Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display and Recording Capabilities allows your TV without a digital tuner to receive new digital broadcasts. It includes an array of features such as programming guides and parental controls to restrict children's access. The analog to digital converter box also comes with a USB connection and is compatible with external SATA drives or flash drives with USB connections. The multimedia playback function is compatible with many different media types. The HD digital converter box comes with a handy remote control. The lightweight box is not much bigger than a hardbound book so it won't take up much space next to your television. The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display also has a popular HDMI connector.
Average Customer Rating:
3.731 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(238 Reviews) 238
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
66
3 stars
18
2 stars
8
1 star
44
Customer Recommendation77%183 out of 238reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
68 Questions | 222 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
66
3 stars
18
2 stars
8
1 star
44
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Very happy, USB port is the unsung hero....

12/17/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a low cost, digital to analog device since I just cut the cord to cable. What I missed most about cable was the DVR. This converter was the only one which let you download over the air broadcast directly to an external hard drive. It is not as great as a true DVR but I am very happy to come home and watch things I recorded over the air earlier in the day. Long term, I think I will buy another one so I can record more shows.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Not sure yet but lean negative

03/16/2014
By ,
whitehall pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this to serve as a recorder of OTA as all my tvs are HD tvs with Rokus. Hulu Plus is a bummer to pay for commercials and I'm starting to hate Hulu plus because of that.
Wife Likes General Hospital, which is on HP, but by the time she has a weeks worth on queue, it takes forever to get through on HP.
Enter this product which it would seeem would be a great product. Funny thing is it seems to tape everything I program, but GH! which is 2-4 EST on 4.1. When I get home the Ematic is still on and the flash drive slow throbbing blink. I reformatted the usb to use NTS not. Formatted it on Ematic and it flips back and forth between nts and fat 32.
I had such high hopes for this thing. Im giving it another week, and gettting a new 64gb flash drive and if it continues I will return it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Only lasted 2 days!

03/09/2014
By ,
Long Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very excited to find a converter that had recording abilities at such a great price. The basic set up is as easy as any converter, but I will agree with other reviews that the instruction manual doesn't have very much information, especially on troubleshooting. The very first day, we noticed that the pic quality was better than our previous converters & it seemed to lack any of the typical picture distortion/pixelating problems that occur when there's signal interference. However, it would suddenly go to the black start up screen with the Ematic logo, losing the picture & sound for a few moments, we thought perhaps it was programmed to do this when it was trying to reconnect with the signal. Then it became more frequent and longer. We tried moving the antenna, hoping it would stop, and we repeatedly ran channel scans. We noticed it would say "boot" on the LED, so we thought it needed to reboot. So we turned it off and on, even unplugged it. Finally, when we tried again to rescan, it repeatedly failed to find any channels and eventually froze. We hoped that the remote had just stopped working, so we changed the batteries, nothing. I finally gave up and pushed the power button, it wouldn't shut off until I unplugged it! So we are beyond disappointed, but actually it was so bad, it became funny " How much worse could this get?!" I know sometimes you can just get a defective unit, so we will return this one and give another a try...but I worry that these are known to be problematic and that's why Walmart has them on clearance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

SWEET!

12/26/2013
By ,
Brookville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The HDMI and the USB are great! It wasn't hard to set up at all. It does what it says it should. I just received it today and have only had it a couple of hours but so far so good. I tested the usb recording mode a couple of times. It will turn on to record but I don't think it turns itself off. The instructions aren't too informative on in depth questions. I can't figure out how to work the clock! A minor set back. Overall I'm pleased with this product and my purchase another.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great box for dtv

12/25/2013
By ,
modesto ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is great to record shows the only thing is the time clock it shows it in military time. Not regulary time.is great tuner for hdtv tvs with hdmi out. Awesome!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

I'm only dissapointed with the instructions.

01/08/2014
By ,
Waukesha, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does a lot, but it could have better instructions for it's capabilities, which are very good. I do not need a splitter when it is off. The signal will go thru to the TV when off. To AV when on for recording.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
Just what I needed to know...
Posted 01/10/2014
Thanks for providing the info on analog-pass-thru / loop-thru when powered-off. That's a big problem with most other boxes of this type. Seems to be very little information out there on this box, so I've got to depend on other user reviews.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Get this converter box best value

02/14/2014
By ,
huntington WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the Pivos Aios is the one you want if you have the loot to burn. But for 37 buck you can't pass on Ematic AT103B converter box. The RCA box like this is ok but cost $10+ more and you can't record live tv, play mp3 file and movies. (free like DVR) The AT103B also has some games, not anything awesome but you get Tetris and others may come along with future updates. You get options with 3 types of output-- hdmi - cable - RCA. you push a button on the remote and go to up to 1080i. If you have an older HD ready TV like me, this will bring it back to life. enjoy all the over the air programing. add a HTPC or google tv and you can cancel your cable or dish service. Excellent value....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Good enough for the price

02/18/2014
By ,
Southeastern, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It works as it says. The user interface is a bit cumbersome and not as smooth as another converter box I own. You have to play with it quite a bit to figure out the navigation for the features. The manual is not very useful for getting around. The recording function is not as user friendly as other devices, but it does what it says it does. Scheduling a recording has been hit or miss. Though, I'm not sure if this has more to do with my old external hard drive or what. There should be an option to record at a lower resolution for standard television. Each recording eats up a lot of disk space. Lastly, it's a bit annoying that in order to see the schedule in the program guide for different channels you have to change the channel. It would also be nice if the program guide didn't cover the entire screen or if it was at least partially transparent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Very Nice Digital Converter Box + DVR

