Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.93 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(244 Reviews) 244
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
51
3 stars
14
2 stars
18
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation77%189 out of 244reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
288 Questions | 496 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
51
3 stars
14
2 stars
18
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

HORRIBLE, one problem after another, tried 2 phons

04/01/2014
By ,
Buffalo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HORRIBLE! I WANT to love this phone, love what it can offer but too many issues. Camera and camcorder would freeze and texting from right side of screen would freeze, couldn't backspace consistently to correct type. I exchanged 1st one for another same phone and 2nd one ended up having issue where callers could not hear me unless I put it on speaker phone, this was 3 days after I got it...then lost ability to connect to the house wifi it was able to prior....many other devices and phones in the house continue to connect without trouble I don't know how it is so highly rated because that is why I went with this phone but if you google the camera, texting freeze, speaker problem and wifi problem there are SOOOO many people who have these complaints so I know its not just me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone
10/14/2013
By ,
Northern Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the most part I like this phone. I have never used an android phone and was able to transition sort of easily. It would have been more helpful if there were a better users guide. I could not find anything besides the quick start manual even when I searched on line. Also it is cruddy to sell phones that have no accessories available yet. To invest in a phone and then find that you can not get screen protectors and cases for is disappointing. I'm scared I am going to drop it or scratch the screen. The cases which are presold out will not be shipped until Nov. first at the earliest. When I tried to connect to my computer I had to purchase an adaptor for the mini storage card and only figured this out after spending a large amount of time online looking for answers. I am assuming they will at some point come out with a program for the computer to interface with the phone....Would have thought they would have done that before they sold the phones. Having said that I am still giving it 4 stars because these seem like issues that will be addressed. I am completely satisfied with how the phone functions and feel it is a great deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Florence, SC.
you can add stuff
Posted 11/25/2013
you just have to add it to the right folder, and if you dnld "drop box" you wont have to take out the memory card, put it in the adaptor, plug the adaptor into the pc dnld them to the pc and reverse process...drop box automatically downloads them to a folder on your pc you dont have to do any thing, no buttons to push..just take a pic and for get about it..i have it on my samsung proclaim and love it!
0points
Customer Avatar
Northern Minnesota
Posted 10/19/2013
I did connect it to my computer, I could not add anything to the phone, not music, pictures, or contacts.
0points
Customer Avatar
jc
question
Posted 10/16/2013
Just wondering why didn't you use the usb to connect your phone to the computer?
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 43 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Really nice phone.

01/16/2014
By ,
Etowah, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone as a Christmas gift to myself. It replaced a Samsung Proclaim. The Proclaim was a simple, yet reliable and decent phone. However, the Majesty just is miles ahead of it. This phone truly is a smart phone. My grandson has an S3 Samsung, my neighbor has an I5, and they both love my phone. This phone does all theirs does, yet it cost less than half of what they paid. And they are paying more than double what I am paying to run their phones, with less data available to them. This phone runs off Verizon towers, and all the calls have been very clear on both ends. Battery life is twice at least from what the Proclaim was( my only issue with that phone). I run a major softball league, and syncing 300 contacts via g-mail to the phone was a breeze.
I have been with Straight Talk now 3 years. No real problems. Sometimes difficult to understand their Customer Reps, but not really an issue to me. They are always so polite and
attempting to be helpful. Have had very little problems with the service itself.
I would reccomend this phone and service to anyone who asks. Will soon be getting one for my wife. I am a 69 yo senior, who had no trouble learning or using this phone. If you are out of your contract, go with Straight Talk, and this phone.
tmh411
Etowah, NC
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Beyond my expectations.

02/12/2014
By ,
State College, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I purchased this phone I figured there would be some bugs to work out. I was pleasantly surprised to find none. I am not electronically inclined so I was expecting to have to have my son and friends show me repeatedly how to use everything on it. I could not believe how easy this phone is to use. I recommend this phone to anyone who wants a phone that is easy to navigate and actually a joy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome phone!

10/13/2013
By ,
Ashland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the phone, so much better then my galaxy proclaim! Big screen, awesome screen quality just like those expensive phones but half the price. I would definitely recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone, painful Straight Talk communication

01/05/2014
By ,
06374
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ZTE is a great phone, nice features and decent battery. Creating the Straight Talk account, porting a number, communication with tech support is painful...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This phone has some serious flaws

04/02/2014
By ,
Phoenix az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had several prepaid phones using straight talk's verizon network with zero problems. That is, until I purchased this phone. The signal is horrible and I've never had so many dropped calls. The phone's display with show 3g, but as soon as you make/receive a call, the signal drops to 1x and will then drop the call half the time. The Wifi is also a constant problem. It has trouble reconnecting automatically to my saved networks (I have to turn it off and back on). The Wifi also interferes with bluetooth data and music streaming. If you want to stream music via bluetooth to another device, you have to turn the wifi off or your audio will sound like a CD skipping. This phone is BUNK, especially for the money (I paid $180).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

product very good

03/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this phone. I use it every single day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Wont charge

04/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I upgraded phones for more memory because that was what I was told why my old phone kept crashing. This phone keeps doing the same thing crashes and i only had it a little over a week I wont receive txts, and when it died and i plugged it into the charger it started blinking the red light like my old phone did. so i did the normal unplug take battery out plug it back it and then place the battery in for it to charge. I am returning this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

love it!

