Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.767 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(313 Reviews) 313
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
148
4 stars
70
3 stars
20
2 stars
24
1 star
51
Customer Recommendation74%232 out of 313reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
347 Questions | 652 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
148
4 stars
70
3 stars
20
2 stars
24
1 star
51
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone
10/14/2013
By ,
Northern Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the most part I like this phone. I have never used an android phone and was able to transition sort of easily. It would have been more helpful if there were a better users guide. I could not find anything besides the quick start manual even when I searched on line. Also it is cruddy to sell phones that have no accessories available yet. To invest in a phone and then find that you can not get screen protectors and cases for is disappointing. I'm scared I am going to drop it or scratch the screen. The cases which are presold out will not be shipped until Nov. first at the earliest. When I tried to connect to my computer I had to purchase an adaptor for the mini storage card and only figured this out after spending a large amount of time online looking for answers. I am assuming they will at some point come out with a program for the computer to interface with the phone....Would have thought they would have done that before they sold the phones. Having said that I am still giving it 4 stars because these seem like issues that will be addressed. I am completely satisfied with how the phone functions and feel it is a great deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Florence, SC.
you can add stuff
Posted 11/25/2013
you just have to add it to the right folder, and if you dnld "drop box" you wont have to take out the memory card, put it in the adaptor, plug the adaptor into the pc dnld them to the pc and reverse process...drop box automatically downloads them to a folder on your pc you dont have to do any thing, no buttons to push..just take a pic and for get about it..i have it on my samsung proclaim and love it!
0points
Customer Avatar
Northern Minnesota
Posted 10/19/2013
I did connect it to my computer, I could not add anything to the phone, not music, pictures, or contacts.
0points
Customer Avatar
jc
question
Posted 10/16/2013
Just wondering why didn't you use the usb to connect your phone to the computer?
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 62 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome phone!

10/13/2013
By ,
Ashland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the phone, so much better then my galaxy proclaim! Big screen, awesome screen quality just like those expensive phones but half the price. I would definitely recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone for the price

06/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works on the Verizon network
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

FANTASTIC

03/06/2014
By ,
maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing phone all the features of a $600.00 phone great service. NO ISSUES buy this phone you won't regret it !!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I am disappointed

10/28/2013
By ,
Allentown, PA.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First the only comparison I have is to a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone was excellent, though a bit dated. The reception was only about as half as good as the above. The bluetooth connectivity connected well, but voice quality was terrible. Not just to my headset, but to both vehicles. The recipient couldn't understand me and at times I could not recognize the voice on the other end. Also while playing music through the Bluetooth, it would continue to pop and pause as if it was a record that was skipping (for those who remember this). I was advised to restore the phone. This was a waste of time. Conditions still existed. I called ZTE, they refused to talk to me. They said it was Straight Talk's problem. Talking to Straight Talk was as you know, useless. They continued to tell me to 'adjust the volume'. That was the first thing I tried. But I did notice after restoring the phone, I now had the ability to make short cuts for speed dialing. Interesting how that wasn't available before. Maybe I'll restore the phone for the 3rd time or give it back. On the positive side, the phone is very fast. It responds easily to every touch command and I've never had a hesitation or a freeze-up. The voice quality without the Bluetooth is very good. The volume is good. The music through wired headset is outstanding.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Don't take this phone back. I hope people read
Posted 05/19/2014
As this poster commented, when using Bluetooth, the quality of calls or playing music in your vehicle was awful. I just figured it out today. Turn off the wifi and everything is perfect. Calls and music flow without a pause. The guy that also said when he called his dad it was a terrible connection, turn off the wifi. (and Bluetooth, if you didn't shut it off) I thought I had a bad volume switch. The wifi interferes. I'm in heaven cause I was sad that this beautiful phone was going to go back to the store. Also, someone said that a big load of pictures downloaded to his phone and he couldn't delete them. He said he had a gmail account with pictures backed up and that the only thing he thought of doing was deleting the account. This happened to me, all of the pictures from my google+ account magically appeared. I tried to delete some of them, but couldn't figure how to do it. So I went into my photo back up on google+ and you can delete them from there, and you don't have to do them one by one, either. Click the check mark on the one's you don't want, and delete them. They will then disappear from your phone. New photos you take from the camera on your phone can also be deleted from your phone, as is the case if you download them from your computer. Hopes this helps people with these problems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 66 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Perfect Phone

