Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Hewlett Packard HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Open your sleek, next-generation Chromebook to get online fast. You can access your favorite websites and Google Chrome apps on the 14-inch diagonal HD display in seconds. No WiFi around? No problem. Enjoy free mobile Internet service up to 200MB of 4G data per month with no annual contract, no credit card and no overage fees.
Average Customer Rating:
4.296 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(284 Reviews) 284
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
178
4 stars
60
3 stars
16
2 stars
12
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation86%244 out of 284reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
110 Questions | 545 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
178
4 stars
60
3 stars
16
2 stars
12
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Great laptop for school

11/09/2013
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its light weight and easy to use. I love the Ocean Turqouise color its fantastic. Its great for any college student who doesnt need all that unnecasarily programs on a laptop, its great when you use the online programs instead of spending money on microsoft word when you can just use google docs or windows live for microsoft word. It turns on in exactly 7 seconds it automatically turns on as soon as you lift the lid to the laptop. The laptop comes with a 100 gb for google drive for two years and that is true. It even says you get 200mb from tmobile each month for internet for 2yrs but when i just set up the sim card for tmobile i got an email saying it will end by next month so i didnt get the 2yrs internet like it says on the box and internet, other then that it is a great laptop, easy to use, its very quick, and you can even take screen shots of whats on the screen just by pressing ctrl and the fifth button after esc i think the button called fullscreen. its a great laptop for school if you always have internet or wifi where ever you go its a good laptop and if you dont have wifi its probably not a good laptop if your a heavy internet user. I love this laptop !
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+349points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Williamsport, Pa.
Posted 05/28/2014
Can I do my email on this.?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Chromebook is Incredible

02/23/2014
By ,
Bradenton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What I love about the Chrombook:
1. Speed is FAST. Everything is lightning quick.
2. Peripherals work without any fuss: used multiple TV's/Monitors with the HDMI port... no problem. Used a "USB to Ethernet adapter" no problem! USB Thumb Drive... no problem either.
3. If you can wrap your head around using the "cloud" for storage and programs, your next computing device should be this.
4. No Viruses/problems with malware... only other extension I run to block Advertising is "Adblock Plus"... amazing!
5. Light and Battery life is impressive when setting screen to 50%.. 9 hours! 11 if you use an external monitor and close the lid, which works awesome (not like Windows going into sleep mode when you close the lid by default...which you can change, but really... Chrome does it right from the start!)
6. Trackpad is great... 3 finger swipe to change tabs is awesome! Very responsive and solid feel to it.
7. Easy Maintenance!!! Unlike my Surface Pro with Windows 8, the Chromebook updates in 5 seconds worth of reboot... amazing! Not the 8 hour ordeal of "Windows 8 is Finishing installation for 4 hours, when you realize it's not going to reboot, ever" and then you have to "refresh the Windows 8 device, if you can reboot and get into it, and then refresh the PC, and run updates... ridiculous "insane time wasting maintenance from Microsoft products" should be enough to scare you away from a Windows 8 purchase. Sorry, I was on a rant because of the 4 hours Microsoft wasted of my life. (1,000's if you count the years of trying to fix Microsofts slop OS)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Solid, Quick, Capable

11/22/2013
By ,
Kihei, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well constructed, nice feel, fast, and can handle lots of open tabs. No problems at all so far. Have had it for a few weeks now. Have owned two other chromebooks (Samsung $250, and Acer $200). (Liked the Samsung a lot because it was light. Gave the Acer to my son, so haven't used it much, but he likes it.)
The only things I don't like about this HP 14 is that it's considerably heavier than the Samsung, the glossy screen can be too reflective sometimes, and the white color is too white for my likings.
But it's a dang solid machine, and I like that. Plus, the TMobile connection seems to work decently so far, for the most part.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Best of Larger Chromebooks is Almost Perfect

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although the T-Mobile data plan is no longer "forever" (it's now quietly become only two years) I still feel this is the best Chromebook for those who want the larger screen formats. Some feel this 14-inch model is a bit bulky, but I find I'm the only one in the room not leaning forward to try to read the fonts on the screen. When I team it with a wireless mouse, like the Logitech MX mouse, it's almost perfect.
What surprises me is how satisfied I am with a 1.4GHz processor. I would not consider a full-blown system with less than and 3GHz quad core processor, and these Chromebooks seem fine with the power-sipping CPU instead. I can leave this ON and IDLE for days and still ahve 85% battery life.
I took one star off for the reduction in the T-Mobile data plan and I know these are about to be refreshed with a new model. We have four of these in our home and we all are very happy with them. This was my first time buying from Walmart and I was surprised this was just left at the front door.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

One word: Amazing!

