Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.48 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(427 Reviews) 427
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
181
4 stars
81
3 stars
30
2 stars
32
1 star
103
Customer Recommendation66%280 out of 427reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
416 Questions | 750 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
181
4 stars
81
3 stars
30
2 stars
32
1 star
103
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love this phone

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone before for almost $200. I dropped it and went to order another one because I liked it so much and realized it was $100 cheaper! Great phone and great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

not a great phone...

01/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had my ZTE Majesty about a little over a month and i have had several problems with it. 1: i had to uninstall and reinstall all of my apps more than once, due to it bugging my system. 2: I live less than 5 miles away from the nearest cell tower, in order for me to get 3 out of 6 3G bars, I have to be in eye sight of the tower or I get nothing... and I live in an area where cell towers are hard to spot... let alone the weather is a big problem... one cloud in the sky and I am in a dead zone. 3: The battery is worthless... i have one app running with airplane mode on... and the phone dies in 3 hours. 4: The camera is also useless. 5: I can only make calls when the signal bars are blue, when they are gray, even when it says I have 3G I can't do anything.
The only use this thing is good for is looks and letting a 5 year old play with, because you don't have to worry about them getting on the internet for they can't get a signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Too bad ST doesn't know that when the wifi is on,
Posted 05/19/2014
Calls are clear, music clear if you turn off the wifi
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 43 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

tacky z

02/09/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is good in size and screen, but it stalls too much.
It freezes up, while in the middle of anything I'm doing on it.
Sometimes the screen will be blank when receiving a call.
Oh yea, it also freezes up on incoming calls and not able to answer.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Very happy with this phone!

10/13/2013
By ,
Burlington, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my husband a few days ago, after finally convincing him to get rid of his dumb phone (verizon prepaid) and get a smart phone. I have the Optimus Showtime for Straight Talk, but now I'm a little jealous of his phone. It's larger than mine and has a faster processor. The ZTE Majesty also works on Verizon towers, which is a big plus for us. It also has a flash and zoom on the camera, and Android 4.1, which I didn't expect for the low price. I hope cases are available soon!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
 
 
 
 
 
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sedalia, mo
If your interested
Posted 11/27/2013
I found several cases for this phone on amazon I got a pacakage deal with one for $3.97 it also comes with a screen protector
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 45 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone for the price

10/19/2013
By ,
NE Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased last night; had a Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim prior.
Larger screen, faster processor, Android 4.1.2 and has more internal memory than the Proclaim (4GB ROM, 768MB RAM; 2GB ROM 512MB RAM with the Proclaim). Comes with an external 4gb microSD card for your photos, etc.; up to 32GB microSD accepted.
Doesn't come with Swype installed as the Proclaim did, but Google Play does have Swype Free (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nuance.swype.trial&hl=en) and Swype full (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nuance.swype.dtc&hl=en) version for $0.99.
Also recommended is Nova Launcher (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.teslacoilsw.launcher&hl=en) for your customized launcher; allows for multiple docks at the bottom, etc. Free download, but more features with the purchased version; $4.99.
One issue I had was the use of customize sounds; alarms, notifications, and ringtones. Phone easily connects to your computer, but if you want to use these, (I know, sounds odd) copy them to the "Music Folder" on your SD Card. When you want to change to a different notification/alarm/ringtone, select the Music tab at the top and your sounds will show up here.
Other issue (not with the phone) I've found is the lack of cases and screen protectors; they're non-existent currently. I'm sure there'll be more options as time goes on, you just have to wait for them to come out.
Overall, very happy with this phone thus far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

ZTE Majesty

02/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good smart phone for the money, but could have more storage
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Easy on the Brain

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have had no problems with this phone. Battery lasts at least 2 days with out worry. very easy to you
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Bad Phone

02/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had so many problems with this phone. So bad, I want to go back to my blackberry. I like how the screen is bigger. That's why I got it. But it will restart for no reason. Whenever I make calls to my mom or friends, they say I sound like a robot, or I'm under water. I would have to call them back. Now I'm having problems with it saying no internet connection. But my data is on. I can't even make calls. Which isn't good because I need to have something to where work or my family can get a hold of me. I am very disappointed in the phone. It wasn't cheap either.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Best Straight Talk Phone

10/13/2013
By ,
owatonna minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been with straight talk for a few yrs now and out of all the phones that I have had through them, this one is the best, by far. I love all the features of this phone, and I love that it is a big phone, its easier to handle and to text that way. Its about time straight talk comes out with a great phone, that doesn't cost an arm and a leg. Dont waste your time on the other phones. Buy this phone. U won't be sorry.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
las vegas
speak my text into the phone?
Posted 03/27/2014
on my current phone, i can just tap the microphone and speak into it and the phone will type out my text and email. does this phone do that too?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 50 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Seriously a JOKE!!!

10/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ok so I bought this phone cause I wanted to upgrade from the one I had...WORST MISTAKE EVER! I have had it for like 3 months at the MAX! At first the phone was great don't get me wrong but now I can be playing a game or even on the phone and my phone randomly shuts itself off with no warning even with a fully charged battery......Once I get the money saved up I WILL BE BUYING A NEW PHONE!!
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I Was So Excited, Until.....

07/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to see an affordable smart phone offered by straight talk that had better specs and finally a larger touchscreen. But after puchasing this phone I immediately noticed low very low speaker volume that came out of the phone. I quickly returned the phone for an exchenge thinking there was a defect with that particular phone. Upon receiving the second phone I found the same problem to exisit. This phone also has a tendency to freeze up and you have to remove the battery to get a good reset. This is a good example of quality sometimes comes at a price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good

02/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best phone I've had so far has everything I want in a phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk

11/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like this phone, but will not keep it . While Wal-mart does a great job in electronics and has knowledgeable associates , Straight Talk is not customer friendly nor will they resolve issues when it is clearly an issue with their service.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Doesn't charge well, lost screen use within 6 week

02/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone as a Christmas gift. It would not totally charge within a couple weeks. Now the week of Feb. 15th the screen went black. It still works, but can't see anything. Going to have to buy another one!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Need more then 4GB SD card! and other issues ...

