no problems at all. This phone works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Straight Talk DOES NOT provide updates to the OS!!

08/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stuck at Android 4.1. I bought this to test apps on, as my main phone is an iPhone 5S. I assumed it would be able to be updated to the latest version of Android as ALL OTHER S3's are, but Straight Talk does not ever release updates to their phone's operating systems, EVEN THOUGH SAMSUNG HAS PROVIDED THE UPDATE already, the carrier (Straight Talk) only needs to make it available to their phones. Unacceptable. This is the LAST phone I buy from Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

I received a Lemon

09/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's the 'luck of the draw' I guess. Millions of these Galaxy S3 phones in circulation. I got one with an apparent factory defect.
I've been messing around for a day and a half with tech support and running to Walmart and back. I finally got Smart-Talk to agree to send a replacement.
I'm told that in 3-5 days, I will receive a return authorization and kit to mail the phone back.
I'm told that it will take another 7-10 days to receive the replacement.
Meanwhile, I'm stuck without a phone. And my monthly service that I paid for in advance is ticking away.
Maybe I should have stayed with AT&T.
My first experience with Walmart and Smart-talk has been a Big Disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

goodbye sprint,hello straight talk

04/04/2014
By ,
IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was with sprint about five years and endured coverage problems and lack of response to phone problems .Finally I had enough of 100 dollar phone bills. I did the math and in 5 mos. it pays for its self.
I had tried to take my old phone and # with me as advertised, but, struck out after days dealing with customer support. And I barely was able to return the "kit"(69.95) to my local walmart store.
In the end I went to Walmart.com and bought the S3(350.00) a cheap case(9.00)an airtime card (45.00) and a years worth of insurance loss/accidental breakage for I think 39.95 .So I have around 450 invested my coverage has been good I enrolled in auto re-fill to avoid the refill hassle, the overall quality of the phone is great,i went ahead and got a new # because I was through battling with customer service.
I read a lot of reviews before buying this phone and I hope mine has been helpful good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
navarre, fl
Using Sprint phone
Posted 05/24/2014
I am struggling with this, straight talks website says it will take my Sprint IPhone 4s,
but the Sprint guy says it won't work if I try to turn it into a Straight talk phone.
You state you had to return kit will hard time trying. What phone did you try to convert?
I'm thinking I might run into the same problem.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Excellent phone and service

02/18/2014
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been using this phone a few weeks now. My wife kinda forced me to replace my old smartphone with this one. At first I was hesitant but now I am happy I did. This phone works great, clear and large screen, easy to use, plenty of bells and whistles and goes our over the Verizon network. What pay Verizon prices for service when you can pay Straight Talk $45.00 per month? With the difference in service price the phone will pay for itself in a few months. Battery holds up great and has a long life to it. By the end of the day I only use 25% of the battery life so plenty of reserve. I keep all my appointments on the calendar which is so easy to use. I can set the alarm one time (many different hours) and it will work all week. Just wish the alarm was louder but I am sure I am just missing some setting to increase the volume. For me I purchased a belt holder case which makes it easier to carry than in my pocket. I also purchased a blue cover which makes the slippery phone easier to hold onto (okay, I drop things,lol). Would say this phone is a strong buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 735 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  37 Next