Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.554 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(368 Reviews) 368
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
159
4 stars
75
3 stars
26
2 stars
27
1 star
81
Customer Recommendation68%251 out of 368reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
386 Questions | 706 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
159
4 stars
75
3 stars
26
2 stars
27
1 star
81
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

AWFUL Waste of money!

08/12/2014
By ,
Abington, Ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to buy this phone. It sounded great and the screen is huge. Worst phone I've ever owned! Immediately I noticed it liked to randomly restart itself a couple times a day. Then I noticed I was very limited with downloading apps because it would always say "low storage" (even with the memory card). Then Google chrome just wouldn't work, nothing ever loaded on it. Switched to using the regular browser, which freezes and force closes every few seconds. Picture messages won't download despite excellent reception from both WiFi and 3g, and picture messages I send out won't send at all. Everything freezes and force closes, the camera is super laggy and takes forever to focus and even longer to actually take the pic. Constant dropped calls, volumes for ringtones and speaker phone work when it feels like it. Yesterday was it for me. The screen now goes haywire and the phone will freeze and either restart itself or I have to take the battery out and restart it myself. I'll be purchasing a new DIFFERENT phone, and will absolutely not recommend this phone, ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

My Husband and I both got one!

02/07/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So I love this phone! compatible with the games I like to play, Netflix comes in good. But it has issues!
Right after purchasing it I noticed my speakerphone didn't work. Also, when I played games I couldn't turn the volume up or down, it just stayed maxed out. I rebooted my phone back to original and it works great and I love it.
My husbands phone, well...... He had the opposite problem as me within 3 days. The phone games wouldn't have any volume no matter how high you turned it up. He rebooted his phone and it fixed the problem. less than 2 days later his phone is turning off and on by itself frequently, plus now it quit playing videos- He just gets a black screen. It has been within the 14 day return policy so we returned his.
I kept mine because I love it, I don't want to part with it... I just hope I don't have the same problems he did anytime soon! I purchased the 2 year warranty, I would recommend that if you buy this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible

08/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for 10 months because I wanted an affordable phone with a large screen but I've had nothing but trouble with it. The problems began about two months in and it wouldn't receive text messages intermittently, then the phone calls became garbled. About 30% of my call have to be ended and then called again because either I can't hear them or they can't understand me. I contacted Straight Talk about this and all they can say is that their network is fine, no problems on their end. They give the usual lame advice of remove the battery and reprogram the phone. Then the phone started turning off during normal app use. Some days it will turn off 3-4 times a day. Many apps that utilize the camera cause it to freeze and the only way to correct it is to restart the phone. The last straw was when the phone shut off and corrupted the SD card and I lost all the data, apps, and pictures I had stored. The phone only has 1GB of internal memory, not whatever it is they advertise so most of the memory is on the SD. I'm buying a new phone and will never go generic again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst "smart" phone I've ever owned

09/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have had 2 ZTE majesty's. 1st one had multiple problems. Dropped calls, distorted sound quality problems from garbled voices to no sounds coming through at all, both when making and receiving calls. Incomplete connections even though the timer was counting seconds as if call was connected.
Phone was returned under warranty to Straight Talk. Used a cheap $29.99 LG as a temporary substitute while waiting for replacement. Great service, crystal clear reception, no repeated dropped and incomplete calls. Using the same Verizon network provider.
Replacement ZTE came yesterday. I don't know what else may be wrong with it, but already the sound is worse in this one; in every call it is difficult for the recipient to understand me. I have used Straight Talk for over 5 years, with more than 8 phones for a family of 3. They were always Samsung and LG. NEVER returned or had a problem with phones before. Will never purchase another ZTE .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good for basic users but....

11/19/2013
By ,
USA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love that this phone offers more features than most other verizon based phones available for straight talk, and it was somewhat affordable but it is not for everyone. Thoughts to consider....
PROS:
Large screen
Smart phone
Decent camera
Runs on Verizon network
CONS:
Music player just randomly stops or fast forwards on its own, especially with activity
the icon in text are LAME
sound for alarms or the phone have a lower volume than my other phones even when maxed
sound choices and quality for rings and alarms are lacking in sound quality and choices
phone seems to just randomly restart ALL THE TIME. No rhyme, no reason. Just restarts.
Sports apps that use GPS for tracking seem to work but doesn't track accurately. Ever. Period.
Running or other heavy activity seem to cause issues with the phone. Stops running apps
Doesn't have a swype keyboard but that is easily fixed with an app
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kemp, Teas
Awesome phone at first....
Posted 02/03/2014
I got this phone for my birthday NOVEMBER 1, 2013, I liked it because of the big screen size and dual cameras and couldn't afford the Samsung Galaxy. Reviews were great and really enjoyed it up to about 2 months ago when it started restarting itself while trying to play games or write text. then I've started getting this Armour Threat ad which is stupid, because; you cant even download it on this phone. However, it continually comes up and interrupts whatever game I'm playing. Is anyone else out there having these issues?Important: if you are contemplating on buying this phone and reading reviews, make sure you look at how long that person writing it has had their phone!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Hated this phone!

