Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

This Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone offers cell phone functionality and other features. This Android phone from Straight Talk features a 4.5" touchscreen, a 5MP camera and GPS capabilities. The phone runs on Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) and offers both 3G and WiFi connectivity for full access wherever you go. This ZTE cell phone includes a battery, a charger and an activation card along with a 4GB micro SD card for storage. The Straight Talk cell phone has a talk time of up to 7.8 hours and a standby time of up to 15 days. This phone is only compatible with Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans.
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(246 Reviews) 246
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
52
3 stars
14
2 stars
19
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation77%190 out of 246reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
290 Questions | 509 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
52
3 stars
14
2 stars
19
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

EHH not happy with camera fls when sending to comp

12/28/2013
By ,
John Day
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I upgraded from a proclaim to this zte majesty we did lots of research and read lots of reviews by other customers. I got because of the bigger screen and the better camera due to this had a flash an I love my photography. I love the size and screen, its amazing, HOWEVER the camera is good but when I send my photos to my computer to further edit its HORRIBLE!!!!! The file gets shrunk and its all pixelated. This never happened with my proclaim, I even changed the settings to the 5mega pixel settings and still the same. This is just a sad day for me. I love my phone but this is a HUGE PROBLEM for me. I don't know why its doing this. If anyone has any ideas please help. Or this needs to be addressed by the company, I fear its a software issue. BELOW is a photo I took, just off my porch. Look at how pixelated the branches are. NEVER happened with proclaim
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Customer Avatar
N. Central Florida
EHH not happy with camera fls when sending to comp
Posted 04/17/2014
I clicked on your picture and it looks beautiful. I don't see anything wrong with it. It enlarged when I clicked on it. Not huge but larger than a postage stamp. I'm considering this phone, but when I want to save pictures of an event I take my digital camera with me and put those pics on the comp.
0points
Customer Avatar
shelby nc
NOT HAPPY at all with this phone
Posted 04/15/2014
I had a proclaim and wanted to upgrade for a phone with a flash and a front facing camera. The size was abonus. But UGH!!!! This is my second try with this phone. I bought one and had some problems with it locking up the first week I had it. I exchanged this phone for another one of the ZTEs. I am so NOT happy the phone locks up it distorts the pictures.You cant save anything on the memory card .If you save it on the memory card you cant do anything with it. Like games You cant save it on the card because then you cant play it. Why have a smartphone if you cant use it. alot of apps wont even load on the phone.
0points
Customer Avatar
Ref the photo.jpg
Posted 04/06/2014
after examining the photo.jpg that is attached to your message. the resolution is very tiny only 0,1 megapixel the entire file only contains 119.600 pixels either your accessing the file thumbnail or your file transfer is damaged normally the photos are located in the /DCIM/ folders make sure that the files your retrieving is from the DCIM and not the DCIM/Thumbnail folder. i hope this helps you with the phone, unless you've already exchanged it
0points
Customer Avatar
Minnesota
Posted 02/17/2014
i am answering a comment on here of a person wanting to know where to get phone cases for the ZTE Majesty ,,,,, you can go on ebay.com and get phone cases ,,, i go on Ebay all the time for to order phone cases for my phones ,.
-1point
Customer Avatar
minot n,d,
ZTE phone straight talk
Posted 01/26/2014
love my phone but if someone could please tell me where to get a case for it
0points
Customer Avatar
Fla
FYI
Posted 01/23/2014
I don't know if this is helpful to you or not, but when I clicked on your picture, it was beautiful on my computer (macbook pro). Maybe it's some kind of communication between your phone and computer?
+7points
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
ZTE Majesty Photos
Posted 01/06/2014
When you say you "send" your photos to your computer, how are you transferring them? Is it via Bluetooth, the USB cable, or email?
I, too, like taking pictures; and I've found that image files are often sized down when sent as attachments from a phone. I'm thinking in particular of one LG flip handset, whose OBEX profiles were intentionally restricted by the carrier (Verizon) to block the transfer of picture files in mass USB storage mode. It was extremely disappointing, because the only way to view them larger was to MMS to another device or online; and they always automatically sized them down. :( I thought, what was the point of having a larger resolution camera if the largest the images could be rendered was at 240 x 320 or whatever. Similarly, it is difficult to see the pixelation you mentioned in your posted sample shot, because of the way Walmart downsizes customer-uploaded product images.
I myself have had some generally pleasing-looking results from the Majesty's camera. To look on the bright side, it's considerably better than the camera on my ZTE Valet. I have found the Valet's images to be notably dark and grainy, particularly in low-light interior situations; plus (unlike the Majesty) it lacks autofocus.
That being said, I think most phone cameras, at least on low-to-mid-range-priced cellphones are pretty much an afterthought. They're okay for casual snapshots; but if you want consistent, high-quality results in a wide variety of settings and lighting situations, use a dedicated digital camera. Phone cameras (although they've been steadily improving over the years) are mostly designed for portability and convenience of sharing images through social media sites -- not for serious photographers (professional or amateur). Their options and controls are just too limited, in my observation.
Then again, it helps to acquaint oneself fully with whatever camera/equipment one is using; so as to utilize all of its available features for the best possible results. Pixelation tends to show up more readily along diagonal lines. Make sure, too, that you are adjusting the autofocus before each shot. The number of megapixels matters little if the image itself is not well-focused.
Last but not least, beware of camera shake. I personally find that the touchscreens on these smartphone cameras are difficult to hold steady while simultaneously focusing and pressing the shutter button, especially for closeups. Image stabilization software is nice; but results are best when it is not needed.
+12points
Customer Avatar
Rustburg, VA
Not liking it yet.
Posted 01/05/2014
I really was excited about getting this phone for Christmas. Too bad that excitement soon turned to disappointment. In half the calls either the person I tried to talk to could not understand me or I could not understand them. Then there were the calls that for no reason suddenly the phone just shut off. Took it back to Walmart three days after Christmas to exchange it for another one and this one is only slightly better. I would say the defect no only effects 20% of my calls. Taking this one back tomorrow to try one last time. Too bad because I really like the larger size and the features it has over most other StraightTalk phones.
+5points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Review 2 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I really wanted to love this phone but I can't.

