Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display and Recording Capabilities allows your TV without a digital tuner to receive new digital broadcasts. It includes an array of features such as programming guides and parental controls to restrict children's access. The analog to digital converter box also comes with a USB connection and is compatible with external SATA drives or flash drives with USB connections. The multimedia playback function is compatible with many different media types. The HD digital converter box comes with a handy remote control. The lightweight box is not much bigger than a hardbound book so it won't take up much space next to your television. The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display also has a popular HDMI connector.
Average Customer Rating:
3.686 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(491 Reviews) 491
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
217
4 stars
119
3 stars
34
2 stars
26
1 star
95
Customer Recommendation74%361 out of 491reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
149 Questions | 494 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
217
4 stars
119
3 stars
34
2 stars
26
1 star
95
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

15 page pdf inst. file

10/09/2014
By ,
montverde, Fla
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To have the 15 page pdf user manual..simply do a google search as ematic at103b and click...once there scroll down to :at103im_eng_size130x185m_ematic. then click on it and the file loads in your computer at at once ,,,,,,,,,,,then save as a pdf file for ever
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

WAY MORE than just a converter box!!!

10/19/2014
By ,
auburn hills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here's a quick Highlights List of the things I like about the unit. I've included a more in-depth description below as well.
1. Is a converter box that allows you to watch broadcast TV on older non-digital TVs.
2. Has a builtin DVR so you can record your favorite TV shows
3. Has a feature called "Timeshift" that allows you to pause Live TV and continue watching.
4. WILL allow you to watch ANY MPG4 video on the device so you can transfer videos from you computer to your TV
5. Shows you what is coming on TV up to 12 hours in advance, including the names of the shows and descriptions.
6. Easily allows you to select the shows you want to record and allows you the option to record the show Once, Daily or Weekly.
I was looking for a converter box that I could connect to my DVD recorder. I no longer subscribe to paid television because I realized that with my other subscriptions like Netflix and Hulu Puss, I was only watching things that came on broadcast TV. The issues was, if something came on and I wasn't around to watch it, I missed the show. So I decided to buy a converter box that I could hook up to my DVD recorder and just program the DVD recorder to record the shows that I wanted to watch. THEN I found this unit! It is an UNBELIEVABLE buy! Not only are you able to connect it to a TV, VCR or DVD recorder and pick up HD broadcasts, but it also has a programable DVR built in! That means that if you connect a hard drive to it, you can program it to record your shows and watch them anytime you want. It also has a feature that will allow you to see a list of shows that will be coming on within the next 12 hours. If you see the show you like, simply scroll to it, click the "Ok" button and you are able to add it to your list of shows that you would like to record AND you can set it to record the show "Daily" or "Weekly." The unit records in GREAT quality! It will even record HD shows in 1080HD. The format that it records the shows in is universal, which means you can actually disconnect your hard drive from the unit, connect it to your computer or laptop and watch what ever shows have been recorded, right on your computer. This comes in handy for people who travel. I simply connect my hard drive to my laptop and copy the shows that I want to watch while I'm on the plane.
I do suggest that you don't try using a USB Flash card to record shows to, as they do not process information quickly enough and you will experience dropped frames, freezing images and other issues. With an external hard drive, even something like a "passport" I have not experienced any problems.
Another awesome feature is, if you copy your home videos and any movies that you may have purchased and downloaded to your hard drive and connect the hard drive back up to the box, you WILL be able to watch them on your TV through the box. For example, I purchased "The Man of Steel" with the Ultra Violet feature, which allows you to download the movie to your computer. I was then able to copy the downloaded video to the hard drive I connect to the Ematic and I was able to watch the movie on my TV instead of being forced to watch it on my computer.
The unit also has a feature called "Time Shift" which allows you to pause Live TV and continue watching it. So if you are in the middle of a show and need to leave the room for a moment, you can pause the show and continue watching when you get back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Nice features, lousy quality control.

02/02/2014
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The good news is that this box has a lot of good features. It has an excellent guide, it can play mp3s and many video formats from the usb port, and it can record video to a USB drive.
The bad news is doing these things is awkward, due to poor software and bad remote design. The remote has 41 buttons crammed into a few square inches, making it very difficult to use. Both the manual and the on screen display have errors. There are no quality options for recording, which means that recording video from the higher resolution stations takes up a lot of space. If you plan on recording video, you'll need a very large USB drive.
The unit I got went bad a few hours after I received it. It started rebooting itself after being plugged in for a hour or so. It would not restart until it had been unplugged for a while, so I assume it was overheating.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Works Super better than the Older Units..

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because i had an older one that the remote quit working on..And i still have the old Television....(that has to have a converter) And this unit is excellent as with it you can plug in a memory stick and record the shows you want to watch and watch them anytime...This unit also has a timer position which is great to turn the unit off
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Very good deal, well worth the money

12/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used as a tuner for LED projector
Works better than I expected, Set-up fast,
auto tuned fast, HDMI auto detected output 1080, Record Function Simple to use worked easily first time, Program guide works fast, changes channels fast.
I would buy another and tell others to buy this unit!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

unknown value until presented as present and used

12/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
not used yet
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Not good

12/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It lasted 3 days then no power, lights went out for good. Returned for refund.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

It worked...until it didn't

12/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first night I set it up, it worked great. The second night I went to use it it was on for three minutes and the screen went blue. Nothing I did got the picture to return. I finally had to give up and return it to Walmart for a full refund. There were such great reviews of the product on this website- I don't know if I just got a faulty box, or if there is something wrong with their system. All I know is, I still don't have a way to watch my analog tv, and I really don't want to spend the money on a digital tv right now. I am not happy!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

A DVR for free TV.

