Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

This refurbished phone from Straight Talk features a vivid color screen and a 1.3MP camera. It also includes a $30 All You Need Straight Talk service plan.
Average Customer Rating:
3.345 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(142 Reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
40
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation67%95 out of 142reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
73 Questions | 129 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
40
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Good enough for who it's for

06/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this phone for my son in another state that loses or breaks phones anyway. He received it at the local Walmart in good to new condition. He said it was a little difficult to get set up, but the Verizon service (towers) as it is, (and why I bought it) works inside the house he lives at, while others didn't. Call quality is good and clear on both ends. Reviews on this refurbished phone are mixed, but it was worth the other $10.00 and bonus change in Straight talk $30.00 service plan being 1500 minutes and unlimited texts now. I think it's totally wrong people can't use a smart phone with available wifi on this $30.00 plan and switch back and forth. I had Verizon prepaid years ago and the service worked well, where others didn't. But I gave up the higher service costs of Verizon's 'quality service' for AT&T basic 10 cents a minute with rollover and currently use on a Lumia 320 windows phone (without data plan) which costs me about $100.00 a year. There's always a trade off.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Great Deal on a OK Phone

12/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good way to jump into the pay as you go cellular service. With the $30 card and a $5 phone you can't go wrong. The phone is ok for a basic talk and text only. If using the internet is important to you than this is not what you want. You need small fingers to use the keyboard on this phone. It would be great for a child under 15 or so, a normal sized grown finger will push two or more keys while trying to text or dial a number. But as stated above it is a good way to try the growing pay as you go plan from WalMart which is piggy backed off of Verizon's cell tower's, so you get pretty good coverage in or near any city with 50,000 or so people. I gave it as a gift and they loved it, but will buy a larger phone and use this one as a backup but stay with the WalMart phone cards because they offer the most text talk and data for the money. A thumbs up for this combo, a great deal on a OK phone and a good phone plan for $30 a month.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

No Butt Calls

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The open keypad made me question purchasing this phone. I was afraid of "butt calls", where the phone buttons get accidentally pushed, making unwanted calls from my back pocket, however, the keypad auto-locks. I was also concerned about the tiny keypads, but they pose no problem for me; I have average-sized man hands. They keypads are also slanted, in a way that makes typing a little easier. The excellent reception is what I expected, and it is what I got! Sound clarity is perfect. Battery life is very long. Ringtone is VERY loud. In fact, I had it on a vibrate volume, and it went off in church. It was at the back of the choir, and I was in the front. It was rather annoying because the hummm could be heard throughout the entire church. This phone is a winner. Did you hear me? .....A WINNER.
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Great for the Price

07/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The text messaging program, which is why I switched from a flip phone, is not as user friendly as even my old flip phone. You have to stop when you reach 160 words and send the text and then re-enter the program to continue on with the text message. I did not have any problems setting it up. There is a book you can download from Straight Talk, for the phone, which I did later. One good thing is the Straight Talk Technical Department. Had trouble linking the phone to my wifi account since I set it up by phone versus internet. There is never a long wait time to speak to a technician with Straight Talk. (We have to fix my wifi every couple of months, usually after updates, and they are very knowledgeable.) I did not buy the phone for internet so I cannot comment on this feature. Rings loud and works with my car's Bluetooth. Talked for an hour, while driving on interstate, clear reception.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Reno
when texting..
Posted 09/15/2014
..try making the message a Picture Message. then no need to add a picture, just type to your heart's content!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Excellent Value

09/21/2014
By ,
Cleveland TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you desire a phone to talk and text this fits the need and it is cheap.
It arrived early than projected. WM site to store was perfect at store 0698. A big improvement over presvious experiences.
It has good voice quality and easy to connect to network. I needed no help and had it working in 10 minutes. I am not a slave to a remote phone and use it for basic communication. I have a phone to serve me not me be a slave to the phone. This one does that and it has Internet access I doubt I will ever use again after testing it works. I use a PC for Internet and a 17" screen is as small as I want to watch what I do.
This refurbished was so well done I could not find any difference from a new one.
If you have to have the latest phone model you will not be happy with this phone. If you want a working phone with good voice and text capability you will be pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Voice Volume is practically non-existent