11/02/2013
By ,
Wooster, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought that the ZTE Majesty would be my final phone with Straight Talk (I have had 4 good phones). It had a big enough screen for my thumbs, a fast processor running Android 4.1 and even a front facing camera! Boy was I wrong.
I have had two Majesty models. The first one I picked up from Site-to-Store. After about a day or two I pulled the phone out of my pocket only to find what appeared to be a bubble of air under the screen. I was able to squeeze the phone and let the air out of the phone and this fixed the issue. However every time I put the phone in my pocket for an extended period of time this would happen. I returned the phone because this was bothering me and hoped that things would be different.
Not only 2 hours after I got the second phone this started happening again. This time I was just going to deal with it since it didn't affect me using the phone at all. Then the phone started crashing. I would try to call someone or send a text and the phone would just crash, even if I didn't have any other apps open. I did a factory reset and this seemed to fix the issue. THEN, the phone started messing up calls. My girlfriend called me 3 times one morning and my phone only rang once. When I would be able to talk to her she was garbled and she said that I would cut in and out.
I'm done with this phone. Returning it to the store today! DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+152points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Customer Avatar
erie pa
straight talk ZTE majesty
Posted 03/13/2014
does this phone come with FM radio
+1point
Customer Avatar
Vero Beach, FL
I like the Straight Talk plan but hate ZTE Savvy
Posted 01/22/2014
I had a Nokia E71 on the Straight Talk plan for two and a half years. I loved it. The service was great. The phone was great. Then I decided to upgrade to a better phone.
Unfortunately, even if the ZTE Savvy is a better phone, the reception is horrible! I have to run out of my house if I want to take a phone call. Try doing that when it's cold outside. Kind of pointless.
I assume the phone is on a different network, because the reception is abominable.
0points
Customer Avatar
Monroe, NC
Posted 12/19/2013
Not sure where you got the idea it ever had two cameras. Possibly in doing your research you may have confused it with another phone. I've done that before. This is my first smart phone and I've had NO issues. Now I may have to get a Masters Degree to figure out all its features, but I did lots of research before I purchased this phone.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Dallas, Texas area
I would like to know what you have now.
Posted 12/18/2013
I have had several Straight Talk phones and they have all been ok. I looked at this phone because it seemed to have several good features for the price. Do you think that you may have just had bad luck and got phones from "a bad lot" like one of the other person's comments on here. I would like to know what you have now and I am a few years older than the 18-24 age group. I can afford any phone on the market but since I mainly use cell phones for talking and texting, I am not sure I want to spend 6 to 7 hundred dollars on a Sony or Galaxy. I am still deciding and would like to know what you finally got. Thanks if you respond back!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Durham, NC
Great Purchase!
Posted 12/14/2013
Purchasing electronic devices can be intimating especially new phones! Before my Smartphone purchase on Friday,my means of communication was a small Samsung slide phone with a keypad. It served it's purpose but it was time to upgrade! The touchscreen feature wasn't my thing until a knowledgeable sales associate (Robert Smallwood) took the time and was kinder than necessary to answer ALL of my questions. I purchased the ZTE Majesty and the tutorial is excellent. Thanks Robert!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Florence, SC.
thats not right!
Posted 11/25/2013
i hope you gave it another chance and ordered from online, they're 10$s cheaper online actually..and now through 12-20 free overnight shipping...i have the samsung proclaim from ST and it got an air bubble as well...i thought this was from my toddler stealing ot off the night stand while i'm running around the house and its charging..and her little toddler fingers damaged the screen...its gone now though..it didn't look like the bubble would have done any thing rather than cause you to get anxious about what it was all about...how did the phone perform other wise?..also i've been trying to find out the situation with the micro sd slot...where is it?...i've seen its not external..so it must be under the battery door?....and what kind of battery time were you getting on it with heavy usage?
+1point
Customer Avatar
Midwest
Bad Luck
Posted 11/24/2013
Even though this phone was defective on the two models that you got, I am not sure that the phone itself should have 1 star. Reading through the other reviews, positive and negative, it looks like you just go two models from a bad lot.
If I were in your situation I would have been upset and bummed out, but I would have tried another Majesty from online or another store to verify it wasn't a bad lot.
+4points
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Review 3 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for all!

