Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

This Ozark Trail flashlight is an optimal choice if you are looking for a strong and sturdy flashlight. This flashlight is the most powerful full-sized flashlight in the Ozark Trail line, with 500 lumens of light output. The Cree high-powered LED and deep micro-textured reflector provide a uniform beam pattern for 234 meters. This light features high and low settings and runs on six low-cost AA batteries It provides an impressive 7.5-hour run time on its highest setting. It is constructed of quality materials including aerospace-grade aluminum, which makes it durable and lightweight. A tough polycarbonate lens is ideal for the conditions of the great outdoors. Because of its impact-resistant construction, this flashlight can handle being banged up a little. Its cool gray and orange coloring adds to its sleek and modern look. This flashlight is ideal for camping and nighttime activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%43 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

For a $20 flashlight this one is great

12/04/2013
By ,
Crestview, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned over 30 different flashlights from high end brands such as SureFire etc and this is the best bargain flashlight I have ever owned. I love that it uses AA batteries and has close to a 40 hour life. At the beginning of battery use it is extremely bright on high mode and just the right brightness on low mode. That said when the batteries run low you still get great usage out of this flashlight. My only complaint is the switch. It feels cheap but not flimsy. To access low mode you have to turn on high mode first then turn it off then on again for low mode. I wish this flashlight had a rubber or plastic end cover so it wouldn't roll when you set it down. I also recommend the smallerOzark Trail CREE LED flashlights as well. For such a low price this is a great deal. To end this review I have to say I really like the aluminum body of the flashlight because it feels high quality not cheap at all. I am really pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Very bright and has a good switch fucntion.

01/12/2014
By ,
St. Paul, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for $20 on line and it is a good value. The switch function is bright-dim-off and repeat. The 'dim' is listed at 100 lumens for 38 hours and bright enough for most uses. I mark it down for durability because it uses 6 AA batteries. That is a lot of batteries that will eventually leak if you leave alkaline batteries in it. This is a generic problem with most flashlights but this one will be especially difficult to remove a swollen battery from the internal plastic battery guide. I put rechargeable NIMH batteries in mine and it is working well on these. I never have had these leak and become jammed in a flashlight. The modern NIMH have a low discharge rate an will still hold a charge after many months. Look for 2500-3000 milliamp hour cells and not the cheaper ones that have half the capacity. This is a much better solution than the typical rechargeable flashlight with a custom battery because they are easy to replace or carry spares that can be used in other devices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

All the Cops Will Want This

01/15/2014
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked up this little beast, er, gem, at Walmart as a Christmas gift for my dad. I'd never heard of the Ozark Trail brand, but was attracted by the 500 lumen output. My little no-name penlight puts out around 7 lumens and helps me find my way around the trunk, so I figured how far wrong could I go with 500 lumens? Bought it, Mom quickly put it in her own glovebox because this thing is small as one with two or three "D" cells, but as bright as a car headlight. Or at least it seems that way to me. When I flashed it around their two-acre yard at night to test it out, I became concerned that I would disturb the neighbors 100 yards away. I'm definitely buying one of these for myself.
We haven't owned it long enough to comment on durability, but the aluminum case can't hurt.
It is by far the brightest flashlight I have ever seen. When they find out about it, all the cops will want one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Great light

06/01/2014
By ,
Fort Collins Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I dont give good reviews often but this product amazed me . The high beam is so bright with white light, the range is incredible. At least 200 yards and still going. The feel of it reeks with quality and strength. The fact that it has two settings , high and low is a very good thing. When you are close to the target , you need to lower the light level. It stuns the cotton tails in my yard to a hypnotic state...
I would give this flash light 10 stars if it were possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Excellent light, particularly at this price!

02/03/2014
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am the chief administrator for a small police agency in Texas. About 18 months ago, I set about finding the brightest flashlight for our night officers. We purchased (5) 500 lumen rechargeable lights for about $170 each from a well known law enforcement supplier. And they are great lights. But this light, I bought a week ago, is just as bright. And at $140 cheaper, and well, that buys a heck of a lot of AA's! I know Walmart says 7.5 hours on high, but the packaging of the light said 38.5 hours burn time on high and 102 hours on low. This is now the new duty light for the rest of our department. and the commenter asking for a battery meter built in, even the best law enforcement/FD lights don't have that. I plan to buy more for neighbors/family/friends when I can find them in stock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

True 500 lomens

06/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It appears to be a true 500 lumens using comparisons to other flashlights.
Good and sturdy, a bargain too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Light is powerful, lights up over 1000 ft away

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good price, works well so far, have not dropped it yet. very bright on high beam, low beam is pretty bright to. Lights up woods 1000+ feet away on high beam.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Awesome value solid product

11/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being an avid camper, backpacker and outdoorsman I am familiar with a lot of products and normally overlook Ozark Trail as they tend to be low end for my needs. I picked up this flashlight for family camping and have to say it is an awesome piece of equipment for the price. My wife actully bought the 200 which is 2 inches shorter just a hair lighter but the battery life on this is what attracted me. A bit big for backpacking but great for the reason I bought it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MOON
OT-500L flash light
Posted 11/30/2013
i buy alot of flash lights
this is a beast
heavy like a mag lite
the 500L is so bright, no zoom though
for $20 its worth it
i would get this for all police depts
heavy enough to protect yourself
bright enough to light entire football field
the batteries that come with it wont last long, buy some rechargeable
the only thing i do not like about this is the button is
pressed - HIGH, LOW, then off
should be HIGH off, LOW off
but no big thing, just remember after using your high beam 1 press wont turn it off, you need 2 presses
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

