Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tracfone TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Tracfone TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

This compact 236C TracFone LG Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes features a 1.3MP camera so you can take photos wherever you go. The device also features external caller ID and phone book storage for 1,000 numbers. This LG flip cell phone includes free double minutes for life. The phone offers a talk time of more than six hours, and it comes with a battery, a charger and an activation card.
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
26
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation92%71 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
84 Questions | 157 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
26
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Great phone

06/04/2014
By ,
Ocala, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a trac fone for the last five years. This phone is leaps and bounds ahead of the previous one I had. Some said the sound was not loud enough they must have really bad hearing .. The sound is great I don,t even have it at max setting and can hear very well. Easy to use features. It is a simple phone but thats what I wanted for emergencys and a few personal calls. I am very pleased with this phone. If you are getting a new phone and have had trouble in the pass with having enough signal strengh you may want to check out which network you are on . If the phone identifcation number ends in C it is a verison network phone. If it ends in G it is a AT&T network phone. I now have verison network with this phone and it is 100 persent better than the pervious phone. Before I could not use the phone in my house or out in the yard at my address in Florida and there is a cell tower 1/2 mile frrom my home. With the new lg236c I can use it in the house as well as out in the yard, what a difference. Hope this review helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Phone could not be activated

05/12/2014
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried to activate this phone online. I followed the directions exactly. After submitting the serial number, it gave a message saying that my phone number is pending and may take up to four hours to be assigned. Seven hours later, I got my phone number. I then tried to dial the star-five digit number that completes the activation process. After sending the number, a couple different messages appeared on the screen. Then it returned to the main screen and gave a message saying "Requires Activation." I tried calling the number again and it did the same thing. I then called Tech Support from my home phone and ended up talking to five different people during the next four hours. Each of them took me through the same series of steps of entering long lists of codes and doing other things to try to troubleshoot the problem. Each person eventually gave up and transferred me to someone else. After four hours, I finally gave up and returned the phone to WalMart for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Creedmoor, NC
WORST PHONE EVER!!!!
Posted 06/04/2014
What my husband went thru to get his contacts transferred from his old TracFone to this one was pure frustration and mental torture! This is a nightmare of a phone! Now he finds out he cannot SEND text msgs from inside our house! Are you kidding me? Our last TracFone was amazing and I still have mine to this day! We are getting a newer, different phone this weekend and this one is going where it really belongs...the trash bin! Do not buy this phone unless you enjoy being anxious, frustrated and mad!!!
June 2014
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Excellent Product

04/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a land line phone and found no reason to keep an expensive contract phone with Verizon. I began searching a number of alternatives and I am very pleased with the decision to go with this Tracfone. Read a number of reviews on line about this particular model that were all excellent. This phone is very good quality, easy to use and simple to set up at home. The phone came with double minutes and extended the use time from three to six months. We purchased this phone for emergency and occasional use and could not be happier with it. The savings over a simple flip phone with Verizon will be significant. Highly recommend this model to anyone who is not a heavy cell phone user.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Can't beat features with such a low cost

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, it's not a smartphone, nor is it a phone designed for constant chatterboxes or texters. It's a reliable, low-cost mobile phone for adults who just need a phone for emergencies or travel. Despite all that, it comes loaded with features you would expect on a phone that comes with a service contract. In addition to the basic telephone, you get a quite decent built-in camera that allows you to intuitively post photos to Facebook and Flickr in addition to just saving your pictures to the internal drive. You can text on it if that's your thing. There's Internet browser capability (but be prepared to burn minutes if you use it excessively). The reception and transmission is crystal clear. There's no long-term commitment, but in my case, buying 200 minutes worth of air time gained me double minutes plus guaranteed service through October 2014 (I purchased the phone in mid-April 2014, so that equates to a six-month period of guaranteed service). Programming the phone is easy using the Tracfone instructions included. Adding airtime is simple, especially via the Tracfone website, but if you are unable to access the website, adding airtime via the phone is also simple. Best of all, the whole package cost me just slightly more than $15 retail (airtime minutes are extra, but reasonable). Balancing the features against the base price of this phone, I don't think you can do much better if you are looking for a simple mobile service for, as I said, use by adults who only need a mobile phone for emergencies or travel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Worth the cost.

05/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my 5th Tracfone in 10 yrs. I like them. Thanks to product reviews, I recently discovered that model numbers that end with a "C" (LG 236C), use Verizon towers, which have the best coverage outside of large population areas. My last Tracfone used AT&T and my use was limited on hunting & fishing trips in rural PA & MT, so I am very saisfied with reception. This phone is simple to use with the basic features I need. I recommend using Tracfone's website instead of customer service-the operator's accent can be difficult to understand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

phone for plain old-calling

03/04/2014
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing fancy, no plan phone. I just need a phone on the road in case of car trouble, etc. This one uses Verizon towers and gets much better coverage then the G model trac phone. The Walmart staff that was working when I picked it up (site to store) activated it and switched my phone no. and all my pictures and saved phone no.s over from my G model. I don't know if the walmart staff have to go to all that trouble, but she was happy to do it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Good phone & value for plain phones, making calls.

