Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Sceptre Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

The stylish glossy black X505BV-FMQR 50-inch LED HDTV with 60Hz lets you view in crisp, crystal clear and sharp images to eliminate all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. With the addition of three HDMI ports lets you connect all your favorite devices at one time, an MHL port that connects your everyday mobile device to a computer and the innovative USB port further expands functionality, it allows users to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This HDTV also comes with built-in ATSC/NTSC to provide you with vivid and stunning images so you can watch it all day long and SRS TruSurround Sound to enhance all your audio sound. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(1840 Reviews) 1837
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,000
4 stars
496
3 stars
94
2 stars
49
1 star
201
Customer Recommendation85%1,569 out of 1,840reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
172 Questions | 731 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1,000
4 stars
496
3 stars
94
2 stars
49
1 star
201
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Just what I wanted

01/24/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for gaming in my living room. I do mostly PC gaming so it was important that the TV could keep up. So far it does. I had to mess about a bit with my video card resolution settings. Using HDMI the NVIDIA control will accept it as a PC monitor up to 1680x1050 resolution, or as an HD Monitor at the 1080P, 1920x1080. Using it as an HD Monitor takes a bit of mucking about with some settings, but looks amazing when it's all set!
As for the speaker.. you can forget it. Even a decent pair of earbuds would sound better (tested it!). If you're going with something like a sound bar or wireless gaming headset like I do, keep in mind that the TV does NOT have connections for digital optical. but it DOES have digital Coax, and of course, HDMI or standard 3.5mm analog.
Also, it can mount flush against a wall without worrying about losing access to input/output connections. All in all, if it lasts at least decade I would say it's more than a great deal.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+125points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Sacramento, CA
Last a decade?
Posted 07/21/2014
Don't these pretty much wear out after about 5 years? I know some parts are replaceable, but I always considered these a five year only investment. Besides in 5 years 4k will be the norm and probably cost the same as a 1080p now.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Carlsbad, CA
Is there a setting for overscan or 1:1 pixel mappi
Posted 05/27/2014
I plan to do the same thing. I have an old Sceptre hooked up to an old computer. I want to hook up my newer laptop, but it only has hdmi. On the old Sceptre, it overscans about 70 pixels all the way around when connect to hdmi, so I can't see anything on the edges. There's no setting to correct it. When you say that you have to play around with it, are you adjusting the tv settings or the settings for an ATI or NVidia control panel? TIA.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Florida
Excellent TV
Posted 05/27/2014
I bought a 32" sceptre 2 years ago for my bedroom and was blown away by the picture quality. When the cable guy installed it for me, he told me it is a SONY offbrand and uses the same codes as a SONY for the cable converter. Around the same time, I bought a 42" some other brand for the living room. I found that I rarely watched the TV in the living room because the picture on the Sceptre was so much better. Last year, I saw the 50" Sceptre come on sale - immediately purchased it, thinking I would be very happy with the picture quality since my 32" was so great - I was not disappointed!!!! I love it!!! I have since bought my mom a new tv for her living room - a Sceptre 40".
+2points
Customer Avatar
Texas
Blurry
Posted 02/02/2014
Just purchased this tv in time for Super Bowl. Couldn't really make out the score as it was somewhat blurry even after adjusting settings. Save more money until you can get a better quality tv. This is ok for a kids room or bedroom but not as your main tv. Now can't send my post until I set up a nickname. Everything I choose has been picked!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
Portland OR
digital audio output
Posted 01/25/2014
Just to be clear, this model *does* have a digital audio output (coaxial). If you are viewing over-the-air HDTV, 5.1 surround sound can be on the digital audio output. But for any other signal source to the TV, audio will be dumbed down to 2-channel stereo on the digital audio output. This is more or less typical of many TV sets from many manufacturers.
+3points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 2 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

TV was returned for malfuction to Sceptre

10/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TV was replaced due to warranty and 2nd TV needs replaced due to bad picture with multicolor lines across screen.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Great for the price

08/14/2014
By ,
Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you're not super picky about your entertainment, It's cheaper than the rest. The size is large, the visual quality is pretty good. But the way it's made is only ok. The foam around the edges of the screen is inconsistent so there are places where you can see the light coming through from the inside of the tv.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Overall it's a great buy!

