Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LG LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

LG LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

The LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player lets you see movies in incredible 1080p full HD detail. DVD's are compatible with the LG BP135 Blu-ray player, allowing you to watch them with crystal clear HD clarity. With its sleek, modern, slim design, you can directly record to devices with the USB port. The packages comes with the player, remote, batteries and an owners manual with simple instructions. This Blu-ray player also makes an excellent choice not only for your own use, but for a gift for family and friends for a variety of occasions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.102 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(283 Reviews) 283
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
81
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation86%242 out of 283reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
120 Questions | 224 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
81
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Cheap, no thrills blu-ray player does its job!

01/02/2014
By ,
St.Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased 3 of these over the holidays and they work very well. We bought one for my daughter's play room, one for my father-in-law, and one for my grandfather. We chose this blu-ray player because we needed something that was affordable, easy to set up/use, and didn't have all the bells and whistles of most players these days.
Affordability:
I looked all over the internet and couldn't find a cheaper player from a well known brand with good reviews anywhere. Still not under $25 like DVD players, but you can't beat under $50 for what you're getting with this player.
Easy to use & setup:
Can't get any easier than two cords. There's only one port option on the back and that's HDMI. The only other port you'll find is for the power cord. Use was easy as well; menus are clear and straight forward.
If you need a blu-ray player but don't need all of the fancy apps and internet connectivity, then you can't go wrong with this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Seemingly lot of bang for the buck

12/11/2013
By ,
Mobile, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although fairly tech-savy, I am late coming to bluray. After vhs and dvd, I mean how many more versions of my fave films do I have to buy??? Besides, like everyone I was initially dazzled by the hours and hours of extras on dvd's and bluray's, but actually watched only a very small percentage of them. So, I use bluray as an adjunct to my already-huge movie collection. As bluray movies get cheaper and cheaper, it made sense to get a player. My first one I also purchased at Walmart during a black friday deal a couple of years ago. I purchased this one as a black-friday online special a few weeks ago and it is a deal. It installed unbelievably easily and so far, does everything you want a bluray to do.
Bear in mind that you also need to order an hdmi cable with this; it does not have output for coaxial or other cables. It is strictly hdmi. Then, plug the ends into tv and player, plug it in, select hdmi on your input and you are ready to go.
I have two entertainment systems in my house. The living room system runs through my stereo receiver so I get the sound through my monster speakers. This bluray unit would not work there as it goes through the tv only. However, my other system is tv-run, with all components being hooked up to the tv, including the soundbar. With this set up, this player really shines!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NORWALK,OH
player
Posted 01/17/2014
DOES IT SUPPORT 3 D ? THANKS !
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Black Friday Purchase

12/05/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this online on black friday, the player is excellent if you're looking for JUST a blu-ray player. It doesnt have internet connectivity, you cannot access netflix/hulu, it plays disc movies. I'm very happy with my purchase, if I want netflix I have my xbox/pc I needed something just for blu-ray/dvd. It's easy to set up, 2 simple cords, HDMI (not included) and power cable. Comes with a remote and battery, very small/thin player. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Good, basic Blu-Ray player at an excellent price

01/06/2014
By ,
Reno, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a small disk player for my office TV and this one fit the need perfectly. It's just a basic player, but very compact. All I needed was the single HDMI output and no need for Internet streaming - I can do that with my computer. Be advised that this doesn't come with an HDMI cable so make sure you have one, or pick one up when you get this.
The ad also says, "Battery Type: Does Not Contain a Battery", which is puzzling because there is a battery included for the remote control. Also, the ad says, "Direct recording to USB". I downloaded the full user manual from the LG support site and it turns out it's only for ripping audio tracks from a CD to a USB memory stick. A nice extra feature though. In fact there are a number of neat features in this player so I would recommend you go to the LG support site and download the full user manual.
No problems playing Blu-Ray disks and the upscaling for DVDs looks very good compared to the standard DVD player I was using on my computer. If you're looking for a basic player, this is an excellent deal. I've only had it for a day now so I can't comment on it's durability yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Great Blu-ray Player

12/01/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased this on thanksgiving day black friday sale in store! This is a great Blu-ray player for the price. I have already watched dvds, blu-rays & it also play cds very well. There is a usb port on the front which allows you to connect tablets, smartphones & other media! It does not have wifi so you cant stream video from youtube or netflix but that is a feature that i dont need because i have a smart tv for all of that stuff! This product very well gets the job done and is worth every penny!!! p.s This is a HDMI only unit!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

