Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display and Recording Capabilities allows your TV without a digital tuner to receive new digital broadcasts. It includes an array of features such as programming guides and parental controls to restrict children's access. The analog to digital converter box also comes with a USB connection and is compatible with external SATA drives or flash drives with USB connections. The multimedia playback function is compatible with many different media types. The HD digital converter box comes with a handy remote control. The lightweight box is not much bigger than a hardbound book so it won't take up much space next to your television. The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display also has a popular HDMI connector.
Average Customer Rating:
3.606 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(734 Reviews) 734
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
309
4 stars
176
3 stars
53
2 stars
43
1 star
153
Customer Recommendation72%526 out of 734reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
203 Questions | 517 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
309
4 stars
176
3 stars
53
2 stars
43
1 star
153
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The device works as advertised

05/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After I received the device and read through the instruction, it took less than 20 minutes to scan the channels, and to display the TV programs. The timer/recording function was tested and it worked. With an 8GB flash drive, it should be good for more than 5 hours of recording. So it can be used as a cheap/basic DVR. There are several things that can be improved. If it is connected to an old TV, it is difficult to read the on screen menu display because of poor resolution. The channel display on the device shows the position of the channel in the list of available channels, and it is not helpful. It should display the actual TV channel number. The device can become hot when it is used for a long time. It is better to set it up in a vertical position to attain good heat dissipation. Considering the price, it is a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Quick fix

06/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My cable guy broke off the cable connection on the back of the TV so the Ematic was a quick and easy fix keeping my digital signal coax to HDMI now I have 4 remotes PS3,Sound system, TV and now the Ematic Hee Hee.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Exceeds expectations! More Channels Than Before!

07/31/2014
By ,
Malcom IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dumped satellite TV about a 1 1/2 years ago and have a 7 year old HDTV; unfortunately, the internal tuner died, and it would cost more to fix the TV than (I felt) it was worth. Was about to purchase a $700 replacement, and had a thought: try a converter box. Had one that was only 480p, so decided to upgrade (back to) the full 1080p experience. Purchased this item from Walmart.com using the FREE ship to store option (awesome!). Brought it home, hooked it up very quickly, and now get more channels than I had with the internal tuner (using same over the air antenna)! I LOVE THIS CONVERTER BOX! The 1080p function works great, and now I can enjoy even more channels than before!
I need to learn how to record shows with it, as that was also a selling point (I do miss my DVR capabilities, but it wasn't worth the cost (just to keep the DVR capabilities of the satellite TV service# and hopefully with this converter box, I will resolve that as well). My TV picture is crisp and clear, the channels have great reception, and I am very happy with this purchase!
My only regret is I wish I had purchased two instead of just one. I have a 2nd HDTV that is working perfectly fine, but if the converter box allows me to receive more channels, it's worth the #tiny) investment to add one to my second TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

disappionted

06/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item works but it doesn't work as well as others. I bought this one to put on the TV in the spare bedroom but put it on the TV in the living room and move the one I had to the spare room. I figured the new one would be better than the one I already had. I was wrong. This unit changed the color of the broadcast and even after adjusting the picture it still was an awful picture. I moved the older unit back to the living room and hope anyone that visits doesn't want to watch too much television.....LOL
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Best DTV tuner that I have used

04/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: This is the third digital television tuner that I have bought. (Before this one, I bought the Apex DT250, which is glitchy, and the Tivax STB-T8, which is good.) The Ematic AT103B tuner's ability to receive weak signals is the best that I know of. I use it with a TERK Amplified Indoor HDTV Antenna and can watch all of the stations in my area. The weakest station that I can receive broadcasts from 30 miles away with 21.8 kW on channel 7. This tuner features HDMI output, and for HD broadcasts, the picture quality from the HDMI output is better than the picture quality from the composite output, as one would expect. The menus have plenty of options.
Cons: The remote control's battery door locking tab broke on the first day of using it, so the remote already needs tape to keep the battery door on. Sometimes, two lines of closed-captioning text are displayed right on top of each other.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

A great little box!