02/22/2014
By ,
Dothan, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone. I have been on Verizon since the first cell phone came out and was so afraid to change. I didn't think the service provided by Straight Talk would be any good. I did research and found this Majesty 796C worked on Verizon towers. I purchased the phone and found cases available on line. I have had this phone since Christmas and have not had any problems. Customer service was so helpful in transferring my old Verizon number to this phone. I love this phone. It is simple to use, pictures are very good and it is easy to download apps. Most importantly, there are no dropped calls and no dead zones. I don't know why I waited so long to switch. Now my son, who is on a Verizon plan until June is going to get this phone. He takes it from me all the time when we are out because mine runs faster than his and mine is $45 a month his is $110 for one phone and 2 on the data. I get it all. unlimited everything. Would never go back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome for the cost!

01/02/2014
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone - For the price I thought it might be low end and cheap, however, that does not seem to be the case. I love new tech devices but am not picky in what I have so I went middle of the road (not an iPhone but not a standard phone) and I love it so far! I love the screen size, logic to navigate (seems like a mix of Windows with a task manager to manage what is running and Mac with the click and drag to the trash app management). I wish it came with plugs for each port to keep gunk out and am a bit annoyed with the apps that are constantly running that I have to stop in task manager (not that this has slowed the phone at this point or drained the battery. Other than those 2 minor things, I love it! I am not one to spend a ton of money on a phone to have all of the features so this phone is a steal. Battery seems great so far, found some great custom cases online for it already and the processor seems pretty fast. I would say go for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Best phone from straight talk

