Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5-inch touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. It runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean). It is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.395 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(479 Reviews) 479
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
195
4 stars
89
3 stars
31
2 stars
38
1 star
126
Customer Recommendation63%304 out of 479reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
456 Questions | 786 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
195
4 stars
89
3 stars
31
2 stars
38
1 star
126
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

awesome phone

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great, wish i'd known about it way before i did
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

good phone

06/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my husband loves it. he had to get used to all the upgrades that his old phone didn't have and he's got the hang of it now. the service is good and the price was good.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Wow!

10/29/2013
By ,
carmi, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! I had a Proclaim and it works good and still have it as a backup...however I wanted something bigger and this was it!! This phone is a great price and looks like a Galaxy. I hope it lasts a long time. Make sure to big a replacement plan in case you need it down the road. vTakes good pics and ring sounds are loud and clear. Light indicator on front of phone to let you know there is a message or email. Has every option the description says it has plus more. Pretty cool phone! I highly recommend it. Can't go wrong with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

1st smart phone experience.

12/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my first smart phone purchase. I paid $179.00 in 2/2014 and now the price is $79.00. There is a reason for the price change. I find the phone to be very slow whether I'm on 3G or wifi. Most often I have to call back when I make a call because the connection is so poor. Things pop up for no reason. Ringer stops working. Notification sound stops working. Overheats easily. Un-mounting SD card according to instruction has damaged my pictures twice. Have to restart phone a lot because things stop working. Sure you can put a 32GB SD card in it but I still can't download apps or update apps because internal storage won't allow it, saying no available memory. Internal SD card has 1.6GB open but I can't get to it. I would not recommend purchasing this phone. I have no prior smart phone experience but it seems the product should be better. I have had this about 10 months and am shopping for a new phone. One more thing I notice. It actually gives me an odd pain in my temple ear area if I'm on the phone for any length of time. I use ear buds most often now when I can get the jack to work. That usually takes 2 restarts and resetting the silent mode on and off twice. Picture quality is poor. My husband has this phone also, same issues. Hmmm, let's see what else......Oh I know. Don't buy this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
Re: 1st smart phone experience
Posted 01/14/2015
"Sure you can put a 32GB SD card in it but I still can't download apps or update apps because internal storage won't allow it, saying no available memory. Internal SD card has 1.6GB open but I can't get to it. I would not recommend purchasing this phone. I have no prior smart phone experience but it seems the product should be better. I have had this about 10 months and am shopping for a new phone..."
That sounds a lot like our own experience. I think the "Insufficient memory/space" error is mostly due to: a.) the Majesty's single-core processor; and b.) Google's pre-installed bloatware, such as their Chrome browser, the Google Play Music/Books/Movie/Newsstand apps, Hangouts, etc.—none of which I nor my husband ever use—hogging all the available onboard memory and space. They won't allow them to be disabled/uninstalled, or even moved to SD card; and often ask for excessive privacy-intrusive "permissions" on their required updates. We've about had enough. The phone worked much better when we first purchased it around late December of 2013; but just a few months later Straight Talk went AWOL twice during the spring and summer for 2 - 3 weeks in a local area where we'd always received service before—no explanation given by ST techs, naturally. We have very few custom apps installed (like fewer than a half-dozen); but it's still maxed out. Time to upgrade, methinks ... and we won't be making the same mistake again.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 65 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

new phone

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it works great I don't have any problem with the phone
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Just what I wanted

05/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone yesterday. I had a Samsung Centura and loved it but wanted a bit bigger screen and front camera and flash. They had a little trouble at Walmart activating my phone with Straight talk. I had transferred my same number and straight talk plan to my new phone. I took the phone home and called the number Walmart gave me, and it activated right away, so maybe the reception was too busy at the Walmart. Don't know. I made sure the settings were how I wanted them, as I had them on the Centura. There was a check on the roaming that I unchecked. (you don't need roaming) I turned my sync on on both phones, and voila, all my pictures automatically went to my new phone. It took awhile. I believe these pictures were all of the ones that were on my google+ back up. I went on my computer and pulled up my google account (you have to set one up, a gmail account, to access the apps and things from google play store. They had a list of all of my apps, and I just clicked the ones that I wanted back on my new phone, and they downloaded. So nice!! Now, I've read a couple of reviews that the phone was operating so slooooowww. Well, I thought the same thing. But, it occurred to me that all of these things were downloading at one time or one right after the other, and I'll bet the pictures were a load all by themselves. I was thinking, geez, this phone is slow. Now everything is completed for my set up, and this phone moves fast. I downloaded 60 songs this morning from google's music maniac, one right after the other and it didn't take longer than 25 seconds for each one. I love the speech to text feature. I just said the name of the song, and tapped search and off it went. The sound on this phone is great!! I paired it through bluetooth with my car, and it comes out in stereo to die for. I haven't used the camera but once to try it and the fly on the wall looked great, just kidding. The flash worked, and I figured out how to use the front facing camera, as well as the other. I love this phone already!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

GREAT PHONE SO FAR..

