Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Sceptre Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

The stylish glossy black X505BV-FMDR 50-inch LED HDTV with 60Hz lets you view in crisp, crystal clear and sharp images to eliminate all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. With the addition of three HDMI ports lets you connect all your favorite devices at one time, an MHL port that connects your everyday mobile device to a computer and the innovative USB port further expands functionality, it allows users to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This HDTV also comes with built-in ATSC/NTSC/QAM to provide you with vivid and stunning images so you can watch it all day long and SRS TruSurround Sound to enhance all your audio sound. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.22 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(746 Reviews) 745
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
431
4 stars
201
3 stars
27
2 stars
21
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation88%653 out of 746reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
69 Questions | 394 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
431
4 stars
201
3 stars
27
2 stars
21
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Just what I wanted

01/24/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for gaming in my living room. I do mostly PC gaming so it was important that the TV could keep up. So far it does. I had to mess about a bit with my video card resolution settings. Using HDMI the NVIDIA control will accept it as a PC monitor up to 1680x1050 resolution, or as an HD Monitor at the 1080P, 1920x1080. Using it as an HD Monitor takes a bit of mucking about with some settings, but looks amazing when it's all set!
As for the speaker.. you can forget it. Even a decent pair of earbuds would sound better (tested it!). If you're going with something like a sound bar or wireless gaming headset like I do, keep in mind that the TV does NOT have connections for digital optical. but it DOES have digital Coax, and of course, HDMI or standard 3.5mm analog.
Also, it can mount flush against a wall without worrying about losing access to input/output connections. All in all, if it lasts at least decade I would say it's more than a great deal.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Blurry
Posted 02/02/2014
Just purchased this tv in time for Super Bowl. Couldn't really make out the score as it was somewhat blurry even after adjusting settings. Save more money until you can get a better quality tv. This is ok for a kids room or bedroom but not as your main tv. Now can't send my post until I set up a nickname. Everything I choose has been picked!!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Portland OR
digital audio output
Posted 01/25/2014
Just to be clear, this model *does* have a digital audio output (coaxial). If you are viewing over-the-air HDTV, 5.1 surround sound can be on the digital audio output. But for any other signal source to the TV, audio will be dumbed down to 2-channel stereo on the digital audio output. This is more or less typical of many TV sets from many manufacturers.
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Overall it's a great buy!

02/20/2014
By ,
Lynnwood, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture quality is great. Nice and vivid. It also has settings so you can change the sound quality as well as picture quality... That's a great option. It's big and easy to assemble. I will be purchasing a sound bar just because the sound quality to me isn't as great as I wanted as I am a big movie person. But other then that its everything I wanted. Great price
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

SERVICE IS HORRIBLE! It took over 6-months!!!

01/18/2014
By ,
Tampa, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My SCEPTRE TV was working fine, good sale price and I bought the extra service plan. That's where the fun begins! At almost 1-year half my picture went out, it took over 6-months for SCEPTRE to get a new TV to me. Here's the rest of the story. Their service center is in California and YOU have to get it there. Even when I got the TV back to them they sent one, 6-months later that was broken- the screen looked like a baseball went through it. All this time, I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV. SCEPTRE finally agreed because the UPS driver was a friend of mine and noted the box was damaged and charted the damage back to the drop-off point in California, they sent me another TV - hey this only took 2 more months. Now I'm without my BIG SCREEN TV for almost 8-months - totally unbelievable! When they finally sent me a new TV to replace my original broken SCEPTRE JUNK, they sent me a replacement that looked the same, but it was a cheaper model that didn't have all the features like Picture-IN-A-Picture, etc. I seriously would not recommend a SCEPTRE, spend a couple bucks extra and get something else.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+141points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

