Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Philips Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

The Philips SoundBar Speaker (model HTL2101A/F7) is a powerful addition to your home theater system. It connects to your TV with only one cable, making setup simple and easy. Using USB or a 3.5mm connection, it offers playback from compatible MP3 players and other devices, projecting your digital music throughout the room. This soundbar for TV is wall-mountable, allowing you to save space and achieve optimal audio projection. The low-rise profile lets it sit in front of your TV without obscuring your view. This home theater soundbar works not only with TVs but also gaming consoles and DVD players, enhancing the sounds of video games and movies alike. A remote control is included for conveniently controlling volume.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(160 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
52
3 stars
24
2 stars
16
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation63%101 out of 160reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 142 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
52
3 stars
24
2 stars
16
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

My first soundbar

06/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical buying such an inexpensive speaker but I did a little research and found some reviews online that actually gave it a decent rating. Some other people who bought this soundbar also liked it. If it didn't pan out, I could always return the purchase regardless. I bought it over my wife's objections, since she likes to stick to big name brand items. After the simple installation (I don't like reading directions), we figured out how to work the remote and it worked like a charm. We blasted the volume up and found very little distortion. We coincidentally have a 32 inch Phillips LCD TV so I don't know if the soundbar worked better because of that or not. In any case, it worked good enough to satisfy a discriminating wife.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Didn't even last 3 Months !!!

03/02/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wow! I don't often take my time to write reviews, but I figured I'd take the time now to save any potential buyers from falling in my trap. I purchased this soundbar because I was trying to boost my TV's sound (also a Philips) in my small living room, but to begin with that .. the sound was muffled/very poor; almost sounded like coming from a bucket or can. The 'surround sound' sounded like having an echo, but no true surround sound effect. It didn't have an optical digital audio connector either. And no, it does not have blue-tooth capability for those of you wondering if you could connect your mobile devices to it.
What is worst of it all is that it lasted only 2 1/2 months !!! So PLEASE do not buy this piece of junk. Do more research and buy another brand that is more durable. I own a Philips LED TV which turned out good (has lasted 5 years so far), but the sound bars, DVDs and Blu-Ray players .. were all junk. I think after this I am definitely switching brands for all of my media equipment.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Had to return it after 6 hours.

11/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered it because it was cheap and the speakers on my bedroom tv are horrible. It doesn't come with the cord to hook it up to the tv, but I had plenty laying around so that was fine. You just plug it in and hook it up to the tv. Sound was ok, better then the tv speakers at least.I turned it on and every thing was fine. I turned it off, then when I went to turn it back on, wouldn't turn on again. I tried unplugging it, rehooking everything, changed the battery in the remote, every thing. It just wouldn't turn back on again. So now I am having to go return it not even 6 hours after getting it in the mail. I don't think it was the speaker it self that broke, because when I plug it in the lights flash on it, I just think the remote is cheaply made and defective. But seeing as how there is no buttons on the actual speakers and is all controlled by the remote, it's useless. So you would think they would make a better quality remote for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great Value for the Budget Minded !

02/04/2014
By ,
Wylie Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for Super Bowl Sunday and am very pleased . The reviews here helped BUT as they stated other than a power cord there are no hookup cables to be had in the box ( I used RCA cables and it works great ) so get some with your purchase .
I matched it with my " Thanksgiving Special " Funai 32in flat screen and it worked perfectly right out of the box. On surround mode it does sound a little tinny but for the money spent far exceeds what I expected . It's not for big room but works like a charm in my medium size living space and fills the room with sound !
With the money I saved I returned to Walmart and bought a Samsung Blue Ray player . I now have a very nice home system for less money than most spend on a smartphone these days .
I could have spent more but .......... why ?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Very good...BUT...

11/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This sound bar for the money is good! However, you'll have to spend an additional $25-30 to get the sound to work.
If you have a newer HDTV, you'll need an Digital Optical Audio Cable for the sound bar. The regular red/white audio connectors will not work, nor will any USB cables work to get the sound.
Now, I'm not an electronic geek, but I can follow directions and nowhere in the directions did it mention using the above mentioned Digital Optical Audio Cable if the latter mentioned cables did not work.
I almost returned the product, but gave it one last shot by asking a geek at Best Buy how to get it to work...presto, magic it all came together. Probably all newer HDTV's have a (DOAC) port. Use it! It works. Good sound...good price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Do not buy

07/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The sound was so low I had to turn my tv up in order to hear. The "surround sound" has an extremely prominent echo. Might be okay if you're watching tv in the bathroom. Otherwise put the extra money into a better sound bar. Am on my way to return this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Good for Seniors

11/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this product for someone that is hard of hearing. This is a good and cheap way to boost the volume on a t.v., but you have to put your t.v. on mute. Takes up very little space it does not work off a HDMI cable though, audio input. The downside, make sure you know how you are going to attach this product to your t.v. before you buy it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

A teriffic buy for my flat screen.

