Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.472 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(407 Reviews) 407
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
171
4 stars
78
3 stars
28
2 stars
32
1 star
98
Customer Recommendation65%266 out of 407reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
406 Questions | 738 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
171
4 stars
78
3 stars
28
2 stars
32
1 star
98
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great smartphone at the price

10/08/2013
By ,
Danville PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this last night, it was better than i expected. i love how it's big size its easier to type and see things better when its a big size. I would RECOMMEND for all of you to get this phone if you would like smartphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible as a phone! Great otherwise

12/28/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have owned this phone for about 1 year now... Looking for something else. Horrible as a phone. People can't understand me or say you are cutting out... I thought it was my provider "Straight Talk".... but seeing that other reviewers are saying the same thing It must be the phone... Time to switch back to AT&T with a different phone....
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
Going back to AT&T?
Posted 01/14/2015
Sounds like you're probably in an area that has limited Verizon coverage. I have the exact opposite problem; but I suspect the very low volume rendition of the ZTE Majesty doesn't help. It's especially noticeable on speakerphone conference calls.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 63 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Wow!

10/29/2013
By ,
carmi, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! I had a Proclaim and it works good and still have it as a backup...however I wanted something bigger and this was it!! This phone is a great price and looks like a Galaxy. I hope it lasts a long time. Make sure to big a replacement plan in case you need it down the road. vTakes good pics and ring sounds are loud and clear. Light indicator on front of phone to let you know there is a message or email. Has every option the description says it has plus more. Pretty cool phone! I highly recommend it. Can't go wrong with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

POOR excuse for a phone !

07/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Volume not good , signal pickup not good , not what I expected this phone to be ! I have had other ZTE phones before , they were pretty good phones. But this one is not so good . I wish now I had went with the other phone I was looking at .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great gift Idea;

12/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave this as a Christmas gift. Great phone and large screen ...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Had Problems less than 2 months after purchase....

05/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased phone 3/9/14 along with extended service plan. Wi-Fi stopped working few days ago, does not read any Wi-Fi signal. Even tried doing a factory reset. Called straight talk and spoke with 3 different technicians who after going through over an hour of troubles shooting my settings (each person had me go over the same exact troubleshooting steps each time) only to have them tell me that there is no problem with my phone. I am familiar with setting up wi fi networks. The phone stopped reading wi fi networks. I had read many of the customer complaints about their service, but now I know about it first hand. If you decide to go ahead and purchase from them anyway, then I wish you good luck, because if you ever do run into a problem you will wish you had gone elsewhere.
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
UPDATE 5/5/14
Posted 05/05/2014
The extended warranty people at Asurion were extremely helpful. They have agreed to refund the purchase price (minus a $29 service fee.) This still means that I am out the cost of the extended warranty for the phone ($51) along with the service fee. So in effect, I had use of the this phone for 2 months and it cost me $80. It would have been more of a loss had I not had the extended coverage. I would certainly suggest not buying a straight talk phone unless you get the extended coverage plan.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 67 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Smartphone for a low price

12/23/2013
By ,
Effingham, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is fast, has lots of apps that I run all at the same time and it does everything a smartphone needs to do! The only thing that went wrong was my music was playing at super fast high pitch speed. I made sure to turn my phone off and back on. I also got an app called Clean Master and it stops all running apps that are hogging memory up and deletes your cache and junk files. Now my music player works great. I have to say I am very impressed with this phone! The speaker is super loud. I don't know what everyone else is complaining about because my friends are jealous with how loud my music is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

My phone

12/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love my phone I would recommend anyone to purchase this phone
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Better than expected!

03/06/2014
By ,
Moultrie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband wanted an I phone but I refuse to spend that much on one phone! Instead we both got one of the ZTE Majesty cheaper than one I phone. At first he was let down and made comments on how big the phone was; then he turned a new leaf after using it for a couple days. He loves how large the screen is; was impressed on how it is able to do the fancy smiley faces that are normally associated with I phones. The reception is better than our previous $100 android straight talk phones that were under Version towers as well. The flash for the 5.0 camera is what sold me now night or day our pictures are 100% better. The front camera isn't bad and comes in handy. If your looking for an upgrade without the high price tag the ZTE Majesty is definitely the way to go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I thought I had a great phone

