Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5-inch touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. It runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean). It is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.418 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(471 Reviews) 471
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
193
4 stars
89
3 stars
31
2 stars
38
1 star
120
Customer Recommendation64%301 out of 471reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
456 Questions | 785 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
193
4 stars
89
3 stars
31
2 stars
38
1 star
120
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Mine works great but......

11/11/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got a ZTE Savvy to see if the phone brand would actually work out at our house before ordering the Majesty. Since it worked I ordered the Majesty and was going to give my husband the Savvy. He decided he liked my Majesty phone better so I took the Savvy back after I found a somewhat local store that had the Majesty where we could just buy it on the spot.
Mine has been working great (ordered from ST) but we had to take his back. After only about 2-3 days of him having the phone the power button started getting sluggish....it would take 3-4 pushes to finally get the screen to come on and would also have to hold the power button about 6-8 seconds in order to get the phone to start up or pull up the shut down menu. The touch screen on his started also getting sluggish.
Will see how his does over the next 2 weeks and go from there but for now I've had mine 10 days so far and haven't had any complaints. We live out in the middle of nowhere and this phone gets BETTER service than my previous Samsung phone (Samsung and Motorola are usually about the only phones that work way out here). The battery life is also GREAT! With my previous phone I was having to charge it at night and many times during the day as well. I've been having to charge this phone every other night for the most part since I got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

ZTE Majesty 796C

05/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone did not work well for me. It said it would work in my zip code. It did. It dropped calls all the time and when I called someone it was so bad that the person I was trying to talk to kept saying "what did you say? It is garbled. Can you say it again?". It would receive calls once in a while. I lost my temper and smashed it, after it dropped an important call 3 times in a row.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Perfect Phone

11/15/2013
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Android Straight Talk phone & by far the very best. The screen is very big & a godsend for those of us whose eyes aren't quite what they used to be. As for those complaining about the keyboard, download A.I. Keyboard from Google play & customize it. Any phone in portrait mode will have small keys, turn it to landscape & the keys are very large. You can put tons of apps & most will store to the SD card. My last phone, LG Extreme, did not store to card so the apps took up most of the memory & made the phone very slow. I have more apps on this phone than the old & there is no lag or wait time at all. I can hear much better on this phone. I was always turning up the volume on the other phones - not this one. Incoming calls are crystal clear.
I am deducting a 1/4 star because the ringtone & notification volume are one & the same - not independent. I prefer a loud ring & a soft notification. To solve that, I chose a very light notification & a custom ringtone from Zedge.
Chomp SMS worked perfectly on the LG but will not download MMS on this phone. This is more likely a Chomp issue & not the phone. I am using GOSMS PRO which is working fine. The stock SMS is just too boring.
As for those complaining about cases - there are tons of them available on Amazon. Mine is on the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RI
Update
Posted 04/29/2014
Phone suddenly stopped receiving wifi. Kept saying not in range even though I was standing right in front of the router. Straight talk was pretty much no help. Their only offer was to do a factory reset & if that did not work, send them the phone & they would send another upon receipt of defective one. That would keep me for at least a week or more with no phone. Opted for Sprint Framily plan - for the same $45/month I got a great phone that includes unlimited talk/text & 1 G of data with actual people who can help you in the store and I don't have to worry about reloading minutes every month.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 64 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

1st smart phone experience.

