Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for LG LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

LG LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

The LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV gives you a way to watch your favorite movies, TV shows and sports events in high-definition. The 1920 x 1080 resolution and 16:9 aspect ratio produce clear and vivid images while the wide screen lets you view movies in full, with no details left out. When television programs are broadcast in high-definition, this TV can let you see them the way they were intended to be seen. With its slim profile, this 60" LG 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV is easy to fit in your living room. Up to two HDMI devices can be connected to the TV. This LG 60" Plasma HDTV is also wall-mountable, allowing you to save even more space. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the LG Plasma TV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.504 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
25
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation93%111 out of 119reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 168 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
25
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

Can't beat it!!! Get one now.

04/03/2014
By ,
Biloxi, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a professional that could theoretically afford any type of TV, but I don't like wasting money. This huge 60" screen has great picture for such a reasonable investment. I use a Yamaha 7.1 with Andrew Jones Pioneer speakers (tall fronts, center and sub) and in ceiling JBLs for sound so no review on internal speakers on this TV. Does anyone really buy something this large without a receiver? The controls, interfaces, quality and ease of mounting make this an incredible deal not even considering passing up. This TV was literally 1/2 the price of LCD and uses new generation plasma for longevity and much deeper blacks. No more burn - in and tons of life in it! So easy to buy online and walk in and pick up in store. Only issue was box size. Even in a full size Yukon XL, I had to take it out of box in parking lot to fit!!! All in all, I have had it running for 2 months and I would buy another one in a New York second. Buy it!!! :-)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

60" Plasma tv with endless possibilities.

12/14/2013
By ,
South Milwaukee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were surprised and astonished at the pristine picture that this Plasma TV had to offer. When on the HD stations, it is so clear it looks like you are there in real time! We are going to add a Bose sound system to make this tv perfect for us. It was a good investment at a great price and my husband loves his early Christmas Gift. I would highly recommend this product as it offers great value for your dollar.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

greatest tv deal for me

12/25/2013
By ,
McAlester, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this tv from local walmart store 2 days ago. I was so afraid of plasma tv after I searched online for couple days and seen folks talks about glare and cracks etc. But I really can't beat this tv price with walmart credit card and no interest rate for 18 month.
I was surprised for good quality package tv box. Got it out. Unboxing and installation was easy. Set it up was easy too.
Then powered up with NON HD cable tv receiver (AV). Wow Impressive huge tv and picture quality is so good. This tv is really amazing im so happy I got it.
Then I plugged to blue ray player with new hdmi cable. Here is the deal. amazing HD picture compare to my old 32" hd led tv. Feels like in theater. I love it. I cant wait to watch more Hd movies on it.
Note. GLARE and reflection. Our living room has 5 windows plus door window. It was not bad at all. I rate the reflection on this tv in daylight 8.5/10 ccompare to my led tv which is 9/10.
I recommend this tv to anyone. Good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

More WOW than I can ask for

01/19/2014
By ,
Ft. Myers, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is without a doubt the most awesome picture I've ever experienced. I have a 55" Insignia, 42" Panasonic plasma, 37" Sony all of which deliver a fine picture. But, they pale by comparison to this 60" LG Plasma. Out of the box easy setup and stylish design. The only criticism is the sound. Not the best as one would expect from speakers in the rear but, as good as any other brand. I cannot emphasize the high def this picture delivers. My wife is tired of hearing me rave on about the picture. I originally bought a 55" Vizio Smart TV for $729.00 which had a defect. I replaced it with a 60" Sharp Aquos for $899.00 and the picture was pretty good. Then I saw the 60" LG @ Walmart for $648.00 and took the chance that the picture would be as good. Needless to say, I returned the Sharp and am enjoying the quality of the LG. Boy a great picture and for $250.00 less than all the other 60" sets. Don't even think twice, buy one you'll be glad you did !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

