Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.8-inch Super AMOLED touchscreen and an 8MP camera. It runs on Android 4.1.2 (Jelly Bean). It is compatible only with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(960 Reviews) 959
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
705
4 stars
157
3 stars
33
2 stars
20
1 star
45
Customer Recommendation93%893 out of 960reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
701 Questions | 1,487 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
705
4 stars
157
3 stars
33
2 stars
20
1 star
45
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

GOOD BUY

01/15/2014
By ,
Saint Petersburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 13, 2014 date purchased. Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 White, is the best Cellphone to get. Excellent signal for at&t and Verizon and T-mobile too! It has all the features you want. I love that I can just talk this phone instead of typing in the keypad to send a text messages. GPS is excellent service never lose signal with this phone. $45 Unlimited Nationwide Talk, Text, Data and 411 And if I want International Calling just buy the $60 card then I can enjoy talking to my family in Philippines everyday. I like this phone much better than iPhone 5S it's about the same features. My old phone was also No Contract paying $50.00 a month Unlimited Talk & Text plus Web but I can only check email, can't open other websites not even Facebook. I'm very happy & content that I choose this product it has everything I need. I've done all my research before I purchased this phone. Great deal, great Cellphone to have!!! Pictures are beautiful!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1,034points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
USA
Inaccurate Review
Posted 12/05/2014
Straight Talk phones are locked to Straight Talk services only. I just bought one based on this review, and found out it couldn't be used on AT&T, Verizon, or T-mobile. It simply couldn't be unlocked for use on anyone except Straight Talk. Not that such a thing is bad, but if you're expecting to just pop in your SIM... ain't gonna happen.
Please remove this info from your review, to save a lot of heart ache for others. Thanks!
Other than that, the S3 is a GREAT phone. I've had one for a while and refuse to upgrade. This model can still compete with the latest versions & save you money, too.
0points
Customer Avatar
Sunnyvale
Hi , It works for all carriers ?
Posted 11/24/2014
Hi does this phone works for all carriers ? like T-mobile ,AT&T and other services ? or only for Straight talk ? Please let me know I am planning to buy the phone.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/16/2014
People keep telling me that Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 is terrible. I don't think that's true.
So I guess I could ask you, is it terrible?
How's the battery life? That's what I keep getting complaints about.
Does it have a LED light for text messages and missed calls?
0points
Customer Avatar
Florida
Cannot talk to Philippines?
Posted 11/11/2014
I have tried to get the International Service.
They are not yet in the Philippines. Use Skype
for calling the Philippines
-2points
Customer Avatar
des moines iowa
?
Posted 01/28/2014
i have a ? does striaght talk run off of sprint towers
-5points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Worthy of the hype

02/12/2014
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've lived with the S3 for a few months now and haven't noticed too many scratches on the back, which is impressive considering we haven't been using a case. Indeed, as predicted Samsung's choice of finishes – glossy white and faux brushed metallic blue wear what scratches they do have reasonably well. A new glossy black version is soon to become available too, though, so we'll have to wait and see how that one holds up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
pana,ill. 62557
samdung galaxy 3
Posted 08/04/2014
I don't know how to transfer pictures to my home computer, when I plug it into computer, it charges the battery, no options to load pictures to computer, if any one can help me with this issue
0points
Customer Avatar
DeQueen
cracked phone
Posted 06/30/2014
I was wondering if I cracked my phone can I send it in to get fixed. its straight talk at&t Samsung galaxy s3
0points
Customer Avatar
39773
samsung galaxy s3 replacement plan
Posted 06/22/2014
if i buy a this phone and want a replacement plan, do i have to buy it when i buy the phone or can I buy it later on after I buy the phone??
-1point
Customer Avatar
ohio
galaxy S3
Posted 06/03/2014
I would like to know what network it works off of
0points
Customer Avatar
goose creek
can you see others when talking on the phone with
Posted 03/06/2014
Can you see the person you are talking to on this phone?
0points
Customer Avatar
House Springs
Questions
Posted 03/06/2014
is this a 16GB and does it have a hotspot?
0points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Powerful with a few limitations