11/01/2013
By ,
Oahu, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this because I needed something just to surf the web. My tablets were not that great as I needed a keyboard to type and my other laptops were too heavy and bulky, not to mention that it is old and slow. The chromebook itself is amazing. I love the keyboard and how spaced out the keys are. The chromebook is light compared to my old dell inspiron. The build quality is awesome and feels very sturdy even though it is made of this plastic. The screen is not the best especially coming from a retina MacBook Pro, but it does the job and viewing videos on it is better than okay. The speakers is pretty loud coming from this light chromebook. The battery has been great and last very long. Overall, this is an awesome chromebook and I highly recommend it.
Pros:
1) Great build quality
2) Keyboard
3) Battery
4) All the extras (100GB google drive & 200MB a month t-mobile)
5) Speed (start up time is ridiculous)
Cons:
1) Color (besides the white, the red and green is kind of girly)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Chicago
Posted 12/10/2013
I was watching the live feed of the chromebook 14 http://www.walmart.com/cp/HP-Chromebook/1155777 and there claiming its free 4g for life and its not isnt there just doing that to sell it, it only says free 4g for 2yrs
0points
Customer Avatar
Louisville, KY
Posted 12/01/2013
the free 200mb per month for 2 yr offer ends at the end of 2013, read the fine print listed above.
if you activate & use it now it will be free until the end of the year & from then on it will be 10 bucks a month unless they up the price..
+4points
Customer Avatar
Chicago
Posted 11/09/2013
Hey i was wondering how long does your internet 200 mb last for? i just bought mines a couple days ago and i got an email saying it it expires in a month? im wondering if you got the same email or something. it made me confused since it says it last 2yrs.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 6 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Google Has Something Here

03/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just received my HP Chromebook 14 with 4G last week and I am impressed. I haven't purchased a laptop for a long time so I was concerned about the reviews on tech web sites which stated that the HP Chromebook 14 was heavy, thick and plastic. The employees at those tech web sites are clearly spoiled with high end gear as I think the HP Chromebook 14 is very thin, significantly lighter than my previous laptops and the Snow White version looks good. Setup was incredibly easy. The time between pushing the power button on a cold start and browsing in chrome is less time that it will take you to get in your chair. I had been thinking about a chromebook for a while so I planned ahead and bought a printer that included google cloud print, which I successfully tested on the chromebook today. One final thing - I am currently located overseas with my Chromebook and I was able to insert an activated foreign (not T-Mobile) sim card and immediately connect to the internet via HSPA+.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

HP Chromebook 14

12/17/2013
By ,
pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this Chromebook is very good. It pretty much is on as soon as i open the cover. I replaced my netbook with this as it took too long to do anything with it. It is way faster than my netbook so I am a happy camper. I haven't had any problems surfing the web. I work with spreadsheets and MS word. That is where i have some problems. I can open those files in dropbox, but if I modify them they do not update in dropbox itself so I cannot see the updates on my other computers. I can use my Google drive, but I prefer Dropbox. Most things I have done have worked on this machine. There are some services that do not work, but I can live without those. The screen is pretty clear,, but not as good as my netbook. Other than those issues I think this Chromebook is worth getting for everyday tasks. Definitely happy I bought it and would again. If you keep in mind that business applications and intense gaming are not supported you will be happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
wa
face book
Posted 02/14/2014
hi how is face book and fb games those are the gamesi play and is there a cd player with it thank u
0points
Customer Avatar
Question
Posted 12/18/2013
I would love for you to tell me how you are getting around that Spreadsheet/excell and Word issue. I so want to buy this computer....and if I am told of an alternative (yes I know I can use google docs too) way to still do this, I am buying it today.. Thanks..any input would be helpful I really want this machine..I realize I cannot downloand windows/office on here but is there an alternative way online to get around this? TX
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Great for a college student

