Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display and Recording Capabilities allows your TV without a digital tuner to receive new digital broadcasts. It includes an array of features such as programming guides and parental controls to restrict children's access. The analog to digital converter box also comes with a USB connection and is compatible with external SATA drives or flash drives with USB connections. The multimedia playback function is compatible with many different media types. The HD digital converter box comes with a handy remote control. The lightweight box is not much bigger than a hardbound book so it won't take up much space next to your television. The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display also has a popular HDMI connector.
Average Customer Rating:
3.739 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(460 Reviews) 460
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
208
4 stars
114
3 stars
31
2 stars
24
1 star
83
Customer Recommendation75%345 out of 460reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
142 Questions | 489 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
208
4 stars
114
3 stars
31
2 stars
24
1 star
83
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

great program guide, plays video files!

12/27/2013
By ,
dallas, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this converter box. All i wanted was a converter box with a program guide that showed several hours rather than whats showing now and whats on next. This shows whats going to be on several hours ahead. That was my main reason for getting this box. On top of that it records to a usb. The files are large, 3 hours equals close to 16gb for me. I only have a 32 gb drive so i don't know whats the largest drive you can hook up to it. Its fine for me as i only have a few hours i need to record a week. The coolest part for me is that this little converter box has played most of the video files i have tried on it, mp4, avi, divx and even flv. super cool. it also plays jpegs and mp3s to boot. Thinking about getting another one, that's how much i like it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great Tuner Box That RECORDS HD

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for use in my garage , Comcast has encrypted All cable content .I didn't want another box to Just get local news .I have an outside antenna This tuner picked up all the local channels, it has HDMI out for HD reception Alog with ch 3 and ch 4 out for older Analog TV's. The HD out looks great, it also has channel info for whats playing now and next on the channel.The real surprise is the PVR recording like DVR recording capability Its a liitle tricky and the only bad thing I can say about it is that the clock is in 24hour mode only no AM PM .The playback from record is excellent
It records to a USB stick snd it plays a number of video formats from the stick.
For the price this unit cant be beat
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

15 page pdf inst. file

10/09/2014
By ,
montverde, Fla
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To have the 15 page pdf user manual..simply do a google search as ematic at103b and click...once there scroll down to :at103im_eng_size130x185m_ematic. then click on it and the file loads in your computer at at once ,,,,,,,,,,,then save as a pdf file for ever
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Okay but Recording does not work

11/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product in hopes of being able to record programs with the timer. Unfortunately, while it does record, The box does it on its own terms. I have tried several ways to program the timer. The next day all programming is changed with no channel assignments and some recorded programming. I am disappointed. But at the price, I should have known better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Snazzy Little DVR

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This awesome converter box was easy to set up and bring in all the HD TV channels for my brother who is a stroke victim. Now when he needs his quiet time or needs to lie down, his TV has all the shows he enjoys, as well as many news channels. This wonderful unit came in at a lower than in store price and was quick to arrive sooner than expected in the site to store experience. I couldn't be happier and would recommend this product to anyone. The quality of picture is so clear, and the controller operates the volume on the TV too.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

WAY MORE than just a converter box!!!

10/19/2014
By ,
auburn hills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here's a quick Highlights List of the things I like about the unit. I've included a more in-depth description below as well.
1. Is a converter box that allows you to watch broadcast TV on older non-digital TVs.
2. Has a builtin DVR so you can record your favorite TV shows
3. Has a feature called "Timeshift" that allows you to pause Live TV and continue watching.
4. WILL allow you to watch ANY MPG4 video on the device so you can transfer videos from you computer to your TV
5. Shows you what is coming on TV up to 12 hours in advance, including the names of the shows and descriptions.
6. Easily allows you to select the shows you want to record and allows you the option to record the show Once, Daily or Weekly.
I was looking for a converter box that I could connect to my DVD recorder. I no longer subscribe to paid television because I realized that with my other subscriptions like Netflix and Hulu Puss, I was only watching things that came on broadcast TV. The issues was, if something came on and I wasn't around to watch it, I missed the show. So I decided to buy a converter box that I could hook up to my DVD recorder and just program the DVD recorder to record the shows that I wanted to watch. THEN I found this unit! It is an UNBELIEVABLE buy! Not only are you able to connect it to a TV, VCR or DVD recorder and pick up HD broadcasts, but it also has a programable DVR built in! That means that if you connect a hard drive to it, you can program it to record your shows and watch them anytime you want. It also has a feature that will allow you to see a list of shows that will be coming on within the next 12 hours. If you see the show you like, simply scroll to it, click the "Ok" button and you are able to add it to your list of shows that you would like to record AND you can set it to record the show "Daily" or "Weekly." The unit records in GREAT quality! It will even record HD shows in 1080HD. The format that it records the shows in is universal, which means you can actually disconnect your hard drive from the unit, connect it to your computer or laptop and watch what ever shows have been recorded, right on your computer. This comes in handy for people who travel. I simply connect my hard drive to my laptop and copy the shows that I want to watch while I'm on the plane.
I do suggest that you don't try using a USB Flash card to record shows to, as they do not process information quickly enough and you will experience dropped frames, freezing images and other issues. With an external hard drive, even something like a "passport" I have not experienced any problems.
Another awesome feature is, if you copy your home videos and any movies that you may have purchased and downloaded to your hard drive and connect the hard drive back up to the box, you WILL be able to watch them on your TV through the box. For example, I purchased "The Man of Steel" with the Ultra Violet feature, which allows you to download the movie to your computer. I was then able to copy the downloaded video to the hard drive I connect to the Ematic and I was able to watch the movie on my TV instead of being forced to watch it on my computer.
The unit also has a feature called "Time Shift" which allows you to pause Live TV and continue watching it. So if you are in the middle of a show and need to leave the room for a moment, you can pause the show and continue watching when you get back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Defective Product

11/22/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After I connected the converter box, I noticed a loud high pitched humming sound. I contacted the manufacturer and they sent me a replacement. The replacement had no humming noise but would reboot every few minutes. In frustration, I returned the converter box to Walmart and received a refund. I then ordered a slightly more expensive ViewTV brand digital converter box which functioned perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Just what I needed & the price was right!

