Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Philips Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

The Philips SoundBar Speaker (model HTL2101A/F7) is a powerful addition to your home theater system. It connects to your TV with only one cable, making setup simple and easy. Using USB or a 3.5mm connection, it offers playback from compatible MP3 players and other devices, projecting your digital music throughout the room. This soundbar for TV is wall-mountable, allowing you to save space and achieve optimal audio projection. The low-rise profile lets it sit in front of your TV without obscuring your view. This home theater soundbar works not only with TVs but also gaming consoles and DVD players, enhancing the sounds of video games and movies alike. A remote control is included for conveniently controlling volume.
Average Customer Rating:
3.194 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
37
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation64%69 out of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 91 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
37
3 stars
17
2 stars
12
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Didn't even last 3 Months !!!

03/02/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wow! I don't often take my time to write reviews, but I figured I'd take the time now to save any potential buyers from falling in my trap. I purchased this soundbar because I was trying to boost my TV's sound (also a Philips) in my small living room, but to begin with that .. the sound was muffled/very poor; almost sounded like coming from a bucket or can. The 'surround sound' sounded like having an echo, but no true surround sound effect. It didn't have an optical digital audio connector either. And no, it does not have blue-tooth capability for those of you wondering if you could connect your mobile devices to it.
What is worst of it all is that it lasted only 2 1/2 months !!! So PLEASE do not buy this piece of junk. Do more research and buy another brand that is more durable. I own a Philips LED TV which turned out good (has lasted 5 years so far), but the sound bars, DVDs and Blu-Ray players .. were all junk. I think after this I am definitely switching brands for all of my media equipment.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great Value for the Budget Minded !

02/04/2014
By ,
Wylie Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for Super Bowl Sunday and am very pleased . The reviews here helped BUT as they stated other than a power cord there are no hookup cables to be had in the box ( I used RCA cables and it works great ) so get some with your purchase .
I matched it with my " Thanksgiving Special " Funai 32in flat screen and it worked perfectly right out of the box. On surround mode it does sound a little tinny but for the money spent far exceeds what I expected . It's not for big room but works like a charm in my medium size living space and fills the room with sound !
With the money I saved I returned to Walmart and bought a Samsung Blue Ray player . I now have a very nice home system for less money than most spend on a smartphone these days .
I could have spent more but .......... why ?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Pleasantly surprised!

11/30/2013
By ,
Glendale, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have a 55" 3D smart TV, but its speaker is not so good. We gave the Philips soundbar a try, not expecting much from it because it was quite cheap. But we were pleasantly surprised. The sound is clear, the bass sounds really good! However if you turn on the surround sound, the sound becomes unpleasant, lots of reverb. But turn it off, you get far better sound than that which comes from the TV speaker. People say you get what you pay for, but with this we got more than we paid for. I recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Awesome Soundbar for Price!

12/04/2013
By ,
Hammond, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was our first soundbar, and I have no complaints this far. I bought this on sale on Black Friday, and for the price I could not ask for anything better. It has a surround sound button that gives that extra movie theatre sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

A teriffic buy for my flat screen.

01/26/2014
By ,
Corona, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It fits in well with my 50" plasma at home. I got it to enhance the sound from my TV. The surround sound option sounds a bit odd. Perhaps with added speakers it will blend in better. It does not come with any hook up cables, but the power cord. Depending on the type of TV you have, you may have to buy a certain type. My TV needed a digital audio cable which Wal-Mart has. Check the back outputs on your TV first to order the correct type; digital, USB, red & white end analog audio, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great for a person who is slightly hard of hearing

12/07/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my mother who is hard slight to moderately hard of hearing. she usually has the tv blaring to where if i was in the living room I could turn the sound down and just listen to the program coming from hear room and watch on living room tv. So I bought this sound bar and it has really help. Its was a great bargin and well worth the price. A very happy customer :0).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great value at $48

12/08/2013
By ,
Rochester NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well in my Small living room with my 46" TV. Pleasantly surprised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great sound for the price

12/16/2013
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walmart had this speaker at a special price for Black Friday so I gave it a shot. I was surprised at the sound quality of this soundbar for the price. I do not know what the regular price is but it is worth that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great for small room

11/22/2013
By ,
Bakersfield, Ca.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I own a small 32" TV which I use in a bedroom. This product works well in a small area but don't buy it for your living room. I wanted to enhance the sound quality of the TV and was disappointed , it sounds better than the TV but hardly any bass difference. It does get loud however and works well in a small area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

not what i wanted

03/26/2014
By ,
Greensboro, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this soundbar & it was really easy to connect & set up. the only problem is that it quit working in less than a week. I took it back & got an RCA that works great, plus it has Bluetooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great SoundBar!!!

03/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I've been looking for and with such an amazing price with Walmart's "Special Buy". This sound bar has great sound that fills the room, the Bluetooth feature allows me to connect my devices (ipad, ipod, computer, Tv, etc) to listen from the sound bar, it take everything to a new level. I would highly recommend this sound bar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

A Great Deal Of The Day

04/15/2014
By ,
Salem, Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unfortunately, after buying the cables we didn't know we needed and hours of frustration, we finally figured out that the remote was broken and had to take it back. What I did hear of the soundbar sounded good - too bad there was no more in stock and had to get our money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Not very happy.

12/09/2013
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this sound bar to improve the sound on an RCA 46" flat screen TV for a 22' x 23" room. It did little to improve the sound quality and the volume was still too low. Hoping to do better, I purchased a Vizio sound bar for $78.00 also at Walmart. The Vizio puts out a better quality sound and the volume is higher. Save yourself time and frustration and avoid the Philips sound bar.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Phillips HTL2101A/F7

04/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It took so much to put this together and the sound is too low
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Very Good Value

03/10/2014
By ,
Ventura, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for mind-blowing sound, this is NOT the unit to choose. With minimal sound level thie bar does a fine job with excellent clarity. As noted in other comments, the "Surround Sound" feature is poor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great for a beginner

12/14/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ease of setup is great. The sound quality is mighty good for the price. The only irritating feature is having yet another remote control to keep track of.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

disappointed

03/07/2014
By ,
SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When trying to set up the product, it does not come with everything you need, so needless to say is not what I expected! It is not fun giving a gift and then finding they have to go buy cords etc. to finish!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

HDMI

12/11/2013
By ,
Virginia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Does not have HDMI. Be aware! Should be on the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
San Diego, CA
HDMI is not needed.
Posted 02/06/2014
You don't need HDMI for an audio device. As stated by the previous poster, it has little to no effect on sound. All you need is a coaxial or optical cable. You gave this product 1 star for absolutely no reason and misleads potential customers.
0points
Customer Avatar
Columbus,GA
Best Value for Price.
Posted 12/23/2013
I purchased this product resently and I am thoroughly satisfied with the sound quality. It was for use in my bedroom and I didn't want to spend a lot of money. I have been watching a lot of Christmas movies and the sound is so good. It was well worth the price . I give this product 5 stars.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/21/2013
Though an HDMI cable connection makes a difference in picture quality, it only has minimal effects on sound.
Read more: http://www.ehow.com/info_8527907_can-cables-affect-sound-hdtv.html#ixzz2o8kTL400
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 19 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Did not work at all....

04/09/2014
By ,
Sioux Falls, SD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No connecting cables in box. When finally connected, product did not work. Immediately returned to Walmart. Great price is useless if product won't work. Very disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Good sound, bad remote

03/05/2014
By ,
MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the sound coming out of the Philips SoundBar. The only problem is I have to be inch from the Bar to get it to turn on and then use the volume control, but hey for $48.00. I really shouldn't be complain'in!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next