02/20/2014
By ,
Lynnwood, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture quality is great. Nice and vivid. It also has settings so you can change the sound quality as well as picture quality... That's a great option. It's big and easy to assemble. I will be purchasing a sound bar just because the sound quality to me isn't as great as I wanted as I am a big movie person. But other then that its everything I wanted. Great price
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+142points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Nice TV....questionable shipment method

05/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I think we would have loved this television.....had it been delivered undamaged....TWICE!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

MY BEST PURCHASE EVER "THANKS SCEPTRE"

07/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG...I just order this 2 days ago and it's already here!!! It wasn't suppose to arrive until tomorrow, of course I couldn't wait to unwrap it. To my surprise, people were right on point with the reviews, my only concern was that I didn't want to be disappointed with it being damaged from the delivery, but again to my surprise, it came perfectly intact. Bigger than what I imagined. If you're looking for a great TV at a unbelievable price...look no further...THIS PRODUCT WILL AMAZE YOU. I am so happy I can scream!!!
PS: Most TV's don't come equipped with a headphone jack, but this one does. So I decided to do to increase my sound by connecting my computer speakers with woofer to the TV and WOW!!! the sound is amazing, it beats paying too much for unnecessary components, such as audio bars and Theater systems....a good computer speaker system does the trick...the key is the woofer. I recommend Gateway...the sound quality is better. Any one will do. Thanks to the Sceptre Company for such a great product, keep up the good work.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+190points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Best TV for the money.

09/17/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a single girl living on my own and I knew I had to be smart with my budget when I was TV shopping but then again I didn't want something that wouldn't hold up leaving me miserable. I own an Xbox One so I had no need for a Smart TV I just wanted something at least 50" and great quality. I was questionable from the price if this would be a good buy and I now can honestly say I'm am extremely satisfied! It's perfect for watching blue rays or regular tv I can't wait to order another for my bedroom!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Austell, Ga
Disappointed
Posted 10/13/2014
I received this tv and I was excited to set it up for my company coming over to watch the game. The screen was cracked and was made poorly, Had to run out and purchase another tv before my company arrived. Waste of time and not worth it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Great TV, I have 3

09/24/2014
By ,
Inglewood
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love these TV's !!! My picture is soooooo clear you can't believe a TV of the Brand would be sooooooo good. Easy to set up and channels were easy to install.....!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

SERVICE IS HORRIBLE! It took over 6-months!!!

01/18/2014
By ,
Tampa, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My SCEPTRE TV was working fine, good sale price and I bought the extra service plan. That's where the fun begins! At almost 1-year half my picture went out, it took over 6-months for SCEPTRE to get a new TV to me. Here's the rest of the story. Their service center is in California and YOU have to get it there. Even when I got the TV back to them they sent one, 6-months later that was broken- the screen looked like a baseball went through it. All this time, I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV. SCEPTRE finally agreed because the UPS driver was a friend of mine and noted the box was damaged and charted the damage back to the drop-off point in California, they sent me another TV - hey this only took 2 more months. Now I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV for almost 8-months - totally unbelievable! When they finally sent me a new TV to replace my original broken SCEPTRE JUNK, they sent me a replacement that looked the same, but it was a cheaper model that didn't have all the features like Picture-IN-A-Picture, etc. I seriously would not recommend a SCEPTRE, spend a couple bucks extra and get something else.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+548points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
S.E. PA
Have to wonder about this review!
Posted 07/03/2014
Picture in Picture? The replacement didn't have that? Here's some news for you, neither did the original one you bought. Your credibility is questionable to say the least.
+6points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

