Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.481 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(405 Reviews) 405
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
171
4 stars
78
3 stars
28
2 stars
31
1 star
97
Customer Recommendation66%266 out of 405reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
404 Questions | 737 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
171
4 stars
78
3 stars
28
2 stars
31
1 star
97
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Not what a $150,00 phone should do

06/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is nice but the download for pictures is worth a nickel ! I`ve reset it three differnt times
and it work for about 2 or 3 downloads and then it doe`s the same thing. Price wasn`t to bad after a 30 dollars rollback but the problem with the pics is what makes me not like it..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 122 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

worse phone I ever owned

11/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it is a piece of junk..finally sent it back to straight talk...worked well for awhile, then once again the conversations are garbled and unable to hear....never never again!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 123 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great low-mid range phone

11/13/2013
By ,
North Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So I have had this phone for 4 days and really like it. It was and upgrade from the straight talk Samsung proclaim that also runs on the Verizon network. So far no issues at all, and a good step up in phones. Some questions I have seen in other posts about specks. I will try to answer.
OS: 4.1.2
CPU: 1.2 gig DUAL CORE
RAM: 768 MB
ROM: 4 gig, some used for the OS and such.
runs on VERIZON (any ST phone with CDMA-V on the box is a Verizon phone)
link to ZTE site: http://www.zteusa.com/zte-majesty.html
So as a lower end phone I think its a great buy... And for 45 bucks a month I cant complain at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 124 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Beyond my expectations.

02/12/2014
By ,
State College, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I purchased this phone I figured there would be some bugs to work out. I was pleasantly surprised to find none. I am not electronically inclined so I was expecting to have to have my son and friends show me repeatedly how to use everything on it. I could not believe how easy this phone is to use. I recommend this phone to anyone who wants a phone that is easy to navigate and actually a joy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 125 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great smartphone, for the price

11/22/2013
By ,
Fort Morgan, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my first smartphone. I like the features.I like that it uses Verizon network, I have good reception.Walmart did deliver in store one day earlier than expected. However, I found the same phone for 10 percent Less from ZTE so do some research before purchasing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 126 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible phone, limited apps, bad cust service

11/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone mostly because the $45 month unlimited data plan on Verizon was impossible to beat elsewhere. The majesty seemed the best of what was available in the store. Had I known I wouldn't be able to load more than a couple apps, I would have jumped right up to the Galaxy S3 immediately, instead of wasting $150 on this. With less than 800M of internal memory, I could only put Facebook, a church directory and a keyboard app on it without it failing to update even it's own bloatware(pre-loaded apps you may not even want but can't remove). I tried Clean Master, had to use it constantly to wipe all the cache data, that didn't work. I moved as many apps as I could to the SD card, you can't move the bloatware. I eventually had to remove even the few apps that were important. Calls were ok, battery life ok, camera stopped working randomly, only 3G. I thought I could get my money back because I bought the $37 protection plan, but that is only for damage or malfunctions. So, out $150 for the phone, $37 for the protection plan, then $60 for the Activation kit when I tried to Bring My Own PHone (I bought a used Galaxy S4 locally for $280) and transfer the number to the new used phone. That process broke because my GS4 is 4g LTE and the foreign customer support people promised me a new 4G LTE sim card in 3-5 days. AFter 6 days I called and they said the order was still pending, it would be another 3-5 days, they wouldn't overnight it, no expediting and she said was Sorry, that's our process. I've now switched to Verizon Prepaid, they have a competitively priced plan with not as much data, but I regret very much not paying much more up front for a good phone and a company with decent customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 127 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for calls and texting...Only..

07/23/2014
By ,
Cocoa, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned the Straight Talk ZTE Merit for three years and this one is exactly the same model with a couple of changed tweaks. Poor design and many flaws. The troubles I had with the ZTE carried over to the Magesty. You cannot access the 1GB of internal memory. You only have 528 MB and Straight Talk WILL NOT open it for you. Also, it says you can use a memory card and download hundreds of apps. LOL yeah - My phone will only run two!!! Then I constantly get a low memory error even though I have a 16 GB sd card. It will not allow me to move the apps to the card. I've called straight talk countless times and countless times I've been told the same thing. Download apps that movable. As for game play. Forget it. You cannot play Facebook games on this phone because ST/Tracfone won't upgrade or let you upgrade their android system to allow the flash player needed to play games. Save your money and buy a better phone. Oh and they have replaced my phone 3 times with not NEW but refurbished phones.
Camera takes okay pictures but not the quality that they say it does. Not happy with ZTE phones at all... Do your homework and hold out.. Better will come...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 128 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

it's ok

11/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a step up from my last phone. I like the camera little better, but the selfies are very off color. I haven't really downloaded any extra aps yet, so I can't say for certain how it handles them. The cheaper version of this phone didn't handle anything extra very well. Also, I'm sure there's a setting somewhere to fix this...but I don't get any type of noise notification when I receive text messages. The phone is small enough to put in a coat pocket, but I miss my smaller phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 129 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I tried to like it.