i'm just a gal who watches tv....and occasional dv

01/04/2014
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a 40-45" tv to replace my big tube TV which is dying. but when i stumbled upon this 50" for the price (at the time $349) I knew I had to jump on it. I got the warranty to be safe b/c i was not familiar with the brand. Had it shipped to store and it was in good condition when i picked it up. It's really light weight. I could've gotten up my 2 flight of stairs by myself! All the parts/tools were in the box accordingly, even a screwdriver. It was pretty easy to hook up. I got my dvd player hooked up, my att UVERSE hooked up to it fine. Probably took me all of 20mins from box to watching. The picture is good. You can have cinema, wide, standard, zoom and some other type of screens. it was easy to get my dvd's showing. so i'm all set. I knew the volume was a common problem in some of the other reviews so i was prepared. but at the same time, i have a very small living room. the volume does not seem to be a problem for me. in fact, the boys are watching it in the living room now, and i'm in the next room and can hear what they are watching so....the picture seems good enough for me. no cracks or pixel problems as far as i can see either. of course, this is DAY 1...let's hope i'm still just as happy in 6-12mos...
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Decatur,Ga.
NO GOOD!!
Posted 01/26/2014
Not sure about the last comments but this one is 100% REAL. THIS TV IS NO GOOD!! I purchased this TV in October 2013 for my living room in my new home. I personally and purposely mounted it up on the wall so that no one could physically touch it. Especially my kids. I'm real strict about all my Techs. So its been about 4 months. I watched TV late last night. Woke up early this morning and turned it on and the screen was damaged and I could barely see the picture. At first glance I thought someone hit the screen with something. But after further investigation the location where it is obviously damaged I noticed that it was coming from inside the TV. As if something exploded inside. Now I know that happens with TVs all the time. But Brand new within 4 months? No Not worth the money. I will never buy a Sceptre product again.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Images with similar colors are muddy

01/06/2014
By ,
Lexington, KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First... the package was brutally damaged during shipping. I know this is an issue with FedEx, but believe it should be noted in case anyone else has a similar experience.
The TV itself is OK but the picture quality leaves much to be desired. Even when viewing HD content, any image with similar colors or colors in the background appear to be a glob.
Watching a basketball game, a player's jersey wouldn't show any detail and you could hardly make out the team logo on the shirt. Not talking about high action plays either, even the players on the bench seemed to appear muddy.
The color does not seem as rich as other LED TVs and the blacks need to be much darker for better depth with the images.
If I had it to do over again, I would've bought a used Samsung I found on Amazon.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
out there
Cable OR Direct tv
Posted 02/10/2014
i agree that it could be your program provider, I have this tv and picture,/ color, detail, all are great, and thats because of my Direct tv HD channels, picture not near as great without hd channels.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Houston, Texas
Cable Provider Issue?
Posted 01/12/2014
Couldn't this be an issue with the cable provider as well. I have a Vizio and on the channels that don't offer HD the picture quality is horrible.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Awesome First Man Cave TV!!

02/28/2014
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tv Looks Great. Its Thinner Than I Thought. picture Quality isn't Great if you're Watching a 480i channel (Probably Due To The 60hz) But otherwise 720p, 1080p and HD ARE Amazing. sound Quality Could Be Better But Its A New 50" LED So Im Not Complaining I Just Bought A Sound Bar. I Don't Have Much Faith In The TV Stand... It Seems A little Flimsy BUT Mounting Is The Best Option.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

nice tv

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't used it yet but the packaging had a huge hole in it and alot of deep scratches on the box. Not sure how it works. I will be putting it up the week so I will know then.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

I'll let the picture do the talking

12/27/2013
By ,
las vegas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If they would just inspect what they ship the TV is a great buy.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Everywhere USA
GREAT BUY!!
Posted 01/04/2014
I read the comments on this tv as well as several others. It seemed to have more favorable
opinions. I ordered it on WalMart.com. It said it would take a week. Got it in 4 or 5 days.
Read the instructions as others say. Also get a sound bar as someone said. I happened to get a sound bar on Thanksgiving for $37. Great Picture. No problems. Been enjoying it in my Camper for the past 24 hours! Would recommend this tv. Price is good. Picture quality is great. Sound quality is fair. Price is great for a 50".
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Awesome deal! 50" beauty...this basic TV rocks

12/29/2013
By ,
Lorton,VA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off well done Walmart, I shopped online and in stores thru X-mas for a great TV at a bargain price. My needs were a basic TV did not need Wi-Fi ,or a smart TV, I have a PS 3 system for that. While in stores I had a hard time finding that at anything close to this price. Finally gave in and purchased this online Dec 26th it arrived Saturday Dec 28th...AWSOME!!! Now I did live close to shipping origin so I felt really lucky on that. This is a large box, but not super heavy 46 pounds I moved it and set it up without help. After getting all connections hooked up (free) air TV , Surround receiver, PS 3 system even a 3 rca plug for older game cube system. Picture is great (for this price) digital signals clear as cable, Blu ray discs fantastic! Remote range disappointing, but that's it. Even the TV speakers with adjustment are decent ( not surround system quality) but who needs that for regular TV. If you are thinking about this TV buy one if you need an affordable very good LED set.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Great TV for the price.

