Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Hewlett Packard HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

This HP Envy e-All-in-One Printer, 4502 offers affordable printing from virtually anywhere. Produce borderless, lab-quality photos and laser-sharp documents from your smartphone, tablet and Internet-connected PC.
Average Customer Rating:
4.169 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(189 Reviews) 189
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
118
4 stars
38
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation85%160 out of 189reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
133 Questions | 222 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
118
4 stars
38
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Great All-in-One Printer!

01/28/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did quite some research on multifunction printers for less than $100 and decided to go with the HP Envy 4502. It had excellent reviews and seemed to be the highest rated for overall quality and value. Let me just say...I made the right choice.
Aside from its multifunctional capability, the convenience of it being wireless is great. It is hidden away in our tech desk and we can print from all devices in the house without being near it. Additionally, the ePrint feature is pretty awesome as I can print documents straight to my 4502 from anywhere in the world (as long as there is Internet service).
It's not designed to be a commercial workhorse, but it's perfect for printing needed documents and pictures here and there. So if you're looking for these capabilities in a printer for home or work use, look no more!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+349points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Not worth the heartache

08/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a college student who bought this printer for $70 at Walmart. I thought HP was a good brand and I liked the affordable price. I printed out the alignment page and it worked fine. I printed a couple of sheets and it was fine. Then, I came back to it after a few days of non use and all it does is jam. If more than one piece of paper is in the tray, it tends to jam while printing. Sometimes, the printer takes two pieces at once! I'd say 9/10 times I get a paper jam or carriage malfunction. Those little teeth in the printer catch the paper as it's coming out and shred it up. I will be returning this product because I have tried to fix it and am tired of cheap materials always breaking. Maybe I will actually buy something worth its price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Honest Review - Horrible! 2 Weeks

01/27/2014
By ,
Stockbridge, ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I felt I could safely give you my telephone number to contact me and verify my review is legitimate, I would. I am a college student obtaining my Master's degree and this printer is soo very inconvenient. I read other reviews about how this product takes a long time to print. Well, they are very right! I overlooked it at first, but now it is not printing at all.
I tried to print multiple times simple powerpoints, but they take soo long they stop your entire computer and never actually make it to the printer. Then when they do make it to the printer it says "paper jam" and no paper is even jammed! One document was 59 pages and I told the printer to put 9 slides on 1 page and print front and back (something my Kodak did all the time before my 2 year old broke it). It never printed after hours and days of trying. The other document was only 9 slides long. It never printed as well. I am sitting her right now waiting overnight for 2 other slides to print and it is flattening and flattening and flattening... not never printed. Now I can't even delete them from my printer hold box!
PRINTS COLOR despite you telling it to print BLACK AND WHITE ONLY! Then the ink is used soo quickly! Horrible printer.
I am soo upset because it is now pass my 15 days to return this, but I have truly learned my lesson. Stick with Kodak printers, because I never had this problem. Walmart just happened to be sold out of Kodak printers when we needed a printer, but now I see why they were sold out! Because HP is horrible! Money wasted.
You know what? If you don't believe me, just respond to this post and I will see what I can do to make you believe how horrible this printer really is. Remember, people are paid to write good reviews on products that they have never used. I write reviews based upon actual experience with products.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+139points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newburyport, MA
HP Envy Printer
Posted 10/12/2014
Thank you for your honesty....it means a lot. I have read favorable reviews but most are either "Great" or "Horrible," with not many in between. Good luck on your Master's Degree.
Wade
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Terrible

07/15/2014
By ,
Fulton, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After the first few days this printer failed to function. I took it back and tried another. The photos have never printed nice enough to put in a frame. Lines through them and poor quality. Now after less than six months and not a lot of use, it is completely useless. I can't find my receipt so I guess I will go to another brand for hopefully better luck. Also went through ink quickly. I actually thought the problem was my rather old desktop computer not communicating with this printer, since it would print an e-mail or document's borders, but no print within and would not print from Word at all. (It previously worked fine for these applications).
Today I tried to simply copy something and it acts like it is printing and sounds like it but it comes out blank. Now it tells me I am out of black ink! Not sure how it can be out when NOTHING has been printing for some time. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this printer.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Minnesota
the ink cartridge
Posted 08/07/2014
not sure if you realize it, but you said it had been some time since you printed anything. These ink cartridges will either dry up or plug if it has not been used for a long time. That could be your problem. Just the ink cartridge.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Very disappointed, unreliable, error prone

