Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.405 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(444 Reviews) 444
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
183
4 stars
81
3 stars
30
2 stars
33
1 star
117
Customer Recommendation64%282 out of 444reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
442 Questions | 767 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
183
4 stars
81
3 stars
30
2 stars
33
1 star
117
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Not a bad phone now at a lower price.

01/18/2015
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am on my second phone, due to the last being damaged. I have seen the countless reviews saying this phone will not hold many apps. I had 21 apps on the old phone with the occasional hiccup on a 32 gig card, and am almost back to that on this phone. With exception to apps I had not used in a while. The quirks can be worked around, and have experienced them even with more expensive phones. Now the phone is $79 even better not many phones to be had with as large of a screen for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Perfect Phone

11/15/2013
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Android Straight Talk phone & by far the very best. The screen is very big & a godsend for those of us whose eyes aren't quite what they used to be. As for those complaining about the keyboard, download A.I. Keyboard from Google play & customize it. Any phone in portrait mode will have small keys, turn it to landscape & the keys are very large. You can put tons of apps & most will store to the SD card. My last phone, LG Extreme, did not store to card so the apps took up most of the memory & made the phone very slow. I have more apps on this phone than the old & there is no lag or wait time at all. I can hear much better on this phone. I was always turning up the volume on the other phones - not this one. Incoming calls are crystal clear.
I am deducting a 1/4 star because the ringtone & notification volume are one & the same - not independent. I prefer a loud ring & a soft notification. To solve that, I chose a very light notification & a custom ringtone from Zedge.
Chomp SMS worked perfectly on the LG but will not download MMS on this phone. This is more likely a Chomp issue & not the phone. I am using GOSMS PRO which is working fine. The stock SMS is just too boring.
As for those complaining about cases - there are tons of them available on Amazon. Mine is on the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RI
Update
Posted 04/29/2014
Phone suddenly stopped receiving wifi. Kept saying not in range even though I was standing right in front of the router. Straight talk was pretty much no help. Their only offer was to do a factory reset & if that did not work, send them the phone & they would send another upon receipt of defective one. That would keep me for at least a week or more with no phone. Opted for Sprint Framily plan - for the same $45/month I got a great phone that includes unlimited talk/text & 1 G of data with actual people who can help you in the store and I don't have to worry about reloading minutes every month.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 63 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Drop it !

03/25/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst phone straight talk has ever sold the phone drop calls. If you called someone at straight talk its always someone foreign that u talk to but you can never understand what they are saying .Also the phone gets hot. I called on several occasions to talk to them they kept putting me off until my insurance ran off . That was unfair. I'm stuck with a useless phone. Straight talk needs to do better. I want my money back ,another type of phone or something.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great smartphone at the price

10/08/2013
By ,
Danville PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this last night, it was better than i expected. i love how it's big size its easier to type and see things better when its a big size. I would RECOMMEND for all of you to get this phone if you would like smartphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Seriously a JOKE!!!

10/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ok so I bought this phone cause I wanted to upgrade from the one I had...WORST MISTAKE EVER! I have had it for like 3 months at the MAX! At first the phone was great don't get me wrong but now I can be playing a game or even on the phone and my phone randomly shuts itself off with no warning even with a fully charged battery......Once I get the money saved up I WILL BE BUYING A NEW PHONE!!
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

AWFUL Waste of money!

08/12/2014
By ,
Abington, Ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to buy this phone. It sounded great and the screen is huge. Worst phone I've ever owned! Immediately I noticed it liked to randomly restart itself a couple times a day. Then I noticed I was very limited with downloading apps because it would always say "low storage" (even with the memory card). Then Google chrome just wouldn't work, nothing ever loaded on it. Switched to using the regular browser, which freezes and force closes every few seconds. Picture messages won't download despite excellent reception from both WiFi and 3g, and picture messages I send out won't send at all. Everything freezes and force closes, the camera is super laggy and takes forever to focus and even longer to actually take the pic. Constant dropped calls, volumes for ringtones and speaker phone work when it feels like it. Yesterday was it for me. The screen now goes haywire and the phone will freeze and either restart itself or I have to take the battery out and restart it myself. I'll be purchasing a new DIFFERENT phone, and will absolutely not recommend this phone, ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst phone I've ever owned. Bad decision.

02/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm currently shopping for a new phone. I have only owned this for a couple months and I've hated it from the begininning. It is SLOW, you can't move apps and things to the SD to save internal memory, it's so glitchy. I hate this phone. Side note: I paid 149.98 for this phone and soon after it went to $79.98 so if I want to sell this one I'm going to lose big money on it. Don't buy this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This was a replacement phone, and IT WAS AWFUL.

