Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

Sony Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

PlayStation 4 is the best place to play with dynamic, connected gaming, powerful graphics and speed, intelligent personalization, deeply integrated social capabilities, and innovative second-screen features. Combining unparalleled content, immersive gaming experiences, all of your favorite digital entertainment apps, and PlayStation exclusives, PS4 centers on gamers, enabling them to play when, where and how they want. PS4 enables the greatest game developers in the world to unlock their creativity and push the boundaries of play through a system that is tuned specifically to their needs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.968 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(222 Reviews) 221
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
144
4 stars
19
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
42
Customer Recommendation83%142 out of 172reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
108 Questions | 167 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
144
4 stars
19
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
42
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

A little light on the games.

12/15/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
System is great. Runs quiet and was easy to set up out of the box. Tho only problem I have right now is that it doesnt have many games out. But obviously thats a problem thatll get solved over time. Got a few free games from Playstation+ which is...a plus. So far im happy with it and i can wait for future games to come out.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

This generations console to get.

11/21/2013
By ,
Peoria, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Within the following year of 2013, I saw both revealings of the consoles, but that didn't sell me. I waited until the end of the event Games-com to make my choice. In the end I decided to choose the PS4. So I waited until the 15th, picked it up, and took it home. the console itself was what I expected sleek, modern looking, and built for gaming. I hooked it up turned it on and put in COD Ghost, but I recommend Battlefield. The Operating System of the console was a far improvement over the PS3. The loading time of starting and downloading games is so much faster. The games look amazing at 1080p and running at 60 fps. It's a gaming PC that most people can afford. PS Plus which is the payable service to play multi-player is not required for free to play games. Plus if you want to try PS Plus out it comes with a 30 day trial also including a music service and $10 to your wallet (which is currency to buy items in the PS Store). So try the PS4 out I promise you'll love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+150points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

Not only a gaming system, controls your seamlessly

04/14/2014
By ,
Glenville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PlayStation 4(PS4) is an amazing system that you will love. The system made some major improvements from its predecessor the PlayStation 3.
The start-up process is super fast and moving from watching TV to playing games is quick, light speeds from the old generation's systems. The PS 4 has the computing power for this next generation of systems. In the future the games will utilize all that power more efficiently as the new class of games can code to take advantage of this technology. PlayStation 4 has a very powerful graphics system and the user interface is able to be personalized as well.
The online component to the PS4 is the PlayStation Plus. With PlayStation Plus not only can you play online but each month you will get 2 free games. You will not regret getting this system and I would definitely recommend the PS4.
Thank you for reading my review, if you have any questions feel free to email me, I would be happy to help you with any questions you have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

Best Next-Gen Experience

02/26/2014
By ,
Mount Sterling, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros:
$399 Compared to $499 for the Xbox One
Superior GPU and GDDR5
Dualshock 4 Controller
True HD gaming @ 1080p
Playstation Network Benefits (Free games, Huge discounts on DLC and Digital Downloads)
Cons:
Battery life on Dualshock 4 is very short and needs recharging often
No options to customize the UI (dashboard)
HORRIBLE Earbud Headphones included
First let me say that I have had 2 defective Xbox One consoles since 11/22/13. Right now I am on my 3rd Xbox One replacement and it arrived trashed by their repair center. So now I will be awaiting my 4th Xbox One from Microsoft. That was enough for me when it came to the Xbox One and I picked up a Sony Playstation 4 instead. I received it from Walmart.com 1 week ago and it has been an outstanding experience so far. Coming from the Xbox controller was challenge at first, but within a couple of days I felt like the controller was an extension of my own body. It is THAT good! After my own 10 year hiatus from the Playstation brand, it is great to be back with Sony! Amazing console and couldn't be happier!
Assassins Creed 4 does look and play much better on the PS4 console compared to it's Xbox One counterpart. Graphically the Playstation 4 beats Xbox One without question.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

