Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tracfone TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Tracfone TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

This compact 236C TracFone LG Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes features a 1.3MP camera so you can take photos wherever you go. The device also features external caller ID and phone book storage for 1,000 numbers. This LG flip cell phone includes free double minutes for life. The phone offers a talk time of more than six hours, and it comes with a battery, a charger and an activation card.
Average Customer Rating:
4.225 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(196 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
46
3 stars
12
2 stars
2
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation88%173 out of 196reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
244 Questions | 290 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
46
3 stars
12
2 stars
2
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

GREAT PHONE FOR HUBBY!

12/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered this phone for my husband for Christmas. It was a replacement for another phone that he had for a couple of years. He had a "flip phone" a few years ago and did not like his current phone. The " flip phone was easier to carry in his pocket instead of in a case on his belt. This phone is also more simple to use. He has a hearing problem, this phone is loud enough for him, no more, " I didn`t know you called, I didn`t hear the phone." The only problem we had was not with the phone but with the person I talked to trying to set up the phone, transferring minutes from his old phone and adding minutes that I had bought to add on. After calling again the next day and speaking to a different person, It was all made right. "Track Phone" Is the Only Way To Go with us elderly people! We do not have a lot of money for extras. Really I do not know why everyone does not use "Track Phone." It surely would save them a lot of money! Hubby is really enjoying his new phone!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Phone OK / Activation Not So Much

09/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this phone as a backup to my primary line. Wanted a flip phone I could carry in my pocket when I ran up to corner store or while at work in case I need to make a quick call.
I went all through the activation process and it took 3 times for it to finally accept the serial number and activate the phone. Once it told me the serial number was already assigned to someone else but I verified I entered the right number and tried again and it took it.
Then I tried to buy more minutes through TracPhone's website. I tried that 3 times also and so far it has NOT worked. When you go through the process, it tells you it will take 5 minutes. Well, it's been over 9 hrs and it still hasn't processed my request.
One thing I can say for the phone though, I have a full row of bars on signal strength, and my other phone through a major carrier says I only have 3 bars.
If I can get this thing working, I just might just stay with Trac Phone and get rid of the major carrier phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rockwall, TX
Update on Activation
Posted 10/02/2014
I wanted to add that when I checked phone the next morning and tried adding the minutes again it took everything on the 1st try. . I'm guessing that maybe their network was busy the night before and my attempts weren't getting through. Since then, phone works great and have had strong signal most of the time, no problems. Phone is just what I wanted.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Phone could not be activated

05/12/2014
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried to activate this phone online. I followed the directions exactly. After submitting the serial number, it gave a message saying that my phone number is pending and may take up to four hours to be assigned. Seven hours later, I got my phone number. I then tried to dial the star-five digit number that completes the activation process. After sending the number, a couple different messages appeared on the screen. Then it returned to the main screen and gave a message saying "Requires Activation." I tried calling the number again and it did the same thing. I then called Tech Support from my home phone and ended up talking to five different people during the next four hours. Each of them took me through the same series of steps of entering long lists of codes and doing other things to try to troubleshoot the problem. Each person eventually gave up and transferred me to someone else. After four hours, I finally gave up and returned the phone to WalMart for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
trac phone
Posted 08/26/2014
sims card no good?
0points
Customer Avatar
Creedmoor, NC
WORST PHONE EVER!!!!
Posted 06/04/2014
What my husband went thru to get his contacts transferred from his old TracFone to this one was pure frustration and mental torture! This is a nightmare of a phone! Now he finds out he cannot SEND text msgs from inside our house! Are you kidding me? Our last TracFone was amazing and I still have mine to this day! We are getting a newer, different phone this weekend and this one is going where it really belongs...the trash bin! Do not buy this phone unless you enjoy being anxious, frustrated and mad!!!
June 2014
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Great phone

06/04/2014
By ,
Ocala, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a trac fone for the last five years. This phone is leaps and bounds ahead of the previous one I had. Some said the sound was not loud enough they must have really bad hearing .. The sound is great I don,t even have it at max setting and can hear very well. Easy to use features. It is a simple phone but thats what I wanted for emergencys and a few personal calls. I am very pleased with this phone. If you are getting a new phone and have had trouble in the pass with having enough signal strengh you may want to check out which network you are on . If the phone identifcation number ends in C it is a verison network phone. If it ends in G it is a AT&T network phone. I now have verison network with this phone and it is 100 persent better than the pervious phone. Before I could not use the phone in my house or out in the yard at my address in Florida and there is a cell tower 1/2 mile frrom my home. With the new lg236c I can use it in the house as well as out in the yard, what a difference. Hope this review helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+223points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

easy to use

10/03/2014
By ,
Waterford, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband had an older Tracfone and not only was it showing its age but he was unable to get coverage in some areas that he travels to. His only needs were a phone with large buttons, loud ring tone and coverage for the areas he goes to. After researching all the tracfones I felt this would fit his needs and ordered it. I am happy to say this phone fit the bill. While this phone offers a camera and ability to go online he does not use them. His only problem would be the volume adjustment button on the left side of the phone that he hits accidently. When I setup his phonebook I also setup the voice mail and that is a problem because once setup it cannot be disabled. The problem is a voicemail he cannot hear and plays over & over thus using minutes up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

