Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Sceptre Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

The stylish glossy black X505BV-FMQR 50-inch LED HDTV with 60Hz lets you view in crisp, crystal clear and sharp images to eliminate all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. With the addition of three HDMI ports lets you connect all your favorite devices at one time, an MHL port that connects your everyday mobile device to a computer and the innovative USB port further expands functionality, it allows users to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This HDTV also comes with built-in ATSC/NTSC to provide you with vivid and stunning images so you can watch it all day long and SRS TruSurround Sound to enhance all your audio sound. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.186 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1070 Reviews) 1069
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
608
4 stars
283
3 stars
48
2 stars
32
1 star
99
Customer Recommendation86%925 out of 1,070reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
84 Questions | 466 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
608
4 stars
283
3 stars
48
2 stars
32
1 star
99
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Just what I wanted

01/24/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for gaming in my living room. I do mostly PC gaming so it was important that the TV could keep up. So far it does. I had to mess about a bit with my video card resolution settings. Using HDMI the NVIDIA control will accept it as a PC monitor up to 1680x1050 resolution, or as an HD Monitor at the 1080P, 1920x1080. Using it as an HD Monitor takes a bit of mucking about with some settings, but looks amazing when it's all set!
As for the speaker.. you can forget it. Even a decent pair of earbuds would sound better (tested it!). If you're going with something like a sound bar or wireless gaming headset like I do, keep in mind that the TV does NOT have connections for digital optical. but it DOES have digital Coax, and of course, HDMI or standard 3.5mm analog.
Also, it can mount flush against a wall without worrying about losing access to input/output connections. All in all, if it lasts at least decade I would say it's more than a great deal.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Sacramento, CA
Last a decade?
Posted 07/21/2014
Don't these pretty much wear out after about 5 years? I know some parts are replaceable, but I always considered these a five year only investment. Besides in 5 years 4k will be the norm and probably cost the same as a 1080p now.
0points
Customer Avatar
Carlsbad, CA
Is there a setting for overscan or 1:1 pixel mappi
Posted 05/27/2014
I plan to do the same thing. I have an old Sceptre hooked up to an old computer. I want to hook up my newer laptop, but it only has hdmi. On the old Sceptre, it overscans about 70 pixels all the way around when connect to hdmi, so I can't see anything on the edges. There's no setting to correct it. When you say that you have to play around with it, are you adjusting the tv settings or the settings for an ATI or NVidia control panel? TIA.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Florida
Excellent TV
Posted 05/27/2014
I bought a 32" sceptre 2 years ago for my bedroom and was blown away by the picture quality. When the cable guy installed it for me, he told me it is a SONY offbrand and uses the same codes as a SONY for the cable converter. Around the same time, I bought a 42" some other brand for the living room. I found that I rarely watched the TV in the living room because the picture on the Sceptre was so much better. Last year, I saw the 50" Sceptre come on sale - immediately purchased it, thinking I would be very happy with the picture quality since my 32" was so great - I was not disappointed!!!! I love it!!! I have since bought my mom a new tv for her living room - a Sceptre 40".
+1point
Customer Avatar
Texas
Blurry
Posted 02/02/2014
Just purchased this tv in time for Super Bowl. Couldn't really make out the score as it was somewhat blurry even after adjusting settings. Save more money until you can get a better quality tv. This is ok for a kids room or bedroom but not as your main tv. Now can't send my post until I set up a nickname. Everything I choose has been picked!!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Portland OR
digital audio output
Posted 01/25/2014
Just to be clear, this model *does* have a digital audio output (coaxial). If you are viewing over-the-air HDTV, 5.1 surround sound can be on the digital audio output. But for any other signal source to the TV, audio will be dumbed down to 2-channel stereo on the digital audio output. This is more or less typical of many TV sets from many manufacturers.
+3points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 2 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Overall it's a great buy!

02/20/2014
By ,
Lynnwood, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture quality is great. Nice and vivid. It also has settings so you can change the sound quality as well as picture quality... That's a great option. It's big and easy to assemble. I will be purchasing a sound bar just because the sound quality to me isn't as great as I wanted as I am a big movie person. But other then that its everything I wanted. Great price
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Nice TV....questionable shipment method

05/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I think we would have loved this television.....had it been delivered undamaged....TWICE!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

MY BEST PURCHASE EVER "THANKS SCEPTRE"

07/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG...I just order this 2 days ago and it's already here!!! It wasn't suppose to arrive until tomorrow, of course I couldn't wait to unwrap it. To my surprise, people were right on point with the reviews, my only concern was that I didn't want to be disappointed with it being damaged from the delivery, but again to my surprise, it came perfectly intact. Bigger than what I imagined. If you're looking for a great TV at a unbelievable price...look no further...THIS PRODUCT WILL AMAZE YOU. I am so happy I can scream!!!
PS: Most TV's don't come equipped with a headphone jack, but this one does. So I decided to do to increase my sound by connecting my computer speakers with woofer to the TV and WOW!!! the sound is amazing, it beats paying too much for unnecessary components, such as audio bars and Theater systems....a good computer speaker system does the trick...the key is the woofer. I recommend Gateway...the sound quality is better. Any one will do. Thanks to the Sceptre Company for such a great product, keep up the good work.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

great TV.