10/17/2013
By ,
Baltic, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a high end smart phone like the s3 or iPhone and don't want to shell out the money, this is the best phone for the straight talk user. It uses Verizon towers, large screan, faster processor and has a flash for the rear camera and has a front facing camera as well (no flash). My only qualm as of now with this phone is that it doesn't take a micro sd card. That would be my only issue. So if you're looking to save some money and have a good top of the line phone.... I would recommend this. Also, very important, I highly recommend the replacement plan. We bought one for a previous phone that we had for a year and a half and then began to have issues with it. I called it in and literally no questions asked they gave me a gift card for the value I PAID for the phone. So I got this phone with my rebate money and merely paid for the replacement plan. Highly recommend that for any phones, it even covers owner accidents. So yes good phone just always get the replacement plan!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+161points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
SD card
Posted 03/30/2014
Check the back where the battery goes, they do take SD cards
0points
Customer Avatar
West Frankfort, Illinois
SD card
Posted 03/13/2014
it does have a micro sd card in it because if you read in the descriptions it says 4GB micro SD card included
0points
Customer Avatar
Florence, SC.
no micro sd?
Posted 11/25/2013
i'm reading every where it does...if its pics you're wanting to save, dnld drop box, when you take a pic, you can set it to automatically upload them to drop box, or review them edit them then drop box will upload them
0points
Customer Avatar
ahoskie
front facing camera
Posted 10/31/2013
Does this phone have a front facing camera?
+1point
Customer Avatar
NC
ZTE Majesty DOES accept Micro SD Cards
Posted 10/17/2013
Not sure why you say the Majesty doesn't accept Micro SD cards as it actually comes with a 4GB San Disk Micro SD card installed. You need to remove the battery cover to remove/replace it, but it is there and supports up to 32GB Micro SD cards.
+21points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 6 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Best smart phone for your dollar

11/01/2013
By ,
Rock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this phone after Samsung Transform Ultra phone from Boost started to die. Had it for 3 years so it had served its time. What interested me the most about this phone was that it does use the Verizon Network where Boost uses Sprint and my area is best served by Verizon. So far very pleased with the coverage, there hasn't been a place where I have not had service. Some things that I wasn't expecting, battery life has to be 4X better then my Ultra. Even texting, making calls, and surfing the web all day doesn't use the entire battery up. The other positive was the screen size, bigger is better and of the cheaper end phones this has the largest screen. And another pro is of the cheaper phones,you're getting the most recent Android Operating System.Even switching my phone# from Boost to Straight Talk wasn't that big of a deal given the horror stories with Straight Talk customer service.
All in all,a good phone for the money and the cell service has been very good as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+146points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Portland, OR
ZTE Review - Straight Talk
Posted 12/11/2013
Thanks the review was very helpful. Just a FYI. I have had Straight Talk for several years now and have only had great customer service from them. At first it was a little shaky because of a language/communication difficulty, but not so anymore. So it's not all bad.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone, great value!

10/28/2013
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good phone for the value. It has plenty of memory, an LED flash, front-facing camera, SD card slot to hold up to 32GB card, 9 customizable home screens. The only thing it's missing is a slide-out keyboard. It's a good phone, runs fast, does everything I ask of it. But with it being so new, it's still a little buggy. My phone call reception is fuzzy in about 25% of my phone calls, but hanging up and calling back seems to fix it every time. The thumbnail preview of pictures on my SD card are not the pictures that show up when I open the picture. The ringtones reset when I unmount the SD card, but that could be due to my ringtone app. The camera is very good quality and it's hard to find an LED flash on a decently-priced phone these days. I love that I can have a different wallpaper for my "lock screen". I also love that I can choose to have a normal wallpaper that doesn't scroll when I scroll through home screens. Overall, a great phone for a great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+120points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

I really like this phone!!

