Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Hewlett Packard HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

This HP Deskjet All-in-One Printer, 1512 offers easy printing, scanning and copying, with quick setup and straightforward operation, at an affordable price. Optional high-capacity cartridges help you print more for less.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(617 Reviews) 616
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
357
4 stars
162
3 stars
35
2 stars
21
1 star
42
Customer Recommendation89%549 out of 617reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
108 Questions | 433 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
357
4 stars
162
3 stars
35
2 stars
21
1 star
42
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Cool Printer

08/06/2014
By ,
Fitzgerald, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall this printer seems to meet my expectations, I printed a photo by using some Kodak high glossy picture paper and let me tell you this printer printed it professional, real good quality. I see alot of reviews on here did not like it, but I know I do. Loved the way it was packaged inside the box, with them handles on the ends what held the printer in place, I like that I can pull on them and they lift the printer out the box with ease. The set up and installation went smoothly on installing it. It aint got to be wireless for me to use, cause I get to the point of not liking to do all the steps it takes to print wireless from my wireless network. I am very well pleased with this printer. It's perfect to me. The price to me is inexpensive to me. I waited to order it on tax free holiday.I had a USB cable at home without the need of buying a new one. I love to print coupons, thats my main reason for getting it. I like that it is a all in one without the need of going other places and having to pay to print.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All in One Printer

08/19/2014
By ,
Memphis, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is VERY easy to use and since I only use a cell phone, I don't need the fax function that most All In One printers have.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Excellent Printer

08/15/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-In-One Printer. It does everything I want it to do as for school and my projects. If I had to buy another printer the HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-In-One Printer will be mine again. This is an Awesome printer and I just love it because it print, copy and scan and that is just Great. I rate this printer as an Excellent printer people will be lost if they do try the HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-In-One Printer. This product is top of the line for me I love it so much I just might have to get another one. It is so easy to use and the ink is not very expensive and it carry the same number 61 both cartridge. There are no different number of ink cartridges for the HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-In-One Printer.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

A Great Buy for the Money

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I mainly just needed a new secondary printer after my other one died, and did not want to spend a lot on one. My main thing was to buy one that would use the same HP 61 ink cartridges as the one I was replacing. I did not expect much from this also being a copier or scanner. I am extremely pleased with the few photos I have scanned so far, and also that I no longer have to go to the grocery store and pay 25 cents a page for copies. I would definitely recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Frustrating

08/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It would not recognize the ink cartridge, the lights would not go off neither would it come one automatically
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

It's a real bargain!

08/15/2014
By ,
Rockford, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The HP Deskjet 1512 is everything they say it is, and a $25 price tag was just too great a deal to pass up!
You will need an added cable (not included - USB on one end, type B-USB on the other). I'm sort of geeky, so I had one that I just stole from another device I'm not presently using, and that worked fine. Another note, that some shoppers might miss, is the ink cartridges are just the start up type & you'll need to purchase the cartridges (black, and color) that will print more than 50 pages before they run out of ink. But I assume most printers are sold with the minimum size cartridge(s) the companies can get away with -- so, bearing these two points in mind (need for a cable & more print cartridges, soon after purchase), this is probably why this otherwise excellent HP Printer combo sold for only $25. Many folks today are fairly technologically-savvy tho, and if you count yourself among these folks, then this Deskjet will be an irresistible purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great budget unit for personal use.

08/18/2014
By ,
Fresno, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent printer for the lower end budget. Purchased for the computer in the guest room this printer was selected with light duty use in mind. Quality of printing and copying is excellent. One touch copy is independent of computer.
Setup was fairly easy and straight forward. I purchased the bundle that included the 15' usb printer cable and a high capacity color cartridge. Unit did come with starter ink, but it does not come with a printer cable. Cable in bundle did not work with this device. Win7 reports errors in communicating with unknown device when trying to set unit up with 15' cable. I swapped out the printer cable with an old 6' printer usb printer cable and the device was immediately recognized. From here setup was easy. Just run the install CD.
Unit is very light weight. I wouldn't trust it to hold up to continuous heavy use or for business use, but so far it's been perfect for personal light duty use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great printer for the price!!!

