Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.416 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(442 Reviews) 442
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
183
4 stars
81
3 stars
30
2 stars
33
1 star
115
Customer Recommendation64%282 out of 442reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
442 Questions | 767 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
183
4 stars
81
3 stars
30
2 stars
33
1 star
115
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Glitchy :( Exchanged for LG Ultimate 2... love it!

03/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was hoping the photos would be, at least, a slight improvement from my previous 3MP phone. Sadly no such luck, had black spots throughout pics (yes, the settings were correct). Maybe just slipped through the factory with issues and not the norm? Kept it for a week... too glitchy and felt like a brick. I researched some more low cost phones and decided on the LG Ultimate 2 (L41C) $130 and have no issues. Really like it!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

ZTE Whirl Straight Talk

04/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worked good till the screen went blank, had to mash start and up volume to get some pic back then delete info, and redo. Then it went out again. So you figure.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Very unreliable phone.

12/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am currently on my THIRD ZTE Majesty. I keep having problems with receiving text messages, calls and the phone just shutting down randomly. I have dealt with Straight Talk customer service many times and it is ALWAYS frustrating and it takes many different calls and people to get anything to happen. Their only solution is to keep sending me the same phone! Last time they said they were making a one time exception and sending me a different phone and they didn't! I had a Samsung before this and never had these kinds of issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

A GREAT PHONE for the money

11/22/2013
By ,
Eastern North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd Straight Talk phone from Straight Talk, got a much cheaper one to try straight talk before I switched from my local cell service to straight talk. My 1st phone had very very little memory. Anyway I tried straight talk for the 1st month and had no issues what so ever so I made the purchase of the ZTE Majesty which I have fallen in love with. It has all the perks that the high dollar phones have for much cheaper, my only problem was this was a brand new phone and I could not find any covers for it so as of this date the new covers have just come out for this phone which mine just arrived on Nov 20th and I love it even more. I liked straight talk so much that we have now bought my wife a new phone and gone with straight talk. We even have a much much better coverage than our local cell service had. We even took a day trip down to the beach a few days ago and my wife stayed on the phone the entire time and never lost service (which my old cell service we had several areas where we lost service) also wanted to add that the few times we have had to call into customer service it has also been wonderful and fast. As for us here in Eastern North Carolina straight talk is the way to go much cheaper than the locals and a better service..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SC
Covers for cell phone
Posted 04/11/2014
You can now find Straight talk ZTE Majesty 796C accessories @ Amazon.com. Many covers, hard back, rubberized and other accessories available. I also purchase a pen and car charge for a very good price.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 45 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Useless.....

03/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone will turn off sound, go into airplane mode, turn off data and do random things like that when you use it. You'll never know what the status is with this phone. Lately, it started not ringing....Yes the Sound was on, Yes the sound was turned up to full volume, Yes Settings confirmed that Sound was on....no ring. Took out battery and turned on and then phone rang again. Constantly running out of space for "Updates" from the first month. I do not store photos, texts or music on my phone. Completely useless and will drive you mad.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I Was So Excited, Until.....

07/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to see an affordable smart phone offered by straight talk that had better specs and finally a larger touchscreen. But after puchasing this phone I immediately noticed low very low speaker volume that came out of the phone. I quickly returned the phone for an exchenge thinking there was a defect with that particular phone. Upon receiving the second phone I found the same problem to exisit. This phone also has a tendency to freeze up and you have to remove the battery to get a good reset. This is a good example of quality sometimes comes at a price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone!

11/03/2013
By ,
Unicoi, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had Straight Talk for a couple years now, moved from a Droid with Verizon to a Samsung Precedent, the most up-to-date phone ST had at the time. I sorely missed the big screen and the updated android OS I'd gotten used to. The ZTE is awesome! It runs quick, has a sturdy feel, a big screen, and I love that I have a ST phone with android 4.1OS. There are no cases for it yet, but I've found that cases for the ZTE Source fit perfectly. I would highly recommend this phone to anyone, especially those paying at least twice what I do with ST for the same services.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Really nice phone.

