Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.93 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(244 Reviews) 244
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
51
3 stars
14
2 stars
18
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation77%189 out of 244reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
288 Questions | 504 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
51
3 stars
14
2 stars
18
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone

12/26/2013
By ,
Omaha, Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone, I was coming from a Samsung T528G Phone and I have been a Straight Talk customer for over 2 years now. So, I wanted a different phone. Especially since the T528G likes to reset the Date back to Dec. 31, 2010 all the time. So, I have been running this phone since Nov. 29, 2013. And it has not given me any problems. Before I bought the phone, I read all the reviews good and bad for about 2 weeks and I downloaded the PDF manual from ZTE's web site to get more information for it. After about a Month of research I decided on getting the ZTE Majesty. I love this phone. It runs on the Verizon towers, where the 528 ran on the AT&T Towers. Before Straight Talk I had a Virgin Mobile phone, and their coverage really stinks.
And everyday I am finding out new things about this phone. When I am at home or over at a friend's place that have Wi-fi I connect to it and save my Data connection for when I am out on the road. Never had a dropped call or anything bad happen so far. Very good phone for the Price.
Good speed and memory for the price also.
I tell all my friend's and family about it and compare with their phones, some family members have the Samsung Galaxy S4. Very nice phone but not for the price of it. A family member suggested that I get a S3, but Straight Talk wanted 399.99. Still to much money for a Phone. !79.88 is a lot better price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 122 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone Amazing Price

01/15/2014
By ,
East Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say since I am having to replace an older smart phone that wasn't working properly this phone has more then met my expectations. I love the simplicity of it. The one thing that I was not expecting was the size of it in my hand. The large screen is wonderful however it does make it hard to hold in your hands if you have small/average hands.
I find the camera to take very good pictures for posting and sharing online or quick snapshots of what is going on and sharing them thru text messages for people that are far away. I also find it to be very easy to communicate with different apps as well for talking with family & friends that are far away.
The biggest draw to me was the fact this is one of the very few phones offered by straight talk that runs the latest operating system as well as having a front facing camera. I LOVE IT! I love being able to see and let me loved ones see me as we communicate via various apps that allow us to talk and see one another.
The one draw back is that I frequently get is that people can't hear me well on it. As long as I use my headset I am fine. I tend to use that most of the time anyways unless I am in bed when the phone rings and I need to answer without my headset already in place. It's also heard to hear out of the speaker function as well unless it's music however it works well for music if u want something light in the background while u r working or studying away from your office or home.
The biggest problem I had was with walmart.com however that does not reflect the usage of this great phone. I also always recomment purchasing the product replacement guarantee.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 123 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

awesome smart phone

03/08/2014
By ,
Ellis ville Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best investment I have made in a long time. The galaxy proclaim I had gave me a lot of problems but this phone has been excellent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 124 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

So many aps so little time...

02/20/2014
By ,
Mobile, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This beats the Samsung Galaxy Precedent I had. That use to be my first smart phone... this ZTE Majesty blew it out of the water. I love it and am having so much fun downloading aps.. lots of space for aps. It runs great. I have had no problems with it so far. I have been listening to the online radio half the day today and I still have half life battery. I can go several days without charging it. I am not sure how many hours of talk time it will give me but if I can listen to the radio this much it must have at least 8 hours. I love it love it love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 125 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone
10/18/2013
By ,
FLorida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dissapointed! Had to return Phone. Battery over-heated while I was working to install contacts , etc. No Icon for GPS! The Phone that was dem on "You tube" shows GPS APP. Mine didn`t come with. Also, when going into updates for Phone.. Said I needed a card ..to insert a card to update?? Also, Processor was not as zippy as my "Galaxy Proclaim!" When conecting to internet it was slow. I question whether I was connected to Verizon... more like Sprint. I returned Phone. Could be Phone was defective.
Purchased LG Optimus Showtime! Hopefully that will work for me.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 126 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for the price.

03/08/2014
By ,
York,Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this phone so far. Have to learn all it does and how it works. But love the camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 127 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

fail sauce!