02/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivered by FedEx in perfect condition two days after I ordered it. Stand was easily put together and I had it up and working in under ten minutes. Picture quality is fantastic. I've got my Roku stick as well as my PS3 connected and it works wonderfully with both. I didn't need a TV with all the smart features so this was a perfect choice. While I can see where some people using the TV in a large room might have issues with the sound, for the smaller den I'm using it it it's perfectly fine. I already had a sound bar for my 32" Vizio, which got moved to the bedroom, so I hooked that up to it too and am perfectly happy. If you're looking for a lower cost 50" TV that performs like a more expensive model this is definitely the way to go. No, it doesn't have all of the bells and whistles some of the newer TV's have but I didn't need them anyway. My favorite non tech related feature of the TV is actually the swivel base it's nice to be able to easily turn the TV for a better viewing angle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Long time Sceptre owner of servial TVs

12/10/2013
By ,
Porter, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Sceptre TVs in the past. I bought my first 1 a 32" model about 4 years ago.
Spectre makes all of Sony TVs. So the quality should be on par with similar sets.
First off this thing is huge. The mounting pattern for the Vesa is 200mm and the screw size is m6.
I was actually able to wall mount it with a 37" mount with a weight rating of 50lbs and that has a vesa pattern of 200mm. It wont stay on that mount because I have a bigger mount coming, but I just though I would let you know you could.
I am using this tv in my bedroom / home office. I have my computer connected to it through HDMI and using it as a third monitor when needed.
The picture is great. But the auto contrast feature makes the picture change brightness regularly when watching movies so I suggest turning it off.
Set is a great buy and good for everyday use. I have dealt with Sceptre customer service in the past, and I was very satisfied when they repaired a tv that was out of warranty at no cost to me.
Get this set, you will love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+140points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Osceola
they are made
Posted 12/22/2013
Sceptre televisions are made by Hitachi.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Osceola
doesnt NOT make Sony tv
Posted 12/22/2013
Just Google it!!
Sceptre TV's are manufactured by Sceptre Technologies. They privately owned and headquartered in California. Sceptre models were one of the top ten selling televisions at Wal-mart in July 2012.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

EXCELLENT VALUE FOR THE PRICE

01/08/2014
By ,
ANAHEIM, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this TV for $399 and honestly was a little skeptical about the possible lack of quality and features. I am extremely happy now that I did make the purchase. The picture quality is very good, I didn't check "excellent" because it is just that, "very good". If you're looking for an excellent picture, then you will have to spend more money. The sound quality is lacking.I have it connected to my home theater surround system so when just the TV sound is on, there is a huge difference. Other than those two issues, THIS IS A GREAT TV. As I mentioned the picture is very nice, great color, has a lot of options & features. If you have, or can purchase & connect this TV to a surround sound system, then you are set with a nice entertainment center. I have only had it for a week so I have not had a chance to explore all the features it has to offer, but I have this TV set up in our family room & WE LOVE IT!!! EXCELLENT 50" TV FOR THE PRICE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Great TV - Sceptre 50-inch

03/23/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After ordering, my TV arrived sooner than anticipated. It was on sale online so I feel I got an exceptional value.
Had some difficulty getting the base on, the metal ring between the stand and the TV did not have the correct holes drilled--THEN I noticed that the manual included with the TV was for the Sceptre 40, not the 50. I called Sceptre Customer Support the next business day. They were cordial and said that they would mail out a new 'pack' which would include the correct manual, remote control, & metal ring that day. It came very quickly and the TV went together without any further issues. So, obviously, I did not experience any difficulty working with the customer service side of Sceptre, as some have reported in these reviews.
Some people reviewing this product have complained about the speakers--I find them just fine, but I have never had a theater system or surround-sound.
I am very pleased with my HDTV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Exceeded my expectations

01/28/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a number of customer reviews which helped me purchase this tv. While it is true that the sound might not please everyone (it was better, although tinny, after I undid the surround sound feature which gave a muffled audio), I am totally happy with the other features of this tv. I checked Amazon (they were showing this for over $600 on their site) for more customer comments. A video on Youtube which showed unpacking and setting up this tv was very useful, especially when it came to attaching the stand to the tv (hint - use the packing material to prop up the tv on all four corners). Since I have no cable and only an indoor $10 antenna the only drawback for me is that one can only add channels automatically and cannot manually add one or two channels after adjusting the 'rabbit ears'. When you run the automatic channel finder it will erase all channels that do not come in on the new adjustment to the antenna. Hopefully it was last as long as my old projector tv did!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Great tv

