Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(394 Reviews) 394
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
168
4 stars
77
3 stars
26
2 stars
30
1 star
93
Customer Recommendation66%261 out of 394reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
400 Questions | 732 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
168
4 stars
77
3 stars
26
2 stars
30
1 star
93
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C

11/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone because I need a phone with a larger screen but didn't want to pay 400.00 or more for a phone I wasn't expecting to find all the options and extras it has I am finding new things every day I am very happy with this phone and am very glad I bought it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great product, BUT do buy the product replacement.

12/09/2013
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the best straight talk phone and the price is great. The speed is awesome. I thought the camera took terrible pics until I realized that if you touch the screen it will auto focus. Now my pics are crystal clear and there is a flash!!!!! Best straight talk camera/pics phone!!! The speed is 5x faster than the Galaxy Centura which I gave to my boyfriend since he is upgrading from a flip phone. I've used unlocked AT&T IPhones w/straight talk & go phones but the best service you will get on straight talk is buying one of their phones and the best they've got. With my at&t unlocked Iphone I had problems w/getting signal & picture texts going through and data being slow. With straight talk phones and the better ones they have, I"ve never had any problems w/losing calls. My data is fast. The only problem I noticed with this phone is it feels like the screen has some issues. It feels like it is almost broken underneath or bubbly. I purchased the protection plan so if I have any problems I will just trade it in for the same product. If you want the fastest and the best and the newest then don't do straight talk. If you are like me and don't have to any of that and are suffice w/being able to text a lot & talk whenever and use several different apps then straight talk is for you because it is a great savings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Bargin

12/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best buy i have ever made.. when it come to phones. Thanks Wal Mart
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I am disappointed

10/28/2013
By ,
Allentown, PA.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First the only comparison I have is to a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone was excellent, though a bit dated. The reception was only about as half as good as the above. The bluetooth connectivity connected well, but voice quality was terrible. Not just to my headset, but to both vehicles. The recipient couldn't understand me and at times I could not recognize the voice on the other end. Also while playing music through the Bluetooth, it would continue to pop and pause as if it was a record that was skipping (for those who remember this). I was advised to restore the phone. This was a waste of time. Conditions still existed. I called ZTE, they refused to talk to me. They said it was Straight Talk's problem. Talking to Straight Talk was as you know, useless. They continued to tell me to 'adjust the volume'. That was the first thing I tried. But I did notice after restoring the phone, I now had the ability to make short cuts for speed dialing. Interesting how that wasn't available before. Maybe I'll restore the phone for the 3rd time or give it back. On the positive side, the phone is very fast. It responds easily to every touch command and I've never had a hesitation or a freeze-up. The voice quality without the Bluetooth is very good. The volume is good. The music through wired headset is outstanding.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Don't take this phone back. I hope people read
Posted 05/19/2014
As this poster commented, when using Bluetooth, the quality of calls or playing music in your vehicle was awful. I just figured it out today. Turn off the wifi and everything is perfect. Calls and music flow without a pause. The guy that also said when he called his dad it was a terrible connection, turn off the wifi. (and Bluetooth, if you didn't shut it off) I thought I had a bad volume switch. The wifi interferes. I'm in heaven cause I was sad that this beautiful phone was going to go back to the store. Also, someone said that a big load of pictures downloaded to his phone and he couldn't delete them. He said he had a gmail account with pictures backed up and that the only thing he thought of doing was deleting the account. This happened to me, all of the pictures from my google+ account magically appeared. I tried to delete some of them, but couldn't figure how to do it. So I went into my photo back up on google+ and you can delete them from there, and you don't have to do them one by one, either. Click the check mark on the one's you don't want, and delete them. They will then disappear from your phone. New photos you take from the camera on your phone can also be deleted from your phone, as is the case if you download them from your computer. Hopes this helps people with these problems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 65 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worth every penny

11/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is an awesome phone no regrets. I bought it for my wife and now I can't seem to get her off of it. The service was higher than expectations and I recommend this phone to all my friends and family.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Do Not Buy!

11/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was a good phone at first. I only use it for calls, texting, and facebook when I'm bored. It is slow even on wifi. I have recently noticed that when a call or text comes in, there is a wait time of about five second or more before it starts to ring or make a notification sound and sometimes it doesn't do that. I have been a customer with straight talk for 3 years this is the first phone that I am over all completely unsatisfied with. Some might say its the phone and not straight talk.. if your going to put your name on it wouldn't you expect it to be the best quality? Please consider all the low rating before buying this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone with good reception and great features