10/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted to like this phone...but I could not!! Save your time and get a different one, you will be returning it!! Poor reception, delayed action/screen would not respond, awkward...just did not like!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

SLOW SLOW SLOW SLOW

03/14/2014
By ,
Panama City FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was happy to have a larger screen. But it didn't take long for a few things to become bigger things. First it was (as my previous straight talk phone) using Verizon towers which is the best coverage by far. However this phones antenna must not be as good as my previous ST phone because the reception was must less. There were places that I couldn't make or hold a clear conversation that wasn't a problem on the previous ST. Then there was the processing speed. Though it boast a 1.+ processor I found it was not enough to keep up with all the bells and whistles. When I would push the button to get to the unlock screen it would literally take 2 to 3 seconds to respond. When I would tap the phone icon it would take 2 to 3 seconds to respond. This was for just about every single icon i tapped. This is the first smart phone that I've had that took that long to respond. I rebooted several times, cleared memory, etc but nothing helped. So I dropped the phone. Took great pictures and videos.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
not slow when you get everything downloaded
Posted 05/19/2014
I thought the phone was slow also. But after the apps I wanted were downloaded etc. it sped up alot. The pausing problem on this phone is when the wifi is on. Turn it off unless you're surfing, and your calls will be clear as a bell
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 28 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

About as many pro's as cons

04/30/2014
By ,
dover, de
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok, so Hubby and I each bought one of these on Feb 1st, so almost three months ago. They are our first smartphones. They were a pain to activate, his went through but I had to spend a half hour on the phone with a rep. They are ok, but do have issues.
Cons:
randomly beep, flash a red light, and "restart" themselves once or twice a month. This can happen when using an app or laying on a table. No clue why, but it has happened on both of them.
call clarity will be fine, and then if you or other person turn your head 1/4 inch you will hear only digital gurgles. Often we have to text instead of talk due to this.
Speakerphone... why bother? you will not hear each other no matter how hard you try.
Ram... 597MBS, not much once a lot of it is used by settings, keyboard etc. This causes the phone to run slow.
Internal memory is small, but it comes with a SD card. Problem is a lot of apps cannot be transferred to the card.
pros:
nice size
clear screen
decent speaker for music and ringtone ( which is stored on sd card)
decent price for a smartphone
talk to text/search/fb messenger
google play store has all the apps you could want
plenty of cases on amazon and ebay
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/19/2014
If you're having reception problems, turn off the wifi
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 29 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

nothing but problems

10/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i broke the screen on my other phone, so i thought i would give this a try. i figured bigger screen, and about the same functions, why not. well it sends the same message 3-4 times, screen blackouts when receiving a call or making one, then returns when call ends. oh yea, cant put anything on the sd card. what is the point of having an sd card when you cant save anything to it. little to no signal, especially in bigger towns. oh, and restarts at random. will not buy this phone again!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

ZTE Majesty New Straight Talk Phone

10/28/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone approximately two weeks ago and I have loved it since the day I first received it. First, it has a 4.5" screen which makes it convenient to text and watch movies and videos. Also, the screen appears to have a really good resolution and video looks superb. The camera is pretty good and it also has flash on the front-facing 5 MP camera. In addition to all of this, the phone has Android 4.1 so everything is fast and smooth. Even better, this phone also runs off of the Verizon network so in most areas the service will be fantastic. My only minor complaint about this phone is that the home, menu, and back buttons aren't centered vertically so it's easy to miss them with your fingers. But overall a great phone! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who doesn't want a cheap smartphone but can't afford an expensive plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Save up for a better phone. Avoid this one!

09/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the absolute worst phone I have ever owned. Just a day after I bought it it started randomly restarting. It is very slow to do anything. The screen is not very responsive. Now every time I shut down or restart the phone, all of my apps and pictures are deleted. When I try to re download the apps it says there is no space available. Do yourself a favor and either save a bit more money for a Samsung or, as much as I hate to say it, an Apple, or buy a cheaper Samsung. You will be much happier either way. Just stay away from this "smart" phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I thought I had a great phone

08/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought I had a great phone,ZTE Z990G HORRIBLE PHONE, the calls where I lived was very clear. But then I began to get errors; I have sent this phone back 7times and each time they give you an replenish one...I can only download one app and sometime Facebook app you can't get the update. When trying to download it says insufficient storage. Low storage and I can't down load , then it freezes awful. This phone could be a great phone if they fix all the problems that comes with it. 3G seriously now really; I was told to go to Bigots and get some more GB I did 16 universal and still won't download..foolishness and I'm tire. I use this phone for home phone and traveling in car. To get another one I will be with out a phone for about 7 days or more. Just sad@ Straighttalk and Walmart PLEASE MAKE SURE THAT THESE PHONES OR THE BEST....FOLKS SPEND TOO MUCH MONEY FOR SUCH.....THANKS
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I Was So Excited, Until.....

