Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display and Recording Capabilities allows your TV without a digital tuner to receive new digital broadcasts. It includes an array of features such as programming guides and parental controls to restrict children's access. The analog to digital converter box also comes with a USB connection and is compatible with external SATA drives or flash drives with USB connections. The multimedia playback function is compatible with many different media types. The HD digital converter box comes with a handy remote control. The lightweight box is not much bigger than a hardbound book so it won't take up much space next to your television. The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display also has a popular HDMI connector.
Average Customer Rating:
3.598 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(642 Reviews) 642
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
269
4 stars
154
3 stars
49
2 stars
32
1 star
138
Customer Recommendation72%461 out of 642reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
186 Questions | 506 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
269
4 stars
154
3 stars
49
2 stars
32
1 star
138
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Probl-Ematic

03/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After wasting many hours of trying to make this Probl-Ematic work, I finally have given up! I have setup many of these dtv converter boxes for friends and family and this unit is, by far, the worst I have ever seen. Walmart was nice enough to replace the initial bad unit, but it was a waste of both of our time, travel, gas and energy. These units do NOT perform as advertised .. reboots, lock-ups, lost channel listings, etc. The video is sub-par at best and cannot be corrected ! I thank Walmart for their prompt and polite assistance, but it is my judgment that this product needs to be removed from their store ASAP.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Nice features, lousy quality control.

02/02/2014
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The good news is that this box has a lot of good features. It has an excellent guide, it can play mp3s and many video formats from the usb port, and it can record video to a USB drive.
The bad news is doing these things is awkward, due to poor software and bad remote design. The remote has 41 buttons crammed into a few square inches, making it very difficult to use. Both the manual and the on screen display have errors. There are no quality options for recording, which means that recording video from the higher resolution stations takes up a lot of space. If you plan on recording video, you'll need a very large USB drive.
The unit I got went bad a few hours after I received it. It started rebooting itself after being plugged in for a hour or so. It would not restart until it had been unplugged for a while, so I assume it was overheating.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Quite a good item with a couple let downs

09/07/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've owned this box for about 3 weeks now. The 4 and 5 star ratings are correct. It works nice and has some nice menu choices. Two things were a let down: keypad is a bit too small. Buttons are too close and trigger a bit too easily. Hitting button 2 doubles it to 22 if not real quick in letting go of the button. The graphics on screen and in the manual book are kind of rough. The photos in manual are printed small and B&W. Hard to see what the pictures are showing. Several things are terrific compared to my 10 year old Philips (the worst). It has the ability to program channel changes and show times if you are not going to be home. These can then be downloaded onto a flashdrive or other digital memory device as there is a port for this. Cables to hook it to say an older VCR or, I think, for radio, are included. I don't think the few drawbacks are enough to give it less than 4 stars. I do like it. It'd be great if they retooled for a larger controller and spiffed up the manual. Unless there is a way, I can't change clock from being a 24 hr type; 23:30 is 11:30 PM. 17:00 is 5 o'clock PM. This will get easier over time. Mark
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

This Product Is Terrible

02/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not be able to recommend this product. I bought it because the ability to record television shows was appealing. It does not record. It freezes up in a variety of ways and you cannot get out of the freeze or shut it off. I have tried recording shows over and over and it either stops recording or freezes up in recording mode. The box is very simplistic and it takes a lot of time to set it up (ie. saving channels, etc.) and a new scan will wipe out all of your settings. I don't have much in the way of this type of electronics available to me in my area but, if you have any other options, I would not buy this machine.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Thrilled by this converter box!!!!!!!!!

08/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1) $32.00; It successfully converts an antenna signal to digital; with outputs for HDMI, or coax, or RCA video connections to an existing TV or projector or computer tuner, and it RECORDS!!!!
2) I have 63 great TV channels 40 miles outside of Dallas. HD channels are crystal clear, and better definition than the cable signal I have had for the last 25 years. I dumped my $140.00 cable bill.
3)Does it have all of the features of a cable box, TIVO, or a DVR?
NO. Its $32.00. Not $450, $250. It's $32.00. It converts. It records. It schedules recordings. It pauses live TV. It Fast forwards. It rewinds. It's Amazing for - I'll say it again; $32.00.
4) Converter box setup, nearly automatic, and intuitive. I'm 60 years old, too. I consider taking off protective plastic covering from electronics intuitive. It's just something you always do. Plug it in, it works. The instruction book is; I'll call it adequate. Not good; adequate. Online, you simply get a PDF of the same adequate instruction book that came with the unit. No additional help. I had problems setting up HDMI. The problem was with the settings on my old flat-screen TV; not with the converter box.
5) Does it have 'Quinky-Dinks?' YES. It's only $32.00.
a) Remember your old VCR? You can only record the TV show you are watching. OK. Most TV's and systems have alternate inputs. So watch Netflix, or HULU, or Internet while you are recording on the tuner.
b) You are watching a show you paused for a while at the same time you scheduled a recording. Oops! You have to choose. Either continue your paused show and cancel the recording; or record the scheduled show, and miss the show you paused. OK. It's $32.00. I'm good with it.
c) Yup, it's hot. My old cable box on 'stand-by' was hotter than this box when 'on.' When this box is on 'stand-by,' it's barely warm.
d) If you schedule a show to record, then turn your box off (put it on 'stand-by,) the scheduled show will not record. OK. I'll leave the box (not TV) on when I have a scheduled recording.
e) The Program guide is not like anything you are used to if you ever had cable or satalite. You will get used to it. There IS a guide.
6) One of the top 3 values in electronics I have ever purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

WAY MORE than just a converter box!!!