11/15/2013
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Android Straight Talk phone & by far the very best. The screen is very big & a godsend for those of us whose eyes aren't quite what they used to be. As for those complaining about the keyboard, download A.I. Keyboard from Google play & customize it. Any phone in portrait mode will have small keys, turn it to landscape & the keys are very large. You can put tons of apps & most will store to the SD card. My last phone, LG Extreme, did not store to card so the apps took up most of the memory & made the phone very slow. I have more apps on this phone than the old & there is no lag or wait time at all. I can hear much better on this phone. I was always turning up the volume on the other phones - not this one. Incoming calls are crystal clear.
I am deducting a 1/4 star because the ringtone & notification volume are one & the same - not independent. I prefer a loud ring & a soft notification. To solve that, I chose a very light notification & a custom ringtone from Zedge.
Chomp SMS worked perfectly on the LG but will not download MMS on this phone. This is more likely a Chomp issue & not the phone. I am using GOSMS PRO which is working fine. The stock SMS is just too boring.
As for those complaining about cases - there are tons of them available on Amazon. Mine is on the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RI
Update
Posted 04/29/2014
Phone suddenly stopped receiving wifi. Kept saying not in range even though I was standing right in front of the router. Straight talk was pretty much no help. Their only offer was to do a factory reset & if that did not work, send them the phone & they would send another upon receipt of defective one. That would keep me for at least a week or more with no phone. Opted for Sprint Framily plan - for the same $45/month I got a great phone that includes unlimited talk/text & 1 G of data with actual people who can help you in the store and I don't have to worry about reloading minutes every month.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 67 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Large bright screen

06/28/2014
By ,
in
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life has been good, and we use it Facebook a lot.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Smartphone for a low price

12/23/2013
By ,
Effingham, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is fast, has lots of apps that I run all at the same time and it does everything a smartphone needs to do! The only thing that went wrong was my music was playing at super fast high pitch speed. I made sure to turn my phone off and back on. I also got an app called Clean Master and it stops all running apps that are hogging memory up and deletes your cache and junk files. Now my music player works great. I have to say I am very impressed with this phone! The speaker is super loud. I don't know what everyone else is complaining about because my friends are jealous with how loud my music is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Don't waste your money

06/04/2014
By ,
McPherson, Ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is horrible! It turns off/on by itself several times a day, everyday. When I make a phone call I get complaints that I sound like I'm under water. I have to hang up and call back. The internal memory is horrible as well. I recommend spending the extra money on the Samsung Galaxy SIII. I recently purchased it plus a 32gb memory card. I take a lot of pictures. I've had it almost a week and LOVE it! I almost gave up on Straight Talk but now with a new/better phone, I'm glad I didn't. I will NEVER own a ZTE ever again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Shuts off, constant updating, rip-off service plan

06/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like a few other reviewers I too have tried to like this phone. It is my first Straight Talk phone. Many times in the middle of doing something it will just shut off (power down) for no reason. It is also constantly updating aps without my permission (could be some setting I'm not aware of), but many times after trying to update it will inform me that there is not enough memory to update certain aps. The final straw was the service plan. I bought the 2 year service plan for 39.00. Now six months later I dropped the phone and broke the screen. I called the service plan number to get it fixed. The said I had to pay 29.00 to file a claim, they said as of August of 2013 all phones over 150.00 have to pay to file a claim, so although not happy about this I did it. They e-mailed me a UPS label, I shipped it a week ago and they just got the phone yesterday. Now they tell me that it will take 3 days to "inspect" my phone. They also tell me that my phone is out of stock so after my phone is inspected they will have to send me a gift card for the amount of the phone plus tax, even though my plan paperwork says they will send me a new phone. Okay fine I can work with that; HOWEVER, the 39.00 2 year plan I bought six months ago does not transfer to the new phone I will have to buy, I have to purchase another 39.00 plan because it will be a new phone. How convenient for them, not too happy about this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Paper Weight

01/06/2014
By ,
Richmond VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Straight Talk ZTE Majesty phone roughly 20 days ago the first one I'm on the second one now and needless to say it's going back as well...
The first one would cut off and on by itself while I was in the middle of a call text or email to top it off I could have full service call the phone from another phone while it's in front of me and it wouldn't even ring or notify you there was a call coming in I tried to call several local number's and it would give me a message about international calls and not being able to make them.
After returning that phone I got another one the same phone as honestly I like the phone simple to use and it's not a bad price either well today makes day 2 of having the second phone and I was sending a text and it cut off and won't power back on so now I have to return this phone again and needless to say I'll be going with something different.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I really do Love this phone even though it is 3G

02/27/2014
By ,
So. Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been extremely happy and surprised about this phones functions. Yes it is 3G but with the 1.2 GHZ it responds smoothly. Very responsive, beautiful screen, great looking photos and I can watch Netflix. Netflix will at times lag but no phone is perfect. I didn't want an iphone since I have an ipod touch5. The 4.5" screen is just perfect. Fits right into my back pocket.
I have checked out the more expensive phones such as LG G2, Moto Droid, Samsung S4 and still would rather have the Majesty. If the Majesty came in 4G it would then be perfect. 3G is very fast compared to the 800 MHZ low end smartphones.
So yes, I highly recommend the ZTE Majesty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Not worth price.

