Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display and Recording Capabilities allows your TV without a digital tuner to receive new digital broadcasts. It includes an array of features such as programming guides and parental controls to restrict children's access. The analog to digital converter box also comes with a USB connection and is compatible with external SATA drives or flash drives with USB connections. The multimedia playback function is compatible with many different media types. The HD digital converter box comes with a handy remote control. The lightweight box is not much bigger than a hardbound book so it won't take up much space next to your television. The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display also has a popular HDMI connector.
Average Customer Rating:
3.615 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(631 Reviews) 631
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
266
4 stars
152
3 stars
49
2 stars
32
1 star
132
Customer Recommendation72%456 out of 631reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
175 Questions | 504 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
266
4 stars
152
3 stars
49
2 stars
32
1 star
132
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Quite a good item with a couple let downs

09/07/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've owned this box for about 3 weeks now. The 4 and 5 star ratings are correct. It works nice and has some nice menu choices. Two things were a let down: keypad is a bit too small. Buttons are too close and trigger a bit too easily. Hitting button 2 doubles it to 22 if not real quick in letting go of the button. The graphics on screen and in the manual book are kind of rough. The photos in manual are printed small and B&W. Hard to see what the pictures are showing. Several things are terrific compared to my 10 year old Philips (the worst). It has the ability to program channel changes and show times if you are not going to be home. These can then be downloaded onto a flashdrive or other digital memory device as there is a port for this. Cables to hook it to say an older VCR or, I think, for radio, are included. I don't think the few drawbacks are enough to give it less than 4 stars. I do like it. It'd be great if they retooled for a larger controller and spiffed up the manual. Unless there is a way, I can't change clock from being a 24 hr type; 23:30 is 11:30 PM. 17:00 is 5 o'clock PM. This will get easier over time. Mark
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

WARNING poor quality JUNK

01/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1. The removable protective film layer is sealed to front bezel with nearly impossible to remove quality control sticker(void warranty if removed sticker) . You must remove the layer of film because the box GETS HOT and the film layer blocks top vents.
2. When the box warms up, it will hang on whichever channel you stop on (the front buttons including power button stop working and remote no longer works). To remedy this issue there are 2 options.
A) unplug and plug the box back in.
B) bang on the box vigorously (preferably from the bottom)
Then the box and remote will function again ...until you stop on another channel.
3. "pausing live tv" takes 45 seconds-1.5 minutes after touching the pause button before it actually pauses.
4. Cannot change TV guide time format from 24h(military) to 12h format.
5. When using the TV Guide for all channels you can only view 1 hour increments at a time. but when you look at the guide for each channel it goes on for many hours after current time.
6. No way to remove blank channels or foreign language channels found with automatic channel search.
7. It does play most of the video(TV shows/movies) from my external terabyte drive but hangs the converter box(must unplug to reboot box) when you unknowingly select an incompatible format rather than showing a warning box.
This is what I have found in just my first 2 days of use.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Money well spent.

02/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heard about this device from a friend. I was looking for something that I could record programs off an antenna. I cut the cable and ditched the dish, but I missed the ability to record programs to view later plus an on screen program guide. I found that I could do both with the Ematic AT103B if I configured it right. I have an HD wide screen digital tv. Using an HDMI cable I patched the Ematic and my digital HD tv to an outside antenna. I get excellent pictures and Dolby sound. Of course, you must be able to receive clear pictures over an antenna before you hook up this device. Press a button or two and you can bring up an on screen 24 hour program guide. Before you record or schedule a program to be recorded you need to insert a memory stick (not included), a16, 32, 64 GB will work well. Simply select the program, press a button, and record. Only problem is there is a second or two delay. Cut the pwr off and on if it freezes. It will crash if you press the buttons to fast or don't wait for the device to perform its latest command. But for the price and what it will do, it is worth every cent. I use it everyday to plan my viewing. PS. You can change channels and control the volume with the handy remote.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

This Product Is Terrible

02/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not be able to recommend this product. I bought it because the ability to record television shows was appealing. It does not record. It freezes up in a variety of ways and you cannot get out of the freeze or shut it off. I have tried recording shows over and over and it either stops recording or freezes up in recording mode. The box is very simplistic and it takes a lot of time to set it up (ie. saving channels, etc.) and a new scan will wipe out all of your settings. I don't have much in the way of this type of electronics available to me in my area but, if you have any other options, I would not buy this machine.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Nice features, lousy quality control.

