Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display and Recording Capabilities allows your TV without a digital tuner to receive new digital broadcasts. It includes an array of features such as programming guides and parental controls to restrict children's access. The analog to digital converter box also comes with a USB connection and is compatible with external SATA drives or flash drives with USB connections. The multimedia playback function is compatible with many different media types. The HD digital converter box comes with a handy remote control. The lightweight box is not much bigger than a hardbound book so it won't take up much space next to your television. The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display also has a popular HDMI connector.
Average Customer Rating:
3.592 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(741 Reviews) 741
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
310
4 stars
177
3 stars
53
2 stars
44
1 star
157
Customer Recommendation71%529 out of 741reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
203 Questions | 516 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
310
4 stars
177
3 stars
53
2 stars
44
1 star
157
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

So far so good.

11/30/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tuner input, digital HDMI out and analog composite video and R+L audio out, (No PCM or component outs). Records High Def to usb external sata drives or some of the newest/fastest usb 3.0 speed flash drives like team 16gb color brown others like adata brand could not keep up or do timeshift. Runs V3 firmware from 081713, Formatting storage device in NFTS yields one file per program, formatting in FAT32 breaks the recordings into 500mb size pieces. Smaller than iview or homeworx boxes but bigger than naxa box. Remote looks like the one used for Stellar Labs style box. USB switches off storage when box is in standby. Power supply is internal instead of AC/DC adapter so not as cool. Tuner input/output should have some nuts around the 75 ohm connectors too. Comes with a sticker mistakenly placed on top of protective packing film, sticker should have been underneath film, make sure you remove film for proper ventalation. Contacted ematic and they never heard of the model and had no firmware updates, if product was supported it would be a big seller and many people would want one. I have included a picture of the back panel for those that asked about the connectors.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Orlando, FL
model comparisons
Posted 02/15/2014
RCXB see thread started on legitfta ota antenna section for ematic comparison
0points
Customer Avatar
TX
Box comparisons?
Posted 01/25/2014
A detailed comparison of the pros/cons between all the different converter boxes you've got would be extremely valuable. Things like menus of X are painful to use by Y is great, recording bugs with A but B has lots of extra features. etc. I hope you'll consider doing it, as lots of people would like to read it. Either here or on Ama zon.
QAM seems to be a particularly hard problem for these boxes, while almost all HDTVs handle it properly. This ematic box doesn't display the PSIP virtual channels (and random, 5-digit channel numbers are painful to work with), nor any EPG/guide data at ALL.
I heard the IVIEW box works better with QAM, but only if you tediously go through the avs forum and find the mutually-incompatible firmware version that works best for your provider. But the v1 also has a horrific remote, and the v2 box doesn't have all those different firmware versions that you can choose between for working QAM. People also say it has better menus/UI, too, but with the horrific warranty terms that charge you $20 for *in-warranty service*, I can't withhold my disgust long enough to give them my money to try it out.
HomeWorx seems to have given-up on QAM entirely. Viewtv is honest about the fact that their QAM is unsupported and only partially works.
I also find it unbelievable that other boxes can't do pass-through while they are shut-off. That's a really terrible hindrance for those with analog TVs, who still want to watch some analog channels... There's no easy way to turn the RF signal from those boxes on/off, unless you've also got spare AV inputs or similar.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Poor Instructions Make It Complicated