01/01/2014
By ,
Madison, In.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had it for 1 week. This is a beautiful tv. Big picture with a small metal edge around makes it very attractive. TV picture itself I couldn't ask for more, it is just beautiful. For me, color needs absolutely no adjustment at all.
The only drawback is the same as most flat screens that are not "top of the line", the sound. If you have read reviews of similar priced TV's, you've heard this before. This tv has several settings for sound including a 7-band equalizer but you still can't get very much "body" in the sound. Trying to crank up some of the settings will only result in a rattle in the tv speakers. I have a cheap sound bar but it is more than enough to compensate and gives a great sound. I expected this going in so I don't have a problem with the sound. I only wish the tv had a variable out audio so I can control sound bar volume with my remote, but I have to turn on the sound bar manually or with it's own remote anyway so it doesn't really matter.
I got this tv mainly for my xbox 360/ps3 and I couldn't be happier.
Red Dead Redemption is beautiful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Not 4 Analog: Yes for Movies, Gaming & HDMI Cable

12/22/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't buy this to use as an analog t.v. We put this in our basement but the way our satellite wire routes in, it has to be hooked directly to the analog output connection because we don't have a satellite receiver box downstairs. This makes for not so good picture quality. We use a dual box upstairs, which hampers us getting the full benefit of this t.v. There is an echo to the picture or slightly double image. We were able to adjust it some. HOWEVER, if you have satellite and can hook it up using an HDMI cable, you will be in heaven! Movies are wonderful on this and we couldn't get over how awesome the picture is for gaming/playing on the Wii or Xbox. Super quality with those! Either way, we still love it and how thin it is. Not heavy at all to pick up. Make sure to adjust all the settings to your liking. When you first hook up the t.v., you might be alarmed, but color, sharpness, and all will need to be adjusted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Worth the Price

12/21/2013
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this based on the price and the overall good reviews. 50 inch tv for $370 at the time, i had to take a shot. I had never heard of the brand before, but like i said the previous reviews was enough for me. TV is very light and sharp looking. The sound is not great, but if you are going to buy a 50 inch tv, your probably not planning on using the normal sound. I myself have a Sony surround sound so the lack of sound on the TV was not an issue. The picture out of the box was way too bright. After playing around with it, i got it to look much better with the setting options. The picture is crisp and clear, though its not as big of an upgrade on the 42 inch lcd we had before. Still considering the cost, size and LED feature, it was worth the cost. Don't let the lack of a big name fool you, this TV is for real and is worth the price. Buy it. You wont be disappointed.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

T.V. Blew out after using it for 2 months!

01/24/2014
By ,
Clarksville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My family and I were moving into an upgraded home and we needed a t.v. for the living room. My wife found this deal, which I thought it was great. The T.V. a descent picture, and volume was not that great, but for the money I could live with it. Well after 2 months use, I was eating breakfast with my daughter and watching t.v. when the picture just went blank. Obviously it was still within warranty, but this happened the first of November, and it's now close to the end of January and I'm still waiting on someone just to contact me. There is no point in calling anyone with CSR, because all you get is an automated message telling me to go online and fill out a warranty card. That does you know good because after you do that, you will not hear from anyone ever again. So long story short, this was a terrible price point for only 2 months of service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Wonderful TV

04/06/2014
By ,
Miami, Fl 33172
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received it almost four days after I bought it through E-Mail. Package arrived at my door at four days,. Packing was wonderful T.V. arrives in perfect conditions, I set it up and begin enjoying it inmediately . TV works wonderful, great colors, image and sound, I have a sound bar but I do not have to use it because, even I am a little(perhaps more than little ,according my wife) sound is wonderful. The only problem is with the Roku stick I bought in a bundle with the TV, I installed it , nothing, I have Internet with ATT with Home Ph. and Cable, they call it U-Verse, Before I had a ROKU 2 installed and I enjoy it a lot but this new method(streaming stick) does not let me go even at ROKU system, I called ROKU and they could not help me. I have account with Netflix and now I am using my computer to enjoy it because it is impossible to see it with the new TV. I have not received any document about my purchase of the tree years guarantee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sceptre X505BV-FMDR 50" 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

SKEPTICISM GONE! GREAT T.V.

02/19/2014
By ,
York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was sketical about ordering this television AT FIRST! I thought for $399.00 it's worth a try. I got the T.V within three days I ordered it to deliver to the store to try to prevent any damage. I picked it and everything was OK. I got the TV home and couldn't fiqure out how to put the stand on so the setup took about a hour. I finally got it all set up and it shows perfectly. I stream movies using my playstation from both Netflix and Redbox and they show great. I hooked an $10.00 antenna up to it and got about 3 stations(I don't have cable) and it showed perfect. I decided heck I'll get some basic cable and view at least 10 channels. I love this TV. Great buy for the money. If I would have known before I purchased just the TV I would've ordered it in the bundle it comes with a Roku stick. I have no issue at all with the sound. If you're looking for a nice size television to stream movies and just watch television it definately a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 746 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  38 Next