Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.455 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(435 Reviews) 435
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
183
4 stars
81
3 stars
30
2 stars
33
1 star
108
Customer Recommendation65%282 out of 435reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
431 Questions | 753 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
183
4 stars
81
3 stars
30
2 stars
33
1 star
108
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Pretty Good

12/09/2014
By ,
Middle Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical about getting this phone and I did a lot of research before purchasing it, I did not find a lot of negative reviews and low and behold, it went on sale for $59.99 @ straighttalk.com for a very short period. I jumped on board and I am truly happy with the phone. I bought the case and screen protector online but still waiting for the screen protector.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

EHH not happy with camera fls when sending to comp

12/28/2013
By ,
John Day
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I upgraded from a proclaim to this zte majesty we did lots of research and read lots of reviews by other customers. I got because of the bigger screen and the better camera due to this had a flash an I love my photography. I love the size and screen, its amazing, HOWEVER the camera is good but when I send my photos to my computer to further edit its HORRIBLE!!!!! The file gets shrunk and its all pixelated. This never happened with my proclaim, I even changed the settings to the 5mega pixel settings and still the same. This is just a sad day for me. I love my phone but this is a HUGE PROBLEM for me. I don't know why its doing this. If anyone has any ideas please help. Or this needs to be addressed by the company, I fear its a software issue. BELOW is a photo I took, just off my porch. Look at how pixelated the branches are. NEVER happened with proclaim
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+146points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (13)
1 of 2 total pages
1 2 Next
Read Comments (13)
Customer Avatar
zte majesty problems
Posted 02/21/2015
i can not get legible multi-page texts to work (the formating of page 1 of 2 is messed up) and the operating system keeps loading apps into ram memory and slowing phone down and causing failed update installs because memory is so full of apps don't even use ( says not enough storage) got tons of room on sd card and phone ram but memory is 90% full always - if shutdown apps they just restart
0points
Customer Avatar
Sunnyside Wa
Dont buy
Posted 01/10/2015
3 of my family bought these, they work good for awhile then you have problems with getting your calls and noone can hear you when u call them. They are junk
-1point
Customer Avatar
maine
Photo transfer quality
Posted 08/10/2014
have you tried uploading your images to Google Drive? That's what I did, and I saw no change in quality. They uploaded very quickly, then I simply downloaded them from Drive.
-1point
Customer Avatar
wisconsin
zte magesty
Posted 07/08/2014
had this phone for a week. So far its good. Better than I expected. Called service to straighten a few things out...they were wonderful!
+1point
Customer Avatar
West Palm Beach, FL
Photography with 5mp??
Posted 04/24/2014
If you love photography, buy a camera not a 5mp phone to shoot with.
+4points
Customer Avatar
N. Central Florida
EHH not happy with camera fls when sending to comp
Posted 04/17/2014
I clicked on your picture and it looks beautiful. I don't see anything wrong with it. It enlarged when I clicked on it. Not huge but larger than a postage stamp. I'm considering this phone, but when I want to save pictures of an event I take my digital camera with me and put those pics on the comp.
+3points
Customer Avatar
shelby nc
NOT HAPPY at all with this phone
Posted 04/15/2014
I had a proclaim and wanted to upgrade for a phone with a flash and a front facing camera. The size was abonus. But UGH!!!! This is my second try with this phone. I bought one and had some problems with it locking up the first week I had it. I exchanged this phone for another one of the ZTEs. I am so NOT happy the phone locks up it distorts the pictures.You cant save anything on the memory card .If you save it on the memory card you cant do anything with it. Like games You cant save it on the card because then you cant play it. Why have a smartphone if you cant use it. alot of apps wont even load on the phone.
+3points
Customer Avatar
Ref the photo.jpg
Posted 04/06/2014
after examining the photo.jpg that is attached to your message. the resolution is very tiny only 0,1 megapixel the entire file only contains 119.600 pixels either your accessing the file thumbnail or your file transfer is damaged normally the photos are located in the /DCIM/ folders make sure that the files your retrieving is from the DCIM and not the DCIM/Thumbnail folder. i hope this helps you with the phone, unless you've already exchanged it
+9points
Customer Avatar
Minnesota
Posted 02/17/2014
i am answering a comment on here of a person wanting to know where to get phone cases for the ZTE Majesty ,,,,, you can go on ebay.com and get phone cases ,,, i go on Ebay all the time for to order phone cases for my phones ,.
0points
Customer Avatar
minot n,d,
ZTE phone straight talk
Posted 01/26/2014
love my phone but if someone could please tell me where to get a case for it
-1point
1 of 2 total pages
1 2 Next
Read Comments (13)
Read Comments (13)
Review 3 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I really wanted to love this phone but I can't.

