Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Hewlett Packard HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

This HP Deskjet All-in-One Printer, 1512 offers easy printing, scanning and copying, with quick setup and straightforward operation, at an affordable price. Optional high-capacity cartridges help you print more for less.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(759 Reviews) 757
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
448
4 stars
197
3 stars
39
2 stars
23
1 star
52
Customer Recommendation89%679 out of 759reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
115 Questions | 557 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
448
4 stars
197
3 stars
39
2 stars
23
1 star
52
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Cool Printer

08/06/2014
By ,
Fitzgerald, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall this printer seems to meet my expectations, I printed a photo by using some Kodak high glossy picture paper and let me tell you this printer printed it professional, real good quality. I see alot of reviews on here did not like it, but I know I do. Loved the way it was packaged inside the box, with them handles on the ends what held the printer in place, I like that I can pull on them and they lift the printer out the box with ease. The set up and installation went smoothly on installing it. It aint got to be wireless for me to use, cause I get to the point of not liking to do all the steps it takes to print wireless from my wireless network. I am very well pleased with this printer. It's perfect to me. The price to me is inexpensive to me. I waited to order it on tax free holiday.I had a USB cable at home without the need of buying a new one. I love to print coupons, thats my main reason for getting it. I like that it is a all in one without the need of going other places and having to pay to print.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All in One Printer

08/19/2014
By ,
Memphis, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is VERY easy to use and since I only use a cell phone, I don't need the fax function that most All In One printers have.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Excellent Printer

08/15/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-In-One Printer. It does everything I want it to do as for school and my projects. If I had to buy another printer the HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-In-One Printer will be mine again. This is an Awesome printer and I just love it because it print, copy and scan and that is just Great. I rate this printer as an Excellent printer people will be lost if they do try the HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-In-One Printer. This product is top of the line for me I love it so much I just might have to get another one. It is so easy to use and the ink is not very expensive and it carry the same number 61 both cartridge. There are no different number of ink cartridges for the HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-In-One Printer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

A Great Buy for the Money

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I mainly just needed a new secondary printer after my other one died, and did not want to spend a lot on one. My main thing was to buy one that would use the same HP 61 ink cartridges as the one I was replacing. I did not expect much from this also being a copier or scanner. I am extremely pleased with the few photos I have scanned so far, and also that I no longer have to go to the grocery store and pay 25 cents a page for copies. I would definitely recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Frustrating

08/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It would not recognize the ink cartridge, the lights would not go off neither would it come one automatically
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

It's a real bargain!

08/15/2014
By ,
Rockford, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The HP Deskjet 1512 is everything they say it is, and a $25 price tag was just too great a deal to pass up!
You will need an added cable (not included - USB on one end, type B-USB on the other). I'm sort of geeky, so I had one that I just stole from another device I'm not presently using, and that worked fine. Another note, that some shoppers might miss, is the ink cartridges are just the start up type & you'll need to purchase the cartridges (black, and color) that will print more than 50 pages before they run out of ink. But I assume most printers are sold with the minimum size cartridge(s) the companies can get away with -- so, bearing these two points in mind (need for a cable & more print cartridges, soon after purchase), this is probably why this otherwise excellent HP Printer combo sold for only $25. Many folks today are fairly technologically-savvy tho, and if you count yourself among these folks, then this Deskjet will be an irresistible purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

wouldn't work

09/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son installed on my laptop with Windows Vista. Would print test sheet fine. Would not print off a document or a website or anything. Kept saying there was 0 margin, & wouldn't print. On a document page like you type a letter on, it would print the first letter of a word, go to the next line & print the second letter of that word, go to the next line & print the third letter, etc.. My son spent about 12 hours trying everything he found online & even from HP. Nothing worked. He tried to install it on his emachine desktop & it wouldn't even install. And my son knows quite a bit about computers, he's on it all the time, and adds parts to it, too. He saw other people online with Vista that had the same kind of problems. I had to go to the library to print out a receipt to return it since MY printer had broke and this one wouldn't work, & there was no packing slip of any kind in the box. Will get a Canon. Had one before, so hope it works. The printing was fine on the test paper, & was quiet while printing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great budget unit for personal use.

08/18/2014
By ,
Fresno, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent printer for the lower end budget. Purchased for the computer in the guest room this printer was selected with light duty use in mind. Quality of printing and copying is excellent. One touch copy is independent of computer.
Setup was fairly easy and straight forward. I purchased the bundle that included the 15' usb printer cable and a high capacity color cartridge. Unit did come with starter ink, but it does not come with a printer cable. Cable in bundle did not work with this device. Win7 reports errors in communicating with unknown device when trying to set unit up with 15' cable. I swapped out the printer cable with an old 6' printer usb printer cable and the device was immediately recognized. From here setup was easy. Just run the install CD.
Unit is very light weight. I wouldn't trust it to hold up to continuous heavy use or for business use, but so far it's been perfect for personal light duty use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great printer for the price!!!

