Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

This Ozark Trail flashlight is an optimal choice if you are looking for a strong and sturdy flashlight. This flashlight is the most powerful full-sized flashlight in the Ozark Trail line, with 500 lumens of light output. The Cree high-powered LED and deep micro-textured reflector provide a uniform beam pattern for 234 meters. This light features high and low settings and runs on six low-cost AA batteries It provides an impressive 7.5-hour run time on its highest setting. It is constructed of quality materials including aerospace-grade aluminum, which makes it durable and lightweight. A tough polycarbonate lens is ideal for the conditions of the great outdoors. Because of its impact-resistant construction, this flashlight can handle being banged up a little. Its cool gray and orange coloring adds to its sleek and modern look. This flashlight is ideal for camping and nighttime activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.672 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation98%125 out of 128reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 26 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

For a $20 flashlight this one is great

12/04/2013
By ,
Crestview, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned over 30 different flashlights from high end brands such as SureFire etc and this is the best bargain flashlight I have ever owned. I love that it uses AA batteries and has close to a 40 hour life. At the beginning of battery use it is extremely bright on high mode and just the right brightness on low mode. That said when the batteries run low you still get great usage out of this flashlight. My only complaint is the switch. It feels cheap but not flimsy. To access low mode you have to turn on high mode first then turn it off then on again for low mode. I wish this flashlight had a rubber or plastic end cover so it wouldn't roll when you set it down. I also recommend the smallerOzark Trail CREE LED flashlights as well. For such a low price this is a great deal. To end this review I have to say I really like the aluminum body of the flashlight because it feels high quality not cheap at all. I am really pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Very bright and has a good switch fucntion.

01/12/2014
By ,
St. Paul, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for $20 on line and it is a good value. The switch function is bright-dim-off and repeat. The 'dim' is listed at 100 lumens for 38 hours and bright enough for most uses. I mark it down for durability because it uses 6 AA batteries. That is a lot of batteries that will eventually leak if you leave alkaline batteries in it. This is a generic problem with most flashlights but this one will be especially difficult to remove a swollen battery from the internal plastic battery guide. I put rechargeable NIMH batteries in mine and it is working well on these. I never have had these leak and become jammed in a flashlight. The modern NIMH have a low discharge rate an will still hold a charge after many months. Look for 2500-3000 milliamp hour cells and not the cheaper ones that have half the capacity. This is a much better solution than the typical rechargeable flashlight with a custom battery because they are easy to replace or carry spares that can be used in other devices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

All the Cops Will Want This

01/15/2014
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked up this little beast, er, gem, at Walmart as a Christmas gift for my dad. I'd never heard of the Ozark Trail brand, but was attracted by the 500 lumen output. My little no-name penlight puts out around 7 lumens and helps me find my way around the trunk, so I figured how far wrong could I go with 500 lumens? Bought it, Mom quickly put it in her own glovebox because this thing is small as one with two or three "D" cells, but as bright as a car headlight. Or at least it seems that way to me. When I flashed it around their two-acre yard at night to test it out, I became concerned that I would disturb the neighbors 100 yards away. I'm definitely buying one of these for myself.
We haven't owned it long enough to comment on durability, but the aluminum case can't hurt.
It is by far the brightest flashlight I have ever seen. When they find out about it, all the cops will want one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Great light

06/01/2014
By ,
Fort Collins Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I dont give good reviews often but this product amazed me . The high beam is so bright with white light, the range is incredible. At least 200 yards and still going. The feel of it reeks with quality and strength. The fact that it has two settings , high and low is a very good thing. When you are close to the target , you need to lower the light level. It stuns the cotton tails in my yard to a hypnotic state...
I would give this flash light 10 stars if it were possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Excellent light, particularly at this price!

02/03/2014
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am the chief administrator for a small police agency in Texas. About 18 months ago, I set about finding the brightest flashlight for our night officers. We purchased (5) 500 lumen rechargeable lights for about $170 each from a well known law enforcement supplier. And they are great lights. But this light, I bought a week ago, is just as bright. And at $140 cheaper, and well, that buys a heck of a lot of AA's! I know Walmart says 7.5 hours on high, but the packaging of the light said 38.5 hours burn time on high and 102 hours on low. This is now the new duty light for the rest of our department. and the commenter asking for a battery meter built in, even the best law enforcement/FD lights don't have that. I plan to buy more for neighbors/family/friends when I can find them in stock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

True 500 lomens

06/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It appears to be a true 500 lumens using comparisons to other flashlights.
Good and sturdy, a bargain too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

I got it while it was on sale!