So far so good

08/26/2014
By ,
Kettering, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've always used tracfone since I only want a basic way of communicating if an emergency comes up and I'm out running the streets. I don't text or even keep a voice mail, that's how old school I am. I maintain a home phone and answering machine and work from home, and everybody knows I'm not much for talking on the phone to begin with. I wanted an upgrade from my old tracfone and bought this one when I realized I could keep my old tracfone number and could transfer all my minutes over. The little camera is nice. I can do voice mail and text if I want (I don't). It's not expensive. My tracfone service is fine, no complaints there. My sister, who's more into playing with phones, says she really likes it and wouldn't mind switching down to a model like this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Perfect cell phone for elderly

10/02/2014
By ,
Omaha, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the LG 236C for my 87 yr old father who wanted to still feel connected to us. Knowing he would not use the phone much, this cell phone ended up being perfect for him. I first tried activation online but ran into a glitch, so I called the 800 number and followed the instructions provided and the activation was very easy. I then accessed the Tracfone website to purchase minutes for the phone. It all really went smoothly, and the phone is ready for him to use. This was the answer to our prayers. I received the phone a day earlier than was stated, which made my day! It's a great cell phone, especially for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ga
activation charge?????
Posted 03/09/2015
Is there an activation charge? If so, how much?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Great phone for my needs.

08/12/2014
By ,
Toccoa, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordering, shipping, picking up of package, and activation went very smoothly. The assoicate that helped me was very friendly and helpful even though she was the only one working the counter. There was simply not enough help in that department, but she kept a big smile and friendly attitude. I really felt sorry for her (I almost went over and answered the phone for her. Two were ringing at one time.) Back to the telephone that I ordered. I keep getting phone calls and messages from telemarketers trying to get me to purchase extras for the phone. If I want something extra for my phone, I will let them know. This is eating up my minutes and it is making me mad. If they would leave me alone, I would be thrilled with the phone. It is exactly what I was looking for. So far the phone has been working very well, with no problems. It is easy to manage the settings, etc. I will be very happy if the telemarketers stop pestering me. I have already recommended the phone and the service to a friend and they are going to change and get one of these. Thanks Walmart for getting these back in stock on line. You really need to stock these in the store, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Kenosha Wi
Speaking of phone features....
Posted 08/25/2014
If these trac phones had a call rejection list programed into them people wouldn't waste minutes on telamarketers and other annoyance calls letting only contacts call. Or if you don't recognize the number, just don't answer it ! LG 430G has that call rejection option but I can't find it anymore .
+1point
Customer Avatar
Richmond, TX
Avoid those pesky telemarketers ...Here's how
Posted 08/16/2014
You need to go online and register your new cell number with the national "Do Not Call" registry (you can Google it for the web address). It will take up to thirty days for the registration to take effect, but it should take care of the problem.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Works good and easy to use.

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone was an upgrade for my father (who is in his 60s) over his previous tracfone. It works very well and was easy for my dad to get the hang of it.
The phone is pretty sturdy and my dad likes that it can be set to answer by just flipping it open. He can't accidentally dile numbers when its in his pocket.
It is simple to set up if you look online at the tutorials for tracfone, And switching service and phone number over to it was not very dificult. Although perhaps that is because this is probably the 5th or 6th tracfone upgrade I have assisted with.
Offically Tracfone only sells at&t based phones in my area of upstate NY despite the signal quality being very poor to non existant for at&t phones around here, apparently because it is cheaper for them to buy service from at&t.
So purchasing verizon based phones online from Walmart is an easy way to get a phone that will actually work in more places. My dads previous tracfone was purchased locally and had no signal in most places, including his home. This new tracfone has great signal at home and all other places he has gone.
Search online to find out what tracfone models are at&t or verizon, generally a phone with the letter C following the model name is verizon.
Then try to find out from friends or online what works better in your area.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Bad choice

05/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After doing all the research on trac phones, I decided on this one. It only lasted until the first battery charge & died. Unable to get it to work again. I received a lemon.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Excellent Product

04/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a land line phone and found no reason to keep an expensive contract phone with Verizon. I began searching a number of alternatives and I am very pleased with the decision to go with this Tracfone. Read a number of reviews on line about this particular model that were all excellent. This phone is very good quality, easy to use and simple to set up at home. The phone came with double minutes and extended the use time from three to six months. We purchased this phone for emergency and occasional use and could not be happier with it. The savings over a simple flip phone with Verizon will be significant. Highly recommend this model to anyone who is not a heavy cell phone user.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Nice phone!

12/30/2013
By ,
Brick,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading several customer reviews I replaced another LG phone with the G after the model number because the service was pathetic and you wouldn't get calls and messages would be delivered 30 min. after the call when the phone was on and should have completed the call! So far this phone is a thousand percent better, you get calls when they are made and if you do get a message when you call to check your message you can actually clearly hear the message. Don't order LG Tracfones with the letter G after the model because the service & reception are pathetic. Forget trying to get your messages because the service is so garbled you can't understand the message and Tracfone will tell you nothing is wrong!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Worth the cost.