08/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought I had a great phone,ZTE Z990G HORRIBLE PHONE, the calls where I lived was very clear. But then I began to get errors; I have sent this phone back 7times and each time they give you an replenish one...I can only download one app and sometime Facebook app you can't get the update. When trying to download it says insufficient storage. Low storage and I can't down load , then it freezes awful. This phone could be a great phone if they fix all the problems that comes with it. 3G seriously now really; I was told to go to Bigots and get some more GB I did 16 universal and still won't download..foolishness and I'm tire. I use this phone for home phone and traveling in car. To get another one I will be with out a phone for about 7 days or more. Just sad@ Straighttalk and Walmart PLEASE MAKE SURE THAT THESE PHONES OR THE BEST....FOLKS SPEND TOO MUCH MONEY FOR SUCH.....THANKS
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible Phone

12/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would never buy this phone. It started freezing constantly after 1 month and closing apps it also doesn't have any memory ... I can only download 4 apps. If I was you I wouldn't ever buy a ZTE phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Paper Weight

01/06/2014
By ,
Richmond VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Straight Talk ZTE Majesty phone roughly 20 days ago the first one I'm on the second one now and needless to say it's going back as well...
The first one would cut off and on by itself while I was in the middle of a call text or email to top it off I could have full service call the phone from another phone while it's in front of me and it wouldn't even ring or notify you there was a call coming in I tried to call several local number's and it would give me a message about international calls and not being able to make them.
After returning that phone I got another one the same phone as honestly I like the phone simple to use and it's not a bad price either well today makes day 2 of having the second phone and I was sending a text and it cut off and won't power back on so now I have to return this phone again and needless to say I'll be going with something different.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

GREAT PHONE SO FAR..

10/16/2013
By ,
wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i had the straight talk proclaim but after returning it twice with all of its technical difficulties and doing lots of research i decided to go with this phone and so far i'm pleased with it, one issue i had was the charging port is a little tight and didn't seemed to make a good connection but i forced it in a little further so far so good. Granted i just got it today but will be back later to give an update. but love how it works so far wish the cases and screen protectors come out REALLY SOON!! lesson learned on any phone you buy get Walmart's extra warranty. Also the screen isn't very sensitive to touch better to use your thumb than index finger
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

non reliable

12/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is constantly dropping calls and resetting itself in the middle of me using the phone!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love, Love, Love this Phone!!!!

03/10/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this phone through ST because it was $10 cheaper on their site. My husband wanted the S3 and I said oh no...That phone is way to high since we have to buy 2 new phones. I did all my research and decided to get the Majesty ZTE....OMG we both fell in love with it when we got it. The phone has alot of the same features as the S3. The screen size is nice and big. We both got outterbox cases to go with it and no one would know the difference in this prepaid phone and a contract phone...lol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone for the price

12/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone for my husbands birthday. He loves it. He said it's time he up grade lol.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Waste of money, do not buy insurance or this phone

12/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very excited to buy this phone, huge disappointment. I got the asurion insurance also waste of money. Paid 179.88 for Phone 39.00 for replacement insurance. I can't talk to anyone with the phone because they tell me I sound robotic, it will not go on wifi, even with putting in the information, just says searching for wifi. Well when I called the asurion to get it replaced or fixed they want me to pay an extra 29.00 to have them look at it. So I am stuck with a phone that doesn't work and insurance that doesn't work either. I will never buy insurance for a phone again and do not recommend this phone or the insurance..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible

06/15/2014
By ,
Woodland Park, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is a true piece of junk. It lasted one week before it started to fail. I was told by a Walmart employee told me that many people have returned these phones.
I wish I could rate it less than one star.
DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worse Straight talk phone ive ever had

11/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hesitated to buy this phone, and wished I would have listened to my gut. I placed many calls where the other party could not understand what I was saying. I had the phone for 2 months. I dropped it once, ruined the screen. A HUGE waste of money. It's looks nice and sleek, but don't let the looks fool you. I would not recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible phone

12/17/2014
By ,
Campbellsburg, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had the phone for 1 month... starting freezing and then eventually would not turn back on. Sent it to Straight talk and got a refurbished one as a replacement.... it was worse. The phone is freezing after a month of use, and now refuses to charge. Purchased a new battery... just to make sure that this wasn't the problem... not it is the phone. The place where you plug it into charge, is not stable.
Total waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 407 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  21 Next