Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.508 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(382 Reviews) 382
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
162
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
30
1 star
88
Customer Recommendation66%254 out of 382reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
394 Questions | 724 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
162
4 stars
76
3 stars
26
2 stars
30
1 star
88
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worked great for about 2 months

11/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone when I switched from Verizon because my old Stratosphere wasn't compatible with Straight Talk. I'd asked for a recommendation from fellow associates, and their response was "We sell a lot of them, and don't see near as many returns on it as the others", so I went with it instead of a cheaper alternative. For the first two months, the phone worked great. I liked the light that would flash to notify of a message or missed call, and the call quality was good. It even got better reception at the house than the iPhone my brother's girlfriend had. About two months later though, it started acting up. It would overheat and randomly restart while still having plenty of battery life. When charging, touching the screen at all to try and unlock it would have it randomly doing things such as sending it to the emergency dialer or dropping the screen to access settings until it reached about 20% battery. It doesn't give a warning before it dies -there is no chime to tell you, and the battery image on the screen is a poor representation of what's remaining (I had to download the Battery Doctor app to get a more accurate reflection of its battery life). At times, pressing the power button to wake it won't work and you have to push it repeatedly. I was informed after the fact that the ZTE had some issues, but by then it was too late to return it... so instead, I try to pass that information on to people when they ask for recommendations. If you want an honest opinion from someone whose job it is to push and sell these products, here it is: this phone is more headaches than it's worth, and even on rollback, it would have to drop to under $50 for me to ever consider replacing mine with the same item.
The only reason I gave it 2 stars instead of 1 is that it's somehow still working, even after a cracked screen and being dropped into a puddle, but the problems it had before that are still an issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

My Husband and I both got one!

02/07/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So I love this phone! compatible with the games I like to play, Netflix comes in good. But it has issues!
Right after purchasing it I noticed my speakerphone didn't work. Also, when I played games I couldn't turn the volume up or down, it just stayed maxed out. I rebooted my phone back to original and it works great and I love it.
My husbands phone, well...... He had the opposite problem as me within 3 days. The phone games wouldn't have any volume no matter how high you turned it up. He rebooted his phone and it fixed the problem. less than 2 days later his phone is turning off and on by itself frequently, plus now it quit playing videos- He just gets a black screen. It has been within the 14 day return policy so we returned his.
I kept mine because I love it, I don't want to part with it... I just hope I don't have the same problems he did anytime soon! I purchased the 2 year warranty, I would recommend that if you buy this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good for basic users but....

11/19/2013
By ,
USA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love that this phone offers more features than most other verizon based phones available for straight talk, and it was somewhat affordable but it is not for everyone. Thoughts to consider....
PROS:
Large screen
Smart phone
Decent camera
Runs on Verizon network
CONS:
Music player just randomly stops or fast forwards on its own, especially with activity
the icon in text are LAME
sound for alarms or the phone have a lower volume than my other phones even when maxed
sound choices and quality for rings and alarms are lacking in sound quality and choices
phone seems to just randomly restart ALL THE TIME. No rhyme, no reason. Just restarts.
Sports apps that use GPS for tracking seem to work but doesn't track accurately. Ever. Period.
Running or other heavy activity seem to cause issues with the phone. Stops running apps
Doesn't have a swype keyboard but that is easily fixed with an app
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kemp, Teas
Awesome phone at first....
Posted 02/03/2014
I got this phone for my birthday NOVEMBER 1, 2013, I liked it because of the big screen size and dual cameras and couldn't afford the Samsung Galaxy. Reviews were great and really enjoyed it up to about 2 months ago when it started restarting itself while trying to play games or write text. then I've started getting this Armour Threat ad which is stupid, because; you cant even download it on this phone. However, it continually comes up and interrupts whatever game I'm playing. Is anyone else out there having these issues?Important: if you are contemplating on buying this phone and reading reviews, make sure you look at how long that person writing it has had their phone!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 24 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

SLOW SLOW SLOW SLOW

03/14/2014
By ,
Panama City FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was happy to have a larger screen. But it didn't take long for a few things to become bigger things. First it was (as my previous straight talk phone) using Verizon towers which is the best coverage by far. However this phones antenna must not be as good as my previous ST phone because the reception was must less. There were places that I couldn't make or hold a clear conversation that wasn't a problem on the previous ST. Then there was the processing speed. Though it boast a 1.+ processor I found it was not enough to keep up with all the bells and whistles. When I would push the button to get to the unlock screen it would literally take 2 to 3 seconds to respond. When I would tap the phone icon it would take 2 to 3 seconds to respond. This was for just about every single icon i tapped. This is the first smart phone that I've had that took that long to respond. I rebooted several times, cleared memory, etc but nothing helped. So I dropped the phone. Took great pictures and videos.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
not slow when you get everything downloaded
Posted 05/19/2014
I thought the phone was slow also. But after the apps I wanted were downloaded etc. it sped up alot. The pausing problem on this phone is when the wifi is on. Turn it off unless you're surfing, and your calls will be clear as a bell
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 25 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

