Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

The Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone puts the capabilities of a smartphone at your fingertips with the convenience of an unlimited plan. The phone connects to the internet through your home network or WiFi hotspots. It provides up to five hours of talk time on a full battery charge. You can take pictures with the phone's three megapixel camera and use apps or send texts with the touchscreen. This LG prepaid cell phone also comes with a $45 Unlimited Card to get you started.
Average Customer Rating:
3.507 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(148 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
36
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
33
Customer Recommendation69%102 out of 148reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 122 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
36
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
33
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

You get what you pay for...

02/04/2014
By ,
Oshkosh, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received my phone and found it to be defective - the microphone did not work. However, I was able to use it for texting and to make and receive calls if I used a headset or bluetooth. When the replacement phone arrived, it was in 100% working order. I've been using it for a week or more. I find it to be a little slower than ideal when it comes to using certain apps and browsing the internet, but that is to be expected. I wish it had a front camera as well as a back camera for use with things like skype. The only other problem I've had is a small amount of internal storage. There have not been many applications loaded and whenever possible, I move them to the SD card, but there is no spare storage for extra fun things. I'm also having some trouble being able to delete multiple emails or merge contacts. These are little things I can live with. The bottom line is that for the $80 I paid for the phone, a 2-yr protection plan, and a $45 30-day unlimited call/text/data plan, it's probably of decent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Very disappointed! phone wasn't for this "AREA"

02/18/2014
By ,
Geneva, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I saw this phone on the website. Was to be a bundle with a service card. The total package was less than 60 dollars and that inclduded the 45 dollar card, so I thoght WOW this is perfect! NOT SO FAST! I got the phone and called to activate and was informed that phone was not campatible with this AREA! I was very annoyed because I assumed that a straight talk phone was good for all straight talk services anywhere...but I was wrong according to the straight talk representitive that I talked with. so BE warned that if you get a phone on line if it is not from your area, it wont work. I am also annoyed because Is it worth the extra 15 dollars to send it back? I kept the service card so I might as well not even worry about the hassle of returning the phone. TO make SURE I got the right one, I went to my local store and purchased a new one for full price! Phone was good, seemed in good shape, exactly what was described, just couldn't use it so therefore it was useless to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

does it all well, but isnt saving me money.

01/05/2014
By ,
Western Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had ATT rugby . way over due to get in the 21st century with a smart phone.
Thought I did my homework, I knew I would want the ATT or Verizon network
for good coverage. This phone is Verizon.
First I want to write why I am writing this review. I dont want anyone else to have my problem.
My goal was to save money. I dont use my phone much. 2-3 calls a day, 2-3 texts a day.
The $30 1000 - 1000 plan was more than I needed. I bought this phone with a $45 card for about $90. Now I see they are like $55 so $10 for the phone.
When It came to renewal time, I bought the $30 card and it would not work. I had no idea
that the $30 plan and the $45 plan do not work for the same phone. So, am shopping for
a smart phone that works on the $30 card.
In terms of the phone .. I like it a lot. I use the verbal text feature, I added some aps like gas buddy to save money, the maps ap is excellent. I just drove from Michigan to Florida and back and only in the mountains of Kentucky did I fail to have service.
When a $45 card is purchased, there are taxes and 911 fee so its about $48.50 a month.
I wanted the $30 program. so paying $16 a mo or almost $200 a year more than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
N.C.
no,no
Posted 02/01/2014
you will not find a smartphone with no contract for 30 dollars a month , nowhere , sorry..it states on website only runs on 45 or 60 dollar plan
0points
This is a Sprint -powered phone
Posted 01/12/2014
The author of this review may be reviewing the wrong phone or another phone.
The Straight Talk Optimus Q L55C runs off the Sprint network. For those of you thinking of purchasing this phone, be sure you have good Sprint coverage for as we all know, Sprint has spotty coverage once away from the metropolitan areas.
Here is a photo of the box that a new Optimus Q comes in ...if you look at the bottom left corner, you will see the code "CDMA-S" which denotes Sprint. If it was a phone using Verizon, it would be coded "CDMA-V" --copy-and-paste for photo and enlarge by clicking on the "+" sign:
http://i.ebayimg.com/t/LG-Optimus-Q-LG55C-Smartphone-StraightTalk-Bad-ESN-For-use-as-MP3-or-Android-/00/s/MTIwMFgxNjAw/z/NNwAAOxy4dNSs2tu/$_57.JPG
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

If you want cheap, get what you pay for I guess.