10/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I does eveything it say it will do. The record function is great and true HD. If you want to get off cable and can recieve free "Antanna TV" This product will work for you. You can designate which show you want to record and have it record to a junp drive or a portable hard drive. I have seen the same product offered for 200 dollars. Just In case I failed to mention,, The recordings are in HD, no difference between the Live on Air and the playback. Files are .mtx extension. Also with a storage device, jump drive or hard drive, the device offers a pause function. Press pause, go to the fridge then toggle pause and continue watching.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Digital Number Capabillities!

12/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this item to get better channels on my 50 inch television, however, I still not able to program it thoroughly to keep the channels installed on the television. I think the product is an poor item to my household. I would not recommend this product to anybody else. It is superficial to the means of the household.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Very bad converter box

05/09/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first receive this converter box I did not set it up right away I was waiting to received the TV antenna. Well the TV antenna arrival and was defective so I could not use that. I then had to look for and then purchase another antenna. Several weeks have past since I receive it. So I decide to see how the converter box work so I use an antenna I already had. After I set it up I notice that I was not able to get it out of the Menu set up screen. Every time I tried to remove the Menu set up screen it will switch over to the Auto tuning screen. When I tried to remove that screen it go right back to the Menu set up screen and I was not able to get out of that loop, even when I turn the power off and then turn the power back on the Menu screen will still be there. I think this converter box is defective, but I would not recommend this converter box. I suggest you buy another converter box and leave this one along, its not worth the trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Orlando, FL
exit
Posted 05/09/2014
have you tried exit or factory default pass 888888
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Nice features

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's not as easy to use as a box from the cable company, but for the price, it is packed with features. The ability to connect an external hard drive and record like a DVR is really nice. I like that it has program information, it would be nice if it had a full program guide, the information is there, it just needs to be packaged together in 1 guide. The remote is a little touchy. It has to be pointed directly at the box for it to work. Overall, I am happy with my purchase and am ordering another 1 for another room just so I can record 2 programs at once. Now if I can figure out how to share the recordings like a whole house DVR, that would be great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Ematic AT103 B converter box outstanding value!

10/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second purchase. I get 72 channels and an awesome picture . Plus I can record. The bonus is No monthly bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Free TV

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Resurrected an old flat panel that did not have a digital tuner with this neat piece of equipment.
But wait there's more.
DVR records to a thumb drive (only for 90 minutes). All for 30.00 bucks. What's not to like. Insignia tuner for double the price was not comparable and had no DVR.
Has multimedia function for photos and videos from USB drive.
Lotsa fun!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Good Product

01/07/2014
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an older HD-TV without the digital channels. This converter fits the bill. Setup is easy. I wish it had a better TV schedule viewer, but I can work around it. Love the USB feature. I have a 2TB hard drive with old movies on it and can view the movies with no problem. Also, my other TV with digital channels is unable to pick up one local station that broadcast in VHF. The Ematic converter is able to pick up this channel with a great picture. I plan to buy another convert just to watch movies on my hard drive on my other TV. Overall, very well pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Buckeye State
Re: Better TV Schedule
Posted 03/04/2014
Check out TitanTV. You can set it up for local OTA and 'your' cable provider schedules up to 2 weeks ahead and it has PVR. All for FREE!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 36 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

help!!!

11/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I plugged it in and it worked for 3 days ... now it won't come back on..I thought I would give it another try on a different tv. I cant return it, I have no recepit.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Returned, unacceptable performance

11/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This convertor did not work: The picture was not clear (fuzzy) and had a rapid vertical fluctuation making the TV picture quite unviewable; the remote worked only intermittently. After returning this converter to Walmart for refund, an Insignia converter was purchased from BestBuy which worked wonderfully! Sadly, the advertised features of the Ematic AT103B would have been great to have, if it had worked. The Insignia does a great job, but has only the features of the DigitalStream converter it replaced when the DigitalStream failed after a few years use.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

lousy picture

12/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this did not work for me, the picture quality was poor, i tried to adjust the color every way i knew how. I have used several digital converters this one is the worst, i tried taping a program with a sixteen g flash drive and it only recorder for an hour and a half, this will be going back to the store,I am not one to leave a bad review but this was cheap and you get what you pay for.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

not a very good product

11/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
reboots often ....wont play from hard drive says unsuported file, wont record software glitches am returning item bought two and neither one works as described ..it is a copy of stellar labs dt 1200 but the dt 1200 works great, will by another one for my other tv ....highly disappointed
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Not impressed

12/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had an RCA converter, which died on me. I read the reviews on the Ematic and was thrilled to see a converter with a USB port. It seemed to be a real upgrade from the RCA. That was until I hooked it up to the TV. With the RCA, I had a crystal clear picture. With the Ematic it looked like I was watching TV from the 1950. Not a clear picture at all. I checked all of my connections, and nothing improved, so back to the store it went and I bought another RCA.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 491 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next