01/19/2014
By ,
Tupelo, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching all Chromebooks that were available on the market, I chose the HP Chromebook 14 because it was the perfect size to fit in my backpack for school. Another benefit about this product comes with free 200 MB per month for two years with T-mobile ( I upgraded to 2 GB per month). It has a rubber type covering to prevent damage. I also love that if has an Intel capability. I can actually sit in class and take notes, while having knowledge that everything is stored on my Google drive, and I do not need to save my documents on my Chromebook. You can customize it by the app store; Google has thousands of apps a person can choose from (majority are free). My Chromebook is light weight and it very convenient to use in my daily activities. It's simple to operator, and it has a fast start up. However, I still have not figured out how I can convert a PDFs into a word documents. Once I figure that technique out I would not have a complaint. I actually typing my review on my Chromebook. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/29/2014
Personally, I am a college student and this computer would be my last choice.
-4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Chromebook almost perfect

01/10/2014
By ,
St Louis, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Chromebook is everything that I hoped my tablet would be. The only issue I have is that Slingbox is blocked by Google for security reasons. I expect that Slingbox will fix their software and get it accepted by Google. Without a cumbersome operating system to get in the way, the Chromebook is always very fast compared to a laptop or tower. It boots almost instantly but with the long battery life I seldom even shut it down. I connects to WIFI and 3G without pain and works great with my GalaxyIII tethering too. Key board and screen are the right size and the pad works fine, and I got it a wireless mouse and it works perfectly. For those who criticize the Chromebook for not being a laptop, I say understand what it is and why it's better than a tablet or laptop before you buy it. Having everything in the cloud is very reliable and secure. I don't have to worry about the security or viruses or even the loss of the Chromebook. And I even like the color...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

I love it!

12/06/2013
By ,
Mobile, Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my daughter came over and showed me her new computer running Windows 8, I knew I had had enough of Windows. I am older and tired of fighting computers, their language, the breakdowns, virus protections, and now Windows 8 without a start button. I don't know how long this model will hold up, but Chrome gives me everything I want. I have read complaints about the glare on the screen, and they're true, but you can adjust it out in most cases. It doesn't bother me. I'm still getting use to the touch pad. It's different. I don't need air to blow off the key board anymore as the keys are closed in. Just open the lid, type in your Google password and like a light, you're up and running. I can play movies, and do all I did before, so I'm a happy camper. Walmart is a hero, as they take anything back, and if you don't like it you don't have to ship it back, even if you bought it online. This system is NOT compatible with Ethernet. It is wireless only. No more waiting for programs to load, no more slow IE. No more viruses, and as AD Block is downloaded for you, no more ads. Yippee!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Great Laptop if you know what you are looking for

11/21/2013
By ,
Frisco, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, I am very pleased with my first Chromebook experience. I am definitely spoiled now with how fast it loads and operates. 2 seconds to boot and start browsing vs about 60 seconds for my other laptop. It looks and feels more expensive than it is and has a great keyboard.
There are a few shortcomings. The touchpad is like a cheap afterthought ripped off from Apple. It is by far the worst I've ever used including those ancient blue pencil eraser things from years past. The cursor moves jaggedly and scrolling is very unreliable. Luckily, any decent mouse will solve this.
Also, I have had a few issues with the T-mobile connectivity being slow or unavailable. This is somewhat rare, but discouraging when I can browse the internet on my T-mobile phone but not on the laptop itself. And no, I haven't gone over the 200mb limit.
I knew what I wanted when I purchased this and I have not been disappointed. For what I use it for, there simply is no better alternative. Also, the battery life is the best I've ever seen on a laptop. Outlasts even my phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Grottoes VA
Screen
Posted 02/09/2014
So I was browsing on ebay and all of a sudden my whole screen turned Green! Has anyone else had this problem?? Its not green anymore but should I take it back and exchange it for a new one??
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Best product on the market

