Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

This refurbished Android phone from Straight Talk features a 3.5-inch touchscreen and a 3MP camera. It runs on Android 2.3 (Gingerbread). It also includes a $45 Unlimited Straight Talk service plan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.138 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
28
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation89%97 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions | 146 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
28
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Battery Life Problem Solution

02/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my proclaim last week and it drained the battery dead repeatedly in about 4hrs without even using it. The dialer was using the battery all of the time even though I never even placed a call. I called straight talk and they refused to honor the warranty because it was still under Wal-Mart's 15 day policy. So, before I sent it back I scanned the internet for possible fixes to this problem as many other customers were reporting the same issue. I found a site that reported the phone was not shutting down the apps properly before going into standby mode. The site recommended downloading the Task Manager App from Rhythm Software which has an auto kill list of apps that it kills when the screen shuts off. I added the dialer app to the auto kill list and the phone has worked great every since. I really like this phone so for anyone experiencing battery life problems it may be worth trying this solution before returning this item as straight talk can not provide an identical replacement and will offer to send you a Galaxy Centura.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

First smart is excellent

12/20/2013
By ,
Central FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This reviewer purchased the the refurbished Galaxy Proclaim and $45. service card on the Straight talk phone website for $58.17 total.The phone came with charger and .2GB card. Using a galaxy tablet made the transition to a smart phone easier. as described in previous reviews the Verizion towers are used. I have excellent coverage in central Florida.family members have good service in Ohio .with straight talk using the galaxy Centrum. I have had NO PROBLEMS with this phone,coverage or loading apps. I agree with other reviewers that battery life is short and needs charged frequently but is not a problem for me. I purchased the phone as a trial before i cancel my Verizon in 30 days. after useage for 3 weeks I really like the phone. I definatley will save money when I drop verizon and I feel I,ll have the same quality. Straight talk is a good decesion for me
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Just what I needed

12/10/2013
By ,
Selinsgrove, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 3 year old Samsung semi-smart phone which met my needs at the time but I wanted to be able to do more on my phone without the cost of a more expensive Galaxy. I actually had a Galaxy S4 but it was way too big. It did tons but it was more than I needed and wanted. I just got my Proclaim and I'm waiting for my old phone card to expire before I switch my number over to the new phone in a few days so I can't review how much of the phone part works but just playing around with what is there, it's a lot like my old phone but upgraded so I don't think I will have any problems using it. It has 5 home screens which is 2 more than my old phone and I won't use them all. Getting used to the widgets and menus. I'm looking forward to downloading apps and this has a larger screen so I will be able to use the browser more and be able to see it. You can't beat the value Straight Talk gives you for $45 a month. Very happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

I love my Proclaim

11/29/2013
By ,
Akron, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for 7-8 months and I love it! I am able to get on facebook, pinterest, play games and surf the web with no problems. Phone calls come in and out great, and the texts are great.
We also live in a small town in the middle of nowhere (the cars are our neighbors) and I have no reception problems at all.
I have had no problems and would recommend this phone to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Australia
Apps for the phone
Posted 01/03/2014
Does it hold many? I couldn't see how many gb it was. I'm travelling from Australia and just want a pretty alright phone that has apps and space for apps.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

What a great value for an android phone!

01/14/2014
By ,
Chatham, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this value package of a Samsung Galaxy with an airtime card. I figured, since it was basically only buying a monthly airtime card, and getting the phone for about ten bucks, it wasn't too much ritsk about it being a refurbished unit. So what did I get? Just as well be a brand new phone! Absolutely, near perfect condition. No scratches, fully functional, comes with a one year warranty. I got this phone as an extra phone for in case my other one stops working or gets broken. I already have this same phone that I bought brand new a couple years ago. I paid $150 for it new. So now you can get the same new phone for ten bucks? What a deal! I highly recommend this to whoever would like a good starter android phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Great phone for a beginner to smartphones.

12/29/2013
By ,
Hixson, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For my first smartphone, this phone is great! Easy to navigate through screens and apps. Also easy to learn how to use. The keyboard is small so it is challenging for texting, but phone has a voice-to-text feature so you can avoid typing text. My husband & I bought two phones online at Walmart.com for $55 each. The phones are refurbished at $10 each and each came with a $45 service plan card. We don't have any issues with them and they look brand new. Great price for great phones that work on Verizon towers! Can't be beat! We would highly recommend these phones, especially for first time smartphone users.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

So far so good.............

10/10/2013
By ,
Portland, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reason why I am writing this review is because, during my quest in searching for the right phone I depended on what people said in there review of the item.
I've had my Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C for about 3 days now, and so far so good. The only issue I had was when I tried to have my number ported to Straight Talk. And I'm not blaming ST for this problem. I did the activation process online and during one of the steps I must have screwed up. So my bad. Other than that the phone is great. I will update this review in a few more days.
cableguy4all2c / Portland, Oregon
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Guayama
Important
Posted 10/13/2013
I have a doubt with this package I have to buy the sim card, or already is included
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Great phone for the value

01/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent phone for about $54 with $45 card included. That's about $14 for the phone. It works on the verizon/3G. I tested internet speed at about 1mbps - download. The phone was like new. The battery holds charge for about a day using internet, light applications. Youtube plays fine. Good deal. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Very Good execpt for Battery usage.