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone to replace a Windows phone that had poor reception inside my workplace. As soon as I walked into the building, I got the "no service" message. The ZTE 796C phone has a good signal no matter where I am inside. Battery life is very good. I listen to music for most of the 8 hours I'm at work, and I still have enough battery power to make/receive calls. As with most smartphones, battery life will be lower if you use Wi-Fi and/or Bluetooth. Since it is an android phone, there are lots of apps available at the Play Store for anyone's interests. I don't use the phone to browse the internet much, but I do use it to send/receive email (Gmail), and it does a great job for that purpose. The GPS function works very well for me, and has so far been more accurate than other phones I have used. It is even more accurate than my stand-alone GPS (Magellan). It gives turn-by-turn voice directions, although it does not give street names.
This phone has many features of more expensive phones and is well worth the price at Walmart. I used the Site-to-Store delivery, and got the phone the same day.
Overall, this has been a great phone, and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a very good android phone and doesn't want to pay several hundred dollars for a brand name with the same features the ZTE 796C has.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read multiple reviews on all the Straight Talk phones which used the Verizon network and though there were some negative reviews about this phone, the majority of them are positive. I considered that sometimes people just like to gripe and so I didn't let those negative reviews dictate my decision to purchase this phone and I am very pleased with that decision! What was most important to me was that the screen was large enough to read and enlarge without chopping off so much content you have to scroll back and forth... no problem there. I also see no since in having a phone with a camera if the quality of the image stinks but the camera on this phone takes great pictures. I was somewhat concerned about the phone being 3G but with all the other features at this sale price I figured I could live with that BUT I don't spend any time waiting for information. I type it in, I click send, I scroll down, open another tab and I am the one having to catch up. Now, I am one who err's on the side of caution so I purchased the 2 year insurance policy for this phone. Though I haven't had to use it, I feel the additional cost is worth the peace of mind. I am definitely recommending this phone. I don't recall if this phone is available with the AT&T network and I can't vouch for them even if it is but as for Verizon and the ZTE Majesty...they make a great pair!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

POOR excuse for a phone !

07/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Volume not good , signal pickup not good , not what I expected this phone to be ! I have had other ZTE phones before , they were pretty good phones. But this one is not so good . I wish now I had went with the other phone I was looking at .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Limited memory

09/08/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The phone works great, and the apps that you can load work fine... but, it has less than 1G of internal memory. I thought I would be able to move apps to the SD card (and the 4G card that comes with it would have been plenty), but was none too pleased to find out that most apps don't allow that (Facebook, my company's database app, Google Chrome, Google Maps, and a bunch more). I use an app (that DOES store on the SD card) to move the apps over, and it just won't move the other 500MB worth of apps over, leaving me with 133MB of space left on the internal memory --not enough to even allow Google Chrome to update itself.
I will keep the phone because, as I said, it has a real simple interface, and great speed despite having a single-core processor. The speaker quality is less than good (very tinny), and folks with feature phones and basic phones get text messages with symbols instead of letters and/or numbers. Minor stuff, so far. The disappointment of how limited the memory is, though, is a real turnoff. Can't recommend it to anyone but those that need the most basic of features and internet access (which works great, by the way).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

worse phone I ever owned

11/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
it is a piece of junk..finally sent it back to straight talk...worked well for awhile, then once again the conversations are garbled and unable to hear....never never again!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Perfect Phone

11/15/2013
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Android Straight Talk phone & by far the very best. The screen is very big & a godsend for those of us whose eyes aren't quite what they used to be. As for those complaining about the keyboard, download A.I. Keyboard from Google play & customize it. Any phone in portrait mode will have small keys, turn it to landscape & the keys are very large. You can put tons of apps & most will store to the SD card. My last phone, LG Extreme, did not store to card so the apps took up most of the memory & made the phone very slow. I have more apps on this phone than the old & there is no lag or wait time at all. I can hear much better on this phone. I was always turning up the volume on the other phones - not this one. Incoming calls are crystal clear.
I am deducting a 1/4 star because the ringtone & notification volume are one & the same - not independent. I prefer a loud ring & a soft notification. To solve that, I chose a very light notification & a custom ringtone from Zedge.
Chomp SMS worked perfectly on the LG but will not download MMS on this phone. This is more likely a Chomp issue & not the phone. I am using GOSMS PRO which is working fine. The stock SMS is just too boring.
As for those complaining about cases - there are tons of them available on Amazon. Mine is on the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RI
Update
Posted 04/29/2014
Phone suddenly stopped receiving wifi. Kept saying not in range even though I was standing right in front of the router. Straight talk was pretty much no help. Their only offer was to do a factory reset & if that did not work, send them the phone & they would send another upon receipt of defective one. That would keep me for at least a week or more with no phone. Opted for Sprint Framily plan - for the same $45/month I got a great phone that includes unlimited talk/text & 1 G of data with actual people who can help you in the store and I don't have to worry about reloading minutes every month.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 73 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst phone ever do not buy!!!

