Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.744 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(317 Reviews) 317
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
70
3 stars
20
2 stars
24
1 star
54
Customer Recommendation74%233 out of 317reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
355 Questions | 665 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
70
3 stars
20
2 stars
24
1 star
54
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love, Love, Love this Phone!!!!

03/10/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this phone through ST because it was $10 cheaper on their site. My husband wanted the S3 and I said oh no...That phone is way to high since we have to buy 2 new phones. I did all my research and decided to get the Majesty ZTE....OMG we both fell in love with it when we got it. The phone has alot of the same features as the S3. The screen size is nice and big. We both got outterbox cases to go with it and no one would know the difference in this prepaid phone and a contract phone...lol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Better than expected!

03/06/2014
By ,
Moultrie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband wanted an I phone but I refuse to spend that much on one phone! Instead we both got one of the ZTE Majesty cheaper than one I phone. At first he was let down and made comments on how big the phone was; then he turned a new leaf after using it for a couple days. He loves how large the screen is; was impressed on how it is able to do the fancy smiley faces that are normally associated with I phones. The reception is better than our previous $100 android straight talk phones that were under Version towers as well. The flash for the 5.0 camera is what sold me now night or day our pictures are 100% better. The front camera isn't bad and comes in handy. If your looking for an upgrade without the high price tag the ZTE Majesty is definitely the way to go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

the best phone ive ever had

06/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is hands down the best one I've ever had, the only downside is that the mexapixel is 5.0 and not 8.0 like the galaxy phone but isn't that big of a deal. It takes pictures just fine with the flash, however, the battery life compared to a galaxy is WAY better. The monthly price is unbeatable at $45 a month and there is no contract. This phone is very much like a galaxy apart from the features I've already stated, and I love it. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice phone

05/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its a good phone except the screen cracked within a week of me having it. It gets hot easily and sometimes restarts without me making it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone
10/14/2013
By ,
Northern Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the most part I like this phone. I have never used an android phone and was able to transition sort of easily. It would have been more helpful if there were a better users guide. I could not find anything besides the quick start manual even when I searched on line. Also it is cruddy to sell phones that have no accessories available yet. To invest in a phone and then find that you can not get screen protectors and cases for is disappointing. I'm scared I am going to drop it or scratch the screen. The cases which are presold out will not be shipped until Nov. first at the earliest. When I tried to connect to my computer I had to purchase an adaptor for the mini storage card and only figured this out after spending a large amount of time online looking for answers. I am assuming they will at some point come out with a program for the computer to interface with the phone....Would have thought they would have done that before they sold the phones. Having said that I am still giving it 4 stars because these seem like issues that will be addressed. I am completely satisfied with how the phone functions and feel it is a great deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Florence, SC.
you can add stuff
Posted 11/25/2013
you just have to add it to the right folder, and if you dnld "drop box" you wont have to take out the memory card, put it in the adaptor, plug the adaptor into the pc dnld them to the pc and reverse process...drop box automatically downloads them to a folder on your pc you dont have to do any thing, no buttons to push..just take a pic and for get about it..i have it on my samsung proclaim and love it!
0points
Customer Avatar
Northern Minnesota
Posted 10/19/2013
I did connect it to my computer, I could not add anything to the phone, not music, pictures, or contacts.
0points
Customer Avatar
jc
question
Posted 10/16/2013
Just wondering why didn't you use the usb to connect your phone to the computer?
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 66 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome phone!

10/13/2013
By ,
Ashland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the phone, so much better then my galaxy proclaim! Big screen, awesome screen quality just like those expensive phones but half the price. I would definitely recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice at first but went down hill fast

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not get this phone. The size of the screen is nice, I liked it because of the flash with the camera. After you start putting apps on it, it goes down hill after that. I couldn't send pictures, my facebook wouldn't update, among other things. I should have listen to the other reviews. I would not RECOMEND this phone. Keep looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I am disappointed