09/21/2014
By ,
Iowa, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really powerful phone and I am sure everyone has talked about all the great things it can do. Let me just go over the limitations first since that is a shorter list and maybe more helpful to a would-be smartphone buyer.
1. Cannot run anything that requires FLASH. So you won't be able to watch Amazon Prime videos for instance, which require flash. This by far is the biggest gripe I think most Android users have. Netflix, and YouTube will work just fine.
2. I personally wish that it had a better camera. 8mp is ok but all the newer cameras do much better than this. Sometimes I think the camera can be sluggish.
3. Battery life is generally good unless you have wifi or mobile data on then it just sucks it down quickly. Perhaps this is common among most cell phones though.
Why should you get this phone over another? Larger easily readable screen, Multi-window if you are into that, loads of customizations, and this thing is really surprisingly durable. I have dropped it more times than I care to admit and it hasn't cracked or become damaged.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+423points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Thanks for the tip AndroidChris
Posted 11/26/2014
AndroidChris is right I did as he advised and I was able to watch amazon prime videos right on my phone. So now that is one less gripe I have. It was easy to set up and the phone directed me through the whole set up process so it was not at all complex. The first step is to go to the play store and download the Amazon shopping app as he suggested and open it and start from that point... then try to play a prime video then it will direct you to load some stuff and change some settings and just follow their directions and in less than one minute you will be up and running.
+1point
Customer Avatar
USA
It does play Amazon prime videos
Posted 11/22/2014
Just download and install the Amazon shopping app from the Google Play Store and you'll be able to watch prime videos and also access your Amazon video library.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

There's a reason it's so popular

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far very few complaints. This is my first smartphone, so I'm still easily impressed, kind of like a caveman seeing fire for the first time. But I've talked to people who have had other smartphones, and they love the S3. I haven't really downloaded any apps to speak of yet, but the Netflix app works great on this phone. I work far from the city, and I still have a good signal, even better than with my previous Straight Talk "dumb" phone. The camera takes great pics, and I love the swipe to screenshot feature; very slick. I know this phone is capable of so much more than I'm doing with it, but I'll learn it eventually.
Oh, and great battery life, as long as you're not running a bunch of apps all the time.
Only red flag that's come up so far is that a little over a week after I had it, it freaked out a couple of times and froze up, so I had to take the battery out and restart it. I don't know if it was just a fluke or what, but if it doesn't happen again I'll have no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+219points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Samsung Galaxy 3 Straight Talk

04/05/2014
By ,
MIDWEST
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I ordered these phones, they were delivered within a couple days site to store.We are enjoying them so far.They have many of the features of an iPhone such as front camera,suri type voice app, 16gs of internal mem & can hold up tp 64g sd card.Web surfing is very fast & you can watch videos on YouTube without choppyness.It also helps if you have a wifi connection.The rear camera quality is nice quality 8mp, flash.The screen is large & the images appear very sharp & clear.The phone has many other features that will take us awhile to figure out :) We also purchased phone cases as Walmart that have an external battery & screen protector. The phone is slippery & large in the hand although slim so a case is definately needed.I subtracted a star because the call quality is less than our old Straight Talk smart phones.I think these run on the At&t network instead of Verizon. Also I think the price is a bit high considering they have already come out with the Galaxy S5. A
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+373points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
london ky
Samsung Galaxy 3 Straight Talk
Posted 12/02/2014
yes can I use the phone with verizon
0points
Customer Avatar
Cateyesf
The price is high?
Posted 05/10/2014
Have you seen how much the S5 sells for? It's like $900.! My friend just bought the Samsung Galaxy S5 WITH a contract and paid well over $300. for it.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Disappointed