02/02/2014
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The good news is that this box has a lot of good features. It has an excellent guide, it can play mp3s and many video formats from the usb port, and it can record video to a USB drive.
The bad news is doing these things is awkward, due to poor software and bad remote design. The remote has 41 buttons crammed into a few square inches, making it very difficult to use. Both the manual and the on screen display have errors. There are no quality options for recording, which means that recording video from the higher resolution stations takes up a lot of space. If you plan on recording video, you'll need a very large USB drive.
The unit I got went bad a few hours after I received it. It started rebooting itself after being plugged in for a hour or so. It would not restart until it had been unplugged for a while, so I assume it was overheating.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Doesn't work with catv

02/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this via walmart. Claims to support catv and has a setting for it but I couldn't get it to work. It finds all the channels but nothing plays. No video or sound. The Cable Connections diagram shows all possible hook-ups in a single view, making it impossible to understand - and I'm an engineer. The Set top box shows a single connection, not two. Yea right, that makes sense. Can't find any tech support phone number. Will be taking this back.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Pleasingly happy!!

02/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We found out, when we bought our VCR/DVD recorder, that it didn't have a digital receiver. So we needed this converter to make recordings of the shows that we missed, when we were out of the house!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Piece of garbage

03/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stopped working within 2 weeks
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

WAY MORE than just a converter box!!!

10/19/2014
By ,
auburn hills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here's a quick Highlights List of the things I like about the unit. I've included a more in-depth description below as well.
1. Is a converter box that allows you to watch broadcast TV on older non-digital TVs.
2. Has a builtin DVR so you can record your favorite TV shows
3. Has a feature called "Timeshift" that allows you to pause Live TV and continue watching.
4. WILL allow you to watch ANY MPG4 video on the device so you can transfer videos from you computer to your TV
5. Shows you what is coming on TV up to 12 hours in advance, including the names of the shows and descriptions.
6. Easily allows you to select the shows you want to record and allows you the option to record the show Once, Daily or Weekly.
I was looking for a converter box that I could connect to my DVD recorder. I no longer subscribe to paid television because I realized that with my other subscriptions like Netflix and Hulu Puss, I was only watching things that came on broadcast TV. The issues was, if something came on and I wasn't around to watch it, I missed the show. So I decided to buy a converter box that I could hook up to my DVD recorder and just program the DVD recorder to record the shows that I wanted to watch. THEN I found this unit! It is an UNBELIEVABLE buy! Not only are you able to connect it to a TV, VCR or DVD recorder and pick up HD broadcasts, but it also has a programable DVR built in! That means that if you connect a hard drive to it, you can program it to record your shows and watch them anytime you want. It also has a feature that will allow you to see a list of shows that will be coming on within the next 12 hours. If you see the show you like, simply scroll to it, click the "Ok" button and you are able to add it to your list of shows that you would like to record AND you can set it to record the show "Daily" or "Weekly." The unit records in GREAT quality! It will even record HD shows in 1080HD. The format that it records the shows in is universal, which means you can actually disconnect your hard drive from the unit, connect it to your computer or laptop and watch what ever shows have been recorded, right on your computer. This comes in handy for people who travel. I simply connect my hard drive to my laptop and copy the shows that I want to watch while I'm on the plane.
I do suggest that you don't try using a USB Flash card to record shows to, as they do not process information quickly enough and you will experience dropped frames, freezing images and other issues. With an external hard drive, even something like a "passport" I have not experienced any problems.
Another awesome feature is, if you copy your home videos and any movies that you may have purchased and downloaded to your hard drive and connect the hard drive back up to the box, you WILL be able to watch them on your TV through the box. For example, I purchased "The Man of Steel" with the Ultra Violet feature, which allows you to download the movie to your computer. I was then able to copy the downloaded video to the hard drive I connect to the Ematic and I was able to watch the movie on my TV instead of being forced to watch it on my computer.
The unit also has a feature called "Time Shift" which allows you to pause Live TV and continue watching it. So if you are in the middle of a show and need to leave the room for a moment, you can pause the show and continue watching when you get back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Cut the cable

01/03/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This converter does the job well. I am able to pull in 23 channels as well as record programs I don't want to miss. The unit is worth the cost but with the lower costs there are some concerns. The unit has the tendency to lock up if trying to do to many functions to quickly or if the unit has been powered up for extended periods. Usually just turning the unit off and then back on will fix it but I have had to completely unplug the unit to get it to reset a couple of times. Even with that the money saved and the quality of the picture along with the program guide make the unit well worth the money. I would definitely buy another one if needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great converter box

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted a backup on TV if we lost our connection and purchased this converter and are extremely pleased with the reception and the ease of installation. I am sure some has to do the the antenna, ours is rooftop, but it provides very good reception and I would recommend it to someone who wants to have tv without the contract for other options.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Thrilled by this converter box!!!!!!!!!