02/05/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this phone in August of 2014 and only had it for five months. Not sure if it was my fault that it broke because I always dropped it or because of an unsafe app that I had and a virus got to my phone before I could save it. Occasionally you will get an air bubble if you sit on it but you just had to squeeze the sides to slowing force the air out. The reason why I say you need a bigger memory card is that the pre installed apps take up most of the phone's memory so I strongly suggest you purchase an 8GB SD card for other apps like FB, IG, Netflix etc. and move them to the SD card. Also I suggest you download "CM Security" to help manage unwanted RAM, Junk files and has ANTIVIRUS. Also the CM security can locate your phone if you loose it. Ummm ... camera quality is kind of good but it's fair. I barely found out that you can take panoramic pictures but you have to keep the phone steady or picture comes out choppy. I liked the LED light when using video mode because the light was bright and was used as a flash light. taking pictures with flash does not come out good and the front facing camera is bad. Videos were good close up but for long range the quality was bad. Sound quality was good for me. I WILL BE PURCHASING THIS PHONE AGAIN BE CAUSE I LOVED IT AND IT FIT ME BUT REMEMBER ALL PHONES DO GET VIRUSES SO REMEMBER 'CM SEECURITY" ... oh and the phone restarts randomly but all straight talk phones do that.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Mine works great but......

11/11/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got a ZTE Savvy to see if the phone brand would actually work out at our house before ordering the Majesty. Since it worked I ordered the Majesty and was going to give my husband the Savvy. He decided he liked my Majesty phone better so I took the Savvy back after I found a somewhat local store that had the Majesty where we could just buy it on the spot.
Mine has been working great (ordered from ST) but we had to take his back. After only about 2-3 days of him having the phone the power button started getting sluggish....it would take 3-4 pushes to finally get the screen to come on and would also have to hold the power button about 6-8 seconds in order to get the phone to start up or pull up the shut down menu. The touch screen on his started also getting sluggish.
Will see how his does over the next 2 weeks and go from there but for now I've had mine 10 days so far and haven't had any complaints. We live out in the middle of nowhere and this phone gets BETTER service than my previous Samsung phone (Samsung and Motorola are usually about the only phones that work way out here). The battery life is also GREAT! With my previous phone I was having to charge it at night and many times during the day as well. I've been having to charge this phone every other night for the most part since I got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

A GREAT PHONE for the money

11/22/2013
By ,
Eastern North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd Straight Talk phone from Straight Talk, got a much cheaper one to try straight talk before I switched from my local cell service to straight talk. My 1st phone had very very little memory. Anyway I tried straight talk for the 1st month and had no issues what so ever so I made the purchase of the ZTE Majesty which I have fallen in love with. It has all the perks that the high dollar phones have for much cheaper, my only problem was this was a brand new phone and I could not find any covers for it so as of this date the new covers have just come out for this phone which mine just arrived on Nov 20th and I love it even more. I liked straight talk so much that we have now bought my wife a new phone and gone with straight talk. We even have a much much better coverage than our local cell service had. We even took a day trip down to the beach a few days ago and my wife stayed on the phone the entire time and never lost service (which my old cell service we had several areas where we lost service) also wanted to add that the few times we have had to call into customer service it has also been wonderful and fast. As for us here in Eastern North Carolina straight talk is the way to go much cheaper than the locals and a better service..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SC
Covers for cell phone
Posted 04/11/2014
You can now find Straight talk ZTE Majesty 796C accessories @ Amazon.com. Many covers, hard back, rubberized and other accessories available. I also purchase a pen and car charge for a very good price.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 58 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Really nice phone.

01/16/2014
By ,
Etowah, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone as a Christmas gift to myself. It replaced a Samsung Proclaim. The Proclaim was a simple, yet reliable and decent phone. However, the Majesty just is miles ahead of it. This phone truly is a smart phone. My grandson has an S3 Samsung, my neighbor has an I5, and they both love my phone. This phone does all theirs does, yet it cost less than half of what they paid. And they are paying more than double what I am paying to run their phones, with less data available to them. This phone runs off Verizon towers, and all the calls have been very clear on both ends. Battery life is twice at least from what the Proclaim was( my only issue with that phone). I run a major softball league, and syncing 300 contacts via g-mail to the phone was a breeze.
I have been with Straight Talk now 3 years. No real problems. Sometimes difficult to understand their Customer Reps, but not really an issue to me. They are always so polite and
attempting to be helpful. Have had very little problems with the service itself.
I would reccomend this phone and service to anyone who asks. Will soon be getting one for my wife. I am a 69 yo senior, who had no trouble learning or using this phone. If you are out of your contract, go with Straight Talk, and this phone.
tmh411
Etowah, NC
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone!

11/03/2013
By ,
Unicoi, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had Straight Talk for a couple years now, moved from a Droid with Verizon to a Samsung Precedent, the most up-to-date phone ST had at the time. I sorely missed the big screen and the updated android OS I'd gotten used to. The ZTE is awesome! It runs quick, has a sturdy feel, a big screen, and I love that I have a ST phone with android 4.1OS. There are no cases for it yet, but I've found that cases for the ZTE Source fit perfectly. I would highly recommend this phone to anyone, especially those paying at least twice what I do with ST for the same services.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

very good

02/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good phone I love it... :)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 427 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next