10/16/2013
By ,
wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i had the straight talk proclaim but after returning it twice with all of its technical difficulties and doing lots of research i decided to go with this phone and so far i'm pleased with it, one issue i had was the charging port is a little tight and didn't seemed to make a good connection but i forced it in a little further so far so good. Granted i just got it today but will be back later to give an update. but love how it works so far wish the cases and screen protectors come out REALLY SOON!! lesson learned on any phone you buy get Walmart's extra warranty. Also the screen isn't very sensitive to touch better to use your thumb than index finger
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

By far the worst phone I have ever owned!!

03/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had two of these Majesty phones. The first one would constantly reboot at anytime. During a call, texting, browsing... I sent the first one back to ZTE for repair and they sent a replacement. The replacement was set-up for Tracfone and not Straight Talk. So I bought a second one thinking I just had a defective phone. Here it is 6 months later and my 2nd one is doing the same thing. Absolute Junk! Stay away from this phone. Going to get the Samsung Galaxy 4 to replace it this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Great Smartphone for a low price

12/23/2013
By ,
Effingham, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is fast, has lots of apps that I run all at the same time and it does everything a smartphone needs to do! The only thing that went wrong was my music was playing at super fast high pitch speed. I made sure to turn my phone off and back on. I also got an app called Clean Master and it stops all running apps that are hogging memory up and deletes your cache and junk files. Now my music player works great. I have to say I am very impressed with this phone! The speaker is super loud. I don't know what everyone else is complaining about because my friends are jealous with how loud my music is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

AWFUL Waste of money!

08/12/2014
By ,
Abington, Ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to buy this phone. It sounded great and the screen is huge. Worst phone I've ever owned! Immediately I noticed it liked to randomly restart itself a couple times a day. Then I noticed I was very limited with downloading apps because it would always say "low storage" (even with the memory card). Then Google chrome just wouldn't work, nothing ever loaded on it. Switched to using the regular browser, which freezes and force closes every few seconds. Picture messages won't download despite excellent reception from both WiFi and 3g, and picture messages I send out won't send at all. Everything freezes and force closes, the camera is super laggy and takes forever to focus and even longer to actually take the pic. Constant dropped calls, volumes for ringtones and speaker phone work when it feels like it. Yesterday was it for me. The screen now goes haywire and the phone will freeze and either restart itself or I have to take the battery out and restart it myself. I'll be purchasing a new DIFFERENT phone, and will absolutely not recommend this phone, ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Paper Weight

01/06/2014
By ,
Richmond VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Straight Talk ZTE Majesty phone roughly 20 days ago the first one I'm on the second one now and needless to say it's going back as well...
The first one would cut off and on by itself while I was in the middle of a call text or email to top it off I could have full service call the phone from another phone while it's in front of me and it wouldn't even ring or notify you there was a call coming in I tried to call several local number's and it would give me a message about international calls and not being able to make them.
After returning that phone I got another one the same phone as honestly I like the phone simple to use and it's not a bad price either well today makes day 2 of having the second phone and I was sending a text and it cut off and won't power back on so now I have to return this phone again and needless to say I'll be going with something different.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

no memory and glitchy

06/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I absolutely hate this phone. There is not enough memory to download apps, take pics, or listen to music. Yes, I have a memory card. No, it does not help. It randomly freezes or just does not cooperate. Sometimes the call quality is so poor that I have to hang up and call back. I did not have reception problems in the same area with my other phone, so I know its a phone problem. This is not my first smartphone, but it is by far the absolute worst I have ever owned.
Recommends this product? No
From TracFone Wireless07/06/2015
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. In order to get this resolved, we would need to gather more information. To better assist you, please send us an email at ST.CorpResolutionTeam@straighttalk.com. Please include your name, phone number and the serial number or the IMEI/MEID of the phone. TracFoneWireless
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Terrible

08/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for 10 months because I wanted an affordable phone with a large screen but I've had nothing but trouble with it. The problems began about two months in and it wouldn't receive text messages intermittently, then the phone calls became garbled. About 30% of my call have to be ended and then called again because either I can't hear them or they can't understand me. I contacted Straight Talk about this and all they can say is that their network is fine, no problems on their end. They give the usual lame advice of remove the battery and reprogram the phone. Then the phone started turning off during normal app use. Some days it will turn off 3-4 times a day. Many apps that utilize the camera cause it to freeze and the only way to correct it is to restart the phone. The last straw was when the phone shut off and corrupted the SD card and I lost all the data, apps, and pictures I had stored. The phone only has 1GB of internal memory, not whatever it is they advertise so most of the memory is on the SD. I'm buying a new phone and will never go generic again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Had Problems less than 2 months after purchase....