Fantastic picture quality at a budget price

01/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great TV for the right lighting situation. The picture quality is fantastic, with excellent color reproduction and sharp images. The one downside to the TV is the reflective screen. The TV should be placed in a light controlled room to minimize reflections, otherwise, your viewing experience may be compromised. I knew that going in, so it was a trade-off with the great price and quality of picture.
Image retention is likely during your first several hundred hours of viewing (and beyond, depending on your viewing habits), so try to stay away from static images and content with bars on the screen. I find using the color slides available in some of the forums useful in breaking in the TV and for wiping away IR. You can also watch varied content to get rid of IR as well. Plasmas have some great benefits in picture quality and reduced motion blur, but you must also be willing to take care of them a bit, at least early on.
I recommend the TV highly. It is hard to find a TV at this size and price with such a great picture. I don't miss the lack of Smart TV features at all, as they are easily added with a Smart blu-ray or Roku device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

Amazing Value

03/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of the reviews here for many weeks before I finally made the jump myself. Let me say I have had it for almost two weeks and I definitely do not regret my purchase at all. It still seems almost too good to be true. The picture is amazing. I found some calibration settings on AVS forum but truthfully it looks great out of the box! Yes it is a plasma so you have a glass panel and yes glass is inherently reflective but I have a large two story living room with lots of windows and I do not have a big problem with glare. It does help that my windows face East and most of my TV watching is in the evening. There is no ghosting with this TV, everything looks smooth as silk. This TV is "dumb" but who cares if you have modern game system or a cable box you most likely have access to any "smart" options you want, why do you need it built into your "monitor" as well? I highly recommend this TV!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

Excellent picture, excellent price

12/26/2013
By ,
western US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Followed the reviews on this and so glad we did - checked reviews for other LG plasma TV's on other sites and they were pretty positive too. We have a box for smart tv and we didn't want 3D, so this one met all the needs without having to pay for features we didn't want. Where we came out far ahead is picture quality, especially at this price level - we do have some glare in the daytime, but find we like the picture through this screen and the glare is not that much of a factor for us. Surprised that the sound is better than expected - thought we'd have to buy a sound bar, but more than adequate for us - we don't need home theater sound. We were replacing a smaller 5 year old LG, so happy to stick with this brand. Easy set up out of the box, we just kept it on the factory settings, but there's lots of ways to change the picture. Very satisfied so far with this purchase and will update if there are changes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

One word: VALUE

12/26/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just picked it up at the "closest" Walmart (5-days later than quoted). The associates were very nice and helped with everything, even getting it into my car (thanks Noel!). TIP#1: bring the van or SUV... the box is about 60" long and about 40" tall. TIP#2 bring a friend to help setup... 100+lbs!!!
$650 for a "60-inch anything" is a steal! Keep your expectations at a low/moderate level and you will enjoy this set. It is a gi-normous monitor and nothing more. Standard def is tolerable at best. And for a 600hz refresh rate, I saw a lot of ghosting which I've never experienced on other brands/models.
It has a built-in HD antenna but it's very weak. I was able to pick up 5 over-the-air HD channels that all quickly disappeared. HD picture is ok. Won't compare with higher-end sets but that's what you pay for! No apps, no wifi, not even a ethernet port. This is as basic as it gets!
TIP#3 check out SquareTrade for extended warranty options. $60 at Costco for an extra 2 years
TIP#4 Monitor swivels on the base about 30 degrees left and right. Nice feature for a huge set
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

lower your expectation

01/10/2014
By ,
pacific northwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price is attractive at $650. But the picture quality is somewhat poor. I am a big fan of plasma but it just fall short of my expectation. Maybe I am picky. But when compared side by side with my old 50" Sammy 450 series the picture from this one just suck. Color reproduction is not as vivid and more like LCD/LED. I played with all the settings but at no avail. The white is not as white as well. When viewing from around 45 degree there are irregular dark/bright stripes like zones when picture is bright. Seems like the glass is uneven. In addition, the screen is highly reflective. It's fine at night, but daytime you'll see windows etc reflected off the screen. I suggest you check out the set in store before placing an order.
However, for the price it's overall a decent set. The build quality is far better than its competitors IMO. The entire back cover is all metal, and the base is swivel +/-20 degree, which is convenient. The remote fit in my hand comfortably.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