11/02/2013
By ,
Wooster, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought that the ZTE Majesty would be my final phone with Straight Talk (I have had 4 good phones). It had a big enough screen for my thumbs, a fast processor running Android 4.1 and even a front facing camera! Boy was I wrong.
I have had two Majesty models. The first one I picked up from Site-to-Store. After about a day or two I pulled the phone out of my pocket only to find what appeared to be a bubble of air under the screen. I was able to squeeze the phone and let the air out of the phone and this fixed the issue. However every time I put the phone in my pocket for an extended period of time this would happen. I returned the phone because this was bothering me and hoped that things would be different.
Not only 2 hours after I got the second phone this started happening again. This time I was just going to deal with it since it didn't affect me using the phone at all. Then the phone started crashing. I would try to call someone or send a text and the phone would just crash, even if I didn't have any other apps open. I did a factory reset and this seemed to fix the issue. THEN, the phone started messing up calls. My girlfriend called me 3 times one morning and my phone only rang once. When I would be able to talk to her she was garbled and she said that I would cut in and out.
I'm done with this phone. Returning it to the store today! DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+283points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (9)
Read Comments (9)
Customer Avatar
39773
zte majesty
Posted 06/22/2014
does this phone have a front camera??
-2points
Customer Avatar
Ga.
Question
Posted 05/24/2014
Will this phone work with my boost plan?
-1point
Customer Avatar
erie pa
straight talk ZTE majesty
Posted 03/13/2014
does this phone come with FM radio
+2points
Customer Avatar
Vero Beach, FL
I like the Straight Talk plan but hate ZTE Savvy
Posted 01/22/2014
I had a Nokia E71 on the Straight Talk plan for two and a half years. I loved it. The service was great. The phone was great. Then I decided to upgrade to a better phone.
Unfortunately, even if the ZTE Savvy is a better phone, the reception is horrible! I have to run out of my house if I want to take a phone call. Try doing that when it's cold outside. Kind of pointless.
I assume the phone is on a different network, because the reception is abominable.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Monroe, NC
Posted 12/19/2013
Not sure where you got the idea it ever had two cameras. Possibly in doing your research you may have confused it with another phone. I've done that before. This is my first smart phone and I've had NO issues. Now I may have to get a Masters Degree to figure out all its features, but I did lots of research before I purchased this phone.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Dallas, Texas area
I would like to know what you have now.
Posted 12/18/2013
I have had several Straight Talk phones and they have all been ok. I looked at this phone because it seemed to have several good features for the price. Do you think that you may have just had bad luck and got phones from "a bad lot" like one of the other person's comments on here. I would like to know what you have now and I am a few years older than the 18-24 age group. I can afford any phone on the market but since I mainly use cell phones for talking and texting, I am not sure I want to spend 6 to 7 hundred dollars on a Sony or Galaxy. I am still deciding and would like to know what you finally got. Thanks if you respond back!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Durham, NC
Great Purchase!
Posted 12/14/2013
Purchasing electronic devices can be intimating especially new phones! Before my Smartphone purchase on Friday,my means of communication was a small Samsung slide phone with a keypad. It served it's purpose but it was time to upgrade! The touchscreen feature wasn't my thing until a knowledgeable sales associate (Robert Smallwood) took the time and was kinder than necessary to answer ALL of my questions. I purchased the ZTE Majesty and the tutorial is excellent. Thanks Robert!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Florence, SC.
thats not right!
Posted 11/25/2013
i hope you gave it another chance and ordered from online, they're 10$s cheaper online actually..and now through 12-20 free overnight shipping...i have the samsung proclaim from ST and it got an air bubble as well...i thought this was from my toddler stealing ot off the night stand while i'm running around the house and its charging..and her little toddler fingers damaged the screen...its gone now though..it didn't look like the bubble would have done any thing rather than cause you to get anxious about what it was all about...how did the phone perform other wise?..also i've been trying to find out the situation with the micro sd slot...where is it?...i've seen its not external..so it must be under the battery door?....and what kind of battery time were you getting on it with heavy usage?
+1point
Customer Avatar
Midwest
Bad Luck
Posted 11/24/2013
Even though this phone was defective on the two models that you got, I am not sure that the phone itself should have 1 star. Reading through the other reviews, positive and negative, it looks like you just go two models from a bad lot.
If I were in your situation I would have been upset and bummed out, but I would have tried another Majesty from online or another store to verify it wasn't a bad lot.
+5points
Read Comments (9)
Read Comments (9)
Review 4 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Best phone from straight talk

