Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.401 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(459 Reviews) 459
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
187
4 stars
85
3 stars
31
2 stars
37
1 star
119
Customer Recommendation63%291 out of 459reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
449 Questions | 774 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
187
4 stars
85
3 stars
31
2 stars
37
1 star
119
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I really do Love this phone even though it is 3G

02/27/2014
By ,
So. Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been extremely happy and surprised about this phones functions. Yes it is 3G but with the 1.2 GHZ it responds smoothly. Very responsive, beautiful screen, great looking photos and I can watch Netflix. Netflix will at times lag but no phone is perfect. I didn't want an iphone since I have an ipod touch5. The 4.5" screen is just perfect. Fits right into my back pocket.
I have checked out the more expensive phones such as LG G2, Moto Droid, Samsung S4 and still would rather have the Majesty. If the Majesty came in 4G it would then be perfect. 3G is very fast compared to the 800 MHZ low end smartphones.
So yes, I highly recommend the ZTE Majesty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 122 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I thought I had a great phone

08/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought I had a great phone,ZTE Z990G HORRIBLE PHONE, the calls where I lived was very clear. But then I began to get errors; I have sent this phone back 7times and each time they give you an replenish one...I can only download one app and sometime Facebook app you can't get the update. When trying to download it says insufficient storage. Low storage and I can't down load , then it freezes awful. This phone could be a great phone if they fix all the problems that comes with it. 3G seriously now really; I was told to go to Bigots and get some more GB I did 16 universal and still won't download..foolishness and I'm tire. I use this phone for home phone and traveling in car. To get another one I will be with out a phone for about 7 days or more. Just sad@ Straighttalk and Walmart PLEASE MAKE SURE THAT THESE PHONES OR THE BEST....FOLKS SPEND TOO MUCH MONEY FOR SUCH.....THANKS
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 123 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for calls and texting...Only..

07/23/2014
By ,
Cocoa, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned the Straight Talk ZTE Merit for three years and this one is exactly the same model with a couple of changed tweaks. Poor design and many flaws. The troubles I had with the ZTE carried over to the Magesty. You cannot access the 1GB of internal memory. You only have 528 MB and Straight Talk WILL NOT open it for you. Also, it says you can use a memory card and download hundreds of apps. LOL yeah - My phone will only run two!!! Then I constantly get a low memory error even though I have a 16 GB sd card. It will not allow me to move the apps to the card. I've called straight talk countless times and countless times I've been told the same thing. Download apps that movable. As for game play. Forget it. You cannot play Facebook games on this phone because ST/Tracfone won't upgrade or let you upgrade their android system to allow the flash player needed to play games. Save your money and buy a better phone. Oh and they have replaced my phone 3 times with not NEW but refurbished phones.
Camera takes okay pictures but not the quality that they say it does. Not happy with ZTE phones at all... Do your homework and hold out.. Better will come...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 124 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Beyond my expectations.

02/12/2014
By ,
State College, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I purchased this phone I figured there would be some bugs to work out. I was pleasantly surprised to find none. I am not electronically inclined so I was expecting to have to have my son and friends show me repeatedly how to use everything on it. I could not believe how easy this phone is to use. I recommend this phone to anyone who wants a phone that is easy to navigate and actually a joy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 125 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst phone ever do not buy!!!

08/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your money on this phone. When you receive calls, people say it's like u are talking through a tunnel..I hate this phone..My friends hate this phone because they can not understand me. Oh and Striaghttalk said the problem is everyone else problem my phone is fine..DO NOT WASTE YOU MONEY ON THIS PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!LIKE I DID.....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 126 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C

07/31/2014
By ,
oxnard, calif
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had to buy a new phone since my last android sat in melted ice from a cup.:(..I miss my qwerty board as I suffer from FAT thumb syndrome. I must say I LOVE this phone, it does what I need it to do and if you compare the size of this to the Samsung Galaxy III...awesome! Love the price since it went on sale too!..yeehaw!..Good phone & budget friendly..way to go Straight Talk!...:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 127 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Not worth price.

