Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

The Ultimate L96G Straight Talk LG Optimus Prepaid Cell Phone runs on the Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich operating system. The phone features a 4.3" touchscreen and a 5 MP camera, and an unlimited entry phone book lets you easily keep track of all your friends and family. The Straight Talk LG Optimus Cell Phone gives you up to 8 hours of talk time and up to 13 days of standby time. The phone is compatible with the Straight Talk $45/30-Day Unlimited or $60/30-Day Unlimited International service plans. Prepaid phones require no contract, meaning you pay each month for as long as you wish to keep service.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation84%38 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
75 Questions | 92 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst phone ever

01/15/2014
By ,
Clearwater, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had LG's in the past and liked them but this phone is awful. I was switching from a Straighttalk Samsung using Verizon towers to this LG using AT&T and the difference was amazing. I think maybe/hopefully I had a bad phone but either way it's going back. Every screen freezes and takes forever to pull up. It constantly kicked me off of the internet or apps. The 3G connection in general was awful and super slow. I couldn't send text messages to T-mobile customers unless I put in the area code, even if they were local or it wouldn't go through. I would get static when calling people and they would say I sounded far away. AT&T is big in my local area so I would think that the AT&T towers shouldn't have had anything to do with it but I definitely think this was a combination of bad phone and AT&T towers. This was an awful phone and experience. Definitely switching back to a Samsung using Verizon towers, better phone and carrier service.
Recommends this product? No
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bastrop, LA
It's not the phone
Posted 03/01/2014
It's not the phone. When you switched from Verizon to ATT was the problem. I'm still looking for an LG L96C. The last letter determines the service. G is for ATT and C is for Verizon. WalMart doesn't make it easy to select that way.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Just terrible :/

03/28/2014
By ,
Lincoln Ne
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone worked great for about 4 months, then out of nowhere is started crashing. The charging dock won't keep a charger in it. Every time I pick up my phone the charger just falls out. It also stops charging on it's own if I even pick up my phone. The phone shuts off randomly and then turns back on. Also while I'm talking on my phone the person I'm talking to can hear me and then they can't hear me. It cuts in and out all the time, it gets rather annoying having to repeat myself. Lastly out of nowhere any time I make a call or answer a phone call my phone randomly goes to speaker phone. That annoys me so bad, no matter what I do I can't get it to stop! Luckily I got the replacement plan on my phone so I have filed a claim and I am sending back in. This phone is just junk! Don't waste your money...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone is glitchy, problematic.

12/30/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was stoked to have this phone. I bought it because of the camera and the frontal camera. I have Vine, Facebook and Snapchat as Aps on this phone. The camera doesn't focus and the pictures come out blurry almost 90% of the time. The frontal camera is a pixel mess, and the phone itself is glitchy. It's slow, and boots me off the 'internet' for no apparent reason. Now the keyboard has started doing this thing where you start typing but it doesn't type anything, or it says I have full service, but in reality, I can only make Emergency calls. I just had to restart it twice because of the keyboard and because of the service issue. I've had this phone for about two months, three max. This is not what I expected for $250. My $80 straight talk phone was much better than this phone. Save your money, do NOT get this phone. I will be contacting Customer service after the new year to report my problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Has much needed RAM

01/09/2014
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I use my phone for work as well as pleasure, I need to have 2 apps downloaded that take up a fair amount of memory. On my last phone, it left little room for my personal apps.
The difficulty in finding a phone with adequate RAM is that the phone specs don't say how much RAM each phone has - only the size of the SD card and processing speed.
After my husband bought this phone, I was able to confirm it has 2.72 GB RAM, far more than my previous phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

same as lg optimus showtime but this one uses at&t

10/01/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great phone but this one uses AT&T and in my area Verizon works better. My girlfriend has the LG showtime. its the same phone but the showtime uses Verizon so depending on were you live you may want the LG showtime and in other areas you may want this one since it uses AT&T. what's great is these phone have lots of memory built in for installing apps. you don't run out of storage space right away. I am sure you can use all the 2GB of app storage but you can move a lot of them to a microsd card. comes with a 4GB sd card but you can upgrade it to a 32GB sd card turning your phone into a music player. Phone comes preinstalled with some great apps and you can download even more apps. the camera takes great photos and video. it's 5MP and it has a flash! you can download a flashlight app and use the flash as a flashlight and it's fairly bright. over all I would say get this phone if your area is good for AT&T you wont be sorry. if Verizon is better in your area your out of luck as the LG showtime is sold out at this time at most walmart stores and online. I see some one ebay but that's it! over all a great phone very happy with it! VERY VERY HAPPY!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Device for the Price!