05/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some of the reviews I was skeptical about purchasing this box. I did some research regarding the other boxes I was considering,and discovered while they all have their quirks, it comes down to how much you want to spend,and what you expect to get for your investment.
The box is very easy to set up. I paired it with the $10.00 RCA rabbit ears antenna, which also was easy to set up.
I did notice some complaints voiced by consumers regarding this box. I'd like to address some of these complaints with my experiences so far:
1.The box gets very hot with constant use. My solution was to purchase a small fan from Walmart called a Chill Out. It can be plugged into a laptop USB port or to a standard USB electrical power adapter and then plugged into an electrical outlet. I have tie Chill Out sitting next to the converter box and it keeps it cool to the touch.
2. I did test the recording capability of the unit using an 8GB flash drive just to see the quality of the picture. I was quite impressed, and plan to buy a larger flash drive for further testing. I am also considering purchasing a portable hard drive to check out the picture clarity as well.
3. The EPG (Electronic Program Guide) is a hit and miss. I have seen the overlapped episode guides which can be annoying and at times difficult to make sense of. I discovered by pressing the EPG button twice and/or in combination with the INFO key, the guides correct themselves. After performing those things, you can scroll down one by one and read what each episode is about.
4. Military time is used rather than the way the time is set that we've all become accustomed to. A simple way to figure out the time when trying to set up to record a program is as follows:
12 midnight is 0000
1 am is 0100
2 am is 0200
3 am is 0300
4 am is 0400
5 am is 0500
6 am is 0600
7 am is 0700
8 am is 0800
9 am is 0900
10 am is 1000
11 am is 1100
12 noon is 1200
1 pm is 1300
2 pm is 1400
3 pm is 1500
4 pm is 1600
5 pm is 1700
6 pm is 1800
7 pm is 1900
8 pm is 2000
9 pm is 2100
10 pm is 2200
11 pm is 2300
Hope all this info helps As for me, I'm happy with my purchase.Oh FYI, I did purchase the additional coverage just in case I do experience any problems down the road, but so far it has been a trouble free experience.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

good product

06/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to hook up, easy to use. I've had it hooked up about two weeks and working great. Haven't tried the recording yet. Only thing I wish I would've thought of or wish it would've came with is a short cable that went from the box to the tv. It does not come with this, you'll need the antenna cable coming in and a short box to TV cable. Good picture and sound quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Love It!

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mostly using the USB port to play movies, Everything else works great as well!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great Deal!

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

5 Stars

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cannot believe how well this works for recording live TV! I'm not a tech-minded person, but this device was easy to set up and I had it going in about 10 minutes. Best of all, I can save the shows I record and watch them any time I wish! The HDMI port is also a great option for me, too, so I can get Hi-Definition video. 5 stars!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

works great

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works as advertised
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Excellent

06/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent screen recorder. The ability to record straight to the computer is the reason why I bought this recorder. I highly recommend this recorder if you're into sharing your recordings among your digital devices and also for storage purposes.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Perfect for recording TV to Computer

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this so I could record TV to my computer. I find it easier and more compatible with my other electronic devices if I record to my computer. Then I can put the video content I record onto my smartphone and watch it on the train in to work. Really convenient and easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great product

06/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works well and for the price it"s great, wouldn't change a thing
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Converter box performs at expected

01/20/2014
By ,
Kenosha, Wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The converter does what it says it does. I read the reviews before purchasing this item, and I think the 4 star rate is right and fair. I was surprised at how easy installation and setup was. Manual could be a bit more comprehensive and remote is not the best you will ever have. Nevertheless, I get my OTI channels just fine. I have 2 tv's and I am using a splitter to share my digital antenna. The converter box is being used on my 18 years old tv. I also use a signal amplifier and reception is great for both tv's. I have not used the USB recording capabilities yet, so I cannot judge. I am particularly pleased with the program guide and program information available with the press of a button. I do not think I could not ask for more for the $30 that I paid for this item. I ordered online and used the Free pickup from a Walmart store. No problems with delivery date or pickup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Perfect!

06/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed something inexpensive and dependable to record live TV for my favorite shows, and I found this online. I checked it out in store and was very impressed with how well it worked, and also how easy it was to set up. Very pleased : )
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great!

06/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This recorder is the perfect size for my entertainment system. It's small enough that it doesn't stick out, and it doesn't get in the way. I really like the way it works and records live TV. The HDMI port is super handy, too.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Overall pleased

06/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great at pulling in stations. A little slow to Boot up and my only VHF station is fuzzy when first on. Can make this one station clear by upping to a different channel and then backing down. Not sure why. Taped some TV onto a portable hard drive and it turned out good. Good Value for the Price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

A big disappointment

06/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It does not have the ports that can be used.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Emetic AT 10 30 digital converter box

06/12/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have to reboot after about 1 2 hrs of use because the box freezes and the remote has no effect on the box, to be sure it was not the batteries, I changed them and found that the second box I purchased did the same thing after about 12 hrs of use . Also I am unable to program a 24 hr time format on either box . The recording program on both boxes records several minutes before the program I want to watch and stops several minutes before the end, this is both frustrating and disappointing.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 734 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  37 Next