Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

This 392G Straight Talk Prepaid Cell Phone features a 2MP camera, external caller ID and a hands-free speakerphone. This fully Bluetooth-capable phone comes in a sleek design and has a standby battery life of up to 11 days from a full charge or 3.8 hours of talk time. The Alcatel cell phone comes with a battery, a charger and an activation card.
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation67%14 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 45 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

A Basic Phone for Making Calls

01/17/2014
By ,
St. Peters, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can't believe the guys who review this phone and expected something different. They really should do some research before buying and trashing something. It's an inexpensive, bottom-of-the-line phone. What did they expect?
Anyway, I'm older and have bad eyes. I don't text, use the internet, or any of that other stuff. I just need a phone to MAKE CALLS. This phone does the job. And it is NOT flimsy. It is NOT huge either. An iPhone is huge. It has an adequate display and nice big buttons. The sound is good at both ends of the conversation. It has some other useful features, such as a calculator, MP3 player and FM radio! The camera is okay too.
One other thing... I didn't know I'd be getting Amber Alerts, so it was a little startling in the middle of the night. It sounds like a weather radio alert radio going off! Now I just turn the phone off when I'm home. No biggie.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

A very basic phone

12/24/2013
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone to replace my old Samsung slider that finally bit the dust right before Christmas. Selection in the store was highly limited, and it was one of the only Straight Talk phones not sold out. However, I am taking this lousy phone back.
It's very long when fully opened, and it feels flimsy when using it open. I can't find a way to change keypad tone independent of ringer volume, so it's either a loud noise EVERY TIME I push a button, or no ringer at all. In fact, the sound settings are limited to "standard", "meeting", "inside", "outside", and "silent". And there is an audible buzz from the screen. And, for some reason, I could not access the Tools and Settings, among others, until a full day after having the phone.
It's probably a decent phone for someone who doesn't do anything beyond making a couple calls here and there, but it's not a good phone for someone who actually wants to do things like change sound settings and text without annoying beeps for every single key.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good Basic Phone

09/19/2014
By ,
Roscommon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone for my husband. He wanted a phone with a big read out and big numbers. This serves the purpose. It's a bit larger than most phones due to those features. It feels quite plasticky though. Not as durable as other phones we've had. The only problems we've had is with Straight Talk. Although I've been with them for years without any problems, of course as soon as I talk my husband into switching, we had problems! He didn't have the patience so I made all the calls and was transferred multiple times until we finally got his number changed from Verizon to his new phone and his new phone activated. Every time I was transferred I had to give all the information over again! Very frustrating! All is going smooth now though and his phone is working fine. He likes it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

Straight Talk Plan Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

09/24/2014
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had a basic Tracfone for several years and was only using it once in a while. I just wanted a cell phone for when I was on the road for emergencies, if my car broke down, and for occasional calls to family members. Over the years I've gotten used to the convenience of a cell phone and find it essential to keep track of my busy family. I found I was buying a lot of more minute cards and it was getting quite pricey. I researched the Walmart site and liked the sound of the Straight Talk Phone Plan. I just needed to pick a phone. The Alcatel has the easy to use larger buttons. I also had a flip-top phone before and liked how it protects the buttons and the screen from damage. I've been playing around with the menu and seeing what else I can make it do. It has a lot of features that I probably won't use since I have a computer at home and still just need it to make phone calls but it's fun to play with anyway. What I do like is the contacts section where I can go under someone's name and add multiple numbers for them covering their fax, home, work, cell, and e-mail address. I used to have to list them separately and have to make up keyword descriptions in the list so I could match them up with who they belonged to later. It was very time consuming. The new system is so much more organized and quicker to load. Now I can see someone I know and input their new updated contact information for them easily right there on the spot. Everyone I know has been very surprised and happy when using my new phone and all it's features and they're even more surprised when they find out the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone for talking and some text.

07/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gave this only 4 stars because I find the texting to be overly complicated. Otherwise I like the large bright screen and the large buttons. Voice clarity is very good. It is a bit loud when using the buttons and I don't know yet if there is any way to lower the volume since I have only had it a week. I don't think there is… All in all, a good basic phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

Seamless Cell Phone Upgrade

09/25/2014
By ,
lancaster, ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my brother. He LOVES this phone. Was to use set up and carry. Big enough to keep from losing it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

Strait talk phone

03/26/2014
By ,
industry, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is a very good phone for the money it has big numbers and clock you get sevice every where that the regular mobile services get, it's a good phone and well worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

Hubby is very happy with it!