12/26/2013
By ,
Midlothian, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with the DVR features. The picture is nice and clean. The EPG is better than the HD televisions I have. It is also much easier to record programs than the old VCRs I have used in the past.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Setup is very simple

02/16/2014
By ,
Griffin, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup is very simple and much like the old VCR's programming. Got a $20 rabbit ear antenna from Walmart and a thumb drive for $13 and I am all set. The picture is better with the rabbit ear antenna than my cable provider. Purchased this box for my Mom who uses a convertor box to record her soaps when she works. You have to remember to leave that box on - not this one. You have to remember to leave the old convertor box on the channel you want to record - not this one. Recording and playing back what you record is so simple. I highly recommend this to anyone who does not use cable and wants to record anything.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Good value. Some cost more. Works well enough.

03/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price is lower than most in-store items at different merchants. I don't know what all these devices are capable of doing. I just wanted something that could get the local broadcast channels. I also purchased "rabbit ears" for $12.00 to work with it. I now get digital picture of local on-air broadcast for free. I have to move the antennea sometimes. Still much cheaper than $6.99 per month my cable TV company requires for a box for each TV in addition to the package cost. I have large house with nine TV's. I have four TV's on the cable system and I have three of these converter boxes. I will probably by more converters and move the cable boxes and these boxes around the house as needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great product

01/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This converter box is so much better than the one we previously owned. It was easy to set up and even gets a couple of extra channels that we didn't get before. Haven't tried out the recording feature yet. Looking forward to utilizing that soon. Would recommend this product to anyone looking for a new converter box. Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Didn't work

01/27/2014
By ,
Silver Spring
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hooked it up and ran the channel scan (or thought I did) but I got nothing but snow. I was trying to replace a converter/tuner that was twice as expensive but it didn't work out. The other tuner brought in several channels very clearly but this one didn't bring in anything. There is a chance that I had it hooked up wrong but I don't think so since I am successfully using the other. I couldn't even bring up the menus.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly

01/23/2014
By ,
Hill Country, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good concept, poor execution. As noted in other reviews, when it was first plugged in the screen said "BOOT". Nothing in the manual addresses this issue. Unplugging the unit and then plugging it back in reset it somehow, so that channels could then be found. (Unfortunately, this has to be done frequently.) Once this was accomplished, the picture was amazingly better than our previous converter box. BUT it sometimes takes 20-30 minutes before the picture will even come on. And when we finally got around to trying the USB connection for recording...dead as a door nail. Zip, nada, nothing. No connection. We tried several different USB flash drives with no success. And the kicker is that the firmware update has to be done via the USB port. So, it's better than nothing, but not half what it claims to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

disappointed first time tryer

01/14/2014
By ,
Gardena, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I both 2 because of the price. Great price. I wanted to record from my analog VCR. The first one I connected on my HDTV, The remote never worked. I installed fresh batt., it still never worked. The second one I installed on my wifes HDTV, for the same purpose. When I turned on the box, the word "BOOT" appeared, it never went away, the box never worked. Easy connection but not very good operation. I know a combination as this works, I have been using this combination for years. Now I just have to find a reliable box. This is not it. My VCR will only record analog signals. I should add, I did switch remotes, the channel switching on the box is VERY slow.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great Little Box

02/01/2014
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was so easy to set up and well worth the price of admission. I had looked at others that were higher priced and even purchased one. It was double the price and didn't work any better than this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great Digital Converter Box

01/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you absolutely, positively have to watch over the air tv channels this box is for you, easy to install and setup, and instantly you are going to have on your hands some features similar to expensive tv service (cable, satellite), like pause real time tv, recording, fast forward and rewind. Another pleasant surprise: because I don't have right now a high capacity flash drive, I decided to connect my mp3 player to the usb port and found that besides watching tv I can listen to music and see pictures in the player through this little magic digital converter box. And on top of all of this, it's cheap. The only concern one can have is the reliability of this converter, I just bought it so, I can't have an opinion on that, only time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

great buy

02/01/2014
By ,
Toledo, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cut our cable. This is a great alternative when paired with Netflix and hulu.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great Product for viewing local TV programs!

12/11/2013
By ,
North Fort Myers, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you follow the directions, setup is easy. If you do not, it can be frustrating.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great Value just a few improvements for perfection

03/10/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall for the price I'm more than satisfied with this purchase. Super sharp picture, the recording is a major bonus for us and works great. The guide is much better than our old unit showing a least a day or two of programming around here.
There are a few minor things that I would love to see improved(more annoying than unusable).
*Remote is not the most sensitive, so you need to aim it at the box, no bouncing off the walls.
*USB port on the front is great for quick removal, but longer/larger pen drives block the remote signal a bit(I recommend those tiny pen drives the size of the jack).
*Changing the picture aspect ratio should have it's own button on the remote, going in to the menu to change it can get annoying. Around here it seems the auto is never correct(I blame the TV stations around here because it happens on all the boxes I've tried).
*Time is in 24hr format which is fine for me but may confuse others and currently can't be changed.
*I would love to change the recording resolution to help reduce storage space required.
FYI for anyone interested I would recommend a USB 3.0 pen drive. We're currently using a USB 2.0 drive and fast action scenes tend to skip a few seconds every now and then because it can't keep up.
For the price you really can't beat it. Well, worth putting up with a few imperfections.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 238 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next