08/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1) $32.00; It successfully converts an antenna signal to digital; with outputs for HDMI, or coax, or RCA video connections to an existing TV or projector or computer tuner, and it RECORDS!!!!
2) I have 63 great TV channels 40 miles outside of Dallas. HD channels are crystal clear, and better definition than the cable signal I have had for the last 25 years. I dumped my $140.00 cable bill.
3)Does it have all of the features of a cable box, TIVO, or a DVR?
NO. Its $32.00. Not $450, $250. It's $32.00. It converts. It records. It schedules recordings. It pauses live TV. It Fast forwards. It rewinds. It's Amazing for - I'll say it again; $32.00.
4) Converter box setup, nearly automatic, and intuitive. I'm 60 years old, too. I consider taking off protective plastic covering from electronics intuitive. It's just something you always do. Plug it in, it works. The instruction book is; I'll call it adequate. Not good; adequate. Online, you simply get a PDF of the same adequate instruction book that came with the unit. No additional help. I had problems setting up HDMI. The problem was with the settings on my old flat-screen TV; not with the converter box.
5) Does it have 'Quinky-Dinks?' YES. It's only $32.00.
a) Remember your old VCR? You can only record the TV show you are watching. OK. Most TV's and systems have alternate inputs. So watch Netflix, or HULU, or Internet while you are recording on the tuner.
b) You are watching a show you paused for a while at the same time you scheduled a recording. Oops! You have to choose. Either continue your paused show and cancel the recording; or record the scheduled show, and miss the show you paused. OK. It's $32.00. I'm good with it.
c) Yup, it's hot. My old cable box on 'stand-by' was hotter than this box when 'on.' When this box is on 'stand-by,' it's barely warm.
d) If you schedule a show to record, then turn your box off (put it on 'stand-by,) the scheduled show will not record. OK. I'll leave the box (not TV) on when I have a scheduled recording.
e) The Program guide is not like anything you are used to if you ever had cable or satalite. You will get used to it. There IS a guide.
6) One of the top 3 values in electronics I have ever purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

you get what you pay for!

01/24/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unfortunately this item works more as a regulartv tuner and not a dvr. If your ok with a tv tuner it will do the job. If you want a dvr look else where.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Good cheap PVR

02/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I record TV shows on the Ematic AT103B, it's the size of a paperback book.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

good

02/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the for the cable
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Best features for Price

02/14/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked around and was going to go with a different model, however this one had a lot more such as USB, universal remote capabilities and works with my 15 yr old rabbit ears. I use it on a large 1080p Sony 60" that is about 20 yrs old and it works well with the big stations and some others. Now I am internet and antannae only! I have more stations now than I ever had and some even better than what my Dish had. Initial set up was longer than expected and I thought the remote was a bad one, but after changing the batteries,it worked fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box

02/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to follow directions and I had it set up and working in less than five minutes!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

it's ok

02/22/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I guess this thing is ok I have never had to have anything like this but it seems to do what it claims. the only things about it is remote it can get a little frustrating to use but like I said it does what it says it does.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great Signal, but lag!

02/14/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The system works great, but as said many times before, the manual is very small, and doesn't help much. The first time I turned it on the language was in Spanish, so I has to have my room mate translate the menu in order to change it to English. After that when scanning for channels from a TV provider you must select cable, which is in a whole nother menu.
The picture however is great, not complaints here, and it found every channel that I have access to. I love the idea that I can watch movies off my flash drive, and as far as I can tell it runs many different formats of both videos and music.
With all these great aspects, I am giving this a 4 star rating since the pausing of live TV will freeze the TV for a few seconds, and then when playing with any kind of buffer the video feed will lag, I don't know why, since playing videos doesn't lag at all.
As mentioned in recent reviews the device will tend to freeze up, and become unresponsive, at this point you'll need to unplug it, and start over.
The final complaint is that I'm yet to find out how to record to my flash drive. When the record button is pressed it would seem it is recording what you are watching, however when I stop the recording the video does not show up on the flash drive. Even more so I'm yet to find out how to set a timer for a future event.
I would recommend this device only if you don't want the DVR capabilities, and are perfectly fine with pressing random buttons until you find what you are looking for.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

notamilitarykid1

01/19/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The ematic converter was fine except for the military time and menu for show schedule channels came in clear . Its OK for the kitchen. I will be buying another brand for my bedroom that is more customer friendly.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 631 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  32 Next