No longer the home entertainment center

12/18/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Clear, beautiful picture to look at, runs quiet with an easy to use interface. Nice to look at physically and the controller feels great,,,,but they forgot one huge thing. What I use my PS4 for 50 percent of the time. There is NO DLNA. I can not stream movies or music from my media server anymore. No more downloaded movies or catalogs of music NO DLNA. I bought two of these and so far have sold one on ebay. Debating on returning, or selling the other. Did I mention NO DLNA. NO playstation Media server. This is Strictly a Gaming Console with some apps. It can no longer be used as an integral part of your home network. My smart TV does everything the ps4 can minus play games.
I've been a playstation fan since the 90's, but until they add this back into the system I will be sticking with the PS3.
I'm not a Xbox fan, and not a playstation hater. I didn't expect anything except better gaming, and the same features as ps3 at minimum. A minute detail to most, a deal breaker for me.
Happy gaming!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Customer Avatar
Sioux City, IA
Yes it is.
Posted 02/16/2014
It all will come with FUTURE firmware updates everything was rushed just like the XBoxONe. Give it awhile but, be glad though they are more focused on GAMERS more so then so much media stuff. It will all come these machines are capable of a lot of things at least the PS4 can output GAMES AT FULL 1080P at 60 frames a second without degrading textures or the quality of the games. Developers still haven't even hit the ceiling making games for the PS4 as of yet. Peace
0points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Agreed
Posted 02/11/2014
I completely agree with this post. This is a game consul but they completely back tracked from the PS3. I also used my PS3 much of the time to watch movies and listen to music and can no longer do so with PS4. I was going to sell my PS3 but cant now because I have to keep it to play all my media stuff (I do so through a flash drive). its a big inconvenience to run all those wires though my home entertainment center. Also I bought my PS4 the day It was released as I had pre-ordered it. I've always been a huge supporter of PlayStation, I was completely disappointed about this issue. Also it is now 2/11/14 and still waiting for this update!!!!!!!! - SANDMAN-BUZZ
-2points
Customer Avatar
Colorado Springs, CO
Posted 01/11/2014
If you have a smart tv, you dont need to have the game system for dlna anyway. Just put your movies on a flash drive and put into tv directly ( no lag that way ), or just stream directly tv.
+3points
Customer Avatar
alamance
game not a video player
Posted 01/03/2014
who cares about watching video , it's a GAME SYSTEM meant to PLAY GAMES !
it's about time things started being 1 thing and doing it good , rather then do 50 things badly. if i buy a game system i want to play games. if i want to watch streaming video i have a pc for that. if i want to watch movies guess what they have this great invention called a dvd or bluray player . spend a few bucks and get what you want
+4points
Customer Avatar
wow
Posted 01/02/2014
well sorry to tell you this BUT that is what it is supposed to be a gaming console not a media system
if all you want is to have more media than gaming go and buy a laptop but this is a Ps4 and its purpose is to play games and few stuff on the side
+5points
Customer Avatar
Cherryville NC
This has already been addressed by Sony
Posted 12/28/2013
They were asked about it and stated it was a time restraint decision. DLNA and other stuff is still coming in an update after the first of the year. I would think that a Sony fan would know that as it has been stated all over the internet.
+17points
Customer Avatar
dlna
Posted 12/20/2013
suppose to add dlna later in an update
+22points
Read Comments (7)
Read Comments (7)
Review 6 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

Has much potential

03/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The hardware is amazing. I'm pleased with my purchase. I am a multi-platform gamer who built a top-of-the-line gaming rig, and essentially had no need for a console. But, I became curious about a few games that I'd rather play on platform, such as Infamous: Second Son. I have owned an Xbox 360, PS3, PS2, PS1, original Xbox, Wii, Turbo Graphix 16, Neo-Geo, SNES, NES and Atari. I consider myself to have valid opinions on good gaming consoles. The PS4 does not disappoint, and just like every other console, its potential has yet to be realized. So far I own NFS Rivals, Assassin's Creed Black Flag, BF4 and I have pre-ordered Second son; all of the games have been great, although I can tell the system is not being used fully by cross platform games. I believe second son will be the first game to display a good portion of the PS4's potential. I look forward to more exclusive titles as the developers grow more comfortable with the PS4 SDKs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