10/28/2013
By ,
Allentown, PA.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First the only comparison I have is to a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone was excellent, though a bit dated. The reception was only about as half as good as the above. The bluetooth connectivity connected well, but voice quality was terrible. Not just to my headset, but to both vehicles. The recipient couldn't understand me and at times I could not recognize the voice on the other end. Also while playing music through the Bluetooth, it would continue to pop and pause as if it was a record that was skipping (for those who remember this). I was advised to restore the phone. This was a waste of time. Conditions still existed. I called ZTE, they refused to talk to me. They said it was Straight Talk's problem. Talking to Straight Talk was as you know, useless. They continued to tell me to 'adjust the volume'. That was the first thing I tried. But I did notice after restoring the phone, I now had the ability to make short cuts for speed dialing. Interesting how that wasn't available before. Maybe I'll restore the phone for the 3rd time or give it back. On the positive side, the phone is very fast. It responds easily to every touch command and I've never had a hesitation or a freeze-up. The voice quality without the Bluetooth is very good. The volume is good. The music through wired headset is outstanding.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Don't take this phone back. I hope people read
Posted 05/19/2014
As this poster commented, when using Bluetooth, the quality of calls or playing music in your vehicle was awful. I just figured it out today. Turn off the wifi and everything is perfect. Calls and music flow without a pause. The guy that also said when he called his dad it was a terrible connection, turn off the wifi. (and Bluetooth, if you didn't shut it off) I thought I had a bad volume switch. The wifi interferes. I'm in heaven cause I was sad that this beautiful phone was going to go back to the store. Also, someone said that a big load of pictures downloaded to his phone and he couldn't delete them. He said he had a gmail account with pictures backed up and that the only thing he thought of doing was deleting the account. This happened to me, all of the pictures from my google+ account magically appeared. I tried to delete some of them, but couldn't figure how to do it. So I went into my photo back up on google+ and you can delete them from there, and you don't have to do them one by one, either. Click the check mark on the one's you don't want, and delete them. They will then disappear from your phone. New photos you take from the camera on your phone can also be deleted from your phone, as is the case if you download them from your computer. Hopes this helps people with these problems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 69 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

FANTASTIC

03/06/2014
By ,
maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing phone all the features of a $600.00 phone great service. NO ISSUES buy this phone you won't regret it !!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Perfect Phone

11/15/2013
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Android Straight Talk phone & by far the very best. The screen is very big & a godsend for those of us whose eyes aren't quite what they used to be. As for those complaining about the keyboard, download A.I. Keyboard from Google play & customize it. Any phone in portrait mode will have small keys, turn it to landscape & the keys are very large. You can put tons of apps & most will store to the SD card. My last phone, LG Extreme, did not store to card so the apps took up most of the memory & made the phone very slow. I have more apps on this phone than the old & there is no lag or wait time at all. I can hear much better on this phone. I was always turning up the volume on the other phones - not this one. Incoming calls are crystal clear.
I am deducting a 1/4 star because the ringtone & notification volume are one & the same - not independent. I prefer a loud ring & a soft notification. To solve that, I chose a very light notification & a custom ringtone from Zedge.
Chomp SMS worked perfectly on the LG but will not download MMS on this phone. This is more likely a Chomp issue & not the phone. I am using GOSMS PRO which is working fine. The stock SMS is just too boring.
As for those complaining about cases - there are tons of them available on Amazon. Mine is on the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RI
Update
Posted 04/29/2014
Phone suddenly stopped receiving wifi. Kept saying not in range even though I was standing right in front of the router. Straight talk was pretty much no help. Their only offer was to do a factory reset & if that did not work, send them the phone & they would send another upon receipt of defective one. That would keep me for at least a week or more with no phone. Opted for Sprint Framily plan - for the same $45/month I got a great phone that includes unlimited talk/text & 1 G of data with actual people who can help you in the store and I don't have to worry about reloading minutes every month.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 71 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone for the price

06/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works on the Verizon network
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Smartphone for a low price

12/23/2013
By ,
Effingham, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is fast, has lots of apps that I run all at the same time and it does everything a smartphone needs to do! The only thing that went wrong was my music was playing at super fast high pitch speed. I made sure to turn my phone off and back on. I also got an app called Clean Master and it stops all running apps that are hogging memory up and deletes your cache and junk files. Now my music player works great. I have to say I am very impressed with this phone! The speaker is super loud. I don't know what everyone else is complaining about because my friends are jealous with how loud my music is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Paper Weight