About as many pro's as cons

04/30/2014
By ,
dover, de
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok, so Hubby and I each bought one of these on Feb 1st, so almost three months ago. They are our first smartphones. They were a pain to activate, his went through but I had to spend a half hour on the phone with a rep. They are ok, but do have issues.
Cons:
randomly beep, flash a red light, and "restart" themselves once or twice a month. This can happen when using an app or laying on a table. No clue why, but it has happened on both of them.
call clarity will be fine, and then if you or other person turn your head 1/4 inch you will hear only digital gurgles. Often we have to text instead of talk due to this.
Speakerphone... why bother? you will not hear each other no matter how hard you try.
Ram... 597MBS, not much once a lot of it is used by settings, keyboard etc. This causes the phone to run slow.
Internal memory is small, but it comes with a SD card. Problem is a lot of apps cannot be transferred to the card.
pros:
nice size
clear screen
decent speaker for music and ringtone ( which is stored on sd card)
decent price for a smartphone
talk to text/search/fb messenger
google play store has all the apps you could want
plenty of cases on amazon and ebay
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/19/2014
If you're having reception problems, turn off the wifi
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worse Straight talk phone ive ever had

11/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hesitated to buy this phone, and wished I would have listened to my gut. I placed many calls where the other party could not understand what I was saying. I had the phone for 2 months. I dropped it once, ruined the screen. A HUGE waste of money. It's looks nice and sleek, but don't let the looks fool you. I would not recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

AWFUL Waste of money!

08/12/2014
By ,
Abington, Ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to buy this phone. It sounded great and the screen is huge. Worst phone I've ever owned! Immediately I noticed it liked to randomly restart itself a couple times a day. Then I noticed I was very limited with downloading apps because it would always say "low storage" (even with the memory card). Then Google chrome just wouldn't work, nothing ever loaded on it. Switched to using the regular browser, which freezes and force closes every few seconds. Picture messages won't download despite excellent reception from both WiFi and 3g, and picture messages I send out won't send at all. Everything freezes and force closes, the camera is super laggy and takes forever to focus and even longer to actually take the pic. Constant dropped calls, volumes for ringtones and speaker phone work when it feels like it. Yesterday was it for me. The screen now goes haywire and the phone will freeze and either restart itself or I have to take the battery out and restart it myself. I'll be purchasing a new DIFFERENT phone, and will absolutely not recommend this phone, ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible

08/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had this phone for 10 months because I wanted an affordable phone with a large screen but I've had nothing but trouble with it. The problems began about two months in and it wouldn't receive text messages intermittently, then the phone calls became garbled. About 30% of my call have to be ended and then called again because either I can't hear them or they can't understand me. I contacted Straight Talk about this and all they can say is that their network is fine, no problems on their end. They give the usual lame advice of remove the battery and reprogram the phone. Then the phone started turning off during normal app use. Some days it will turn off 3-4 times a day. Many apps that utilize the camera cause it to freeze and the only way to correct it is to restart the phone. The last straw was when the phone shut off and corrupted the SD card and I lost all the data, apps, and pictures I had stored. The phone only has 1GB of internal memory, not whatever it is they advertise so most of the memory is on the SD. I'm buying a new phone and will never go generic again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Not Enough Room

11/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Internal memory is limited. Ran out of room for new apps in just a couple of days use. Phone comes wit 4GB micro card for data and storing some apps. Phone is a great value at current price, but I returned mine for a higher end phone.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Seriously a JOKE!!!

10/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ok so I bought this phone cause I wanted to upgrade from the one I had...WORST MISTAKE EVER! I have had it for like 3 months at the MAX! At first the phone was great don't get me wrong but now I can be playing a game or even on the phone and my phone randomly shuts itself off with no warning even with a fully charged battery......Once I get the money saved up I WILL BE BUYING A NEW PHONE!!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst "smart" phone I've ever owned

09/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have had 2 ZTE majesty's. 1st one had multiple problems. Dropped calls, distorted sound quality problems from garbled voices to no sounds coming through at all, both when making and receiving calls. Incomplete connections even though the timer was counting seconds as if call was connected.
Phone was returned under warranty to Straight Talk. Used a cheap $29.99 LG as a temporary substitute while waiting for replacement. Great service, crystal clear reception, no repeated dropped and incomplete calls. Using the same Verizon network provider.
Replacement ZTE came yesterday. I don't know what else may be wrong with it, but already the sound is worse in this one; in every call it is difficult for the recipient to understand me. I have used Straight Talk for over 5 years, with more than 8 phones for a family of 3. They were always Samsung and LG. NEVER returned or had a problem with phones before. Will never purchase another ZTE .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

It Was A Good Phone :(

11/03/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this phone for about two weeks. Out of the blue, sections of the screen wouldnt work. Slowly the screen became unusable. Please save your money. Its not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