11/03/2013
By ,
Savona, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a "Walmart Associate." I am a "Spouse" of an Associate.
This device is as functional as you can get with a no-contract cell phone. It operates on the "GSM" network (AT&T). Thus the code "G" on the device model number. On this network you are able to use the web & cell services simultaneously. You can't do that on the "C" (CDMA / Verizon) network.
The only deficiency I found was low on-board storage. Larger screen is a plus! Much more sensitive than lower tier smartphones.
I bought this for my wife & she loves the device so much that I just recently re-ordered one for myself after "test driving" hers.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone

10/19/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband bought me this phone as an upgrade from the Nokia E5. I absolutely love it. Much better service and clarity while talking on the phone. Takes great pictures. The screen is huge, a lot bigger than the iPhone's. Only down fall is that the battery life is not great. It loses charge pretty quick even when it just sits there and you're not using it. I have to charge it once a day. I bought the car charger off amazon for cheap to have when I'm not home. I also think the camera facing the front (to Skype people) is very low quality. But the back side camera takes amazing pictures. The Internet works very fast even when you don't have WiFi. I also just bought a 32gb micro SD card, but haven't put it in yet. I love it and am very happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

It works

11/08/2013
By ,
ashland,ky.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My last phone would not work in 2 of the most important zip codes that I travel in.I checked out all the areas for this phone and it works in all the zip code areas that I have traveled in and would do so again.My reception has been very good and clear.I have not had any problems or disappointments with this phone.The only con I find is that I have to charge it every day.
As for my Straight Talk service-I've had it for over a year,I like it.Customer service has been fine,quick to help.The cost of the plan is very reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

GREAT PHONE

03/02/2014
By ,
Metairie, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone to replace my ZTE MERIT, which I was very disappointed in. The LG is a large phone with great features. I have no complaints about this phone. Battery life is great, navigation is very easy. Would recommend this phone. 100% satisfied.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone at a great price

03/20/2014
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new phone! So far it has gone above and beyond what I expected for a $200 straightalk phone. I tell everyone and have even converted a diehard iphone lover. I have had no issues with apps and. emails and upgrading from an old straighttalk phone was a snap. I was concerned with how well photos would be but seems to do great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone!

03/23/2014
By ,
Winston Salem, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good phone. I got rid of my I phone and got the Lg Straight Talk. Does everything my I phone did.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone

03/16/2014
By ,
Murfreesboro TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After trying a few phones that did not equal up in battery,service area. I found the Straight Talk Optimus Ultimate L96G. Great in everything I need and more. Great battery,camera. Good size lens I am beyond satisfied. Great price,well worth it for what you get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

GOOD PHONE TROUBLE WITH NUMBER

02/01/2014
By ,
INDIANA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the phone was here a day early that was nice . That when the trouble started after I think 3 calls to straighttalk my phone was on but not with my number that I had before and still had time on my card. I went to WALMART at FRANKFORT IN one of the vendors help with some call and i got a new sim card on tuesday now back to the phone calls to strighttalk 3 or 4 still did not have my number got a new sim card on thursday 2 more calls to strighttalk my phone is working with my old number . got the phone on thursday got to used it on the next thursday everybody tryed to be helpfull some reasond it just took a week to get it work on the right number. I LIKE THE PHONE
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Don't buy LG product: Poor manufacturing quality

03/20/2014
By ,
Sarasota, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a LG Optimus F& $229.00 on October 26, 2013. It is March 20th and the phone is not working properly. The LG manufacturer wants me to ship the phone to them for repair. If can't fix then will replace with a refurbish phone. Number one I bought new, replace with new! Also, I am on call for work. I can't go days without the phone. Because of the poor manufacturing, they want me to pay to ship the phone, then wait for them to repair and ship back. I don't have the time to be inconvenienced due to their poor manufacturing techniques. I am now forced to buy a new phone because I can't go the length of time required for them to correct their mistake. I will never buy another LG product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

i like it alot

04/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i like it alot
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone!

04/09/2014
By ,
Belleville, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so happy I purchased this phone. I love it. Very happy with it. Everything is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

nice phone for the price

04/07/2014
By ,
Bald Knob Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
phone works great fast shipping
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good but 3g kills it

04/04/2014
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice phone for $200 but disappointed that it is only a 3g phone. If this was a 4g it would be great but with that drawback not great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good smartphone for the cost

02/18/2014
By ,
East Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this phone. It is essentially the same phone as the L86C Showtime that my husband has, just uses another network. I didn't give more stars for meets expectations because though I was told before I placed my order that this phone would work in my area code, I am having trouble receiving a strong signal. It uses ATT and my husband's uses Verizon and he gets a better signal here.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Ultimate L96G Prepaid Cell Phone

Overall good telephone

04/01/2014
By ,
Somerset, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only owned about 1 week. Nice features, responsive to touch and clean look. Easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next