05/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have straight talk and have nothing but good things to say about their service. However this phone is horrible. The camera is horrible. The phone randomly shuts off. After only 6 months I lost sound. I can hear when talking but there is no sound when phone rings or I get a text message. Do not buy this phone.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sounds unbelievable
Posted 06/12/2014
Straight talk's service is great, maybe customer service isn't (I haven't had to call them), the phone is wonderful, the camera takes great pictures, and the sound is just fine. I play my music through my car radio thru bluetooth, it's great! Is your ringer turned down? Did you go into the notifications area and set the tones you wanted? Did you get a lemon and try another phone? My only complaint is now I can buy this phone $30 cheaper. Oh well, this is a great phone!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 74 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great smartphone at the price

10/08/2013
By ,
Danville PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this last night, it was better than i expected. i love how it's big size its easier to type and see things better when its a big size. I would RECOMMEND for all of you to get this phone if you would like smartphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Pretty decent smartphone

05/03/2014
By ,
SW Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had the Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone for almost two weeks. I like its capabilities and am hoping it lasts for a long period of time. I wanted a 4 1/2 inch screen as that makes it easier to read and to peck out notes on the keyboard.
I could not find a cover/case at Walmart for this phone, but had to order one from Amazon. That is why I am rating it a 4 and not a 5 star. This is my second Android phone and like the fact that it has a recent version of the operating system. This allows the phone to serve as a miniature version of my 10" work tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome phone for the money!!

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is awesome for the money you spend......big as a Samsung Galaxy 3, super clear screen, easy to read, the only problem was speaker phone volume would go high and low...replaced phone and this one works great!!! Would get another if needed to.......LOVE IT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Wow!

10/29/2013
By ,
carmi, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! I had a Proclaim and it works good and still have it as a backup...however I wanted something bigger and this was it!! This phone is a great price and looks like a Galaxy. I hope it lasts a long time. Make sure to big a replacement plan in case you need it down the road. vTakes good pics and ring sounds are loud and clear. Light indicator on front of phone to let you know there is a message or email. Has every option the description says it has plus more. Pretty cool phone! I highly recommend it. Can't go wrong with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good size phone, easy to learn, top of the line features, worth every penny. Have sure enjoyed it and everything about Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

GREAT PHONE SO FAR..

10/16/2013
By ,
wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i had the straight talk proclaim but after returning it twice with all of its technical difficulties and doing lots of research i decided to go with this phone and so far i'm pleased with it, one issue i had was the charging port is a little tight and didn't seemed to make a good connection but i forced it in a little further so far so good. Granted i just got it today but will be back later to give an update. but love how it works so far wish the cases and screen protectors come out REALLY SOON!! lesson learned on any phone you buy get Walmart's extra warranty. Also the screen isn't very sensitive to touch better to use your thumb than index finger
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great specs, but big problems...

11/08/2013
By ,
Twin Cities, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm on my 2nd Majesty in just a few days...and it's going back to the store too. Here's why:
I'm a long-time Straight Talk customer. I decided that I wanted to switch from the T-Mobile network phone I'd been using to a Verizon network phone, to get better coverage...so this seemed like the phone to get. It's specs are wonderful for a phone in this price range. My brother has an LG Showtime, which is a nice phone, but this phone is actually slightly better (in specs, anyway), and slightly cheaper...so I went to give it a try. Picked one up at Walmart and switched my service.
In the day that I had that first phone active, it spontaneously rebooted at least 6 times. Also, the screen was noticably less vibrant than the Samsung Galaxy Relay that it was replacing...I even tried a couple screen adjustment apps, but it just didn't have the color vibrancy there to work with. If you never saw a better screen, you probably wouldn't care...but it's definitely an issue.
Based mostly on the rebooting issue, I returned that Majesty and got a 2nd one. Have been using it for a couple days now. The good news is that it hasn't rebooted itself once. The bad news is that it doesn't charge well - and let me expand on that a bit. I ran the battery down playing some basic games on it, and got the battery warning. No big deal...I just plugged it in and kept playing my games. Then I got a 2nd battery warning, and shortly thereafter the phone died. I let it charge back up a bit and tried again...died again. I went through several cycles of this to make sure it wasn't a fluke - the fact of the matter is that it charges slower than it drains the battery if you're doing anything on the phone...even just reading news. You have to leave the phone completely alone to get any net charge into the battery at all. Otherwise you're draining the battery faster than it charges, and it will still die.
Also, on that same issue, leaving the phone charging all night while I sleep does not result in a 100% charged battery - it gets to maybe 75% overnight. *Maybe* if you turned the phone off while it was charging, it would get to 100% overnight...but that defeats the purpose of having a phone, and being accessible if someone needs to get ahold of you.
And the issue with the screen is the same on the 2nd as on the 1st...same lack of vivid colors, especially noticeable when playing a game...which is when you kind of really want your colors to be vivid. So that seems to be simply the way it is. Again, if you aren't used to a better screen you may not notice. If you are accustomed to a better screen, you may find it annoying.
Other than that...I really want to like this phone. Processing speed is good. Screen size is good. Onscreen keyboard is good. Really, everything else seems to be good...and I could probably live with the sub-par screen if it wasn't for this charging issue, which is really kind of a deal-breaker.
So this one is going back to the store too. I'm conflicted about trying a 3rd Majesty...may or may not at this point. We'll see. On the whole, at the moment I really can't recommend the phone to anyone because of these issues. A phone that reboots all the time is useless, as is a phone that refuses to charge properly. No matter how good the rest of it's features are.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 313 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  16 Next