08/24/2014
By ,
yuma, arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a student in high school i needed a laptop to get my homework done and travel with. A multipurpose laptop that would be use-able for everything and so i searched on many yes there's a lot in he market but i came across this one called a "chrome book" i had no idea whats so ever what the difference between a chrome book and a regular computer was but yet i was sold on the looks of this beauty and searched a bit more and decided to purchase this the total price was $420 with taxes and 2 years of insurance. i think i got a spectacular deal for this beauty and the things it does. the laptop it's self is very luxurious and beautiful it's similar to a mac book pro. It's speed is incredible it turns on in 7 seconds. The software is stunning and the camera quality is impressive it has many beautiful filters and effects. yes it does have 2 years of free internet. These chrome books are associated with t-mobile and they give you 2 years free. if you do purchase this laptop the t-mobile sim card is inside the box already. i love everything about it and i'm so happy i bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

awesome buy

11/20/2013
By ,
St. Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you looking for an easy to use laptop this is for you! This laptop was out of box and up and running in under 2 minutes. Now it helped that I already had a Google account, but it is an amazing buy.
Used it at a conference for 7 solid hours and it still had 3 hours of battery life left. Other CPUs were struggling for juice well before lunch. I was able to easily share a document with a coworker attending the same conference but different workshops and easily collaborate on our learning.
With HDMI, 3 USB ports and a SD slot devices are easily connected. If that wasn't enough, its Bluetooth enabled and works with my wireless mouse, keyboard and Bose speakers! The extra, extra bonus was the free 200 MB of 4G LTE service that came with the machine so that I can be completely portable!!
So, if you're ready for a cloud based system, this is the machine for you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

It's not a computer - be forewarned

12/08/2013
By ,
Mountain View, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best Chromebooks so far. It's basically just a web-browser. The apps available are limited. If you want to tinker a little, you can install Ubuntu Linux and it will function more like a full-fledged notebook computer. I like the screen, keyboard, the many connection ports (USB 3, HDMI, SD Card), the T-mobile data and the thin and lightweight design. If you read the discussion forums for Chromebooks, these are the most common issues people have:
--Printing: you can't just connect a printer to the USB port and print.
--Apps: you can't use Windows programs (.exe) or Android apps on a Chromebook.
--Storage: there is probably more storage space on your smartphone than on this Chromebook. You will have to save things in "the Cloud" and use USB/SD memory devices.
--You cannot play DVDs and some video content, even from an external device.
Overall Conclusion: This is still just a toy for Geeks and Tinkerers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Easy To Use Chromebook

01/17/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for someone who just wants to check email, surf the net and play a game of solitaire. No viruses to worry about, no complicated menus. Quick start up (about 6 seconds top). Easy to use right out of the box, plug it in, enter your Google screen name and password, answer a couple basic questions and you are all set to go. We were able to use our existing wireless mouse (Logitech) with no problems. We were able to set up Google print, works flawlessly (we do have a second computer running Windows, which we used to "share" the printer).
And there are thousands of apps you can download for free from the Chrome store; if you don't care for the app, just a right click deletes it.
If you need MS Office for either home or work, this may not be the machine for you; but Google Docs is easy to use, and mimics MS Office. Super, super easy to use, light weight to carry and the battery life is much longer than our old laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Meh..

08/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The computer itself is okay, the internet speed is great, but it is not what I was looking for. It is not iPhone, iPad, iPod, pretty much apple product compatible. It was not compatible with my external CD-ROM that I had to purchase since it did not come with one. When I would exit out of everything and power down the computer, the next time I got on the last thing I was on would be pulled up. I thought at first that it was an operator error but I have made sure every time that I exit out of EVERYTHING and it still pops up the last thing I was on the next time I power on the computer. I am a big fan of Google Chrome, but not even a little bit happy with the Chromebook. It is good if you do everything through Google already. I, however, do not use the internet for everything and with this computer it directs you to the internet just to simply type a paper. I could not save pictures to the computer because, once again, it is not apple product compatible. It seems like there is no right click on this thing, I try to right click something and it just clicks on it like a normal left click. I would not recommend this computer to anyone who has an apple product or anyone looking to buy a computer for school.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Exactly what I wanted

12/19/2013
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace my laptop I bought in 2009 for college (always has the blue screen of death whenever I try to do anything on it now).
Very fast at surfing the web. I was glad I didn't have to set anything up when I initially turned it on -- all of my bookmarks and apps I had in Chrome on my old laptop/on my DROID RAZR were all there already!
Very easy to use and navigate. I like how my family can "browse as guest" instead of me having to login/give them my Google password.
Very light and stylish. It will not be a pain to bring this device to and from the office everyday!
The battery also lasts me FOREVER. I use my Chromebook for a few hours each day and I am able to use it for an entire week without having to charge it. Plus when there is 3% battery left, you still have 15 minutes of use before it dies (what other device will last 15 minutes with only 3% battery left?)
I like that it comes with a year of data (and that it even has a slot for a SIM card). I don't get WiFi in my bedroom at home so the time I am using this in my bedroom the data plan comes in handy.
Overall, I am very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