01/26/2014
By ,
Corona, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It fits in well with my 50" plasma at home. I got it to enhance the sound from my TV. The surround sound option sounds a bit odd. Perhaps with added speakers it will blend in better. It does not come with any hook up cables, but the power cord. Depending on the type of TV you have, you may have to buy a certain type. My TV needed a digital audio cable which Wal-Mart has. Check the back outputs on your TV first to order the correct type; digital, USB, red & white end analog audio, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

fine quality and the price is right too

08/10/2014
By ,
Bushkill PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first sound bar, which I purchased for use with a 48" flat screen TV. Since it's my first sound bar, I didn't want to spend a lot of money, so the price was right on this purchase. The sound quality is wonderful, and it even has a surround sound setting. The best part is that it connects with one connection via an optical audio output cable, which I also bought for 99 cents (the 3-foot length) at Walmart! Overall, very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Pleasantly surprised!

11/30/2013
By ,
Glendale, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have a 55" 3D smart TV, but its speaker is not so good. We gave the Philips soundbar a try, not expecting much from it because it was quite cheap. But we were pleasantly surprised. The sound is clear, the bass sounds really good! However if you turn on the surround sound, the sound becomes unpleasant, lots of reverb. But turn it off, you get far better sound than that which comes from the TV speaker. People say you get what you pay for, but with this we got more than we paid for. I recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Good Intermediate Home Theater speaker.

11/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works as advertised, but not much power and just average fidelity. But considering its price, it's OK for my purposes.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Lancaster, CA

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn't realize my tv speakers were facing to the rear until after I bought it and the sound was muffled. Spotted this sound bar and decided to try it. It made a big difference in the sound and I am very pleased with the results. Easy to set up, just remember to put the lights on the sound bar facing up towards the ceiling. I had it facing the front and couldn't get the remote to work. I was in too much of a hurry. Good price and good sound.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Excellent Value

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sound bar has plenty of power and delivers a lot for its very meager price. I'm not especially fond of the enhanced echo sound when you add the surround feature, but playing it the normal way it is FINE! You can connect it to your system in a variety of ways making it quite versatile. It can also be anchored to the wall if you desire. Overall it is an excellent value.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Awesome Soundbar for Price!

12/04/2013
By ,
Hammond, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was our first soundbar, and I have no complaints this far. I bought this on sale on Black Friday, and for the price I could not ask for anything better. It has a surround sound button that gives that extra movie theatre sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great for a person who is slightly hard of hearing

12/07/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my mother who is hard slight to moderately hard of hearing. she usually has the tv blaring to where if i was in the living room I could turn the sound down and just listen to the program coming from hear room and watch on living room tv. So I bought this sound bar and it has really help. Its was a great bargin and well worth the price. A very happy customer :0).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great for small room

11/22/2013
By ,
Bakersfield, Ca.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I own a small 32" TV which I use in a bedroom. This product works well in a small area but don't buy it for your living room. I wanted to enhance the sound quality of the TV and was disappointed , it sounds better than the TV but hardly any bass difference. It does get loud however and works well in a small area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great value at $48

12/08/2013
By ,
Rochester NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well in my Small living room with my 46" TV. Pleasantly surprised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great sound for the price

12/16/2013
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walmart had this speaker at a special price for Black Friday so I gave it a shot. I was surprised at the sound quality of this soundbar for the price. I do not know what the regular price is but it is worth that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great Sound

10/28/2014
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had looked at a lot of these items, and although this may not be the best out there, it was the best in this price range and I am very happy with the sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

makes watching tv a lot more pleasant.

10/15/2014
By ,
Lawson, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we are very pleased with our purchase, the sound bar makes a world of difference. Its just a shame that when a flat screen is purchased it doesn't already have one. I guess its just another way for manufacturers to make and sell more products. the sound bar was worth the money and we will be purchasing a couple more. thanks Mary
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next