08/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your money on this phone. When you receive calls, people say it's like u are talking through a tunnel..I hate this phone..My friends hate this phone because they can not understand me. Oh and Striaghttalk said the problem is everyone else problem my phone is fine..DO NOT WASTE YOU MONEY ON THIS PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!LIKE I DID.....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

nothing but problems

10/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i broke the screen on my other phone, so i thought i would give this a try. i figured bigger screen, and about the same functions, why not. well it sends the same message 3-4 times, screen blackouts when receiving a call or making one, then returns when call ends. oh yea, cant put anything on the sd card. what is the point of having an sd card when you cant save anything to it. little to no signal, especially in bigger towns. oh, and restarts at random. will not buy this phone again!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible!!!

10/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for almost a year now and I absolutely hate it. One good thing about it, and it has to be the ONLY good thing is the size. Perfect for my hands. Everything else is terrible. The camera takes too dark of pictures. Even when connected to WIFI it is so slow. The videos don't even load. Also, the phone lags. Swiping through the homescreens takes an eternity. Another thing is, I can lay my phone on a table or desk and it powers down, as if I just took the battery out, but when I accidentally drop it while getting out of a truck, and it hits pavement, it stays on... Having to keep this phone for so long had been such a bad experience. So glad to finally have my money situation settled so I can buy a new one.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible phone, limited apps, bad cust service

11/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone mostly because the $45 month unlimited data plan on Verizon was impossible to beat elsewhere. The majesty seemed the best of what was available in the store. Had I known I wouldn't be able to load more than a couple apps, I would have jumped right up to the Galaxy S3 immediately, instead of wasting $150 on this. With less than 800M of internal memory, I could only put Facebook, a church directory and a keyboard app on it without it failing to update even it's own bloatware(pre-loaded apps you may not even want but can't remove). I tried Clean Master, had to use it constantly to wipe all the cache data, that didn't work. I moved as many apps as I could to the SD card, you can't move the bloatware. I eventually had to remove even the few apps that were important. Calls were ok, battery life ok, camera stopped working randomly, only 3G. I thought I could get my money back because I bought the $37 protection plan, but that is only for damage or malfunctions. So, out $150 for the phone, $37 for the protection plan, then $60 for the Activation kit when I tried to Bring My Own PHone (I bought a used Galaxy S4 locally for $280) and transfer the number to the new used phone. That process broke because my GS4 is 4g LTE and the foreign customer support people promised me a new 4G LTE sim card in 3-5 days. AFter 6 days I called and they said the order was still pending, it would be another 3-5 days, they wouldn't overnight it, no expediting and she said was Sorry, that's our process. I've now switched to Verizon Prepaid, they have a competitively priced plan with not as much data, but I regret very much not paying much more up front for a good phone and a company with decent customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Save up for a better phone. Avoid this one!

09/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the absolute worst phone I have ever owned. Just a day after I bought it it started randomly restarting. It is very slow to do anything. The screen is not very responsive. Now every time I shut down or restart the phone, all of my apps and pictures are deleted. When I try to re download the apps it says there is no space available. Do yourself a favor and either save a bit more money for a Samsung or, as much as I hate to say it, an Apple, or buy a cheaper Samsung. You will be much happier either way. Just stay away from this "smart" phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Had Problems less than 2 months after purchase....

05/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased phone 3/9/14 along with extended service plan. Wi-Fi stopped working few days ago, does not read any Wi-Fi signal. Even tried doing a factory reset. Called straight talk and spoke with 3 different technicians who after going through over an hour of troubles shooting my settings (each person had me go over the same exact troubleshooting steps each time) only to have them tell me that there is no problem with my phone. I am familiar with setting up wi fi networks. The phone stopped reading wi fi networks. I had read many of the customer complaints about their service, but now I know about it first hand. If you decide to go ahead and purchase from them anyway, then I wish you good luck, because if you ever do run into a problem you will wish you had gone elsewhere.
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
UPDATE 5/5/14
Posted 05/05/2014
The extended warranty people at Asurion were extremely helpful. They have agreed to refund the purchase price (minus a $29 service fee.) This still means that I am out the cost of the extended warranty for the phone ($51) along with the service fee. So in effect, I had use of the this phone for 2 months and it cost me $80. It would have been more of a loss had I not had the extended coverage. I would certainly suggest not buying a straight talk phone unless you get the extended coverage plan.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 79 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible

06/15/2014
By ,
Woodland Park, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is a true piece of junk. It lasted one week before it started to fail. I was told by a Walmart employee told me that many people have returned these phones.
I wish I could rate it less than one star.
DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C

07/31/2014
By ,
oxnard, calif
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had to buy a new phone since my last android sat in melted ice from a cup.:(..I miss my qwerty board as I suffer from FAT thumb syndrome. I must say I LOVE this phone, it does what I need it to do and if you compare the size of this to the Samsung Galaxy III...awesome! Love the price since it went on sale too!..yeehaw!..Good phone & budget friendly..way to go Straight Talk!...:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 394 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  20 Next