Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for LG LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

LG LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

The BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player lets you see movies in incredible 1080p Full HD detail. Not ready to give up your DVDs? Not only can you play them, you can also watch them in clearer detail with LG's upscaling feature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.102 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(283 Reviews) 283
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
81
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation86%242 out of 283reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
81
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Cheap, no thrills blu-ray player does its job!

01/02/2014
By ,
St.Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased 3 of these over the holidays and they work very well. We bought one for my daughter's play room, one for my father-in-law, and one for my grandfather. We chose this blu-ray player because we needed something that was affordable, easy to set up/use, and didn't have all the bells and whistles of most players these days.
Affordability:
I looked all over the internet and couldn't find a cheaper player from a well known brand with good reviews anywhere. Still not under $25 like DVD players, but you can't beat under $50 for what you're getting with this player.
Easy to use & setup:
Can't get any easier than two cords. There's only one port option on the back and that's HDMI. The only other port you'll find is for the power cord. Use was easy as well; menus are clear and straight forward.
If you need a blu-ray player but don't need all of the fancy apps and internet connectivity, then you can't go wrong with this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Review 2 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Seemingly lot of bang for the buck

12/11/2013
By ,
Mobile, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although fairly tech-savy, I am late coming to bluray. After vhs and dvd, I mean how many more versions of my fave films do I have to buy??? Besides, like everyone I was initially dazzled by the hours and hours of extras on dvd's and bluray's, but actually watched only a very small percentage of them. So, I use bluray as an adjunct to my already-huge movie collection. As bluray movies get cheaper and cheaper, it made sense to get a player. My first one I also purchased at Walmart during a black friday deal a couple of years ago. I purchased this one as a black-friday online special a few weeks ago and it is a deal. It installed unbelievably easily and so far, does everything you want a bluray to do.
Bear in mind that you also need to order an hdmi cable with this; it does not have output for coaxial or other cables. It is strictly hdmi. Then, plug the ends into tv and player, plug it in, select hdmi on your input and you are ready to go.
I have two entertainment systems in my house. The living room system runs through my stereo receiver so I get the sound through my monster speakers. This bluray unit would not work there as it goes through the tv only. However, my other system is tv-run, with all components being hooked up to the tv, including the soundbar. With this set up, this player really shines!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+47points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NORWALK,OH
player
Posted 01/17/2014
DOES IT SUPPORT 3 D ? THANKS !
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Good, basic Blu-Ray player at an excellent price

01/06/2014
By ,
Reno, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a small disk player for my office TV and this one fit the need perfectly. It's just a basic player, but very compact. All I needed was the single HDMI output and no need for Internet streaming - I can do that with my computer. Be advised that this doesn't come with an HDMI cable so make sure you have one, or pick one up when you get this.
The ad also says, "Battery Type: Does Not Contain a Battery", which is puzzling because there is a battery included for the remote control. Also, the ad says, "Direct recording to USB". I downloaded the full user manual from the LG support site and it turns out it's only for ripping audio tracks from a CD to a USB memory stick. A nice extra feature though. In fact there are a number of neat features in this player so I would recommend you go to the LG support site and download the full user manual.
No problems playing Blu-Ray disks and the upscaling for DVDs looks very good compared to the standard DVD player I was using on my computer. If you're looking for a basic player, this is an excellent deal. I've only had it for a day now so I can't comment on it's durability yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 4 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Black Friday Purchase

12/05/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this online on black friday, the player is excellent if you're looking for JUST a blu-ray player. It doesnt have internet connectivity, you cannot access netflix/hulu, it plays disc movies. I'm very happy with my purchase, if I want netflix I have my xbox/pc I needed something just for blu-ray/dvd. It's easy to set up, 2 simple cords, HDMI (not included) and power cable. Comes with a remote and battery, very small/thin player. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+94points
Review 5 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

02/16/2014
By ,
Southampton, Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. After reading other reviews before buying, I also ordered the 6' HDMI cable with it (also sold at Walmart online & stores). I had it set up and running in less than 10 minutes. Took it out of the box, attached the HDMI cable from player to tv and plugged it in and it was ready to go. I have it attached to a 2013 year model, 50" Visio Smart TV + WIFI. I have always had either a VHS/DVD combo or just a DVD player for viewing my VHS tapes and my DVD movies. This model Blu-ray disc player not only plays Blu-ray discs but, also my other DVD movies, and I have a lot, over 200. The Blu-ray player is that good that you can't tell if you're watching a Blu-ray disc or a DVD movie disc. This is an excellent Blu-ray Player for the price I paid and well worth it. "Just remember to buy your HDMI cable at the same time (under $5) so you can install player right away." I would definitely buy this item again as a gift for someone. This is my 1st time ever owning a Blu-ray Disc Player and absolutely love the fact it also plays movie DVD's, music CD's, etc. I also like it because I don't have cable tv, just rabbit ears on my tv and only get a handful of tv channels so I watch a lot of my DVD movies as well as 2 Blu-ray movies I have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 6 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Great Blu-ray Player