05/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have straight talk and have nothing but good things to say about their service. However this phone is horrible. The camera is horrible. The phone randomly shuts off. After only 6 months I lost sound. I can hear when talking but there is no sound when phone rings or I get a text message. Do not buy this phone.
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sounds unbelievable
Posted 06/12/2014
Straight talk's service is great, maybe customer service isn't (I haven't had to call them), the phone is wonderful, the camera takes great pictures, and the sound is just fine. I play my music through my car radio thru bluetooth, it's great! Is your ringer turned down? Did you go into the notifications area and set the tones you wanted? Did you get a lemon and try another phone? My only complaint is now I can buy this phone $30 cheaper. Oh well, this is a great phone!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 128 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

nothing but problems

10/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i broke the screen on my other phone, so i thought i would give this a try. i figured bigger screen, and about the same functions, why not. well it sends the same message 3-4 times, screen blackouts when receiving a call or making one, then returns when call ends. oh yea, cant put anything on the sd card. what is the point of having an sd card when you cant save anything to it. little to no signal, especially in bigger towns. oh, and restarts at random. will not buy this phone again!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 129 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible!!!

10/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for almost a year now and I absolutely hate it. One good thing about it, and it has to be the ONLY good thing is the size. Perfect for my hands. Everything else is terrible. The camera takes too dark of pictures. Even when connected to WIFI it is so slow. The videos don't even load. Also, the phone lags. Swiping through the homescreens takes an eternity. Another thing is, I can lay my phone on a table or desk and it powers down, as if I just took the battery out, but when I accidentally drop it while getting out of a truck, and it hits pavement, it stays on... Having to keep this phone for so long had been such a bad experience. So glad to finally have my money situation settled so I can buy a new one.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 130 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Seems like a great phone but powercycles

10/24/2013
By ,
Hermiston OR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Phone does have glass screen using CDMA verizon towers. nice vivid screen, great camera/video but as soon as i charged the phone & started checking out all the options, it power cycled(shut off automatically & turned back on again). this happend within the first hour i had turned the phone on & kept turning off throughout the week. had to return.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 131 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome Phone

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice phone perfect size has great features and very fast I would recommend it to anyone who gets tired of the dinosaurs phones you can not beat the price and this phone will connect anywhere love it glad I made the choice its well Worth the money and 100% better then having a plan been a straight talk person for many years never had a problem and for $45 a month I can do anything a person with a plan can do even better yet my phone can make call in places no other people with a plan or a nother prepaid phone can do when they say nation wide they mean it I've traveled all over the united states an never a problem.(=
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 132 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone works, problems with wifi.

05/25/2014
By ,
Missoula, MT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in December, 2013 and have used it but it does have a few bugs of which either straightalk or zteusa will fix. Nothing really serious but annoying.
1) wifi connectivity is poor. It will connect to wifi but will lose itself after a few hours of which you have to turn wifi off and then back on again. Both Straightalk and zteusa says to contact the service provider. I know that it isn't the service providers since they all do the same thing. It doesn't matter if its wpa2 or unsecured network. The settings are to stay on .
2) With the phone turned off, and needing to charge the phone, plugging in the adapter will turn the phone back on. (a little programming error) This is about 50% of the time it will turn the phone back on.
With these problems, both straightalk and zteusa need together and fix the bugs...
Otherwise, clarity is good, sound is good, texting is good.
Mark
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 133 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone, hands down the best I have ever used. All the features work well and it has plenty memory for my uses. The screen quality is very good and the larger screen is a real plus for and older gentleman like myself. I find myself using it more and more like a computer. It is my home away from home. I have already recomended this phone to several friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 134 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Wonderful phone for someone new to smart phones

06/10/2014
By ,
Beaumont, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone replaced my old flip phone. Due to family situations, I needed a phone to use while out of town for GPS map program & good internet access. I spent a day familiarizing myself with the ZTE Majesty & have had no problems since. I've been using it for 7 to 8 months now. Some apps use too much space so I've had to be selective about which apps I install. Overall, this is an exceptional value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 135 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worked great for about 2 months