06/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first HDTV. I upgraded my cable contract and this TV was the perfect match. Easy to assemble and set up. The picture is just great. 50" is just right size for our living room. I couldn't have made a better choice, especially for the price. Delivery was quick and the store personnel were very helpful loading it into my car.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

SERVICE IS HORRIBLE! It took over 6-months!!!

01/18/2014
By ,
Tampa, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My SCEPTRE TV was working fine, good sale price and I bought the extra service plan. That's where the fun begins! At almost 1-year half my picture went out, it took over 6-months for SCEPTRE to get a new TV to me. Here's the rest of the story. Their service center is in California and YOU have to get it there. Even when I got the TV back to them they sent one, 6-months later that was broken- the screen looked like a baseball went through it. All this time, I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV. SCEPTRE finally agreed because the UPS driver was a friend of mine and noted the box was damaged and charted the damage back to the drop-off point in California, they sent me another TV - hey this only took 2 more months. Now I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV for almost 8-months - totally unbelievable! When they finally sent me a new TV to replace my original broken SCEPTRE JUNK, they sent me a replacement that looked the same, but it was a cheaper model that didn't have all the features like Picture-IN-A-Picture, etc. I seriously would not recommend a SCEPTRE, spend a couple bucks extra and get something else.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+231points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
S.E. PA
Have to wonder about this review!
Posted 07/03/2014
Picture in Picture? The replacement didn't have that? Here's some news for you, neither did the original one you bought. Your credibility is questionable to say the least.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

50" TV

06/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is NOT a smart tv. This is a black, 50", LED tv 1080p/ 60htz. It is great for cable, satellite, DVD/blu ray. You can also hook it up as a monitor to your pc. It is Ryobi-stick ready --if you want a smart tv without the price tag. I got this tv for $400, which is an amazing price. I'm very pleased with it, I have never bought the sceptre brand before as of: 6/6/14, I have no complaints.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
38654
MS.
Posted 07/08/2014
I want to hook a DVD to this tv but don't see the red, yellow and white holes to put the DVD wires into. Where are they please?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

What a Let Down

04/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My Boyfriend bought this TV online and had it shipped to the store. As soon as it arrived we went to Walmart and picked it up. There was a decent size scratch on the box but nothing that would of damaged the TV. We opened it up and set it up and everything was perfect until we turned it on. The entire screen was broken. The actual physical screen wasn't broken but the image part right behind it was cracked entirely and the screen was destroyed to where it look like someone kicked it or dropped it or something. Sadly they do not carry this item in store just online. It is not something we will order again just because of the awful experience. Other than that the TV stand didn't seem that sturdy. It was meant to have a swivel aspect to it but it made the TV shake if you were walking near it and it just seemed as if it would fall over.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

i'm just a gal who watches tv....and occasional dv

01/04/2014
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a 40-45" tv to replace my big tube TV which is dying. but when i stumbled upon this 50" for the price (at the time $349) I knew I had to jump on it. I got the warranty to be safe b/c i was not familiar with the brand. Had it shipped to store and it was in good condition when i picked it up. It's really light weight. I could've gotten up my 2 flight of stairs by myself! All the parts/tools were in the box accordingly, even a screwdriver. It was pretty easy to hook up. I got my dvd player hooked up, my att UVERSE hooked up to it fine. Probably took me all of 20mins from box to watching. The picture is good. You can have cinema, wide, standard, zoom and some other type of screens. it was easy to get my dvd's showing. so i'm all set. I knew the volume was a common problem in some of the other reviews so i was prepared. but at the same time, i have a very small living room. the volume does not seem to be a problem for me. in fact, the boys are watching it in the living room now, and i'm in the next room and can hear what they are watching so....the picture seems good enough for me. no cracks or pixel problems as far as i can see either. of course, this is DAY 1...let's hope i'm still just as happy in 6-12mos...
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+148points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
mn
Wow $349!
Posted 05/16/2014
Truly, this is an amazing deal for $349! When was that offer available?
0points
Customer Avatar
Decatur,Ga.
NO GOOD!!
Posted 01/26/2014
Not sure about the last comments but this one is 100% REAL. THIS TV IS NO GOOD!! I purchased this TV in October 2013 for my living room in my new home. I personally and purposely mounted it up on the wall so that no one could physically touch it. Especially my kids. I'm real strict about all my Techs. So its been about 4 months. I watched TV late last night. Woke up early this morning and turned it on and the screen was damaged and I could barely see the picture. At first glance I thought someone hit the screen with something. But after further investigation the location where it is obviously damaged I noticed that it was coming from inside the TV. As if something exploded inside. Now I know that happens with TVs all the time. But Brand new within 4 months? No Not worth the money. I will never buy a Sceptre product again.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