I liked them so much I couldn't buy just 1

12/28/2013
By ,
Temple Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my first one just curious what a 500 lumen led could do. I was surprised at the distance and clarity the light was able to reach. I was looking for my pet in the fog and the light reached out a full residential block and found my dog in the otherwise dark area. I had to be careful not to shine the light directly into a neighbors window it was so bright.
I purchased 3 others as stocking stuffers and they were very popular.
I always put vaseline coating on the batteries ends to prevent corroding that happens so common in flashlights before I learned that trick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Great Flashlight

05/16/2014
By ,
Ark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally, a flashlight that lets you see what you need to - bright light lets me see from one end of my yard to the other from the safety of my door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight

06/24/2014
By ,
SAN DIEGO, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Flashlight is very bright. The low beam function is great @ close quarters to save the batteries. It seems to be very well made. Time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Hard to beat for the price

12/18/2013
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this mainly out of curiosity and, for the price, it's a pretty good value. I'll use it mainly while camping so I'm sure the kids will love it. It's bright, that's for sure, but we'll see how durable it is. I took it to work with me one night and after about five minutes in 20° weather it wouldn't turn back on. After it sat in my truck for a little while it started to work again. Again, for the price, it's not bad depending on what you're planning on using it for
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Ozark Trail Creed Hight Powered Led Aluminum Flash

03/24/2014
By ,
washington nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think it is great! Earl.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Nice for average use

05/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works very well and my wife loves using it..much lighter & brighter (500 Lumen) than our old MagLite. The only issue is that right after purchasing this light, I found the same quality grade 2000 Lumen flashlight for $20.50.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Collins Colorado
less money is always good
Posted 05/21/2014
where did you find it for less money. thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Great Flashlight

12/16/2013
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had already purchased the Ozark 200 Lumens flashlight and when I saw the 500 was going to be on sale on Black Friday, I was ready. I bought 10 of them for friends and family and we were not disappointed. This flashlight lights up the entire backyard. I actually found it is too bright for close up work such as putting screws in eyeglasses, however, I'm certainly not complaining. This flashlight is my truck flashlight and gets knocked around, dropped and still works perfectly. It works great for finding addresses on houses, checking out things on the roof in the dark and spotting critters far off. We live and work by the beach and it is best flashlight I have found for all types of uses at the beach. I highly recommend this flashlight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Model 20047

11/17/2013
By ,
Smallville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found out that Ozark Trail Outdoor Equipment is an in house Walmart branded item. Manufacturing (as stated on the box) Is often done outside of the country.
Although, I do not personally know the blogger who posted this link, (see web-site link below) I would be interested to know If anyone else has tested the flashlight so as to see If anyone else experiences the same problem. Maybe it was an isolated incident - I hope so.
Visit this link: (copy & paste into your browser If needed)
http://gunwatch.blogspot.com/2013/11/review-ozark-trail-500-lumen-flashlight.html
I'm running the flashlight through the refrigerator test right now as we speak to see if it works at lower temperatures. Visit the site I provided, you'll understand. I hope this flashlight lasts me a long time with no problems, because I really like it & it's incredibly incredibly BRIGHT!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Definitely 500 lumens

12/15/2013
By ,
SW VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great light for the bucks! Out shines my Terralux 300. Uses AA batteries so you can use rechargables.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

OT-500L flash light - SUPER BRIGHT 1 pound

11/30/2013
By ,
MOON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a super bright flash light
bright enough to light the entire football field
heavy enough to protect yourself or to run over or drop it
it looks water proof with 2 o rings inside
might wanna change to rechargeable batteries though
i would recommend this to any police or fire dept
for $20 you can not beat this
even if it was made in china :)
it is tough as nails
if i had money i would buy 20 of them for all my friends
this will replace a mag-lite 100%
the light is yellowish though compared to some of my other WHITE beam led flashlights
but its super bright
you can see the beam at night pointed in the sky
if your going to pay $30 for this, goto ebay & buy one that comes with a re charger plug in
i bought over 20 from ebay, not the same brand... but the brightness is similar
i also love my white light vs this one has a yellowish tint
but for $20 on black friday, it was a steal
its gonna go in my car for those days when i need to light up the sky
i own 6 of these for $10 this would be a better deal, pure white light, zoom included, strobe, sos
http://www.amazon.com/CREE-Rechargeable-Flashlight-lumens-switch/dp/B004VPDTOO
but the quality might be cheaper
i can see dropping this OZARK 500L off a 3 story roof onto concrete & it still working... have not tried it but i could see it... it is heavy duty
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Blown away

12/06/2013
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spend a lot of time camping, hiking, and exploring in the outdoors. There is a lot of expensive high end gear out there promising to do amazing things. I was floored when I decided to pick up this flashlight. Not only radically cheaper then most 500 lumen flashlights its seriously bright. My girlfriend and I use to keep a spot light in our trunk for those situations when you need an intense flashlight. This lights replaced that. Packing the same punch but way smaller. Its a little heavy to carry all the time but perfect for car camping or on a cabin getaway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 6AA OT-500L Flashlight with Duracell Batteries

Excellent!

12/31/2013
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband purchased this flashlight first and loves it so I went ahead and bought my Dad one for Christmas. Can't beat $20.00 for a 500 lumen light. I also like that you can switch it to low light. Would definitely recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next