PS fan for life

04/03/2014
By ,
Missoula, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I start I want to say I understand some people have had issues with the PS4 at the start. I however did not have this issue, and over all the PS4 is outstanding. The graphics are amazing and the performance is pretty good for a gaming console! Also the controller for the PS4 I see as an improvement from the PS3 controller.
Now I'm not fond of buying it as a bundle package, but Walmart did a great deal with an extra controller, Killzone, and Infamous: Second Son. So of course I bought it.
Do I recommend this for everyone.. of course not, some people are just die hard Xbox fans or they want an entertainment center like the Xbox One. But if you want to truly game then get a PS4. You won't be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

This Is a complete Home Entertainment System

04/05/2014
By ,
Poland,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was serousily thinking about getting the Xbox 1 and PS4. When they made there depute and one was very hard to get coming out of the gate and that was the PS4. And looking into both I figure I would give both a fair shot before making a final deceision. Inside they almost have same specs both to me the big turn first was the price for the Xbox 1 and the Kinect Camera. I have had both consoles before these new where release the Xbox 360, PS3 both where outstanding. But I just want to play games and when I found out the Microsoft saying that they wamted to be a complete Home Entertainment all in one. To me that was kind of turn off and that was not only one of that convince to get the PS4. But was looking at over all game play was excatly what I was looking for. I think Sony out did them selves with this console and looking for as far as game play nothing lagging on line game play. Plus is the fact that it has the new game formay 4K and as always Blu-Ray Player. Built in web browser. plenty of Apps to turn any TV into a smart one. The built in WIFI is very to hook up to any rotor. And yes I would recommond to any family or friend. Trust me you will not be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

Great system with good promise. Launch games so so

11/18/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked great. The reported failures are over stated. The estimated number of affected consoles is .4 percent of the alleged 1 million. Which, if it is true, it is just 4,000 people. The 360 had an initial failure rate of almost 60% and the PS3 of just under 11%. The social aspect of public opinion wasn't as huge as it is now, back in 2005/2006. There is SEEMINGLY more damaged consoles just on sheer articles and tweets, etc complaining but many if not most articles are referring to the same other articles referring to the same occurrences. IF it really is only .4% of PS4s or even if it was 2.5% or even 5%, that is WAAAAYYY lower than most any products failure rate of any kind.
The games however are either polished PS3 games or graphic heavy next gen stuff with little substance. But that goes for both systems. I look forward to the lineup come April.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

Has potential.....

12/22/2013
By ,
IA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First off the PS4 has definite potential but that's it at the moment. It has a weak game line up, the controller's battery life is unimpressive (maybe 5 hours before it needs to be recharged), and Need for Speed Rivals, while being really fun, only allows users one save per account. If need be, another account can be created to accommodate another save, but seems like an unnecessary inconvenience. The graphics may be slightly crisper than the PS3, but the difference is negligible. On the upside, switching between a game to an app like Netflix is quick and seamless. Another plus is that the controllers are still very comfortable and feel nice and solid but not heavy. IMO, if you're on the fence about buying a PS4, wait a few months. By the end of the 1st quarter and beginning of the 2nd the game line up will be getting stronger and some of the launch bugs will taken care of. To put it simply, the PS4 WILL be worth $400, it just isn't right now.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sioux City, IA
Your Mistaken
Posted 02/16/2014
The PS4 and Xboxone CUSTIMIZED GPUs although being the same in most aspects are leaps and bounds ahead of the Xbox360 AND ps3. Yes, games will get better as developers gain more knowledge in making the games for each system the PS4 is more powerful 50 %more powerful then the Xboxone, The PS4 can output games at 1080P 60 frames a second and games texture, all that tech talk don't have to be downgraded on the ps4.In my opionion that makes a huge difference when gaming on a 60 inch flat screen. The Xboxone the way the ERAM is set up won't allow full 1080P unless they figure out some tricks XboxOne owners get Upconverted Pixels.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