12/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased another phone earlier this year, and it lasted well for a months but then went down the drain in terms of freezing and cutting off and on, not connecting to the internet, etc. I had purchased a "replacement plan" with this, and I decided to take advantage. Not only was it a difficult process, but they sent me a MUCH worse AND cheaper one (which is what this review for). There is a reason why it's so cheap and a deep cut in price.
Problems:
1. Freezes up anything often for no reason, it will say "___ is not responding, do you want to close it?" It will always close before I can click wait.
2. Cuts off for no reason. I have several jobs where my phone is needed, this is NOT a dependable phone.
3. It takes at least 5 times of pressing the "on" button to have to screen show up. It was extremely frustrating because there was no reason for it to do it.
4. Takes a slow time to do anything including writing simple emails / texts.
5. I would not get some calls and texts or it wouldn't send texts for no reason.
etc, etc, etc
For those who just purchased it or have had it for a little while. BEWARE, it will go downhill
There's a reason it's such a low price, don't waste your money!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Just what I wanted

05/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone yesterday. I had a Samsung Centura and loved it but wanted a bit bigger screen and front camera and flash. They had a little trouble at Walmart activating my phone with Straight talk. I had transferred my same number and straight talk plan to my new phone. I took the phone home and called the number Walmart gave me, and it activated right away, so maybe the reception was too busy at the Walmart. Don't know. I made sure the settings were how I wanted them, as I had them on the Centura. There was a check on the roaming that I unchecked. (you don't need roaming) I turned my sync on on both phones, and voila, all my pictures automatically went to my new phone. It took awhile. I believe these pictures were all of the ones that were on my google+ back up. I went on my computer and pulled up my google account (you have to set one up, a gmail account, to access the apps and things from google play store. They had a list of all of my apps, and I just clicked the ones that I wanted back on my new phone, and they downloaded. So nice!! Now, I've read a couple of reviews that the phone was operating so slooooowww. Well, I thought the same thing. But, it occurred to me that all of these things were downloading at one time or one right after the other, and I'll bet the pictures were a load all by themselves. I was thinking, geez, this phone is slow. Now everything is completed for my set up, and this phone moves fast. I downloaded 60 songs this morning from google's music maniac, one right after the other and it didn't take longer than 25 seconds for each one. I love the speech to text feature. I just said the name of the song, and tapped search and off it went. The sound on this phone is great!! I paired it through bluetooth with my car, and it comes out in stereo to die for. I haven't used the camera but once to try it and the fly on the wall looked great, just kidding. The flash worked, and I figured out how to use the front facing camera, as well as the other. I love this phone already!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible

08/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for 10 months because I wanted an affordable phone with a large screen but I've had nothing but trouble with it. The problems began about two months in and it wouldn't receive text messages intermittently, then the phone calls became garbled. About 30% of my call have to be ended and then called again because either I can't hear them or they can't understand me. I contacted Straight Talk about this and all they can say is that their network is fine, no problems on their end. They give the usual lame advice of remove the battery and reprogram the phone. Then the phone started turning off during normal app use. Some days it will turn off 3-4 times a day. Many apps that utilize the camera cause it to freeze and the only way to correct it is to restart the phone. The last straw was when the phone shut off and corrupted the SD card and I lost all the data, apps, and pictures I had stored. The phone only has 1GB of internal memory, not whatever it is they advertise so most of the memory is on the SD. I'm buying a new phone and will never go generic again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Wow!

10/29/2013
By ,
carmi, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! I had a Proclaim and it works good and still have it as a backup...however I wanted something bigger and this was it!! This phone is a great price and looks like a Galaxy. I hope it lasts a long time. Make sure to big a replacement plan in case you need it down the road. vTakes good pics and ring sounds are loud and clear. Light indicator on front of phone to let you know there is a message or email. Has every option the description says it has plus more. Pretty cool phone! I highly recommend it. Can't go wrong with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk

11/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like this phone, but will not keep it . While Wal-mart does a great job in electronics and has knowledgeable associates , Straight Talk is not customer friendly nor will they resolve issues when it is clearly an issue with their service.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

GREAT PHONE SO FAR..

