Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Hewlett Packard HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

This HP Envy e-All-in-One Printer, 4502 offers affordable printing from virtually anywhere. Produce borderless, lab-quality photos and laser-sharp documents from your smartphone, tablet and Internet-connected PC.
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation83%100 out of 120reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 129 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Not worth the heartache

08/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a college student who bought this printer for $70 at Walmart. I thought HP was a good brand and I liked the affordable price. I printed out the alignment page and it worked fine. I printed a couple of sheets and it was fine. Then, I came back to it after a few days of non use and all it does is jam. If more than one piece of paper is in the tray, it tends to jam while printing. Sometimes, the printer takes two pieces at once! I'd say 9/10 times I get a paper jam or carriage malfunction. Those little teeth in the printer catch the paper as it's coming out and shred it up. I will be returning this product because I have tried to fix it and am tired of cheap materials always breaking. Maybe I will actually buy something worth its price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Great All-in-One Printer!

01/28/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did quite some research on multifunction printers for less than $100 and decided to go with the HP Envy 4502. It had excellent reviews and seemed to be the highest rated for overall quality and value. Let me just say...I made the right choice.
Aside from its multifunctional capability, the convenience of it being wireless is great. It is hidden away in our tech desk and we can print from all devices in the house without being near it. Additionally, the ePrint feature is pretty awesome as I can print documents straight to my 4502 from anywhere in the world (as long as there is Internet service).
It's not designed to be a commercial workhorse, but it's perfect for printing needed documents and pictures here and there. So if you're looking for these capabilities in a printer for home or work use, look no more!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+166points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Honest Review - Horrible! 2 Weeks

01/27/2014
By ,
Stockbridge, ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I felt I could safely give you my telephone number to contact me and verify my review is legitimate, I would. I am a college student obtaining my Master's degree and this printer is soo very inconvenient. I read other reviews about how this product takes a long time to print. Well, they are very right! I overlooked it at first, but now it is not printing at all.
I tried to print multiple times simple powerpoints, but they take soo long they stop your entire computer and never actually make it to the printer. Then when they do make it to the printer it says "paper jam" and no paper is even jammed! One document was 59 pages and I told the printer to put 9 slides on 1 page and print front and back (something my Kodak did all the time before my 2 year old broke it). It never printed after hours and days of trying. The other document was only 9 slides long. It never printed as well. I am sitting her right now waiting overnight for 2 other slides to print and it is flattening and flattening and flattening... not never printed. Now I can't even delete them from my printer hold box!
PRINTS COLOR despite you telling it to print BLACK AND WHITE ONLY! Then the ink is used soo quickly! Horrible printer.
I am soo upset because it is now pass my 15 days to return this, but I have truly learned my lesson. Stick with Kodak printers, because I never had this problem. Walmart just happened to be sold out of Kodak printers when we needed a printer, but now I see why they were sold out! Because HP is horrible! Money wasted.
You know what? If you don't believe me, just respond to this post and I will see what I can do to make you believe how horrible this printer really is. Remember, people are paid to write good reviews on products that they have never used. I write reviews based upon actual experience with products.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newburyport, MA
HP Envy Printer
Posted 10/12/2014
Thank you for your honesty....it means a lot. I have read favorable reviews but most are either "Great" or "Horrible," with not many in between. Good luck on your Master's Degree.
Wade
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Terrible

07/15/2014
By ,
Fulton, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After the first few days this printer failed to function. I took it back and tried another. The photos have never printed nice enough to put in a frame. Lines through them and poor quality. Now after less than six months and not a lot of use, it is completely useless. I can't find my receipt so I guess I will go to another brand for hopefully better luck. Also went through ink quickly. I actually thought the problem was my rather old desktop computer not communicating with this printer, since it would print an e-mail or document's borders, but no print within and would not print from Word at all. (It previously worked fine for these applications).
Today I tried to simply copy something and it acts like it is printing and sounds like it but it comes out blank. Now it tells me I am out of black ink! Not sure how it can be out when NOTHING has been printing for some time. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this printer.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Minnesota
the ink cartridge
Posted 08/07/2014
not sure if you realize it, but you said it had been some time since you printed anything. These ink cartridges will either dry up or plug if it has not been used for a long time. That could be your problem. Just the ink cartridge.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Very disappointed, unreliable, error prone

11/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've used HP printers for years. I recently purchased this model from Walmart as I didn't need some of the features of the more expensive models I've used in the past. I am regretting this decision. It does not print the gridlines on my Excel worksheets (and yes, I have "print gridlines" checked within the Excel application). I have spent much time searching HP and other forums for a solution to this issue and have still yet to find one. Also, if I do a print job with multiple copies it ALWAYS stops printing half-way through the 2nd copy. Therefore, I have to print each copy individually. Extremely inconvenient and inefficient when I have more than a couple copies of a document to print. The print quality is great, but that's pretty much the only positive I can say about this printer. I'm EXTREMELY disappointed in HP. Up until now, their products have been of high quality and I could always trust that when choosing one of they are reliable. I am shopping for a new printer and may just have to rely on a new manufacturer as I have lost confidence in HP products :(
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Liked HP's record, but having a difficult time.