01/06/2014
By ,
Richmond VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Straight Talk ZTE Majesty phone roughly 20 days ago the first one I'm on the second one now and needless to say it's going back as well...
The first one would cut off and on by itself while I was in the middle of a call text or email to top it off I could have full service call the phone from another phone while it's in front of me and it wouldn't even ring or notify you there was a call coming in I tried to call several local number's and it would give me a message about international calls and not being able to make them.
After returning that phone I got another one the same phone as honestly I like the phone simple to use and it's not a bad price either well today makes day 2 of having the second phone and I was sending a text and it cut off and won't power back on so now I have to return this phone again and needless to say I'll be going with something different.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Don't waste your money

06/04/2014
By ,
McPherson, Ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is horrible! It turns off/on by itself several times a day, everyday. When I make a phone call I get complaints that I sound like I'm under water. I have to hang up and call back. The internal memory is horrible as well. I recommend spending the extra money on the Samsung Galaxy SIII. I recently purchased it plus a 32gb memory card. I take a lot of pictures. I've had it almost a week and LOVE it! I almost gave up on Straight Talk but now with a new/better phone, I'm glad I didn't. I will NEVER own a ZTE ever again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Shuts off, constant updating, rip-off service plan

06/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like a few other reviewers I too have tried to like this phone. It is my first Straight Talk phone. Many times in the middle of doing something it will just shut off (power down) for no reason. It is also constantly updating aps without my permission (could be some setting I'm not aware of), but many times after trying to update it will inform me that there is not enough memory to update certain aps. The final straw was the service plan. I bought the 2 year service plan for 39.00. Now six months later I dropped the phone and broke the screen. I called the service plan number to get it fixed. The said I had to pay 29.00 to file a claim, they said as of August of 2013 all phones over 150.00 have to pay to file a claim, so although not happy about this I did it. They e-mailed me a UPS label, I shipped it a week ago and they just got the phone yesterday. Now they tell me that it will take 3 days to "inspect" my phone. They also tell me that my phone is out of stock so after my phone is inspected they will have to send me a gift card for the amount of the phone plus tax, even though my plan paperwork says they will send me a new phone. Okay fine I can work with that; HOWEVER, the 39.00 2 year plan I bought six months ago does not transfer to the new phone I will have to buy, I have to purchase another 39.00 plan because it will be a new phone. How convenient for them, not too happy about this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I really do Love this phone even though it is 3G

02/27/2014
By ,
So. Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been extremely happy and surprised about this phones functions. Yes it is 3G but with the 1.2 GHZ it responds smoothly. Very responsive, beautiful screen, great looking photos and I can watch Netflix. Netflix will at times lag but no phone is perfect. I didn't want an iphone since I have an ipod touch5. The 4.5" screen is just perfect. Fits right into my back pocket.
I have checked out the more expensive phones such as LG G2, Moto Droid, Samsung S4 and still would rather have the Majesty. If the Majesty came in 4G it would then be perfect. 3G is very fast compared to the 800 MHZ low end smartphones.
So yes, I highly recommend the ZTE Majesty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great smartphone at the price

10/08/2013
By ,
Danville PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this last night, it was better than i expected. i love how it's big size its easier to type and see things better when its a big size. I would RECOMMEND for all of you to get this phone if you would like smartphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Not worth price.

05/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have straight talk and have nothing but good things to say about their service. However this phone is horrible. The camera is horrible. The phone randomly shuts off. After only 6 months I lost sound. I can hear when talking but there is no sound when phone rings or I get a text message. Do not buy this phone.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sounds unbelievable
Posted 06/12/2014
Straight talk's service is great, maybe customer service isn't (I haven't had to call them), the phone is wonderful, the camera takes great pictures, and the sound is just fine. I play my music through my car radio thru bluetooth, it's great! Is your ringer turned down? Did you go into the notifications area and set the tones you wanted? Did you get a lemon and try another phone? My only complaint is now I can buy this phone $30 cheaper. Oh well, this is a great phone!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 79 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love this phone!!!!

06/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You cant beat this phone for a basic smart phone. I cant say enough good things about the phone and service I get with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Wow!

10/29/2013
By ,
carmi, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! I had a Proclaim and it works good and still have it as a backup...however I wanted something bigger and this was it!! This phone is a great price and looks like a Galaxy. I hope it lasts a long time. Make sure to big a replacement plan in case you need it down the road. vTakes good pics and ring sounds are loud and clear. Light indicator on front of phone to let you know there is a message or email. Has every option the description says it has plus more. Pretty cool phone! I highly recommend it. Can't go wrong with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 317 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  16 Next