TV Damaged when Arrived, Box and Exterior Fine

06/12/2014
By ,
MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would highly recommend that BEFORE you spend 1/2 an hour installing the BASE on
this TV that you plug it in and see if it is damaged.
I wasted a morning getting it setup and carried to my bedroom. Turned it on and the
screen is all busted. Not anything you can see on the exterior. The TV when turned off looks excellent, not a scratch, the box I received it in (thru FedEx) has no damage.
I turned the TV on and the plasma screen is all busted. (see pic) How will I ever get this back into the box and hauled to Walmart? Wasted my morning.... now waste afternoon trying to dismantle the base and get it all back into the box..
The TV looks nice and it is lighter than my 40" Sony. I can carry it from one room to the next easier than my heavier Sony.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Good Buy for a great price

04/21/2014
By ,
Lansdowne, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was super happy with this find, the TV is working out great for our living room. Shipping was quick it arrived in 48 hours with standard shipping to the home and it made a nice upgrade to our 42inch plasma 720 HD that we had before. The picture and sound are great and the MHL throw cast works well with our Sony XperiaZ1s cell phones.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lakeland. FL.
Bought mine in December 2012
Posted 06/14/2014
A great TV for 1 & 1/2 years now with the exceptions the picture goes out for about 3 seconds 2-3 times a day. its so quick doesn't bother me but I know it would some people. I saw this same complaint from another person that bought one just before I did.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Images with similar colors are muddy

01/06/2014
By ,
Lexington, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First... the package was brutally damaged during shipping. I know this is an issue with FedEx, but believe it should be noted in case anyone else has a similar experience.
The TV itself is OK but the picture quality leaves much to be desired. Even when viewing HD content, any image with similar colors or colors in the background appear to be a glob.
Watching a basketball game, a player's jersey wouldn't show any detail and you could hardly make out the team logo on the shirt. Not talking about high action plays either, even the players on the bench seemed to appear muddy.
The color does not seem as rich as other LED TVs and the blacks need to be much darker for better depth with the images.
If I had it to do over again, I would've bought a used Samsung I found on Amazon.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Somerset, Kentucky
Yep it's cable or satellite that is the problem
Posted 05/20/2014
Yep it's cable or satellite that is the problem, not the TV. When I moved back to America these digital channels were just starting. I compared cable, satellite, and antenna TV and the broadcasts from the cable and satellite was so bad and so expensive I decided not to subscribe, cable and stuck with antenna which even the 480i from PBS looks better than the crud the expensive satellite & cable services were sending.
Of course I'm become less and less of a professional sports fan every day so it's no big deal to skip the NBA, NFL, and MLB for me anymore and certainly not a problem to skip the rest of those broadcasts and commercials.
0points
Customer Avatar
out there
Cable OR Direct tv
Posted 02/10/2014
i agree that it could be your program provider, I have this tv and picture,/ color, detail, all are great, and thats because of my Direct tv HD channels, picture not near as great without hd channels.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Houston, Texas
Cable Provider Issue?
Posted 01/12/2014
Couldn't this be an issue with the cable provider as well. I have a Vizio and on the channels that don't offer HD the picture quality is horrible.
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 13 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

good

05/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Awesome First Man Cave TV!!

02/28/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tv Looks Great. Its Thinner Than I Thought. picture Quality isn't Great if you're Watching a 480i channel (Probably Due To The 60hz) But otherwise 720p, 1080p and HD ARE Amazing. sound Quality Could Be Better But Its A New 50" LED So Im Not Complaining I Just Bought A Sound Bar. I Don't Have Much Faith In The TV Stand... It Seems A little Flimsy BUT Mounting Is The Best Option.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

I'll let the picture do the talking

12/27/2013
By ,
las vegas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If they would just inspect what they ship the TV is a great buy.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Everywhere USA
GREAT BUY!!
Posted 01/04/2014
I read the comments on this tv as well as several others. It seemed to have more favorable
opinions. I ordered it on WalMart.com. It said it would take a week. Got it in 4 or 5 days.
Read the instructions as others say. Also get a sound bar as someone said. I happened to get a sound bar on Thanksgiving for $37. Great Picture. No problems. Been enjoying it in my Camper for the past 24 hours! Would recommend this tv. Price is good. Picture quality is great. Sound quality is fair. Price is great for a 50".
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Awesome deal! 50" beauty...this basic TV rocks