Perfect Xmas Present or Birthday Gift

12/13/2013
By ,
Hogansville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well as we all know the Playstation 4 in here. I can honestly say a well done purchase. The UI(user interface) is very easy to navigate through. All the news of the games you have is right there in your face on the console. It boots up fairly quickly. The UI is very neat as well as pretty, even the music it plays is very calming. Sony created another Beast of a console, only problem you can't have your own wallpaper like you did on the PS3. But that little problem can be over looked. But overall the PS4 is a wonderful console to enjoy your Gaming on. I plan to buy 2 more.
I will write a deeper Review later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dallas,Tx
Perfect Xmas Present or Birthday Gift????
Posted 12/21/2013
If this is the "Perfect Xmas Present or Birthday Gift"...Why are you already playing with it!?! LOL
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

great improvement over the ps3 but lacks games

03/11/2014
By ,
chicago Ill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Next gen Console is something that gamers have been waiting for me included. The wait is was finally over with the PlayStation 4 release. The PlayStation 4 has a lot of great features and improvements over its predecessors. If you have an extra 400 dollars lying around you should buy it. But if you saved your weekly allowance for a year to buy it I would recommend waiting a little longer.
The PlayStation 4 has so many improvements over the PlayStation 3 spec wise. The lack of RAM that the PlayStation 3 had held the system down, not giving it feature such a party chat and restricting its multitasking. The PlayStation 4 on the other hand now has 8 GB of RAM which lets us surf the web while gaming. It lets us stream directly from the console and lets us use party chat, a service that players had been able to use on the Xbox 360. Another improvement is the CPU. Its CPU went from a 7 core cell to an AMD Jaguar 8-coore x86-64 .Going from a cell to an AMD processor not only does it makes the system run faster, but it also makes the system code better for another problem that the PlayStation 3 had. He harder coding made it more difficult for game creators to support their games which in return it made their customers have to wait longer for the game updates and patches.
Another great addition to the PlayStation 4 is their greater amount of hard drive space the original day one PlayStation 4 came in the form of three options in terms of hard drive space which were the 40GB, 60GB, and 80GB. The PlayStation 4 in a nice 500 GB hard drive. The graphics on the PlayStation 3 compared to a PlayStation 4 are like day and night when placed side to side on games such as Call of Duty Ghost where the amount of Detail have increased.
The system specs are not the only thing that improved, Sonly made improvements on their controllers for the PlayStation 4 releasing the dual shock 4. Some key improvements of the Dual Shock are its touchpad, its weight, size and its 3.5mm jack input, the touch pad is an idea that if correctly used on future games it can make games have a whole new level of challenge and enjoyment, the weight of te Dual Shock 4 is much heavier and bigger with larger hands. And of course it has a 3.5mm jack input it has the motivation to make the average casual gamer to plug in their phone headphone with a microphone and start talking over the internet.
So why with all the improvements would I say that only if you have extra money lying around and not to run and cash your piggy bank? Well the PlayStation 4 now is really good and lots of potential, the currents games don’t really give the system justice. Although there are some good games such as Call of Duty Ghost, Kill Zone Shadow Fall and Assassin Creed the games seemed tailor fit for both the PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 3 so some of the PlayStation 4 function are not really used such as its touch pad.
Other small problems are the Dual Shock 4 battery life spam compared to the PlayStation 3. The Dual Shock has only seven to eight hours of battery life from is almost 4 hour batter life on the dual shock 3. As well as the hard drive space is much bigger, only if you decide to only have the hard copy and not its digital since some games are to some cases 50GB games. Although things like that are not things that break the system, it’s something that holds it back a little. But the lack of games is something that make my PlayStation 4 more of a Netflix device, rather than a gaming machine it should be
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