10/28/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the best Straight Talk phone around. It's fast (dual processor)has a big beautiful screen and it's running Android 4.1 which is a big improvement over my last straight talk phone running 3.2. Was able to use a free app called gcloud to move everything over which was a blessing. So far I'm very pleased with this phone, I always order my straight talk phones from Walmart because of the great return policy in case of any issues or I just didn't like the phone. But this phone is a keeper, it's even a good phone gets way better reception and signal strength then my last phone which was a Samsung. My only complaint so far is no cases available for it yet. I just ordered a ZTE force case, the phones are the same size so I'm hoping it fits well enough till somebody makes cases for this phone. I will try to post up the results of my case progress.
OH yeah and the biggest reason this phone uses Verizon towers which work the best in my area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+99points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Va
I LOVE THIS PHONE
Posted 02/26/2014
This phone is my second smart phone and I feel the value is incredible. I know people who have I phones and other high priced cell phones who have service with the major providers and pay a great deal more $$$$$ thanI do for my service plan. With this phone I can do anything they can do with their more expensive phones and the straight talk plans are serviced by the major carriers. The only drawback is, when you change providers or phones, you have to transfer all of your information.
I feel this phone and the straight talk plans are a good value.
+1point
Customer Avatar
canandaigua
phone cases available
Posted 02/05/2014
look on amazon!!! tons of cases on there for it
0points
Customer Avatar
NY
Just an update on the case and phone
Posted 11/10/2013
The force case didn't fit so no good, but I just was able to order one on e b a y and it seems to be a lot of people selling them.
Update on the phone, still love the phone very happy with it. It does one annoying thing it's happened about three times so far while sending a text it reset. I've send a lot of texts and usually never have a problem. If it becomes a bigger problem I will have to deal with it and I will post it here. But all in all it's the best phone I've owned. The newer android is a biog step up from the older version.
+11points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

SLOW SLOW SLOW SLOW

03/14/2014
By ,
Panama City FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was happy to have a larger screen. But it didn't take long for a few things to become bigger things. First it was (as my previous straight talk phone) using Verizon towers which is the best coverage by far. However this phones antenna must not be as good as my previous ST phone because the reception was must less. There were places that I couldn't make or hold a clear conversation that wasn't a problem on the previous ST. Then there was the processing speed. Though it boast a 1.+ processor I found it was not enough to keep up with all the bells and whistles. When I would push the button to get to the unlock screen it would literally take 2 to 3 seconds to respond. When I would tap the phone icon it would take 2 to 3 seconds to respond. This was for just about every single icon i tapped. This is the first smart phone that I've had that took that long to respond. I rebooted several times, cleared memory, etc but nothing helped. So I dropped the phone. Took great pictures and videos.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love It!

11/12/2013
By ,
Johnstown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for about a month now - upgraded from my Galaxy Proclaim. So far it has been reliable and fun to use. The bigger screen has been a pleasure to use and I haven't found the larger size to be a problem at all ... still very pocketable. Call quality, speed and sound from the speaker have all been good. Although the speaker is plenty loud for ringing and streaming, I have found the speakerphone not as loud as my old phone but has not been a problem. I was not liking the camera very much until I explored more of the settings in the camera software and found I did not have it set for the full 5 megapixels and could also adjust the color saturation, sharpness, etc. Now I'm liking the camera a lot more...have seen better but it's not bad at all. Friends and family members are jealous and want one too. Really glad I got this phone and would do it again and recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Kentucky
Straight talk ZTE Majesty
Posted 01/26/2014
Can you use this phone as a hot spot like you can the samsung Galaxy 3 ?
thanks
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/30/2013
Could you please tell me how I can set up a notification when I get a text? So far I only see them when I get a call!
+3points
Customer Avatar
Georgia
Hakena
Posted 12/28/2013
I'm not liking the camera, How did you set your camera to the full 5 megapixels?
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 11 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

My Husband and I both got one!

02/07/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So I love this phone! compatible with the games I like to play, Netflix comes in good. But it has issues!
Right after purchasing it I noticed my speakerphone didn't work. Also, when I played games I couldn't turn the volume up or down, it just stayed maxed out. I rebooted my phone back to original and it works great and I love it.
My husbands phone, well...... He had the opposite problem as me within 3 days. The phone games wouldn't have any volume no matter how high you turned it up. He rebooted his phone and it fixed the problem. less than 2 days later his phone is turning off and on by itself frequently, plus now it quit playing videos- He just gets a black screen. It has been within the 14 day return policy so we returned his.
I kept mine because I love it, I don't want to part with it... I just hope I don't have the same problems he did anytime soon! I purchased the 2 year warranty, I would recommend that if you buy this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

My first smart phone, and I love it!