12/29/2013
By ,
Lorton,VA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off well done Walmart, I shopped online and in stores thru X-mas for a great TV at a bargain price. My needs were a basic TV did not need Wi-Fi ,or a smart TV, I have a PS 3 system for that. While in stores I had a hard time finding that at anything close to this price. Finally gave in and purchased this online Dec 26th it arrived Saturday Dec 28th...AWSOME!!! Now I did live close to shipping origin so I felt really lucky on that. This is a large box, but not super heavy 46 pounds I moved it and set it up without help. After getting all connections hooked up (free) air TV , Surround receiver, PS 3 system even a 3 rca plug for older game cube system. Picture is great (for this price) digital signals clear as cable, Blu ray discs fantastic! Remote range disappointing, but that's it. Even the TV speakers with adjustment are decent ( not surround system quality) but who needs that for regular TV. If you are thinking about this TV buy one if you need an affordable very good LED set.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Great TV for the price.

02/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivered by FedEx in perfect condition two days after I ordered it. Stand was easily put together and I had it up and working in under ten minutes. Picture quality is fantastic. I've got my Roku stick as well as my PS3 connected and it works wonderfully with both. I didn't need a TV with all the smart features so this was a perfect choice. While I can see where some people using the TV in a large room might have issues with the sound, for the smaller den I'm using it it it's perfectly fine. I already had a sound bar for my 32" Vizio, which got moved to the bedroom, so I hooked that up to it too and am perfectly happy. If you're looking for a lower cost 50" TV that performs like a more expensive model this is definitely the way to go. No, it doesn't have all of the bells and whistles some of the newer TV's have but I didn't need them anyway. My favorite non tech related feature of the TV is actually the swivel base it's nice to be able to easily turn the TV for a better viewing angle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

A GOOD TV FOR THE PRICE

06/23/2014
By ,
Southern California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a basic 50" TV. It does have 3 HDMI ports which allows for versatility. One of those ports is already wired to accept input from a mobile devise, a feature not usually found on TV's in this class range. It has a 60 hz refresh rate instead of the 120 rate found on higher priced models but for the common viewer, this should make no difference. The sound is fair, as it is with most HD TV's. This TV has a digital audio out which makes for easy hook up to a sound bar or surround sound system. I purchased the Sceptre sound bar and this improves the sound a great deal, plus the Sceptre sound bar can be controlled by the TV's remote. The only gripe I have is the appearance of three shade areas on the screen, especially noticeable when bright scenes are on the screen. I have purchased a second Sceptre TV of the same model and when it arrives, if the new screen doesn't have this problem, I will exchange the first TV for a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Long time Sceptre owner of servial TVs

12/10/2013
By ,
Porter, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Sceptre TVs in the past. I bought my first 1 a 32" model about 4 years ago.
Spectre makes all of Sony TVs. So the quality should be on par with similar sets.
First off this thing is huge. The mounting pattern for the Vesa is 200mm and the screw size is m6.
I was actually able to wall mount it with a 37" mount with a weight rating of 50lbs and that has a vesa pattern of 200mm. It wont stay on that mount because I have a bigger mount coming, but I just though I would let you know you could.
I am using this tv in my bedroom / home office. I have my computer connected to it through HDMI and using it as a third monitor when needed.
The picture is great. But the auto contrast feature makes the picture change brightness regularly when watching movies so I suggest turning it off.
Set is a great buy and good for everyday use. I have dealt with Sceptre customer service in the past, and I was very satisfied when they repaired a tv that was out of warranty at no cost to me.
Get this set, you will love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+156points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Osceola
they are made
Posted 12/22/2013
Sceptre televisions are made by Hitachi.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Osceola
doesnt NOT make Sony tv
Posted 12/22/2013
Just Google it!!
Sceptre TV's are manufactured by Sceptre Technologies. They privately owned and headquartered in California. Sceptre models were one of the top ten selling televisions at Wal-mart in July 2012.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for Sceptre X505BV-FMQR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

A great TV without the bells and whistles

04/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever noticed how the most difficult function to use on a smart phone is using the phone itself to make a call? In the world of TVs, this is not a smart TV. No Wi-Fi, no 3-D no yada yada. Maybe you could call it a dumb TV, but if all you want is a TV it's probably what you're looking for. The TV is easy to use.
The quality of the television, right down to the packing materials, is excellent. I used most of the settings that I read in a review of this same TV on Amazon.com and the picture is superb. I don't use the sound from the speakers within the TV because it's used as part of a home theater system, but for the short time that I heard those speakers when I started up the TV it sounded great to me.
For a 50 inch TV it is very light and the base is easy to install. I like the fact that it allows you to rotate the TV 30° in either direction.
It's not the newest technology with the fastest refresh rate but it's a beautiful picture and a great TV for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 1,070 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  54 Next