03/23/2014
By ,
Farmington, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Big screen, lots of features, easy to use and the prepaid price is so much better than contract prices with all the hidden fees!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone if you don't want to text

04/16/2014
By ,
Clearfield, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hello all. I received my first ZTE Majesty for Christmas and when I was texting on it, it was inserting crazy symbols that showed on the other persons screen but not on my own. (example. when I text someone saying "hey how are you doing" it looks right on my screen with no weird symbols, but on their screen it looks more like "&####*Hey&how are you&@!&*#doing" Nothing like having friends & family believing I was using this kind of language.
Since I really liked the phone and figured this was just a fluke, I returned the phone for a new one #same model...ZTE Majesty#. The new phone is doing the exact same thing. Because this is a random issue it takes awhiles before someone makes you aware they are receiving texts like this #sometimes because they are upset with me, because they thought I was swearing at them#, or I would have returned this phone for money back but it was past the number of days to return to WalMart.
I have tried texting various people, all with different phones and carriers and it does the same thing every time, so I know its an issue with MY PHONE! I have turned off all keyboard options trying to fix this #spell corrector, word predictor, auto caps etc#
I have even tried contacting the company ZTE by emailing zteuse.com/support ... they asked for the purchase date, serial #, contact # and best time of day to contact me #which is evenings because I work#, at first they tried the same problem solving ideas Straighttalk did, then said they would have to have a technician higher up contact me. One time I received a voicemail during the day I was at work from them. I tried calling the number back, but could not because it was an international/overseas number. So I tried calling the toll free # left in the voice mail, all that person could do was take a message for the technican to return my call...I have never heard back from them. I have tried replying back to the emails, requesting a call / assistance ... I received a reply stating they would notify the technican, but I still have never received a call.
I have called straighttalk several times; at first they would try to problem solve by reprogramming the phone, sending new download to phone and resetting back to original factory setting....which of course I would never know didn't work until someone would comment or get upset because they thought I was swearing at them in a text. Now Straight talk won't even try to resolve the issue...they claim it's not my phone but the person#s# phone I am texting problem. Yeah right everyone else has a problem in the world, but my phone!! Last night I posted this phone issue Strighttalks Facebook; asking it anyone else has had this issue or if anyone had any suggestions of what to try...Straighttalk deleted it. By the way Straighttalk dialing *22890 and sending 1 text does not fix the issue when the issue is happening randomly...which I have tried telling you since the end of December!!!!!
At this point I just want the phone fixed or want them to give me a different phone equal to the phone I have.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone

03/23/2014
By ,
mcminnville tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had this phone for a few days, I really like it. The phone is everything it says it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Poor Reception

03/29/2014
By ,
Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this phone and switched from Net10 to Straight Talk, assuming that it would work wonderfully because my husband and daughter both have ST phones that are both Androids and work just fine here in our area. Unfortunately, I had to take the first one back and now I am going to have to take the second one back as well. I just don't understand how my husband's and daughter's phones work just fine, but this one which is way more expensive than the ones they have is having so many reception issues. I hear people talking but they say I sound like I'm under water. I get calls dropped. Texts are not going through. I hate this phone for this reason alone! If it weren't for that I think the phone would be okay.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Grate phone one small thing.

03/01/2014
By ,
Altus, oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the phones grate!! I don't like the front facing camera that well. it makes everything look dark. the one on the other side is better. it would be even better if it had a button on the side for the camera. it would help the phone not to shake so much when taking the picture. since I ordered it on line, the phone came with a free memory card 4 gig. I reckon its worth the money. $180.00 plus tax. I also got a 1 year service card for about $450.00 and a 2 year service protection plan for $50.00 all together was around $750.00 give or take. but no monthly payments because the 1 year service card provides for 12 months of prepaid service. if you buy on line like I did at walmart.com then I would print your e.mails and save them, also save you inbox messages. you might need them if something happens to your phone and you need it replaced.
I LOVE the wake up alarm!! you can put you phone on silent so not to get a disturbing calls or text messages while you sleep and it will still go off and wake you up. also the calendar is grate. it has 3 different was you can view and add events it also has alarms and multi reminders to make sure you don't forget your event. lots of other grate features and you can download apps of your choice. if this phone had a better front facing camera and a side button for the camera I would give it a 5 star rating.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleveland, OH
Camera
Posted 03/12/2014
You can touch the screen to auto focus your shot. Use the volume rocker button and it will act like a shutter release.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 55 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

very good for the price!