01/16/2014
By ,
Etowah, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone as a Christmas gift to myself. It replaced a Samsung Proclaim. The Proclaim was a simple, yet reliable and decent phone. However, the Majesty just is miles ahead of it. This phone truly is a smart phone. My grandson has an S3 Samsung, my neighbor has an I5, and they both love my phone. This phone does all theirs does, yet it cost less than half of what they paid. And they are paying more than double what I am paying to run their phones, with less data available to them. This phone runs off Verizon towers, and all the calls have been very clear on both ends. Battery life is twice at least from what the Proclaim was( my only issue with that phone). I run a major softball league, and syncing 300 contacts via g-mail to the phone was a breeze.
I have been with Straight Talk now 3 years. No real problems. Sometimes difficult to understand their Customer Reps, but not really an issue to me. They are always so polite and
attempting to be helpful. Have had very little problems with the service itself.
I would reccomend this phone and service to anyone who asks. Will soon be getting one for my wife. I am a 69 yo senior, who had no trouble learning or using this phone. If you are out of your contract, go with Straight Talk, and this phone.
tmh411
Etowah, NC
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Junk

04/09/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone OCT 2014 It crashes all the time and now when some one calls me it does not ring it has no storage so if you play any games you wont on this phone
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone
10/14/2013
By ,
Northern Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the most part I like this phone. I have never used an android phone and was able to transition sort of easily. It would have been more helpful if there were a better users guide. I could not find anything besides the quick start manual even when I searched on line. Also it is cruddy to sell phones that have no accessories available yet. To invest in a phone and then find that you can not get screen protectors and cases for is disappointing. I'm scared I am going to drop it or scratch the screen. The cases which are presold out will not be shipped until Nov. first at the earliest. When I tried to connect to my computer I had to purchase an adaptor for the mini storage card and only figured this out after spending a large amount of time online looking for answers. I am assuming they will at some point come out with a program for the computer to interface with the phone....Would have thought they would have done that before they sold the phones. Having said that I am still giving it 4 stars because these seem like issues that will be addressed. I am completely satisfied with how the phone functions and feel it is a great deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Florence, SC.
you can add stuff
Posted 11/25/2013
you just have to add it to the right folder, and if you dnld "drop box" you wont have to take out the memory card, put it in the adaptor, plug the adaptor into the pc dnld them to the pc and reverse process...drop box automatically downloads them to a folder on your pc you dont have to do any thing, no buttons to push..just take a pic and for get about it..i have it on my samsung proclaim and love it!
0points
Customer Avatar
Northern Minnesota
Posted 10/19/2013
I did connect it to my computer, I could not add anything to the phone, not music, pictures, or contacts.
0points
Customer Avatar
jc
question
Posted 10/16/2013
Just wondering why didn't you use the usb to connect your phone to the computer?
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 51 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome phone!

10/13/2013
By ,
Ashland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the phone, so much better then my galaxy proclaim! Big screen, awesome screen quality just like those expensive phones but half the price. I would definitely recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible Memory

01/25/2015
By ,
Niceville,Fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had this phone for about a year or two now and I'm just writing a review. It started out as an awesome phone that was pretty cheap. I didn't even have that many apps on the phone when one day it started telling me that storage space was running out! Even now that I've deleted all but maybe 5 apps,it still happens almost every day and I have to go through and clear the cache and remove the data on many of the apps that came with the phone-ones that you can't even delete!!! I'm beyond frustrated with this phone and definitely looking for another one. Also,now it likes to randomly restart on occasion when I try to send a text. No idea why. So then I have to wait for it to restart and try to resend the text.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

zte phone

03/02/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Was use to 4g and this one is 3g. Is slow to upload. Has a clear screen can be seen. Overall though am disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great product, BUT do buy the product replacement.

12/09/2013
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the best straight talk phone and the price is great. The speed is awesome. I thought the camera took terrible pics until I realized that if you touch the screen it will auto focus. Now my pics are crystal clear and there is a flash!!!!! Best straight talk camera/pics phone!!! The speed is 5x faster than the Galaxy Centura which I gave to my boyfriend since he is upgrading from a flip phone. I've used unlocked AT&T IPhones w/straight talk & go phones but the best service you will get on straight talk is buying one of their phones and the best they've got. With my at&t unlocked Iphone I had problems w/getting signal & picture texts going through and data being slow. With straight talk phones and the better ones they have, I"ve never had any problems w/losing calls. My data is fast. The only problem I noticed with this phone is it feels like the screen has some issues. It feels like it is almost broken underneath or bubbly. I purchased the protection plan so if I have any problems I will just trade it in for the same product. If you want the fastest and the best and the newest then don't do straight talk. If you are like me and don't have to any of that and are suffice w/being able to text a lot & talk whenever and use several different apps then straight talk is for you because it is a great savings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

JUNK x2

04/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had 2 of these..now shopping for yet another phone. They BOTH have malfunctioned. This last one I rec'v (the repl for the 1st one), touch screen fails, swipes poorly, and the mic sounds like I'm under water. No one on other end understands me. ZTE makes a faulty product..PERIOD! I love Straight Talk, just hate this piece of junk I paid 179.00 for...STAY CLEAR...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I am disappointed