10/20/2013
By ,
Casa Grande, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great Smart Phone for Less than 50.00 plus you get a month worth of service.
Works on Verizon's network.
If you've never had a smart phone this is the way to go so you can learn how they work.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Great smart phone

02/05/2014
By ,
Nashville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already own this phone that I bought almost 2 years ago brand new. I got this one because I wanted a back up since my phone is getting some age on it and I like the way this phone works. I haven't had any bad things to say about this phone except of course the battery life. Other then that this is one awesome smartphone. It works just as good as any phone that I have had on Verizon but it is so much less expensive to operate then Verizon using Straight talk. I don't think I will go back to a contract phone again. When I got this phone as a refurbished phone I didn't know what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised and happy. It came with another phone card, which I needed any way. I like having a back up just in case. And it didn't cost me the full price like the first one. I would totally recommend anyone wanting to try out or to have an extra phone to get a refurbished one first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Short battery life

11/08/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I enjoy this phone with Android 2.3 with it's 1GB of onboard app storage and it accepts a 32GB microsd card, adequate for all that I do. I like that the microsd slot placement is external. The phone lacks an external message indicator and battery life is very very short. It came with a 4GB microsd card. Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

This phone does work in my area 29532!

11/15/2013
By ,
Darlington, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one and the spec says it will not work in area 29532. Wrong! I have one and it works fine. Why does it say it does not. Do you not wNt people to purchase the deals or what?????
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Do not recommend a refurbished phone of this model

02/04/2014
By ,
Culpeper, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received a "free" (just had to buy a phone card for $45) refurbished phone to replace my original Galaxy Proclaim because it would not charge anymore. The phone turns off because it says it needs to be charged when it says it is fully charged! I love Straight Talk, but if you have a problem with your phone, you have to send it back before they will send you a new one and you won't have a phone until they do.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

read below

10/28/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone runs on verizon towers. it came with a 2gb micro sd card.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

I defiantly recommend this phone

11/04/2013
By ,
Havana,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone highly meets my expectations for sure. I had another straight talk phone before this one and would always lose service when I went into my kids school but with this Samsung galaxy proclaim I have service no matter what. It definitely has some new and different features that I absolutely love .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Bad Phone for anyone

05/31/2014
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I woundn't Recommend this deal phone is a great phone but not this way. First off i got the phone the battery was shot not usuable at all second found out the usb charger will not charge and phone so the cable was shot also and as for the phone the screen pull up and i push it back in and when scrolling on the home screen it gets stuck half way between screens. I only bought it because it was cheap and i like the proclaim but they dont even make sure they seen you working battery or charger that is wrong they might has well say buy a spare battery and have a charger handy but i figure for the price i didnt lose out on much money i dont expect the phone to last long at this rate...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

What a bargain!!!

12/17/2013
By ,
Washington, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldnt pass this deal up. With the $45.00 card your getting the phone for under $15.00 including tax and free shipping. This is my very first smartphone. I'm very happy with it so far. Memory and speed seem great for me so far. I was even able to download a very large app to the provided 2MB card. I have installed many free apps from the google play store with no problems. The camera and video qaulity are lacking but adequate. For 15 bucks....i say there pretty good! Thank you Verizon and Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Great starter phone for a new smart phone user!

05/27/2014
By ,
CALHOUN,GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I was reluctant to get a refurbished phone, but I think this is one of the best phones I have ever had. It looks like new, I have not had any problems. This phone had the best reviews and that is one reason I ordered it. Very happy with, It is just the right size, not to big and not to small. This is the first smart phone I have had, it is easy to learn, has very good sound quality, overall I am very glad I made this purchase. Straight talk customer service was also very helpful in porting my old number over from my previous carrier. No complaints here!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

It'll do.

02/10/2014
By ,
DMV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone gets the job done for most parts. Pros: Basically only $10, smartphone, can handle a descent amount of apps. Cons: Battery Life, Closes screen sometimes, Slow reponse while web browsing and opening up something via web.
Basically, if you are a beginner, older, child's first phone... B+ Phone. If you're like me, used to keep new phones etc...This C+ Phone will do. Even on wifi the web browsing or streaming isn't always a breeze. (But hey, that's what our old phones etc. are for.)
For the price alone, this phone gets a 4*, but since I have to factor in performance... I can't rate the phone any higher. I like this little basic phone though. You really don't lose a thing to try it out. That's the main reason for my purchase. I can break or lose this and won't really care... Priceless. Well, not really, but you get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim S720C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Great phone!!!

06/05/2014
By ,
Huntsville,AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this phone for a long time before it got stolen. I had no problems with it. Great phone for the price. Loved it so much I got it for my dad as a fathers day present. Needless to say he is very Happy with his new phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next