10/17/2013
By ,
Baltic, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a high end smart phone like the s3 or iPhone and don't want to shell out the money, this is the best phone for the straight talk user. It uses Verizon towers, large screan, faster processor and has a flash for the rear camera and has a front facing camera as well (no flash). My only qualm as of now with this phone is that it doesn't take a micro sd card. That would be my only issue. So if you're looking to save some money and have a good top of the line phone.... I would recommend this. Also, very important, I highly recommend the replacement plan. We bought one for a previous phone that we had for a year and a half and then began to have issues with it. I called it in and literally no questions asked they gave me a gift card for the value I PAID for the phone. So I got this phone with my rebate money and merely paid for the replacement plan. Highly recommend that for any phones, it even covers owner accidents. So yes good phone just always get the replacement plan!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+262points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Customer Avatar
NY
MicroSD Card
Posted 08/16/2014
Mine came with 4GB MicroSD Card.
+1point
Customer Avatar
fayers
Best Ever?
Posted 04/30/2014
If this is the best Straight Talk phone ever, I am done with Straight Talk! This is the absolute worst cell phone I have ever owned!!! Junk!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Brunswick, GA
No Micro SD Slot?
Posted 04/29/2014
I have read up on it and almost everything brags that this phone can hold up to a 32 gb. Im confused by your comment?
+2points
Customer Avatar
SD card
Posted 03/30/2014
Check the back where the battery goes, they do take SD cards
+3points
Customer Avatar
West Frankfort, Illinois
SD card
Posted 03/13/2014
it does have a micro sd card in it because if you read in the descriptions it says 4GB micro SD card included
+2points
Customer Avatar
Florence, SC.
no micro sd?
Posted 11/25/2013
i'm reading every where it does...if its pics you're wanting to save, dnld drop box, when you take a pic, you can set it to automatically upload them to drop box, or review them edit them then drop box will upload them
+3points
Customer Avatar
ahoskie
front facing camera
Posted 10/31/2013
Does this phone have a front facing camera?
+4points
Customer Avatar
NC
ZTE Majesty DOES accept Micro SD Cards
Posted 10/17/2013
Not sure why you say the Majesty doesn't accept Micro SD cards as it actually comes with a 4GB San Disk Micro SD card installed. You need to remove the battery cover to remove/replace it, but it is there and supports up to 32GB Micro SD cards.
+26points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Review 5 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

An OK Starter Smartphone, but major limitations

06/13/2014
By ,
Montgomery, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I made the move to a Smartphone because I was leaving my old AT&T plan where texting was not free and I had an opportunity to pick up this phone at a bargain.
If all you do is text and surf and use social media, it's a good starter phone, but with 768MB of RAM, you won't be loading many apps on the phone. If you max out the MicroSD slot at 32GB, you'll have some room for multimedia storage, and you can move some of your apps to the MicroSD card as well, but the preloaded Google apps won't move to SD, and even the apps you move may still store data in the internal memory and it will fill up quickly.
Battery life is abysmal. If you turn off GPS and WiFi when you aren't using them, it gets better, but if you use your apps, you'll be plugging it up within a few hours. Even if you use it just for talk and text, it will have to be charged every night.
I initially had a complaint that no OS upgrade is available, but the reality is that there's not room for an expanded OS, so it's fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Best smart phone for your dollar

