Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display and Recording Capabilities allows your TV without a digital tuner to receive new digital broadcasts. It includes an array of features such as programming guides and parental controls to restrict children's access. The analog to digital converter box also comes with a USB connection and is compatible with external SATA drives or flash drives with USB connections. The multimedia playback function is compatible with many different media types. The HD digital converter box comes with a handy remote control. The lightweight box is not much bigger than a hardbound book so it won't take up much space next to your television. The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display also has a popular HDMI connector.
Average Customer Rating:
3.756 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(369 Reviews) 369
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
163
4 stars
96
3 stars
28
2 stars
21
1 star
61
Customer Recommendation76%279 out of 369reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
117 Questions | 444 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
163
4 stars
96
3 stars
28
2 stars
21
1 star
61
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

GREAT for the price

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This turned out to be the best in the market for me. I was receiving close to 23 channels with my Winegard Flatwave Antenna and now I get 51 channels with my Winegard Flatwave Antenna and the Ematic Converter Box. It was very easy to setup and the picture is very sharp without any pixilation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Good Product

01/07/2014
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an older HD-TV without the digital channels. This converter fits the bill. Setup is easy. I wish it had a better TV schedule viewer, but I can work around it. Love the USB feature. I have a 2TB hard drive with old movies on it and can view the movies with no problem. Also, my other TV with digital channels is unable to pick up one local station that broadcast in VHF. The Ematic converter is able to pick up this channel with a great picture. I plan to buy another convert just to watch movies on my hard drive on my other TV. Overall, very well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Buckeye State
Re: Better TV Schedule
Posted 03/04/2014
Check out TitanTV. You can set it up for local OTA and 'your' cable provider schedules up to 2 weeks ahead and it has PVR. All for FREE!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 23 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Needs improvement

09/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The instruction manual is impossible. It makes absolutely no sense. Poorly written. The words on the screens and the manual are much too small to read. The cable box gives military time on the screen instead of regular time. The cable box when on is super hot. My guess is that this is going to cause it to burnout sooner than later. It doesn't pick up radio stations as it should and the remote doesn't light up. Unless you get familiar with the buttons without looking it's hard to use in the dark. Will never buy this again unless improvements are seriously made.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

My 1st Ematic box

09/30/2014
By ,
Philadelphia Pa,
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only had it set up for 2 days and so far i love it great great product,and best thing of all i have no monthly cable bill.Thank You Ematic.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Over the air ONLY

10/01/2014
By ,
98030
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This box does not work with Comcast
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great Digital box!

09/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good price when your looking for TV and not wanting to pay these cable companies a fortune!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

LOVE IT --

07/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This box is awesome and I am one of the biggest skeptics around (hence my 1st review).
Set-up took some time-but I was partly to blame --I have a 60" Vizio and used the yellow/red/white RCA jacks--my box kept showing BOOT as well until I switched the input on the television to "component" - once I did that, the menu screen was right there! People are right--the manual does not go into depth, but the onscreen menu is pretty much intuitive--large picture icons and up/down arrows to get to sub-menu's -- you can figure most of it out with minor guidance.
I had to fiddle with the antenna and scan, scan scan to get all of the channels I was expecting (about 20). The HD picture is awesome!! I purchased a 64gb USB in anticipation and was recording tv shows that night (with plenty of space). Playback was easy and picture/sound was great--just like a DVR, you can skip thru commercials. You can "time-shift" live TV also without recording, but I gotta play with that function more to get comfortable.
Make sure you remove the shrink wrap that covers the top vents. I didn't notice it for hours, and it could have cost me! When you are not watching tv or recording, place the box in stand-by (red button) to help preserve it. It can still record shows in standby.
Any other nuances with this machine are minor and/or negligible for the price point
(the "Channel Master" DVR is $250)-this is absolutely bang for buck! As a matter of fact--I just placed my order again for a second box (before they sell-out) so that I can record shows on a TV in a different room. Highly reccomend!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EDIT UPDATE--BUY THE WARRANTY!!
Posted 09/04/2014
Ok, so I have had this about a month or so and all was going well with recordings, watching tv etc...until this week, the tuner started acting up. Specifically, the color looks like it is fading/changing no matter what channel I turn to. Everything looks orange/grey and slightly distorted. At first I thought it was my reception, or worse the tv, until I disconnected the box and plugged straight into my tv. The picture was perfect. I am disappointed, but for the price point, not totally upset. I did buy the warranty thank god, so we shall see what happens. I will update. Also I purchased a second box, so crossing my fingers on that one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 28 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

