Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Tracfone TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Tracfone TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

This clamshell phone from TracFone features a 2MP camera, external caller ID and hands-free speakerphone. It comes with double minutes for life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.293 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation90%52 out of 58reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
103 Questions | 97 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Don't waste your money

11/17/2014
By ,
Germantown, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please do not buy this phone. I purchased one a few months ago from Amazon. The outside display never worked. After a few weeks the battery started to last just 1-2 days on standby. Contacted Amazon and was told to contact the manufacturer. The manufacturer said that the nonworking display was a fault of the carrier and they would send a new battery to me in 7-10 days. After a month of waiting the manufacturer told me they sent the battery to Tracfone instead of me. Tracfone said that the display problem was with the phone set and not their service...they sent me another battery and the new one lasts just 1-2 days. I contacted Alcatel the manufacturer one more time and their tech support told me that there was nothing wrong with the phone and they could no longer assist me. I have used Tracfone and a few LG phones over the years with no problem. The Alcatel Big Easy is easy to see, fits nicely into your hand, and is a piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Citrus Heights, CA
Why complain to Walmart?
Posted 12/15/2014
This is not Amazon.com , so I don't see how complaining on Walmart's site helps in this matter.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Flip Phone Review

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works fine. I am in an area that a lot of phones don't get good reception. This phone was recommended for this zip code; and it works perfectly.
I like the fact that it is a flip phone. I'm not the gentlest of people, and I feel flip phones like this are sturdier than those others.
It is kind of sleek, and as you can tell, it is shiny.
The front has the time showing at all times right there for you - without even opening the case.
It has all the accessories it needs, such as alarm, ringer styles, airplane mode, volume, camera, calculator, text, talk, and customer service people are very helpful and right there for you.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Good phone lost on Tracfone service.

09/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased with the phone...but look out for Tracfone service. Its the worst service I have ever had. If your going to port (transfer) an existing number; good luck to you. It took them two days and then it was not correct. Could not get online. That took another day. Moreover, after calling several times and waiting for what seemed like forever, they disconnected me and I had to start all over again.In the mean time, I had no cell phone service. As a result, I am recommeding the phone but suggest you purchase from another company if available.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Phone service excellent, customer service, bad

07/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone arrived very quickly, within 3 days which was impressive. I followed the directions to the letter to activate online, and by phone(using the automated system), but finally had to call customer service. The lady on the other end of the phone, was cold, and unfriendly. When she gave me the codes to enter into the phone, she went to fast, and acted annoyed, when I couldn't understand her. Finally, she gave me the code numbers two at a time, and that did the trick. It was, very stressful, and not as simple as I thought that it would be. I urge anyone using tracfone, to call customer service as a last resort only. That negative aside, the phone itself is very good. The call quality is as clear as a landline, and the numbers are big, and easy to read. This is my first cell phone, so I am impressed at how easy to use the phone is. I like the flip phone because it feels like you're talking on a landline phone when you open it up. I don't have to go outside to use this phone, and the charge holds up very well. Thankfully, there are good tutorials online for this phone, so I didn't have to call the dreaded customer service line again. I would recommend this phone to anyone, but I would caution them about talking to customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Perfect Phone

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone. For those of us that are mechanically challenged this is the phone for you. Its easy to use and program.
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

JUST BUY IT!

05/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not savvy about cell phones and actually had possession of a smart phone to look over for a month, but ultimately chose to keep this Alcatel. Very happy, too! It does nearly everything (if not everything) that my $250 Sprint Sanyo phone did, and I don't get a $55+ phone bill every month (for 450 minutes) since it's a Tracfone. If you're an old hand at cell phones, you'll catch on immediately to this phone -- there was a small learning curve for me. Even texting goes fairly quickly and easily, much to my surprise -- certainly there is no need for a smart phone in order to get a on-screen keyboard. The only drawback is that it doesn't have GPS, but you can go online and get that information, using up a few extra minutes. An excellent buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
illinois
Connect to car's bluetooth?
Posted 06/09/2014
Do you know if this phone can pair up with the bluetooth in the new cars?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Good But Chirpy

11/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I find this phone easy to use. I had to call customer service for help to activate it as I wasn't successful doing it online. Customer Service guy was very nice and helpful. I think the phone has a lot of features for the price. Sound and volume are good. The only thing I don't care for is that you have to go through several screens to get where you want to go and for everything you do the phone chirps ( for want of a better word)
so if you wanted to use phone without disturbing others don't see how you can do that. Otherwise I am very satisfied and consider it a good buy for the low price. Also like the feature that phone doubles your minutes when you buy so that is another very good deal. All in all I am very happy with the purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Works great

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I bought this phone I read as many reviews as I could find and decided that this phone would do what I need a phone to do. It has good signal strength, easy to use keys, is larger than my old phone so it is easier to hold on to and operate. As far as the choices of ring tones it does have one similar to an old time phone,and you can eliminate the key pad sounds. I don't make movies, listen to the radio, check email or surf the web with my phone, I just use it to make calls and sometimes text my kids and for these things this unit works very well. Would definitely recommend this phone to anyone who needs a phone and not a hand held computer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Great Value!