10/28/2013
By ,
Allentown, PA.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First the only comparison I have is to a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone was excellent, though a bit dated. The reception was only about as half as good as the above. The bluetooth connectivity connected well, but voice quality was terrible. Not just to my headset, but to both vehicles. The recipient couldn't understand me and at times I could not recognize the voice on the other end. Also while playing music through the Bluetooth, it would continue to pop and pause as if it was a record that was skipping (for those who remember this). I was advised to restore the phone. This was a waste of time. Conditions still existed. I called ZTE, they refused to talk to me. They said it was Straight Talk's problem. Talking to Straight Talk was as you know, useless. They continued to tell me to 'adjust the volume'. That was the first thing I tried. But I did notice after restoring the phone, I now had the ability to make short cuts for speed dialing. Interesting how that wasn't available before. Maybe I'll restore the phone for the 3rd time or give it back. On the positive side, the phone is very fast. It responds easily to every touch command and I've never had a hesitation or a freeze-up. The voice quality without the Bluetooth is very good. The volume is good. The music through wired headset is outstanding.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Don't take this phone back. I hope people read
Posted 05/19/2014
As this poster commented, when using Bluetooth, the quality of calls or playing music in your vehicle was awful. I just figured it out today. Turn off the wifi and everything is perfect. Calls and music flow without a pause. The guy that also said when he called his dad it was a terrible connection, turn off the wifi. (and Bluetooth, if you didn't shut it off) I thought I had a bad volume switch. The wifi interferes. I'm in heaven cause I was sad that this beautiful phone was going to go back to the store. Also, someone said that a big load of pictures downloaded to his phone and he couldn't delete them. He said he had a gmail account with pictures backed up and that the only thing he thought of doing was deleting the account. This happened to me, all of the pictures from my google+ account magically appeared. I tried to delete some of them, but couldn't figure how to do it. So I went into my photo back up on google+ and you can delete them from there, and you don't have to do them one by one, either. Click the check mark on the one's you don't want, and delete them. They will then disappear from your phone. New photos you take from the camera on your phone can also be deleted from your phone, as is the case if you download them from your computer. Hopes this helps people with these problems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 57 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible phone!!

03/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In the beginning, I loved this phone. But as time continued, I started to hate it. You can not have that many apps because the limited phone memory. DESPITE having a 32 GB memory card, my phone WILL NOT allow me to save anything on it by choice. Sometimes stuff saves if it feels like it, but you can never move stuff from the phone memory to the memory card. So I am getting of this phone ASAP!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst Phone Ever

03/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone not even 1 year ago. At first, it was great. It worked so fast with no issues. Then after about 4 months of use, it started to go downhill very fast.
Cons:
- Constantly freezes so I have to restart it everyday
- Apps crash or freeze
- Drops calls due to randomly switching to airplane mode for no reason at all.
- Cannot browse on the internet because the screen jumps around & it's hard to read anything when it does that.
- Trying to Google things is a nightmare because the keyboard fails to pop up and I have to close out of it all together and re-open it.
- When browsing, it will just close out my window for no reason.
- Apps that came with the phone constantly say "maps has failed to respond, now closing" or 'my yellowpages has failed to respond, now closing" even though I am not even using them.
- Fails to send me text messages
- When I am talking on the phone, the screen turns on & my face starts pressing the keypad buttons & the other person can hear the keys being pressed or I accidentally delete voice mails before I even have a chance to listen to them because of this.
Pros
- It does what I need it to do but I want to smash it everyday because of all of the issues
This is the worse phone I have ever owned and I wish I had never bought it. Please do not waste your money on this garbage. It may work great at first but it will go downhill very quickly. I am currently looking for another phone to buy and wanted to write this review to warn everyone. Buyer beware. Spend a little extra money to get a better phone. I wish I would've.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Drop it !

03/25/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst phone straight talk has ever sold the phone drop calls. If you called someone at straight talk its always someone foreign that u talk to but you can never understand what they are saying .Also the phone gets hot. I called on several occasions to talk to them they kept putting me off until my insurance ran off . That was unfair. I'm stuck with a useless phone. Straight talk needs to do better. I want my money back ,another type of phone or something.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Not a bad phone now at a lower price.

01/18/2015
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am on my second phone, due to the last being damaged. I have seen the countless reviews saying this phone will not hold many apps. I had 21 apps on the old phone with the occasional hiccup on a 32 gig card, and am almost back to that on this phone. With exception to apps I had not used in a while. The quirks can be worked around, and have experienced them even with more expensive phones. Now the phone is $79 even better not many phones to be had with as large of a screen for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 442 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next