11/01/2013
By ,
Rock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this phone after Samsung Transform Ultra phone from Boost started to die. Had it for 3 years so it had served its time. What interested me the most about this phone was that it does use the Verizon Network where Boost uses Sprint and my area is best served by Verizon. So far very pleased with the coverage, there hasn't been a place where I have not had service. Some things that I wasn't expecting, battery life has to be 4X better then my Ultra. Even texting, making calls, and surfing the web all day doesn't use the entire battery up. The other positive was the screen size, bigger is better and of the cheaper end phones this has the largest screen. And another pro is of the cheaper phones,you're getting the most recent Android Operating System.Even switching my phone# from Boost to Straight Talk wasn't that big of a deal given the horror stories with Straight Talk customer service.
All in all,a good phone for the money and the cell service has been very good as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+206points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Portland, OR
ZTE Review - Straight Talk
Posted 12/11/2013
Thanks the review was very helpful. Just a FYI. I have had Straight Talk for several years now and have only had great customer service from them. At first it was a little shaky because of a language/communication difficulty, but not so anymore. So it's not all bad.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone, great value!

10/28/2013
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good phone for the value. It has plenty of memory, an LED flash, front-facing camera, SD card slot to hold up to 32GB card, 9 customizable home screens. The only thing it's missing is a slide-out keyboard. It's a good phone, runs fast, does everything I ask of it. But with it being so new, it's still a little buggy. My phone call reception is fuzzy in about 25% of my phone calls, but hanging up and calling back seems to fix it every time. The thumbnail preview of pictures on my SD card are not the pictures that show up when I open the picture. The ringtones reset when I unmount the SD card, but that could be due to my ringtone app. The camera is very good quality and it's hard to find an LED flash on a decently-priced phone these days. I love that I can have a different wallpaper for my "lock screen". I also love that I can choose to have a normal wallpaper that doesn't scroll when I scroll through home screens. Overall, a great phone for a great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+145points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Really good phone for a non-techie

06/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for almost a month now and so far I am very pleased with it and its function. The only complaint thus far which is very minor is the sound quality when playing Pandora or other music sources. If turned up all the way while playing music it doesn't sound real loud but the ringer and notifications are very loud. The battery stays charged pretty much all day as long as your not using much data which is the case with most phones. Screen is a nice size and all the functions on the phone are really easy to use. I can't say enough about the camera, really nice quality pics and many options for the camera. I am one of those people who refuse to pay over $300 for a phone that will need replaced in a few years (like any cell phone) and for under $200 this phone is just as good as those high dollar ones in my opinion. Add in the fact that you're only paying $45 a month for unlimited everything including data and you can't go wrong with this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for all!

02/22/2014
By ,
Dothan, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone. I have been on Verizon since the first cell phone came out and was so afraid to change. I didn't think the service provided by Straight Talk would be any good. I did research and found this Majesty 796C worked on Verizon towers. I purchased the phone and found cases available on line. I have had this phone since Christmas and have not had any problems. Customer service was so helpful in transferring my old Verizon number to this phone. I love this phone. It is simple to use, pictures are very good and it is easy to download apps. Most importantly, there are no dropped calls and no dead zones. I don't know why I waited so long to switch. Now my son, who is on a Verizon plan until June is going to get this phone. He takes it from me all the time when we are out because mine runs faster than his and mine is $45 a month his is $110 for one phone and 2 on the data. I get it all. unlimited everything. Would never go back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+207points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome for the cost!

