Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

This refurbished phone from Straight Talk features a vivid color screen and a 1.3MP camera. It also includes a $30 All You Need Straight Talk service plan.
Average Customer Rating:
3.24 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
28
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation66%52 out of 79reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
28
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Good enough for who it's for

06/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this phone for my son in another state that loses or breaks phones anyway. He received it at the local Walmart in good to new condition. He said it was a little difficult to get set up, but the Verizon service (towers) as it is, (and why I bought it) works inside the house he lives at, while others didn't. Call quality is good and clear on both ends. Reviews on this refurbished phone are mixed, but it was worth the other $10.00 and bonus change in Straight talk $30.00 service plan being 1500 minutes and unlimited texts now. I think it's totally wrong people can't use a smart phone with available wifi on this $30.00 plan and switch back and forth. I had Verizon prepaid years ago and the service worked well, where others didn't. But I gave up the higher service costs of Verizon's 'quality service' for AT&T basic 10 cents a minute with rollover and currently use on a Lumia 320 windows phone (without data plan) which costs me about $100.00 a year. There's always a trade off.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Voice Volume is practically non-existent

05/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My husband and my son got this phone brand new because of the querty keyboard. A querty makes texting much easier and faster. It worked for them for a while and then it got to the point where I couldn't call my husband anymore, I would have to text him instead because even though the calls would connect, I couldn't hear him on the other end, but he could hear me. So we replaced it with this refurbished one. Within a week, the same thing was happening. The reason I gave 2 stars instead of one is because I can still hear my son on his phone, but keep in mind, his was the brand new product. I would imagine that prices change, but for me when I bought this refurbished deal, it meant that I paid a little over $5.00 for the phone and got the $30.00 back with the prepaid card, but the phone is not even worth 5 bucks if you can't talk on it!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Refurbished = Still Defective

03/24/2014
By ,
On The Internet
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone as an upgrade to replace a phone I was still using. After activating the R375C on the straighttalk.com website and following the instructions (as I have on 4 other straight talk phones) the phone would not activate correctly. I was receiving texts and voicemails but when I would go to retrieve them the phone would flash "Activation Required". I called straight talk technical support for help and after various requests to dial *22890 to activate, reboot the phone, and the service person seeming to "push" things to the phone, nothing was working. I was told to "wait 4 hours" and try to make a call and if it still didn't work contact technical support again. When I called support after the 4 hours and after telling them my phone number I was told they had no record of it. My phone number was gone along with 40 days already purchased service with no way to recover it - all tech support could do was shrug their shoulders and say they were sorry. This problem has caused me to move on to another provider. ***Experience*** 13 Years Professional IT
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Another Provider
Posted 07/06/2014
Your comment stated you went to another provider, can you say who you went to and how the service is? I respect your thoughts since you are in this industry....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Great Package

03/23/2014
By ,
Wenatchee, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive cell phone service to replace a Verizon plan. Replacing Verizon is really impossible, great coverage, reliability and service. I just about gave up until I checked into Straight Talk, the first of these prepaid plans actually getting service at the house. Wal-Mart didn't have the phone I thought I wanted in store so I went online. Got a really good buy on a Samsung phone and $30 prepaid card. Phone is refurbished, in new condition, and carries a 1 year warranty. Had some problems activating the phone with my old number using the online service, I would call in this circumstance. I gave a 4* rating because I am new to the service and really need to explore. Not Verizon but pretty good so far! 5* for Wal-Mart my order was here 8 days early!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Great for the Price

07/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The text messaging program, which is why I switched from a flip phone, is not as user friendly as even my old flip phone. You have to stop when you reach 160 words and send the text and then re-enter the program to continue on with the text message. I did not have any problems setting it up. There is a book you can download from Straight Talk, for the phone, which I did later. One good thing is the Straight Talk Technical Department. Had trouble linking the phone to my wifi account since I set it up by phone versus internet. There is never a long wait time to speak to a technician with Straight Talk. (We have to fix my wifi every couple of months, usually after updates, and they are very knowledgeable.) I did not buy the phone for internet so I cannot comment on this feature. Rings loud and works with my car's Bluetooth. Talked for an hour, while driving on interstate, clear reception.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Awful experience

04/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these phones as upgrades. I had trouble activation one and never could get the other one to activate. I spend all day on the phone with straight talk so now I have to send it back and wait for them to replace it. But before they will do that I have to send them back the phone! Worse of all, they couldn't reactivate my old phone because the sim card was now no good. So now I will wait for however long it takes to get a new phone while paying for the service. I have no confidence it will work either. The reason I wanted the upgrade in the first place was because I had heard these phones without the sim card used a different network. My service was getting so lousy that I had to redial calls or resend texts about ten times before they would go through. I am very dissatisfied and will be looking at alternatives to straight talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

phone wss defective

06/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried for three days to get phone activated. Talking to different operators at straight talk but no go. Finally took phone to Walmart for a refund and the sales associate could not get activated either so ended up getting full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Great phone for the price...