05/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My husband and my son got this phone brand new because of the querty keyboard. A querty makes texting much easier and faster. It worked for them for a while and then it got to the point where I couldn't call my husband anymore, I would have to text him instead because even though the calls would connect, I couldn't hear him on the other end, but he could hear me. So we replaced it with this refurbished one. Within a week, the same thing was happening. The reason I gave 2 stars instead of one is because I can still hear my son on his phone, but keep in mind, his was the brand new product. I would imagine that prices change, but for me when I bought this refurbished deal, it meant that I paid a little over $5.00 for the phone and got the $30.00 back with the prepaid card, but the phone is not even worth 5 bucks if you can't talk on it!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Refurbished = Still Defective

03/24/2014
By ,
On The Internet
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone as an upgrade to replace a phone I was still using. After activating the R375C on the straighttalk.com website and following the instructions (as I have on 4 other straight talk phones) the phone would not activate correctly. I was receiving texts and voicemails but when I would go to retrieve them the phone would flash "Activation Required". I called straight talk technical support for help and after various requests to dial *22890 to activate, reboot the phone, and the service person seeming to "push" things to the phone, nothing was working. I was told to "wait 4 hours" and try to make a call and if it still didn't work contact technical support again. When I called support after the 4 hours and after telling them my phone number I was told they had no record of it. My phone number was gone along with 40 days already purchased service with no way to recover it - all tech support could do was shrug their shoulders and say they were sorry. This problem has caused me to move on to another provider. ***Experience*** 13 Years Professional IT
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Another Provider
Posted 07/06/2014
Your comment stated you went to another provider, can you say who you went to and how the service is? I respect your thoughts since you are in this industry....
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Garbled at best

03/24/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I live in Northern Maine. I checked to make sure that this phone would work in my area (via my zip code) which it would. I am constantly being told by the person on the other end that they can't hear me well...my voice is either garbled or the call is intermittent or the call gets dropped altogether. I moved from Tracphone in order to get more talk time and so far I am not happy with the outcome. I got much better reception with my Tracphone flip phone. I "bought" my free ST Samsung R375C (also refurbished) directly from Straight Talk website. Glad I didn't pay the 35.88 or I'd be really ticked off. It is relatively easy to use but it doesn't feel very comfortable in my hand. I'm now looking for a different ST phone...hopefully that will fix my problem. I am on the $30 1500 min talk, unlimited text plan.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Great Package

03/23/2014
By ,
Wenatchee, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive cell phone service to replace a Verizon plan. Replacing Verizon is really impossible, great coverage, reliability and service. I just about gave up until I checked into Straight Talk, the first of these prepaid plans actually getting service at the house. Wal-Mart didn't have the phone I thought I wanted in store so I went online. Got a really good buy on a Samsung phone and $30 prepaid card. Phone is refurbished, in new condition, and carries a 1 year warranty. Had some problems activating the phone with my old number using the online service, I would call in this circumstance. I gave a 4* rating because I am new to the service and really need to explore. Not Verizon but pretty good so far! 5* for Wal-Mart my order was here 8 days early!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Awful experience

04/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these phones as upgrades. I had trouble activation one and never could get the other one to activate. I spend all day on the phone with straight talk so now I have to send it back and wait for them to replace it. But before they will do that I have to send them back the phone! Worse of all, they couldn't reactivate my old phone because the sim card was now no good. So now I will wait for however long it takes to get a new phone while paying for the service. I have no confidence it will work either. The reason I wanted the upgrade in the first place was because I had heard these phones without the sim card used a different network. My service was getting so lousy that I had to redial calls or resend texts about ten times before they would go through. I am very dissatisfied and will be looking at alternatives to straight talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Great basic keyboard phone for texting and calling

11/07/2013
By ,
Vancouver, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second one of these I've bought. If all you want is a cheap phone for calling and texting, this is a great value. The camera is very low resolution, but okay for the occasions when you just want to communicate and don't care about picture quality. I dropped my old one numerous times but it never broke. After about a year and a half some of the keys started sticking, which is why I replaced it, but being accident-prone, that's much longer than I got out of my previous phones. I've never cared for the internet on this phone, but if all you want from your phone is calling and texting, this phone fits the bill.
This is NOT the phone to buy if you want something to play games on, surf the internet, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Cant see pictures at size of screen

