Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Ematic Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display and Recording Capabilities allows your TV without a digital tuner to receive new digital broadcasts. It includes an array of features such as programming guides and parental controls to restrict children's access. The analog to digital converter box also comes with a USB connection and is compatible with external SATA drives or flash drives with USB connections. The multimedia playback function is compatible with many different media types. The HD digital converter box comes with a handy remote control. The lightweight box is not much bigger than a hardbound book so it won't take up much space next to your television. The Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box for TV with LED Display also has a popular HDMI connector.
Average Customer Rating:
3.641 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(576 Reviews) 576
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
248
4 stars
139
3 stars
41
2 stars
30
1 star
118
Customer Recommendation73%420 out of 576reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
164 Questions | 503 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
248
4 stars
139
3 stars
41
2 stars
30
1 star
118
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

So far so good.

11/30/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tuner input, digital HDMI out and analog composite video and R+L audio out, (No PCM or component outs). Records High Def to usb external sata drives or some of the newest/fastest usb 3.0 speed flash drives like team 16gb color brown others like adata brand could not keep up or do timeshift. Runs V3 firmware from 081713, Formatting storage device in NFTS yields one file per program, formatting in FAT32 breaks the recordings into 500mb size pieces. Smaller than iview or homeworx boxes but bigger than naxa box. Remote looks like the one used for Stellar Labs style box. USB switches off storage when box is in standby. Power supply is internal instead of AC/DC adapter so not as cool. Tuner input/output should have some nuts around the 75 ohm connectors too. Comes with a sticker mistakenly placed on top of protective packing film, sticker should have been underneath film, make sure you remove film for proper ventalation. Contacted ematic and they never heard of the model and had no firmware updates, if product was supported it would be a big seller and many people would want one. I have included a picture of the back panel for those that asked about the connectors.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Orlando, FL
model comparisons
Posted 02/15/2014
RCXB see thread started on legitfta ota antenna section for ematic comparison
0points
Customer Avatar
TX
Box comparisons?
Posted 01/25/2014
A detailed comparison of the pros/cons between all the different converter boxes you've got would be extremely valuable. Things like menus of X are painful to use by Y is great, recording bugs with A but B has lots of extra features. etc. I hope you'll consider doing it, as lots of people would like to read it. Either here or on Ama zon.
QAM seems to be a particularly hard problem for these boxes, while almost all HDTVs handle it properly. This ematic box doesn't display the PSIP virtual channels (and random, 5-digit channel numbers are painful to work with), nor any EPG/guide data at ALL.
I heard the IVIEW box works better with QAM, but only if you tediously go through the avs forum and find the mutually-incompatible firmware version that works best for your provider. But the v1 also has a horrific remote, and the v2 box doesn't have all those different firmware versions that you can choose between for working QAM. People also say it has better menus/UI, too, but with the horrific warranty terms that charge you $20 for *in-warranty service*, I can't withhold my disgust long enough to give them my money to try it out.
HomeWorx seems to have given-up on QAM entirely. Viewtv is honest about the fact that their QAM is unsupported and only partially works.
I also find it unbelievable that other boxes can't do pass-through while they are shut-off. That's a really terrible hindrance for those with analog TVs, who still want to watch some analog channels... There's no easy way to turn the RF signal from those boxes on/off, unless you've also got spare AV inputs or similar.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Poor Instructions Make It Complicated