01/02/2014
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone - For the price I thought it might be low end and cheap, however, that does not seem to be the case. I love new tech devices but am not picky in what I have so I went middle of the road (not an iPhone but not a standard phone) and I love it so far! I love the screen size, logic to navigate (seems like a mix of Windows with a task manager to manage what is running and Mac with the click and drag to the trash app management). I wish it came with plugs for each port to keep gunk out and am a bit annoyed with the apps that are constantly running that I have to stop in task manager (not that this has slowed the phone at this point or drained the battery. Other than those 2 minor things, I love it! I am not one to spend a ton of money on a phone to have all of the features so this phone is a steal. Battery seems great so far, found some great custom cases online for it already and the processor seems pretty fast. I would say go for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
macon, ga
Awesome phone for the money
Posted 06/08/2014
I have had this phone for like 6 months and I Love it ....It has a great camera & I always read the reviews before I decide on a phone & all the reviews were great on this phone I Love it is a 4.5 screen & if it messes up this will be the phone I will purchase again to anyone out there if you are looking for a good phone & don't want to spend a lot of money on a smart phone this is the one I suggest on getting....Love, Love, this phone!!!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible!!!

08/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like most cell phones, you see a lot of good reviews, and quite a few bad ones as well. I'm NOT giving this phone a good review at all. It's getting a bad one!
The cell phone is horrible! My husband and I both had the ZTE Majesty. We only had the phone for a week till be had to return them and got much better phones!
My phone wasn't as horrible as my husband's was. Texting would be bad. I would go to text someone, and it would show up symbols, as if I'm cussing the person out! It would just do it for no reason. My husband's phone acted up at more. His texting would also look as if he's cussing the person out, internet would run slow at times. Wifi didn't always work that great on both our phones. Would just run slow in general at times. Phones would cut in and out whenever we had a call. Between those problems and others, phone was just horrible.
Overall, it just wasn't what we thought. We took a gamble with these horrible phones, and lost the game. I'm so glad we no longer have these phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Fergus Falls, MN
HORRIBLE!!!!
Posted 09/19/2014
This is exactly what mine has been doing!
0points
Customer Avatar
Eastern NC
Better phone?
Posted 08/27/2014
What better phone did you get?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

A REALLY Big Let Down

09/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone after being phoneless for about 2 months. My previous straight talk phone lasted me 1 and a half years before finally dying. This time, I wanted a phone that had a large screen, front and back camera and just generally better than my last phone. When I first got this phone I was pleased with it, the second day of having it began the issues. I would press the power button to view my screen to go send a message or what not. The screen wouldn't light up for atleast 30 seconds, late delay. Every since that day (It's been 2 weeks) It still delays. I have to press it a million times before it'll so anything and I still have to wait forever for it to do anything.
Secondly, my camera stopped working, it would freeze and it doesn't do anything. Another thing is the keyboard is messing up now, I will type something and it doesn't show up, I have to exit out of whatever I am doing and go back in. I'm tired of this phone, I don't want to keep it any longer. The longer I keep it, the more flaws I see. It is going back ASAP!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Louisiana
Posted 12/06/2014
I have this phone for almost 2 years now and have even dropped it in the bathtub full of water and it is still going good and never had any problems with it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I really like this phone!!

