Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Pure Balance Pure Balance Grain Free Formula, Salmon & Pea Recipe, 24 lbs

Pure Balance Pure Balance Grain Free Formula, Salmon & Pea Recipe, 24 lbs

Pure Balance provides the best ingredients for pure and simple nutrition. It contains only natural ingredients with added vitamins and minerals.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%11 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pure Balance Grain Free Formula, Salmon & Pea Recipe, 24 lbs

Pit Bull Loves This Food!

10/10/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I switched my 9-year-old pit bull to this food after not doing very well with Science Diet. She has itchy skin and a problem with allergies and so I thought it would be a good idea to try out a grain-free food before I take more expensive measures that the vet suggested as a last resort. I wanted to put her on Blue Buffalo or Halo but can't really afford a food that expensive right now. I saw this food at my local store and the ingredients were surprisingly good, almost as good as the premium brands and way better than any of the other options, especially at such a low price.
After making the switch, my dog's fur and skin are much improved and her itching and obsessive paw licking have stopped. She absolutely loves this food and can't get enough. It has a strong salmon smell, and when I feed her I usually add a little warm water to it and she just gobbles it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ft.Worth,Tx.
Answered my question about smell
Posted 03/04/2014
Thank goodness I went from the 11 lb site to the 24 lb site as I got my first sack today and wondered about the smell. Of course the dogs love it but I wondered if it was the way it is supposed to smell. For the first few feedings I'll mix the lamb and rice, no corn or soy premium food I've been feeding. I'm trying to get rid of my Lab's gas. It has gotten better since I stopped letting him gulp food from the bowl like he always did. I spread it out on the patio so that it takes longer for him to eat. Have you had a problem with spoilage since it says there are no preservatives.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Pure Balance Grain Free Formula, Salmon & Pea Recipe, 24 lbs

Salmon & Pea...no grain. Excellent for the price!

01/21/2014
By ,
Hendersonville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have gone from buying very expensive dog food to just buying cheap dog food because of my budget. I have continued to search for an affordable dog food because I don't think all the corn and fillers are good for my dogs. I have noticed since I changed to Pure Balance that my puppy is not as hyper, my dogs don't eat as much and they don't have to go to the bathroom as much. I asked the vet about this and it seems when your dog food is more absorbable those are the results. The more protein and veggie combination is better for the dogs and more affordable with Pure Balance. I am very happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pure Balance Grain Free Formula, Salmon & Pea Recipe, 24 lbs

Not premium, but the best Walmart can give you.

12/02/2013
By ,
Mobile, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had a lot of experience with many different dog foods and have done a lot of personal research on foods, after one of my dogs was discovered to have a multitude of allergies. I've learned a great deal about canine nutrition.
That said, my daughter was looking for an affordable dog food that would be the best quality she could get. After much research, I've concluded that this one is the best that you can buy at Walmart. Even dogfoodadvisor dot com says it is an "above average" dog food, which isn't a statement they offer lightly.
My own dogs eat Wellness Core Ocean Formula, but if I couldn't afford that (it is very expensive), I would let them eat this. The only thing that it needs is a little more fat for the coat. Not much, just a small bit. I found that a tiny amount of coconut oil as a supplement works perfectly. Their coats (my daughter's dogs) almost look as good as my dogs do, who are on the expensive food. Trust me, I wouldn't feed my dogs the expensive stuff if I didn't have to. It's just the allergy thing.
It's not a perfect dog food, none of them are, but this is the best you can buy at a reasonable price, and at Walmart. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pure Balance Grain Free Formula, Salmon & Pea Recipe, 24 lbs

Dogs love it!

10/10/2013
By ,
Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our Husky mix had two ear infections in a row that required him to be put under anesthesia while his ears were cleaned and drained. It was so bad that there was blood and pus coming from them! The first time (not as bad) the Vet thought maybe something had gotten in his ear. The second time we were told that it was most likely an allergy and to switch his food immediately to a grain free food. We have been on this food for over two years now and he has not had any problems with his ears or his paws since! Not only have his allergies cleared up, my pit bull has also become much less itchy. She has very sensitive skin and this food has been great for both my dogs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pure Balance Grain Free Formula, Salmon & Pea Recipe, 24 lbs

My Lab LOVES it!

