Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(394 Reviews) 394
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
168
4 stars
77
3 stars
26
2 stars
30
1 star
93
Customer Recommendation66%261 out of 394reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
401 Questions | 733 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
168
4 stars
77
3 stars
26
2 stars
30
1 star
93
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love it!

02/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was debating between this phone and another one...the last two reviews were kind of negative so I was leaning more towards the other phone...then noticed the other one does not work in my area so begrudgingly bought this one. Man I am so glad I did!!! It is WAY better than I could have imagined, better than any other straight talk phone I've owned (including my last one that I owned for two years because I loved it so much I was afraid of changing to a phone I didn't like). I will not be phone shopping for a LONG time as this has everything I need and then some!!! It even has a flash (though this wasn't mentioned on the packing or website). The battery outlasts any phone I've ever seen (including my dad's I-phone). Super easy to use and lots of ways to customize. A great deal and a great phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 122 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This phone has some serious flaws

04/02/2014
By ,
Phoenix az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had several prepaid phones using straight talk's verizon network with zero problems. That is, until I purchased this phone. The signal is horrible and I've never had so many dropped calls. The phone's display with show 3g, but as soon as you make/receive a call, the signal drops to 1x and will then drop the call half the time. The Wifi is also a constant problem. It has trouble reconnecting automatically to my saved networks (I have to turn it off and back on). The Wifi also interferes with bluetooth data and music streaming. If you want to stream music via bluetooth to another device, you have to turn the wifi off or your audio will sound like a CD skipping. This phone is BUNK, especially for the money (I paid $180).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 123 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Majesty really is royal

10/22/2013
By ,
Rantoul, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best phone i've ever purchased for use with straighttalk. I love the size and it was a great price. This phone is everything I expected and much more! I highly recommend this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 124 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone for me

11/09/2013
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'll begin by saying I am in my sixties and "smart" phones tend to be a little beyond my user friendly level. I had an existing number I wanted to transfer to this phone and I found the thought of figuring this out on my own extremely daunting. I did get an error message in the online activation process which was very frustrating as there was no option to correct this online. It had retained my registration info as far as log-in and phone id, however the phone was inactive, and when I tried to activate it from that point on, it said the service plan card number I had purchased had already been used. Period. No other option but to call customer service, which I did. I left my phone number for a call back as the cue was very long. I received a call back in a little over an hour and was able to get the phone activated and my number transferred. It was a little confusing, but I found the overall customer service team courteous and helpful willing to work with me until we had resolved the problem. Having said all that, I find the phone to work really well. It may not have the small extra details of some features as other higher priced cell phones, but the service has been excellent so far for me. Calling and texting work great. Battery holds the charge well. No problem with the sound quality for me. I didn't think much of the camera picture quality but realized it was set at the 1 mg setting and upped that to 5. (I do miss the dedicated camera button.) Only had it for one week but it has been a good change for me from the phone plan I was on previously.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 125 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Glad I purchused this phone!

01/11/2014
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a smartphone with a large screen, huge variety of compatible apps, and a nice design then look no further. This phone is exactly what I was hoping for, maybe even better. Sure, this phone isn't an S4 or iPhone 5, but for those of us who can't afford those phones this is a great alternative.
Spend the $179.88 for this phone. The majority of you won't regret it, and for those of you that do.. return it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 126 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

It would get at 5 But.....

10/17/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this phone, because I didn't want to pay $400 for a galaxy. The phone is awesome. It has great features, great camera. The only thing and the reason it's getting a 4 is because the gps sucks. I rely on the gps on my cell phones. This one, takes forever to find my location, and then when it does, it takes forever to load the directions. If it wasn't for that I would give it a 5. I hope they fix it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 127 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Beyond my expectations.

02/12/2014
By ,
State College, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I purchased this phone I figured there would be some bugs to work out. I was pleasantly surprised to find none. I am not electronically inclined so I was expecting to have to have my son and friends show me repeatedly how to use everything on it. I could not believe how easy this phone is to use. I recommend this phone to anyone who wants a phone that is easy to navigate and actually a joy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 128 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for the price

08/23/2014
By ,
Burlignton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are not too worried about brand name, this phone will do almost anything you need. The picture quality is pretty good for me, but I don't know much about pictures. It does Netflix, Youtube, facebook, web surfing, games, music, Bluetooth and on the Straighttalk network its pretty fast. I definitely think its worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 129 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great low-mid range phone

11/13/2013
By ,
North Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So I have had this phone for 4 days and really like it. It was and upgrade from the straight talk Samsung proclaim that also runs on the Verizon network. So far no issues at all, and a good step up in phones. Some questions I have seen in other posts about specks. I will try to answer.
OS: 4.1.2
CPU: 1.2 gig DUAL CORE
RAM: 768 MB
ROM: 4 gig, some used for the OS and such.
runs on VERIZON (any ST phone with CDMA-V on the box is a Verizon phone)
link to ZTE site: http://www.zteusa.com/zte-majesty.html
So as a lower end phone I think its a great buy... And for 45 bucks a month I cant complain at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 130 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This phone is the WORST

10/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in april and already for a while haveing trouble with it. This was not a cheap phone! DONT WASTE YOU MONEY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 131 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love it so far!

06/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first android phone. I went from a LG flip with no data or texting plan to this phone and straight talk. I decided to try straight talk because I refused to pay $35 more per month for texting and data. I chose this phone for the screen size, front facing camera, higher than 4.0 and general overall look. So far I am very pleased. If I had to complain, it would be about the camera. It does not take the very best pics, but that is not my first priority with this phone. For a beginner, I am glad I chose this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 132 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great smartphone, for the price

11/22/2013
By ,
Fort Morgan, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my first smartphone. I like the features.I like that it uses Verizon network, I have good reception.Walmart did deliver in store one day earlier than expected. However, I found the same phone for 10 percent Less from ZTE so do some research before purchasing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 133 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Was not what I was expecting.