***Best Straight Talk Phone I Have Purchased***

10/09/2013
By ,
Church Hill, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had the Proclaim and I loved the lay out of the phone since it was my very first android; however, I had a lot of internal problems with the phone and had to receive several replacements. When i went and bought the ZTE Majesty, I was very sketchy due to my past experience with Straight Talk's Androids. Surprisingly, I am extremely pleased with this phone. It is very easy to operate and has some great features. The camera takes excellent pictures and it has both a forward and rear camera. Best of all, I can use my phone all day(getting on the internet, texting, talking) and later that evening my phone still has 3/4's of battery left!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+194points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Dont waste your $$

10/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The ZTE Majesty is a waste of money, it freezes constantly and does NOT have enough internal memory to have half of the apps i need. Even WITH an SD card, some of the apps are not able to go onto it. There is not option to save photos to SD card and that would free up some space. I have had a few Straight talk phones and this one by far is the worst, the freezing and constant restarting of the phone is very irritating!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk

11/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like this phone, but will not keep it . While Wal-mart does a great job in electronics and has knowledgeable associates , Straight Talk is not customer friendly nor will they resolve issues when it is clearly an issue with their service.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

ZTE Majesty New Straight Talk Phone

10/28/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone approximately two weeks ago and I have loved it since the day I first received it. First, it has a 4.5" screen which makes it convenient to text and watch movies and videos. Also, the screen appears to have a really good resolution and video looks superb. The camera is pretty good and it also has flash on the front-facing 5 MP camera. In addition to all of this, the phone has Android 4.1 so everything is fast and smooth. Even better, this phone also runs off of the Verizon network so in most areas the service will be fantastic. My only minor complaint about this phone is that the home, menu, and back buttons aren't centered vertically so it's easy to miss them with your fingers. But overall a great phone! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who doesn't want a cheap smartphone but can't afford an expensive plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

best value not much different from the galaxy 3

02/16/2014
By ,
Springfield MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the ZTE Majesty 796c I bought is a very good phone and I am very happy with it. .I was looking at 2 phones with straight talk the ZTE and the Galaxy 3. the ZTE was selling for $ 179 that had a 1.2 cpu and the galaxy 3 was selling for $399 and the cpu was only a 1.5 cpu not much differents there between the 2 phones .well just compare them. the ZTE has the same features has the $ 399 galaxy 3 for way less money.you can use this phone also with out putting minutes on it just use your wifi or free wifi out there. you can watch netflix ,youtube,facebox down load music and text messages when you down load text message now it is a free program. there is so much more you can do with this phone ZTE Majesty 796c and this phone WILL WORK ANYWARE... THIS IS THE BEST VALUE HANDS DOWN.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Do Not Buy!

11/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was a good phone at first. I only use it for calls, texting, and facebook when I'm bored. It is slow even on wifi. I have recently noticed that when a call or text comes in, there is a wait time of about five second or more before it starts to ring or make a notification sound and sometimes it doesn't do that. I have been a customer with straight talk for 3 years this is the first phone that I am over all completely unsatisfied with. Some might say its the phone and not straight talk.. if your going to put your name on it wouldn't you expect it to be the best quality? Please consider all the low rating before buying this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Really nice phone!

01/22/2014
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I switched from an LG Optimus Showtime to this phone about 2 1/2 weeks ago and it is a vast improvement!!! The battery life on this thing is AWESOME! The phone itself is very appealing, nice rounded edges and the charge port is located on the side (which I really like -- my old phone had it on the bottom). The phone for me has been very fast, responsive and I've had no issues with it. The camera quality is very good and I have no problem posting pictures on FB, Instagram, etc. The face of the phone is plastic and not gorilla glass, which I like. I was lucky and picked up a really nice case/plastics film cover on Amazon for $6.00. All in all, I really like this phone and have no hesitations recommending it to other people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone with good reception and great features

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone to replace a Windows phone that had poor reception inside my workplace. As soon as I walked into the building, I got the "no service" message. The ZTE 796C phone has a good signal no matter where I am inside. Battery life is very good. I listen to music for most of the 8 hours I'm at work, and I still have enough battery power to make/receive calls. As with most smartphones, battery life will be lower if you use Wi-Fi and/or Bluetooth. Since it is an android phone, there are lots of apps available at the Play Store for anyone's interests. I don't use the phone to browse the internet much, but I do use it to send/receive email (Gmail), and it does a great job for that purpose. The GPS function works very well for me, and has so far been more accurate than other phones I have used. It is even more accurate than my stand-alone GPS (Magellan). It gives turn-by-turn voice directions, although it does not give street names.
This phone has many features of more expensive phones and is well worth the price at Walmart. I used the Site-to-Store delivery, and got the phone the same day.
Overall, this has been a great phone, and I would recommend it to anyone who needs a very good android phone and doesn't want to pay several hundred dollars for a brand name with the same features the ZTE 796C has.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 382 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next