09/20/2014
By ,
Southeast Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I upgraded from the Galaxy S2, which was a great phone, to the S3. I was very disappointed, the S3 is much slower, has poor battery life and has very poor signal strength. The main reason I upgraded was because my S2 battery life was getting bad, I had been using it for about 2 years (I should have bought a new battery). I noticed an immediate difference in the performance on the S3, it's much slower. My S3 battery life was worse than what I had, I noticed after the first week, I was charging it daily and I don't spend much time on my phone, my S2 would last sometimes 4 days when it was new. Finally, the most frustrating thing about the phone is the signal strength. The phone rarely gets more than 2 bars. I never had so many dead spots with my S2 and that's with the same provider so I know the issue is with the phone. I have to go outside to use it when I'm at work, that never happened with my S2. What's the point of having a phone if you can't use it. I might just reactivate my S2, sometimes newer isn't always better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
monaca pa
S3
Posted 12/17/2014
'm having the same problem with my S3 with the battery had a S2 but battery was bad. I just got this phone a few days ago. I thought it was a good phone that's why we got it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Good phone but unreliable receiving text messaging

08/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a great phone let me start out with that, it has all the bells and whistles you'd want except for....It cant do basic things like you know receive all text messages sent to it which is kind of a problem. Especially texts from iphones or group text some never make it to the phone and some do and it says click download button to download. The little time lapse circle will spin for a minute or two and then you will get a failure to download text notification which is helpful. I've checked the Straight Talk forums about this issue and this problem is rampant. Straight Talk is out right unwilling to discuss this problem publicly. Someone will post this issue and they say yada yada yada this is ST so and so Im sorry you're having this problem I sent you a private message to help resolve this issue. Do some research before buying maybe Straight Talk will eventually resolve this issue some time soon I guess I will see. Check this out for yourself
https://straighttalkwirelessforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=6795&t=1263846
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+152points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, AZ
Txt issue not a straight talk issue, btw.
Posted 12/01/2014
I have the same issue on tmobile, with my Samsung exhibit II
0points
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Text from iPhones
Posted 11/03/2014
There are a LOT of people using many different brands of cell phones that cannot send or receive text msgs from some of the iPhones. It is a problem with the "iPhones" and NOT with the Samsung phone! It doesn't happen with all the iPhones, but it is only iPhones that I have ever had trouble receiving text msgs from on several different brands of phones.
0points
Customer Avatar
Straight Talk MMS Issue
Posted 09/25/2014
I have found a couple of potential solutions.
1) If you have a SIM card it is possible that you have an old SIM card, even though they just sent it to you. Purchase a new $8 SIM card and transfer your number over to the new SIM card. - This worked almost a year ago so it may no longer be an issue. So try #2 first.
2) For months I had no issues sending or receiving MMS messages. Then out of the blue the same error started again. I was already using Handcent so was surprised this issue came back. Long story short, what I had to do was to go into the settings of Handcent, go to Application Settings and then MMS Settings. The default setting is "Smart" which tries to go into your phone's network settings and pull the proper MMS settings from there. It appears that Text programs have a problem pulling the MMS info automatically. So change the "Smart" to "Manual". Now click the MMSC and enter "http://mms-tf.net" which is the Straight Talk setting for MMSC. Click OK and go to Proxy and enter "mms3.tracfone.com" which is again the ST Proxy. Click OK and go to Port and enter 80. - Again, all of this info has already been entered into the Access Points information to get data working. But it appears that text apps have a hard time pulling this info automatically. It works well on some phones and some apps but the manual entry into your text app should resolve the issue. Previous MMS's will not work after this change but new MMS's should work after about 15-30 seconds depending on your connection strength.
Hope this helps!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Same issue
Posted 09/05/2014
I have an HTC inspire, and my phone does the same thing. If I am receiving MMS texts I will get the same download button. I just make sure I have a strong signal on my cell bars, and since I used Straight Talk, I make sure my data hasn't been used up for the month as well.
+1point
Customer Avatar
TN
Texts from Iphones
Posted 09/02/2014
The text issue is strictly a straight talk issue and nothing to do with the phone. I have a ZTE Majesty that did the same thing. It can be solved by using a third party text app, such as Textra, that lets you input server information. Or if you can, root your phone.
Under the MMS settings:
MMSC: http://mms-tf.net
MMS proxy: mms3.tracfone.com
MMS port: 80
My texts are recieved faster now and I get msgs from iphones.
+2points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Goodbye Verizon!