02/26/2014
By ,
xenia,oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Husband needed something with bigger buttons so it would be easier to use. Plus he loves the radio that came installed on it. Camera is good enough. Doesn't use that too often.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

Best Pre-Pay Flip Phone I could find

11/24/2013
By ,
Bemidji, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for 2 weeks, no regrets so far. Details:
Physical - I bought this to replace a Motorola Razor. This phone's design and
construction are very similar, that is, sturdy and reliable. I prefer a flip phone
because it fits easily in my pocket and I don't need the features of a smart phone. There is a micro-SDHC slot for your photos and songs, 32GB maximum.
Phone - Reception and quality are fine, comparable to other cell phones. It seems to have all the common options, contacts, voicemail, so forth. The included ringtones are a bit odd, but there are a couple of 'normal' ones to choose from, and of course, you can use your own song or whatever.
Camera - 2MB sensor, and a surprising array of effects. I was impressed with it's low light capability, given it does not have a flash.
FM Radio - I really didn't care about a radio function, but it is there, and seems to work well. You must have headphones plugged in to start the radio (antenna, I presume). You can use the speaker, so long as the headphones are plugged in. From the home screen, pushing up on the 4-way switch jumps to the radio.
MP3 Player - I was very interested in the mp3 player, since I usually carry an older low capacity mp3 player. The player itself does not disappoint. I'm not sure about playlists or anything like that, I usually just run it in random mode. My main disappointment is the integration of the mp3 player into the phone. It takes 10 clicks to get from the main phone screen to a first song. If you close the cover, it continues to function but when you open it again, you are back on the main phone screen, and 10 clicks away from the player again. You can adjust the volume with the cover closed using the phone volume buttons, but that's all you can do. To pause, skip, or anything else, you have to open the cover and click 10 steps to get back to the player. Fortunately, I use the mp3 player at my desk and keeping the cover open is no problem. If I were trying to use this phone as an mp3 player in my pocket, I would probably return it for another solution.
Web Browsing - I sort of checked it out, but if portable web browsing mattered to me, I would have gone to a smart phone.
Texting - I don't text, but I tried it out. Single letters work fine. There is a smart-type function that didn't work very well for me, but it could just be my lack of experience with texting.
Plans - As of November 2013, this phone was available with either StraightTalk or TracFone service. It is there if you look hard enough and can live with ordering on-line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

So far we are pleased.

08/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received prompt assistance via phone during setup. No long wait for each call. Only had phone a week but it works great off the AT&T tower close by.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

HUGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

01/11/2014
By ,
nashville
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
simple phone with HUGE screen and HUGE numbers. perfect for someone who need things magnified.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

easy to use

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like the big letters
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

Poor sound quality

08/07/2014
By ,
AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a bad looking phone. Keypads are awkward in that you must find just the right spot to push or nothing happens. Since I wear hearing aids it is easier for me to hear if I use the speaker during calls. The speaker sound is somewhat garbled making it it hard to understand what the person is saying at times. Because sound quality is important for me, I'm going to have to return the phone to the store and try something different one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

great for me

12/27/2013
By ,
somewhere on earth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got this for a christmas not a bad phone. mine broke so to get this one was a blessing might not be the best one but at least it is a phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

great all around cell phone

01/23/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this phone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

Great for basic people

06/04/2014
By ,
California, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both my mom and husband love this phone. They have said it does everything they need and it has big numbers to read.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

wont work in my area

06/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
walllmart zip code finder says it will work, not worth a darn drops calls if you ever get them at all voice mail delayed by at least 24 hours again if you get it at all, liked phone, learn about gsm verses cdma before you buy i should have, dodnt throw your money away like i did.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

not a great phone

06/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone for the boyfriend for his birthday and it is a terrible phone. once you set it all up you cannot make changes easily, the ringer acts like it is locked and it has terrible bluetooth capabilities, it is not easy to use at all
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

Poor Cell Reception

05/20/2014
By ,
Marion, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone does well enough if there is a strong signal, but in fringe, one bar on most other phones, zero reception. The LG Accolade VX5600 worked for voice and text messaging, not this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Alcatel 392G Prepaid Cell Phone

The phone does not hold as good a charge as last .

04/11/2014
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phone does not hold as good a charge as I expected, but still like it a lot. Noisy when texting. Love the large numbers on it. Easy to use. I would recommend it to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next