07/13/2014
By ,
Deaver, WY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The big screen is nice but overall i'm extremely disappointed with this phone. I had to replace the first 2 i bought because one just flat didn't work and the second you couldn't use the top line of the keyboard. The internal memory on this phone doesn't allow you to install many apps and you often get not enough memory messages. For the price i paid for this phone i guess my expectations were too high. i recently bought a $30 LG optima fuel that is superior in every way except the screen size.
I really tried to like this phone i've had it for 8 months now and the only apps i can really run on it are ones that keep the memory cleaned and facebook. i'm on the fence of either just buying a Galaxy or just going back to Verizon.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 130 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

HORRIBLE PHONE, DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!

11/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SO SLOW THAT IT IS NOT USABLE MOST TIMES, RUNS OUT OF SPACE EVEN WITH A BIGGER SD CARD. NOT WORTH THE MONEY SPEND 30.00 EXTRA AND BUY A S3 OR GET A ATT PHONE AND JUST SWITCH IT OVER TO STRAIGHTTALK... PLUS THE SPEAKERS ONLY WORK FOR SO LONG.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 131 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

so disappointed

09/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Loved this big screen, but should have gone with my gut and gotten the Samsung ace. this phone is slow, screen response is poor, have to try numerous times to push buttons. poor signal compared to my last phone. also not much storage. only downloaded facebook and kjv and there wasn't enough room left to update chrome.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 132 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

BIG MISTAKE. Don't make it.

03/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I made the mistake of moving to this phone from an iPhone 4S on straight talk, which uses AT&T GSM towers. I moved to this phone, understanding that it was CDMA, which uses Verizon towers.
UNFORTUNATELY, what I did not know was that the data speed is HORRIBLE. My wife uses an iPhone 5C still on the GSM side of straight talk. She consistently gets around 6 Mbps data speed. I was lucky to get 1 Mbps with this phone. And noone at Straight Talk will give me an honest answer about the CDMA data being much slower. They did CONFIRM that I had NOT gone over a data cap and my data was NOT being throttled back.
I then attempted to port back to my old iPhone 4S, over the phone. They said it was fine to do this. 24 hours later after the port still had not gone through they say "we have to send you a new sim card because it has to be the same sim card number and you can't use the old one in the phone." Ok, well the new sim comes and guess what? IT'S A DIFFERENT SIM NUMBER! I COULD HAVE GONE TO MY LOCAL WALMART AND GOTTEN ONE!
As for the quality of the phone, videos are very choppy and camera quality is not that great.
I would not recommend this phone, or ANY phone from ZTE. If you are thinking of getting a CDMA Straight Talk phone, please find someone that has one and check their data speed first. If you get on Straight Talk with a GSM phone, you probably won't have any issues....I didn't until I tried to move to a different phone. Otherwise I'm happy with the service itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 133 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Seems like a great phone but powercycles

10/24/2013
By ,
Hermiston OR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Phone does have glass screen using CDMA verizon towers. nice vivid screen, great camera/video but as soon as i charged the phone & started checking out all the options, it power cycled(shut off automatically & turned back on again). this happend within the first hour i had turned the phone on & kept turning off throughout the week. had to return.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 134 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!

11/20/2014
By ,
Lousiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
WHEN i BOUGHT THIS PHONE IT WAS ALMOST $200 AND NOT WORTH A SINGLE PENNY.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 135 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love it so far!

06/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first android phone. I went from a LG flip with no data or texting plan to this phone and straight talk. I decided to try straight talk because I refused to pay $35 more per month for texting and data. I chose this phone for the screen size, front facing camera, higher than 4.0 and general overall look. So far I am very pleased. If I had to complain, it would be about the camera. It does not take the very best pics, but that is not my first priority with this phone. For a beginner, I am glad I chose this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 136 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

zte majesty a true nightmare

09/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The worst phone I have ever owned. Brought it home second day started crashing just turns off for no reason. Sent it back to straight talk. Just got new one it's doing same thing. Pure junk!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 137 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I give this a BIG F

09/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No good say away
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 138 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Poor software, worse sound. I hate it

10/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone seemed like a good deal. But I immediately had trouble hearing people clearly, they could not hear me clearly. I hear echos, buzzing, people sound muffled, I hear my own voice repeated back to me a second later. It's frustrating to talk to people with this phone.
Separately, the phone crashes and restarts several times a day, for a week or so, then behaves itself for a few weeks, then begins having fits again. Several factory resets did not fix this.
Also, the ringers are way too quiet, and sometimes turn themselves off until you restart. The screen is not bright enough even at 100% to see it outside in the bright sun.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 139 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Smart Phone

11/11/2013
By ,
moultrie, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been waiting to get a smartphone and this one is fantastic! I love that it works off of the Verizon towers. I'm still getting used to all of the features, being fairly new to android but I'm finding tips from Straight Talk and WalMart that are very helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 140 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

bad bad

09/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From day one I had trouble with the device. it would turn it self off and on for no reason. I ever tried to reset the device to stop from turning off and on. nothing. And it just stopped working one day. will not turn on, will not do anything. will not own a zte again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
121-140 of 405 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  21 Next