02/03/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This might be considered a good buy. It has features you get with paid TV like DVR (PVR) & recording (HBPR). A show can be recorded manually or set ahead for a particular broadcast. Recording is via the usb port which I use with a flash drive. The instructions claim you have up to seven days of program scheduling but I find it ranges from a few hours to less than 12 hours.
In order to see all the options for the features at the bottom of the screen I have to remember to set my TV on 'normal' screen ratio and the converter box ratio on 'auto.' Otherwise take notes so you know what to push for a particular feature if the screen ratio cuts off the feature options until you memorize them.
I have a roof antenna so I do get great reception.
It is complicated to set up and figure out how to use its features because the manual is severely lacking in detail. When setting the screen ratio I pushed the wrong option and got a black & white screen that rolled super fast. It took almost 24 hrs to sort it out on my own.
Customer service via the 800 number - the phone was never answered in the 20 minutes I spent getting sent back to the main menu and re-selecting the tech support option. I tried another company number and spoke to a non-support person who assured me I would receive a call by the end of the day but never did. The product does not exist on the website. There is an email support option on the website somewhere which I haven't tried yet. I have managed to sort out most of my difficulties and am saving the rest of my questions to submit at one time. I hope email support is functional.
The company information is missing from the manual - not so much as a company name, number, or website address. The 800 number came from some other paper that came with the ematic and the other number came from the BBB website.
This product lacks adequate instructions and customer support otherwise I would have given it excellent in all 3 categories. I recommend it with reservations for those reasons.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Goldsboro, N.C.
Out Put & input connections
Posted 05/29/2014
Does it have RCA input & out put connections to record with?
0points
Customer Avatar
Northwest Florida
Go Download The 15 Page Manual
Posted 02/25/2014
The user manual is available for download. Just copy the address below and paste it into your browser.
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&sqi=2&ved=0CCcQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ematic.us%2Fsites%2Fdefault%2Ffiles%2FAT103B%2520IM_Eng_size130x185mm.pdf&ei=ITwMU8XGD6rA2QX024GoAw&usg=AFQjCNGxV8Poy4rhafZvK9JbQ9H2nicyGw&sig2=d3Snai7Oqmv0b7f35PZVrw&bvm=bv.61725948,d.b2I
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

EMatic AT103B Digital converter box

02/04/2014
By ,
Dinuba, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 converter boxes and used the first box on an old TV and used one of those flat antennas. It did not work so I thought something was wrong with the converter box but before giving up I decided to buy just a cheap RCA antenna. It is one of those that has a base and has a round antenna with the rabbit ears. I went to the menu and went to auto search and it picked up quite a few stations. When I had followed directions like other posts said to do, it did not work for me.
I set up the other converter box on a flat screen HD TV. I set it up the same exact way as I did the older TV but I received more stations. I think it has to do with what direction your TV and antenna is sitting. I was not impressed with the flat antenna I purchased. I have bought RCA several times before to help friends hook up their TV's and there are many different kinds but I found out that the ones that have a base with a round antenna and rabbit ears work the best. You can find these at Walmart also. Hope this helps.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+329points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Sunrise, Fl
Posted 07/24/2014
I am about the purchase this box for an older tv I have in another room. Reading your comment regarding the flat antenna, I agree with you 100%. I had to stretch the cord and have it balance on the arm of my sofa which was close to a window. Although you think paying more would be better it wasn't. I returned mine and bought the rabbit like ears antenna.
0points
Customer Avatar
Rabbit ears are the best indoor antennas.
Posted 07/10/2014
In my experience, ANY rabbit ear style antenna outperforms most 'digital' indoor antennas.
0points
Customer Avatar
Jupiter,FL
going to try
Posted 05/18/2014
Going to try this. older TV. wish I new what model RCA antenna. there is more than one that fits your description. thanks for informative review.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

More bang that you would expect for your buck.

12/08/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Within the price range of most other OTA Digital converter boxes, this one really delivers. Using a USB drive one is able to utilize the device to record a live program. You can also use the port to load up your own music, video, and pictures. The one feature that really sold me was the inclusion of an HDMI port. I have a monitor that has HDMI input, was looked everywhere for a converter that allowed such connection. And the picture quality was outstanding! Also offered is a composite and coaxial (cable type) connection for older/legacy TV's.
My only gripe was with the function of some of the menus, but once you get used to it, like any other electronic device, it is easy going.
As a bonus, I don't recall it mentioned in the product details, but it also includes a few simple games, I only checked out Tetris and Snake, but both were fun distractions.
I would recommend this product to anyone in the market for a Digital to Analog converter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+280points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Saves me $120/year on High Def cable charges.