02/16/2014
By ,
Southampton, Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. After reading other reviews before buying, I also ordered the 6' HDMI cable with it (also sold at Walmart online & stores). I had it set up and running in less than 10 minutes. Took it out of the box, attached the HDMI cable from player to tv and plugged it in and it was ready to go. I have it attached to a 2013 year model, 50" Visio Smart TV + WIFI. I have always had either a VHS/DVD combo or just a DVD player for viewing my VHS tapes and my DVD movies. This model Blu-ray disc player not only plays Blu-ray discs but, also my other DVD movies, and I have a lot, over 200. The Blu-ray player is that good that you can't tell if you're watching a Blu-ray disc or a DVD movie disc. This is an excellent Blu-ray Player for the price I paid and well worth it. "Just remember to buy your HDMI cable at the same time (under $5) so you can install player right away." I would definitely buy this item again as a gift for someone. This is my 1st time ever owning a Blu-ray Disc Player and absolutely love the fact it also plays movie DVD's, music CD's, etc. I also like it because I don't have cable tv, just rabbit ears on my tv and only get a handful of tv channels so I watch a lot of my DVD movies as well as 2 Blu-ray movies I have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

small, very easy to set up and use

12/10/2013
By ,
rural texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the small size. Easy to set up and use. Plays blu-rays well. Not a lot of instructions and web site with LG pretty good for registration and other information. When playing the disk, for the price, I thought the picture was pretty good. Great for second tv, bedrooms, dorm rooms, small remote, light and portable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Great Purchase!

12/15/2013
By ,
Westfield, Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you already have a Roku or similar device to stream movies and just want a Blu-ray player for your discs then this is a great player to purchase. It has great reviews and is certainly affordable. I purchased one for my bedroom and thought it was such a good deal I snagged a 2nd one for the living room a couple weeks later, they are both paired up with a Roku 3 allowing me to cut out my cable bill completely. If you need a Blu-ray player then this is a no brainer for under $50.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

simple and small

12/11/2013
By ,
ridgerunners
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For use with HDMI only. Does not have any other output connections. Has a USB input for pictures,etc. Picture quality is good. Menu has a good range of options.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Great Value

01/19/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture. Awesome features. Was pleasantly surprised with it considering how inexpensive it was. Great value! So happy I got this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

First blu-ray

01/22/2014
By ,
Washougal, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I held off as long as possible to get a blu-ray player because I didn't see the point. We got this one when my daughter's dvd player died because the price was about the same as a regular dvd player. We moved the dvd player from the living room into her room and hooked up the blu-ray on the main TV. It works great and does have a little bit better picture than the dvd player. I have not used any other features than just playing movies and probably never will.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Not a good player in my opinion

12/10/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This blue ray player seemed like it was a good buy compared to the others I had looked at. But, I guess you get what you pay for. It seemed to work very slowly when I first turned it on. Then I tried watching my first blue ray. The speed in which the unit followed commands was very slow, then the unit became unresponsive to commands of the remote and on the unit itself. It also made some weird noises like something was dragging when you put a disc in or took one out. First use and the unit seemed to be cheaply built and did not even come close to operating as it should. Returned this LG and purchased a Sony. It was a little more, but was worth it. Seemed to be built better, was easy set up, no hassles and worked as it should have.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

not for surround sound systems!

