Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hewlett Packard HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

This e-all-in-one offers affordable printing from virtually anywhere. Produce borderless, lab-quality photos and laser-sharp documents from your smartphone, tablet and Internet-connected PC. This printer is eligible for HP Instant Ink — an ink replacement service that can save you up to 50 percent on original HP ink.
Average Customer Rating:
4.392 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(541 Reviews) 540
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
346
4 stars
129
3 stars
29
2 stars
6
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation91%495 out of 541reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
346
4 stars
129
3 stars
29
2 stars
6
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Cool printer.

12/10/2013
By ,
Edwardsville Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bad boy on Black Friday, I did my comparing and looked at the actual price and reviews to see if it was a good buy, and it was. I paid 1/3 the original price, which is awesome.
As for the print quality, I have only printed word docs so far, but they print fast and accurate. I can email in something to be printed from anywhere, and if I'm at home and on my iPad I can send things to print via my device.
In my opinion this is an awesome device, it does what I need and looks good doing it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+160points
Review 2 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Average printer with great connectivity

12/13/2013
By ,
San Diego, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this printer on a Cyber Monday deal. For $50 it's a great basic all-in-one value with exceptional wireless connectivity features. I can print from any of my networked laptops as well as from my Android Phone seamlessly.
It uses two ink cartridges (HP 61 if you're curious), one black, and one multicolor. The advantage here is that they'e relatively cheap to replace since you wont have to buy 3 different color inks. The disadvantage is that you won't be able to print once of of those three colors runs out, regardless of the levels of the others. The paper tray is conveniently minimal, located on the bottom of the unit in a pop out tray. It barely adds any additional footprint to the unit. However, it's very thin and doesn't hold much paper at all. 1/8 of a ream of paper if I had to guesstimate.
The scanner is a little quirky. It doesn't have the ability to automatically detect document sizes. You have to manually select the size from the included software program... or crop the image in a photo editing tool afterwards. Not terribly convenient.
The print quality is very, very, average at best. It's perfectly fine for printing documents so much as they aren't portfolio or presentation docs. If you're a student who needs to print off tons of reports and word docs or just a casual home user who doesn't need to have photo or professional quality prints, this will be a great printer for you.
Overall, it's a great basic unit that has all-in-one functionality. The built in wireless connectivity and ease of use is easily the best part of this unit. It does a lot of stuff well, but not one thing great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+141points
Review 3 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

better than the price

02/16/2014
By ,
dayton,ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i first got it put it together went thru the set up,it was easy,until i put the paper in,it took me 10 minutes to figure out where to put the paper,nothing in directions,every printer i had you put paper in back,this one you put where your printed item comes out,but,duh!i printed a few items so far so good,can't complain,the warranty not up yet,but it does a lot a neat things,some say they have a problem with that,but google play has the exact app you need for it,just look for it,only problem i had at first,it said my wifi was not on,once i got that corrected,its been perfect
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 4 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Great Value

01/01/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this printer because I wanted something I could use with my IPad Mini. The price was phenomenal, and was very easy to get up and running. Easy to follow directions that allowed me to be printing in no time. I printed from my main computer as well as my I Pad. Quality is good - not the best but for $49.00, it is much better than I expected. It looks very nice as well. It also can scan documents. Such a great deal!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Review 5 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Does not print out of the box

01/08/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Set up the printer and the test pages are missing much information, likely due to poor quality print cartridges. This is unacceptable in my opinion, a printer should work out of the box 100% period!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Review 6 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Incompatible Ink & Other Helpful Tips

12/28/2013
By ,
Louisiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Firstly, the ink cartridges that come with this printer will not work - you will get the message "incompatible ink cartridges" and no amount of troubleshooting will work -- including the HP Troubleshooting Doctor. I called HP support (1-800-571-6127) and requested a replacement -- and HP is going to send me a new cartridge. You will need to purchase new ink cartridges for installation -- I have also read from other reviews that this printer will not accept "knock-off" ink. Next, the wireless set up, especially for a Samsung/Android phone is not easy. Here are some websites you will need to help you: www.hpconnect.com. You will also need to download the HP ePrint App --- Amazon now has an App Store and the HP ePrint app is free. I had to jump through several more hoops to set up the wireless connection - read the included manual - it has the steps to follow - there are too many to list here. It took me all morning - including the call to HP customer service. Hope this helps some.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pomona, ca
Ink Cartridges
Posted 01/04/2014
I had no problems installing the cartridges that came with the printer.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Great Value for the price!

