Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Enjoy the convenience of a phone without being tied down to a contract when you use the Straight Talk LG Prepaid Phone, LG236C. A fully-charged phone provides over six hours of talk time. Other features include a 1.3-megapixel camera and mobile Internet service. The Straight Talk prepaid cell phone lets you load as much time as you wish on the phone. It comes with a battery, charger and activation card.
Average Customer Rating:
3.909 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation79%26 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
65 Questions | 58 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

CDMA-V Verizon PHONE WITH BLUE UNITED STATES

09/12/2014
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered phone on line and was completely upset when I opened box and saw that big blue United states which means it is an AT&T phone. Got ready to walk up front to return and gentleman from phone department asked if we needed help and he pointed out that it was a CDMA-V phone which is a Verizon phone. I think the only flip phone that isn't at&t. So we returned the AT&T flip phone and now have our Verizon phone. Haven't used it much yet, but at lest I can hear someone when they call. The only reason why we had to get a new flip phone is the last one worked great for over a year until my husband decided that it needed to be washed with all of his clothes. It actually worked most of the time, but the battery just wouldn't hold up. If you have any problems with your phones call them. They take care of you, they just repaired my phone LG.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

I can't believe so many like this phone...

12/06/2013
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had all the ST/Net10/Tracfone's out there. Smart and dumb. I was excited to see this new VZ flip phone come out. What a disappointment when I started using it. Call volume was low from the outset. I did find a "senior" mode in the settings. It boosted the volume a tiny bit while on speakerphone, but not a whole lot.
The texting firmware is atrocious. It is like the Lg 235c, you gotta use the menu system for punctuation. Plus, the word prediction is very limited. It is a PITA to add custom words/names.
If AT&T provides adequate coverage in your area then I recommend the lg 440g over this model. If you gotta have VZ then stick with 235c. Don't be fooled by the promises of a better camera resolution and such like I was. The 235c has a better screen and call volume. Same atrocious texting firmware but at least you can hear loud 'n clear.
Also, the Alcatel Big Button Flip (A392g) is the better of all these.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Piece of junk, horrible texting!

04/04/2014
By ,
Hugo, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recently switched to straight talk and had to purchase a new phone. My old phone was a Samsung flip phone, and I was very happy with it so I purchased this one thinking it would be comparable to my old one. I couldn't of been more wrong. There is absolutely NOTHING I like about the design or lay out of the screen icons. Texting is horrible, you have to see it to believe it. Just to text an exclamation mark, you have to exit to another setting! Unbelievable! My friends and family think I've gotten bad at answering their text messages and I told them I now hate texting with this new phone. I don't believe I can return it because it has been a couple months (I thought I just needed time to adjust to a new phone). I am going to get a new phone as soon as I can work it into my budget!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Tough bullet proof phone

10/27/2014
By ,
lake norman nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was taking pictures one day from my pier and dropped it in the lake. It stayed underwater for twenty minutes before i got it out. I let it dry out and it still works great. This phone has been dropped on concrete driveways, dirt and wood deck floors and keeps on going. This should be standard equipment for our military special forces such as the seabees, green berets,seals and rangers, its that tough. Battery life is better than any phone i have seen. I bought an extra one of these for future use. Thanks. Scott ncdps and real outdoorsman on lake norman
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Loaded flip phone

02/27/2014
By ,
Glendale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd LG flip-phone on the SmartTalk plan. Love the fact it is on the TRACFONE/VERIZON network & has excellent coverage almost everywhere in the country. The voice command feature is great when driving. Wish you could somehow save/transfer the phone book from the phone to a laptop or other storage method. Wish the keyboard was lit a bit brighter like my previous LG231C this replaced. Also feels much lighter than the predecessor model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Husband loves it

11/02/2013
By ,
Sandy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is cell phone challenged, he wants the easiest phone to use he can find and this one fits the bill. Although it has some nice features it is easy for him. His fingers are not made for a small keyboard, and this phone has voice command, so all he has to say is "call John" the name pops up and he clicks ok and send ... he is a happy camper ....
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone for the price, need I say more?

12/22/2013
By ,
Findlay,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, slim in design and don't need both hands to use. This phone has great signal every where I go, unlike others I've purchased from the other major cell phone stores with large contracts! LG and Straight Talk at Wal Mart can't beat the deal. Battery life excellent, clarity of sound and picture plus it has a loud ringer. This cell phone has all the qualities I've been looking for and the price is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great quality and value in a flip phone

11/23/2013
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phone exceeded my expectations. Call quality excellent. Features are easy to understand and use. Great value paired with Straight Talk service and Verizon network.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

A low cost phone that does it all.

11/13/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm replacing my wife's ph with this LG ph. It has good clarity, with easy to understand face. I really like the volumn of the ringer, as it is in a case inside my wife's handbag most of the time. We have no trouble hearing it now. The volumn adjustments are easy to set. We are very happy with this ph.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice basic Phone.

01/01/2014
By ,
Gibbon, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I chose this phone and Straight Talk service for the convienience and especially the cost. Due to my wifes Heart condition I carry the phone every day in case she needs to reach me right away at my work. I am not to Tech savvey so the simpler the better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great reception

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone has great reception where I live. I've only had it a couple of weeks, but so far it's working great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Phone

01/14/2014
By ,
AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Phone if you are looking for something simple
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Basic cell phone, verizon which is exactly what I

11/08/2013
By ,
Holland, Michigan 49424
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the same phone but with AT&T service which was terrible. I had to throw it away after only four months. This time I bought the same phone with Verizon service and I'm please with the result.
My daughter had also purchased the same phone with AT&T service - terrible.
I had to make a special request to order this Verizon serviced phone because Walmart only stocks AT&T. I had terrific support by the people at the Holland, Michigan Walmart store to move my phone number and unused minutes to the new phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Workable Basic Phone

01/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Should have shopped around first, cheaper at family dollar and the straight site.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk LG phone

02/24/2014
By ,
Dayton, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I gave it three stars because you cannot get the Home message off the phone. Nor, can you stop the message that says how many days are left in the thirty days time. That spoils the phone for me, as I would like my own message as I had on my previous phone. That being said, I have found the battery life to be very good. Few options with ringtones, guess because it is a budget phone. I refuse to pay 2.00 for a background or ringtone. Also, when you text someone you have to change the setting every time or you get the default setting. Phone works fine and I think it is great for someone who doesn't want to spend a fortune.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

basic Flip Phone

03/15/2014
By ,
Northern RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife hasn't complained about it, so that's a plus. Does what a flip phone is supposed to do. Has a slightly larger screen than her last phone. A bit plain looking and does not feel a sturdy as her previous LG.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

LG236C is a great phone.

06/16/2014
By ,
Chase City, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The LG236C phone is easy to use without a lot of extra things that you don't need for a basic phone to just talk and text.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone

12/11/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone for my husband! Thank you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

good phone

05/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this phone is for someone who just wants to talk and text. the sound is very good and has a lot of good options to use it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG LG236C Prepaid Cell Phone

It has all the features I need.

05/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has all the features I need and is easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next