Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Viper Sky Viper Stunt Quadcopter, Black

Viper Sky Viper Stunt Quadcopter, Black

The Sky Viper Stunt Remote-Control Quadcopter is designed to provide hours of flying fun for kids and adults alike. With hobby-grade precision and computer-controlled six-axis accelerometer and gyroscope stabilization, it is maneuverable and reliable. It can perform entertaining moves, such as flips and barrel rolls, with the push of a button on the remote control. Constructed for indoor and outdoor use, this black quadcopter toy has a removable foam body to protect it from bumps and impacts whether it's flying inside the house or out in the open air. In addition, the carbon fiber frame makes it lightweight and sturdy as it performs stunts and flies from place to place. This quadcopter would make an fun gift for kids ages 12 years and older.
Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation64%7 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sky Viper Stunt Quadcopter, Black

dont waste your money

08/04/2014
By ,
Winter Haven FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
first flight one of the wings broke when it landed on grass
but my grandson did like it when it was flying
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sky Viper Stunt Quadcopter, Black

Nice beginners quadcopter

11/28/2013
By ,
San Antonio Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a beginner, my primary use is for training and learning the basics of quad RC flying and this suits my entry level needs. Foam body easily removable for stunts.
My only issue is the very short battery life. Having to make all the initial adjustments and practicing takes some time due to recharging the battery every few minutes. I'm now searching for a better battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
awesome
Posted 12/08/2013
any one can fly this if you read all the instructions properly it has to reboot when sat on the level ground i t fly good i have noticed if you put the middle switch on the second line it flys with the best control
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Sky Viper Stunt Quadcopter, Black

Excellent quadcopter!

12/26/2013
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this Sky Viper for Christmas and I love it.
Do be careful with the 'flight sensitivity' setting. I tried it on the "beginner" #least sensitive# setting; it pretty much makes the copter uncontrollable. The sensitivity setting changes how far the copter will let you tilt it in flight; and the beginner setting makes it so you can barely move the thing at all. The throttle is unaffected by the sensitivity setting.
While the sensitivity setting allows you to adjust how far the copter will tilt in flight #and setting it to the max will let you turn it just about horizontal, very tough! Keep it in the middle at first#, the switch for body on or off actually changes how quickly the copter responds. I find leaving it set to 'off', even indoors, is easier to control; it responds to your commands much quicker. It's almost eerie, it's instant!
Keep in mind that the copter doesn't have any form of altitude control #none of them do that I know of#, so flying indoors, you will have to constantly make minute adjustments to the throttle to keep it hovering somewhat level. I tended to overcorrect at first; making it shoot up then drop, etc; be gentle!
I've crashed it several times, but nothing has broken yet. Controls work well and are very responsive; I have been landing on things all over the house, and terrorizing our dog #she barks until it gets close, then runs away#.
Controlling it is tough; I don't recommend it for young children #I'm a 27 year old who acts like he's 12# because I expect it will result in frustration and broken quadcopters. I wouldn't get it for a kid under 8-10 years old.
Battery lasts around 10 minutes, and recharges in less than an hour #haven't actually timed it#. Extra batteries are readily available on amazon for $10, so I might get a second one!
Be sure to calibrate it properly; after plugging the battery into the quad copter, set it down on something flat right away, before turning on the remote. I think it calibrates when the remote connects to the copter.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sky Viper Stunt Quadcopter, Black

fun; easy to fly

12/23/2013
By ,
Fort Myers, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The sky viper comes complete with everything you need except the AA batteries for the controller. The controller also has trim adjustments so you can start off without the quad wandering on its own. The battery for the quad is removable and it's recharged with a charger that plugs into the wall instead of one that uses up all of your batteries. This wasn't meant for indoor flight. For best results, fly during times of very little or no wind. It does well if crashed but replaceable propellers will start to show wear after a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sky Viper Stunt Quadcopter, Black

nice little toy

02/05/2014
By ,
kingman,az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to fly & doesn't fall apart when you crash it..well worth the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sky Viper Stunt Quadcopter, Black

Good product at this pricepoint

04/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a stable flyer. It comes with a transmitter and hobby quality battery that may be removed and replaced. Flight times are as expected. It hobby quality performance at a toy price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sky Viper Stunt Quadcopter, Black

Proa and Cons

11/23/2013
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For an experienced RC Flying Models user, this device might be Ok. It's true that it functions reasonably well.
But I experienced a number of problems. To begin with, a brochure inside the box directed me to a website for a special deal on a spare battery and "body" (I'm not sure which body). But when I went there (it was several weeks ago) the web page was "still under construction." For a vendor selling through Walmart, this seems pretty inexcusable to me.
After trying for several days, I was able to raise someone on the phone and he told me he was working on getting their site working withing a few days (which did happen, though incompletely) but they would not not yet be set up to receive payments via their webpage.
I didn't find that the trim controls worked at all, or if so, not without difficulty.
The last straw for me was that unlike the RC Airplanes and Helicopters I already own a number of, there's no easy way, when you are on the controls to figure out whether the quadcopter is facing away, or toward you, or whatever, so how do you know whether to use the normal control inputs for direction, or reverse them (as you do with an RC airplane when it is flying toward you).
In the end, with some sadness because it's the least expensive quadcopter on the market, I returned mine to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sky Viper Stunt Quadcopter, Black

quad-copter

03/24/2014
By ,
Zephyrhills, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
one motor didn't work. instructions for set-up not very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sky Viper Stunt Quadcopter, Black

Not so fun

03/14/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Granddaughter says it is a little fun. You have to charge it often and it is styrofoam. Not at all sturdy, comes with tape for when it breaks. Not worth the money.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sky Viper Stunt Quadcopter, Black

Sky viper requires a large open area to fly.

12/20/2013
By ,
Onalaska, WI.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wal-Mart did not send the correct invoice in the package; I received an invoice for someone in Florida.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sky Viper Stunt Quadcopter, Black

Gift

12/23/2013
By ,
Canton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my grandson. Since it's not Christmas yet, I can't really know whether or not this works or not. I may update after Christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.