02/19/2014
By ,
white pine, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worse phone ever.. freezes up, cuts off calls, the camera is pretty good, but why pay this much for just a OK camera? straight talk seems to be a pretty good service, but this phone is not nearly worth the price, an old flip is more reliable then this thing.. i wasted my money, dont waste yours!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 128 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone is slow

03/06/2014
By ,
Minneapolis
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I needed to find a replacement for my samsung g2. I thought this phone was a close match. Wrong. The zte is slow to respond. It is a very heavy phone. I would not buy this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 129 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Wonderful phone for a good price

11/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a Smart Phone but I was unwilling to pay that huge yearly deal. A friend recommended a Straight Talk phone. I choose the Majesty because it had a nice camera, large screen and the reviews were great. I was not disappointed. The phone was easy to set up and continues to be easy to use. The battery has a good life and I can text, call and use the Internet as much as I desire. Comparing it to my friends' phones I found it even has more features. I love my new cell phone and I'm not going broke with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 130 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

very helpful

03/09/2014
By ,
Dodge City Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 131 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love it so far

03/04/2014
By ,
Little Falls MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Believe it or not this is my first smart phone! I played with it for a while hooked up to WiFi only to get used to it. Now is hooked up with minutes soI'm on my way. Idk the difference between other phones but I like this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 132 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone

01/23/2014
By ,
Morgantown WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well and easy to use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 133 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Do Not Buy

02/02/2014
By ,
willows
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been dealing with straight talk and getting no where. My phones sound is terrible when trying to talk to people. They say it sounds like I am in a tunnel. I also can not hear them well. Straight talk has reset my phone to factory twice now in three days and nothing. I even lost the sound on my games for a half hour. I have had three from straight talk over the years and never had a phone this terrible. My other phones were also ATT not Verizon. I would NOT recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 134 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love It!

03/01/2014
By ,
Kansas City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using Straight Talk for about 5 years. There is nothing I can complain about. Everything has always gone smootlhy. I have no dropped calls and I love being free to do as I want with no hidden charges.
The ZTE Majesty is a very good phone. It has everything I need plus more. The 4.5 inch screen is easy to read and it's just a joy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 135 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

ZTE Majesty

03/03/2014
By ,
Waverly WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! It is exactly what I wanted. I previously had an iPhone 4. It was my first smartphone. My goal was to lower my monthly cost with straight talk and still have a quality phone. I am very pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 136 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone

03/03/2014
By ,
northwestern georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love my new phone. Only one complaint. The cord on the charger is way, way too short. Shortest I have ever seen. 5 stars except that short cord is a pain. So 4 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 137 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

So far very pleased

02/23/2014
By ,
Newport VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good. I was a bit worried about buying this phone. I didn't know anything about ZTE. So far I am pleased with the performance. I wanted a more "state of the art" phone but I didn't want to spend $500.00 or more. For my use this phone is just fine. Not as fast as my Grandkids phones but I don't spend my whole day on the phone. This is a huge improvement over my old phone. For the price it's great. Better than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 138 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone,little glitchy

03/02/2014
By ,
DOTHAN ALABAMA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the phone but Im having a little trouble with it cutting off on its on,and the signal is not as good as the Samsung proclaim that I had last,but no other complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 139 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love this phone!!!

03/01/2014
By ,
fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I upgraded to this phone from a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. It is user friendly. I love the larger screen and the processing speed when I am using the apps. The charge holds well. I have no complaints.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 140 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Looks good on paper but....

02/05/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had two of these phones and can tell you I had problems with both. Both phones had problems with the speaker which was very annoying, people on the other end of the line would not hear me or I would sound like a robot to them. I had full bars. I also purchased a Bluetooth speaker and when pairing it with the Majesty I got an annoying skip every 5 or 10 seconds, and the only way to prevent it was to keep the phone pretty much on top of the speaker, bad deal. I noticed that on the first one I had the touch screen would also not work smoothly, sometimes I had to tilt the phone and press pretty firmly to get the touch to work. I also noticed that it would take quite awhile for me to get text messages received, as long as 15 minutes after the person sent them. I gave this phone a fighting chance but from first hand experience I would stay away if you want a smooth running reliable phone. Yes, it will satisfy some who are not well rehearsed in smartphones, but for me there were far to many problems. You may not have a problem now but I guarantee problems will arise and you will be disappointed later. This phone looks nice on paper, but really isn't up to the hype. I had a LG Optimus Showtime before this phone and it was 10x better in every department. I opted to get the galaxy s3 that runs on the Verizon towers, white, not grey. As of 2/5/14 you can get the s3 with a $100 gift card for 399.99. I know this phone has a good track record and to me is worth the 200 extra bucks. Buyer beware!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
121-140 of 244 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  13 Next