07/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to see an affordable smart phone offered by straight talk that had better specs and finally a larger touchscreen. But after puchasing this phone I immediately noticed low very low speaker volume that came out of the phone. I quickly returned the phone for an exchenge thinking there was a defect with that particular phone. Upon receiving the second phone I found the same problem to exisit. This phone also has a tendency to freeze up and you have to remove the battery to get a good reset. This is a good example of quality sometimes comes at a price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I love this phone!

07/24/2014
By ,
south carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone a couple of weeks ago. It was an upgrade from my Samsung proclaim. I'm not one that has to have the latest and greatest, so while I loved the idea of a Samsung galaxy or an Iphone, I didn't want to pay that much for a phone. This one is great though! My daughter likes it as much as her iphone. The camera took me a little time to get used to. I have to admit I was disappointed at first but assumed that it was probably my fault the pictures weren't coming out great. After messing with it a bit, the pictures have gotten really good. It's fast, nice big screen, and I love everything about it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Limited memory

09/08/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The phone works great, and the apps that you can load work fine... but, it has less than 1G of internal memory. I thought I would be able to move apps to the SD card (and the 4G card that comes with it would have been plenty), but was none too pleased to find out that most apps don't allow that (Facebook, my company's database app, Google Chrome, Google Maps, and a bunch more). I use an app (that DOES store on the SD card) to move the apps over, and it just won't move the other 500MB worth of apps over, leaving me with 133MB of space left on the internal memory --not enough to even allow Google Chrome to update itself.
I will keep the phone because, as I said, it has a real simple interface, and great speed despite having a single-core processor. The speaker quality is less than good (very tinny), and folks with feature phones and basic phones get text messages with symbols instead of letters and/or numbers. Minor stuff, so far. The disappointment of how limited the memory is, though, is a real turnoff. Can't recommend it to anyone but those that need the most basic of features and internet access (which works great, by the way).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

best value not much different from the galaxy 3

02/16/2014
By ,
Springfield MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the ZTE Majesty 796c I bought is a very good phone and I am very happy with it. .I was looking at 2 phones with straight talk the ZTE and the Galaxy 3. the ZTE was selling for $ 179 that had a 1.2 cpu and the galaxy 3 was selling for $399 and the cpu was only a 1.5 cpu not much differents there between the 2 phones .well just compare them. the ZTE has the same features has the $ 399 galaxy 3 for way less money.you can use this phone also with out putting minutes on it just use your wifi or free wifi out there. you can watch netflix ,youtube,facebox down load music and text messages when you down load text message now it is a free program. there is so much more you can do with this phone ZTE Majesty 796c and this phone WILL WORK ANYWARE... THIS IS THE BEST VALUE HANDS DOWN.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

***Best Straight Talk Phone I Have Purchased***

10/09/2013
By ,
Church Hill, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the Proclaim and I loved the lay out of the phone since it was my very first android; however, I had a lot of internal problems with the phone and had to receive several replacements. When i went and bought the ZTE Majesty, I was very sketchy due to my past experience with Straight Talk's Androids. Surprisingly, I am extremely pleased with this phone. It is very easy to operate and has some great features. The camera takes excellent pictures and it has both a forward and rear camera. Best of all, I can use my phone all day(getting on the internet, texting, talking) and later that evening my phone still has 3/4's of battery left!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+192points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Really nice phone!

01/22/2014
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I switched from an LG Optimus Showtime to this phone about 2 1/2 weeks ago and it is a vast improvement!!! The battery life on this thing is AWESOME! The phone itself is very appealing, nice rounded edges and the charge port is located on the side (which I really like -- my old phone had it on the bottom). The phone for me has been very fast, responsive and I've had no issues with it. The camera quality is very good and I have no problem posting pictures on FB, Instagram, etc. The face of the phone is plastic and not gorilla glass, which I like. I was lucky and picked up a really nice case/plastics film cover on Amazon for $6.00. All in all, I really like this phone and have no hesitations recommending it to other people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Poor software, worse sound. I hate it

10/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone seemed like a good deal. But I immediately had trouble hearing people clearly, they could not hear me clearly. I hear echos, buzzing, people sound muffled, I hear my own voice repeated back to me a second later. It's frustrating to talk to people with this phone.
Separately, the phone crashes and restarts several times a day, for a week or so, then behaves itself for a few weeks, then begins having fits again. Several factory resets did not fix this.
Also, the ringers are way too quiet, and sometimes turn themselves off until you restart. The screen is not bright enough even at 100% to see it outside in the bright sun.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love it

10/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these phones after my Samgsung Proclaim got on my last nerve. This has a huge screen compared to the proclaim. Great for the web. Navigation works well. Calls go out the way they should and quality is good . The only negative I can think of is that the charge cord plugs in from the left side. A little awkward if you use your phone while charging. All around love the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 368 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next