Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.647 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(348 Reviews) 348
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
74
3 stars
24
2 stars
27
1 star
67
Customer Recommendation71%247 out of 348reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
372 Questions | 692 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
74
3 stars
24
2 stars
27
1 star
67
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Majesty really is royal

10/22/2013
By ,
Rantoul, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best phone i've ever purchased for use with straighttalk. I love the size and it was a great price. This phone is everything I expected and much more! I highly recommend this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 122 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

It would get at 5 But.....

10/17/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this phone, because I didn't want to pay $400 for a galaxy. The phone is awesome. It has great features, great camera. The only thing and the reason it's getting a 4 is because the gps sucks. I rely on the gps on my cell phones. This one, takes forever to find my location, and then when it does, it takes forever to load the directions. If it wasn't for that I would give it a 5. I hope they fix it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 123 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great smartphone, for the price

11/22/2013
By ,
Fort Morgan, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my first smartphone. I like the features.I like that it uses Verizon network, I have good reception.Walmart did deliver in store one day earlier than expected. However, I found the same phone for 10 percent Less from ZTE so do some research before purchasing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 124 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great low-mid range phone

11/13/2013
By ,
North Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So I have had this phone for 4 days and really like it. It was and upgrade from the straight talk Samsung proclaim that also runs on the Verizon network. So far no issues at all, and a good step up in phones. Some questions I have seen in other posts about specks. I will try to answer.
OS: 4.1.2
CPU: 1.2 gig DUAL CORE
RAM: 768 MB
ROM: 4 gig, some used for the OS and such.
runs on VERIZON (any ST phone with CDMA-V on the box is a Verizon phone)
link to ZTE site: http://www.zteusa.com/zte-majesty.html
So as a lower end phone I think its a great buy... And for 45 bucks a month I cant complain at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 125 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone for the price

06/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works on the Verizon network
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 126 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Has its ups and downs

04/10/2014
By ,
Springfield, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this phone a couple weeks ago, replacing my Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. It has a faster processor speed, a better camera (5.0 with flash), and a front facing camera, which isn't very good at all (0.3 MP). Also the phone does have limited internal storage. Your best bet to is to try to move as many apps as possible to the SD Card.
Now onto a different subject. The first few days I got this phone I saw a bubble inside the screen, which by the way is NOT the screen protectors. I'm beginning to wonder if it's due to a lot of pocket pressure. Some days it will be huge and some days it will decrease in size. I try to squeeze the bubble out, but nothing happens. I recommend that if anyone decides to get this phone, get a case for it to prevent the bubble formation in the screen. It's tough to find them at Walmart stores. In my area at least. Other than that it works just fine for now.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 127 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This phone has some serious flaws

04/02/2014
By ,
Phoenix az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had several prepaid phones using straight talk's verizon network with zero problems. That is, until I purchased this phone. The signal is horrible and I've never had so many dropped calls. The phone's display with show 3g, but as soon as you make/receive a call, the signal drops to 1x and will then drop the call half the time. The Wifi is also a constant problem. It has trouble reconnecting automatically to my saved networks (I have to turn it off and back on). The Wifi also interferes with bluetooth data and music streaming. If you want to stream music via bluetooth to another device, you have to turn the wifi off or your audio will sound like a CD skipping. This phone is BUNK, especially for the money (I paid $180).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 128 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Pretty decent smartphone

05/03/2014
By ,
SW Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had the Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone for almost two weeks. I like its capabilities and am hoping it lasts for a long period of time. I wanted a 4 1/2 inch screen as that makes it easier to read and to peck out notes on the keyboard.
I could not find a cover/case at Walmart for this phone, but had to order one from Amazon. That is why I am rating it a 4 and not a 5 star. This is my second Android phone and like the fact that it has a recent version of the operating system. This allows the phone to serve as a miniature version of my 10" work tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 129 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Don't waste your money

06/04/2014
By ,
McPherson, Ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is horrible! It turns off/on by itself several times a day, everyday. When I make a phone call I get complaints that I sound like I'm under water. I have to hang up and call back. The internal memory is horrible as well. I recommend spending the extra money on the Samsung Galaxy SIII. I recently purchased it plus a 32gb memory card. I take a lot of pictures. I've had it almost a week and LOVE it! I almost gave up on Straight Talk but now with a new/better phone, I'm glad I didn't. I will NEVER own a ZTE ever again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 130 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Not worth price.

05/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have straight talk and have nothing but good things to say about their service. However this phone is horrible. The camera is horrible. The phone randomly shuts off. After only 6 months I lost sound. I can hear when talking but there is no sound when phone rings or I get a text message. Do not buy this phone.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sounds unbelievable
Posted 06/12/2014
Straight talk's service is great, maybe customer service isn't (I haven't had to call them), the phone is wonderful, the camera takes great pictures, and the sound is just fine. I play my music through my car radio thru bluetooth, it's great! Is your ringer turned down? Did you go into the notifications area and set the tones you wanted? Did you get a lemon and try another phone? My only complaint is now I can buy this phone $30 cheaper. Oh well, this is a great phone!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 131 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Shuts off, constant updating, rip-off service plan