08/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The wife wanted a basic phone that she should could call and text with. We looked at a few phones but the price on the package was amazing and we had read so much about the large clear screen. Problem is when you try to look at pictures that you have taken or that arrive via MMS they are centered on the screen and so tiny you can barely see them. I have been through every option and there is no way to make them larger for viewing so the large wonderful screen you read about is worthless. The only time you can see an image that fills the screen is when you make it a desktop picture. I would not buy this phone and am currently looking for another one for her.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Myrtle Mississippi
here's why
Posted 11/03/2014
this phone displays MMS pics small because they are attachments. If you save the attachment to your multimedia folder then view it, it will be displayed full screen. Simply delete pics you no longer need.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Great phone for a teenager

02/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone to replace the one my daughter lost. She loves it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Great Phone

02/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I find the phone works great. It has a QWERTY keyboard and the keys are small, but you get used to that quickly. Just remember one thing, the $30. phone card that comes with this offer is only good for 30 days, regardless of how much or how little you use it. For me, the claim of 1500 minutes is meaningless as I don't make that many calls but if you use the phone daily, it is a good value.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

straight talk refurbushed

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've only had this about a week or so. It seems to be perfect for what we need. He is rough on phones as he works in asphalt...so for the money it suits him fine. Always been leary about buying refurbished phones, but it appears to be just like new. No complaints so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

Not bad if you dont expect too much

11/04/2013
By ,
Waterloo IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a good basic phone but you should not expect more than what you paid for.
It has all the basic features you need and are used to from non android phones. In my case I don't need too much. The most important features to me are text and calling, alarm, calculator, contacts and calendar. It does have a camera which compared with what you can get in a phone nowadays is abysmal BUT as I said you get what you paid for and its alright for snap shots.
It functions well. I haven't had any problems writing, sending or receiving texts and mms. The sound and signal is good when making calls.
The qwerty keyboard is definitely made for small fingers. It took me some time to get used to it because the keys are small and close together (Ive had a LG similar to this one in looks and the keys were much easier to use) so its easy to accidentally press keys you didn't mean to press which can be annoying but its not a deal breaker just a matter of getting used to it. I don't have as many problems with it now.
The display quality could be better. Sometimes the harsh contrast makes it hard to look at especially if you access your facebook page through the browser (the blue text on blue background is hard to read). But again not a deal breaker just somewhat annoying in specific instances.
Pros: QWERTY!!!, cheap, service through straight talk works great, camera for snap shots, long stand by time
Cons: small keys, could have better display
All in all I would say if you are looking for an affordable, budget, basic function phone which has a qwerty keyboard this is a good phone choice for you
BUT
if you are easily bothered by a sometimes glary display or don't have small fingers I would probably stay away from it.
You get what you pay for and for me this is a perfect in between solution while I'm on a low budget. I will most likely switch back to an android phone once I can afford it again but for now I'm just happy I don't have to deal with T9 and I can use the phone with the straight talk $30 dollar plan which helps with my budget as well.
PS: I do know there are other qwerty type basic phones out there. I dont know how this phone compares to others like it so I graded it specifically on how this one met my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

This phone is HORRIBLE! Tried it 2 times-HORRIBLE

11/04/2013
By ,
wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We ordered 2 of these. one for the hubby and one for me. We have used straight talk for years now. Wanted to keep our old numbers. Well, First it was time for my hubby to renew. It took him 4 days to discover that the phone was defective. He spent HOURS on the phone with tech support. It was miserable for him and in the end he didn't have a phone for a week.
When it came time for my phone to be renewed, I was SURE that his was an isolated incident. NOPE. I went through the exact same thing! I am currently on day 5 of no phone. So, after 5 days of callling tech support and being on hold etc, we gave up and decided to keep our old phones....well, tech support deleted my sim card! So they will replace it but by the time I finally get my phone back, it will be 2 weeks without a phone! Ridiculous!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

This was a great value!

02/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm trying this one out because I've decided to go to a prepaid phone plan. I've had it for a couple of weeks and so far so good! The phone works great but the keys are quite small so would not be good for anyone who does a lot of texting.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

service issue

02/14/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
never got activated because got hung up trying to use phone # that had been disconnected already.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Cell Phone with $30 All You Need Plan, Refurbished

better than new

02/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as advertised-works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next