01/21/2014
By ,
Perry Heights, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our first attempt at ordering these phones was not successful. We tried to order two bundles that contained a phone, a case and a $50 gift card. We paid for rush shipping, the gift cards made it on time. Nothing else did. In fact the balance of our order was stuck in some sort of processing limbo. After a few customer service calls, the original order was cancelled and a new one was entered. This order shipped on time. Here is my experience activating and impressions of the Galaxy S3 after one week of use:
1-Call Straight Talk to have your phone activated if your porting over a existing phone number, it's much easier then doing it online. The activation process only took around a half hour, very fast!!
2- Make sure to research and make sure that the phone you are purchasing uses Verizon towers, other posts on here help with that. With that being said, I love this phone, and Straight Talk! Same quality as Verizon service, half the price! As long as your not a data hog, 2g is plenty per month.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+401points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hong kong china
GREAT
Posted 12/03/2014
Its awesome
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

StraightTalk version won't upgrade OS

01/16/2014
By ,
Huntsville, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I spent a couple of hours online attempting to update the OS (Mine is the Verizon version; it came with Android 4.1.2 when I purchased it from WalMart 2 weeks ago; the updated version for this phone is 4.3). Unable to get the phone to update its OS, I called Straight Talk, who blamed the lack of update on the manufacturer. I called the manufacturer (Samsung), who said StraightTalk is responsible to enable updates. Called StraightTalk AGAIN, talked to a manager who also blamed the inability to update on Samsung. After some 30+ minutes, he FINALLY told me that because of some system modifications on the phone (memory modified, as I understand, by StraightTalk) the OS is stuck at 4.1.2 "for now." He gave me no estimate of when/if the Operating System would be updated.
Although, this was not a "Bring Your Own Phone" device, through my experience I learned that if you want to use a BYOP with StraightTalk, best you CALL THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE with the serial number FIRST.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+147points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Espanola New Mexico
verizon towers
Posted 07/28/2014
does it work on Verizon towers as well
0points
Customer Avatar
San Francisco
S3 block for upgrade is the same as the S2...
Posted 05/26/2014
Just wanted to chime in that the S2 Galaxy as well as the S3, with StraightTalk are not upgradeable - StraightTalk has the capability locked out which is unfortunate because the software system will quickly obsolesce. Not sure why StraightTalk feels they have to do this?
0points
Customer Avatar
Ridgecrest CA
OS upgrade lock on Straight Talk SCH-S968C
Posted 04/22/2014
Daughter got this phone yesterday, with Android 4.1.3 pre-installed. Won't update to the latest Jelly Bean through the software update engine on phone nor through the Kies Samsung software. It says it has the latest version. Which means she is unable to use apps like App2SD because of the locked OS. There were some confirmed issues with the 4.3 update reported as late as March 2014, but nothing after that to say it is resolved. I have a different model S3 than hers and it took a month or two before it said an update was available, but I'm on AT&T. From the looks of the Kies software, I would recommend getting that for the phone to move apps. It's supported by Samsung and you get a suite of utilities that allow you to back up your data.
+1point
Customer Avatar
hudsin nh
update
Posted 03/14/2014
straight talk locks phones from updates happened with my s2 i have at the moment
+2points
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
thanks for letting us know!!
Posted 01/19/2014
I just got my new Galaxy the same time you did and was unaware of the update. I prefer to wait till the bugs are ironed out before I update the OS......on my Samsung Tab 2 tablet I put the new OS on for that and it would NOT shut down and I had to send it to Samsung in TX for them to reload the OLD OS onto it. I refuse to update it now as it was in a "reboot loop" with the new OS. Horrible.
+4points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Fantastic!

03/23/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never been so satisfied with a smartphone before. I have had a few Samsung smartphones through Verizon and U.S. Cellular and they always had problems. I constantly received replacement phones for the same issues. This is my second StraightTalk phone (my first was a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim) and I only upgraded because I wanted a faster processor and updated android os.
I am not sure why but for some reason it seems like these prepaid phones are of much better quality than those through the large cellular companies.
The S3 is quite fast and I am able to download and use all the apps I had dreamed of having before, without any trouble. The rear camera takes amazing pictures. The front camera takes lower quality pictures but I never had one before so it is still nice to have. Battery life is better than my previous smartphones. I will be sticking with this phone as long as possible and will definitely continue to be a fan of the Galaxy S series.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+224points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Espanola New Mexico
Posted 07/31/2014
does the phone come with sim card
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Like Nike says, JUST DO IT!