A great TV - Pros & Cons:

10/09/2014
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this TV, especially with all the analog inputs (for PC's and game consoles without HDMI, which is just one generation ago). Of course even an old DVD player or camcorder could be hooked up to this TV. It can handle most devices from say 1985 to 2015+. A LOT of new TV's have gotten rid of the analog inputs and ONLY have HDMI, so be aware of this when you are shopping.
Cable TV note: This TV does not have a QAM tuner, so you will have to use your cable company's converter box if your cable provider has switched to all digital/encrypted/protected programming. A lot of other TV's are like this now too. You probably won't even be using the TV's built in coax tuner. So figure on one of your HDMI ports being taken up by your cable box all the time (another reason not to get a TV with only 1 or 2 HDMI ports). This TV has 3 HDMI ports.
Initial Failure:
What I didn't like was the first TV I ordered arrived defective, so I had to take it back to Walmart, get my money back, and re-order it. It wasn't shipping damage, it actually arrived not working (IR receiver dead). So I took an overall rating star off for that bit of hassle. Fortunately, the second TV arrived working.
PROS (for my particular setup):
Has PC (VGA) input so you can hook an older computer to it and run it at up to 1920 x 1080.
The swivel base is very useful for both TV/room positioning and for reaching behind the TV.
Three (3) HDMI inputs is very useful, especially for hooking up future gadgets.
The brightness and color depth are very good, very vivid, impressive display.
LED backlit so it uses a small fraction of the energy (electricity) that my previous LCD TV used.
50" is a great size for the average living room and it can be moved around by one person.
I paid less than $350 after a coupon which is a great price for a 50" TV with so many features.
This TV allows component or composite input so you can easily hook up an older AV device.
The remote has dedicated source buttons so you don't always have to scroll through inputs.
Can easily be "upgraded" into a Smart TV if needed (Roku).
Has Dolby digital output for home theater sound system (optical Toslink).
You can set it to turn itself off if it detects "NO SIGNAL" (auto off).
Has MHL so a supported phone / tablet can be displayed on the TV.
Computers with an HDMI port can easily hook up and stream/display 1080p to the TV.
Very nice quality picture looks good whether streaming, watching live TV, or using a computer (I played with the Sharpness setting to get a good compromise between computer text clarity and TV motion video).
CONS:
The first one I ordered arrived defective out of the box. So obviously quality control is an issue. Consider it's way too expensive to ship back, and will it fit in your car to drive it to a Walmart store? That's a real concern with a TV this large! Consider the size of the box, not just the TV.
The manufacturer's warranty (after Walmart's 90 day TV return policy expires) REQUIRES you to ship the TV back to Sceptre for any warranty service. REMEMBER to keep your TV box and all packing material, just in case. At some future point you may have to decide if it's worth repairing it vs. replacing it, even if it's under warranty.
When viewing very dark scenes (or black/blank screen) white patches that look like "clouds" are visible on the screen. Decreasing brightness makes it worse. While raising the brightness makes them less obvious, that approach also leads to the entire picture being too washed out. Fortunately you only see the white patches when the picture is close to solid black. With even a little bit of color on the screen you don't notice it at all. At the price of this TV compared to others, I think it is to be expected. I took one star off the picture quality review due to it, but I do still really like the TV and it's more of a nit-picky thing for me that you may not even notice.
The internal speakers are pretty terrible, although tweaking the settings does help a little (especially EQ). Just use a home theater sound system or at least a sound bar instead of the internal speakers and it'll be fine. I think everyone with a TV this large should be using a home theater sound system if you're at all interested in movies. Playing movies with only the internal speakers would be a real shame. I rated the sound quality "Average" but really you need external speakers to appreciate this TV.
Final Thoughts:
Overall I am very pleased with this TV. It's exactly what I wanted and has all the inputs I could ever want or need. Even with the patchy spots on dark scenes, had the first one I received worked properly I would have given an overall rating of 5 stars at this price level.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