10/19/2014
By ,
auburn hills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here's a quick Highlights List of the things I like about the unit. I've included a more in-depth description below as well.
1. Is a converter box that allows you to watch broadcast TV on older non-digital TVs.
2. Has a builtin DVR so you can record your favorite TV shows
3. Has a feature called "Timeshift" that allows you to pause Live TV and continue watching.
4. WILL allow you to watch ANY MPG4 video on the device so you can transfer videos from you computer to your TV
5. Shows you what is coming on TV up to 12 hours in advance, including the names of the shows and descriptions.
6. Easily allows you to select the shows you want to record and allows you the option to record the show Once, Daily or Weekly.
I was looking for a converter box that I could connect to my DVD recorder. I no longer subscribe to paid television because I realized that with my other subscriptions like Netflix and Hulu Puss, I was only watching things that came on broadcast TV. The issues was, if something came on and I wasn't around to watch it, I missed the show. So I decided to buy a converter box that I could hook up to my DVD recorder and just program the DVD recorder to record the shows that I wanted to watch. THEN I found this unit! It is an UNBELIEVABLE buy! Not only are you able to connect it to a TV, VCR or DVD recorder and pick up HD broadcasts, but it also has a programable DVR built in! That means that if you connect a hard drive to it, you can program it to record your shows and watch them anytime you want. It also has a feature that will allow you to see a list of shows that will be coming on within the next 12 hours. If you see the show you like, simply scroll to it, click the "Ok" button and you are able to add it to your list of shows that you would like to record AND you can set it to record the show "Daily" or "Weekly." The unit records in GREAT quality! It will even record HD shows in 1080HD. The format that it records the shows in is universal, which means you can actually disconnect your hard drive from the unit, connect it to your computer or laptop and watch what ever shows have been recorded, right on your computer. This comes in handy for people who travel. I simply connect my hard drive to my laptop and copy the shows that I want to watch while I'm on the plane.
I do suggest that you don't try using a USB Flash card to record shows to, as they do not process information quickly enough and you will experience dropped frames, freezing images and other issues. With an external hard drive, even something like a "passport" I have not experienced any problems.
Another awesome feature is, if you copy your home videos and any movies that you may have purchased and downloaded to your hard drive and connect the hard drive back up to the box, you WILL be able to watch them on your TV through the box. For example, I purchased "The Man of Steel" with the Ultra Violet feature, which allows you to download the movie to your computer. I was then able to copy the downloaded video to the hard drive I connect to the Ematic and I was able to watch the movie on my TV instead of being forced to watch it on my computer.
The unit also has a feature called "Time Shift" which allows you to pause Live TV and continue watching it. So if you are in the middle of a show and need to leave the room for a moment, you can pause the show and continue watching when you get back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

free tv

01/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have a channel master antenna 3020 its big but powerful this ematic digital box brings in a great picture and it has a program guide that tells me whats on tv all day i use a usb to tape all my movies the only problem is the remote is to small i was told to buy a philips learning remote but i cant find one we got so use to cable tv we were afraid to lose it . but what does cable offer? it use to be commercial free because you paid for it and slowly they added commercials! if i wanted to have to watch commercials i could watch them for free ! now i have more channels that i watch more movie channels stations for the kids ! how many channels do you really have on cable that isnt an informecial? think about it! if you want to watch newer movies subscribe to netflicks for 8 bucks a month after a couple of weeks you will ask yourself why you didnt do it sooner!!! happy in richmond michigan!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The picture is noisy

04/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My tv looks better with the HDMI antenna connected directly to it, then through this box...I won't be using this box.
Could I return the box to you?
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great Signal, but lag!