12/10/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Went from Virgin Mobile which uses the Sprint network to this Verizon tower using monster! I NEVER loose signal. My wife has a Iphone 4 and (shhhhh) soon as a Christmas present an Iphone 5, but I like this S3 better. Too many bells and whistles to cover here. The 'gesture' operations are neat. I took about 20 camera shots in rapid fire before I realized what I was doing..lol Dog looked very worried at all that noise coming from my hand? Huge screen means the battery burns down fairly fast, but after a 12.5 hour day of light use still had plenty of juice. I see that Samsung has released an upgraded battery of 3000 mah (30% more power) that you can find online. But for me, typical light user, the installed one is fine. Very light, very responsive, and tons of on board memory (16 gb). Picked up a class 10, 64 gb microsd to go with it. In my opinion, this is the best bang for the buck on the no contract market today. Just look for S968C in the product code.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+292points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
jasper
Verizon
Posted 03/21/2014
Does this phone run off verizon towers?????
0points
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles CA
Thanks for your great review!
Posted 12/29/2013
It was so helpful that you shared needed details that helped me get the right phone/accessories. Thank you! I'll check back after I've got it activated, etc.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Very Nice Smartphone.

08/22/2014
By ,
Alpena, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a smartphone for business purposes as well as personal use. My previous phone only allowed me to install 1 to 3 apps before it ran out of memory even though it had a 32GB SD card installed. That just was not useful at all. I ordered this phone via Site to Store and it was available same day. I have now installed over 2 dozen apps on the phone and it has hardly made a dent in memory usage. I use this with StraightTalk and it is very reliable. I installed a 64GB microSD card which newer phones are now accepting including the Samsung Galaxy S3. Both cameras work well. The only problem I have are with the apps. Some act up from time to time. The phone itself works flawlessly. I can now deal with my customers while I am on the go. I have an online business and need to access remotely often times. Perfect phone for any use and an excellent buy!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

beware before activating

08/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I paid 299.00 for this phone. i went to transfer my straight talk service and phone service to this new phone. i activated this new phone and loaded the prepaid 45dollars onto this new phone. when i went to transfer the service, they told me i would lose the 45 i just 2 minutes ago put on there. i stayed on hold for almost 1 hr waiting for a supervisor on the toll free line. i ended up losing my 45prepaid card because they made me de-activate the new phone that i had just activated. so whatever you do, dont ever activate a new phone. just transfer the current phone service to the new phone and then load the phone with minutes. walmart really needs to make that change by allowing the toll free people in another country able to transfer money from one phone to another when its that visible to them that you just put the 45dollars on the new phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+173points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hampton, VA
Agree
Posted 09/07/2014
Yes, I experienced something similar to this back in December 2013. I just got a new phone the S2 then and wanted to keep the same number but did not have the S/N number from the old phone so they asked did I have the SIM card and I did not because I sent it in with the old phone and was told by the rep that I had to have minutes on the number and come to find out they could not do nothing but extend my plan by 3 days until the new SIM card came, which was not beneficial. However, the service is good and I enjoy being with the company. Its been over 3.5 years.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

2 1/2 years later

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I have the S3's and have been using them everyday since Aug 2012! Mine did have a malfunction where it did not load properly, but it was replaced with a refurb long ago and have had no issue since then. His phone has worked since day one and they both still hold a charge for about 12 hours. I could get a new S5, but why? These still work and do mostly the exact same thing.
Worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Most amazing phone ever!