12/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my first smart phone purchase. I paid $179.00 in 2/2014 and now the price is $79.00. There is a reason for the price change. I find the phone to be very slow whether I'm on 3G or wifi. Most often I have to call back when I make a call because the connection is so poor. Things pop up for no reason. Ringer stops working. Notification sound stops working. Overheats easily. Un-mounting SD card according to instruction has damaged my pictures twice. Have to restart phone a lot because things stop working. Sure you can put a 32GB SD card in it but I still can't download apps or update apps because internal storage won't allow it, saying no available memory. Internal SD card has 1.6GB open but I can't get to it. I would not recommend purchasing this phone. I have no prior smart phone experience but it seems the product should be better. I have had this about 10 months and am shopping for a new phone. One more thing I notice. It actually gives me an odd pain in my temple ear area if I'm on the phone for any length of time. I use ear buds most often now when I can get the jack to work. That usually takes 2 restarts and resetting the silent mode on and off twice. Picture quality is poor. My husband has this phone also, same issues. Hmmm, let's see what else......Oh I know. Don't buy this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
Re: 1st smart phone experience
Posted 01/14/2015
"Sure you can put a 32GB SD card in it but I still can't download apps or update apps because internal storage won't allow it, saying no available memory. Internal SD card has 1.6GB open but I can't get to it. I would not recommend purchasing this phone. I have no prior smart phone experience but it seems the product should be better. I have had this about 10 months and am shopping for a new phone..."
That sounds a lot like our own experience. I think the "Insufficient memory/space" error is mostly due to: a.) the Majesty's single-core processor; and b.) Google's pre-installed bloatware, such as their Chrome browser, the Google Play Music/Books/Movie/Newsstand apps, Hangouts, etc.—none of which I nor my husband ever use—hogging all the available onboard memory and space. They won't allow them to be disabled/uninstalled, or even moved to SD card; and often ask for excessive privacy-intrusive "permissions" on their required updates. We've about had enough. The phone worked much better when we first purchased it around late December of 2013; but just a few months later Straight Talk went AWOL twice during the spring and summer for 2 - 3 weeks in a local area where we'd always received service before—no explanation given by ST techs, naturally. We have very few custom apps installed (like fewer than a half-dozen); but it's still maxed out. Time to upgrade, methinks ... and we won't be making the same mistake again.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 65 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

poor reception

05/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reception is poor. Calls are dropped all the time. Doesn't work inside my home. Have to step outside my home to talk on, or the person that calls can't hear me. Sometimes the calls don't even come through.
Paid more money for a better phone and service is worse. Don't recommend this phone for anyone.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

great smartphone at the price

10/08/2013
By ,
Danville PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this last night, it was better than i expected. i love how it's big size its easier to type and see things better when its a big size. I would RECOMMEND for all of you to get this phone if you would like smartphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

love it

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No problems with this phone for the price you can not go wrong, Unless your into Apple pie........Of Course
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

ok

05/30/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works as expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

ZTE

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS PHONE IS PERFECT FOR ME. I LOVE IT AND WILL TELL OTHERS ABOUT IT.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Thank you Walmart.

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a simple to operate, and a low mo. rate, this is the phone, Ive had Trac Phone for over 7 years. This is my best phone Good battery life.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

phone does not get good signal

05/29/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Phone does not get hood signal
Recommends this product? No
From TracFone Wireless06/30/2015
I am Ashley and I work with Straight Talk. Please let me help you get this resolved. Send me an email at ST.CorpResolutionTeam@straighttalk.com and we will resolve your problem right away. Include your name, contact number and your cell phone number or phone serial number. TracFoneWireless
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Wow!

10/29/2013
By ,
carmi, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! I had a Proclaim and it works good and still have it as a backup...however I wanted something bigger and this was it!! This phone is a great price and looks like a Galaxy. I hope it lasts a long time. Make sure to big a replacement plan in case you need it down the road. vTakes good pics and ring sounds are loud and clear. Light indicator on front of phone to let you know there is a message or email. Has every option the description says it has plus more. Pretty cool phone! I highly recommend it. Can't go wrong with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

It's ok

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone is fine but there is no range for example in most of Kentucky. Not a good phone for the truck driver.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

horrible

05/27/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It freezes and glitches all the time batter is horrible and gets hot quickly.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Phone ok, speaker not good.