11/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone when I switched from Verizon because my old Stratosphere wasn't compatible with Straight Talk. I'd asked for a recommendation from fellow associates, and their response was "We sell a lot of them, and don't see near as many returns on it as the others", so I went with it instead of a cheaper alternative. For the first two months, the phone worked great. I liked the light that would flash to notify of a message or missed call, and the call quality was good. It even got better reception at the house than the iPhone my brother's girlfriend had. About two months later though, it started acting up. It would overheat and randomly restart while still having plenty of battery life. When charging, touching the screen at all to try and unlock it would have it randomly doing things such as sending it to the emergency dialer or dropping the screen to access settings until it reached about 20% battery. It doesn't give a warning before it dies -there is no chime to tell you, and the battery image on the screen is a poor representation of what's remaining (I had to download the Battery Doctor app to get a more accurate reflection of its battery life). At times, pressing the power button to wake it won't work and you have to push it repeatedly. I was informed after the fact that the ZTE had some issues, but by then it was too late to return it... so instead, I try to pass that information on to people when they ask for recommendations. If you want an honest opinion from someone whose job it is to push and sell these products, here it is: this phone is more headaches than it's worth, and even on rollback, it would have to drop to under $50 for me to ever consider replacing mine with the same item.
The only reason I gave it 2 stars instead of 1 is that it's somehow still working, even after a cracked screen and being dropped into a puddle, but the problems it had before that are still an issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 136 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Smart Phone

11/11/2013
By ,
moultrie, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been waiting to get a smartphone and this one is fantastic! I love that it works off of the Verizon towers. I'm still getting used to all of the features, being fairly new to android but I'm finding tips from Straight Talk and WalMart that are very helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 137 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

tacky z

02/09/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is good in size and screen, but it stalls too much.
It freezes up, while in the middle of anything I'm doing on it.
Sometimes the screen will be blank when receiving a call.
Oh yea, it also freezes up on incoming calls and not able to answer.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 138 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

BIG MISTAKE. Don't make it.

03/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I made the mistake of moving to this phone from an iPhone 4S on straight talk, which uses AT&T GSM towers. I moved to this phone, understanding that it was CDMA, which uses Verizon towers.
UNFORTUNATELY, what I did not know was that the data speed is HORRIBLE. My wife uses an iPhone 5C still on the GSM side of straight talk. She consistently gets around 6 Mbps data speed. I was lucky to get 1 Mbps with this phone. And noone at Straight Talk will give me an honest answer about the CDMA data being much slower. They did CONFIRM that I had NOT gone over a data cap and my data was NOT being throttled back.
I then attempted to port back to my old iPhone 4S, over the phone. They said it was fine to do this. 24 hours later after the port still had not gone through they say "we have to send you a new sim card because it has to be the same sim card number and you can't use the old one in the phone." Ok, well the new sim comes and guess what? IT'S A DIFFERENT SIM NUMBER! I COULD HAVE GONE TO MY LOCAL WALMART AND GOTTEN ONE!
As for the quality of the phone, videos are very choppy and camera quality is not that great.
I would not recommend this phone, or ANY phone from ZTE. If you are thinking of getting a CDMA Straight Talk phone, please find someone that has one and check their data speed first. If you get on Straight Talk with a GSM phone, you probably won't have any issues....I didn't until I tried to move to a different phone. Otherwise I'm happy with the service itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 139 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible phone

12/17/2014
By ,
Campbellsburg, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had the phone for 1 month... starting freezing and then eventually would not turn back on. Sent it to Straight talk and got a refurbished one as a replacement.... it was worse. The phone is freezing after a month of use, and now refuses to charge. Purchased a new battery... just to make sure that this wasn't the problem... not it is the phone. The place where you plug it into charge, is not stable.
Total waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 140 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Finally upgraded to this!

03/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First..Straighttalk is the way too go!! I started with "flip phone"..then a "Blackberry" type and NOW...THIS ...Best of all and now caught up to 2015 Tech (sorta) But at 68 years of age, I feel caught up!! This phone is great and has many useful features and soooooooooo easy to use. Love the Bluetooth tech, also. Great deal and great phone!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
121-140 of 459 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  23 Next