04/13/2014
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the packaging, the plastic bag the printer was in, inside the Styrofoam actually had handles on it to make it easy to pull the printer out. Set up and installed on my computer in just minutes! I didn't need a wireless printer so I am using a USB cord with it. Works great with the Windows 8.1
Uses one of the popular HP inks 61 or 61XL both black and tri color. Just very easy. Fairly fast, faster than I expected it to be. I also like the design of the paper tray where the copies come out, it folds up very easily thus taking less room on the credenza until needed.
I know some reviews said this model did not hold enough paper, but for my use it certainly does. It also prints some really nice pics!!!!!! I use Kodak picture paper for these and I have to say they are as good as if not better than the prints I use to get when I had to have film developed.
Also works well with both the 'matte' finish and the 'shiny' finish of picture paper.
I am very pleased with this printer!!!!! For me it is PERFECT!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+158points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

A total waist of time

06/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OK first let me say I have always been a H/P owner since I have own a computer, so of course when my HP photo smart C4280 all in one printer gave up after at least 10 years of perfect printing, copying, scanning service, I went to get another HP all in one printer, so I purchased this HP 1512. Well the first time out of the box this printer printed smudged and missing color, I ran the cleaner and the deep cleaner, still to no avail horrible printing, so to give it the benefit of the doubt I took it back and got another one, again straight out of the box the printing was clearer but still missing some of the color and this time there were small color boxes all down the page in 3 lines across the page, I have never been so disappointed in a product before. So I will be returning this also, I ordered and have gotten a Brother J450DW all in one only $20.00 more and straight out of the box this is a WONDEFUL printer, so my advice to you is pay the extra $20.00 and get a better printer, don't waste your time or money (gas with trips back to store) on this printer
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Disappointed With the Scanner.

06/04/2014
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to replace an HP Deskjet 1050 which I've been using to scan family pics. I was able to scan thousands of pics with the 1050. I scanned about ten pictures using this new 1512. I liked that it cropped the pics for me. However, the quality is not the same as the old 1050, not even close. Some were almost blurry even. Also, the ad said that it used HP61 ink cartridges. I did not want to waste the ink I had already bought for the 1050, but once I set up the new 1512, I got an error message telling me I couldn't use the HP61 ink cartridges. There is a "new generation" HP61 ink cartridge. Frustrating. There was no USB cord, but I had one from the old scanner so that wasn't a problem for me. I guess I got lucky with the last one. This newer model is not an upgrade! Thought it was a good deal, but I guess I got what I paid for this time. I will be taking this one and the one I bought for my daughter back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great Buy - Great Printer

06/28/2014
By ,
Wheeling, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost bought this printer for $49.00 at my local Walmart. I didn't get it because a clerk told me that they no longer sell USB cables, which does not come with the printer. I planned to see if I could get something similar online, where I could buy the cable with the printer. I was VERY pleased to find this same printer for $29.95 on Walmart.com, one of those special prices that you don't see until you put the item in the cart. I bought it, along with a USB cord and both were delivered promptly. For anyone interested in this printer, this is the USB cord I bought:VCOM USB 2 0 Type A Male to Type B Male. Nowhere did I find information on what kind of cord was needed - not even on the HP site. There were Male to Female, Mini Male to Male, etc. This one was the first one that came up, and most were Male to Male, so I took a chance and it worked. Specifying the exact connection of the USB cord would have helped.
The printer was easy to instal on a Toshiba laptop and prints, scans and copies very well. I found that it wasn't easy to find a good printer that wasn't wireless. Most offered are for use with WiFi, and we didn't need that. Staples didn't even have any cord connected printers in their store. I would definitely recommend this printer to anyone looking for a good buy and good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Surprised at some of the reviews.