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good flip phone for someone who does not need a lot of features as in a smart phone. It is easily programmable, voice quality is gppd. volume and vibrate features alert for calls, voice mail, etc.
This is owner's first tracfone which is positive so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Great basic phone

03/05/2014
By ,
Tucson, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Great large display. Battery stays charged a long time. My husband has hearing problems and has no problem hearing with this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Nice phone!

12/30/2013
By ,
Brick,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading several customer reviews I replaced another LG phone with the G after the model number because the service was pathetic and you wouldn't get calls and messages would be delivered 30 min. after the call when the phone was on and should have completed the call! So far this phone is a thousand percent better, you get calls when they are made and if you do get a message when you call to check your message you can actually clearly hear the message. Don't order LG Tracfones with the letter G after the model because the service & reception are pathetic. Forget trying to get your messages because the service is so garbled you can't understand the message and Tracfone will tell you nothing is wrong!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Basic phone

03/10/2014
By ,
Victor, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a basic phone without costly contracts. A phone to make, receive calls, perhaps a few texts, etc. This phone is correct for these needs. I also use the built in alarm clock. Low cost, easy to use. The site to store at Walmart was excellent with on time delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Great tracfone

03/03/2014
By ,
Dyersburg, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first cell I purchased didn't work in my home or office so I decided to go to this phone and so far I am very pleased, it's works like I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

A Fine Phone at a Great Price

05/25/2014
By ,
Mitchellville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The phone, which only cost $15(!), works very well and I have not found it failing due to a lack of sensitivity. The sound quality also is excellent. This is my first cell phone and I did find maneuvering around and getting things set up a bit of a bother, doubtless with experience things will become easier with my second, third,..... phones.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Great simple Flip Phone

10/31/2013
By ,
KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All features work fine and the screen is bright and clear. The sound is very clear and very loud with the Senior Mode on. However, if you are buying this phone to take pictures you will be disappointed, the 1.3 MP camera is worthless to take acceptable pictures. I would recommend this LG 236C.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

LG 236C TracFone

06/24/2014
By ,
Huntsville,Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this phone. I had a Big Easy phone which was nice, big, easy to read, etc. BUT the battery ran down WAY to fast. This phone, although it has a little smaller screen is still easy to read, and easy to use. The battery lasts a LONG time ( I think it's rated for 12.5 days on standby). Also the sound quality is excellent. With ther flip down cover I don't have to use the "unlock" button all the time(which was a pain with the other phone). Overall I'm very happy with this phone. I never use the camera function, but it's nice to have it there, IF I ever need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Great basic camera phone

11/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use, large screen for a flip phone and navigates very well. The camera is OK but not great. A bit larger than most flip phones but nice big screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Good CDMA Phone

02/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you want a Non-ATT cell phone, this will fill the bill. It has a good sized screen, but the keys are a little too small for easy texting. Got it on sale at a really low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Just a phone, but a pretty good one!

04/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have no need for anything from a phone but decent call quality and reception and the ability to send or receive an occasional text, so this phone meets my needs nicely. As a plus, the camera is not so bad, either. It's unlikely that you'll make it your primary camera, but it beats the VGA camera in my old phone. Battery life is decent, too: five to six days between charges.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Really good phone for my son

12/28/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my son for Christmas and he loved it!! It was very easy for him to use. He really liked that it showed the time on the front of the phone when it was closed. This phone was easy for him to figure out how to operate, which was very important for him. He really liked the design of the phone and the way it looked. He likes the flip phones so he doesn't press any of the keys accidently while it is in his pocket. We would definitely recommend this phone to anyone for a starter phone or for someone who needs a simple yet nice looking phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Excellent Alternative to Verizon Pay As You Go

05/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Verizon has an awesome network and the only one that provides a consistent signal at my home. Verizon's non-contract plans are NOT awesome. This is a well featured phone from a well known maker that allows access to what is arguably the best network in the US. The phone has good features, is somewhat lightly constructed compared to other LG products I've owned, but represents a very good overall value. Not built for web browsing. Not ideal for significant texting. But for those who are into 'voice' calling, a good bet. Tracfone's plans are pretty unbeatable for users with lower usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for TracFone LG 236C Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

You get less than you paid for

05/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If they gave me two tin cans and a string at least I'd be able to talk to one person, I could get that for less than a buck. In trying to transfer my old tracfone to this new one they disabled my old phone immediately and I was left without a working phone from Monday until Friday. I don't have a landline so you can imagine how it felt knowing that no one could contact me during an entire workweek. On Thursday I had borrowed my mother's phone to try customer service, got a woman who I think was playing solitaire and told me to just wait a few more hours. Friday morning I'd had enough and made it as clear as I could that I was not paying for a paperweight without being too rude. This rep actually did something on her end and gave me a code to punch in so my phone was working within an hour. So if you get this phone be ready to nag tracfone's customer service otherwise you won't have a working phone for a week.
The phone's set up is lousy, there's no option to return to your inbox after reading one text message or to read one text after another, I have to go back to the main menu every time, very annoying if I get more than one text at a time or if someone sent me a long text broken up in more than one part. You can zoom in one photos you've taken but you can't save them that way. The phone itself feels flimsy.
I suggest getting two tin cans, some string and an old Polaroid camera.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next