10/28/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best Straight Talk phone around. It's fast (dual processor)has a big beautiful screen and it's running Android 4.1 which is a big improvement over my last straight talk phone running 3.2. Was able to use a free app called gcloud to move everything over which was a blessing. So far I'm very pleased with this phone, I always order my straight talk phones from Walmart because of the great return policy in case of any issues or I just didn't like the phone. But this phone is a keeper, it's even a good phone gets way better reception and signal strength then my last phone which was a Samsung. My only complaint so far is no cases available for it yet. I just ordered a ZTE force case, the phones are the same size so I'm hoping it fits well enough till somebody makes cases for this phone. I will try to post up the results of my case progress.
OH yeah and the biggest reason this phone uses Verizon towers which work the best in my area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+114points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
NY
Update on phone
Posted 05/18/2014
As google has updated all the programs that I don't even want on my phone and have no way of removing or even moving to the 32gig card I installed it has become slower and slower. It also resets itself a lot and usually right in the middle of texting. It also lags on texting really bad. I would not buy this phone again, love the screen though. It's a shame because I'm sure if I could remove some of googles not used programs it would be OK.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Va
I LOVE THIS PHONE
Posted 02/26/2014
This phone is my second smart phone and I feel the value is incredible. I know people who have I phones and other high priced cell phones who have service with the major providers and pay a great deal more $$$$$ thanI do for my service plan. With this phone I can do anything they can do with their more expensive phones and the straight talk plans are serviced by the major carriers. The only drawback is, when you change providers or phones, you have to transfer all of your information.
I feel this phone and the straight talk plans are a good value.
+1point
Customer Avatar
canandaigua
phone cases available
Posted 02/05/2014
look on amazon!!! tons of cases on there for it
0points
Customer Avatar
NY
Just an update on the case and phone
Posted 11/10/2013
The force case didn't fit so no good, but I just was able to order one on e b a y and it seems to be a lot of people selling them.
Update on the phone, still love the phone very happy with it. It does one annoying thing it's happened about three times so far while sending a text it reset. I've send a lot of texts and usually never have a problem. If it becomes a bigger problem I will have to deal with it and I will post it here. But all in all it's the best phone I've owned. The newer android is a biog step up from the older version.
+13points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 14 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY!!!! PHONE IS JUNK!!

03/10/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone over a year ago. I gave it wonderful recommendations & 5 stars after having it for 6 months. I loved the phone, loved the features. I felt lucky to have taken the chance on this phone & got a good one, because of all the bad ratings I was skeptical. Boy don't I wish now I had listened to all the bad reviews now!! This phone is absolutely one big piece of junk! After having it for about 8 months the phone started to freeze, shut off by it's self, the lag was awful on it. It would also mute my calls during a call & the other person couldn't hear me but I could hear them or it would drop the call all together. The list goes on & on & on. The hardware on this ZTE Majesty is terrible. The system starts failing after a few months, & resting it only helps for maybe a month before it starts to do it again. This phone is not worth the energy it draws to power it. You may think it sounds like a wonderful phone, but it is far from it! If you want a good phone honestly keep looking... This phone will only disappoint you. I had to go purchase another phone, because this one wouldn't work properly. It got to were I couldn't talk on it longer than 5 minutes before it started muting me or shutting of during conversations, or took me forever to type a text or use the internet because of the lag. I sure wish I had listened to all the other bad reviews on this phone, because now I am out all the money I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

reception is weak,weak,and oh ya weak

10/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
my wife bought a new majesty 796C in Bristol,VA. a week later I bought one in Bristol,TN. so its not one of those deals where she or I just got a bad one that's pretty unlikely unless the quality control dept. just stinks all the way around. The signal of my old phone (Samsung SCH-S720C) in our new home was 3 bars at all times even though we live out aways from town this majesty forces us to stand on the front patio to talk without breaking up we have 1 bar (or so it says) which is why we really hadn't noticed anything before I bought mine...OR I WOULDNT HAVE WAISTED MY HARD,HONEST EARNED MONEY !!!!!!!! the phone doesnt want to turn on all the time, it goes black while using, ringtone and notification tones and vibration intermittingly work reguardless of setting speaker phone volume is low dispite the extra app. Ive downloaded to boost it from time to time when I close an app. it will put a scambled pattern on the screen.... bottom line is we are so so so sorry we waisted our 300+ dollars on this phone !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I thought I just had a lemon, but 2nd attempt sad

03/10/2015
By ,
Vass, MC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the ZTE Majesty because the size of the screen and the ease of use was wonderful. After a short period of time the phone would drop calls and I was not receiving my voice mails or notification of text messages. I kept trying to turn if off and on to see if I had just had a phone that was not working properly. I have used Straight Talk for many years at this point and I recommend them to all my friends. When this model was on sale I decided to replace my phone. The new phone arrived and I was sure the problem would be solved. The new phone only worked for about 2 weeks. The same problems arose and soon the phone would only work on speaker phone. The design make it so easy to put the phone on mute and hold without trying. I could not have a conversation with anyone without the call being lost. I turned that phone off and went back to my old one. Last night I ordered a Samsung S3 so I am hopeful. Luckily I bought a service plan for my ZTE Majesty because it is going to be returned after I capture my photos and contacts. I use verizon towers and always have. Never had a problem with a Straight Talk service before. I should have reviewed the comments before buying the same model of phone. Seems this one has given multiple customers the same problems. Looking foreward to being able to talk on my new phone when it arrives in a few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love It!