05/27/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The phone works fine, but the speaker is not good. If they could make that better, it would be great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Just what I wanted

05/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone yesterday. I had a Samsung Centura and loved it but wanted a bit bigger screen and front camera and flash. They had a little trouble at Walmart activating my phone with Straight talk. I had transferred my same number and straight talk plan to my new phone. I took the phone home and called the number Walmart gave me, and it activated right away, so maybe the reception was too busy at the Walmart. Don't know. I made sure the settings were how I wanted them, as I had them on the Centura. There was a check on the roaming that I unchecked. (you don't need roaming) I turned my sync on on both phones, and voila, all my pictures automatically went to my new phone. It took awhile. I believe these pictures were all of the ones that were on my google+ back up. I went on my computer and pulled up my google account (you have to set one up, a gmail account, to access the apps and things from google play store. They had a list of all of my apps, and I just clicked the ones that I wanted back on my new phone, and they downloaded. So nice!! Now, I've read a couple of reviews that the phone was operating so slooooowww. Well, I thought the same thing. But, it occurred to me that all of these things were downloading at one time or one right after the other, and I'll bet the pictures were a load all by themselves. I was thinking, geez, this phone is slow. Now everything is completed for my set up, and this phone moves fast. I downloaded 60 songs this morning from google's music maniac, one right after the other and it didn't take longer than 25 seconds for each one. I love the speech to text feature. I just said the name of the song, and tapped search and off it went. The sound on this phone is great!! I paired it through bluetooth with my car, and it comes out in stereo to die for. I haven't used the camera but once to try it and the fly on the wall looked great, just kidding. The flash worked, and I figured out how to use the front facing camera, as well as the other. I love this phone already!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Very unreliable phone.

12/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am currently on my THIRD ZTE Majesty. I keep having problems with receiving text messages, calls and the phone just shutting down randomly. I have dealt with Straight Talk customer service many times and it is ALWAYS frustrating and it takes many different calls and people to get anything to happen. Their only solution is to keep sending me the same phone! Last time they said they were making a one time exception and sending me a different phone and they didn't! I had a Samsung before this and never had these kinds of issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

GREAT PHONE SO FAR..

10/16/2013
By ,
wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i had the straight talk proclaim but after returning it twice with all of its technical difficulties and doing lots of research i decided to go with this phone and so far i'm pleased with it, one issue i had was the charging port is a little tight and didn't seemed to make a good connection but i forced it in a little further so far so good. Granted i just got it today but will be back later to give an update. but love how it works so far wish the cases and screen protectors come out REALLY SOON!! lesson learned on any phone you buy get Walmart's extra warranty. Also the screen isn't very sensitive to touch better to use your thumb than index finger
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

AWFUL Waste of money!

08/12/2014
By ,
Abington, Ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to buy this phone. It sounded great and the screen is huge. Worst phone I've ever owned! Immediately I noticed it liked to randomly restart itself a couple times a day. Then I noticed I was very limited with downloading apps because it would always say "low storage" (even with the memory card). Then Google chrome just wouldn't work, nothing ever loaded on it. Switched to using the regular browser, which freezes and force closes every few seconds. Picture messages won't download despite excellent reception from both WiFi and 3g, and picture messages I send out won't send at all. Everything freezes and force closes, the camera is super laggy and takes forever to focus and even longer to actually take the pic. Constant dropped calls, volumes for ringtones and speaker phone work when it feels like it. Yesterday was it for me. The screen now goes haywire and the phone will freeze and either restart itself or I have to take the battery out and restart it myself. I'll be purchasing a new DIFFERENT phone, and will absolutely not recommend this phone, ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

JUNK x2

04/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had 2 of these..now shopping for yet another phone. They BOTH have malfunctioned. This last one I rec'v (the repl for the 1st one), touch screen fails, swipes poorly, and the mic sounds like I'm under water. No one on other end understands me. ZTE makes a faulty product..PERIOD! I love Straight Talk, just hate this piece of junk I paid 179.00 for...STAY CLEAR...
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 471 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  24 Next