11/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son was able to set this up for me pretty easily. I receive more channels with this than I did with my old converter that bit the dust after 6 years. I don't know how the recording part works only because I am quite satisfied with its performance for my needs. I am using it in my kitchen for my under counter combination
radio, tv, and CD player ( my GE SpaceSaver ) which is no longer available for sale.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Good Product

01/07/2014
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an older HD-TV without the digital channels. This converter fits the bill. Setup is easy. I wish it had a better TV schedule viewer, but I can work around it. Love the USB feature. I have a 2TB hard drive with old movies on it and can view the movies with no problem. Also, my other TV with digital channels is unable to pick up one local station that broadcast in VHF. The Ematic converter is able to pick up this channel with a great picture. I plan to buy another convert just to watch movies on my hard drive on my other TV. Overall, very well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Buckeye State
Re: Better TV Schedule
Posted 03/04/2014
Check out TitanTV. You can set it up for local OTA and 'your' cable provider schedules up to 2 weeks ahead and it has PVR. All for FREE!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Exceeds expectations! More Channels Than Before!

07/31/2014
By ,
Malcom IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dumped satellite TV about a 1 1/2 years ago and have a 7 year old HDTV; unfortunately, the internal tuner died, and it would cost more to fix the TV than (I felt) it was worth. Was about to purchase a $700 replacement, and had a thought: try a converter box. Had one that was only 480p, so decided to upgrade (back to) the full 1080p experience. Purchased this item from Walmart.com using the FREE ship to store option (awesome!). Brought it home, hooked it up very quickly, and now get more channels than I had with the internal tuner (using same over the air antenna)! I LOVE THIS CONVERTER BOX! The 1080p function works great, and now I can enjoy even more channels than before!
I need to learn how to record shows with it, as that was also a selling point (I do miss my DVR capabilities, but it wasn't worth the cost (just to keep the DVR capabilities of the satellite TV service# and hopefully with this converter box, I will resolve that as well). My TV picture is crisp and clear, the channels have great reception, and I am very happy with this purchase!
My only regret is I wish I had purchased two instead of just one. I have a 2nd HDTV that is working perfectly fine, but if the converter box allows me to receive more channels, it's worth the #tiny) investment to add one to my second TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

my favorite TV mate

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like howI can get clear channels and the fact that I can record shows on my box. Highly recommend this convertor box to all my friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Useful Little Box

11/26/2014
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice to use when you want basic stations and don't want to pay exorbitant fees with a cable/satellite company just to access them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Free tv!

11/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked right out of the box. Found all channels and radio, even with poor antenna. Remote is easy to use and menu options worked well. And GREAT price we
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Very bad converter box

05/09/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first receive this converter box I did not set it up right away I was waiting to received the TV antenna. Well the TV antenna arrival and was defective so I could not use that. I then had to look for and then purchase another antenna. Several weeks have past since I receive it. So I decide to see how the converter box work so I use an antenna I already had. After I set it up I notice that I was not able to get it out of the Menu set up screen. Every time I tried to remove the Menu set up screen it will switch over to the Auto tuning screen. When I tried to remove that screen it go right back to the Menu set up screen and I was not able to get out of that loop, even when I turn the power off and then turn the power back on the Menu screen will still be there. I think this converter box is defective, but I would not recommend this converter box. I suggest you buy another converter box and leave this one along, its not worth the trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Orlando, FL
exit
Posted 05/09/2014
have you tried exit or factory default pass 888888
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 35 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Simply Amazing...

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first we were a bit nervous to get this item. However, after several days of carefully reading others reviews and going to WalMart to ask more questions; we decided to purchase. I must admit it was a little confusing to get the Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities up and running. But thanks to the reviews and helpful information shared it was a breeze. We are extremely satisfied with the product, price and quality. This little gadget is used every day. Thank you to all who left pros & cons info. about the Ematic device.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Another Walmart JUNK

11/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit never worked right from the first time I plugged it in. MegHz frequency lines covered the whole screen. Couldn't even make out the menu. Then it appeared that the "CC" would pop up within two minutes after turning unit on.
I've cut way back on buying Walmart JUNK. Tired of things lasting a very short time. Now I think is a good time to put Walmart on my black list of places not to shop at.
I've NEVER had any problems purchases from K-Mart.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
33458 florida
I have no idea what you are trying to say
Posted 11/23/2014
If the unit is defective, return it. This has nothing to do with Walmart. I have had my ematic for three weeks and am pushing it hard before I do a full review. It is working just fine, so yours is probably a bad one. I am guessing you hooked the composite cables to the component connections on your television. That is why you can't make out the screen.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 37 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

It is working out well for me. Thanks

11/25/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I cannot pick up no CBS channels...I have to go in my daughter's room to watch Criminal Minds on Wednesday Nights. : )
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

converter

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. Will buy another one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

It Works

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does what they say it will do and it works great in my RV.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Not cable compatible

11/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The device found about 1,000 channels and stored them during "auto search" however only about 35 Channels come in. There is no way to remove the remaining 950+ channels without going through manually and removing each channel individually. The devices menu and remote response is VERY slow. Of the 35 channels left, only about 5 are the normal channels CBS, Fox, KPBS... I get basic cable coming in through the wall when connected directly to my TV and I figured the device would at least pick up those channels. It does not.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 460 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  23 Next