02/25/2014
By ,
Encinitas, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Connected my antenna to the Ematic and connected it to the HDMI-2 input on my TV. I get all the major networks in HD and record them on an external hard drive plugged into the USB port. My cable service is plugged into the HDMI-1 input on my TV. I kept cable but cancelled the Hi-Def service, which saves me $10/mo. I just press the Input button on my TV remote to switch between cable and the Ematic. So happy with this I bought 2 more for our guest bedrooms which saves more money by not having to rent cable receivers for them. The only shows in HD that will be missed will be Monday and Thursday NFL games on ESPN and the NFL network, but most NFL games are on antenna in HD
Can also plug the external hard drive into one of the other Ematics and watch previously recorded shows on a different TV.
The only serious negative is it is less convenient to manage recorded shows than the DVR provided by the cable company which has a better TV guide and which is easier to use. But for me the cost savings outweigh the inconvenience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brunswick, OH.
External Hard Drive
Posted 05/15/2014
I was wondering what kind of external hard drive are you using?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Does NOT work as Advertised

05/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This box says it will record on a schedule. Sometimes it does, sometimes it does not. Sometimes the schedule you put in will record the first scheduled program and then erase the rest. Sometimes it just erases whatever is scheduled before it even starts. Sometimes it turns on at the scheduled time, does not record, then just stays on. Sometimes it does turn on, record and then turn off. This is rare and should be what it does all the time. It is supposed to have the ability to record once, daily or weekly. None of these settings work all of the time. More often than not they don't work at all. I was VERY disappointed!!!! I would have rated it zero, but you can't!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Don't waste your money

05/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first this converter worked fine and I was satisfied with it. It was picking up all channels I expected it too and a few more. It was nice having the volume be part of the remote so didn't have to use the TV remote for volume and mute but noticed there was a lot of background noise.
It was satisfactory for about a month and then one day when trying to change channels, it froze up. When it came back up, it had a bunch of channels added back in that I didn't like or want. So revised the list deleting the channels I didn't want and it went a few more days and did it again.
Then it started to not pick up a few channels that I did want. I thought at first that it was because of weather but our newer TV with a built in digital tuner was still picking up the channel.
Then a few more started not to work.... and a few more.
I bought this converter to get more life out of an older TV and had read the reviews on the Walmart.com site and it seemed decent at a reasonable price. Now I know you get what you pay for from Walmart.
I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Best bang for your buck

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There's lots of cool features on this box like recording tv programs (6 gigs an hour roughly) so make sure you get huge hard drive, pause live tv (depending on size of hard drive), record shows once, daily or weekly, tv guide shows about 24 hours in advance, picture is crystal clear with no distortan (I recommend the high end anntena, just remember ifyou live close to tv stations get a lower quality anntena as the 150 plus mile antenna is made to grab signals long range vs short range and a cheaper antenna is only designed to get closer signals. Do your homework before you buy your antenna, also trees and mountains block signals and you must adjust most antennas like a satellite antenna pointing it towards the tv station), there is also a built in antenna amplifier in the converter box (factory default is set to off so if you want it on do so in settings.) Installation instructions are sketchy but if you do research there is lots of useful information out there to help you. Great box to get free tv and its affordable.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great little box for recording tv

01/24/2014
By ,
Woodstock, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this converter because of my VCR. I wanted a way to record a couple of my favorite shows when I was not able to watch them. Well in order for a VCR to work with an HDTV, you have to have a converter box. As I was reading about this box and realized it supposedly records tv, I had to order it. This is the first day I have had it and I am impressed. With it's PVR function I will not have to miss a show or movie now. I tested it with my 2gb flash drive stick and it worked like a charm. From what I've read I should be able to get about 4 hours on a 2gb flash drive. I probably will get a larger gb flash drive though. But if you could also hook up a PC or laptop with Windows 7 or 8 and record a show onto your computer. So now I wont even take out the VCR except when I want to watch some old home movies. Prices for DVR that work with over the air tv and not cable are around $200 and up. So this saved me a seriously good chunk of change and gives me what I want. Set up was easy, instructions not A+, good enough to figure it out with though. Extremely happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+130points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
panama city fl
5 GB per hour / unit freezes
Posted 04/16/2014
You said youre supposed to be able to put how many hours on your 2 GB flash drive? Ive found it takes around 5GB per hour of recording on my 16GB 3.0 flash drive
Also Ive found that if I use the fast forward for more than a few moments it will freeze up(using my flash drive) or simply go back to the menus/list (if using my hard drive). I dont know if my unit is defective or what ?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

