Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.719 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(327 Reviews) 327
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
73
3 stars
21
2 stars
24
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation73%238 out of 327reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
363 Questions | 678 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
73
3 stars
21
2 stars
24
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love it!

02/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was debating between this phone and another one...the last two reviews were kind of negative so I was leaning more towards the other phone...then noticed the other one does not work in my area so begrudgingly bought this one. Man I am so glad I did!!! It is WAY better than I could have imagined, better than any other straight talk phone I've owned (including my last one that I owned for two years because I loved it so much I was afraid of changing to a phone I didn't like). I will not be phone shopping for a LONG time as this has everything I need and then some!!! It even has a flash (though this wasn't mentioned on the packing or website). The battery outlasts any phone I've ever seen (including my dad's I-phone). Super easy to use and lots of ways to customize. A great deal and a great phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 122 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Seems like a great phone but powercycles

10/24/2013
By ,
Hermiston OR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Phone does have glass screen using CDMA verizon towers. nice vivid screen, great camera/video but as soon as i charged the phone & started checking out all the options, it power cycled(shut off automatically & turned back on again). this happend within the first hour i had turned the phone on & kept turning off throughout the week. had to return.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 123 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

NO MUSIC FILE TRANSFER FROM PC TO PHONE

04/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
You will NOT be able to transfer music files from your Windows PC the ZTE Majesty for some strange reason. See CNET review online for detals. Don't know if this applies to Apple laptops. Did not have this problem with my Samsung Proclaim on Straight Talk. Called Straight Talk and they state they have never heard of this problem (lied# and offered to reset the phone after I transferred my data to Google. I thought it would be risky since there is a sync problem in the first place with the music. Ultimately refferred me to....that's right, ZTE. Guess what ZTE said...it's not the phone #hardware), it's the software. You get what you pay for I guess with Straight Talk. Getting tired of the very low quality of customer service. DO NOT GET THIS PHONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/17/2014
Yes you can download from pc to phone. I just did it. The previous poster told you how. Don't knock the phone because you don't know how to do something. You can go online and get the pdf manual for this phone and know everything you need to know. You can read it online or download it to your computer. Good luck
0points
Customer Avatar
Delaware
Maybe you just got a "lemon"
Posted 04/30/2014
I transfer music from my computer to my phone no problem. connect usb..under settings select connect to computer and put it right onto the sd card in the phone.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 124 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone

06/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall it's a nice phone to have. Love everything about it. My only problem with this phone is the quality of front camera. But everything else is perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 125 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Fantastic and easy to use smart phone

12/24/2013
By ,
Coastal NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone and I love it. Easy to use, nice big screen. I use an app I downloaded to read on it and play games. Use the calender with reminders a lot. Was easy to set up and maintain. Use the alarm everyday, it has a crescendo feature. (gets louder as it goes.) It works in areas that none of my other regular cell phones would receive signal. No glitches or problems. Only need to charge it once every 2ed or 3ed day of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 126 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great product and price!

06/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The straight talk ZTE Majesty phone is a great value! I had researched this phone before purchase, it lives up to my expectations. I have found it easy to learn it's features. I have reccomended this phone and the Straight Talk Prepaid service to my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 127 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

works great

06/03/2014
By ,
pittsburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased one of these for my son in early may and now purchased one for my wife rhey both love them
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 128 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Smart Phone

11/11/2013
By ,
moultrie, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been waiting to get a smartphone and this one is fantastic! I love that it works off of the Verizon towers. I'm still getting used to all of the features, being fairly new to android but I'm finding tips from Straight Talk and WalMart that are very helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 129 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great for areas that use Verizon towers!

11/06/2013
By ,
Montgomery, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a Proclaim and loved it........but there were eventual issues (internal) that caused me to have to send it to Proclaim Heaven. I purchased a replacement warranty and was able to file a claim and get an E-gift card that actually covered my ZTE Majesty costs. It's great so far (I've only had it for 5 days now). The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars is that if you have a missed call [that's not already programmed by name], there's no way to automatically add the (missed call) number to your contacts. If anyone knows how to do this, please inform. Someone mentioned that this phone does not have a micro SD card; it does, it's located above the battery. So for now, I'm loving it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 130 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone if you don't want to text