02/11/2014
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone so much. It has so many awesome features that it would take me all day to describe them. The camera takes amazing pictures and videos. The only bad thing I could possibly say is that it says it comes with a 4gb SD card and it didn't have it with it. HOWEVER, I did get a 100 gift card as advertised in the special deal, so I can hardly complain. lol I like how it asks and converts my videos i take from my computer and put on the phone. My old phone I had to download a special app to watch avi files, this phone uses wmv but like I said, it converts them for you. I bought one for me and one for my husband, which was quite the price tag so I was afraid but I don't like iPhones and the reviews on this phone were great. They were all right. It was worth every single penny. Oh quick fun hint. Use the voice assistant and ask her weird and crazy things. I asked her "What do you think of my son?" and she said "I think he is adorable" hahahaha! too much fun, especially when you're bored and have some time to kill.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+204points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Cant beat this phone for Straight Talk!

11/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased 2 of these phones last year for about $300 a piece. Neither one of them have given us any trouble whatsoever! This model works on the Verizon Network, so it is a very rare occurrence that you are in an area that you do not have service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Best smart phone & ST as a carrier

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had multiple Smart Phones before this and I usually buy the higher end LG phones as that is what I was used too (not that there is anything wrong at all with LG I still very much like the company and their phones). Everyone started raving about the Samsung Galaxy's though so I figured (as it was time to upgrade from my 2 year old LG phone) why not. I did a lot of research before actually taking the leap. My brother has the S5, a friend of mine has the S4, and my friends daughter has the S3. I asked each of them about their phones and read a TON of reviews before making my decision. I also really didn't want to spend upwards of $600+ either like the 4 and 5 are going for. However I did want a good sturdy phone as my phone has my whole life in it, from my apps to music to audio book to my appointments to email to pictures to video to important memos. So I needed something that I could rely on and worked well!
There really isn't much more that the 4 and 5 do that the 3 doesn't. There are actually even a couple of features that the 4 and 5 have that I wouldn't even use so there was no point in getting them for features I don't even need nor want nor would use.
Honestly if you are looking for a good dependable phone that can do just about everything that you would want or need it too this is the phone for you. I absolutely love this phone and going forward I am going to be sticking with the Galaxy family. The amount of internal space for this phone is awesome at 16GB (more than any other phone I have had!) and it holds up a 62GB SD card, that is more than enough space for everything you would want or need. I have my pictures go to my SD card and my music and some apps on there but basically everything is on my phone and I still have 11GB of space left!
The back camera is nice and takes good quality pictures and videos. The front camera is only a 1.9mp so its a little less quality but still works great and has a front flash (which I LOVE cause my old phone did not have that). I also love the LED indicator which my old phone also did not have. The LED light will flash different colors for different missed notifications. Blue for missed calls, texts, and emails and Red for charging (or it will show as red if you have it set to do this for when you have low battery life if you want an indicator that your battery is getting low). I also get green for Facebook messenger and yellow for Snap Chat. I love being able to tell what I have missed just by looking at the light. This way I know whether it needs to be looked at right away or if it can wait. And the screen for this phone is so clear! Colors look amazing and the glass is so smooth you barely have to touch anything to get it to work. Sliding your finger between one of the 7 (YES 7) home screens is so easy, you don't have to push hard on an icon or to scroll between screens like with some phones. And it's a good size too. The screen alone on this phone is just about the size of my entire old phone. Sound quality is also nice coming from the speaker.
The phone has a ton of customization, lots of nifty features such as motion sensors to a voice assist like the iPhone's Siri. Please note this phone does NOT come with some of the usual apps already installed such as Facebook and Twitter so you will need to download them if you utilize them. I actually liked this because I think it's wasted space (for me personally) because I don't utilize Twitter often and I go to the Facebook mobile site as I prefer that over the app. You can change the font style and size of the font for your phone which is neat. You can even change the style of vibration (it will vibrate to the beat of jingle bells if you want it too). If you use you phone for your alarm like I do you can even have it so it reads you your agenda for the day when the alarm goes off. So whatever you have scheduled in your calendar for the day it will actually tell you like an assistant would!
The battery life is great so far as I can go all day using my phone and it will still have battery life. I have only had it once tell me to connect to my charger but I was using it almost non-stop all day but it still didn't die before I got it plugged in (and remember to utilize the power saver function if you start to run low on battery life, it really does help).
This phone really does everything that I need plus more. The things I listed are just the tip of the iceberg, there is SO much more that this phone does. It is a great phone and the service is wonderful. I have had Straight Talk for at least 5 years now. I switched from Verizon where I was paying almost $300.00 a month for a very limited plan for two lines. Like the commercial says I literally cut my bill in more than half! I still get the same wonderful Verizon signal but for way less of the cost. I also love that I am not tied to a plan and do not need to wait until they say it is okay for me to upgrade and then tie me back into another contract because I got a new phone. I can now stop service whenever I feel like it (though I wouldn't do that) and can upgrade whenever I feel like it. It's a wonderful feeling being so free with cell service!
I would also recommend getting the 2 year accidental protection plan along with your new Galaxy S3 for those just in case uh-oh moments. It is totally worth it. I have had it on all of my Straight Talk phones and I have actually had to use it before when my charger port on my phone broke and would not allow me to plug in my charger. They covered my phone and I got a full refund to get a new phone! I say it's totally worth it.
There are two of these phones for Straight Talk service though so beware of which one you are purchasing as these work on two different towers! The White one works for Verizon (which is the one I have and I was super excited cause I wanted the white) and the Blue one works for AT&T. So make sure if you are buying online to beware of this OR go to your local Wal-Mart as they only carry phones that works in that and close by areas. You can also check the little code on the front bottom right corner of the box (if you are in the store as they do not show this online) whatever the letter is at the end of the code is the service tower the phone works for (i.e. V is for Verizon and A is for AT&T). If you want the Verizon phone you want to make sure it is model number STSAS968CWTPW.
All in all I would HIGHLY recommend this phone to anyone looking for a new smart phone and looking to maybe join the world of Samsung Galaxy. You don't need to go with the S4 or S5 if you don't want to spend that much as the S3 is just as amazing! It is totally worth the price and it's actually a really good deal. I promise you will love this phone!
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Big Screen

