Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display and Recording Capabilities allows your TV without a digital tuner to receive new digital broadcasts. It includes an array of features such as programming guides and parental controls to restrict children's access. The analog to digital converter box also comes with a USB connection and is compatible with external SATA drives or flash drives with USB connections. The multimedia playback function is compatible with many different media types. The HD digital converter box comes with a handy remote control. The lightweight box is not much bigger than a hardbound book so it won't take up much space next to your television. The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display also has a popular HDMI connector.
Average Customer Rating:
3.645 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(571 Reviews) 571
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
247
4 stars
138
3 stars
39
2 stars
30
1 star
117
Customer Recommendation73%416 out of 571reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
163 Questions | 502 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
247
4 stars
138
3 stars
39
2 stars
30
1 star
117
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Quite a good item with a couple let downs

09/07/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've owned this box for about 3 weeks now. The 4 and 5 star ratings are correct. It works nice and has some nice menu choices. Two things were a let down: keypad is a bit too small. Buttons are too close and trigger a bit too easily. Hitting button 2 doubles it to 22 if not real quick in letting go of the button. The graphics on screen and in the manual book are kind of rough. The photos in manual are printed small and B&W. Hard to see what the pictures are showing. Several things are terrific compared to my 10 year old Philips (the worst). It has the ability to program channel changes and show times if you are not going to be home. These can then be downloaded onto a flashdrive or other digital memory device as there is a port for this. Cables to hook it to say an older VCR or, I think, for radio, are included. I don't think the few drawbacks are enough to give it less than 4 stars. I do like it. It'd be great if they retooled for a larger controller and spiffed up the manual. Unless there is a way, I can't change clock from being a 24 hr type; 23:30 is 11:30 PM. 17:00 is 5 o'clock PM. This will get easier over time. Mark
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Works Great

01/28/2014
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hooked this up with a $20 RCA OTA Antenna and I get 10 channels and they are all 100% clear. I love that you can hook up a thumb drive to the USB and record shows. I would recommend this to anyone looking to receive OTA programming.
I cut the cord from cable and have internet only. I have netflix / hulu / amazon prime to connect the gap. I really only wanted the basic channels for live sporting events when they are available locally and for the news. Especially if there are live weather feeds from time to time. Otherwise, cable is overpriced and this box works great.
If you want to know what channels you can get in your area you can get information on http://wwww.antennaweb.org. This is an accurate source to let you know what kind of antenna you will need and what you can expect to pick up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hi
Posted 03/20/2014
Thanks for your review. What internet service do you have? I'm interesting in cutting out cable tv too but internet costs seem so high. THX
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 23 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

great program guide, plays video files!

12/27/2013
By ,
dallas, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this converter box. All i wanted was a converter box with a program guide that showed several hours rather than whats showing now and whats on next. This shows whats going to be on several hours ahead. That was my main reason for getting this box. On top of that it records to a usb. The files are large, 3 hours equals close to 16gb for me. I only have a 32 gb drive so i don't know whats the largest drive you can hook up to it. Its fine for me as i only have a few hours i need to record a week. The coolest part for me is that this little converter box has played most of the video files i have tried on it, mp4, avi, divx and even flv. super cool. it also plays jpegs and mp3s to boot. Thinking about getting another one, that's how much i like it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Converter box performs at expected

01/20/2014
By ,
Kenosha, Wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The converter does what it says it does. I read the reviews before purchasing this item, and I think the 4 star rate is right and fair. I was surprised at how easy installation and setup was. Manual could be a bit more comprehensive and remote is not the best you will ever have. Nevertheless, I get my OTI channels just fine. I have 2 tv's and I am using a splitter to share my digital antenna. The converter box is being used on my 18 years old tv. I also use a signal amplifier and reception is great for both tv's. I have not used the USB recording capabilities yet, so I cannot judge. I am particularly pleased with the program guide and program information available with the press of a button. I do not think I could not ask for more for the $30 that I paid for this item. I ordered online and used the Free pickup from a Walmart store. No problems with delivery date or pickup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Converter-less

