Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.557 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(366 Reviews) 366
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
158
4 stars
75
3 stars
26
2 stars
27
1 star
80
Customer Recommendation68%250 out of 366reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
381 Questions | 705 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
158
4 stars
75
3 stars
26
2 stars
27
1 star
80
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

not a good phone

10/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not a good phone because i had it for a few months not even a year and it stopped charging
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Mine works great but......

11/11/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got a ZTE Savvy to see if the phone brand would actually work out at our house before ordering the Majesty. Since it worked I ordered the Majesty and was going to give my husband the Savvy. He decided he liked my Majesty phone better so I took the Savvy back after I found a somewhat local store that had the Majesty where we could just buy it on the spot.
Mine has been working great (ordered from ST) but we had to take his back. After only about 2-3 days of him having the phone the power button started getting sluggish....it would take 3-4 pushes to finally get the screen to come on and would also have to hold the power button about 6-8 seconds in order to get the phone to start up or pull up the shut down menu. The touch screen on his started also getting sluggish.
Will see how his does over the next 2 weeks and go from there but for now I've had mine 10 days so far and haven't had any complaints. We live out in the middle of nowhere and this phone gets BETTER service than my previous Samsung phone (Samsung and Motorola are usually about the only phones that work way out here). The battery life is also GREAT! With my previous phone I was having to charge it at night and many times during the day as well. I've been having to charge this phone every other night for the most part since I got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Possessed ZTE Majesty 796C

10/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I TRULY HATE THIS PHONE !!!!!!!This my second phone just thought the first one was a "DUD" but, the second one is worse. Did my research, talked to people that had the phone, and even played around with theres.But no one told me or nothing prepared me for this.Got the first n June (got the extened protection plan)took to back end of July and am taking it back again.Will not get another one even if it was givin to me. Service is the worse I've ever had, drops calls all the time. Talk to text is a must have for me due to a disease n my fingers n which typing is to hard and it takes to long but, with this phone I spend more time correcting the errors and misspellings that I avoid using it. Call one person in my contact list and it'll b sumone else n my contact list (that happens alot).Miss alot of calls and txt and voice messages. Guess the just go to the clouds how knows. Random stuff just pops up (turn phone on and #s, pics, txts r just on the display, sumtimes their hrs old sumtimes days old.Pic quality awesome but they wont txt email or download on my pc or any pc I've tried with same quality. Don't even want to talk about the video.The most annoying thing of all is the phone just turns off no reason just turns completely off.I know this phone is possessed and I'll never have another one or recommend this to anyone.If I can't get a different phone thru the service plan I purchased then I'll cut my loses and just purchase a new phone. I would not have rated this phone at all but I wasn't allowed to post with out rating it
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

My Fiance loves this phone.

10/07/2014
By ,
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My fiance says this is by far the best phone he has had. He loves the battery life, and I personally think the camera is really good. It never freezes, or locks up. It's a pretty fast phone for the money. I really don't understand the negative reviews on this phone, because there are really no cons. He is very happy with it :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst smartphone ever owned

10/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Warrantied twice now for call connection problems, same problem on both phones. Memory bound even with minimal apps installed. Responds to all inputs very slow after a few seconds like the processor is always to busy doing something else? My $99 android performed way better. Will never own another ZTE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C

07/31/2014
By ,
oxnard, calif
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had to buy a new phone since my last android sat in melted ice from a cup.:(..I miss my qwerty board as I suffer from FAT thumb syndrome. I must say I LOVE this phone, it does what I need it to do and if you compare the size of this to the Samsung Galaxy III...awesome! Love the price since it went on sale too!..yeehaw!..Good phone & budget friendly..way to go Straight Talk!...:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Unbelievably Tough