THE BEST laptop I have ever owned

05/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical when I first started to research the ChromeOS. But the more I read the more I realized Google is getting it right in so many ways.
This Chromebook 14 has a Celeron processor, Intel originally designed the Celeron to run Windows. Windows is a huge massive operating system, rightly so, it can do so many things and needs a big processor. ChromeOS requires extremely low processing power. Why? Because it is built from the ground up to be a "Thin Client" which means it is relying on some other system to do larger processing tasks. What is that "other system"? All the servers you access on the Internet. So the Celeron in this Chromebook is BY FAR more power than you will ever need. You see ChromeOS (which is what is running on the Chromebook 14) is built to use a web browser (Chrome) to facilitate 90% of what the typical user needs to accomplish. Think about it, how often do you take your $1000 laptop, turn it on and immediately open a web browser? I bet for most people it's every single time. To use the Chromebook it will almost be imperative to have Internet access. Okay fine so when you are at home, restaurant, McDonald's, friends house you have WiFi, but what about when you are in the car or park? This Chromebook 14 has you covered, as a feature you get free 200mb of wireless data (through T-Mobile)! Now does this mean you can stream movies while eating at your picnic in the park? No. But what it does mean is you can still access the Internet and do, most likely, almost everything you normally do.
Which brings me to this point. After the Internet, the most used function for a laptop is Office stuff like Word and Powerpoint. Is that a problem? Nope, Google has a suite of online applications like Google Docs, Sheets and Slides (Office it would be Word, Excel, Powerpoint), so you don't miss a beat.
I almost bought the Chromebook 14 on Amazon but saw a post recommending I look on Walmart.com. You see the Chromebook 14 on Walmart.com is a different version because it has 4 gigabytes of RAM and the free T-Mobile cellular access. The Walmart Chromebook does cost $49 more than the Amazon version. The Amazon version does not have the T-mobile access (remember the picnic above?) and only has 2 gigabytes of RAM. To me doubling the RAM from 2 to 4 gigabytes is worth it on its own, throw in the T-mobile access and it's a no-brainer!
Last thing I will say is, if you use an Android phone, this Chromebook will feel very familiar.
Hope this helps. Now go get one of these amazing devices!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Best Computer I Have Ever Owned

05/02/2014
By ,
Myrtle Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This HP Chromebook has exceeded my expectations. It is attractive, light weight, and has long battery life. I am already familiar with the Chrome operating system, having given up Internet Explorer several years ago, and am finding out that I don't miss the windows operating system either. This is a quality computer at an attractive price. Google Drive is a better way of organizing files than the confusing folders in Windows 7.
Since the "operating system" runs in the background, it has been optimized for the Chrome browser. Flash memory instead of a hard drive helps the computer boot up in about two seconds. Shutting down is also fast, without those annoying messages like "do not shut off your computer. installing security update 43 of 75 required updates".
Everything about this computer is well thought out and current. I posted a question to the Google help desk about adding a second account, and they were able to resolve my issue quickly. I am not going to bother getting a tablet. My smart phone and this Chromebook will be sufficient. Nice job HP and Google.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HP Chromebook 14" with Intel Processor, 4GB Memory, 16GB SSD, Chrome OS and Included 4G Mobile Internet Service (200MB/month)

Very good performance

10/26/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Chromebook offers improved performance over the Samsung Series 3 I was using. It renders pages quickly and doesn't bog down with many tabs open. I can also cast to Chromecast without problems. The build quality is good and it looks good too. I like the rubberized feel of the chassis. The keyboard works well and the track pad is large and accurate. Battery life is also very good. I can get around 8 hours of use out of it. The speakers are decent too.
On the negative side, the screen is not great. It's serviceable but lacks high contrast and sharpness. Also, this Chromebook is much larger and heavier than the Samsung.
In summary, I think that the good performance and build quality of this Chromebook make it a good value even if the screen is not stellar.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 282 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next