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this phone for a month and a half now and I love it. I was pleased with the price and the features. Sometimes the response is laggy but other then that no real issues. My biggest problem was actually getting the phone. Walmart site to store delayed it twice and I didn't get any apologies or explanations as to why it was delayed. Next time I'll just buy directly from straight talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

First time for a non brand phone

02/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little worried about buying this phone because I never bought a phone that wasn't Samsung or LG or something like that. So I read the reviews and there were alot of good reviews about it. I wanted to buy it. I did and I love it. It works better than my Samsung phone did. I love the big screen and it takes great pictures. Great Phone!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

5 Stars for Now!!

10/18/2013
By ,
Anniston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered it yesterday at 2 pm CST, it arrived this morning before 11 am CST. HAPPY :-)
Easy to activate and charges quickly. HAPPY :-)
FINALLY, I have service at my home (live in a rural area). Verizon is the only provider that has service where I live. VERY VERY HAPPY! :-)
Sleek, good looking phone. (No car charger).
For now, I give it 5 stars. I will update in a few weeks.
No contract, full service, unlimited everything, $49 per month (and includes tax.) ! HAPPY :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jc
just want to know
Posted 10/19/2013
how did you get it so Quick? did u order it online or live close by the warehouse? because I ordered it and it says 5 to 7 days for delivery at my store! gee I wish I knew how you got it that fast. thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 58 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great smartphone at the price

10/08/2013
By ,
Danville PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this last night, it was better than i expected. i love how it's big size its easier to type and see things better when its a big size. I would RECOMMEND for all of you to get this phone if you would like smartphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Plenty of "little" problems, consistently

04/01/2014
By ,
Brainerd, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My family purchased 2 of these phones. The purchases were about a week apart in November 2013 and from different Walmart stores. Both of us have the same ongoing problems with the phones. 1) When trying to make calls the dialer pad disappears. 2) It will randomly restart. 3) Calls randomly dropped. 4) Incoming caller unable to hear us answer. Seemingly insignificant but occur randomly but consistently between the two phones. We continue to use them with StraightTalk because of the value of the service package. Once the "mainstream" droids become more affordable/compatible with StraightTalk we certainly will change phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great specs, but big problems...

11/08/2013
By ,
Twin Cities, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm on my 2nd Majesty in just a few days...and it's going back to the store too. Here's why:
I'm a long-time Straight Talk customer. I decided that I wanted to switch from the T-Mobile network phone I'd been using to a Verizon network phone, to get better coverage...so this seemed like the phone to get. It's specs are wonderful for a phone in this price range. My brother has an LG Showtime, which is a nice phone, but this phone is actually slightly better (in specs, anyway), and slightly cheaper...so I went to give it a try. Picked one up at Walmart and switched my service.
In the day that I had that first phone active, it spontaneously rebooted at least 6 times. Also, the screen was noticably less vibrant than the Samsung Galaxy Relay that it was replacing...I even tried a couple screen adjustment apps, but it just didn't have the color vibrancy there to work with. If you never saw a better screen, you probably wouldn't care...but it's definitely an issue.
Based mostly on the rebooting issue, I returned that Majesty and got a 2nd one. Have been using it for a couple days now. The good news is that it hasn't rebooted itself once. The bad news is that it doesn't charge well - and let me expand on that a bit. I ran the battery down playing some basic games on it, and got the battery warning. No big deal...I just plugged it in and kept playing my games. Then I got a 2nd battery warning, and shortly thereafter the phone died. I let it charge back up a bit and tried again...died again. I went through several cycles of this to make sure it wasn't a fluke - the fact of the matter is that it charges slower than it drains the battery if you're doing anything on the phone...even just reading news. You have to leave the phone completely alone to get any net charge into the battery at all. Otherwise you're draining the battery faster than it charges, and it will still die.
Also, on that same issue, leaving the phone charging all night while I sleep does not result in a 100% charged battery - it gets to maybe 75% overnight. *Maybe* if you turned the phone off while it was charging, it would get to 100% overnight...but that defeats the purpose of having a phone, and being accessible if someone needs to get ahold of you.
And the issue with the screen is the same on the 2nd as on the 1st...same lack of vivid colors, especially noticeable when playing a game...which is when you kind of really want your colors to be vivid. So that seems to be simply the way it is. Again, if you aren't used to a better screen you may not notice. If you are accustomed to a better screen, you may find it annoying.
Other than that...I really want to like this phone. Processing speed is good. Screen size is good. Onscreen keyboard is good. Really, everything else seems to be good...and I could probably live with the sub-par screen if it wasn't for this charging issue, which is really kind of a deal-breaker.
So this one is going back to the store too. I'm conflicted about trying a 3rd Majesty...may or may not at this point. We'll see. On the whole, at the moment I really can't recommend the phone to anyone because of these issues. A phone that reboots all the time is useless, as is a phone that refuses to charge properly. No matter how good the rest of it's features are.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 244 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next