01/27/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't need a recording DTV Converter but it was the lowest priced one anywhere since hardly anybody sells these anymore. Finally got to see some TV after months of silence, my previous converter just stopped working. Most importantly, missed the final episodes of my novelas. I have tried repeatedly to get the local PBS stations, all 4 of them, and it will not pick them up for some reason. One of my favorite channels and I can't see it! Anyway, does the job decently for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

more than a converter

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this little puppy because my old converter in bedroom finally broke down. I have lcd big screen I only watch at night. Well let me just say I was expecting the same features, this has so much more. First it was very user friendly, The usb port is in the front which makes it quite easy to use. I Just stick in the flash drive in usb and program it to record any show. You can watch it later or with the multi media function you can see any photos you may have recorded on a usb flash drive. great device for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The device works as advertised

05/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After I received the device and read through the instruction, it took less than 20 minutes to scan the channels, and to display the TV programs. The timer/recording function was tested and it worked. With an 8GB flash drive, it should be good for more than 5 hours of recording. So it can be used as a cheap/basic DVR. There are several things that can be improved. If it is connected to an old TV, it is difficult to read the on screen menu display because of poor resolution. The channel display on the device shows the position of the channel in the list of available channels, and it is not helpful. It should display the actual TV channel number. The device can become hot when it is used for a long time. It is better to set it up in a vertical position to attain good heat dissipation. Considering the price, it is a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

You get what you pay for!

01/28/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It seemed to be very interesting at the beginning but when I used it I noticed the picture quality is poor (and I was comparing this unit with an old Zenith) but truth be told it has amazing features! If you are not much picky about the quality, this is the unit for you but if you are I'd suggest to pass on it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Better than Cable

01/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best tv converter of all plus it has recording capabilities!! Perfect for my grandchildren, when visiting, parental control is great!! This is a dream come true for my guess bedrooms!!!!!!! Thank you very much!!!!!!! Walmart.com is a blessing in more ways than one!!!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great box for not a lot of money

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this converter box to replace one that was 6+ years old and was on the downside of its life. The Ematic box is a great replacement, and a real value. It was easy to connect and set up, and pulls in more channels than the old one. I have this on a small screen in the kitchen, am seriously considering disconnecting the cable on my larger screen in the family room and going with the converter box and cable. Would definitely recommend this to a friend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Ematic AT103 Converter Box

01/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works as advertised. Lots of options. Intuitive operation. I use it to receive over the air TV and the reception is as I expected. It has been in use for a couple of weeks.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Can use my analog TV again

01/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not tried all the extra features on this converter yet, but it works well to receive the local stations and was very to set up.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Died after 30 days of minimal use

01/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was easy to setup. However after less than 30 days it stopped working. Nothing changed as far as how it was set up. I only used it occasionally, so i am returning it for a different model.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great deal

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product for the price is a very good buy. It works really well in my area(Dallas) and I get 76 channels which include a few movie channels.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Not worth the money

01/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product based on reviews but was very disappointed I will be returning it. The instructions are very hard to follow.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Save your money

01/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money. Doesn't work. Plan to return.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

This converter can record, see picture, see movies

01/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This converter can record, see picture, see movies and listening the music. If you have hidensity TV, you may set up to 1080p . It is easy to use. I will ecord my favorite TV show when I have to go somewhere. It is great so far.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Converter Box

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a little trouble understanding how to get going with this, but after going through the book and just pretty much figuring things out on my own it was fine. I do like the fact that you can record a movie on this converter box with a usb.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

I should have believed the poor reviews!

12/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hooked it up and was amazed at how great it worked and what a clear picture. A couple of days later I was going to set it to record a program and I was amazed at how bad the picture was. The only good thing about this was Walmart's return policy.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Nice features, lousy quality control.

02/02/2014
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The good news is that this box has a lot of good features. It has an excellent guide, it can play mp3s and many video formats from the usb port, and it can record video to a USB drive.
The bad news is doing these things is awkward, due to poor software and bad remote design. The remote has 41 buttons crammed into a few square inches, making it very difficult to use. Both the manual and the on screen display have errors. There are no quality options for recording, which means that recording video from the higher resolution stations takes up a lot of space. If you plan on recording video, you'll need a very large USB drive.
The unit I got went bad a few hours after I received it. It started rebooting itself after being plugged in for a hour or so. It would not restart until it had been unplugged for a while, so I assume it was overheating.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 571 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next