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone a couple of years and my eight year old dropped it on cement and cracked the screen all the way across it. Then my 2 year old knocked it out of my hand and shattered it. I put a screen protector over the glass to keep it from cutting my finger and keep using it while trying to decide if I should fix it or just get a new one. In the mean time, the 2 year old swam across our pool with it and handed it to me. I dried it out and it started working again. Then, I dropped it out of my purse in a parking lot where it stayed all night. I found it the next morning and it was on and I picked it up and used it. Like I said UNBELIEVABLY TOUGH!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone
10/14/2013
By ,
Northern Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the most part I like this phone. I have never used an android phone and was able to transition sort of easily. It would have been more helpful if there were a better users guide. I could not find anything besides the quick start manual even when I searched on line. Also it is cruddy to sell phones that have no accessories available yet. To invest in a phone and then find that you can not get screen protectors and cases for is disappointing. I'm scared I am going to drop it or scratch the screen. The cases which are presold out will not be shipped until Nov. first at the earliest. When I tried to connect to my computer I had to purchase an adaptor for the mini storage card and only figured this out after spending a large amount of time online looking for answers. I am assuming they will at some point come out with a program for the computer to interface with the phone....Would have thought they would have done that before they sold the phones. Having said that I am still giving it 4 stars because these seem like issues that will be addressed. I am completely satisfied with how the phone functions and feel it is a great deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Florence, SC.
you can add stuff
Posted 11/25/2013
you just have to add it to the right folder, and if you dnld "drop box" you wont have to take out the memory card, put it in the adaptor, plug the adaptor into the pc dnld them to the pc and reverse process...drop box automatically downloads them to a folder on your pc you dont have to do any thing, no buttons to push..just take a pic and for get about it..i have it on my samsung proclaim and love it!
0points
Customer Avatar
Northern Minnesota
Posted 10/19/2013
I did connect it to my computer, I could not add anything to the phone, not music, pictures, or contacts.
0points
Customer Avatar
jc
question
Posted 10/16/2013
Just wondering why didn't you use the usb to connect your phone to the computer?
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 69 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome phone!

10/13/2013
By ,
Ashland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the phone, so much better then my galaxy proclaim! Big screen, awesome screen quality just like those expensive phones but half the price. I would definitely recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great product, BUT do buy the product replacement.

12/09/2013
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the best straight talk phone and the price is great. The speed is awesome. I thought the camera took terrible pics until I realized that if you touch the screen it will auto focus. Now my pics are crystal clear and there is a flash!!!!! Best straight talk camera/pics phone!!! The speed is 5x faster than the Galaxy Centura which I gave to my boyfriend since he is upgrading from a flip phone. I've used unlocked AT&T IPhones w/straight talk & go phones but the best service you will get on straight talk is buying one of their phones and the best they've got. With my at&t unlocked Iphone I had problems w/getting signal & picture texts going through and data being slow. With straight talk phones and the better ones they have, I"ve never had any problems w/losing calls. My data is fast. The only problem I noticed with this phone is it feels like the screen has some issues. It feels like it is almost broken underneath or bubbly. I purchased the protection plan so if I have any problems I will just trade it in for the same product. If you want the fastest and the best and the newest then don't do straight talk. If you are like me and don't have to any of that and are suffice w/being able to text a lot & talk whenever and use several different apps then straight talk is for you because it is a great savings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Buyers Beware

10/07/2014
By ,
Roberta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The screen size was great BUT the speaker phone was poor. Even the earpiece without the speaker was distorted. Images were not good. Cost too much for poor quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Seemed like an Awesome phone!

09/25/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Started out like an awesome phone, but like every straight talk phone I've owned since 2009 they have all had several Glitches and this phone was no different. They all work great for the first couple weeks but shortly after that all the problems seem to start. On top of there pour quality phones, They're customer support is even worse. Every time you call your on the phone for no less then an hour waiting, and switching between agents because none of them seem to know what they are doing. I wish they would fix these issues. Until then very unhappy!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible

06/15/2014
By ,
Woodland Park, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is a true piece of junk. It lasted one week before it started to fail. I was told by a Walmart employee told me that many people have returned these phones.
I wish I could rate it less than one star.
DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