PVR on the Cheap

09/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is perfect one car install HDMI plus it records Anything on a USB or External sub hard drive. I paid $32.99. Crazy and cheap!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

easy to set up

09/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow....free tv!!!! All you need is a converter box (analog tv) and a antenna, (indoor, looks like a room freshner) that is all you need. No monthly cable bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great reception

09/23/2014
By ,
Oak Creek
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being so far from TV towers got bad reception with old unit, this unit picks up even when reception is not so good and keeps TV reception going, a lot less station cutting out and staying out, it does go out still but only for a second not minutes like old unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great for what it is

09/26/2014
By ,
Paterson, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was simple to hook-up and works just fine. It is worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

I can't say enough

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product! I like to think of it as a poor man's DVR. It is really has surpassed my expectations by far. The price to me is ridiculous. I mean this little box is packed with features. I recorded the ball game last weekend expecting that there would be a problem, but no. It started to record on time and stop the whole nine yards you know. Played back the game at my leisure and it was perfect! Just a great product! Good stuff. Also as usual Walmart came through great. I got my order with site to store . Right on time as promised. Good stuff!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

easy to set up

09/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this convert is very easy to set up and works great..has every thing .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Worked great right out the box.

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After turning the television on I didn't see the screen shown on the instructions.Once I manually turned the television to channel three which I had the converter box on it worked great.
Happy with my purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Awesome

09/22/2014
By ,
Hardinsburg, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heck yeah, record shows, thank you! I work third shift so I miss most of the shows I like, but now I can watch them when I'm ready, tack on $13 for the memory sick and your ready to go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

could not get it setup

09/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I lacked the proper cable wires to set up so could only get 1 station.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Defective Product - Poor Customer Service from Ema

07/28/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased an Ematic AT103B converter box online from Walmart.com. I connected it IAW the owner's manual. When I pressed the Power button, the LED indicator showed four dashes:
----
then, the word:
boot
I waited ten plus minutes. The converter box did not output any video or audio. I checked the connections twice and tried to start the box several times without success. I sent Ematic's customer support an e-mail and called their customer support line. Three days later, they sent an e-mail telling me the unit was defective:
"Dear customer,
It appears that your unit may be defective. In order to process your replacement, please reply with the following information: "
I sent them the information via e-mail. No reply. 11 Days later, after another e-mail and phone call, they finally send me an RMA number and with the following "5. Your replacement device will be shipped within 4 - 6 weeks from the date it is logged into our system." That replacement timeframe for a defective product is completely unacceptable.
I returned the box to the nearest Walmart store and got an immediate, complete refund with no hassle/no delays.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Not defective--I did that also
Posted 08/01/2014
You had your tv on the wrong input (channel).....When the converter screen shows those dashes it means the converter menu screen is on, but you had your TV set on the wrong "input" so you couldn't see it...input is the button on your Tv remote that tells the box where the signal is coming from...In other words.. It's the same way you have to switch the tv to watch a VCR/dvd movie or play a video game.......mine did the same thing....I thought was defective too-and kept showing boot or those dashes every time I would press the menu button--until I switched my Tv input to "component" and VOILA the converter box menu screen was right there--but if your stomped with switching tv input--then this box may be challenging
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 38 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Works as expected

09/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A little difficult to set for the electronically challenged first time user. Instructions a little vague.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Not user friendly

09/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not user friendly, no universal remote and clock is only in military time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

great converter box

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a good converter box but not for my location, I couldn't pick up all the channels that I could with my old one! I wanted this one because of the USB/recording abilities.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 369 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next