09/15/2014
By ,
Lancaster, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw reviews like, "I don't know how to put in the ink", it does this or it does that, etc. Well, I don't know if it's the printer or them, but it came with basic set up PICTURES and a manual with instructions, neither of which I looked at and it still was installed and working perfectly in under 10 minutes and I'm blind in one eye.
All you had to do was attach the power cord, put the USB cord in one end of the printer and the other end in your computer, turn it on, put the cartridges in the slots that sit still for you right in the middle of the printer and you're good to go. Only other thing you should do is print an alignment page and then put it in the copier and push a button. It copies fine, prints great and the scanner I haven't used yet. My only complaint might be that it's a little loud, at least compared with my old HP Printer. But, for $26.99, how can you go wrong? GL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great printer for anyone on a budget

05/07/2014
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an old Lexmark printer, when I bought a new computer with Windows 8.1, it wouldn't work. Also, the cost of printer cartridges was expensive. I found this printer online, couldn't believe how inexpensive it was. I also checked the price of ink refills, so much less than my old printer. It was easy to set this printer up, it was compatible with Windows 8.1, and the documents I've printed look really good. I would recommend this printer to anyone on a budget, Walmart was quick to ship, altogether this is a really good buy. I also purchased the 3 year warranty, it's offered when the printer is registered, so I have peace of mind that it will be covered beyond the original warranty period. Again, I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
3 Year Warranty?
Posted 07/05/2014
I was told that when you purchase the extended warranty of 2 years for $5 it does not start after the manufactures warranty but begins once you make the purchase. It is a 2 year warranty as it states. Please correct me if you find out otherwise because I frequently purchase them for other items.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Cheap but worth every penny!

09/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After finding out how to use the grayscale so that I wouldn't use the color ink or a lot of the black ink, I was more than pleased with this printer. For $26.77 you can't beat that price. Even if this printer fails quickly, the ink itself is worth the amount of money spent on this unit. So far I've only printed online coupons and documents and copied several items, and the print quality is great. For those not wanting to use the color ink, just go to your start button, type in printers, select devices and printers, and then right click on this printer's picture. Click printing preferences in the window that pops up, then click the advanced button on the layout tab (at the bottom). Last step is to scroll to "print in grayscale" and click that.. make sure "high quality grayscale" is chosen. This step will then make everything you print out, print in grayscale... no color ink and no bold black ink will then be used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

A good printer for an unbelievably low price

09/16/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price - comes with 1 61XL Black Cartridge and 1 61XL Tri-color cartridges, the cost of which are double the price I paid for the printer. (Noted also online price is about 1/2 of in store price)
Very easy to set up and works well with Windows 8.1 Print quality is good. Quieter than my old printer. A real bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Very good reliable printer

06/22/2014
By ,
Cottonwood, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The black and white, and color printing does just fine. I did not need wireless printer. I actually purchased HP, Canon and Epsom wireless and had problems with every one of them trying to set up wireless. I finally settled on this neat printer that just does fine when you connect to a USB port. I actually just wanted a copier. The color and black and white is fine if you are not a perfectionist in photo printing. I do a lot of reduction and enlarging an image. This, the printer will not do unless you have a basic photo edit software, which I do. The printer responds well, it just takes a little time to reduce or enlarge in the software and send it to the printer. What can I say, for me it is great utility printer for the price. I paid $38.00 and ink seems cheaper than many printers.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Printer jams, is noisy, and slow.

09/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for the HP 1512 for my daughter. She needed a printer for school, and the on-sale 27 dollar price tag was the deal maker.
The trouble is, a printer, at a minimum has to do the basic job of printing without jamming, and at a speed faster than a turtle in a race with a snail. This printer failed on both counts.
The printer tended to jam, and also tended to take more than a minute to print a single page. We tried different paper (in hopes of a remedy for the jamming), but that proved to not make any difference. The printer still jammed quite a bit.
I'm not sure what I'm going to do now (for my daughter). I have an older HP D110 that works flawlessly... but that is mine and I'm keeping it!!! I was thinking of trying a different 1512 (maybe I got a lemon), or maybe trying an HP OfficeJet 4632, and hoping that it performs better. I'm not thrilled at spending more, but my time is worth something !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Awesome!!

02/22/2014
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about this printer because of the price and some stories I've heard from my father (computer repair man) about this brand but I was under a time and money constraint so I decided to go with it. To my surprise this is the best printer I have come across since they came out with printers when I was a kid! It copies great! It scans perfectly! When you print pictures they come out better than they are on the device you took them with! This printer is amazing and definitely worth more than what I paid for it ( $50 bundle package shipped to my home)! When my husband gets home from being deployed he's going to freak out because now we have an amazing printer instead of having to go and pay someone to scan copy and print his paperwork!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Cannot beat the value

09/06/2014
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great, Has Scanner, copy. Trying to teach it to talk.
no luck with that yet. All and all great product for the price In fact
I have had printers at 4 times the price , and this one has gone on longer
with less trouble than the rest, And no I don't work for the company.
Do your self a favor.
Robo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 758 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  38 Next