A Real Bargain

03/24/2014
By ,
miami, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazingly good value. If you have the right environment, a plasma can be the way to go. I replaced my perfectly fine Sony LCD with this, and I was quite shocked at the difference in picture quality- I just wanted a larger screen and a bit better screen. This is much better. I should mention I do a lot of work in the TV industry, including mixing several of the shows I actually watched on it, and I have to say that of course it's not going to be as good a picture as the high-end unit, but at $600, you'd have to double that to get something significantly better (or at least a couple hundred more). If you're looking for a bargain, this is certainly one. Very happy with it.
I didn't want a smart tv, as I already have all the gadgets that do that better than a tv does, so why pay extra for it? Also it's really large and definitely a pain to transport, but if you're looking at 60" plasmas, I'm sure you already know that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

Great value, great picture

12/13/2013
By ,
Las Cruces, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I admit I was skeptical about this TV, my wife pointed it out and ehh I thought there had to be a catch. I researched it found good reviews so what the heck I decided to go buy it, I could always return it. Bought it, brought it home, its kind heavier than a LCD/LED obviously because its plasma and has a huge glass display so get some help. Unboxed it, very thin edges, thin profile less than a couple inches even at its thickest point. Picture quality is awesome, very happy I decided to get this monstrous TV. Even with the warranty which is 70 bucks for 3 years, I feel it was a great buy, and a steal. Would recommend this to anyone who is weary and looks to good, reliable reviews to judge a product. Im very picky, and research ALOT before buying something. I would pick this TV up, I got the last one at my store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

SWEET!

12/21/2013
By ,
Winter haven Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv is fantastic. My 50in 3D samsung plasma went bad so I seen this tv in Walmart ad. Could not pass up the deal $648 plus my local walmart is offering a $50 gift card with this purchase. I am a plasma fanatic and this tv is impeccable. The warranty is 1 year parts and labor plus 2 year on panel which is great! I also purchased the replacement warranty because plasmas to tend to have issues. Now, back to the tv. I am in awe. I put in the Polar Express bluray and could not stop watching even though I seen it a million times. The picture is so crisp. I have settings on VIVIVD, color set at 91, brightness set at 94, cool set at 6 and tint set a little on the redish side. Sharpness at 88. Volume I like MUSIC mode.
Everyone is different but these configs are a delight for me.
Hope this helps.
Once again, FANTASTIC!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

Great deal for a "dumb" tv with a great picture.

01/04/2014
By ,
Haverhill, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only owned LCD, LED televisions up until now. This plasma tv has the best picture of any tv I've owned. The picture has very good detail, colors are accurate (including black!# and there isn't any problem with gutter. It's not perfect but it is very good and that makes it a great value.
It is dumb but I bought a Sony BDP-S5100 blu-ray disc player that is smart with plenty of apps and internet access. Together they cost me less than $750 and my local Plaistow Wal-Mart store.
The tv is heavy at about 83 lbs, with the stand. There is a one year warranty on parts and labor and two years on the panel. I couldn't find any info about the 5000 model but it is the same as LS's 5300 except there is no Picture Perfect software to calibrate it.
I highly recommend it if you want a BIG tv with a very, good picture and good sound #for a tv) at a very low price.
By the way. A couple of hints before you make your adjustments. Pick home use, not store, when setting up and turn off the energy efficiency option. Then make small tweaks to adjust it to your liking. AVSforum.com has a long thread discussing settings and this tv. It was the only place I could find info about this model. Although you can go the LG site and look up stats about the 5300 since the only difference from the 5300 I could find was the software.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

Very Good Set!

12/08/2013
By ,
Livonia, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this last year and and am really happy with it. Great color, excellent picture, OK sound for narrow tv. I went and purchased a warranty at Costco for about $70 which is good for 5 Years and you dont have to had purchased it there. I'm a happy camper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

Great picture with light tweaking; Better than LCD

12/07/2013
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased a Samsung 240hz LCD and hated it. I can't stand the LCD "judder" and no amount of tweaking would make the picture acceptable... (I was coming from a fantastic old Toshiba rear projection CRT# I had owned the Samsung for a few days when I saw this on sale for $300 less than I paid for the LED LCD. It is a great TV for me. If you use a receiver and run all your components through it, this is a great buy. If not, the lack of inputs might be a problem for you, it only has two HDMI inputs.
The only other disadvantage compared to the Samsung LCD is weight. This bad boy is HEAVY. Easily 2x #maybe more) than the same size LCD. Clocking in around 90 lbs, it was all my wife could do to help me get it up on the stand. Be prepared when you get it... It's quite heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

Very Very Nice!

