Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.915 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(248 Reviews) 248
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
130
4 stars
52
3 stars
14
2 stars
19
1 star
33
Customer Recommendation77%191 out of 248reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
290 Questions | 512 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
130
4 stars
52
3 stars
14
2 stars
19
1 star
33
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Perfect Phone

11/15/2013
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Android Straight Talk phone & by far the very best. The screen is very big & a godsend for those of us whose eyes aren't quite what they used to be. As for those complaining about the keyboard, download A.I. Keyboard from Google play & customize it. Any phone in portrait mode will have small keys, turn it to landscape & the keys are very large. You can put tons of apps & most will store to the SD card. My last phone, LG Extreme, did not store to card so the apps took up most of the memory & made the phone very slow. I have more apps on this phone than the old & there is no lag or wait time at all. I can hear much better on this phone. I was always turning up the volume on the other phones - not this one. Incoming calls are crystal clear.
I am deducting a 1/4 star because the ringtone & notification volume are one & the same - not independent. I prefer a loud ring & a soft notification. To solve that, I chose a very light notification & a custom ringtone from Zedge.
Chomp SMS worked perfectly on the LG but will not download MMS on this phone. This is more likely a Chomp issue & not the phone. I am using GOSMS PRO which is working fine. The stock SMS is just too boring.
As for those complaining about cases - there are tons of them available on Amazon. Mine is on the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Paper Weight

01/06/2014
By ,
Richmond VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the Straight Talk ZTE Majesty phone roughly 20 days ago the first one I'm on the second one now and needless to say it's going back as well...
The first one would cut off and on by itself while I was in the middle of a call text or email to top it off I could have full service call the phone from another phone while it's in front of me and it wouldn't even ring or notify you there was a call coming in I tried to call several local number's and it would give me a message about international calls and not being able to make them.
After returning that phone I got another one the same phone as honestly I like the phone simple to use and it's not a bad price either well today makes day 2 of having the second phone and I was sending a text and it cut off and won't power back on so now I have to return this phone again and needless to say I'll be going with something different.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone
10/14/2013
By ,
Northern Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the most part I like this phone. I have never used an android phone and was able to transition sort of easily. It would have been more helpful if there were a better users guide. I could not find anything besides the quick start manual even when I searched on line. Also it is cruddy to sell phones that have no accessories available yet. To invest in a phone and then find that you can not get screen protectors and cases for is disappointing. I'm scared I am going to drop it or scratch the screen. The cases which are presold out will not be shipped until Nov. first at the earliest. When I tried to connect to my computer I had to purchase an adaptor for the mini storage card and only figured this out after spending a large amount of time online looking for answers. I am assuming they will at some point come out with a program for the computer to interface with the phone....Would have thought they would have done that before they sold the phones. Having said that I am still giving it 4 stars because these seem like issues that will be addressed. I am completely satisfied with how the phone functions and feel it is a great deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Florence, SC.
you can add stuff
Posted 11/25/2013
you just have to add it to the right folder, and if you dnld "drop box" you wont have to take out the memory card, put it in the adaptor, plug the adaptor into the pc dnld them to the pc and reverse process...drop box automatically downloads them to a folder on your pc you dont have to do any thing, no buttons to push..just take a pic and for get about it..i have it on my samsung proclaim and love it!
0points
Customer Avatar
Northern Minnesota
Posted 10/19/2013
I did connect it to my computer, I could not add anything to the phone, not music, pictures, or contacts.
0points
Customer Avatar
jc
question
Posted 10/16/2013
Just wondering why didn't you use the usb to connect your phone to the computer?
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 44 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for the price.

04/05/2014
By ,
Southern Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ZTE phone seems to work well. I live in a fringe area of service and this phone gets better reception than the Samsung I previously used. No dropped calls and all functions work.
great phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome phone!

10/13/2013
By ,
Ashland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the phone, so much better then my galaxy proclaim! Big screen, awesome screen quality just like those expensive phones but half the price. I would definitely recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Beyond my expectations.