12/01/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just purchased this on thanksgiving day black friday sale in store! This is a great Blu-ray player for the price. I have already watched dvds, blu-rays & it also play cds very well. There is a usb port on the front which allows you to connect tablets, smartphones & other media! It does not have wifi so you cant stream video from youtube or netflix but that is a feature that i dont need because i have a smart tv for all of that stuff! This product very well gets the job done and is worth every penny!!! p.s This is a HDMI only unit!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Review 7 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

small, very easy to set up and use

12/10/2013
By ,
rural texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the small size. Easy to set up and use. Plays blu-rays well. Not a lot of instructions and web site with LG pretty good for registration and other information. When playing the disk, for the price, I thought the picture was pretty good. Great for second tv, bedrooms, dorm rooms, small remote, light and portable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Review 8 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Great Purchase!

12/15/2013
By ,
Westfield, Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you already have a Roku or similar device to stream movies and just want a Blu-ray player for your discs then this is a great player to purchase. It has great reviews and is certainly affordable. I purchased one for my bedroom and thought it was such a good deal I snagged a 2nd one for the living room a couple weeks later, they are both paired up with a Roku 3 allowing me to cut out my cable bill completely. If you need a Blu-ray player then this is a no brainer for under $50.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 9 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Great Value

01/19/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture. Awesome features. Was pleasantly surprised with it considering how inexpensive it was. Great value! So happy I got this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 10 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

simple and small

12/11/2013
By ,
ridgerunners
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For use with HDMI only. Does not have any other output connections. Has a USB input for pictures,etc. Picture quality is good. Menu has a good range of options.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 11 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

First blu-ray

01/22/2014
By ,
Washougal, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I held off as long as possible to get a blu-ray player because I didn't see the point. We got this one when my daughter's dvd player died because the price was about the same as a regular dvd player. We moved the dvd player from the living room into her room and hooked up the blu-ray on the main TV. It works great and does have a little bit better picture than the dvd player. I have not used any other features than just playing movies and probably never will.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 12 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Idea with a Smart HDTV

04/06/2014
By ,
Reno, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great addition for use with my new Smart HDTV, the fact that it up converts standard DVDs to near 1080p, makes it one of the best values for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

No thrills Player for less Money

03/12/2014
By ,
somewhere in the US and sometimes out
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this player and HDMI cable for $49.98. The delivery was quick and both the cable and the player arrived at the same time. This player only needs two cables; HDMI and a power cable. The power cable is an adapter that is for 110V only.
Pros:
Two cables to hook up and nothing else
Small player that fits into most places
USB port on the front for music, pictures, and movies; so far I can hook up thumb drives and external hard drives. It plays multiple formats and I tried AVI and MP4
Cons:
Does not come with a HDMI cable (provided as a bundle with Walmart if it is in stock)
Another power adapter to try to fit into a space limited surge protector.
110V only. Bummer for those of us who live outside the US
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Had to return

04/03/2014
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Should make blu-ray for older tvs : (
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Free sample received:No
0points
Review 15 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Not a good player in my opinion

12/10/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This blue ray player seemed like it was a good buy compared to the others I had looked at. But, I guess you get what you pay for. It seemed to work very slowly when I first turned it on. Then I tried watching my first blue ray. The speed in which the unit followed commands was very slow, then the unit became unresponsive to commands of the remote and on the unit itself. It also made some weird noises like something was dragging when you put a disc in or took one out. First use and the unit seemed to be cheaply built and did not even come close to operating as it should. Returned this LG and purchased a Sony. It was a little more, but was worth it. Seemed to be built better, was easy set up, no hassles and worked as it should have.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 16 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Plays dvd and blue ray

02/20/2014
By ,
city of Industry California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it to watch movies. Blue ray and dvd play great and come in clear
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

blueray

03/29/2014
By ,
Fordsville ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is very easy to operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Cheap price, good picture & sound.

03/25/2014
By ,
Knoxville TN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did not come with HDMI cable, but I guess that helped keep price down. Found a cheap one in store anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 19 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

I'm not sure.

03/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Imagine my surprise when I got this package home, opened it up, hooked it up to my TV and it would not work. I changed batteries in the remote and then it opened up the disc compartment (the batteries it came with were dead) and there was a Bob Harper workout DVD!!! Obviously, this was a used player.
I would say the player works OK so far, but not sure how long it will last or if it's a refurbished one???
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

good buy

03/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great price good product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 283 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next