01/21/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arrived earlier than expected. The print on both sides feature is wonderful for saving paper. Wifi signal is strong and keeps in constant connection. Ink is easy to install. The paper tray easily pulls out for loading. When sizing for envelopes or picture printing, the paper sizer adjusts in the middle instead of off to the side which is really nice. The print quality was fine.
Cons: It is a little loud while printing. Most troublesome issue, if you have Windows 8 or 8.1 you might spend 2 hours on the phone with HP trying to get it to work. I spent 2 hours on the phone letting them manipulate my laptop remotely. I had installed the software properly and even made a few extra adjustments and located it via its IP address and was able to log into it from its IP address but was unable to print. Hp responded that they are not fully integrated with Windows 8/8.1 as of yet. But if you are lucky it will work if not they are able to make it work, it just takes some time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Review 8 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

This printer is great

01/24/2014
By ,
paola Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I set it up the first time my computer had a hard time finding for the printer and the problem wasn't the printer it was the computer it self so after I reinstall windows 7 and fixed the computer it was no trouble at all cents I started using. It I haven't had any problems with other then a paper jams every now and then
About this printer it does Debbie side printering witch is great and it does air print or e print with iPads and iPods and I phones and many other mobile devices as well this right might be hps best printer so fare this printer works great
Note that this is a inkjet printer not a desk jet. But it may or may take the same ink as you're old. If u had or have a hp 3050 desk jet printer this printer takes the same ink as that one does
Bottom line is this is a great printer. And yes I would tell people to buy this printer if u have problems with you're old one this will fix all you're problems that u may or may not had this is the best one I have owned so fare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Good printer but confusing to print from phone!

12/09/2013
By ,
Kenner, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this printer as an early Christmas gift for myself because I really wanted a printer that I could print from my cell phone! When I received the printer I set it up and read the instruction but it didn't say much about printing using a cell phone. I did eventually figure out how to do it by downloading the HP eprint app and setting up an account online with HP but at first I was really mad that it wasn't allowing me to print from my phone! It took me a while to figure it out so that is why I gave 4 stars. I also have a Samsung tablet and I was not able to print using that because you must have a Samsung printer which I didn't know. Overall it is an awesome printer. It isn't super fast printing but it is a good speed and the quality of printing is pretty good. I love the screen on the printer and it even has calendar and different quick print options like to do list! You can also set it up to where it will print from a specific website each day. Like the daily news or coloring pages for the kids! I would definitely recommended this printer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WI
This is an awesome printer envy 4501
Posted 02/06/2014
i dont know why people are complaning about starter ink my ink printed 102 pages from my microsoft soft access 2013 and still had ink for many other pages plus it still works ... when you need to hook up to wireless just type in the name of your wireless id and then hook up the password easy peasy if you need help ask
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Purchase an ink refill contract

02/08/2014
By ,
Cherry Hill, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good little printer for someone that needs a small footprint to fit on a desk. As with all cheap printers, they claw the money back with overpriced cartridges that contain a thimble full of ink. The easiest way to save money is to purchase an ink refill plan from HP. The printer tells HP when to send the cartridges so you'll never run out. I took the largest plan (300 page per month) for 10 bucks. They have other plans for people that don't do as much printing. A set of cartridges doesn't even last me one month but they would cost nearly 40 buck to replace without the refill plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 11 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Great printer with nice qualities

12/09/2013
By ,
Abingdon, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this printer when it was on sale for Black Friday, and I absolutely love it. Setting up the wireless was easy, and it's been printing great since then. It also has some great features that allow you to do things like print a monthly calendar straight from the printer without any computer interaction. It was a great buy and I have even convinced my roommate to get one as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Great Printer
Posted 12/15/2013
Is the HP Envy 4501 a fax machine also????
thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Great wireless printer

12/10/2013
By ,
Erie, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer is amazing. I was concerned that there was going to be problems with the whole wireless thing (like losing connection or having to be super close for the wireless aspect to work) but that is not the case at all! It works perfectly and is so easy to use. Works just as great from my iPhone as it does from my laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 13 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Great printer and worth the money!!