03/28/2014
By ,
Tennessee
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was so excited to finally be rid of an exorbitant Verizon bill and had high hopes of this phone. High hopes that were dashed when I received my phone and the charger would not even go into the phone itself. Customer service with Straight Talk? IF I wanted to a charger that worked (silly me!), I would have to buy yet another phone and return this one in order to receive a charger. That's right: return everything for a charger wire. Fortunately the one from my previous phone worked. Now, three months into it, I suppose this phone does about everything I need, but half the time the touch screen does not work and you are pounding and pounding to get it to go. I have also had a couple of instances where I was receiving a call and it would not even go to the phone. Yes, it cheaper but at the same time, the phone quality is not good, customer service is even worse. I really do miss my Droid, but only because it actually worked and never gave me any trouble. Yeah, I am a little jaded with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Best 2.3 I've purchased thus far.

01/18/2014
By ,
Sterling, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first phone I've found that has quite a bit of phone memory so I don't have to consistently delete the apps I want that also doesn't freeze up for no apparent reason. It holds a charge well, battery drains slowly, and recharges quickly. The cold doesn't cause it to malfunction. I haven't used the slide much but like having the option. It takes good pictures. It has a decent variety of preprogrammed ringtones and sounds. Really the only thing I would like in a phone is a larger screen and I knew what size it was when I ordered so can't complain. This phone makes LG look good. I can see why some are fans of LG now. Too bad it's not a4.0 but it works better and is quicker than any other 2.3 I've seen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

great little phone!

01/03/2014
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for over 2 years now and it is still going strong!! it has taken a lot of beatings.. it has gone swimming on more than one occasion, has been dropped more times than i can count.. and I have even slammed it in my trunk once to the point my battery bent.. other than some light scuffs and dings, it still works like the day I bought it.. the service is great and I rarely loose my connection..
the only two things I don't care for about this phone is #1 the speaker, while on speaker phone or playing music is very quiet, and #2 it goes through batteries like no other.. I am on my third one for this phone (not counting the one i bent).. other than that I LOVE THIS PHONE!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Good phone, especially for the price.

02/01/2014
By ,
Mishawaka, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone for myself after my girlfriend bought one, and I bought one for my daughter. The phone and unlimited card was around $60, which makes the phone $15 since the cards are $45. The phone is refurbished, but works just fine. The only negative I can find with the phone, is that the internal memory on the phone is pitiful, so expect to get "low on space" messages frequently. I have a total of 10 apps on this phone, and I got the "low on space" message. My last phone, the Samsung Galaxy Centura (WORST PHONE I'VE EVER OWNED), never had a single problem with storage space on the phone. It's very irritating to not be able to download whatever apps you want, especially when I have moved everything I can move to the SD card. Aside from that, the phone is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Root and overclock! this can be an awesome value

12/04/2013
By ,
gulfport
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this for a friend who needed an affordable phone. I already owned this phone. Installed arearom Q v2.1 Works amazingly well now. For the money its one of the best deals out there!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Great phone if you are near Sprint towers

12/02/2013
By ,
WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had this phone for a couple months. It's a great phone and does what I need it to, if I get a signal. I don't get much signal at home and in a few other places. When I visit my parents, I have to drive 20 minutes from their house before I get a signal. They live in a rural area, but other family members get signal on their phones when they are there. Otherwise, I have been happy with the phone itself, and it meets my needs. However, there is no flash on the camera and no LED light, so it's not compatible with flashlight apps, which I loved on my old phone. But, the phone works great for the overall daily functions I use it for, texting, and web surfing. Straight Talk customer service is a pain to deal with and it took several days to port over my old number from a different carrier. Once it was, I only had my old number on my new phone for a day, then all of a sudden, I had no service. Straight Talk said my old number no longer existed and I had to get a new number. Once I got the new number, it was fine, but a HUGE problem in having to notify people of my number change and medical personnel were unable to get a hold of me regarding my son with medical issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Poor Customer Service

11/23/2013
By ,
Hamburg, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews on this phone before purchasing it, and thought that none of the bad things people were saying would apply to me. Well as soon as I brought the phone home, it started giving me trouble. I tried to switch my number from my old phone, and soon received a call saying it wasn't transferring correctly. They told me my old account number did not exist, as I read it from my original bill. They then told me the Service Pin I was given to activate my phone, had already been used. After a half an hour on the phone, customer service told me the issue was with my old company. I called Virgin Mobile and they again gave me my account number. I repeated it once more to the operator and was once again told I was incorrect. At this point I decided to return the phone. I wouldn't recommend this phone to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
N.C.
no,no
Posted 01/27/2014
dont want to hurt your feelings , but when a cell carrier closes your account for non payment , they are reluctant to give you their number to use , sorry
0points
Customer Avatar
WA
Posted 12/02/2013
I had the same problem porting my number from my old service provider. It took several days and a number of calls to customer service to get it transferred over. It finally went through and I had my old number on my new phone for 24 hours, then nothing. All of a sudden I had no service. I called customer service and they said my old number did not exist and I needed to get a new number. What?! How does that happen? They had successfully, though painfully, ported my old number to my new phone for a whole day, then the number just vanishes? I had that number for several years. In order to keep my old number, I would have to wait a week for them to "find" it, then MAYBE they could have it restored, no guarantees. I reluctantly had to accept a new number and it was a huge pain to have to notify all my contacts that my number has changed, and edit info on accounts, and emergency contact info for my kids, etc. It caused me a lot of trouble with medical personnel having difficulty contacting me regarding my son's surgery.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Was a nice looking phone.