02/03/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This might be considered a good buy. It has features you get with paid TV like DVR (PVR) & recording (HBPR). A show can be recorded manually or set ahead for a particular broadcast. Recording is via the usb port which I use with a flash drive. The instructions claim you have up to seven days of program scheduling but I find it ranges from a few hours to less than 12 hours.
In order to see all the options for the features at the bottom of the screen I have to remember to set my TV on 'normal' screen ratio and the converter box ratio on 'auto.' Otherwise take notes so you know what to push for a particular feature if the screen ratio cuts off the feature options until you memorize them.
I have a roof antenna so I do get great reception.
It is complicated to set up and figure out how to use its features because the manual is severely lacking in detail. When setting the screen ratio I pushed the wrong option and got a black & white screen that rolled super fast. It took almost 24 hrs to sort it out on my own.
Customer service via the 800 number - the phone was never answered in the 20 minutes I spent getting sent back to the main menu and re-selecting the tech support option. I tried another company number and spoke to a non-support person who assured me I would receive a call by the end of the day but never did. The product does not exist on the website. There is an email support option on the website somewhere which I haven't tried yet. I have managed to sort out most of my difficulties and am saving the rest of my questions to submit at one time. I hope email support is functional.
The company information is missing from the manual - not so much as a company name, number, or website address. The 800 number came from some other paper that came with the ematic and the other number came from the BBB website.
This product lacks adequate instructions and customer support otherwise I would have given it excellent in all 3 categories. I recommend it with reservations for those reasons.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+103points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Goldsboro, N.C.
Out Put & input connections
Posted 05/29/2014
Does it have RCA input & out put connections to record with?
0points
Customer Avatar
Northwest Florida
Go Download The 15 Page Manual
Posted 02/25/2014
The user manual is available for download. Just copy the address below and paste it into your browser.
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&sqi=2&ved=0CCcQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ematic.us%2Fsites%2Fdefault%2Ffiles%2FAT103B%2520IM_Eng_size130x185mm.pdf&ei=ITwMU8XGD6rA2QX024GoAw&usg=AFQjCNGxV8Poy4rhafZvK9JbQ9H2nicyGw&sig2=d3Snai7Oqmv0b7f35PZVrw&bvm=bv.61725948,d.b2I
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

EMatic AT103B Digital converter box

02/04/2014
By ,
Dinuba, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 converter boxes and used the first box on an old TV and used one of those flat antennas. It did not work so I thought something was wrong with the converter box but before giving up I decided to buy just a cheap RCA antenna. It is one of those that has a base and has a round antenna with the rabbit ears. I went to the menu and went to auto search and it picked up quite a few stations. When I had followed directions like other posts said to do, it did not work for me.
I set up the other converter box on a flat screen HD TV. I set it up the same exact way as I did the older TV but I received more stations. I think it has to do with what direction your TV and antenna is sitting. I was not impressed with the flat antenna I purchased. I have bought RCA several times before to help friends hook up their TV's and there are many different kinds but I found out that the ones that have a base with a round antenna and rabbit ears work the best. You can find these at Walmart also. Hope this helps.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+223points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Sunrise, Fl
Posted 07/24/2014
I am about the purchase this box for an older tv I have in another room. Reading your comment regarding the flat antenna, I agree with you 100%. I had to stretch the cord and have it balance on the arm of my sofa which was close to a window. Although you think paying more would be better it wasn't. I returned mine and bought the rabbit like ears antenna.
0points
Customer Avatar
Rabbit ears are the best indoor antennas.
Posted 07/10/2014
In my experience, ANY rabbit ear style antenna outperforms most 'digital' indoor antennas.
0points
Customer Avatar
Jupiter,FL
going to try
Posted 05/18/2014
Going to try this. older TV. wish I new what model RCA antenna. there is more than one that fits your description. thanks for informative review.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Best bang for your buck

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There's lots of cool features on this box like recording tv programs (6 gigs an hour roughly) so make sure you get huge hard drive, pause live tv (depending on size of hard drive), record shows once, daily or weekly, tv guide shows about 24 hours in advance, picture is crystal clear with no distortan (I recommend the high end anntena, just remember ifyou live close to tv stations get a lower quality anntena as the 150 plus mile antenna is made to grab signals long range vs short range and a cheaper antenna is only designed to get closer signals. Do your homework before you buy your antenna, also trees and mountains block signals and you must adjust most antennas like a satellite antenna pointing it towards the tv station), there is also a built in antenna amplifier in the converter box (factory default is set to off so if you want it on do so in settings.) Installation instructions are sketchy but if you do research there is lots of useful information out there to help you. Great box to get free tv and its affordable.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

More bang that you would expect for your buck.

12/08/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Within the price range of most other OTA Digital converter boxes, this one really delivers. Using a USB drive one is able to utilize the device to record a live program. You can also use the port to load up your own music, video, and pictures. The one feature that really sold me was the inclusion of an HDMI port. I have a monitor that has HDMI input, was looked everywhere for a converter that allowed such connection. And the picture quality was outstanding! Also offered is a composite and coaxial (cable type) connection for older/legacy TV's.
My only gripe was with the function of some of the menus, but once you get used to it, like any other electronic device, it is easy going.
As a bonus, I don't recall it mentioned in the product details, but it also includes a few simple games, I only checked out Tetris and Snake, but both were fun distractions.
I would recommend this product to anyone in the market for a Digital to Analog converter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+198points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great product, Great Functions easy to operate.