What a Let Down

04/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My Boyfriend bought this TV online and had it shipped to the store. As soon as it arrived we went to Walmart and picked it up. There was a decent size scratch on the box but nothing that would of damaged the TV. We opened it up and set it up and everything was perfect until we turned it on. The entire screen was broken. The actual physical screen wasn't broken but the image part right behind it was cracked entirely and the screen was destroyed to where it look like someone kicked it or dropped it or something. Sadly they do not carry this item in store just online. It is not something we will order again just because of the awful experience. Other than that the TV stand didn't seem that sturdy. It was meant to have a swivel aspect to it but it made the TV shake if you were walking near it and it just seemed as if it would fall over.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

great TV.

06/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first HDTV. I upgraded my cable contract and this TV was the perfect match. Easy to assemble and set up. The picture is just great. 50" is just right size for our living room. I couldn't have made a better choice, especially for the price. Delivery was quick and the store personnel were very helpful loading it into my car.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Images with similar colors are muddy

01/06/2014
By ,
Lexington, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First... the package was brutally damaged during shipping. I know this is an issue with FedEx, but believe it should be noted in case anyone else has a similar experience.
The TV itself is OK but the picture quality leaves much to be desired. Even when viewing HD content, any image with similar colors or colors in the background appear to be a glob.
Watching a basketball game, a player's jersey wouldn't show any detail and you could hardly make out the team logo on the shirt. Not talking about high action plays either, even the players on the bench seemed to appear muddy.
The color does not seem as rich as other LED TVs and the blacks need to be much darker for better depth with the images.
If I had it to do over again, I would've bought a used Samsung I found on Amazon.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Somerset, Kentucky
Yep it's cable or satellite that is the problem
Posted 05/20/2014
Yep it's cable or satellite that is the problem, not the TV. When I moved back to America these digital channels were just starting. I compared cable, satellite, and antenna TV and the broadcasts from the cable and satellite was so bad and so expensive I decided not to subscribe, cable and stuck with antenna which even the 480i from PBS looks better than the crud the expensive satellite & cable services were sending.
Of course I'm become less and less of a professional sports fan every day so it's no big deal to skip the NBA, NFL, and MLB for me anymore and certainly not a problem to skip the rest of those broadcasts and commercials.
0points
Customer Avatar
out there
Cable OR Direct tv
Posted 02/10/2014
i agree that it could be your program provider, I have this tv and picture,/ color, detail, all are great, and thats because of my Direct tv HD channels, picture not near as great without hd channels.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Houston, Texas
Cable Provider Issue?
Posted 01/12/2014
Couldn't this be an issue with the cable provider as well. I have a Vizio and on the channels that don't offer HD the picture quality is horrible.
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 14 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Good Buy for a great price

04/21/2014
By ,
Lansdowne, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was super happy with this find, the TV is working out great for our living room. Shipping was quick it arrived in 48 hours with standard shipping to the home and it made a nice upgrade to our 42inch plasma 720 HD that we had before. The picture and sound are great and the MHL throw cast works well with our Sony XperiaZ1s cell phones.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lakeland. FL.
Bought mine in December 2012
Posted 06/14/2014
A great TV for 1 & 1/2 years now with the exceptions the picture goes out for about 3 seconds 2-3 times a day. its so quick doesn't bother me but I know it would some people. I saw this same complaint from another person that bought one just before I did.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

worst tv ever.