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone for my husband, who has never had a cell phone. It was easy for him to learn to use, has good sound tone, & more than sufficient for his needs. It's small enough for him to carry, & not overloaded with gadgets.......& no monthly cell phone bill.........He's happy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Nice phone for the mature adult

12/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It a good phone for basic use. I needed to replace an aging safe link phone. It not one if you need all the latest tech. but if you want one to do basic operations this is the one. the numbers are big so its easier to dial. they only thing that I have a problem with is the volume its all the way up and when the flip part is down its alittle harder to hear the ring. when sitting next to it
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

TracFone Cutie!

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone has larger buttons than my previous cell which makes it easier for me to use. So far I'm very pleased with it ... even tho I had to follow the instructions to get it paired with my car's blue tooth so it would be a "hands-free" phone. My previous cell phone paired w/o having to read and then follow the instructions. Still I'm pleased!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Mother loves her phone

05/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone for my mother to replace an older phone that she had been using, and she absolutely loves it. She loves the larger buttons and how the numbers appear larger on the screen. She won't use all of the options that are available on this phone, but she's extremely happy with it's simplicity.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

I bought this phone for my 81 year old mother...

05/08/2014
By ,
Rancho Cordova, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't have a house phone, I have a cell phone as most of us do now. Well, I got to thinking that when my mom comes to visit, she would not have a way to call for help should she need to... I checked several phones and plans and found the tracfone prepaid was the way to go for her.The numbers are large enough for her to see and when the phone is flipped open she said it feels like a real phone! She loves it and so do I!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Mixed bag

02/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good phone for older folks who don't need smart technology. Large buttons and easy controls. On the downside- most of the ringtones were silly and the one I wanted (traditional ring-ring sound) was missing. Also, be careful of the mute feature- it mutes the annoying beep-boop sounds of the functions, however it also mutes the ring feature! These functions should be separate. But the biggest downside was the battery charge life. It is grossly over-exaggerated by the manufacturer. Even if you only have it on maybe ten hours a day and don't make or receive any calls or texts in that time- plan on charging it at least every other night.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Nice replacement

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly like this new phone as I have had a track phone for a number of years now and the battery was getting weak so I figured instead of buying a battery why not buy a new one and it is great, Easy to change over from the old one to new one and even has a camera that I like..When I got it changed over I looked at my old phone and it said I would run out of minutes in 2001, hmmm I am wondering if I have had that phone that long as I know I have had it a long time
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Good phone for person that prefers flip phones.

05/15/2014
By ,
Fayetteville AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you were satisfied with the flip phone and are not text happy. If you prefer to use a regular computer for browsing the internet. This is a well made phone. Easy to use and carry. Quite a lot of features. Satisfactory, unless you want a Wi-Fi browsing device. Works good as emergency phone with limited email and texting option. If you wan to text or email a lot. You probably want one of the big screen phones with touch options. I just use mine as a easy to use and carry phone. In an emergency. I could text or email with it. It just takes more patients to enter text on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
Speaker feature?
Posted 09/03/2014
How do you turn on the speaker feature so other people nearby can take part in the conversation?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Good for a beginner.

05/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Enjoy with one exception. I'm not able to make calls from inside my home. It works outside. This phone was recommended for this area code. Alcatel A392G.
I was told that a Tin roof would interfere with signal?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Vavava voom!

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It said give a catchy title so..... Anyway last phone from Tracfone was out of area continually. This one works.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Large Keys, works in my area great

01/01/2014
By ,
Brinnon, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife wanted a flip-phone and this is the only brand I found that works great in my area vs any of the LG brand which would not give us coverage. Also supports MicroSD cards up to 32GB to load your videos/pictures/music(Mp3) on. The 2X airtime feature was also a must have for us. I liked it so well that I ordered myself one to upgrade from my 8 yr old Motorola brand Tracfone.
Shipped via Priority USPS mail service and arrived in just a couple of days.
Walmart was the only place I found that offered all the features we wanted in a pre-paid cell phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for TracFone Alcatel A392G Prepaid Cell Phone with Double Minutes

Easy to use

09/30/2014
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband wanted a phone with a camera. Why, I don't know but this has one. It's easy to use, we are not tech people, so the easier the better. Great value for the money. Works great, would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1 2 3 Next