I could not understand how to set up. I am 60 year

05/11/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, Nv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not use the Manual. The product might be good, but I have to return it because I cannot make it work. By the way. Do I need cable to use this box. My TV is the new one. Not the old TVs. I am 60 years old, and the writing in the manual are absolutely minuscule . It says that it is a recorder. but does it record directly from the TV? and, do I need to have cable in order to record from the TV with this machine? I wish I do have other people who bought this, and give their opinion, and also, how to use it. I could not read the Manual at all because of the small graphics. And also, the language is too professional, for a person like me. We, old people, need something more common language to understand the instructions. We are willing to spend our money buying these gadgets, but how can we use them? However, I am very happy with my combo that I bought from Walmart. The Manual is excellent: big letters, easy language, etc. I will continue buying from Walmart, because I found out that the returning is a breeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Detroit, MI
I feel you!
Posted 10/17/2014
This 60 yr old is in total ageement with you. I consider myself to be computer savy but still had to google some of the terminology used. I got it in order to record tv programs from my analog tv when my old VCR/DVD combo when down. Thought this would be an excellent simple product to use. I'd program it for an hour with my flash drive and it would shut off anywhere from 30-47 minutes over and over again. Emailed Ematic Customer Service (per their warranty insert instructions) and still couldn't get a straight answer that didn't go right over my head. The computer Geeks can't seem to talk on our level. Then you have to wait every 2-3 days going from response to response. After 2 weeks of this mess and still no success, it's going back for a refund.
0points
Customer Avatar
dayton ohio
to record
Posted 05/24/2014
it records directly from he signal to the tv
you could use a magnify glass to enlarge the print
-3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great product, Great Functions easy to operate.

10/02/2014
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced an old digital box when it died. I wanted a system as an alternate to cable. With this box we get all the local broadcast stations, (ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX) and most local independent UHF channels. I could get PBS at first but after reconfiguring the setup I lost it.
I really like the PVR (Program Video Recording). I had an old Windows formatted salvaged 320GB western digital Hard drive so I installed it in a USB hard drive enclosure. When I attached the drive, it worked great. I figure I have about 50 hours of recording time with this setup. Also it was plug and play, no reformatting the drive Programming is saved as a subdirectory on the drive.
You have to be tuned to the channel you are recording but you can pause in real time. You cannot reverse except back to the time you paused. It would be nice to be able to back up a few seconds to catch something you missed. Picture quality of recordings is as good as the original.
Only one other control box included the record function and it was more expensive. I do not know why Walmart doesn't carry this as a store item. As cable costs increase, I see more interest in cutting loose from cable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Low cost and low quality

03/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
With the price being low with features like USB recording and HDMI out, I was hopeful that this would be a good bargain. I wanted this to be a second or replacement converter. But after connecting the unit in place of another digital converter (RF antenna in/ antenna out), I was disappointed in: (1) more noise in the picture (2) video level was dark (3) color too saturated (4) slow to change channels (5) no preference to stop the info page from coming on when switching channels (6) zoom and picture aspect ratio 4/3, 16/9, etc didn’t change at the antenna output (7) menus were small with small letters and low quality graphics (8) noting in the setup preferences allow changing the picture settings. Didn’t try USB connector, recording or HDMI out since the video quality was so bad from the antenna out connector. Put the old digital converter back in and will be returning this unit to Wal-Mart.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Never will i buy this again

07/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If i could vote zero i would. Only had for 3 weeks. It gets stuck on a channel then it reboots, constantly reboots, when it reboots my favorite list looses channels all the time so i just stopped saving channels to my favorite list. A few of my channels says no signal other channels I have to keep moving my antenna to get a good signal but when i finally get a good picture on that channel it throws off the other channels signals so i will never purchase this item again and i surely didnt buy one for my living room. I'm a very unsatisfied and disappointed customer. And i dont think it has the signal strength to get more channels to enjoy. This is my experience.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