02/14/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The system works great, but as said many times before, the manual is very small, and doesn't help much. The first time I turned it on the language was in Spanish, so I has to have my room mate translate the menu in order to change it to English. After that when scanning for channels from a TV provider you must select cable, which is in a whole nother menu.
The picture however is great, not complaints here, and it found every channel that I have access to. I love the idea that I can watch movies off my flash drive, and as far as I can tell it runs many different formats of both videos and music.
With all these great aspects, I am giving this a 4 star rating since the pausing of live TV will freeze the TV for a few seconds, and then when playing with any kind of buffer the video feed will lag, I don't know why, since playing videos doesn't lag at all.
As mentioned in recent reviews the device will tend to freeze up, and become unresponsive, at this point you'll need to unplug it, and start over.
The final complaint is that I'm yet to find out how to record to my flash drive. When the record button is pressed it would seem it is recording what you are watching, however when I stop the recording the video does not show up on the flash drive. Even more so I'm yet to find out how to set a timer for a future event.
I would recommend this device only if you don't want the DVR capabilities, and are perfectly fine with pressing random buttons until you find what you are looking for.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Very bad converter box

05/09/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first receive this converter box I did not set it up right away I was waiting to received the TV antenna. Well the TV antenna arrival and was defective so I could not use that. I then had to look for and then purchase another antenna. Several weeks have past since I receive it. So I decide to see how the converter box work so I use an antenna I already had. After I set it up I notice that I was not able to get it out of the Menu set up screen. Every time I tried to remove the Menu set up screen it will switch over to the Auto tuning screen. When I tried to remove that screen it go right back to the Menu set up screen and I was not able to get out of that loop, even when I turn the power off and then turn the power back on the Menu screen will still be there. I think this converter box is defective, but I would not recommend this converter box. I suggest you buy another converter box and leave this one along, its not worth the trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Orlando, FL
exit
Posted 05/09/2014
have you tried exit or factory default pass 888888
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 31 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Easy to set up

12/19/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The converter box is easy to set up. You will find the buttons on the remote require you to push a little harder but it works just fine. A real plus is that the box shows a 7 day menu of what is on for each channel.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Works well.

12/06/2013
By ,
Grand Junction, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Ematic Digital Box replaces my original Magnavox box I bought (from Walmart) when the government mandated digital tv services. The Magnavox lasted almost 5 years, I hope the Ematic does also. So far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Should I try again?

02/13/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I want this to work, but it keeps freezing when I fast forward, or rewind. I returned the first one, now the 2nd is even worse. It won't record except on timer, and also freezes. Could it be the Centon data stick PRO 64 gb I also bought through Walmart? Does Walmart only sell refurbished goods?
The price, and promised functions are great, if only they worked.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Good Product

01/07/2014
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an older HD-TV without the digital channels. This converter fits the bill. Setup is easy. I wish it had a better TV schedule viewer, but I can work around it. Love the USB feature. I have a 2TB hard drive with old movies on it and can view the movies with no problem. Also, my other TV with digital channels is unable to pick up one local station that broadcast in VHF. The Ematic converter is able to pick up this channel with a great picture. I plan to buy another convert just to watch movies on my hard drive on my other TV. Overall, very well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Buckeye State
Re: Better TV Schedule
Posted 03/04/2014
Check out TitanTV. You can set it up for local OTA and 'your' cable provider schedules up to 2 weeks ahead and it has PVR. All for FREE!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 35 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

do not buy

02/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would freeze up. Would have to unplug and plug it back in many times to make it work.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Good for the Buck!

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Back in 2009, I bought a DTV converter to watch TV on my log lasting analog TV. But I lost the remote control. So I tried a universal remote control. It didn't work. I needed to buy another DTV converter. I saw this unit has a channel display that most other brands don't have. And it has a USB connector in the front, a HDMI n the back, and for an very attractive price of $32.88 at Walmart. Wow!
After giving a try, I will say it is very easy to use. You don't need to read the manual to learn how to scan for channels. It does it automatically for you. I recommend it to the folks who still own the old analog TVs.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

DIGITAL CONVERTER BOX

02/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I WAS NOT SATISFIED WITH MY ORDER. WHEN I OPENED UP THE BOX & TOOK OUT THE BOX, THE FIRST THING I NOTICED WAS THAT THERE WAS NO CLEAR PLASTIC COVER ON IT LIKE WHEN YOU PURCHASE SOMETHING BRAND NEW. THEN AS I KEPT INSPECTING THE BOX, ON THE TOP OF IT WERE GREASY FINGER PRINTS & SCRATCHES. SO I RETURNED IT.
I WILL PURCHASE ME ANOTHER ONE AT A LATER, IN HOPES THAT IT IS BRAND NEW.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

TV with no cable,Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

02/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cut the cord
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Very happy, USB port is the unsung hero....

12/17/2013
By ,
Raleigh, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a low cost, digital to analog device since I just cut the cord to cable. What I missed most about cable was the DVR. This converter was the only one which let you download over the air broadcast directly to an external hard drive. It is not as great as a true DVR but I am very happy to come home and watch things I recorded over the air earlier in the day. Long term, I think I will buy another one so I can record more shows.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Decent converter

01/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This will do the job, works OK. I also have Insignia converter and I compared the two connecting to same antenna at same place testing at two locations using two different antennas and find that some channels are not picked up by Ematic.
Insignia provides manual edit to add a channel but ematic manual channel edit is not user friendly and I could not search the channel I was looking for.
Remote response is also not that great but if I point the remote then it works.
I have not tested USB drive yet but that is a major plus compared to my Insignia.
Overall this is OK for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 642 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  33 Next