04/13/2014
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the packaging, the plastic bag the printer was in, inside the Styrofoam actually had handles on it to make it easy to pull the printer out. Set up and installed on my computer in just minutes! I didn't need a wireless printer so I am using a USB cord with it. Works great with the Windows 8.1
Uses one of the popular HP inks 61 or 61XL both black and tri color. Just very easy. Fairly fast, faster than I expected it to be. I also like the design of the paper tray where the copies come out, it folds up very easily thus taking less room on the credenza until needed.
I know some reviews said this model did not hold enough paper, but for my use it certainly does. It also prints some really nice pics!!!!!! I use Kodak picture paper for these and I have to say they are as good as if not better than the prints I use to get when I had to have film developed.
Also works well with both the 'matte' finish and the 'shiny' finish of picture paper.
I am very pleased with this printer!!!!! For me it is PERFECT!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+153points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

A total waist of time

06/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OK first let me say I have always been a H/P owner since I have own a computer, so of course when my HP photo smart C4280 all in one printer gave up after at least 10 years of perfect printing, copying, scanning service, I went to get another HP all in one printer, so I purchased this HP 1512. Well the first time out of the box this printer printed smudged and missing color, I ran the cleaner and the deep cleaner, still to no avail horrible printing, so to give it the benefit of the doubt I took it back and got another one, again straight out of the box the printing was clearer but still missing some of the color and this time there were small color boxes all down the page in 3 lines across the page, I have never been so disappointed in a product before. So I will be returning this also, I ordered and have gotten a Brother J450DW all in one only $20.00 more and straight out of the box this is a WONDEFUL printer, so my advice to you is pay the extra $20.00 and get a better printer, don't waste your time or money (gas with trips back to store) on this printer
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Disappointed With the Scanner.

06/04/2014
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to replace an HP Deskjet 1050 which I've been using to scan family pics. I was able to scan thousands of pics with the 1050. I scanned about ten pictures using this new 1512. I liked that it cropped the pics for me. However, the quality is not the same as the old 1050, not even close. Some were almost blurry even. Also, the ad said that it used HP61 ink cartridges. I did not want to waste the ink I had already bought for the 1050, but once I set up the new 1512, I got an error message telling me I couldn't use the HP61 ink cartridges. There is a "new generation" HP61 ink cartridge. Frustrating. There was no USB cord, but I had one from the old scanner so that wasn't a problem for me. I guess I got lucky with the last one. This newer model is not an upgrade! Thought it was a good deal, but I guess I got what I paid for this time. I will be taking this one and the one I bought for my daughter back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great Buy - Great Printer

06/28/2014
By ,
Wheeling, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I almost bought this printer for $49.00 at my local Walmart. I didn't get it because a clerk told me that they no longer sell USB cables, which does not come with the printer. I planned to see if I could get something similar online, where I could buy the cable with the printer. I was VERY pleased to find this same printer for $29.95 on Walmart.com, one of those special prices that you don't see until you put the item in the cart. I bought it, along with a USB cord and both were delivered promptly. For anyone interested in this printer, this is the USB cord I bought:VCOM USB 2 0 Type A Male to Type B Male. Nowhere did I find information on what kind of cord was needed - not even on the HP site. There were Male to Female, Mini Male to Male, etc. This one was the first one that came up, and most were Male to Male, so I took a chance and it worked. Specifying the exact connection of the USB cord would have helped.
The printer was easy to instal on a Toshiba laptop and prints, scans and copies very well. I found that it wasn't easy to find a good printer that wasn't wireless. Most offered are for use with WiFi, and we didn't need that. Staples didn't even have any cord connected printers in their store. I would definitely recommend this printer to anyone looking for a good buy and good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great printer for anyone on a budget

05/07/2014
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an old Lexmark printer, when I bought a new computer with Windows 8.1, it wouldn't work. Also, the cost of printer cartridges was expensive. I found this printer online, couldn't believe how inexpensive it was. I also checked the price of ink refills, so much less than my old printer. It was easy to set this printer up, it was compatible with Windows 8.1, and the documents I've printed look really good. I would recommend this printer to anyone on a budget, Walmart was quick to ship, altogether this is a really good buy. I also purchased the 3 year warranty, it's offered when the printer is registered, so I have peace of mind that it will be covered beyond the original warranty period. Again, I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
3 Year Warranty?
Posted 07/05/2014
I was told that when you purchase the extended warranty of 2 years for $5 it does not start after the manufactures warranty but begins once you make the purchase. It is a 2 year warranty as it states. Please correct me if you find out otherwise because I frequently purchase them for other items.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Very good reliable printer

06/22/2014
By ,
Cottonwood, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The black and white, and color printing does just fine. I did not need wireless printer. I actually purchased HP, Canon and Epsom wireless and had problems with every one of them trying to set up wireless. I finally settled on this neat printer that just does fine when you connect to a USB port. I actually just wanted a copier. The color and black and white is fine if you are not a perfectionist in photo printing. I do a lot of reduction and enlarging an image. This, the printer will not do unless you have a basic photo edit software, which I do. The printer responds well, it just takes a little time to reduce or enlarge in the software and send it to the printer. What can I say, for me it is great utility printer for the price. I paid $38.00 and ink seems cheaper than many printers.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Awesome!!