09/24/2014
By ,
Land O' Lakes, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Previously I owned a Cannon, but after only 2 years it died, so I took my friend's advice and bought this one. His HP is almost 8 years old. I liked that record. However, since I am a senior and electronically challenged, I'm having a difficult time since it came with no instruction book. I'm sure I would like it a lot better if I knew how to use it. My suggestion would be to include a beginners instruction book (especially for seniors). If necessary include it in the cost!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Great printer for the price

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me little time to get the printer up and running. It seems easy to use with all I have done with it. The instructions are easy to understand. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a quality printer with a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Sure is sweet looking... hope it lasts

08/13/2014
By ,
Central New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't used this printer much, but so far so good. It has a lot of nice features, many of which I may never use. I was looking for a basic bare bones printer, but this unit seems to have surpassed my needs. Seems like a great deal for the price! Time will tell how durable it is, but it should meet my expectations and then some. As an aside... the styling (and fit and finish) is absolutely stunning!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

VERY GOOD PRINTER FOR THE PRICE

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a very good printer for the price. It would be better if the color printing came out a little more brighter, but not bad. I do like the way the printing in black is very crisp. I also like the ink cartridges. Easy to take out and install. And there is only 2 cartridges to change, not like other printers that have 4 and they are very messy. All in all it is a very good printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Good budget printer

08/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had no problems with this printer that i have had for about a month. the only thing i can say is to make it easier to understand how to use e print and wireless direct printing, as it does not work on everything, and if you want to e print it has to be on your device, i couldn't find out how to print a recipe off my browser, because it wanted me to download it first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Very good value and connectivity

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well with my IPhone, Ipad, and Dell laptop computer running Windows Vista. Took about 45 minutes to connect all three devices and test them, plus checking out scanner etc. Really didn't have any problems and others might do it faster but I wanted to be completely sure all was OK.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Great printer for printing photos and more!!

08/03/2014
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer on sale for $69....and it is worth every penny and then some!!
The printer was fairly easy to set up and install. It probably took me about 20 minutes from start to finish. The instructions are just pictures on a piece of paper, but they are pretty easy and straight forward. The only bad thing that I have found is you don't want to load the paper tray completely full or it will have a tendency to jam (but these are fairly easy to fix).
I print out a lot of photos at the machines in stores and I am usually disappointed in the quality that I get. The photos that I have printed out so far on this printer have all been extremely clear and vibrant...never again will I print my photos elsewhere!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Great for price home/home office use

08/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The HP Envy is easy to set up and provides good quality prints, copies, and scans. I have not used it for printing photos yet and need it mainly for documents and labels. Another plus is it does not occupy much space.
Although those in busier, more complex office/home office settings--for example, firms requiring bound reports and precision color graphics--may do well to purchase a higher-end printer with a duplexer and other features, for day-to-day use the HP Envy does quite well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Great printer!

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to buy a new printer cause I just purchased a new 8.1 Windows computer and my old All-in-One would not scan on the new computer. I really like the printer and being wireless is great. It prints really good and the color is wonderful. It is fast and the pictures are very clear and look like you are right there when you are looking at the picture. Would tell anyone to get this All-in-One 4502 e Envy printer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Wireless Printer Won't Print Wirelessly

11/24/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Works wirelessly for one computer in the network, but requires a USB cable to work for the other computer in the network. This defeats one of my main purposes for buying the printer in the first place. The trouble shooting guide was no help. No 800 number to call for assistance.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Excellent!

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer does everything and with such ease. The two sided copying really saves. I have always used HP printers. This time they have outdone themselves.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

My new Envy

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This printer is great and a great price. Easy to setup and prints great photos.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

HP Envy 4502 Good value and capabilities

11/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was easy to set up - and I have been going through its capabilities so far everything is working as expected. It is a good printer for the cost.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Not reliable

10/07/2014
By ,
West Blocton, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this printer a little over a month ago for work. (I a school nurse and need to print off documents). One time it prints, the next it won't. Same thing over and over. I have rebooted computer, tried USB connections and changed ports to every one available, and even went wireless and it still only prints when it wants to. And then it might be 30 minutes -2 hours later. I am very frustrated. I love the all-in-one capabilities and it does a great print job when it works. I hate to take it back, or call in on the extended warranty, but I just don't have time to fool with this "iffy" thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HP Envy 4502 Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Won't feed photo paper

11/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Printer works fine as long as you do not want to print photos, very disappointed that I could not get the photo paper to feed. I watched the tutorials and the paper would not feed but when it did feed nothing printed.
The scanner worked fine but I wished the photo print would work. I should have checked the cartridges more closely as the color cartridge is three in one which will waste ink in the long run.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next