12/04/2013
By ,
Shreveport, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I were walking in Walmart and just happened to come across this printer. We figured for the price they were offering that we would give it a shot. To our surprise we were ecstatic. The setup was easy for our laptops, desktop computer, and galaxay smartphones. We could not have asked for a better printer for the price. Such a reasonable price for a great printer!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+55points
Review 14 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Finally a printer to use with my Chromebook!

12/02/2013
By ,
Ypsilanti Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this up online on black Friday. The shipping time was as predicted. The printer was in its original packaging and placed inside of my door. I am glad I had the day off when it came. I am more than pleased with the quality of this printer. The printer allows me to print from all of my devices, my Chromebook, my phone and my tablet!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Review 15 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

It's a GREAT printer!!

12/09/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it from the minute I clicked it! No, really. When I printed the test page, I was blown away, I could not believe it because the picture was almost as if it was real, like it was taken from the camera!! No, I'm not staggering. You may see it for yourself once you buy and try it! :-) I love that I can press on the screen instead of button, makes it so much easier! It was easy as 1-2-3!! I suggest you to use the good papers for photos :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Review 16 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Great Printer

02/26/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was still using my simple little HP 1000 printer when I finally got tired of having to plug my printer into my computer every time I wanted to print. I had seen the HP Envy 4500 while out shopping one day on sale, but decided to comparison shop online and also make sure the ink it used wasn't going to cost me an arm and a leg. I'm glad I did! The 4501 has a faster ppm, and the bundle came with a USB drive and a 500-sheets package of paper, for the same price as the 4500. It was shipped straight to my door and was pretty simple to set up. And, it uses the same ink as the 4500 - and it is about the same price as the ink I was buying for the little printer. Win-win!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 17 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Limited Edition piece of junk

01/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I typically do not do reviews, but had to share that this printer was worthless. After spending the time to set it up, the very first test page jammed. I thought it was possibly a fluke, so I tried other print jobs and it continually jammed with very few successful print jobs. Fortunately, the design makes it easy to retrieve the paper jam, but needless to say I will be returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Review 18 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

HP Envy Printer

12/09/2013
By ,
Newport, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My HP Envy printer was a great investment for me. It's fast and very easy to use, I can sit from the comfort of my recliner and print every thing I need. I would recommend this printer highly to family members and friends. If you can operate a I-phone, you surely can operate this printer very simple, not a lot of buttons to figure out , just a touch of a button. Thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 19 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

(Buyer Beware) USB Printer Cable IS included

12/31/2013
By ,
Northern, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I agree with most other reviews so I won't waste my time saying what they have said about how easy it is to install and blah, blah, blah.
This site clearly states that a USB cable is NOT included (to connect your printer and pc) well, guess what? It IS included.
Also, just so you know, you really don't need a PC to print. All I did was register my printer at HPConnected.com and I customized my printers email so that I could remember it and I just send what I want my printer to print to the printers email and it prints in seconds.
Who knew my printer had it's very own email??? Very cool and convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 20 for HP Envy 4501 e-All-in-One Inkjet Printer

Don't waste your money!!

01/20/2014
By ,
SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I purchased this printer a month ago, I thought it was great. I was able to print from my phone as well as wireless from my computer and iPad. I made the mistake of throwing away the box. A week later, I couldn't get anything to print. I am now uninstalling and reinstalling the software. It wouldn't even print when I attached the USB cord.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
1-20 of 541 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  28 Next