02/22/2014
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about this printer because of the price and some stories I've heard from my father (computer repair man) about this brand but I was under a time and money constraint so I decided to go with it. To my surprise this is the best printer I have come across since they came out with printers when I was a kid! It copies great! It scans perfectly! When you print pictures they come out better than they are on the device you took them with! This printer is amazing and definitely worth more than what I paid for it ( $50 bundle package shipped to my home)! When my husband gets home from being deployed he's going to freak out because now we have an amazing printer instead of having to go and pay someone to scan copy and print his paperwork!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great for those people who only want a printer

04/01/2014
By ,
Jersey City, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was able to install this printer in 30 minutes. 15 minutes was spent uninstalling my other printer software. All I had to do was take off the tape, pop in the cartridges, and plug in the printer. This printer is great for those of us who don't need a lot bells and whistles. A simple printer for a great price. I'm looking forward to many years of great printing and occasional scanning. Been an HP user for years so I expect that this printer will last as long as my previous inkjet printers.
Also, you can't beat the cartridge prices or the fact that you can print only in black and white. A big wallet saver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St. Peters, Mo
Posted 05/10/2014
Is this a wireless printer the HP Deskjet 1512 All-in-One Printer?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

EXCELLENT PRINTER, INCREDIBLE VALUE!

08/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I. love. this. printer. I am not tech savvy at all and have always struggled with newly purchased products in the past due to complicated installation processes. I bought this printer to replace my older HP officejet printer, and I feel that I've gotten SO much more than what I paid for with this printer. It is quieter and prints much faster than my previous printer, and it also was a cinch to set-up! For me personally, just the fact that the installation was quick and painless was worth every penny I paid for this device. I really only use this printer to print out schoolwork, so I can't comment as to its print quality for photographs and such, but for my general use purposes this printer certainly fit the bill. OH, and the ink is super cost-effective! I find that HP definitely had customer satisfaction in mind when they created this printer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Gets the job done

08/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After some initial difficulty getting it to work with my laptop, I was able to get it connected to the desktop without a problem. It was fast and easy. Just wish I would have started with the desktop to begin with. Would have saved a lot of headaches. Once it was connected, it does everything I need it to do. Print, copy, and scan. It's not flashy but it's all I needed. Just a tool for the kids to use for school assignments. For the price, this is a much better option than making trips to the library, friends, work, etc. whenever they need to print reports or make collages for projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Basic copier printer

07/30/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hp 1512 printer came with full size ink cartridges (not the starter type) so they should last a long time. The replacements are around $15 each and I feel that is fairly inexpensive for ink.
This is not a wireless printer, so you'll need to buy a 'V7 Type A Male to Type B Male USB 2 0' cable to connect the printer to your computer. I ordered a 10' cable at the same time that I ordered the printer. The 10' USB cable costs just a couple of dollars.
This printer is for personal use and I didn't need anything fancy , so I'm happy with my purchase and price. I ordered it site to store with free shipping and it arrived within a few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

Great Printer

01/24/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Kodak printer and I hated it. Wouldn't print unless it had both ink cartridges had ink at the same time. Now with this HP works in just one single cartridge in the printer or even if you ran out of ink in one of either colors. It's quiet too and print pretty fast. Did I mention the price for the black ink is $14.49 and the color $20.98. The combo pack $34.98. Now the XL size will cost more but I don't use my printer everyday. I highly recommend this printer. No, it's not wireless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Not Wireless
Posted 07/05/2014
Thank you for adding the fact that it is not wireless! I searched wireless printers and it and the Cannon which seems the same are both listed in that category. Nothing in the descriptions stated wireless though. Appreciate you clarifying while others said they used the USB instead.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for HP Deskjet 1512 Inkjet All-in-One Printer

No need to pay more

03/29/2014
By ,
Kutztown, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you simply need a printer that can scan and make copies, this is all you need! It is a simple one touch to make either black and white or color copies, without the computer being on.
The reason I don't give it 5 stars is that it makes a fairly loud noise upon completing a scan. It doesn't seem that it is not working properly. It just appears to be how it operates.
But, you can't go wrong with this printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 617 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next