12/26/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't expecting this tv to be this good because of the price and I because I didn't I couldn't find this model on LG.com. So I made a call to LG and spoke to a guy in tech support and found out that this model is an exclusive model manufactured for Walmart. In fact, the LGpn5300 is equivalent to this model specs wise. Having said that, this tv is very very nice for a 60in plasma, The picture quality is very clean and colors don't bleed thru on everything. LG did a great job with this product and for under $700, its a deal you can't beat anywhere. If you are looking for a big screen set without spending your whole paycheck (lol) I highly recommend this model. I'm loving mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

Great Plasma TV for the Price

02/07/2014
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start off by saying i've owned plasma TV's since they first came out. I'm a huge fan of plasma TV's for their great picture quality and deep black levels. This TV does not disappoint. Once calibrated it has amazing picture quality. I use it to play video games and to watch TV and it does this wonderfully. The TV has no noticeable motion blur and is smooth and vibrant. The "downside" is that is is a dumb TV, meaning it does not have the WiFi, Netflix or other internet apps that some newer TVs have. This is not a negative as I have a Playstation and an Xbox to stream these apps. If you want a TV for a great price that has amazing picture quality then this is the TV for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

The best value on a quality HD set

02/10/2014
By ,
Fort Lauderdale
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I know this tv doesn't have all the bells and whistles. It's not a Smart tv or have 3D processing. It does have a bright and glossy picture. It's complicated and detailed picture controls allow you to tune in a good image. I used settings on AVSforums.com and made little tweaks to it myself. This yielded a super bright and crisp picture. Plasmas do run hot so make sure there is enough room to keep the heat away from you. It's best to use this in a living room since it may make your bedroom a bit too warm and stuffy.
Plasmas also deliver a better picture than LCD/LEDs for the price. Especially for the price of this set.
Sound is very bright. The highs are sharp but don't expect much bass as the speakers on all TVs are too small to move the necessary air to create real bass. Use a seperate subwoofer for that sound.
Buy with confidence at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

Excellent value for 60" TV

12/20/2013
By ,
Crossroads of America
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This LG plasma is the third different 60" TV that we bought during the 2013 Black Friday/Christmas shopping season. The first was a Sharp LED that had a shockingly lousy picture. After a week of messing with all kinds of settings and tweaks, I gave up trying to get it calibrated and took it back. The second was a Vizio smart LED TV. It had a much better picture than the Sharp, but was still not even as good as the LG LED or Toshiba and Vizio LCD sets we have, so we returned that one, too.
While checking out TVs on Walmart.com, I came across this LG plasma. At the time we ordered it, there were no reviews anywhere online of this model and very little information. Our local stores did not have any display models on the floor to check out. The price was so cheap that we decided to take a chance and we're really glad that we did! The picture was almost perfect out of the box - very little tweaking needed to get the colors dialed in. I had low expectations for the sound and was pleasantly surprised by the quality and fullness. Even though it's now hooked up to a receiver, the standard sound output from the TV is fine.
There are only 2 HDMI inputs, so that might be an issue for some folks. Everything goes through our receiver, so that isn't a problem for me. This thing weighs around 90 lbs., so make sure you have someone to help you set it up.
After two weeks with this TV, we have deemed it a keeper. It doesn't have 3D or any smart features, but that's just fine. 3D is of no interest to us and we already have a Blu-ray, Roku and Chromecast connected to the TV to provide any "smart" capability that we need. For the price, this is a great TV. If all you need is a great picture and decent sound, check this bad boy out.
Positives: Picture quality, sound, small bezel, price
Negatives: Weight (this sucker is HEAVY), only 2 HDMI inputs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for LG 60" 60PN5000 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV

Looks great in our familyroom!

12/09/2013
By ,
Long Beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was very easy to install on our wall mount. Picture looks really good after adjusting settings. Haven't experienced any glare issues or sound issues. So far very happy with purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 119 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next