From Bad to Worse to Worse Still

04/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is absolutely NOTHING that this device consistently does right. I could go on ad nauseum with what it does wrong.
1. Lack of audio/video synchronization is chronic in both playback and viewing. In viewing, it can usually be corrected by changing channels; in playback, by rewinding and playing. It's still annoying.
2. EVERY SINGLE NIGHT I have to reset my daily programs to record the next day. Why? Because after recording, instead of the date being changed to tomorrow, it's changed to five days in the future. Every. Single. Time.
3. Recording weekly? Not happening.
4. Recording an entire program? Maybe. Maybe not. Before watching, I always select "Info" just to ensure that the entire program was recorded before getting my hopes up. On several occasions, the device started recording, evidently decided I didn't need to watch that program after all, and stopped after one second. Random. Similarly random, it may then go ahead and record a different program that same day.
I could go on, but I won't except to say that I've ordered a replacement and will be returning this piece of junk as soon as it arrives.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Record FREE airwaves

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do not subscribe to cable or dish tv. The cost is outragous. I have a digital antenna and receive free airwave signals. The big problem I did have was not being able to record shows from the antenna. DVD recorders with built in digital tuners are extremely exspensive, so I looked onto TIVO, which is a DVR, but they charge a monthly fee to record the free airwaves. Then I came across this little jewel. The Ematic AT103B is actually a digital converter box, but it has record capabilities. All you need is a flash drive to store and view your recordings. Now I set the timer to record the shows I want when I'm not able to watch them, and then view when I like. Remember the days of the VHS recorder? This is the replacement you're looking for. You can erase and reuse the flashdrive, or save what you want.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

ematic review

07/04/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This box has its limitations, you have to point the remote directly at the box for it to work. All told, it has some good features, but I have not been able to work them all out. It was a good buy for the money, but I think I need an outside antenna instead of the inside one. It does pick up 103 total digital channels in this area, about 25 that are useable for me. Still glad I gave up satellite tv.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

great program guide, plays video files!

12/27/2013
By ,
dallas, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this converter box. All i wanted was a converter box with a program guide that showed several hours rather than whats showing now and whats on next. This shows whats going to be on several hours ahead. That was my main reason for getting this box. On top of that it records to a usb. The files are large, 3 hours equals close to 16gb for me. I only have a 32 gb drive so i don't know whats the largest drive you can hook up to it. Its fine for me as i only have a few hours i need to record a week. The coolest part for me is that this little converter box has played most of the video files i have tried on it, mp4, avi, divx and even flv. super cool. it also plays jpegs and mp3s to boot. Thinking about getting another one, that's how much i like it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Wasn't worth the investment

05/28/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered this product because I live in the country and I can only pick up over-the-air signals (house isn't wired for cable and I can't afford satellite). The first one sent to me didn't work right out of the box, no power. I contacted Walmart, and they immediately sent me a second one. It worked great, I loved it! Got the same channels I was receiving with my Magnavox and picture was clear. The menu wasn't very user friendly, but I was able to navigate through it. I loved that I was able to pause live tv and record shows again. Just a couple months later, the second box died, no power. It wasn't dropped, hit by lightning, or anything. It simply stopped working. The concept is good, functionality is good when it was working, but apparently there is an issue with the power supply.
Also, I was wondering about how big of a flash drive I would need and I couldn't get much of an answer from the reviews, but I used a 4GB flash drive and I could record about an hour of tv (a little more, but not much). Also, there is no code for universal remotes, I tried 2 different remotes and neither of them was able to locate a code for the box, so HOLD ON TO THAT REMOTE!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Works Great

01/28/2014
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hooked this up with a $20 RCA OTA Antenna and I get 10 channels and they are all 100% clear. I love that you can hook up a thumb drive to the USB and record shows. I would recommend this to anyone looking to receive OTA programming.
I cut the cord from cable and have internet only. I have netflix / hulu / amazon prime to connect the gap. I really only wanted the basic channels for live sporting events when they are available locally and for the news. Especially if there are live weather feeds from time to time. Otherwise, cable is overpriced and this box works great.
If you want to know what channels you can get in your area you can get information on http://wwww.antennaweb.org. This is an accurate source to let you know what kind of antenna you will need and what you can expect to pick up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+145points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hi
Posted 03/20/2014
Thanks for your review. What internet service do you have? I'm interesting in cutting out cable tv too but internet costs seem so high. THX
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

poor product

07/04/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First one stopped working after a few hours. Exchanged for another one; that one just kept rebooting and never worked to begin with. Will try something else.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 741 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  38 Next