11/12/2013
By ,
Johnstown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for about a month now - upgraded from my Galaxy Proclaim. So far it has been reliable and fun to use. The bigger screen has been a pleasure to use and I haven't found the larger size to be a problem at all ... still very pocketable. Call quality, speed and sound from the speaker have all been good. Although the speaker is plenty loud for ringing and streaming, I have found the speakerphone not as loud as my old phone but has not been a problem. I was not liking the camera very much until I explored more of the settings in the camera software and found I did not have it set for the full 5 megapixels and could also adjust the color saturation, sharpness, etc. Now I'm liking the camera a lot more...have seen better but it's not bad at all. Friends and family members are jealous and want one too. Really glad I got this phone and would do it again and recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Kentucky
Straight talk ZTE Majesty
Posted 01/26/2014
Can you use this phone as a hot spot like you can the samsung Galaxy 3 ?
thanks
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/30/2013
Could you please tell me how I can set up a notification when I get a text? So far I only see them when I get a call!
+3points
Customer Avatar
Georgia
Hakena
Posted 12/28/2013
I'm not liking the camera, How did you set your camera to the full 5 megapixels?
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 18 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

By far the worst phone I have ever owned!!

03/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had two of these Majesty phones. The first one would constantly reboot at anytime. During a call, texting, browsing... I sent the first one back to ZTE for repair and they sent a replacement. The replacement was set-up for Tracfone and not Straight Talk. So I bought a second one thinking I just had a defective phone. Here it is 6 months later and my 2nd one is doing the same thing. Absolute Junk! Stay away from this phone. Going to get the Samsung Galaxy 4 to replace it this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

TERRIBLE!

03/28/2014
By ,
Abingdon, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone back in January. At first I thought is was an OK phone for about a week. Then I started having trouble with phone calls. It would constantly cut in and out like you kept pushing the mute button over and over. It got so bad that I avoided making calls. After contacting straight talk on 4 different occasions, they sent me a refurbished ZTE Majesty. That phone does the same thing, just not a often. Now people say I sound muffled and they can't understand me. When I get them to call me back, it is a little better. Also, when I listen to music it will cut off in the middle of the song and I have to push pause, then play to continue the same song. I contacted Straight Talk again, and they will only send out another Majesty. They will not even replace my phone with a less expensive phone. If anyone gets this phone, PLEASE PLEASE buy the store warranty so they can take care of any problems, and not Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
WalMart Warranty
Posted 03/10/2015
The walmart warranty will only want you to send them your phone to be fixed or send you a replacement phone of the same thing. So even with Walmarts warranty your wasting your money! They will just want to send you the same piece of junk phone as well. This ZTE Majesty is awful! I purchased it & faced the same problems plus some. I did get the Walmart warranty & they want me to pay them more money to process the claim & still send me the same phone!
0points
Customer Avatar
To everyone having this problem!!
Posted 05/19/2014
Turn off the wifi. Period! Calls and music crystal clear
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great buy at $79.00

02/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ZTE products are a good bang for the buck. I have owned several models with no issues. The Majesty has been an all around very good phone. Good battery life, and for me it's ringer is loud and speaker is clear when calling. The 4.5 in display is clear and crisp. My only Two complaints or improvement needed is that the zoom is controlled on the display by touch an is at time non responsive.Second is android 4.1 is behind the curve would have thought for the cost it should be at least ver 4.3. But as this is my second Majesty I am very happy with the dependability and ease of use.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 435 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next