12/02/2013
By ,
Traverse City, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
There are no audio outs, so cannot be used with a conventional surround sound receiver. Very dissappointed, I assumed it would have audio outs, as the most basic dvd's have these. It is fine for HDMI to a 1080 TV and listen through the TV speakers
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Lexington. KY
Good little player!
Posted 12/25/2013
This unit has only hdmi output, so if you wish to have surround audio, you must output audio signal from your TV to your sound system and for that I'm using an optical cable between TV and receiver. I tested with both dolby and dts and worked just fine.
This unit is also able to play a lot of video formats via usb and also supports subtitles if needed; that's also great!
I don't need wifi and "smart" features since I already have those, so this thing is just a br/dvd/cd player and it serves its purpose very well. I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
Customer Avatar
Georgetown, TX
Posted 12/24/2013
You would run the hdmi cable to the av receiver. The hdmi out from the av receiver is then connected to the tv.
0points
Customer Avatar
Melbourne, Florida
Welcome to the HDMI world...
Posted 12/16/2013
All you do is buy a surround sound receiver that has HDMI inputs and HDMI output. Connect the bluray player to one of the HDMI inputs on the receiver and connect the HDMI output of the receiver to the HDMI input of the TV. Voila you get the best quality surround sound including lossless surround.
+1point
Customer Avatar
HDMI is all you need
Posted 12/07/2013
HDMI is ideal for surround sound for any home audio receiver equipped as such. HDMI and Coxial are the two digital outputs that support the full HD audio of Bluray Discs (Bitstreaming) aside from there one must use analogs using PCM to get surround sound to the receiver and using such a method I can confirm is difficult to achieve the full lossless audio the creators intended. If your using surround sound today without HDMI I suggest you upgrade your cables and receiver to something that can do DTS-HD Master Audio, although most films are shot in 5.1 surround some are in 7.1. I can tell your that 1 cable to do audio and video versus 9 or more makes a big difference. I am using a Onkyo 7.2 two display receiver with Windows/OSX Desktop, MediaPlayer, Bluray, Cable Box and have never looked back. With Audio Return Channel Every device has a power cable, HDMI only my TV and PC need the ehternet while the rest get internet through HDMI. The mess of cables home theaters once had is one step closer to manageable with HDMI, plus HDMI is capable of 192Khz at 24-Bit. The Highest bitrate I have seen on any bluray is 48khz 24-bit meaning long term support. Another bonus is since recently upgrading my TV I very rarely am forced to change the input manually everything is automated no searching for the right remote. All the new devices that support Audio Return Channel through HDMI are excellent. Power off the TV and reciever and player shuts down, power it on and what ever your last input was is back on etc. Change the channel with the cable remote and the receiver changes the input to cable. This is my first girlfriend friendly home theater. To some it up I was hesitant about switching over to HDMI but since I have its been night and day and well worth it, If you are not tech savy find one who is to find compatible devices and you will be amazed with how well it all works together with HDMI.
+4points
Customer Avatar
OHIO
Posted 12/07/2013
YOU MAY BE ABLE TO RUN THE TV'S OUTPUT SOUND TO A STEREO UNIT FOR SURROUND SOUND.
-1point
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 14 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Basic player

12/17/2013
By ,
Meredith,NH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Let me start by saying I have NOT used this yet. I purchased this item as one of the 1 hour in stock gaurantee items on Thanksgiving. I was in store well before 6 pm but they were all gone already. Got the ticket for it and placed the order early Friday morning. It took more than 2 weeks for it to get to the store. Now I have the tv and the player. Took the player out of box only to find there NO way to hook it up to the tv. Now have to BACK to the store to get a cable. Very frustrated. Good thing I opened it now and didn't wait until Xmas to watch the movies that were purchased to go with it. So with that being said it looks easy to set up, just plug in and connect cable to tv. It is the basic player so it should be simple to operate. Does not meet expectations due to not having what need to use it and that is why only gave 2 stars for value since have to purchase cable also.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GA
Just for reference
Posted 12/18/2013
Just so you know for any future Blu Ray or DVD player that is HDMI hookup, none of them come with the HDMI cable in the box. I've purchased several over the years, and friends have too, and I have yet to see one that comes with the cables. I learned this when I bought my first one and got all excited when I got home to find no cord too. So warn your friends and family to get the cords when they get the player
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

I had to return this

12/08/2013
By ,
Craig, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It turned on, but would not read any discs. I tried several brand new ones. I had to return it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Amazing for the price!!

12/14/2013
By ,
Frederick, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first Blu ray player and it is awesome!! I should've invested in one long ago.. The only thing I wish would've been different is that it includes wifi capabilities. Otherwise for $44 it was well worth it!! (It was cyber Monday deals)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Basic player

01/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does a good job playing all the media types listed. Upsample of DVDs isn't as strong as my older middle tier Phillips DVD player. Upsampling introduces excessive dithering and isn't as detailed or sharp as the Phillips. But for the money it's a fair player. You must have HDMI as this is the only output option from the player. USB feature doesn't allow you to plug in a thumb drive or use your iPhone or Android device as a media server so it's largely useless from my perspective. Drive noise is a little noticeable from time to time (chapter switch and such) but not bad. Nice small size. Careful with the tray .. I suspect it's easily broken. Remote is acceptable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

good for a first timer

02/01/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am new to the whole blue ray thing. This was easy to set up with the exception of having to go out and buy a HDMI cable for it. I think that is something that should be included. It is relatively easy to figure out, so far. I only have one set of disc that is blue ray so I don't have as much experience with it yet, but that will change with time. Overall, I am happy with the product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Fine but I returned for Netflix compatible player

02/04/2014
By ,
Townsend, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great value and a fine blue ray player, except I was looking for a wi-fi-ready unit that had Netflix and Amazon Prime, etc. included. When I realized it did not, I returned it for another player that had the functionality I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Plays dvd and blue ray

02/20/2014
By ,
city of Industry California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it to watch movies. Blue ray and dvd play great and come in clear
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 283 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next