11/13/2013
By ,
South Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have moved up by getting a smart phone. I use to think I didn't like advance technology and/or need all the features my new Straight Talk ZTE Majesty offers. I surprised myself in how much I really love this phone. It is so easy to operate. I now love getting on the internet with my new phone. Before I had internet service but never used it due to having difficulty in searching and using it on my old small phone. I am very pleased with my phone. Oh, the neatest thing about this phone is that it has voice text. I can't tell you how frustrated I was when others texted message me because I had to take the time to enter each letter and it seemed to take forever to reply. On a scale of 1 to 10, it is diffidently a 10! My husband researched all the phones and chose this one for me. Thank you sweetheart, You picked a winner. I have a great husband and now I have a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
douglas ga
Wouldnt suggest buying this!!!!
Posted 12/25/2013
okay I like the phone it has a huge screen and big enough for my fingers to type something but they have a few bugs in them. I am working on my 2nd one so far because the first one after 2 or 3 days the speaker was rattling in it so I took it back and replaced it, well this time I have only had this one for about 1 week and im already having problems with it such as: the speaker rattles like its busted, when I take it outta my pocket the screen makes a screeching noise very aggravating, and like every few hours it will restart by itself this phone has done nothing but caused me trouble since day 1. I will be taking it back soon and wouldn't recommend anyone to buy this phone!!!! thanks
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

best value not much different from the galaxy 3

02/16/2014
By ,
Springfield MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the ZTE Majesty 796c I bought is a very good phone and I am very happy with it. .I was looking at 2 phones with straight talk the ZTE and the Galaxy 3. the ZTE was selling for $ 179 that had a 1.2 cpu and the galaxy 3 was selling for $399 and the cpu was only a 1.5 cpu not much differents there between the 2 phones .well just compare them. the ZTE has the same features has the $ 399 galaxy 3 for way less money.you can use this phone also with out putting minutes on it just use your wifi or free wifi out there. you can watch netflix ,youtube,facebox down load music and text messages when you down load text message now it is a free program. there is so much more you can do with this phone ZTE Majesty 796c and this phone WILL WORK ANYWARE... THIS IS THE BEST VALUE HANDS DOWN.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone

10/16/2013
By ,
Winnsboro, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using my email all the time and texting can use a lot of space and this is the reason I decided to try this phone. I had a LG Zip and liked it. The texting was great on it but there just wasn't enough internal memory so that is what I looked for. The processor on this phone is one of the fastest offered by straight talk and the internal memory was MUCH more than my previous phone so I took a leap of faith and ordered the phone. I have had the phone about 2 weeks and all my google contacts and information transfered effortlessly which is a PLUS since I hate transfering info from one phone to another. The speed is great and I haven't had a single issue so far with storage even after approximately 200 text messages! Camera with a flash was a big bonus too! I would definately recommend this phone for someone needing a phone capable of handling lots of email and text.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

TERRIBLE!

03/28/2014
By ,
Abingdon, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone back in January. At first I thought is was an OK phone for about a week. Then I started having trouble with phone calls. It would constantly cut in and out like you kept pushing the mute button over and over. It got so bad that I avoided making calls. After contacting straight talk on 4 different occasions, they sent me a refurbished ZTE Majesty. That phone does the same thing, just not a often. Now people say I sound muffled and they can't understand me. When I get them to call me back, it is a little better. Also, when I listen to music it will cut off in the middle of the song and I have to push pause, then play to continue the same song. I contacted Straight Talk again, and they will only send out another Majesty. They will not even replace my phone with a less expensive phone. If anyone gets this phone, PLEASE PLEASE buy the store warranty so they can take care of any problems, and not Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Really nice phone!