BLACK SCREEN

10/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've only owned the phone for about 6 hours. Once I made my first call I discovered the screen goes black during a call and you can't do anything about it!!! You can't hang up, turn on speaker switch calls, nothing!!!! Back camera is ok but the front camera is dark!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Posted 10/06/2014
Screen going dark is what happens when you move the phone to your ear. The proximity sensor shuts off the screen. This is so you do not press buttons with your ear. This is normal operation on every smartphone.
Screen will become active once again when you move the phone away from your ear.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 75 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I am disappointed

10/28/2013
By ,
Allentown, PA.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First the only comparison I have is to a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone was excellent, though a bit dated. The reception was only about as half as good as the above. The bluetooth connectivity connected well, but voice quality was terrible. Not just to my headset, but to both vehicles. The recipient couldn't understand me and at times I could not recognize the voice on the other end. Also while playing music through the Bluetooth, it would continue to pop and pause as if it was a record that was skipping (for those who remember this). I was advised to restore the phone. This was a waste of time. Conditions still existed. I called ZTE, they refused to talk to me. They said it was Straight Talk's problem. Talking to Straight Talk was as you know, useless. They continued to tell me to 'adjust the volume'. That was the first thing I tried. But I did notice after restoring the phone, I now had the ability to make short cuts for speed dialing. Interesting how that wasn't available before. Maybe I'll restore the phone for the 3rd time or give it back. On the positive side, the phone is very fast. It responds easily to every touch command and I've never had a hesitation or a freeze-up. The voice quality without the Bluetooth is very good. The volume is good. The music through wired headset is outstanding.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Don't take this phone back. I hope people read
Posted 05/19/2014
As this poster commented, when using Bluetooth, the quality of calls or playing music in your vehicle was awful. I just figured it out today. Turn off the wifi and everything is perfect. Calls and music flow without a pause. The guy that also said when he called his dad it was a terrible connection, turn off the wifi. (and Bluetooth, if you didn't shut it off) I thought I had a bad volume switch. The wifi interferes. I'm in heaven cause I was sad that this beautiful phone was going to go back to the store. Also, someone said that a big load of pictures downloaded to his phone and he couldn't delete them. He said he had a gmail account with pictures backed up and that the only thing he thought of doing was deleting the account. This happened to me, all of the pictures from my google+ account magically appeared. I tried to delete some of them, but couldn't figure how to do it. So I went into my photo back up on google+ and you can delete them from there, and you don't have to do them one by one, either. Click the check mark on the one's you don't want, and delete them. They will then disappear from your phone. New photos you take from the camera on your phone can also be deleted from your phone, as is the case if you download them from your computer. Hopes this helps people with these problems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 76 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Had Problems less than 2 months after purchase....

05/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased phone 3/9/14 along with extended service plan. Wi-Fi stopped working few days ago, does not read any Wi-Fi signal. Even tried doing a factory reset. Called straight talk and spoke with 3 different technicians who after going through over an hour of troubles shooting my settings (each person had me go over the same exact troubleshooting steps each time) only to have them tell me that there is no problem with my phone. I am familiar with setting up wi fi networks. The phone stopped reading wi fi networks. I had read many of the customer complaints about their service, but now I know about it first hand. If you decide to go ahead and purchase from them anyway, then I wish you good luck, because if you ever do run into a problem you will wish you had gone elsewhere.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
UPDATE 5/5/14
Posted 05/05/2014
The extended warranty people at Asurion were extremely helpful. They have agreed to refund the purchase price (minus a $29 service fee.) This still means that I am out the cost of the extended warranty for the phone ($51) along with the service fee. So in effect, I had use of the this phone for 2 months and it cost me $80. It would have been more of a loss had I not had the extended coverage. I would certainly suggest not buying a straight talk phone unless you get the extended coverage plan.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 77 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

WORST PHONE EVER!