11/01/2014
By ,
ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my first tv worked great for one day came home after work on day 2 no audio and no picture. No reason for it to break was working fine when I turned it off. Took it back to the store ordered the same Tv and it arrived with a broken screen. This is the second time I will be returning the tv. I am very disappointed... = (
I took my chance on this tv after reading the reviews but its not worth the time and effort. Dont buy it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

50" TV

06/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is NOT a smart tv. This is a black, 50", LED tv 1080p/ 60htz. It is great for cable, satellite, DVD/blu ray. You can also hook it up as a monitor to your pc. It is Ryobi-stick ready --if you want a smart tv without the price tag. I got this tv for $400, which is an amazing price. I'm very pleased with it, I have never bought the sceptre brand before as of: 6/6/14, I have no complaints.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
38654
MS.
Posted 07/08/2014
I want to hook a DVD to this tv but don't see the red, yellow and white holes to put the DVD wires into. Where are they please?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

i'm just a gal who watches tv....and occasional dv

01/04/2014
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a 40-45" tv to replace my big tube TV which is dying. but when i stumbled upon this 50" for the price (at the time $349) I knew I had to jump on it. I got the warranty to be safe b/c i was not familiar with the brand. Had it shipped to store and it was in good condition when i picked it up. It's really light weight. I could've gotten up my 2 flight of stairs by myself! All the parts/tools were in the box accordingly, even a screwdriver. It was pretty easy to hook up. I got my dvd player hooked up, my att UVERSE hooked up to it fine. Probably took me all of 20mins from box to watching. The picture is good. You can have cinema, wide, standard, zoom and some other type of screens. it was easy to get my dvd's showing. so i'm all set. I knew the volume was a common problem in some of the other reviews so i was prepared. but at the same time, i have a very small living room. the volume does not seem to be a problem for me. in fact, the boys are watching it in the living room now, and i'm in the next room and can hear what they are watching so....the picture seems good enough for me. no cracks or pixel problems as far as i can see either. of course, this is DAY 1...let's hope i'm still just as happy in 6-12mos...
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+209points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
mn
Wow $349!
Posted 05/16/2014
Truly, this is an amazing deal for $349! When was that offer available?
0points
Customer Avatar
Decatur,Ga.
NO GOOD!!
Posted 01/26/2014
Not sure about the last comments but this one is 100% REAL. THIS TV IS NO GOOD!! I purchased this TV in October 2013 for my living room in my new home. I personally and purposely mounted it up on the wall so that no one could physically touch it. Especially my kids. I'm real strict about all my Techs. So its been about 4 months. I watched TV late last night. Woke up early this morning and turned it on and the screen was damaged and I could barely see the picture. At first glance I thought someone hit the screen with something. But after further investigation the location where it is obviously damaged I noticed that it was coming from inside the TV. As if something exploded inside. Now I know that happens with TVs all the time. But Brand new within 4 months? No Not worth the money. I will never buy a Sceptre product again.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Best bang for the buck

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this over the Labor Day weekend because I just moved to a new apartment. I'm so lucky I stumbled across it because for the price, this is hands down one of the best tv's I have ever owned. I'm usually a Vizio guy but I think I've been converted. The picture is crystal clear which makes my Alabama football amazing. Couple that with the great sound quality and I'm very happy with my invesent.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Awesome First Man Cave TV!!

02/28/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tv Looks Great. Its Thinner Than I Thought. picture Quality isn't Great if you're Watching a 480i channel (Probably Due To The 60hz) But otherwise 720p, 1080p and HD ARE Amazing. sound Quality Could Be Better But Its A New 50" LED So Im Not Complaining I Just Bought A Sound Bar. I Don't Have Much Faith In The TV Stand... It Seems A little Flimsy BUT Mounting Is The Best Option.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Great TV Great Price

10/14/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this TV on a Thursday night and it was at my door Saturday morning! The delivery was super fast! The TV is lightweight. I brought a stand to hold my component but plan to hang in when it arrives. The sound quality is OK, if you the volume is past the "C" in SCEPTRE you may hear thumping. You will need a sound bar for movies and such. There seemed to be a smug in the screen but when the TV is on it is not visible. The picture quality is very nice for the price. The cable guy says this is a Sony product because he used Sony codes to program the universal remote. I think this is a great product for this price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 1,838 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  92 Next