01/22/2014
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was really looking forward to this phone and was excited when it finally came in. I loved the fact that it was a slider, but that anticipation was turned to sour because the phone charged all night and only got up to 40% battery life, died within the first day--and I didn't even use it!! The battery on the charger would only get up to 2% and die as soon as it was unconnected. So, figuring it was a battery issue I had it replaced. With the second battery, everything seemed to be going well and it was charging, but then it stopped charging when it hit 58%. The next day I called one person and talked for 15 minutes and it died again, plugged it in and it would have 2%, and even died WHILE on the charger! I would suggest looking at a different phone entirely.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Battery does not last....is true
Posted 03/28/2014
I have not had this person's troubles with the battery, but it certainly does not last long. With no more use of the phone than what I have, the battery that was charged overnight will be dead that evening.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Can't use product.

11/03/2013
By ,
Springfield, CO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I can't even use this product because Walmart didn't specify which carrier tower this product had to use. This phone can only be used off of a Sprint tower and there aren't any anywhere near me or I would have kept my old phone. I believe that this information is important when purchasing a cell phone. It should be known which tower/s that phone has to connect to.
The phone seemed decent but now I have to take it an hour to the nearest Walmart and hope that I may trade it for one that I can use off the Verizon tower.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Cant beat this deal

11/09/2013
By ,
Altoona PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my phone works perfectly. Yeah as some said you cant cancel apps but can download a app killer that solves the problem. I get spikes of service sometimes it takes alittle to get caught up but not to much. You should ALWAYS check if your area has service before you buy. I checked my area and areas I go like my work and boyfriends house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

runs on sprint towers

10/11/2013
By ,
crossville, tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
had to return because it ran on sprint no signal. if you had sprint probably would be great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

its a good phone for being refurbished

12/16/2013
By ,
elkton md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is awesome even though its refurbished. I would recommend anyone who wants a new phone to look into better deals. This phone works like a brand new one. There's really no difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Great value

10/17/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For Straight Talk users that need a 45 dollar refill card for 10 dollars more you can get an Android device for you or your kids to play with. You don't need to activate it to use it like other ST phones. There are custom ROMS available for it too. It's not the fastest or up to date but it's good for a play device or temp backup phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

nice phone for a great price

04/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
so far this has been the best straighttalk phone / airtime combo Ive found and Ive tried alot of them. The phone is nice. feels well built and not the least bit cheap. Its an android so you get access to the app store. The current price of 55.88 is great when its in stock. although the onscreen keyboard is fine, having a physical one is nice as well. Its a pleasant surprise to find a pre-paid phone that does not feel cheap and actually feels well made and looks nice..
A no brainer at that price range.. its only real competion is the samsung which now costs more and runs a proprietary OS so is out. or the other l33g which is 10 more and feels of less quality.
so, if your gonna pick up one of these combo's this is the one you want.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Faulty

10/09/2013
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone under the assumption that it used Verizon towers, IT DOES NOT. The signal is at a bare minimum and I of course am very disappointed. I bought this phone a little over a year ago and it has done nothing but gather dust. At that time it was newly released and so I paid around $200. It also has software issues, you turn it off and it turns right back on which drains the battery since it is constantly searching for a signal. Just buyer beware! Unless your in an area where Sprint is the primary towers, you are gonna be sorry.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Quality and Value

03/25/2014
By ,
Dryden, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Refurbished. Scary proposition, right? If you were with Straight Talk already, you were going to buy the card anyway, and if you were not with Straight Talk, perfect opportunity to try it out! This phone came looking like new. No disappointment there. After 2 weeks, it has functioned as expected. I knew what to expect, because we had bought this phone model new when it came out. Still like it. Transferred our existing number with the automated system without a glitch. The slider querty keypad was clean and works fine. So very important for those of us who don't like typing on a virtual keypad. Voice recognition is great for emails and instant messaging. Great smartphone without the smartphone price, as the phone was free with the purchase of the $45 unlimited card. What a deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q L55C Prepaid Cell Phone with $45 Unlimited Card, Refurbished

Nice phone

01/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light weight and handy. The screen is a little on the small side but has great quality if looking at photos or YouTube videos.
Service is excellent. Get good coverage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 145 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next