04/16/2014
By ,
Clearfield, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hello all. I received my first ZTE Majesty for Christmas and when I was texting on it, it was inserting crazy symbols that showed on the other persons screen but not on my own. (example. when I text someone saying "hey how are you doing" it looks right on my screen with no weird symbols, but on their screen it looks more like "&####*Hey&how are you&@!&*#doing" Nothing like having friends & family believing I was using this kind of language.
Since I really liked the phone and figured this was just a fluke, I returned the phone for a new one #same model...ZTE Majesty#. The new phone is doing the exact same thing. Because this is a random issue it takes awhiles before someone makes you aware they are receiving texts like this #sometimes because they are upset with me, because they thought I was swearing at them#, or I would have returned this phone for money back but it was past the number of days to return to WalMart.
I have tried texting various people, all with different phones and carriers and it does the same thing every time, so I know its an issue with MY PHONE! I have turned off all keyboard options trying to fix this #spell corrector, word predictor, auto caps etc#
I have even tried contacting the company ZTE by emailing zteuse.com/support ... they asked for the purchase date, serial #, contact # and best time of day to contact me #which is evenings because I work#, at first they tried the same problem solving ideas Straighttalk did, then said they would have to have a technician higher up contact me. One time I received a voicemail during the day I was at work from them. I tried calling the number back, but could not because it was an international/overseas number. So I tried calling the toll free # left in the voice mail, all that person could do was take a message for the technican to return my call...I have never heard back from them. I have tried replying back to the emails, requesting a call / assistance ... I received a reply stating they would notify the technican, but I still have never received a call.
I have called straighttalk several times; at first they would try to problem solve by reprogramming the phone, sending new download to phone and resetting back to original factory setting....which of course I would never know didn't work until someone would comment or get upset because they thought I was swearing at them in a text. Now Straight talk won't even try to resolve the issue...they claim it's not my phone but the person#s# phone I am texting problem. Yeah right everyone else has a problem in the world, but my phone!! Last night I posted this phone issue Strighttalks Facebook; asking it anyone else has had this issue or if anyone had any suggestions of what to try...Straighttalk deleted it. By the way Straighttalk dialing *22890 and sending 1 text does not fix the issue when the issue is happening randomly...which I have tried telling you since the end of December!!!!!
At this point I just want the phone fixed or want them to give me a different phone equal to the phone I have.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 131 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great deal

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like phone it is a goodone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 132 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

First time for a non brand phone

02/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little worried about buying this phone because I never bought a phone that wasn't Samsung or LG or something like that. So I read the reviews and there were alot of good reviews about it. I wanted to buy it. I did and I love it. It works better than my Samsung phone did. I love the big screen and it takes great pictures. Great Phone!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 133 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

HORRIBLE, one problem after another, tried 2 phons

04/01/2014
By ,
Buffalo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HORRIBLE! I WANT to love this phone, love what it can offer but too many issues. Camera and camcorder would freeze and texting from right side of screen would freeze, couldn't backspace consistently to correct type. I exchanged 1st one for another same phone and 2nd one ended up having issue where callers could not hear me unless I put it on speaker phone, this was 3 days after I got it...then lost ability to connect to the house wifi it was able to prior....many other devices and phones in the house continue to connect without trouble I don't know how it is so highly rated because that is why I went with this phone but if you google the camera, texting freeze, speaker problem and wifi problem there are SOOOO many people who have these complaints so I know its not just me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 134 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

problem after 11 days

02/18/2014
By ,
oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this phone for 11 days, then The SOUND option in settings said "unfortunitley settings has shut down '. All other things # battery, display# was working. I contacted the sales rep for staight talk, and she had me take the battery out, then put it back in. That didnt fix the problem. Took the phone back and got a new one. Low and behold with in 1 hour, the sound option was saying the same thing. Now the phone doesnt ring or vibrate when calls come in. I think this zte majesty is just a POOR phone.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/18/2014
In your sound settings, someone told me to make sure your silent setting is OFF
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 135 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

product very good

03/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this phone. I use it every single day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 136 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

The speaker goes in and out during conversation

02/03/2014
By ,
KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The speaker goes in and out during conversations and at times my voice is distorted to the caller.
The phone offers some good features, but if the caller can not hear my voice this is a huge concern.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 137 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone @ a great price

02/05/2014
By ,
Altoona, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Switched from Verizon to save money & I am so happy with this phone. I didn't want to spend too much $ but I also didn't want a cheap phone. I like this better than my husband's Samsung Galaxy S3 (too large). The size of the ZTE Majesty is perfect and it does everything I need. I kept my same phone number & all contacts transferred over when I signed into gmail. Love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 138 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for the price

06/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a solid mid range Andriod phone. Camera is ok not quite as sharp has a higher end phone but has a lot of cool features...and it's an affordable prepaid deal on Verizon's 3G network. I'm going to save over $30/mo and still have great coverage. I offload to WiFi a lot so not missing LTE and all the hype.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 139 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Cant send Pic Messages

06/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my 2nd ZTE, my first worked great till i got it wet. Now this new one, wont let me send picture message. I have taken the battery out, and restarted. Nothing helps!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 140 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Grate phone one small thing.

03/01/2014
By ,
Altus, oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the phones grate!! I don't like the front facing camera that well. it makes everything look dark. the one on the other side is better. it would be even better if it had a button on the side for the camera. it would help the phone not to shake so much when taking the picture. since I ordered it on line, the phone came with a free memory card 4 gig. I reckon its worth the money. $180.00 plus tax. I also got a 1 year service card for about $450.00 and a 2 year service protection plan for $50.00 all together was around $750.00 give or take. but no monthly payments because the 1 year service card provides for 12 months of prepaid service. if you buy on line like I did at walmart.com then I would print your e.mails and save them, also save you inbox messages. you might need them if something happens to your phone and you need it replaced.
I LOVE the wake up alarm!! you can put you phone on silent so not to get a disturbing calls or text messages while you sleep and it will still go off and wake you up. also the calendar is grate. it has 3 different was you can view and add events it also has alarms and multi reminders to make sure you don't forget your event. lots of other grate features and you can download apps of your choice. if this phone had a better front facing camera and a side button for the camera I would give it a 5 star rating.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleveland, OH
Camera
Posted 03/12/2014
You can touch the screen to auto focus your shot. Use the volume rocker button and it will act like a shutter release.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
121-140 of 327 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  17 Next