Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Hewlett Packard HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

This HP Deskjet All-in-One Printer, 1512 offers easy printing, scanning and copying, with quick setup and straightforward operation, at an affordable price. Optional high-capacity cartridges help you print more for less.
Average Customer Rating:
4.236 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(416 Reviews) 415
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
245
4 stars
99
3 stars
28
2 stars
13
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation88%368 out of 416reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
80 Questions | 326 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
245
4 stars
99
3 stars
28
2 stars
13
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great printer for the price!!!

04/13/2014
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the packaging, the plastic bag the printer was in, inside the Styrofoam actually had handles on it to make it easy to pull the printer out. Set up and installed on my computer in just minutes! I didn't need a wireless printer so I am using a USB cord with it. Works great with the Windows 8.1
Uses one of the popular HP inks 61 or 61XL both black and tri color. Just very easy. Fairly fast, faster than I expected it to be. I also like the design of the paper tray where the copies come out, it folds up very easily thus taking less room on the credenza until needed.
I know some reviews said this model did not hold enough paper, but for my use it certainly does. It also prints some really nice pics!!!!!! I use Kodak picture paper for these and I have to say they are as good as if not better than the prints I use to get when I had to have film developed.
Also works well with both the 'matte' finish and the 'shiny' finish of picture paper.
I am very pleased with this printer!!!!! For me it is PERFECT!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+107points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

A total waist of time

06/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OK first let me say I have always been a H/P owner since I have own a computer, so of course when my HP photo smart C4280 all in one printer gave up after at least 10 years of perfect printing, copying, scanning service, I went to get another HP all in one printer, so I purchased this HP 1512. Well the first time out of the box this printer printed smudged and missing color, I ran the cleaner and the deep cleaner, still to no avail horrible printing, so to give it the benefit of the doubt I took it back and got another one, again straight out of the box the printing was clearer but still missing some of the color and this time there were small color boxes all down the page in 3 lines across the page, I have never been so disappointed in a product before. So I will be returning this also, I ordered and have gotten a Brother J450DW all in one only $20.00 more and straight out of the box this is a WONDEFUL printer, so my advice to you is pay the extra $20.00 and get a better printer, don't waste your time or money (gas with trips back to store) on this printer
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Disappointed With the Scanner.

06/04/2014
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to replace an HP Deskjet 1050 which I've been using to scan family pics. I was able to scan thousands of pics with the 1050. I scanned about ten pictures using this new 1512. I liked that it cropped the pics for me. However, the quality is not the same as the old 1050, not even close. Some were almost blurry even. Also, the ad said that it used HP61 ink cartridges. I did not want to waste the ink I had already bought for the 1050, but once I set up the new 1512, I got an error message telling me I couldn't use the HP61 ink cartridges. There is a "new generation" HP61 ink cartridge. Frustrating. There was no USB cord, but I had one from the old scanner so that wasn't a problem for me. I guess I got lucky with the last one. This newer model is not an upgrade! Thought it was a good deal, but I guess I got what I paid for this time. I will be taking this one and the one I bought for my daughter back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great printer for anyone on a budget

05/07/2014
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an old Lexmark printer, when I bought a new computer with Windows 8.1, it wouldn't work. Also, the cost of printer cartridges was expensive. I found this printer online, couldn't believe how inexpensive it was. I also checked the price of ink refills, so much less than my old printer. It was easy to set this printer up, it was compatible with Windows 8.1, and the documents I've printed look really good. I would recommend this printer to anyone on a budget, Walmart was quick to ship, altogether this is a really good buy. I also purchased the 3 year warranty, it's offered when the printer is registered, so I have peace of mind that it will be covered beyond the original warranty period. Again, I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
3 Year Warranty?
Posted 07/05/2014
I was told that when you purchase the extended warranty of 2 years for $5 it does not start after the manufactures warranty but begins once you make the purchase. It is a 2 year warranty as it states. Please correct me if you find out otherwise because I frequently purchase them for other items.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Very good reliable printer

06/22/2014
By ,
Cottonwood, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The black and white, and color printing does just fine. I did not need wireless printer. I actually purchased HP, Canon and Epsom wireless and had problems with every one of them trying to set up wireless. I finally settled on this neat printer that just does fine when you connect to a USB port. I actually just wanted a copier. The color and black and white is fine if you are not a perfectionist in photo printing. I do a lot of reduction and enlarging an image. This, the printer will not do unless you have a basic photo edit software, which I do. The printer responds well, it just takes a little time to reduce or enlarge in the software and send it to the printer. What can I say, for me it is great utility printer for the price. I paid $38.00 and ink seems cheaper than many printers.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great Buy - Great Printer

06/28/2014
By ,
Wheeling, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost bought this printer for $49.00 at my local Walmart. I didn't get it because a clerk told me that they no longer sell USB cables, which does not come with the printer. I planned to see if I could get something similar online, where I could buy the cable with the printer. I was VERY pleased to find this same printer for $29.95 on Walmart.com, one of those special prices that you don't see until you put the item in the cart. I bought it, along with a USB cord and both were delivered promptly. For anyone interested in this printer, this is the USB cord I bought:VCOM USB 2 0 Type A Male to Type B Male. Nowhere did I find information on what kind of cord was needed - not even on the HP site. There were Male to Female, Mini Male to Male, etc. This one was the first one that came up, and most were Male to Male, so I took a chance and it worked. Specifying the exact connection of the USB cord would have helped.
The printer was easy to instal on a Toshiba laptop and prints, scans and copies very well. I found that it wasn't easy to find a good printer that wasn't wireless. Most offered are for use with WiFi, and we didn't need that. Staples didn't even have any cord connected printers in their store. I would definitely recommend this printer to anyone looking for a good buy and good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great for those people who only want a printer