05/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my 5th Tracfone in 10 yrs. I like them. Thanks to product reviews, I recently discovered that model numbers that end with a "C" (LG 236C), use Verizon towers, which have the best coverage outside of large population areas. My last Tracfone used AT&T and my use was limited on hunting & fishing trips in rural PA & MT, so I am very saisfied with reception. This phone is simple to use with the basic features I need. I recommend using Tracfone's website instead of customer service-the operator's accent can be difficult to understand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kansas
old number
Posted 08/10/2014
i have a question. can i use my previous number from another company. this has been my number a long time and many people i know have it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Volume Issues

12/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this for my parents as a gift to replace their current Tracfone that doesn't hold a charge well anymore. I ended up getting two. I sent the first LG 236C phone back due to volume issues. On speaker, it was loud enough, but when the speaker was off, the volume was insufficient. When the 2nd phone arrived and was activated, we found it to be a little better, but still not great. Again, the speaker is wonderful, but up to your ear, it's not very good, but better than the first one. Because my parents wanted a flip phone, options were limited and since they have many minutes and over one year remaining on the original Tracfone, this had to be the one to get for them. The other functions work well. They will keep the phone, but may opt to use the speaker function.
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Great phone, lots of features and affordable!

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I basically bought this phone for my soon-to-be 90 year old mother for emergency situation(s). She had a phone & was on a plan with another family member but wanted to have her own plan that she could afford independently & Tracfone gave her that. She likes the double minutes feature, larger font, icons & screen clarity, and has picked up on the operation of the phone quite quickly. She's having fun taking pics and linking them to those in her contacts. She takes her Tracfone with her everywhere - even when she gets up during the night.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

phone for plain old-calling

03/04/2014
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing fancy, no plan phone. I just need a phone on the road in case of car trouble, etc. This one uses Verizon towers and gets much better coverage then the G model trac phone. The Walmart staff that was working when I picked it up (site to store) activated it and switched my phone no. and all my pictures and saved phone no.s over from my G model. I don't know if the walmart staff have to go to all that trouble, but she was happy to do it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+258points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

JUNK

03/05/2015
By ,
Athens, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this phone site to store. That went well. The product , regardless of the good reviews which is why I purchased the phone , never worked properly. I only kept it a couple of days before it went back and I got something else. I did get it activated to make and recieve calls- but after that it malfunctioned. Only the top 1/3 rd of the display screen was visable. Therefor you could not look at any of the applications to utilize them. Sometimes when you turned it on all you got was a small block of multi colored dots. Having dealt with Tracphone customer service in the past I called LG. They spent some time on the issue then sent me to Tracphone. Trying to explain to a various number of Customer Service persons ,who do not speak very good English , and explain something they just can't get into their minds because they can't see it is a real adventure. Finally they decided I should take it back to Walmart. Had to buy another Tracphone because if I did not the minutes and time I already paid for would be for nothing. Bought another phone and had Tracphone transfer the number, time and days to the next phone. Waited for activation that did not come. Call Tracphone and they tell me the number I want to transfer is not a Tracphone number. Really ! O.K. I spend 54 minutes on my landline getting this straight. Finally get this second phone activated. I ask for some compensation , in minutes, as this was above the call of reasonable expectation anyone should have to go through. I got 10 minutes and they stood firm that was all they would do. Bad phone and the worse customer service I have ever experienced. The ONLY redeeeming feature was the gal at Walmart ( Laura) who was great.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Can't beat features with such a low cost

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, it's not a smartphone, nor is it a phone designed for constant chatterboxes or texters. It's a reliable, low-cost mobile phone for adults who just need a phone for emergencies or travel. Despite all that, it comes loaded with features you would expect on a phone that comes with a service contract. In addition to the basic telephone, you get a quite decent built-in camera that allows you to intuitively post photos to Facebook and Flickr in addition to just saving your pictures to the internal drive. You can text on it if that's your thing. There's Internet browser capability (but be prepared to burn minutes if you use it excessively). The reception and transmission is crystal clear. There's no long-term commitment, but in my case, buying 200 minutes worth of air time gained me double minutes plus guaranteed service through October 2014 (I purchased the phone in mid-April 2014, so that equates to a six-month period of guaranteed service). Programming the phone is easy using the Tracfone instructions included. Adding airtime is simple, especially via the Tracfone website, but if you are unable to access the website, adding airtime via the phone is also simple. Best of all, the whole package cost me just slightly more than $15 retail (airtime minutes are extra, but reasonable). Balancing the features against the base price of this phone, I don't think you can do much better if you are looking for a simple mobile service for, as I said, use by adults who only need a mobile phone for emergencies or travel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+235points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

TracFone LG 236C

05/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone does everything it's supposed to do including taking pictures. We couldn't
be happier. Now my husband and I both have tracfones.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Trac Phone

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For someone who does not need a smart phone and all of the apps, just a phone to use to communicate and for general use, this is great. It is economical and easy to use!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 196 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next