02/12/2014
By ,
State College, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I purchased this phone I figured there would be some bugs to work out. I was pleasantly surprised to find none. I am not electronically inclined so I was expecting to have to have my son and friends show me repeatedly how to use everything on it. I could not believe how easy this phone is to use. I recommend this phone to anyone who wants a phone that is easy to navigate and actually a joy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

HORRIBLE, one problem after another, tried 2 phons

04/01/2014
By ,
Buffalo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HORRIBLE! I WANT to love this phone, love what it can offer but too many issues. Camera and camcorder would freeze and texting from right side of screen would freeze, couldn't backspace consistently to correct type. I exchanged 1st one for another same phone and 2nd one ended up having issue where callers could not hear me unless I put it on speaker phone, this was 3 days after I got it...then lost ability to connect to the house wifi it was able to prior....many other devices and phones in the house continue to connect without trouble I don't know how it is so highly rated because that is why I went with this phone but if you google the camera, texting freeze, speaker problem and wifi problem there are SOOOO many people who have these complaints so I know its not just me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone, painful Straight Talk communication

01/05/2014
By ,
06374
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ZTE is a great phone, nice features and decent battery. Creating the Straight Talk account, porting a number, communication with tech support is painful...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone!

04/24/2014
By ,
Oak Harbor, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After only a year of owning the Samsung Proclaim, it completely died and I was forced to replace the phone asap. I purchased the Majesty and it's really a great phone. It does everything that a more expensive smartphone does and well worth the money. I read a lot of reviews before purchasing the phone and since their was more positive than negative I decided to take the chance and I'm glad I did. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

cmainiac

01/03/2014
By ,
Bangor, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this phone for a few weeks and absolutely love it. I was with us cellular for 8 years. the service has been terrible. so I decided to try straight talk using this phone. The phone works great. I got it online through walmart. so far no problems. My sister has a galaxy s4 and I can pretty much do anything she can. she has a little better camara and I do not know what else but I do know this phone will do everything I need in a phone. GPS, pictures, vidios, text,talk, music, and multible free apps for anything else you might want to do. I would highly recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

product very good

03/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this phone. I use it every single day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This phone has some serious flaws

04/02/2014
By ,
Phoenix az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had several prepaid phones using straight talk's verizon network with zero problems. That is, until I purchased this phone. The signal is horrible and I've never had so many dropped calls. The phone's display with show 3g, but as soon as you make/receive a call, the signal drops to 1x and will then drop the call half the time. The Wifi is also a constant problem. It has trouble reconnecting automatically to my saved networks (I have to turn it off and back on). The Wifi also interferes with bluetooth data and music streaming. If you want to stream music via bluetooth to another device, you have to turn the wifi off or your audio will sound like a CD skipping. This phone is BUNK, especially for the money (I paid $180).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

5 Stars for Now!!

10/18/2013
By ,
Anniston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered it yesterday at 2 pm CST, it arrived this morning before 11 am CST. HAPPY :-)
Easy to activate and charges quickly. HAPPY :-)
FINALLY, I have service at my home (live in a rural area). Verizon is the only provider that has service where I live. VERY VERY HAPPY! :-)
Sleek, good looking phone. (No car charger).
For now, I give it 5 stars. I will update in a few weeks.
No contract, full service, unlimited everything, $49 per month (and includes tax.) ! HAPPY :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jc
just want to know
Posted 10/19/2013
how did you get it so Quick? did u order it online or live close by the warehouse? because I ordered it and it says 5 to 7 days for delivery at my store! gee I wish I knew how you got it that fast. thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 54 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Wont charge

04/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I upgraded phones for more memory because that was what I was told why my old phone kept crashing. This phone keeps doing the same thing crashes and i only had it a little over a week I wont receive txts, and when it died and i plugged it into the charger it started blinking the red light like my old phone did. so i did the normal unplug take battery out plug it back it and then place the battery in for it to charge. I am returning this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Poor battery time

04/22/2014
By ,
FLA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone is easy to use, but does take more clicks than previous phones to access the contact list, and the battery is very short lived. It is very been easy to learn, and the screen size is nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

love it!