10/02/2014
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced an old digital box when it died. I wanted a system as an alternate to cable. With this box we get all the local broadcast stations, (ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX) and most local independent UHF channels. I could get PBS at first but after reconfiguring the setup I lost it.
I really like the PVR (Program Video Recording). I had an old Windows formatted salvaged 320GB western digital Hard drive so I installed it in a USB hard drive enclosure. When I attached the drive, it worked great. I figure I have about 50 hours of recording time with this setup. Also it was plug and play, no reformatting the drive Programming is saved as a subdirectory on the drive.
You have to be tuned to the channel you are recording but you can pause in real time. You cannot reverse except back to the time you paused. It would be nice to be able to back up a few seconds to catch something you missed. Picture quality of recordings is as good as the original.
Only one other control box included the record function and it was more expensive. I do not know why Walmart doesn't carry this as a store item. As cable costs increase, I see more interest in cutting loose from cable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Saves me $120/year on High Def cable charges.

02/25/2014
By ,
Encinitas, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Connected my antenna to the Ematic and connected it to the HDMI-2 input on my TV. I get all the major networks in HD and record them on an external hard drive plugged into the USB port. My cable service is plugged into the HDMI-1 input on my TV. I kept cable but cancelled the Hi-Def service, which saves me $10/mo. I just press the Input button on my TV remote to switch between cable and the Ematic. So happy with this I bought 2 more for our guest bedrooms which saves more money by not having to rent cable receivers for them. The only shows in HD that will be missed will be Monday and Thursday NFL games on ESPN and the NFL network, but most NFL games are on antenna in HD
Can also plug the external hard drive into one of the other Ematics and watch previously recorded shows on a different TV.
The only serious negative is it is less convenient to manage recorded shows than the DVR provided by the cable company which has a better TV guide and which is easier to use. But for me the cost savings outweigh the inconvenience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brunswick, OH.
External Hard Drive
Posted 05/15/2014
I was wondering what kind of external hard drive are you using?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

I could not understand how to set up. I am 60 year

05/11/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, Nv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not use the Manual. The product might be good, but I have to return it because I cannot make it work. By the way. Do I need cable to use this box. My TV is the new one. Not the old TVs. I am 60 years old, and the writing in the manual are absolutely minuscule . It says that it is a recorder. but does it record directly from the TV? and, do I need to have cable in order to record from the TV with this machine? I wish I do have other people who bought this, and give their opinion, and also, how to use it. I could not read the Manual at all because of the small graphics. And also, the language is too professional, for a person like me. We, old people, need something more common language to understand the instructions. We are willing to spend our money buying these gadgets, but how can we use them? However, I am very happy with my combo that I bought from Walmart. The Manual is excellent: big letters, easy language, etc. I will continue buying from Walmart, because I found out that the returning is a breeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Detroit, MI
I feel you!
Posted 10/17/2014
This 60 yr old is in total ageement with you. I consider myself to be computer savy but still had to google some of the terminology used. I got it in order to record tv programs from my analog tv when my old VCR/DVD combo when down. Thought this would be an excellent simple product to use. I'd program it for an hour with my flash drive and it would shut off anywhere from 30-47 minutes over and over again. Emailed Ematic Customer Service (per their warranty insert instructions) and still couldn't get a straight answer that didn't go right over my head. The computer Geeks can't seem to talk on our level. Then you have to wait every 2-3 days going from response to response. After 2 weeks of this mess and still no success, it's going back for a refund.
0points
Customer Avatar
dayton ohio
to record
Posted 05/24/2014
it records directly from he signal to the tv
you could use a magnify glass to enlarge the print
-3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

wow...it has DVR features!