04/01/2014
By ,
Jersey City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to install this printer in 30 minutes. 15 minutes was spent uninstalling my other printer software. All I had to do was take off the tape, pop in the cartridges, and plug in the printer. This printer is great for those of us who don't need a lot bells and whistles. A simple printer for a great price. I'm looking forward to many years of great printing and occasional scanning. Been an HP user for years so I expect that this printer will last as long as my previous inkjet printers.
Also, you can't beat the cartridge prices or the fact that you can print only in black and white. A big wallet saver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St. Peters, Mo
Posted 05/10/2014
Is this a wireless printer the HP Deskjet 1512 All-in-One Printer?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Awesome!!

02/22/2014
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about this printer because of the price and some stories I've heard from my father (computer repair man) about this brand but I was under a time and money constraint so I decided to go with it. To my surprise this is the best printer I have come across since they came out with printers when I was a kid! It copies great! It scans perfectly! When you print pictures they come out better than they are on the device you took them with! This printer is amazing and definitely worth more than what I paid for it ( $50 bundle package shipped to my home)! When my husband gets home from being deployed he's going to freak out because now we have an amazing printer instead of having to go and pay someone to scan copy and print his paperwork!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great Printer

01/24/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Kodak printer and I hated it. Wouldn't print unless it had both ink cartridges had ink at the same time. Now with this HP works in just one single cartridge in the printer or even if you ran out of ink in one of either colors. It's quiet too and print pretty fast. Did I mention the price for the black ink is $14.49 and the color $20.98. The combo pack $34.98. Now the XL size will cost more but I don't use my printer everyday. I highly recommend this printer. No, it's not wireless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+105points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Not Wireless
Posted 07/05/2014
Thank you for adding the fact that it is not wireless! I searched wireless printers and it and the Cannon which seems the same are both listed in that category. Nothing in the descriptions stated wireless though. Appreciate you clarifying while others said they used the USB instead.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

No need to pay more

03/29/2014
By ,
Kutztown, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you simply need a printer that can scan and make copies, this is all you need! It is a simple one touch to make either black and white or color copies, without the computer being on.
The reason I don't give it 5 stars is that it makes a fairly loud noise upon completing a scan. It doesn't seem that it is not working properly. It just appears to be how it operates.
But, you can't go wrong with this printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great price for the product.

02/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My old printer went out and I needed to replace quickly and economically. I went online found this one and was pleased with the reviews and price. I got almost right away. Only two days and it was here. I plugged it in and it was so easy to setup. It works great without any problems. The negative is that the colors aren't as bright as I would like for them to be but for a basic printer you cant beat this printer. It is okay for what I use it for which is occasional printing of articles and such. I do not print pics from my camera on it so the colors are of no consequence. If you do use your printer to print pictures, I do not recommend this one as I said the colors are a little dull.
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

A great PSC for the rediculously low price.

06/21/2014
By ,
Murchison, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything I expected from such a low priced unit
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Gotta love it, baby!

01/24/2014
By ,
slc,utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What's not to love? A printer, copier, scanner for fifty bucks! HP is quality, and this printer is great. Walmart delivered in less than a week, and I had it set up and working within an hour. The picture instructions are okay, but were clear on hooking everything up. What wasn't so clear was how to load the paper, my old HP printer would hold nearly an inch worth of paper, this one, not nearly as much. It took me a few minutes to locate the small slot it fits in. Okay, all this is minor compared to the ease of printing, and the quality of the print. Great printer for your desktop computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Not what I expected.

06/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I should have checked the specs for this printer more thoroughly. It has no wireless hook up capability. Must be hard wired to a computer which limits its use to one computer. I wanted a multi use printer that could access 3 different computers. It does print OK, but it has still not made a complete connection to the one computer that I used a USB cable to connect. Always sends a message that the printer is not recognized, but prints anyway. Go figure.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Excellent buy - easy to set up with quality copies

06/27/2014
By ,
Oneida, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a printer for personal use and this was the answer.
It was very easy to set up and very easy to operate.
The ink cartridges were included which made it a real bargain.
Very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

HP Deskjet 1512

11/28/2013
By ,
albany ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had this printer for about 2 weeks and so far it works like a charm. Didn't need anything fancy and wanted one that used the same ink cartridges as our previous one. Easy set up and a good price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Good enough for any project....

06/21/2014
By ,
GLENDALE, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one exactly like this but in a darker grey, so I purchased two of these for my daughters homes. They work great. They do it all especially for the price I paid! Really a good deal plus the all in one ink cartridges are about $22! Not too shabby I think! Thx!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Good Product

06/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product -- performs solidly. I bought it for the value even though it isn't a wireless printer. It meets my needs and I would definitely recommend it if you don't mind having to be cabled to the printer to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great printer for the price

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The printer is great fantastic price and excellent equipment for my nephew's use.
I would recommend this to anyone and everyone with a start-up computer easy to use and easy to understand instructions for installation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great all in one printer for the price

12/02/2013
By ,
Brentwood, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the printer on a Tuesday and it was delivered 2 days later. I was pleasantly surprised.
I found it was easy to set up and test. The quality of the product and the printing is excellent. I would definitely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 416 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next