11/08/2013
By ,
Beatty, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dog is allergic to just about everything: chicken, soy, grains, dairy EVERYTHING. This food is great he doesn't get itchy, he doesn't get hot, and he actually wants to eat this food. I just wish it was available online as I live in rural Nevada and have to drive 2 hours to get to a Walmart that sells it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Ft.Worth,Tx.
Any problems with storing it in the heat of Nevada
Posted 03/04/2014
I live in Texas and summers get very hot. All my other dry foods have always been kept in the garage. Since this has no preservatives I'm wondering if it will spoil in the heat in the garage.
0points
Customer Avatar
Ft.Worth,Tx.
Just buy the 11 lbs and have shipped
Posted 03/03/2014
I just figured this out and it is only 16 cents a pound more to get the 11 lb sacks shipped to your home. I wouldn't drive 2 hours and use all that gas to save 16 cents a pound. We can drive across town to pick up the 24 lbs but it is a lot of trouble to go into the store, wait in line, schlepp it to the car, schlepp it into the house, etc. Until Walmart wakes up and starts shipping the 24 lbs I'll just buy the 11 lbs and have it delivered to my door.
0points
Customer Avatar
Ft.Worth,Tx.
My lab has gas problems
Posted 03/01/2014
Does this food help keep gas away. I've about decided that I have to go to a no grain food. Does this food contain Menadione Sulfate (Vit.K-3) as I've been reading that this is not good for dogs. Jake is also allergic to Soy. He was so fat when we got him at l year that I put him on Premium Edge Weight Loss Formula which is 44% protein. He lost a ton of weight and looks wonderful. Now, I'm trying to find something that I can feed him maintenance. Sorry you have to drive so far to get it. With the price of gas it is probably cheaper to just order the 11 lb bags and let them ship them to you.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 6 for Pure Balance Grain Free Formula, Salmon & Pea Recipe, 24 lbs

Excellent healthy food and competitive pricing

10/15/2013
By ,
Princeton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dog loves the food so much even on the first time I introduced it to him. I let him try this PB salmon food in a small bowl first. Then, put 2 type of food into 2 bowls. I then placed in front of him the other brand food first (to see if he reached out to the first bowl before anything else) and then placed PB salmon bowl down. He sniffed the first bowl and went back immediately to the PB salmon bowl and cleaned it in seconds. Oh, I love it seeing him eating happily and made choice right in front of my eyes. Test it yourself!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pure Balance Grain Free Formula, Salmon & Pea Recipe, 24 lbs

My Nit-picky Ratchiweenie LOVES this food!

09/12/2013
By ,
Portland Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it on a whim, grain free, affordable, and I needed to find something she'd eat since she has snubbed the last 5 brands I've tried to feed to her. This stuff got snubbed till I hand fed her a few bites, it has a strong salmon smell. But once she tried it.... There has been no stopping her, she even chewed a hole in the bag to get more when I was busy. Now, instead of playing hard to get at breakfast, she wakes me at 7 am wanting to be fed. She has sptopped itching all the time and she has no more constipation since this change of food either. I'm sold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pure Balance Grain Free Formula, Salmon & Pea Recipe, 24 lbs

Pure Balance Grain Free dog Food

12/21/2013
By ,
Gaffney Sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this the first time tonight and my dogs love it. They won't eat Dry food but they ate this right up. Hope they do good on it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pure Balance Grain Free Formula, Salmon & Pea Recipe, 24 lbs

I breed English Bulldogs and they LOVE it ...

03/20/2014
By ,
Shelton WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the English Bulldog breed having many potential skin and food issues , this food has worked out amazing..They love the food and there is special bags for special potential issues your dogs may have , skin , tummy and so on...I love it is a grain and wheat and soy free food ... I just wish they had a puppy kibble and not just the puppy soft can....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pure Balance Grain Free Formula, Salmon & Pea Recipe, 24 lbs

My 2 dogs devour it

03/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Switched my dogs to this and now they devour their food as soon as I give it to them instead of nibbling at their food all day.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pure Balance Grain Free Formula, Salmon & Pea Recipe, 24 lbs

Great Dog Food

02/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this dry dog food for a about 6 months. My dog is very happy with the food. I like that you can now order the food online and pick it up in the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.