Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.93 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(244 Reviews) 244
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
51
3 stars
14
2 stars
18
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation77%189 out of 244reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
288 Questions | 504 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
51
3 stars
14
2 stars
18
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great specs, but big problems...

11/08/2013
By ,
Twin Cities, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm on my 2nd Majesty in just a few days...and it's going back to the store too. Here's why:
I'm a long-time Straight Talk customer. I decided that I wanted to switch from the T-Mobile network phone I'd been using to a Verizon network phone, to get better coverage...so this seemed like the phone to get. It's specs are wonderful for a phone in this price range. My brother has an LG Showtime, which is a nice phone, but this phone is actually slightly better (in specs, anyway), and slightly cheaper...so I went to give it a try. Picked one up at Walmart and switched my service.
In the day that I had that first phone active, it spontaneously rebooted at least 6 times. Also, the screen was noticably less vibrant than the Samsung Galaxy Relay that it was replacing...I even tried a couple screen adjustment apps, but it just didn't have the color vibrancy there to work with. If you never saw a better screen, you probably wouldn't care...but it's definitely an issue.
Based mostly on the rebooting issue, I returned that Majesty and got a 2nd one. Have been using it for a couple days now. The good news is that it hasn't rebooted itself once. The bad news is that it doesn't charge well - and let me expand on that a bit. I ran the battery down playing some basic games on it, and got the battery warning. No big deal...I just plugged it in and kept playing my games. Then I got a 2nd battery warning, and shortly thereafter the phone died. I let it charge back up a bit and tried again...died again. I went through several cycles of this to make sure it wasn't a fluke - the fact of the matter is that it charges slower than it drains the battery if you're doing anything on the phone...even just reading news. You have to leave the phone completely alone to get any net charge into the battery at all. Otherwise you're draining the battery faster than it charges, and it will still die.
Also, on that same issue, leaving the phone charging all night while I sleep does not result in a 100% charged battery - it gets to maybe 75% overnight. *Maybe* if you turned the phone off while it was charging, it would get to 100% overnight...but that defeats the purpose of having a phone, and being accessible if someone needs to get ahold of you.
And the issue with the screen is the same on the 2nd as on the 1st...same lack of vivid colors, especially noticeable when playing a game...which is when you kind of really want your colors to be vivid. So that seems to be simply the way it is. Again, if you aren't used to a better screen you may not notice. If you are accustomed to a better screen, you may find it annoying.
Other than that...I really want to like this phone. Processing speed is good. Screen size is good. Onscreen keyboard is good. Really, everything else seems to be good...and I could probably live with the sub-par screen if it wasn't for this charging issue, which is really kind of a deal-breaker.
So this one is going back to the store too. I'm conflicted about trying a 3rd Majesty...may or may not at this point. We'll see. On the whole, at the moment I really can't recommend the phone to anyone because of these issues. A phone that reboots all the time is useless, as is a phone that refuses to charge properly. No matter how good the rest of it's features are.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

GREAT PHONE SO FAR..

10/16/2013
By ,
wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i had the straight talk proclaim but after returning it twice with all of its technical difficulties and doing lots of research i decided to go with this phone and so far i'm pleased with it, one issue i had was the charging port is a little tight and didn't seemed to make a good connection but i forced it in a little further so far so good. Granted i just got it today but will be back later to give an update. but love how it works so far wish the cases and screen protectors come out REALLY SOON!! lesson learned on any phone you buy get Walmart's extra warranty. Also the screen isn't very sensitive to touch better to use your thumb than index finger
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Plenty of "little" problems, consistently

04/01/2014
By ,
Brainerd, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My family purchased 2 of these phones. The purchases were about a week apart in November 2013 and from different Walmart stores. Both of us have the same ongoing problems with the phones. 1) When trying to make calls the dialer pad disappears. 2) It will randomly restart. 3) Calls randomly dropped. 4) Incoming caller unable to hear us answer. Seemingly insignificant but occur randomly but consistently between the two phones. We continue to use them with StraightTalk because of the value of the service package. Once the "mainstream" droids become more affordable/compatible with StraightTalk we certainly will change phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Pretty good phone

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a pretty good phone. It does most everything I need it to. The camera is just ok. Does have the front face camera as well which is a nice feature. Overall it is a decent phone. I would recommend this to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Wow!

10/29/2013
By ,
carmi, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! I had a Proclaim and it works good and still have it as a backup...however I wanted something bigger and this was it!! This phone is a great price and looks like a Galaxy. I hope it lasts a long time. Make sure to big a replacement plan in case you need it down the road. vTakes good pics and ring sounds are loud and clear. Light indicator on front of phone to let you know there is a message or email. Has every option the description says it has plus more. Pretty cool phone! I highly recommend it. Can't go wrong with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