09/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone on 4-12-2014. I didn't have a clue what I was getting into. This phone lags,drops calls if u even if you received them, drops internet connections, powers down and u won't know it,etc,etc,etc.. I called straight talk and they said they would send me a box to return it for a refurbished zte Majesty and I send my phone to them in the box and then, who knows how long, they will send the refurbished one to me. I called zte and they said,"Not their problem, its between me and straight talk." The phone had a "lag" connecting and so forth when I got it but I assumed a software update would fix it. Well, there is no software update in existence. The last update was around March-April of 2013. This phone has been nothing but a nightmare for me. I have done 3 full factory resets and I have to do it again already 30 days or less since last one. U have to use another phone to do it and I usually spend around 30 min each time. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!! I've been dealing with this for around 3-3-1/2 months I'm buying a different phone, probably a Samsung and changing providers as soon as I can. Thank you for reading my rant. It is long but I'm trying to help anyone avoid going through what I am. Peace and love to all except the ones mentioned in my rant.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DO NOT BUY
Posted 09/13/2014
I have the SAME problems. It shuts off all the time. People cannot hear me when I call. The screen goes black and takes forever to come back on after taking battery out. I set it down and it will shut off and restart. It has been a total nightmare!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 78 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for calls and texting...Only..

07/23/2014
By ,
Cocoa, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned the Straight Talk ZTE Merit for three years and this one is exactly the same model with a couple of changed tweaks. Poor design and many flaws. The troubles I had with the ZTE carried over to the Magesty. You cannot access the 1GB of internal memory. You only have 528 MB and Straight Talk WILL NOT open it for you. Also, it says you can use a memory card and download hundreds of apps. LOL yeah - My phone will only run two!!! Then I constantly get a low memory error even though I have a 16 GB sd card. It will not allow me to move the apps to the card. I've called straight talk countless times and countless times I've been told the same thing. Download apps that movable. As for game play. Forget it. You cannot play Facebook games on this phone because ST/Tracfone won't upgrade or let you upgrade their android system to allow the flash player needed to play games. Save your money and buy a better phone. Oh and they have replaced my phone 3 times with not NEW but refurbished phones.
Camera takes okay pictures but not the quality that they say it does. Not happy with ZTE phones at all... Do your homework and hold out.. Better will come...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for the price

08/23/2014
By ,
Burlignton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are not too worried about brand name, this phone will do almost anything you need. The picture quality is pretty good for me, but I don't know much about pictures. It does Netflix, Youtube, facebook, web surfing, games, music, Bluetooth and on the Straighttalk network its pretty fast. I definitely think its worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Perfect Phone

11/15/2013
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Android Straight Talk phone & by far the very best. The screen is very big & a godsend for those of us whose eyes aren't quite what they used to be. As for those complaining about the keyboard, download A.I. Keyboard from Google play & customize it. Any phone in portrait mode will have small keys, turn it to landscape & the keys are very large. You can put tons of apps & most will store to the SD card. My last phone, LG Extreme, did not store to card so the apps took up most of the memory & made the phone very slow. I have more apps on this phone than the old & there is no lag or wait time at all. I can hear much better on this phone. I was always turning up the volume on the other phones - not this one. Incoming calls are crystal clear.
I am deducting a 1/4 star because the ringtone & notification volume are one & the same - not independent. I prefer a loud ring & a soft notification. To solve that, I chose a very light notification & a custom ringtone from Zedge.
Chomp SMS worked perfectly on the LG but will not download MMS on this phone. This is more likely a Chomp issue & not the phone. I am using GOSMS PRO which is working fine. The stock SMS is just too boring.
As for those complaining about cases - there are tons of them available on Amazon. Mine is on the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RI
Update
Posted 04/29/2014
Phone suddenly stopped receiving wifi. Kept saying not in range even though I was standing right in front of the router. Straight talk was pretty much no help. Their only offer was to do a factory reset & if that did not work, send them the phone & they would send another upon receipt of defective one. That would keep me for at least a week or more with no phone. Opted for Sprint Framily plan - for the same $45/month I got a great phone that includes unlimited talk/text & 1 G of data with actual people who can help you in the store and I don't have to worry about reloading minutes every month.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
61-80 of 366 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  19 Next