12/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After buying 2 previous competitors converters from other sources ( one defective & one incompatible ) + the hassle of return and getting refund, finally I hit the lotto with this digital to analog converter. Works perfect, great reception, dvr features and much more. Plus super cheap! I bought it 12/2/14 and use it every day with no problems what so ever, that's 17 days so far. It comes with remote control with many features. Only 2 downsides. Remote does not turn tv on/off, you need your old remote for that (but it mutes, volume control and everything else). And second, you need a flash card-stick or some other type of external drive to connect to its usb for dvr features and to view/play your music, photos and movies. But this drives are very cheap now days. It also has hdmi connector if you want to use it with modern tv's. Enjoy!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great little box for recording tv

01/24/2014
By ,
Woodstock, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this converter because of my VCR. I wanted a way to record a couple of my favorite shows when I was not able to watch them. Well in order for a VCR to work with an HDTV, you have to have a converter box. As I was reading about this box and realized it supposedly records tv, I had to order it. This is the first day I have had it and I am impressed. With it's PVR function I will not have to miss a show or movie now. I tested it with my 2gb flash drive stick and it worked like a charm. From what I've read I should be able to get about 4 hours on a 2gb flash drive. I probably will get a larger gb flash drive though. But if you could also hook up a PC or laptop with Windows 7 or 8 and record a show onto your computer. So now I wont even take out the VCR except when I want to watch some old home movies. Prices for DVR that work with over the air tv and not cable are around $200 and up. So this saved me a seriously good chunk of change and gives me what I want. Set up was easy, instructions not A+, good enough to figure it out with though. Extremely happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
panama city fl
5 GB per hour / unit freezes
Posted 04/16/2014
You said youre supposed to be able to put how many hours on your 2 GB flash drive? Ive found it takes around 5GB per hour of recording on my 16GB 3.0 flash drive
Also Ive found that if I use the fast forward for more than a few moments it will freeze up(using my flash drive) or simply go back to the menus/list (if using my hard drive). I dont know if my unit is defective or what ?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

free tv

01/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have a channel master antenna 3020 its big but powerful this ematic digital box brings in a great picture and it has a program guide that tells me whats on tv all day i use a usb to tape all my movies the only problem is the remote is to small i was told to buy a philips learning remote but i cant find one we got so use to cable tv we were afraid to lose it . but what does cable offer? it use to be commercial free because you paid for it and slowly they added commercials! if i wanted to have to watch commercials i could watch them for free ! now i have more channels that i watch more movie channels stations for the kids ! how many channels do you really have on cable that isnt an informecial? think about it! if you want to watch newer movies subscribe to netflicks for 8 bucks a month after a couple of weeks you will ask yourself why you didnt do it sooner!!! happy in richmond michigan!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Great Digital Tuner With Recording Capability

11/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this almost a month ago and waited to give my review.
i)small unit, comes with basic component cables. If you want to do HDMI, you need the cable.
ii)remove the plastic cover on the box, otherwise you will experience the overheating others have complained about.
iii)the remote really needs to be pointed directly at the tuner. I use a Harmony remote and it is no problem
iv)DVR function-I use an external hard drive from an old laptop. Works without a hitch. Timeshift works great as well.
v)Complaints: Unit is limited to doing one thing at a time. If you are recording a program, that is all you can do (can't search others to record, can't do anything but watch what you are recording...same applies if you are watching a recorded program). Loop the cable to a digital television with an atsc tuner and you can work around some of the complaints.
vi)Overall, the tuner is much better than the one in my television and the signal and recordings are solid.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Good for the Buck!

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Back in 2009, I bought a DTV converter to watch TV on my log lasting analog TV. But I lost the remote control. So I tried a universal remote control. It didn't work. I needed to buy another DTV converter. I saw this unit has a channel display that most other brands don't have. And it has a USB connector in the front, a HDMI n the back, and for an very attractive price of $32.88 at Walmart. Wow!
After giving a try, I will say it is very easy to use. You don't need to read the manual to learn how to scan for channels. It does it automatically for you. I recommend it to the folks who still own the old analog TVs.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Decent converter

01/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This will do the job, works OK. I also have Insignia converter and I compared the two connecting to same antenna at same place testing at two locations using two different antennas and find that some channels are not picked up by Ematic.
Insignia provides manual edit to add a channel but ematic manual channel edit is not user friendly and I could not search the channel I was looking for.
Remote response is also not that great but if I point the remote then it works.
I have not tested USB drive yet but that is a major plus compared to my Insignia.
Overall this is OK for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

