Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.55 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(367 Reviews) 367
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
158
4 stars
75
3 stars
26
2 stars
27
1 star
81
Customer Recommendation68%250 out of 367reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
386 Questions | 706 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
158
4 stars
75
3 stars
26
2 stars
27
1 star
81
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone for the price

10/19/2013
By ,
NE Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased last night; had a Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim prior.
Larger screen, faster processor, Android 4.1.2 and has more internal memory than the Proclaim (4GB ROM, 768MB RAM; 2GB ROM 512MB RAM with the Proclaim). Comes with an external 4gb microSD card for your photos, etc.; up to 32GB microSD accepted.
Doesn't come with Swype installed as the Proclaim did, but Google Play does have Swype Free (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nuance.swype.trial&hl=en) and Swype full (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.nuance.swype.dtc&hl=en) version for $0.99.
Also recommended is Nova Launcher (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.teslacoilsw.launcher&hl=en) for your customized launcher; allows for multiple docks at the bottom, etc. Free download, but more features with the purchased version; $4.99.
One issue I had was the use of customize sounds; alarms, notifications, and ringtones. Phone easily connects to your computer, but if you want to use these, (I know, sounds odd) copy them to the "Music Folder" on your SD Card. When you want to change to a different notification/alarm/ringtone, select the Music tab at the top and your sounds will show up here.
Other issue (not with the phone) I've found is the lack of cases and screen protectors; they're non-existent currently. I'm sure there'll be more options as time goes on, you just have to wait for them to come out.
Overall, very happy with this phone thus far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

So much better than my Windows W1 Phone

06/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'll never stray away from Android again. For the money, this is a great phone! Very reliable although it has restarted all by itself twice in the past week. Still better than having my Windows phone freeze up several times a day. Netflix streams without buffering when I get 3G service and it has enough storage space for the five or six apps that I use. This is my first ZTE device and I'm quite pleased, especially with the display quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

not a great phone...

01/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had my ZTE Majesty about a little over a month and i have had several problems with it. 1: i had to uninstall and reinstall all of my apps more than once, due to it bugging my system. 2: I live less than 5 miles away from the nearest cell tower, in order for me to get 3 out of 6 3G bars, I have to be in eye sight of the tower or I get nothing... and I live in an area where cell towers are hard to spot... let alone the weather is a big problem... one cloud in the sky and I am in a dead zone. 3: The battery is worthless... i have one app running with airplane mode on... and the phone dies in 3 hours. 4: The camera is also useless. 5: I can only make calls when the signal bars are blue, when they are gray, even when it says I have 3G I can't do anything.
The only use this thing is good for is looks and letting a 5 year old play with, because you don't have to worry about them getting on the internet for they can't get a signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Too bad ST doesn't know that when the wifi is on,
Posted 05/19/2014
Calls are clear, music clear if you turn off the wifi
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 44 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Very happy with this phone!

10/13/2013
By ,
Burlington, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my husband a few days ago, after finally convincing him to get rid of his dumb phone (verizon prepaid) and get a smart phone. I have the Optimus Showtime for Straight Talk, but now I'm a little jealous of his phone. It's larger than mine and has a faster processor. The ZTE Majesty also works on Verizon towers, which is a big plus for us. It also has a flash and zoom on the camera, and Android 4.1, which I didn't expect for the low price. I hope cases are available soon!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
4.4 out of 5(283)
 
 
 
 
 
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sedalia, mo
If your interested
Posted 11/27/2013
I found several cases for this phone on amazon I got a pacakage deal with one for $3.97 it also comes with a screen protector
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 45 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Just what I wanted