01/22/2014
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I switched from an LG Optimus Showtime to this phone about 2 1/2 weeks ago and it is a vast improvement!!! The battery life on this thing is AWESOME! The phone itself is very appealing, nice rounded edges and the charge port is located on the side (which I really like -- my old phone had it on the bottom). The phone for me has been very fast, responsive and I've had no issues with it. The camera quality is very good and I have no problem posting pictures on FB, Instagram, etc. The face of the phone is plastic and not gorilla glass, which I like. I was lucky and picked up a really nice case/plastics film cover on Amazon for $6.00. All in all, I really like this phone and have no hesitations recommending it to other people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good for basic users but....

11/19/2013
By ,
USA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love that this phone offers more features than most other verizon based phones available for straight talk, and it was somewhat affordable but it is not for everyone. Thoughts to consider....
PROS:
Large screen
Smart phone
Decent camera
Runs on Verizon network
CONS:
Music player just randomly stops or fast forwards on its own, especially with activity
the icon in text are LAME
sound for alarms or the phone have a lower volume than my other phones even when maxed
sound choices and quality for rings and alarms are lacking in sound quality and choices
phone seems to just randomly restart ALL THE TIME. No rhyme, no reason. Just restarts.
Sports apps that use GPS for tracking seem to work but doesn't track accurately. Ever. Period.
Running or other heavy activity seem to cause issues with the phone. Stops running apps
Doesn't have a swype keyboard but that is easily fixed with an app
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kemp, Teas
Awesome phone at first....
Posted 02/03/2014
I got this phone for my birthday NOVEMBER 1, 2013, I liked it because of the big screen size and dual cameras and couldn't afford the Samsung Galaxy. Reviews were great and really enjoyed it up to about 2 months ago when it started restarting itself while trying to play games or write text. then I've started getting this Armour Threat ad which is stupid, because; you cant even download it on this phone. However, it continually comes up and interrupts whatever game I'm playing. Is anyone else out there having these issues?Important: if you are contemplating on buying this phone and reading reviews, make sure you look at how long that person writing it has had their phone!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

ZTE Majesty New Straight Talk Phone

10/28/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone approximately two weeks ago and I have loved it since the day I first received it. First, it has a 4.5" screen which makes it convenient to text and watch movies and videos. Also, the screen appears to have a really good resolution and video looks superb. The camera is pretty good and it also has flash on the front-facing 5 MP camera. In addition to all of this, the phone has Android 4.1 so everything is fast and smooth. Even better, this phone also runs off of the Verizon network so in most areas the service will be fantastic. My only minor complaint about this phone is that the home, menu, and back buttons aren't centered vertically so it's easy to miss them with your fingers. But overall a great phone! I would definitely recommend this to anyone who doesn't want a cheap smartphone but can't afford an expensive plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Has its ups and downs

04/10/2014
By ,
Springfield, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this phone a couple weeks ago, replacing my Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. It has a faster processor speed, a better camera (5.0 with flash), and a front facing camera, which isn't very good at all (0.3 MP). Also the phone does have limited internal storage. Your best bet to is to try to move as many apps as possible to the SD Card.
Now onto a different subject. The first few days I got this phone I saw a bubble inside the screen, which by the way is NOT the screen protectors. I'm beginning to wonder if it's due to a lot of pocket pressure. Some days it will be huge and some days it will decrease in size. I try to squeeze the bubble out, but nothing happens. I recommend that if anyone decides to get this phone, get a case for it to prevent the bubble formation in the screen. It's tough to find them at Walmart stores. In my area at least. Other than that it works just fine for now.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk ZTE Majesty 796C Prepaid Cell Phone

Love, Love, Love this Phone!!!!

03/10/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this phone through ST because it was $10 cheaper on their site. My husband wanted the S3 and I said oh no...That phone is way to high since we have to buy 2 new phones. I did all my research and decided to get the Majesty ZTE....OMG we both fell in love with it when we got it. The phone has alot of the same features as the S3. The screen size is nice and big. We both got outterbox cases to go with it and no one would know the difference in this prepaid phone and a contract phone...lol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 246 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next