Great product.... After replacing original

03/10/2014
By ,
Syracuse NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered on feb 26... Received on March 5. Walmarts standard shipping is extremely SLOW. It looked like they waited a few days to ship it out.
When I got it I hooked it up and it was DOA. Would not send a signal to the tv. Tried a few different HDMI cables as per suggestions online but nothing worked.
Called up local Walmart and they had just received a couple that morning so was able to exchange for new one. This one worked like a charm and now I am extremely happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

its Awsome

02/25/2014
By ,
Va beach, va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Me and my family loves the console. its better than ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Missouri
Ridiculous
Posted 03/21/2014
This is such a mess, showing they have ps4's in stock but making you travel all over the country to find one in one of their stores?!?!?!? This is a bit ridiculous. If I wanted to play where is the ps4 I would not go online to order my ps4. You lost my money. I call the stores with limited quantities, guess what? The associates cannot hold the system for people. IMAGINE that, then you get there after driving an hour there to find there are none in stock. AMAZON here I come. Much better business practices anyway.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

Perfect Performance

11/28/2013
By ,
Mustang, Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been an Xbox 360 player for 8 years, but I made the jump to the PS4 two weeks ago and I have been absolutely satisfied with the product with no regrets. We pre-ordered two of them for the household and both consoles have performed perfectly since day one. On launch night PSN was a bit unstable until around 3am, but I've had rock solid performance all the way around from the network and the hardware since then. My biggest concern before purchase was the DS4 controller. I absolutely hated the DS3 that came with PS3 because of the cramped designed, but the DS4 and it's touchpad are an amazing improvement. I would put it next to the 360 in comfort, just lighter and it took about 30 minutes to adjust to the change in stick location after playing 360 for so long.
We picked up 3 FPS games, Killzone Shadow Fall (looks amazing), COD:Ghosts (about what you'd expect from COD) and Battlefield 4 (also an amazing looking game), but even if you didn't pick up any games at all you'd start out with several games as soon as you got home. The PS4 console comes with a 30 day PSN trial account that gives you access to Resogun and Contrast for the PS4, along with a bunch of games for PS3 and Vita if you have those too. It also has a bunch of free online games too. You don't even need PSN to play the free-to-play games like Blacklight Redemption, DC Universe Online and Warframe. Premium titles require PSN Plus now, but the FTP games are still playable on regular free PSN.
The bottom line is that I like this console so much that I'm actually trying to find a 3rd one to give as a gift to my other son.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

PS4 doesn't work

03/21/2014
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Make sure you try it out within 15 days or you can't get a refund or exchange if it doesn't work from Walmart. Many are bad right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

PS4 for Husband...

11/27/2013
By ,
White River Junctions, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
...but I play it now just as much as he does which I'm sure he doesn't like hahaha!
I don't follow gaming systems, the games, or the technology advances but I love the PS4. Compared to the PS3 it is more modern and I love the "dashboard" or "home page" - whatever it's called.
For us, no Blue Light of Death so we're good. Plus, we got the 2 year warranty just in case.
Worth the money imo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

Excellent product

11/27/2013
By ,
Baltimore, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb out-of-the-box experience.
Simple setup.
Flawless operations.
INCREDIBLE graphics.
Immersive game play.
Quiet operations.
Decent indie games.
Seamless patches/upgrades.
Well built, smoothly operating controller.
As good as the system is now, I believe the next 2-3 years will find this console's games to be the benchmark for the video game industry as developers learn to fully utilize the infrasructure of this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ps4
Posted 12/12/2013
When there will be more ps4 coming to walmart they are sold out need to know?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