05/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone yesterday. I had a Samsung Centura and loved it but wanted a bit bigger screen and front camera and flash. They had a little trouble at Walmart activating my phone with Straight talk. I had transferred my same number and straight talk plan to my new phone. I took the phone home and called the number Walmart gave me, and it activated right away, so maybe the reception was too busy at the Walmart. Don't know. I made sure the settings were how I wanted them, as I had them on the Centura. There was a check on the roaming that I unchecked. (you don't need roaming) I turned my sync on on both phones, and voila, all my pictures automatically went to my new phone. It took awhile. I believe these pictures were all of the ones that were on my google+ back up. I went on my computer and pulled up my google account (you have to set one up, a gmail account, to access the apps and things from google play store. They had a list of all of my apps, and I just clicked the ones that I wanted back on my new phone, and they downloaded. So nice!! Now, I've read a couple of reviews that the phone was operating so slooooowww. Well, I thought the same thing. But, it occurred to me that all of these things were downloading at one time or one right after the other, and I'll bet the pictures were a load all by themselves. I was thinking, geez, this phone is slow. Now everything is completed for my set up, and this phone moves fast. I downloaded 60 songs this morning from google's music maniac, one right after the other and it didn't take longer than 25 seconds for each one. I love the speech to text feature. I just said the name of the song, and tapped search and off it went. The sound on this phone is great!! I paired it through bluetooth with my car, and it comes out in stereo to die for. I haven't used the camera but once to try it and the fly on the wall looked great, just kidding. The flash worked, and I figured out how to use the front facing camera, as well as the other. I love this phone already!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I give this a BIG F

09/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No good say away
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This phone is the WORST

10/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in april and already for a while haveing trouble with it. This was not a cheap phone! DONT WASTE YOU MONEY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Best Straight Talk Phone

10/13/2013
By ,
owatonna minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been with straight talk for a few yrs now and out of all the phones that I have had through them, this one is the best, by far. I love all the features of this phone, and I love that it is a big phone, its easier to handle and to text that way. Its about time straight talk comes out with a great phone, that doesn't cost an arm and a leg. Dont waste your time on the other phones. Buy this phone. U won't be sorry.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
las vegas
speak my text into the phone?
Posted 03/27/2014
on my current phone, i can just tap the microphone and speak into it and the phone will type out my text and email. does this phone do that too?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 49 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

so disappointed

09/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Loved this big screen, but should have gone with my gut and gotten the Samsung ace. this phone is slow, screen response is poor, have to try numerous times to push buttons. poor signal compared to my last phone. also not much storage. only downloaded facebook and kjv and there wasn't enough room left to update chrome.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Really nice phone.

01/16/2014
By ,
Etowah, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone as a Christmas gift to myself. It replaced a Samsung Proclaim. The Proclaim was a simple, yet reliable and decent phone. However, the Majesty just is miles ahead of it. This phone truly is a smart phone. My grandson has an S3 Samsung, my neighbor has an I5, and they both love my phone. This phone does all theirs does, yet it cost less than half of what they paid. And they are paying more than double what I am paying to run their phones, with less data available to them. This phone runs off Verizon towers, and all the calls have been very clear on both ends. Battery life is twice at least from what the Proclaim was( my only issue with that phone). I run a major softball league, and syncing 300 contacts via g-mail to the phone was a breeze.
I have been with Straight Talk now 3 years. No real problems. Sometimes difficult to understand their Customer Reps, but not really an issue to me. They are always so polite and
attempting to be helpful. Have had very little problems with the service itself.
I would reccomend this phone and service to anyone who asks. Will soon be getting one for my wife. I am a 69 yo senior, who had no trouble learning or using this phone. If you are out of your contract, go with Straight Talk, and this phone.
tmh411
Etowah, NC
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Was not what I was expecting.

10/19/2014
By ,
Maryville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The camera is horrible, very little app download space, and messes up a lot when I call people (they can't understand me. It sounds like a robot.) Nothing but a bad experience since I got it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

zte majesty a true nightmare

09/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The worst phone I have ever owned. Brought it home second day started crashing just turns off for no reason. Sent it back to straight talk. Just got new one it's doing same thing. Pure junk!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED!