HORRIBLE service and bad phone

04/11/2014
By ,
Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I could give this phone a rating of 0! Random outgoing calls that I make are garbled where the person on the other end can't understand me and I have to call them back. Usually the second time it works fine, though not always. This happens about every other day consistently, and sometimes multiple times a day. First Straight Talk said they would replace the phone and I would be out almost 2 weeks without my phone. Unacceptable! When I spoke with the supervisor they said they won't replace it at all since they can't replicate the problem (they tried calling me, but it only happens when I call others, and since they couldn't replicate the problem they won't do anything about it). We have 4 Straight Talk phones in our household, and this is the ONLY one that has problems, but they keep saying the towers must be down at those times. Either way - if the towers and service are down that much I don't want to stick with them, nor is the fact that they are completely unwilling to do anything to help their customers solve the issues with their phones. The phone has other problems too. It randomly reboots itself when I'm in the middle of something (including right after I finished this review the first time and had to re-type it all again once it rebooted!), the phone's browser shuts down and won't work for more than a few minutes at a time, and sometimes it won't respond to buttons I press. I was highly disappointed in the issues with the phone, but Straight Talk is unwilling to do ANYTHING to make it right. All I can say is this: DON'T GET THIS PHONE, and DEFINITELY DON'T USE STRAIGHT TALK!! I use this phone for business, and I can't risk losing any more customers.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

return

04/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had to return due to not having the Verizon tower in my area...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

this is a great Phone

02/16/2014
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I"m talking to my family about this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Glad I purchused this phone!

01/11/2014
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a smartphone with a large screen, huge variety of compatible apps, and a nice design then look no further. This phone is exactly what I was hoping for, maybe even better. Sure, this phone isn't an S4 or iPhone 5, but for those of us who can't afford those phones this is a great alternative.
Spend the $179.88 for this phone. The majority of you won't regret it, and for those of you that do.. return it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

restarts on random

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
at first there were no issues. the display is great. however, it has started lagging and restarting on random. every straight talk phone i have got except for the lg optimus showtime restarts on random. and that is with a charged up phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

GREAT PHONE AND GREAT SERVICE

11/25/2013
By ,
GROVER N.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HAD PHONE FOR 3 WEEKS NOW AFTER SWITCHING TO STRAIGHT TALK FROM ATT AND GET BETTER SERVICE AND AM VERY HAPPY WITH HOW PHONE WORKS AND IF YOU WANT A GREAT PHONE WITH LARGE SCREEN LIKE ME GET THIS ONE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone @ a great price

02/05/2014
By ,
Altoona, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Switched from Verizon to save money & I am so happy with this phone. I didn't want to spend too much $ but I also didn't want a cheap phone. I like this better than my husband's Samsung Galaxy S3 (too large). The size of the ZTE Majesty is perfect and it does everything I need. I kept my same phone number & all contacts transferred over when I signed into gmail. Love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

would recommend this phone

04/09/2014
By ,
ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second phone. The first one, the mic went bad and people couldn't understand you.. So far so good with this one. But otherwise the phone does everything well. Would def recommend it.
Also, when the phone needed replaced, Walmart employees where the best! Thanks to them, it was no problem at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

easy to learn

03/11/2014
By ,
Green Bay, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy for first time user..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

BEST PHONE IVE EVER HAD !!!

02/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had straight talk for about 6 years and every year or so I upgrade.. Well when the galaxy came out I wanted it so bad but I just couldn't make myself pay almost 500$ for it so I just stuck it out with my old phone which was the Optimus Q which at the time I thought was great until my husband went out and bought the straight talk zte savvy. I really liked the bigger screen on it so I done some research and found the zte majesty with a 4.5in screen . I read the specs , like them so I thought hmm give it a try.. I am so glad that I got this phone. It is everything I wanted its actually the perfect size to hold and text. not to small , not to big just perfect .. I would recommend this phone to anyone plus its a Verizon and signal is great !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

GREAT PHONE FOR THE PRICE

04/09/2014
By ,
greenville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS PHONE. IT HAS ALL THE FEATURES I WAS LOOKING FOR. MOSTLY USE PHONE TO TALK,TEXT BROWSE AND DOWNLOAD MUSIC. WORKS GREAT AND MUCH BIGGER SCREEN THAN I EXPECTED!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

problem after 11 days

02/18/2014
By ,
oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this phone for 11 days, then The SOUND option in settings said "unfortunitley settings has shut down '. All other things # battery, display# was working. I contacted the sales rep for staight talk, and she had me take the battery out, then put it back in. That didnt fix the problem. Took the phone back and got a new one. Low and behold with in 1 hour, the sound option was saying the same thing. Now the phone doesnt ring or vibrate when calls come in. I think this zte majesty is just a POOR phone.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

best quality phone.

03/06/2014
By ,
Mechanicsville , va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best phone next to the iPhone. I am very pleased at this point. Much better than the Samsung options which had failed on me repeatedly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice Phone

10/21/2013
By ,
Lebanon, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only owned one real smart phone before this which was the Samsung Precedent so I don't have a lot of authority on the subject but I love this phone. The first thing that stands out is the clarity and size of the screen, very nice. I like the new android 4 jelly bean OS as it has a lot of little but nice upgrades you will appreciate. The main reason I switched from my old phone was due to the fact that this phone runs of Verizon towers instead of Sprint. This may not be the latest I phone or Galaxy 3000 but for 180 bucks it's a pretty sweet phone if you ask me. As mentioned by others though, the only complaint I have is that there are no cases available for it yet because it's so new. Come on guys, if you launch a phone launch cases with it! Get the warranty just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Effingham, IL
ZTE Majesty Phone Cases
Posted 12/14/2013
I just got mine from Newegg.com and I also seen many available online from amazon and other web sites! Check it out!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 80 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I HATE this phone

04/06/2014
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I bought these phones two months ago and they randomly shut off, the ringtones change for no reason, the speaker on my husband's phone has stopped working. I wish we could go back and get different phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 244 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  13 Next