10/19/2014
By ,
Maryville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The camera is horrible, very little app download space, and messes up a lot when I call people (they can't understand me. It sounds like a robot.) Nothing but a bad experience since I got it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 134 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Unbelievably Tough

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone a couple of years and my eight year old dropped it on cement and cracked the screen all the way across it. Then my 2 year old knocked it out of my hand and shattered it. I put a screen protector over the glass to keep it from cutting my finger and keep using it while trying to decide if I should fix it or just get a new one. In the mean time, the 2 year old swam across our pool with it and handed it to me. I dried it out and it started working again. Then, I dropped it out of my purse in a parking lot where it stayed all night. I found it the next morning and it was on and I picked it up and used it. Like I said UNBELIEVABLY TOUGH!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 135 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst Phone Ever

10/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I Bought this phone and I was so disappointed. No one could hear me. i had to have it on speaker for people to some what understand me. It would restart when ever it wanted to. When i tried listening to Pandora it would not play a full song. It has so many problem. it was a really big waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 136 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

BIG MISTAKE. Don't make it.

03/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I made the mistake of moving to this phone from an iPhone 4S on straight talk, which uses AT&T GSM towers. I moved to this phone, understanding that it was CDMA, which uses Verizon towers.
UNFORTUNATELY, what I did not know was that the data speed is HORRIBLE. My wife uses an iPhone 5C still on the GSM side of straight talk. She consistently gets around 6 Mbps data speed. I was lucky to get 1 Mbps with this phone. And noone at Straight Talk will give me an honest answer about the CDMA data being much slower. They did CONFIRM that I had NOT gone over a data cap and my data was NOT being throttled back.
I then attempted to port back to my old iPhone 4S, over the phone. They said it was fine to do this. 24 hours later after the port still had not gone through they say "we have to send you a new sim card because it has to be the same sim card number and you can't use the old one in the phone." Ok, well the new sim comes and guess what? IT'S A DIFFERENT SIM NUMBER! I COULD HAVE GONE TO MY LOCAL WALMART AND GOTTEN ONE!
As for the quality of the phone, videos are very choppy and camera quality is not that great.
I would not recommend this phone, or ANY phone from ZTE. If you are thinking of getting a CDMA Straight Talk phone, please find someone that has one and check their data speed first. If you get on Straight Talk with a GSM phone, you probably won't have any issues....I didn't until I tried to move to a different phone. Otherwise I'm happy with the service itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 137 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

WORST PHONE EVER!

09/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone on 4-12-2014. I didn't have a clue what I was getting into. This phone lags,drops calls if u even if you received them, drops internet connections, powers down and u won't know it,etc,etc,etc.. I called straight talk and they said they would send me a box to return it for a refurbished zte Majesty and I send my phone to them in the box and then, who knows how long, they will send the refurbished one to me. I called zte and they said,"Not their problem, its between me and straight talk." The phone had a "lag" connecting and so forth when I got it but I assumed a software update would fix it. Well, there is no software update in existence. The last update was around March-April of 2013. This phone has been nothing but a nightmare for me. I have done 3 full factory resets and I have to do it again already 30 days or less since last one. U have to use another phone to do it and I usually spend around 30 min each time. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!! I've been dealing with this for around 3-3-1/2 months I'm buying a different phone, probably a Samsung and changing providers as soon as I can. Thank you for reading my rant. It is long but I'm trying to help anyone avoid going through what I am. Peace and love to all except the ones mentioned in my rant.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DO NOT BUY
Posted 09/13/2014
I have the SAME problems. It shuts off all the time. People cannot hear me when I call. The screen goes black and takes forever to come back on after taking battery out. I set it down and it will shut off and restart. It has been a total nightmare!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 138 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone for the money.

10/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good phone. Battery life is better than I expected. I have only had this for a couple of weeks, but I am satisfied with it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 139 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Possessed ZTE Majesty 796C

10/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I TRULY HATE THIS PHONE !!!!!!!This my second phone just thought the first one was a "DUD" but, the second one is worse. Did my research, talked to people that had the phone, and even played around with theres.But no one told me or nothing prepared me for this.Got the first n June (got the extened protection plan)took to back end of July and am taking it back again.Will not get another one even if it was givin to me. Service is the worse I've ever had, drops calls all the time. Talk to text is a must have for me due to a disease n my fingers n which typing is to hard and it takes to long but, with this phone I spend more time correcting the errors and misspellings that I avoid using it. Call one person in my contact list and it'll b sumone else n my contact list (that happens alot).Miss alot of calls and txt and voice messages. Guess the just go to the clouds how knows. Random stuff just pops up (turn phone on and #s, pics, txts r just on the display, sumtimes their hrs old sumtimes days old.Pic quality awesome but they wont txt email or download on my pc or any pc I've tried with same quality. Don't even want to talk about the video.The most annoying thing of all is the phone just turns off no reason just turns completely off.I know this phone is possessed and I'll never have another one or recommend this to anyone.If I can't get a different phone thru the service plan I purchased then I'll cut my loses and just purchase a new phone. I would not have rated this phone at all but I wasn't allowed to post with out rating it
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 140 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

garbage

07/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After researching and reading reviews I decided this phone would be a good fit for me. I bought 2 one for me and one for my wife, money wasted the phone is junk drops calls, internet takes forever to load anything and forget about streaming music from anywhere. Previous to this I had a samsung centura and im going back. If it had only been my phone I had problems with I could accept that but both mine and my wifes do the same thing. To sum it up DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
121-140 of 394 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  20 Next