PS4 vs X Box One

12/12/2013
By ,
Emporium, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NOTE: I originally wrote this review for the X Box One, but it applies here all the same
I want to give you an objective review from somebody who owns a Wii U, PS4, X Box One, PS3, X Box 360 and 2 High end gaming PCs. I own all the major consoles and one, well actually two, of the fastest PCs that money can buy. So, first of all I want to give you a comparison of the hardware between these consoles. Because the hardware is what makes the difference. The Xbox One has an 8 core CPU running at 1.75 GHz, so that makes it great for multitasking. It works very well. You can switch between games and other apps like Netflix, Internet Explorer or pretty much any app available on X Box Live seamlessly. It's quick and very easy to learn. Another advantage of the 8 core CPU is when game developers are creating games for the Xbone, that's what I'm calling it, they can dedicate processes to an individual core making rendering and processing faster and more efficient. The Xbone has 8 GB of DDR3 RAM. Which in my opinion is plenty. However, speaking as somebody who has been into PC gaming for many years I know a lot about RAM usage. And games are continually using more and more memory, or RAM, as time goes on. For example, older Call of Duty games usually only require 1 or 2 GB of memory between the video RAM and the system RAM. Which is not an issue on the consoles as they share memory between the CPU and the GPU. The GPU is graphics processing unit. But newer games can easily use 6 GB of RAM, on the PC. I don't know for sure how much they use on the consoles, but it will never be more than what you'd use on a PC as PC games allow for much higher resolutions and other options you don't get on the consoles. So I can see the day coming when 8 GB of RAM won't be enough, it's not too far off. The GPU on the Xbone has 768 shader cores with a core clock of 853 Mhz. The GPU is made by AMD. All the newer generation of consoles use AMD GPUs making them much easier to compare. However, as somebody who has used a number of AMD GPUs I know that an AMD GPU with 768 shader cores is medium performance GPU. The core clock doesn't matter as much, the core clock is pretty close across all the consoles so that's not really much of a factor. The truth is that GPU will have a tough time rendering games at 1080p with a decent frame rate. Many of the games for the PS3 and Xbox 360 render at 30 frames per second or FPS. Which is far from stellar. 60 FPS is the desireable framerate. Most HDTVs will display 60 FPS at 1080P. For example, if you're playing a racing game like Forza 30 FPS is going to feel laggy. With racing games especially a higher frame rate is critical. I have Forza 5 and it actually renders at a decent framerate and plays very well, but there are 3D features that were left out due to resource constraints, such as anti aliasing. The game may have a low level of anti aliasing but it doesn't work very well at all. The Xbone has a Blu Ray disc drive so you will be able to use it to play all the newest movies, but it doesn't support 3D Blu Ray playback at this time. The Xbone does support games in stereoscopic 3D but it uses the side by side format, which doesn't render as well as the standard 3D alternative-frame sequencing that is used by the PS3 and PS4. Side by side 3D gives me a headache and doesn't give very good depth perception. 99% of 3DTVs render at 24 FPS at 1080P. So most games will drop to 720p to give you a smoother experience in 3D, which can render at 60 FPS on most 3DTVs. The audio on the XBone stands out. It can play native 7.1 with Dolby Digital or DTS. The sampling rate is still stuck at 48Hz, but regardless it has excellent sound quality. However I have read that higher sampling rates and audio settings may be unlocked with future updates. Apparently both the Xbox One and the PS4 support 4K resolution video output. I want to make it clear, they will put out a 4K video signal for Blu Rays and other videos with that option but they will never, not now and not 10 years from now, play games at 4K resolution. Maybe a game like Minecraft, but that's about it. Hardware limitations. If you want a system to play games at 4K then you're gonna have to spend at least $1000 or more, almost definitely more, on a custom gaming PC. A feature that I really liked about the Xbone was that you can set it up to turn on your home theatre and your TV when you turn on your console. Pretty cool. There are a lot of other options for media and cable TV, but I haven't used any of them. For me a game console is used primarily for gaming and not much else.