11/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've used HP printers for years. I recently purchased this model from Walmart as I didn't need some of the features of the more expensive models I've used in the past. I am regretting this decision. It does not print the gridlines on my Excel worksheets (and yes, I have "print gridlines" checked within the Excel application). I have spent much time searching HP and other forums for a solution to this issue and have still yet to find one. Also, if I do a print job with multiple copies it ALWAYS stops printing half-way through the 2nd copy. Therefore, I have to print each copy individually. Extremely inconvenient and inefficient when I have more than a couple copies of a document to print. The print quality is great, but that's pretty much the only positive I can say about this printer. I'm EXTREMELY disappointed in HP. Up until now, their products have been of high quality and I could always trust that when choosing one of they are reliable. I am shopping for a new printer and may just have to rely on a new manufacturer as I have lost confidence in HP products :(
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Junk

05/19/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I will NEVER have another HP again. I had one YEARS ago and had problems with it. I bought another brand and had it for years with no problems. Had to upgrade my OS and it would not work with my printer. I figured since it had been years maybe HP has improved. Bought an HP 4500 Envy all-in-one. Had problems withing a few months. You had to open scan to scan and save to a folder. It started showing Can NOT be found. I called HP tech support. They got it working after being on phone for about 1 1/2 hours plus sharing my computer. Within 2 days it lost connection again. I called tech support, they could not get it to stay connected. They pushed it up to a LEVEL 2. They called the next day and after another 1 1/2 hours on phone and sharing computer HE COULDN'T EVEN GET IT TO STAY CONNECTED. So if even a LEVEL 2 tech CANNOT FIX IT, WHAT DOES THAT SAY?
Luckily I had the extended warrantee. I called them and will be sending the printer back as soon as I get the return label. I bought the same brand I had before so I do NOT think I should be having anymore problems. I will NEVER get another HP again, and I will NEVER recommend an HP to anybody. In fact if I could I would give less than 1 star rating
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Liked HP's record, but having a difficult time.

09/24/2014
By ,
Land O' Lakes, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Previously I owned a Cannon, but after only 2 years it died, so I took my friend's advice and bought this one. His HP is almost 8 years old. I liked that record. However, since I am a senior and electronically challenged, I'm having a difficult time since it came with no instruction book. I'm sure I would like it a lot better if I knew how to use it. My suggestion would be to include a beginners instruction book (especially for seniors). If necessary include it in the cost!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

New All-in-One printer not what the doctor ordered

04/04/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the HP ENVY 4502 yesterday. I'm taking it back for a refund tomorrow. The bottom line is that the scanning quality was extremely poor. I read many of the reviews talking about paper jams, etc., but I purchased mine primarily for scanning photos (genealogy work). I need to make the occasional copy or print something, but mostly, I need the printer for scanning. I also know that you get what you pay for. Still, for $70, I expected a printer that could scan basic photos without inserting a vertical streak/line through the scanned photo. I am taking the unit back tomorrow and will buy a different brand. I think that with printers (all-in-one units) that are $70 or less, people's results will vary. The reviews I've seen are generally VERY good or VERY poor. I guess I got a unit that had some design issues. Oh well, live and learn.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Good budget printer

08/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had no problems with this printer that i have had for about a month. the only thing i can say is to make it easier to understand how to use e print and wireless direct printing, as it does not work on everything, and if you want to e print it has to be on your device, i couldn't find out how to print a recipe off my browser, because it wanted me to download it first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

8 months later and its already broken!!I

04/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this printer 8 months ago because our faithful Dell all in one was not Wi-Fi compatible. I didn't want to wait for delivery so I went to Walmart and pick the HP Envy 4502 all in one. Everything was fine, easy set up, prints great from Iphone and laptop...anyway...8 months later I go to turn it on and it starts to make this grinding noise and instantly turns off by itself. I got the 2 year extended warranty with Walmart for nothing because when I tried to file a claim they said I had to call HP support and they were the ones that needed to help me.
So I called HP support and after having me unplug the machine and make sure it wasn't a paper jam they determined that the cartridge mechanism is faulty and they need to send me a REFURBISH one. Ok! Fine. Not only that but its going to take 5-7 days to get here unless I want to pay $17.00 dollars to get it sooner. On top of that I also have to provided them with my credit card # in case I don't return the broken one they can charge me for it. HP I DON"T WANT TO KEEP YOUR BROKEN PRINTER!!!! Seriously!! Also this printer eats up ink like crazy!! If I knew then what I know now I would had gotten a Dell. So my advise is GET a DELL printer instead.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Terrible printer