10/16/2013
By ,
wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i had the straight talk proclaim but after returning it twice with all of its technical difficulties and doing lots of research i decided to go with this phone and so far i'm pleased with it, one issue i had was the charging port is a little tight and didn't seemed to make a good connection but i forced it in a little further so far so good. Granted i just got it today but will be back later to give an update. but love how it works so far wish the cases and screen protectors come out REALLY SOON!! lesson learned on any phone you buy get Walmart's extra warranty. Also the screen isn't very sensitive to touch better to use your thumb than index finger
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Smartphone for a low price

12/23/2013
By ,
Effingham, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is fast, has lots of apps that I run all at the same time and it does everything a smartphone needs to do! The only thing that went wrong was my music was playing at super fast high pitch speed. I made sure to turn my phone off and back on. I also got an app called Clean Master and it stops all running apps that are hogging memory up and deletes your cache and junk files. Now my music player works great. I have to say I am very impressed with this phone! The speaker is super loud. I don't know what everyone else is complaining about because my friends are jealous with how loud my music is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read multiple reviews on all the Straight Talk phones which used the Verizon network and though there were some negative reviews about this phone, the majority of them are positive. I considered that sometimes people just like to gripe and so I didn't let those negative reviews dictate my decision to purchase this phone and I am very pleased with that decision! What was most important to me was that the screen was large enough to read and enlarge without chopping off so much content you have to scroll back and forth... no problem there. I also see no since in having a phone with a camera if the quality of the image stinks but the camera on this phone takes great pictures. I was somewhat concerned about the phone being 3G but with all the other features at this sale price I figured I could live with that BUT I don't spend any time waiting for information. I type it in, I click send, I scroll down, open another tab and I am the one having to catch up. Now, I am one who err's on the side of caution so I purchased the 2 year insurance policy for this phone. Though I haven't had to use it, I feel the additional cost is worth the peace of mind. I am definitely recommending this phone. I don't recall if this phone is available with the AT&T network and I can't vouch for them even if it is but as for Verizon and the ZTE Majesty...they make a great pair!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

So much better than my Windows W1 Phone

06/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'll never stray away from Android again. For the money, this is a great phone! Very reliable although it has restarted all by itself twice in the past week. Still better than having my Windows phone freeze up several times a day. Netflix streams without buffering when I get 3G service and it has enough storage space for the five or six apps that I use. This is my first ZTE device and I'm quite pleased, especially with the display quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Paper Weight

01/06/2014
By ,
Richmond VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Straight Talk ZTE Majesty phone roughly 20 days ago the first one I'm on the second one now and needless to say it's going back as well...
The first one would cut off and on by itself while I was in the middle of a call text or email to top it off I could have full service call the phone from another phone while it's in front of me and it wouldn't even ring or notify you there was a call coming in I tried to call several local number's and it would give me a message about international calls and not being able to make them.
After returning that phone I got another one the same phone as honestly I like the phone simple to use and it's not a bad price either well today makes day 2 of having the second phone and I was sending a text and it cut off and won't power back on so now I have to return this phone again and needless to say I'll be going with something different.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I love this phone!

07/24/2014
By ,
south carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone a couple of weeks ago. It was an upgrade from my Samsung proclaim. I'm not one that has to have the latest and greatest, so while I loved the idea of a Samsung galaxy or an Iphone, I didn't want to pay that much for a phone. This one is great though! My daughter likes it as much as her iphone. The camera took me a little time to get used to. I have to admit I was disappointed at first but assumed that it was probably my fault the pictures weren't coming out great. After messing with it a bit, the pictures have gotten really good. It's fast, nice big screen, and I love everything about it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Better than expected!

03/06/2014
By ,
Moultrie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband wanted an I phone but I refuse to spend that much on one phone! Instead we both got one of the ZTE Majesty cheaper than one I phone. At first he was let down and made comments on how big the phone was; then he turned a new leaf after using it for a couple days. He loves how large the screen is; was impressed on how it is able to do the fancy smiley faces that are normally associated with I phones. The reception is better than our previous $100 android straight talk phones that were under Version towers as well. The flash for the 5.0 camera is what sold me now night or day our pictures are 100% better. The front camera isn't bad and comes in handy. If your looking for an upgrade without the high price tag the ZTE Majesty is definitely the way to go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

5 Stars for Now!!

10/18/2013
By ,
Anniston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered it yesterday at 2 pm CST, it arrived this morning before 11 am CST. HAPPY :-)
Easy to activate and charges quickly. HAPPY :-)
FINALLY, I have service at my home (live in a rural area). Verizon is the only provider that has service where I live. VERY VERY HAPPY! :-)
Sleek, good looking phone. (No car charger).
For now, I give it 5 stars. I will update in a few weeks.
No contract, full service, unlimited everything, $49 per month (and includes tax.) ! HAPPY :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jc
just want to know
Posted 10/19/2013
how did you get it so Quick? did u order it online or live close by the warehouse? because I ordered it and it says 5 to 7 days for delivery at my store! gee I wish I knew how you got it that fast. thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
61-80 of 444 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  23 Next