06/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like a few other reviewers I too have tried to like this phone. It is my first Straight Talk phone. Many times in the middle of doing something it will just shut off (power down) for no reason. It is also constantly updating aps without my permission (could be some setting I'm not aware of), but many times after trying to update it will inform me that there is not enough memory to update certain aps. The final straw was the service plan. I bought the 2 year service plan for 39.00. Now six months later I dropped the phone and broke the screen. I called the service plan number to get it fixed. The said I had to pay 29.00 to file a claim, they said as of August of 2013 all phones over 150.00 have to pay to file a claim, so although not happy about this I did it. They e-mailed me a UPS label, I shipped it a week ago and they just got the phone yesterday. Now they tell me that it will take 3 days to "inspect" my phone. They also tell me that my phone is out of stock so after my phone is inspected they will have to send me a gift card for the amount of the phone plus tax, even though my plan paperwork says they will send me a new phone. Okay fine I can work with that; HOWEVER, the 39.00 2 year plan I bought six months ago does not transfer to the new phone I will have to buy, I have to purchase another 39.00 plan because it will be a new phone. How convenient for them, not too happy about this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 132 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Seems like a great phone but powercycles

10/24/2013
By ,
Hermiston OR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Phone does have glass screen using CDMA verizon towers. nice vivid screen, great camera/video but as soon as i charged the phone & started checking out all the options, it power cycled(shut off automatically & turned back on again). this happend within the first hour i had turned the phone on & kept turning off throughout the week. had to return.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 133 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Not Worth it~!

04/21/2014
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My husband and I both bought this phone expecting so much more. I had to return my first phone the next day due to the headphone port not working. My husbands screen fell 6 inches from his pocket to the floor and it cracked. (We replaced it) Every time we go to make a phone call it downgrades to 1x throughout the whole call even when in a 3g area. The internal storage space on this phone is very limited. If you plan on having a lot of apps you better have a good sd card. Now granted it's a big phone and the screen reacts fast but not worth it for us though. Going to get rid of these two and go back to Samsung which we know holds up.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 134 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

BIG MISTAKE. Don't make it.

03/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I made the mistake of moving to this phone from an iPhone 4S on straight talk, which uses AT&T GSM towers. I moved to this phone, understanding that it was CDMA, which uses Verizon towers.
UNFORTUNATELY, what I did not know was that the data speed is HORRIBLE. My wife uses an iPhone 5C still on the GSM side of straight talk. She consistently gets around 6 Mbps data speed. I was lucky to get 1 Mbps with this phone. And noone at Straight Talk will give me an honest answer about the CDMA data being much slower. They did CONFIRM that I had NOT gone over a data cap and my data was NOT being throttled back.
I then attempted to port back to my old iPhone 4S, over the phone. They said it was fine to do this. 24 hours later after the port still had not gone through they say "we have to send you a new sim card because it has to be the same sim card number and you can't use the old one in the phone." Ok, well the new sim comes and guess what? IT'S A DIFFERENT SIM NUMBER! I COULD HAVE GONE TO MY LOCAL WALMART AND GOTTEN ONE!
As for the quality of the phone, videos are very choppy and camera quality is not that great.
I would not recommend this phone, or ANY phone from ZTE. If you are thinking of getting a CDMA Straight Talk phone, please find someone that has one and check their data speed first. If you get on Straight Talk with a GSM phone, you probably won't have any issues....I didn't until I tried to move to a different phone. Otherwise I'm happy with the service itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 135 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Smart Phone

11/11/2013
By ,
moultrie, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been waiting to get a smartphone and this one is fantastic! I love that it works off of the Verizon towers. I'm still getting used to all of the features, being fairly new to android but I'm finding tips from Straight Talk and WalMart that are very helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 136 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love it!

02/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was debating between this phone and another one...the last two reviews were kind of negative so I was leaning more towards the other phone...then noticed the other one does not work in my area so begrudgingly bought this one. Man I am so glad I did!!! It is WAY better than I could have imagined, better than any other straight talk phone I've owned (including my last one that I owned for two years because I loved it so much I was afraid of changing to a phone I didn't like). I will not be phone shopping for a LONG time as this has everything I need and then some!!! It even has a flash (though this wasn't mentioned on the packing or website). The battery outlasts any phone I've ever seen (including my dad's I-phone). Super easy to use and lots of ways to customize. A great deal and a great phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 137 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Fantastic and easy to use smart phone

12/24/2013
By ,
Coastal NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone and I love it. Easy to use, nice big screen. I use an app I downloaded to read on it and play games. Use the calender with reminders a lot. Was easy to set up and maintain. Use the alarm everyday, it has a crescendo feature. (gets louder as it goes.) It works in areas that none of my other regular cell phones would receive signal. No glitches or problems. Only need to charge it once every 2ed or 3ed day of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 138 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good size phone, easy to learn, top of the line features, worth every penny. Have sure enjoyed it and everything about Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 139 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for price

05/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just recently upgraded my straight talk phone to a majesty. Phone works great so far. Picture quality is great very clear not pixely. Speakers are loud when playing music or when my phone rings, youtube does not get as loud though. I would recommend this phone to anyone wanting an upgrade or for their first smartphone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 140 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great for areas that use Verizon towers!

11/06/2013
By ,
Montgomery, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a Proclaim and loved it........but there were eventual issues (internal) that caused me to have to send it to Proclaim Heaven. I purchased a replacement warranty and was able to file a claim and get an E-gift card that actually covered my ZTE Majesty costs. It's great so far (I've only had it for 5 days now). The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars is that if you have a missed call [that's not already programmed by name], there's no way to automatically add the (missed call) number to your contacts. If anyone knows how to do this, please inform. Someone mentioned that this phone does not have a micro SD card; it does, it's located above the battery. So for now, I'm loving it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
121-140 of 348 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  18 Next