03/19/2014
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this printer about a month and a half ago. The setup was easy, and it started printing out without a problem. I'm not sure why people said it was slow, I really haven't experienced that. What I have experienced with this printer is the constant paper jams. I would say that out of every 20 prints, 1 will have a paper jam. There is a slot to put the blank papers in, but that area is larger than the papers itself, so if the papers aren't put exactly in the right spot, you'll have a paper jam. It doesn't tell you where that "right spot" is either. If you put that it prints black & white, it will still print in color. It blows through ink like crazy. I wish I knew how problematic this printer would be before the 15-day return limit, I would have returned it. Now I'm stuck with a printer that will jam every other day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

A good printer for the price.

01/17/2014
By ,
Redmond OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This printer has a great print quality. I would prefer the instruction booklet that came with the printer had some words along with the pictures showing how to connect everything. It was a little confusing to connect my laptop/wirelss feature as I was not sure which of the many web sites listed was the correct one to use. It took a while to download but that may just be my internet connection. It is a little slow to print and a bit noisy but overall a pretty good printer for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Great printer for printing photos and more!!

08/03/2014
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer on sale for $69....and it is worth every penny and then some!!
The printer was fairly easy to set up and install. It probably took me about 20 minutes from start to finish. The instructions are just pictures on a piece of paper, but they are pretty easy and straight forward. The only bad thing that I have found is you don't want to load the paper tray completely full or it will have a tendency to jam (but these are fairly easy to fix).
I print out a lot of photos at the machines in stores and I am usually disappointed in the quality that I get. The photos that I have printed out so far on this printer have all been extremely clear and vibrant...never again will I print my photos elsewhere!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

This Device is a Curse!

03/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I went to Walmart and carefully picked an item whose carton was in great shape. Got it home and have nothing but aggravation with the notorious 'paper jam' problem. I have had good experiences with previous HP printers, but this has been a total pain. No way I could recommend it!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Worked fine at first...

05/23/2014
By ,
Roanoke, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My HP ENVY 4502 worked fine at first and for the last couple of weeks it prints half of what I tell it to print. I tell it to print 3 pages and I get 1 1/2 pages, I tell it to print 2 pages and I get 1/2 of a page. I don't know what is wrong with this printer but I am sooo looking for my receipt to get my money back for this useless printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Envy my love of my Envy

10/22/2014
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the previous all in one office machine from HP. It was substandtially bulkier than the Envy, didn't really mind but I will always take the more compact one...I ordered this because the other was getting old and it was not printing as clear...I know I could have got out the alcohol and Qtips to clean the printer heads but I just did not want to again. I LOVE that this one is wireless! I never again have to read the message saying it would print faster if plugged into a different USB port but would not tell me which one! It is lovely, low-profile, sleek, black and prints well. I only hopes it does not blow throught the ink like the last one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Great e-Printer for personal use

09/21/2014
By ,
Mifflinburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first "e" printer. I've been a long time user of HP Products so when it came time to purchase a new printer the HP Envy 4502 Inkjet seemed to fit my needs. This product came bundled with a USB Flash Drive 8gb & 1 ream of Hammermill paper. Be advised you need to purchase a USB 2.0 Printer Cable if you do not have access to the wireless features. The recommendation for this product shows a USB 3.0 but this printer requires a 2.0 connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Flimsy Plastic Part

04/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First I'll say that the printer itself works beautifully, am very happy with it. Having said that, I am not at all happy that the plastic piece ,which pulls out to catch the printed page, is poorly made of flimsy plastic. It broke when my cat bumped it, on the 3rd day of using the printer. I am disappointed, as have always bought HP products which were well made and durable.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Works better than expected...

02/14/2014
By ,
Lewes, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as a replacement for my Dell printer, wanted a wireless one. Works great, easy set-up, prints two sided copies. You won't be disappointed with this one...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+114points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Stopped working +1 day after warranty expired

04/23/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great for a year. Until warranty expired. Not will not turn on, showing the infamous "0x83C0000A" error. Don't buy this, but if you do, get the extended warranty plan.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 189 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next