05/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased phone 3/9/14 along with extended service plan. Wi-Fi stopped working few days ago, does not read any Wi-Fi signal. Even tried doing a factory reset. Called straight talk and spoke with 3 different technicians who after going through over an hour of troubles shooting my settings (each person had me go over the same exact troubleshooting steps each time) only to have them tell me that there is no problem with my phone. I am familiar with setting up wi fi networks. The phone stopped reading wi fi networks. I had read many of the customer complaints about their service, but now I know about it first hand. If you decide to go ahead and purchase from them anyway, then I wish you good luck, because if you ever do run into a problem you will wish you had gone elsewhere.
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
UPDATE 5/5/14
Posted 05/05/2014
The extended warranty people at Asurion were extremely helpful. They have agreed to refund the purchase price (minus a $29 service fee.) This still means that I am out the cost of the extended warranty for the phone ($51) along with the service fee. So in effect, I had use of the this phone for 2 months and it cost me $80. It would have been more of a loss had I not had the extended coverage. I would certainly suggest not buying a straight talk phone unless you get the extended coverage plan.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 75 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Save Your Money

05/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy a better phone. In the long run, you will come out ahead.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

5 Stars for Now!!

10/18/2013
By ,
Anniston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered it yesterday at 2 pm CST, it arrived this morning before 11 am CST. HAPPY :-)
Easy to activate and charges quickly. HAPPY :-)
FINALLY, I have service at my home (live in a rural area). Verizon is the only provider that has service where I live. VERY VERY HAPPY! :-)
Sleek, good looking phone. (No car charger).
For now, I give it 5 stars. I will update in a few weeks.
No contract, full service, unlimited everything, $49 per month (and includes tax.) ! HAPPY :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jc
just want to know
Posted 10/19/2013
how did you get it so Quick? did u order it online or live close by the warehouse? because I ordered it and it says 5 to 7 days for delivery at my store! gee I wish I knew how you got it that fast. thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 77 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read multiple reviews on all the Straight Talk phones which used the Verizon network and though there were some negative reviews about this phone, the majority of them are positive. I considered that sometimes people just like to gripe and so I didn't let those negative reviews dictate my decision to purchase this phone and I am very pleased with that decision! What was most important to me was that the screen was large enough to read and enlarge without chopping off so much content you have to scroll back and forth... no problem there. I also see no since in having a phone with a camera if the quality of the image stinks but the camera on this phone takes great pictures. I was somewhat concerned about the phone being 3G but with all the other features at this sale price I figured I could live with that BUT I don't spend any time waiting for information. I type it in, I click send, I scroll down, open another tab and I am the one having to catch up. Now, I am one who err's on the side of caution so I purchased the 2 year insurance policy for this phone. Though I haven't had to use it, I feel the additional cost is worth the peace of mind. I am definitely recommending this phone. I don't recall if this phone is available with the AT&T network and I can't vouch for them even if it is but as for Verizon and the ZTE Majesty...they make a great pair!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Better than expected!

03/06/2014
By ,
Moultrie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband wanted an I phone but I refuse to spend that much on one phone! Instead we both got one of the ZTE Majesty cheaper than one I phone. At first he was let down and made comments on how big the phone was; then he turned a new leaf after using it for a couple days. He loves how large the screen is; was impressed on how it is able to do the fancy smiley faces that are normally associated with I phones. The reception is better than our previous $100 android straight talk phones that were under Version towers as well. The flash for the 5.0 camera is what sold me now night or day our pictures are 100% better. The front camera isn't bad and comes in handy. If your looking for an upgrade without the high price tag the ZTE Majesty is definitely the way to go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

Very unreliable phone.

12/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am currently on my THIRD ZTE Majesty. I keep having problems with receiving text messages, calls and the phone just shutting down randomly. I have dealt with Straight Talk customer service many times and it is ALWAYS frustrating and it takes many different calls and people to get anything to happen. Their only solution is to keep sending me the same phone! Last time they said they were making a one time exception and sending me a different phone and they didn't! I had a Samsung before this and never had these kinds of issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty Z796C Prepaid Smartphone

So much better than my Windows W1 Phone

06/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'll never stray away from Android again. For the money, this is a great phone! Very reliable although it has restarted all by itself twice in the past week. Still better than having my Windows phone freeze up several times a day. Netflix streams without buffering when I get 3G service and it has enough storage space for the five or six apps that I use. This is my first ZTE device and I'm quite pleased, especially with the display quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 479 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  24 Next