I also want to talk about the PS4. The PS4 also has an 8 Core CPU, this one running at 1.6 Ghz. A little slower than the Xbone's CPU, a minor disadvantage. It has 8 GB of DDR5 RAM. Which is going to be much, much faster than that of the Xbone. The Xbone has the memory integrated in such a way that the latency is much lower, giving it an advantage in some situations, but the superior memory speed of the PS4 will give it the advantage most of the time. The PS4 GPU has 1152 shader cores, 50% more than the Xbone. This is where the PS4 takes a huge leap above the Xbone. The GPU performance is the major factor when rendering video games and the PS4 GPU crushes the Xbox One. The PS4 also has a Blu Ray drive that does support 3D Blu Rays. The PS4 also has much better support for 3D gaming. One flaw that the PS4 for some reason integrated into its console is an internal power supply. Power supplies create a lot of heat, and all that heat is going to be radiating into the PS4s case and heating up your hardware. The Xbone played it smart and kept the power supply external. If you own a PS4, do like I did and either play it upright or use 4 small rubber boots underneath to prop it up about half an inch. It allows heat to flow much more freely, instead of trapping it under the console causing your PS4 to overheat. Both consoles are fairly quiet, but the Xbones power supply has a fan that makes a bit of noise. The audio on the PS4 so far is pretty good. I didn't have the option to increase the sampling rate above 48 hz like I did on the PS3, but you still get 7.1 lossless audio and they're supposed to activate more options as time goes on.
The controllers. The Xbones controller is almost the same as the 360s, but a little bit smaller. The bumpers aren't quite the same as the 360s controller, they don't really work well if you liked to press them like a normal button, you actually have to use the side of your finger to bump them as intended or they don't depress correctly sometimes. I find it irritating and imprecise under certain circumstances. The Xbone does not come with a rechargeable battery. So you'll either need to buy one or use AA batteries. Which is what I'm doing, I found that its much cheaper to just buy a couple sets of rechargeable AA batteries and use those. I don't know exactly what aspect of the Xbones controller it is, probably because its smaller, but I find it to be very uncomfortable compared to the 360 controller. My right hand will start to ache after an hour or more of game play. So I really don't like the Xbones controller. The PS4 has an excellent controller. It's got the same layout as the PS3 controller for the most part, it also has a touch pad that works very well and a share button. The share button is an interesting addition. It allows you to instantly save a screen shot at any time or record video that you can later review and post to online social media or just add it to your Playstation profile. The touch pad, well there's not a whole lot that can be said about it aside from it works pretty well and games are going to be integrating its use into future titles. In Killzone Shadow Fall you can use it to switch between modes for your drone. It basically just allows for a few more commands to be integrated into the controller. There is also a microphone that is fairly loud built into the controller. The PS4 controller also has integrated motion control and doubles as a motion controller for the PS4 Camera. For those of you with the PS3 Move camera, you will remember having to buy the extra controllers if you wanted to play Move games. Fortunately on the PS4 that won't be necessary. The PS4 controller has an LED light on it that acts as the beacon for the camera to lock on to and track movement adding another layer of value to the already very fairly priced PS4. The PS4 controller is fairly comfortable even over hours long gaming sessions.
I wanted to talk about the Wii U and PC gaming but they made me cut my review in half. Oh well, in the end I endorse the PS4 as the best system for any serious gamer on a budget.
If you want to talk about graphics, that's not really all that applicable at this point. Graphics will improve as time goes on. Killzone Shadow Fall has excellent graphics, very, very nice. Forza 5 also has very good graphics. So at this point a comparison by visuals doesn't really apply. In the end the hardware will be the deciding factor, and PS4 has Xbone beat where that is concerned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+297points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 02/08/2014
the ps4 is the best ever
+1point
Customer Avatar
Nuts
Posted 01/01/2014
I appreciate that you took the time to write this, but you basically said a lot without saying much at all. Dont bother with the PC comparison. People aren't going to run out and buy a high-end gaming rig in lieu of a console. I've been building gaming rigs for about twenty-some odd years, and while I do prefer the beauty and quality of lush, super high res graphics, you just cant beat the convenience of a gaming console at a great price.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for Playstation 4 Console (PS4)

2 day system (or at least mine was)

02/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
after calling around several Wal-marts in my area I was so excited when I finally found one in stock so I went directly to Wal-Mart and purchased one when I got home I plugged it up and everything seemed fine for the first day on the second day while on the ps4 menu it just beeped once shut off by its self made some clicking noises beeped one time started to turn on made some more clicking noises and shut off again it continued to repeat this process two more times then just completely stopped and would not power on again so I returned it and got a refund hopefully sony gets it together and fixes all the problems people are having with this system and makes it to were you can download your music and pics to the ps4 and it wouldn't hurt for it to be able to read cds so I guess for now I will just stick to my ps3
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next