04/18/2014
By ,
Charlotte NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great phone for the price. Loug ring, easy to hear calls.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Great basic keyboard phone for texting and calling

11/07/2013
By ,
Vancouver, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second one of these I've bought. If all you want is a cheap phone for calling and texting, this is a great value. The camera is very low resolution, but okay for the occasions when you just want to communicate and don't care about picture quality. I dropped my old one numerous times but it never broke. After about a year and a half some of the keys started sticking, which is why I replaced it, but being accident-prone, that's much longer than I got out of my previous phones. I've never cared for the internet on this phone, but if all you want from your phone is calling and texting, this phone fits the bill.
This is NOT the phone to buy if you want something to play games on, surf the internet, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Good value

04/13/2014
By ,
Champaign, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received the phone in a like new condition. Walmart delivered to store sooner than the estimated date which is a big plus. Battery and the back cover of the unit were in sealed bags. The buttons are small but this is not an issue to me.
Had problems using Straight Talk website to activate the phone and transfer my number to this phone. Straight Talk support was unable to solve the issue during the first contact. After the second try they were able to transfer my number and active this phone.
Overall this is a good value because it fits my usage very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Very good for work

07/13/2014
By ,
Oskaloosa IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone to take to work in case it got wet and I didn't want to ruin my IPhone. it got wet (not droped in water) and shut in a car door and don't have a scratch and it works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:Yes
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

good phone just enough if ur not a phone nut

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Good phone!

02/19/2014
By ,
Naylor, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone a couple of years ago. I didn't expect much because it is a pretty cheap phone - price wise. However, it's went above and beyond my expectations. After dropping it several times in water and dropping it in general - this phone is still working like the day I bought it.
The only thing I don't like is that the internet is slow but you have to expect that, though. I usually get the $45 plan and have no issues with the plan, either. Auto pay always works flawlessly.
This review has been written as part of a deed for the Straight Talk Rewards Club but all opinions are my own. Please visit straighttalk.fancorps.com to learn more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Wrong phone for our zip code

07/30/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We gave this phone back to Walmart. The Walmart web site said this phone was compatible with our zip code but after two days on the phone with Straight Talk we found it wasn't compatible. Phone and service plan back to Walmart. We wound up with an LG phone. Probably will not buy a refurbished phone in the future and I would not recommend buying one to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

the phones were already activated

07/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phones were already activated and assigned a phone number, I had to phone to get it sorted and after about half an hour on the phone to Straight talk (they were very helpful) I could never get the phones to work. I followed the instructions, alas in the end I returned the phones for a refund. Its a pity as I have used this type of service before and found it great.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

N/A

06/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm not sure what happened with this refurbished phone but after being on the phone 3 separate times with Straight Talk for a total of 1 1/2 hours, it was determined that the phone was unusable. It wouldn't allow incoming or outgoing phone calls. Makes using a phone a little difficult to say the least. I have no idea why it would work or what the true problem was but it should not have been sold in the condition it was in. I'm moving on. I am returning the phone today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
maine
db
Posted 07/09/2014
didn't work would not activate
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Not bad if you dont expect too much

11/04/2013
By ,
Waterloo IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a good basic phone but you should not expect more than what you paid for.
It has all the basic features you need and are used to from non android phones. In my case I don't need too much. The most important features to me are text and calling, alarm, calculator, contacts and calendar. It does have a camera which compared with what you can get in a phone nowadays is abysmal BUT as I said you get what you paid for and its alright for snap shots.
It functions well. I haven't had any problems writing, sending or receiving texts and mms. The sound and signal is good when making calls.
The qwerty keyboard is definitely made for small fingers. It took me some time to get used to it because the keys are small and close together (Ive had a LG similar to this one in looks and the keys were much easier to use) so its easy to accidentally press keys you didn't mean to press which can be annoying but its not a deal breaker just a matter of getting used to it. I don't have as many problems with it now.
The display quality could be better. Sometimes the harsh contrast makes it hard to look at especially if you access your facebook page through the browser (the blue text on blue background is hard to read). But again not a deal breaker just somewhat annoying in specific instances.
Pros: QWERTY!!!, cheap, service through straight talk works great, camera for snap shots, long stand by time
Cons: small keys, could have better display
All in all I would say if you are looking for an affordable, budget, basic function phone which has a qwerty keyboard this is a good phone choice for you
BUT
if you are easily bothered by a sometimes glary display or don't have small fingers I would probably stay away from it.
You get what you pay for and for me this is a perfect in between solution while I'm on a low budget. I will most likely switch back to an android phone once I can afford it again but for now I'm just happy I don't have to deal with T9 and I can use the phone with the straight talk $30 dollar plan which helps with my budget as well.
PS: I do know there are other qwerty type basic phones out there. I dont know how this phone compares to others like it so I graded it specifically on how this one met my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Better than my old phone

07/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just want the basic phone for 38 with a 30 dollar card whos complaining?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

This phone is HORRIBLE! Tried it 2 times-HORRIBLE

11/04/2013
By ,
wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We ordered 2 of these. one for the hubby and one for me. We have used straight talk for years now. Wanted to keep our old numbers. Well, First it was time for my hubby to renew. It took him 4 days to discover that the phone was defective. He spent HOURS on the phone with tech support. It was miserable for him and in the end he didn't have a phone for a week.
When it came time for my phone to be renewed, I was SURE that his was an isolated incident. NOPE. I went through the exact same thing! I am currently on day 5 of no phone. So, after 5 days of callling tech support and being on hold etc, we gave up and decided to keep our old phones....well, tech support deleted my sim card! So they will replace it but by the time I finally get my phone back, it will be 2 weeks without a phone! Ridiculous!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

I like this phone, its simple to use, works great.

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone works great for me, but I dont do the text thing, so I cant speak for that part, but as a phone alone, its easy to operate, simple, thats what I like, so I recommend this phone to anyone looking for a great bargain!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next