03/23/2014
By ,
Farmington, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Big screen, lots of features, easy to use and the prepaid price is so much better than contract prices with all the hidden fees!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Grate phone one small thing.

03/01/2014
By ,
Altus, oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the phones grate!! I don't like the front facing camera that well. it makes everything look dark. the one on the other side is better. it would be even better if it had a button on the side for the camera. it would help the phone not to shake so much when taking the picture. since I ordered it on line, the phone came with a free memory card 4 gig. I reckon its worth the money. $180.00 plus tax. I also got a 1 year service card for about $450.00 and a 2 year service protection plan for $50.00 all together was around $750.00 give or take. but no monthly payments because the 1 year service card provides for 12 months of prepaid service. if you buy on line like I did at walmart.com then I would print your e.mails and save them, also save you inbox messages. you might need them if something happens to your phone and you need it replaced.
I LOVE the wake up alarm!! you can put you phone on silent so not to get a disturbing calls or text messages while you sleep and it will still go off and wake you up. also the calendar is grate. it has 3 different was you can view and add events it also has alarms and multi reminders to make sure you don't forget your event. lots of other grate features and you can download apps of your choice. if this phone had a better front facing camera and a side button for the camera I would give it a 5 star rating.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cleveland, OH
Camera
Posted 03/12/2014
You can touch the screen to auto focus your shot. Use the volume rocker button and it will act like a shutter release.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 58 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone

03/23/2014
By ,
mcminnville tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had this phone for a few days, I really like it. The phone is everything it says it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great smartphone at the price

10/08/2013
By ,
Danville PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this last night, it was better than i expected. i love how it's big size its easier to type and see things better when its a big size. I would RECOMMEND for all of you to get this phone if you would like smartphones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone if you don't want to text

04/16/2014
By ,
Clearfield, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hello all. I received my first ZTE Majesty for Christmas and when I was texting on it, it was inserting crazy symbols that showed on the other persons screen but not on my own. (example. when I text someone saying "hey how are you doing" it looks right on my screen with no weird symbols, but on their screen it looks more like "&####*Hey&how are you&@!&*#doing" Nothing like having friends & family believing I was using this kind of language.
Since I really liked the phone and figured this was just a fluke, I returned the phone for a new one #same model...ZTE Majesty#. The new phone is doing the exact same thing. Because this is a random issue it takes awhiles before someone makes you aware they are receiving texts like this #sometimes because they are upset with me, because they thought I was swearing at them#, or I would have returned this phone for money back but it was past the number of days to return to WalMart.
I have tried texting various people, all with different phones and carriers and it does the same thing every time, so I know its an issue with MY PHONE! I have turned off all keyboard options trying to fix this #spell corrector, word predictor, auto caps etc#
I have even tried contacting the company ZTE by emailing zteuse.com/support ... they asked for the purchase date, serial #, contact # and best time of day to contact me #which is evenings because I work#, at first they tried the same problem solving ideas Straighttalk did, then said they would have to have a technician higher up contact me. One time I received a voicemail during the day I was at work from them. I tried calling the number back, but could not because it was an international/overseas number. So I tried calling the toll free # left in the voice mail, all that person could do was take a message for the technican to return my call...I have never heard back from them. I have tried replying back to the emails, requesting a call / assistance ... I received a reply stating they would notify the technican, but I still have never received a call.
I have called straighttalk several times; at first they would try to problem solve by reprogramming the phone, sending new download to phone and resetting back to original factory setting....which of course I would never know didn't work until someone would comment or get upset because they thought I was swearing at them in a text. Now Straight talk won't even try to resolve the issue...they claim it's not my phone but the person#s# phone I am texting problem. Yeah right everyone else has a problem in the world, but my phone!! Last night I posted this phone issue Strighttalks Facebook; asking it anyone else has had this issue or if anyone had any suggestions of what to try...Straighttalk deleted it. By the way Straighttalk dialing *22890 and sending 1 text does not fix the issue when the issue is happening randomly...which I have tried telling you since the end of December!!!!!
At this point I just want the phone fixed or want them to give me a different phone equal to the phone I have.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 248 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next