WARNING poor quality JUNK

01/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1. The removable protective film layer is sealed to front bezel with nearly impossible to remove quality control sticker(void warranty if removed sticker) . You must remove the layer of film because the box GETS HOT and the film layer blocks top vents.
2. When the box warms up, it will hang on whichever channel you stop on (the front buttons including power button stop working and remote no longer works). To remedy this issue there are 2 options.
A) unplug and plug the box back in.
B) bang on the box vigorously (preferably from the bottom)
Then the box and remote will function again ...until you stop on another channel.
3. "pausing live tv" takes 45 seconds-1.5 minutes after touching the pause button before it actually pauses.
4. Cannot change TV guide time format from 24h(military) to 12h format.
5. When using the TV Guide for all channels you can only view 1 hour increments at a time. but when you look at the guide for each channel it goes on for many hours after current time.
6. No way to remove blank channels or foreign language channels found with automatic channel search.
7. It does play most of the video(TV shows/movies) from my external terabyte drive but hangs the converter box(must unplug to reboot box) when you unknowingly select an incompatible format rather than showing a warning box.
This is what I have found in just my first 2 days of use.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Cut the cable

01/03/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This converter does the job well. I am able to pull in 23 channels as well as record programs I don't want to miss. The unit is worth the cost but with the lower costs there are some concerns. The unit has the tendency to lock up if trying to do to many functions to quickly or if the unit has been powered up for extended periods. Usually just turning the unit off and then back on will fix it but I have had to completely unplug the unit to get it to reset a couple of times. Even with that the money saved and the quality of the picture along with the program guide make the unit well worth the money. I would definitely buy another one if needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

notamilitarykid1

01/19/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The ematic converter was fine except for the military time and menu for show schedule channels came in clear . Its OK for the kitchen. I will be buying another brand for my bedroom that is more customer friendly.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

A Bang for your Buck

01/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted to upgrade a digital box that was a few years old with something a little more techie. This wins both for look and options. I picked up a few more stations than with my previous box and with the TV guide option I can finally figure out what's coming on next, especially when it comes to those stations that are out of my normal TV listing area. The record feature is a nice plus. I'm still figuring it out, mainly due to the memory requirements for recording and not having a drive large enough to handle a full movie in my hands yet. HDMI connection is a plus for when you want to upgrade your TV or for using with a HD monitor. Overall, the box is cheaper and has way more bells and whistles than the ones you can find at the store. Not a bad deal at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Rating The EMATIC Digital Converter / Tuner

01/31/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well, this device was purchased to replace a Samsung tuner which after ten years had failed. The EMATIC has some quirks, where as the Samsung was pretty straight forward. The Samsung seemed to have a more powerful tuner, better reception with the same antenna. It also didn't need time to boot up and it displayed the exact channel number. There seems to be some noise (interference) in the video on certain channels. Audio doesn't always sync with the video. I haven't tried the recording feature yet.
Other than those issues, I suppose for the money it is a good value.
Sincerely,
DOC
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ematic AT103B Digital Converter Box with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Exceeds expectations! More Channels Than Before!

07/31/2014
By ,
Malcom IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dumped satellite TV about a 1 1/2 years ago and have a 7 year old HDTV; unfortunately, the internal tuner died, and it would cost more to fix the TV than (I felt) it was worth. Was about to purchase a $700 replacement, and had a thought: try a converter box. Had one that was only 480p, so decided to upgrade (back to) the full 1080p experience. Purchased this item from Walmart.com using the FREE ship to store option (awesome!). Brought it home, hooked it up very quickly, and now get more channels than I had with the internal tuner (using same over the air antenna)! I LOVE THIS CONVERTER BOX! The 1080p function works great, and now I can enjoy even more channels than before!
I need to learn how to record shows with it, as that was also a selling point (I do miss my DVR capabilities, but it wasn't worth the cost (just to keep the DVR capabilities of the satellite TV service# and hopefully with this converter box, I will resolve that as well). My TV picture is crisp and clear, the channels have great reception, and I am very happy with this purchase!
My only regret is I wish I had purchased two instead of just one. I have a 2nd HDTV that is working perfectly fine, but if the converter box allows me to receive more channels, it's worth the #tiny) investment to add one to my second TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 576 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next