01/15/2014
By ,
Cloquet, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like the big screen, dwarfs my former 4s phone. Bought it to replace a phone with Verizon where I was paying too much for too little calling features. Now I am saving $21.00 a month and getting more for my money. I bought it as it uses Verizon cell towers for transmitting. The S voice seems to work ok. Used it to make appointments on my phone calendar. Do not know if it will remind me or not as it does not have a place to make reminders as it did on my old phone. I bought an Otterbox Defender case for the phone to protect it which it does very nicely. Used Bluetooth feature to pair with my VW in car connect and with my HPe-print remote printer. Still getting used to using it and its features. It comes loaded with lots of useful apps. It was easy to set up with Straight Talk by following directions and I selected to have automatic billing for the $45.00 a month
charges to my credit card. All in all I am happy to be saving money and getting more for my $s.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+194points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
McLouth,Ks
GalaxyS3
Posted 05/21/2014
Just an awesome phone, you wont be disappointed, Talk to text is a great feature and the GPS will get you where you want to go. I am phone dumb but this phone was pretty easy to figure out with the help of my 16 yr old son LOL. Takes great pictures and has many features that I havent even gotten to yet. Setting it up with straight talk was fast and easy!!
+8points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

Great Phone!

12/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best phone i have ever had. There are still several features i need to master but i LOVE THIS PHONE!!!!!! The screen is just the right size and its ease of use is amazing. I cant imagine ever having to upgrade. It's got it all!
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy S3 Prepaid Cell Phone, White

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE

12/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had nothing but a horrible experience since buying/activating this phone 4 days ago. First off, the phone comes bloated with apps/widgets you may or may not use-but you CAN NOT uninstall them. The Google Play store on my phone either does not work or constantly pops up with a time out error. Straight Talk customer service is no help in the matter, simply saying since the app is pre-installed they cannot do anything about it. There is no way to uninstall/reinstall the app, of course, because a device either has Google Play or doesn't. With Google Play being the only way to download any apps/games, basically this device is worthless as a smartphone.
I think the phone itself would be great-ON ANY OTHER CARRIER. Now I either have to go through the hassle of trying to return/exchange this phone, hoping I don't lose my $45 service fee, and spending another hour trying to get a new phone set up with the possibility of running into the same problem yet again....or I can return to Verizon. Sometimes it's worth an extra $$ to actually have customer support when you need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 960 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  48 Next