08/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off i will say that I paid just under 11 bucks for this flash light when it was on sale and because of that I couldn't be happier! Just took it on my family camping trip and used it 5 nights in a row and the light is still going strong off the batteries provided. Light it gives off is extremely powerful but it also has a lower setting so you can turn it down when you do not need all that light. The flash light itself feels very solid and it got tossed around plenty during my trip so I am happy there as well.
Like I said I got this thing for 11 bucks and recommend waiting for it to go on sale before you invest in it, if you do you will be extremely happy with your purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Great Bright Flashlight

08/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This flashlight was on sale and I took a chance on it. It is very bright with 2 modes, high and low. The light produced is white, which to me is a plus, instead of the blue hued light of some other brands. It came with batteries so you can use it right after you open the package. I have used it for around 7 hours, 5 of the hours were in constant on bright mode and the light shows no sign of diminished light due to battery drain. Great light.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Awesome value solid product

11/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being an avid camper, backpacker and outdoorsman I am familiar with a lot of products and normally overlook Ozark Trail as they tend to be low end for my needs. I picked up this flashlight for family camping and have to say it is an awesome piece of equipment for the price. My wife actully bought the 200 which is 2 inches shorter just a hair lighter but the battery life on this is what attracted me. A bit big for backpacking but great for the reason I bought it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MOON
OT-500L flash light
Posted 11/30/2013
i buy alot of flash lights
this is a beast
heavy like a mag lite
the 500L is so bright, no zoom though
for $20 its worth it
i would get this for all police depts
heavy enough to protect yourself
bright enough to light entire football field
the batteries that come with it wont last long, buy some rechargeable
the only thing i do not like about this is the button is
pressed - HIGH, LOW, then off
should be HIGH off, LOW off
but no big thing, just remember after using your high beam 1 press wont turn it off, you need 2 presses
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Very bright and solid but a bit too big

08/01/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a really bright light on high mode such that during a recent camping trip I found myself using low instead. I like the flashlight but given it's almost too bright close in and it's a bit large and heavy, I still prefer the Rayovac "indestructible" 2AA light. Other nearby campers did not like me using it as the reflected light on high was annoyingly bright.
My coworker has both types of flashlights and came up with the same conclusion after his camping trip too.
It's very good though. I can't say much for battery life other than it's good but I have yet to change batteries yet using the included ones -- nice value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

very bright light

08/01/2014
By ,
houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is not your usual pocket sized LED flashlight but a near 'normal' sized light with a very, very bright bulb. I doubt you will get anything like the advertised runtimes with it on full power, but it has a low power mode that would work for many situations, like dog walking at night.
Its a bit big for a center console, but easily fits in a glove box. It comes with the six alkaline batteries needed to power it, but in both my lights the batteries were already a year past their sell bye date, hence the sale price one presumes.
I have many LED flashlights from Costo, HD etc, and this is by far the best and brightest
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

I liked them so much I couldn't buy just 1

12/28/2013
By ,
Temple Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my first one just curious what a 500 lumen led could do. I was surprised at the distance and clarity the light was able to reach. I was looking for my pet in the fog and the light reached out a full residential block and found my dog in the otherwise dark area. I had to be careful not to shine the light directly into a neighbors window it was so bright.
I purchased 3 others as stocking stuffers and they were very popular.
I always put vaseline coating on the batteries ends to prevent corroding that happens so common in flashlights before I learned that trick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Beyond expectations

08/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, this light outperformed all my expectations. It feels very solid and durable. The light output is noticeably brighter than my mag-lite 3D LED flashlight. It's a great buy and I would not hesitate to buy more if I needed. Only time will tell if this light will last, but all indications (such as construction, o-ring sealing compartment, led lamp, etc) means it will exceed my expectations. It's a great light for camping, emergency home use, or all-purpose flash light. FYI, I ordered 3 and all worked and had the same outputs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Great if you can get it on sale!

08/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got two of them when they were on sale for ten dollars a piece. At that price they're great. They come on bright at first and lose some lumens over time but they still do the job and they feel like they're made to last. Rubber gasket on battery cover gets destroyed the first time you take the battery cap off but it's an easy part to replace or rig. I plan to leave one in the truck and one in the toolbox.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

great flashlight

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this flashlight is very bright.it is a bit heavy ;but not to heavy.I like that if it is to bright,click it twice,and it not as bright.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Light is powerful, lights up over 1000 ft away

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good price, works well so far, have not dropped it yet. very bright on high beam, low beam is pretty bright to. Lights up woods 1000+ feet away on high beam.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Got it on sale for 10 bucks!

08/09/2014
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value, especially that it came with Duracell batteries, which are worth almost 5 bucks alone. Seems pretty solid and I like the feature that allows two different settings, saving the batteries if you don't need very bright light. Oh yeah, the flashlight looks like a robot shlong, my wife thinks so too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Totally awesome flashlight!

08/01/2014
By ,
Pittsfield, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had another flashlight that I thought was very bright at 170 lumens. But this one at 500 lumens is unbelievable! Fantastic light. All aluminum shell so it should be very durable. It is heavy, but that's what you get with an aluminum body. I was surprised to learn that it has a high and low power that cycles with the power button. Very cool. I got this light at a huge sale for $10 instead of $30. I would have never considered buying at $30, but for $10 I bought to use on my sailboat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Excellent large, lightweight utility flashlight.

08/01/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This flashlight is lightweight, very bright on its high setting and great on the low setting. The Claimed 7 plus hours on the high setting and over 48 hours on low is absolutely outstanding on just six AA batteries. I paid less than $11 for this product which made the deal a must buy. If I knew the quality of this prior to purchase I would have purchased many more.
The manufacturer claims 3 meter (drop) impact resistance. I have not tested or inadvertently dropped the flashlight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Solid and satisfying

08/09/2014
By ,
Punta Gorda, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Throws a great beam of light. I love the fact that it uses AA batteries, which I always have on hand for other things (whereas with Cs and Ds the ones I have - if I have them - are often old and expired). I also love the heft - probably will make a great club if I need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next