05/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read multiple reviews on all the Straight Talk phones which used the Verizon network and though there were some negative reviews about this phone, the majority of them are positive. I considered that sometimes people just like to gripe and so I didn't let those negative reviews dictate my decision to purchase this phone and I am very pleased with that decision! What was most important to me was that the screen was large enough to read and enlarge without chopping off so much content you have to scroll back and forth... no problem there. I also see no since in having a phone with a camera if the quality of the image stinks but the camera on this phone takes great pictures. I was somewhat concerned about the phone being 3G but with all the other features at this sale price I figured I could live with that BUT I don't spend any time waiting for information. I type it in, I click send, I scroll down, open another tab and I am the one having to catch up. Now, I am one who err's on the side of caution so I purchased the 2 year insurance policy for this phone. Though I haven't had to use it, I feel the additional cost is worth the peace of mind. I am definitely recommending this phone. I don't recall if this phone is available with the AT&T network and I can't vouch for them even if it is but as for Verizon and the ZTE Majesty...they make a great pair!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

A GREAT PHONE for the money

11/22/2013
By ,
Eastern North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd Straight Talk phone from Straight Talk, got a much cheaper one to try straight talk before I switched from my local cell service to straight talk. My 1st phone had very very little memory. Anyway I tried straight talk for the 1st month and had no issues what so ever so I made the purchase of the ZTE Majesty which I have fallen in love with. It has all the perks that the high dollar phones have for much cheaper, my only problem was this was a brand new phone and I could not find any covers for it so as of this date the new covers have just come out for this phone which mine just arrived on Nov 20th and I love it even more. I liked straight talk so much that we have now bought my wife a new phone and gone with straight talk. We even have a much much better coverage than our local cell service had. We even took a day trip down to the beach a few days ago and my wife stayed on the phone the entire time and never lost service (which my old cell service we had several areas where we lost service) also wanted to add that the few times we have had to call into customer service it has also been wonderful and fast. As for us here in Eastern North Carolina straight talk is the way to go much cheaper than the locals and a better service..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SC
Covers for cell phone
Posted 04/11/2014
You can now find Straight talk ZTE Majesty 796C accessories @ Amazon.com. Many covers, hard back, rubberized and other accessories available. I also purchase a pen and car charge for a very good price.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 55 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

POOR excuse for a phone !

07/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Volume not good , signal pickup not good , not what I expected this phone to be ! I have had other ZTE phones before , they were pretty good phones. But this one is not so good . I wish now I had went with the other phone I was looking at .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst Phone Ever

10/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I Bought this phone and I was so disappointed. No one could hear me. i had to have it on speaker for people to some what understand me. It would restart when ever it wanted to. When i tried listening to Pandora it would not play a full song. It has so many problem. it was a really big waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone for the money.

10/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good phone. Battery life is better than I expected. I have only had this for a couple of weeks, but I am satisfied with it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst phone ever do not buy!!!

08/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your money on this phone. When you receive calls, people say it's like u are talking through a tunnel..I hate this phone..My friends hate this phone because they can not understand me. Oh and Striaghttalk said the problem is everyone else problem my phone is fine..DO NOT WASTE YOU MONEY ON THIS PHONE!!!!!!!!!!!LIKE I DID.....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone!

11/03/2013
By ,
Unicoi, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had Straight Talk for a couple years now, moved from a Droid with Verizon to a Samsung Precedent, the most up-to-date phone ST had at the time. I sorely missed the big screen and the updated android OS I'd gotten used to. The ZTE is awesome! It runs quick, has a sturdy feel, a big screen, and I love that I have a ST phone with android 4.1OS. There are no cases for it yet, but I've found that cases for the ZTE Source fit perfectly. I would highly recommend this phone to anyone, especially those paying at least twice what I do with ST for the same services.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone had issues within first week.

09/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had to replace my phone when it was only 5 days old, internet didn't work correctly and videos did not want to play. Other than that love that you can customize it and a bigger screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 367 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next