Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Philips Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

The Philips SoundBar Speaker (model HTL2101A/F7) is a powerful addition to your home theater system. It connects to your TV with only one cable, making setup simple and easy. Using USB or a 3.5mm connection, it offers playback from compatible MP3 players and other devices, projecting your digital music throughout the room. This soundbar for TV is wall-mountable, allowing you to save space and achieve optimal audio projection. The low-rise profile lets it sit in front of your TV without obscuring your view. This home theater soundbar works not only with TVs but also gaming consoles and DVD players, enhancing the sounds of video games and movies alike. A remote control is included for conveniently controlling volume.
Average Customer Rating:
3.146 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(137 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
45
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation63%86 out of 137reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 126 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
45
3 stars
21
2 stars
13
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

My first soundbar

06/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical buying such an inexpensive speaker but I did a little research and found some reviews online that actually gave it a decent rating. Some other people who bought this soundbar also liked it. If it didn't pan out, I could always return the purchase regardless. I bought it over my wife's objections, since she likes to stick to big name brand items. After the simple installation (I don't like reading directions), we figured out how to work the remote and it worked like a charm. We blasted the volume up and found very little distortion. We coincidentally have a 32 inch Phillips LCD TV so I don't know if the soundbar worked better because of that or not. In any case, it worked good enough to satisfy a discriminating wife.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Didn't even last 3 Months !!!

03/02/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wow! I don't often take my time to write reviews, but I figured I'd take the time now to save any potential buyers from falling in my trap. I purchased this soundbar because I was trying to boost my TV's sound (also a Philips) in my small living room, but to begin with that .. the sound was muffled/very poor; almost sounded like coming from a bucket or can. The 'surround sound' sounded like having an echo, but no true surround sound effect. It didn't have an optical digital audio connector either. And no, it does not have blue-tooth capability for those of you wondering if you could connect your mobile devices to it.
What is worst of it all is that it lasted only 2 1/2 months !!! So PLEASE do not buy this piece of junk. Do more research and buy another brand that is more durable. I own a Philips LED TV which turned out good (has lasted 5 years so far), but the sound bars, DVDs and Blu-Ray players .. were all junk. I think after this I am definitely switching brands for all of my media equipment.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Never had a chance to use it.

07/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never had a chance to use it because when i got it it never have anything. No cable, remote or any documentation on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great Value for the Budget Minded !

02/04/2014
By ,
Wylie Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for Super Bowl Sunday and am very pleased . The reviews here helped BUT as they stated other than a power cord there are no hookup cables to be had in the box ( I used RCA cables and it works great ) so get some with your purchase .
I matched it with my " Thanksgiving Special " Funai 32in flat screen and it worked perfectly right out of the box. On surround mode it does sound a little tinny but for the money spent far exceeds what I expected . It's not for big room but works like a charm in my medium size living space and fills the room with sound !
With the money I saved I returned to Walmart and bought a Samsung Blue Ray player . I now have a very nice home system for less money than most spend on a smartphone these days .
I could have spent more but .......... why ?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

A teriffic buy for my flat screen.

01/26/2014
By ,
Corona, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It fits in well with my 50" plasma at home. I got it to enhance the sound from my TV. The surround sound option sounds a bit odd. Perhaps with added speakers it will blend in better. It does not come with any hook up cables, but the power cord. Depending on the type of TV you have, you may have to buy a certain type. My TV needed a digital audio cable which Wal-Mart has. Check the back outputs on your TV first to order the correct type; digital, USB, red & white end analog audio, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Pleasantly surprised!

11/30/2013
By ,
Glendale, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have a 55" 3D smart TV, but its speaker is not so good. We gave the Philips soundbar a try, not expecting much from it because it was quite cheap. But we were pleasantly surprised. The sound is clear, the bass sounds really good! However if you turn on the surround sound, the sound becomes unpleasant, lots of reverb. But turn it off, you get far better sound than that which comes from the TV speaker. People say you get what you pay for, but with this we got more than we paid for. I recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Awesome Soundbar for Price!

12/04/2013
By ,
Hammond, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was our first soundbar, and I have no complaints this far. I bought this on sale on Black Friday, and for the price I could not ask for anything better. It has a surround sound button that gives that extra movie theatre sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

great soundbar

07/29/2014
By ,
Forsyth,Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted and needed for myTV
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great for kids room

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is good, kid likes to plug in MP3 player
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great for a person who is slightly hard of hearing

12/07/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my mother who is hard slight to moderately hard of hearing. she usually has the tv blaring to where if i was in the living room I could turn the sound down and just listen to the program coming from hear room and watch on living room tv. So I bought this sound bar and it has really help. Its was a great bargin and well worth the price. A very happy customer :0).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Needs more OOMPH!

07/15/2014
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This speaker is a very good buy for the price. Simple installation and set up. My only disappointment was in the volume. I expected a bit more volume from 2 20 Watt speakers. Also, the remote control is a bit slow to communicate/respond. I guess you could try to turn that into a positive by saying you will never accidentally turn the speaker off. The buttons have to be held down for a full second or two before anything happens. - - - This sound bar is best suited for a bedroom. Not a living room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

It stop working a week after I received it.

07/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I took it out of the box and it was dirty as if it had been used. One week after I hooked it up the sound went out. I packed it back in the box and took it back to the store for a refund. Brought a better one at Target.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great sound for the price

12/16/2013
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walmart had this speaker at a special price for Black Friday so I gave it a shot. I was surprised at the sound quality of this soundbar for the price. I do not know what the regular price is but it is worth that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great value at $48

12/08/2013
By ,
Rochester NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well in my Small living room with my 46" TV. Pleasantly surprised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great for small room

11/22/2013
By ,
Bakersfield, Ca.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I own a small 32" TV which I use in a bedroom. This product works well in a small area but don't buy it for your living room. I wanted to enhance the sound quality of the TV and was disappointed , it sounds better than the TV but hardly any bass difference. It does get loud however and works well in a small area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Great budget buy!

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good surround sound bar. Worth my money! However, i thought it was equipped with the cable that goes to the T.V, which does not. Nevertheless, Good Value for a small budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Died in 6 months

06/23/2014
By ,
OnLine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this soundbar as a reduced price special for WM. It worked fine for a few months. The remote gradually stopped operating the soundbar. There are not power buttons, etc on the soundbar. So when the remote stops working with the soundbar, its all junk. Im not sure if a new universal remote would have solved the issue. I dont know if the sound bar died or if the remote died. Either way, I threw it out. It was too late to return the item and I didn't want to put more time or money into it. I'm not sure if the remote is under powered or what. It only uses a single AAA battery. Replacing the battery does NOT fix the problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

great sound bar to begin with

07/10/2014
By ,
new castle, de
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is better for space and price compare to the old 5 speakers system
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Very disappointed.

07/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I want to return this. I bought it in January, and it lasted 6 months. It was hard to set up and never really did what I wanted it to, even when it worked. I have always like Philips products which is why I bought it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Philips HTL2101A/F7 2.1 Channel Home Theater Sound Bar

Nice smaller size sound bar.

07/05/2014
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good deal for a bedroom. Doesn't have the volume of the bigger ones, but this could also be the TV I have it hooked up to. Works well with the Dave player as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 137 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next