Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Equate Beauty Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Equate Beauty Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse features a lightweight foam that gives skin that instant warm glow with an easy, even, all-over tan. This skin-nourishing formula features aloe vera and long-lasting color. Get that sun-bathed look without the sun!
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation30%3 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Great for fair to light skin.

06/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a deep tan after the first application, you better look elsewhere.
But if you're very fair skinned, say a MAC NC20, this works very well in giving you a healthy sun-kissed glow that can be built up to a nice light to medium bronze. It is therefore a 'believable' tan for us pale gals.
With the mitt (sold separately) it is almost foolproof to apply. The mousse is a very dark (quite scary) grayish brown right out of the can, making it very easy to see where and how evenly you've applied the product, thus eliminating unwanted streaking.
This "color guard" is rather dark and gray on the skin, until you wash it off, leaving you with a much lighter, yet still definitely more bronzed color than what you started with before using the product. Which is perhaps why so many reviewers seem to be disappointed with the color pay-off. For an instantly darker tan, try the spray from the same line.
Again, it IS a comparatively gentle bronze. But it definitely works very well. If you're fair to light, I recommend giving it a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Such a disappointment :(

04/24/2014
By ,
Altoona, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product (the foaming mousse) because the bottle says compare to ST. TROPEZ. I was very excited to try this out. I followed the directions; I showered and exfoliated, then moisturized and waited for that to air dry. Once that was dry I applied the mousse with a mitt (so glad I did bc it would have dyed my hands). I waited for it to dry, which was very quickly, before getting dressed and going to bed. Since it was dry it didn't rub off on my sheets or clothing. The next part of the directions say to "shower in order to get the golden tan you desire", well all that did was completely wash off what I put on and left me with my normal, pale skin. This is pointless. I even tried to wear it the way it was before I washed it off and the second anything wet drips on your skin, game over because now there is a huge wet splotch on your arm. Ugh VERY DISAPPOINTED
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Don't Bother!

07/01/2014
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's a drippy mess that will stain your hands and leave you with ... nothing! The tint is the color of sheer dirt and the "tan" never appeared. Into the trash it went!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

I've never been tanner

03/14/2014
By ,
Salisbury, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have very fair skin and freckles, so as you would assume I won't tan, I BURN! With this it leaves a nice non streaky nor orange tan. I get so excited when I wake up the next morning to go wash it off. I use this product 2 times a week. However, if you do put this on at night and leave it on while you sleep and have light colored sheets I would recommend putting a towel down or an old sheet because it did leave a stain on my sheets(my sheets are white). The night I put it on it does have the typical fake tan smell with a hint of flowers, but the next day when I wash it off it's gone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

A waste of money.

01/19/2014
By ,
VA Beach, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for this product because I usually and fairly pleased with Equate products. Unfortunately this one let me down. It was a very dark foam, that I liked because I could see exactly where it was and if there were missed spots. But it went down hill from there.
The mousse was very sticky and dry with an unpleasant odor. After application, it took over ten minutes for it to feel "almost" dry enough to get dressed. I left it on over night (longer than the minimum of four hours recommended in the directions) and showered. EVERYTHING washed off with the black "bronze" coloring from the application. I was absolutely as pale as I was before applying the product the day before. No "Golden" color as promised on the bottle. Absolutely no color at all! I was very disappointed.
Unfortunately I will stick with my original theory when it comes to self tanners and that is "DO NOT VALUE SHOP!". In Equates defense, I have not found any inexpensive self tanners that meet my expectations.
From now on, I will either pay to have a salon spray me or pay for the more expensive brands.
On the plus side, I also bought the application mitt from Equate and I will be keeping it. It will be perfect for applying sunscreen on my 4 year old in the summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Washes right off, streaks

05/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately this is more like the tanning mousse from the old days. It streaks really bad and after you wait the 4 hours and rinse off it all comes off in the shower. Yes it is cheap but it is worthless, a waste of $8.00. There is a reason St Tropez is $40, it actually works and there are no extra steps involved, you just put it on and you are done.
I even used the St Tropez applicator with the equate and it still streaked like crazy. Terrible quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

for fair to medium skin

02/26/2014
By ,
bradfordsville ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When you use this make sure you rub it on not rub it in alot or you lose color. This product is best for fair to med skin tones. It gives a light golden brown color and lasts several days. It smells like hairspray and not like a self tanner and the smell goes away after about an hour. Does not rub off on clothes. Make sure you wear gloves or use a sponge because it will stain your palms. I have the equate mousse, the bronzing spray and the bronzing lotion all. Out of all of them I like the spray the best. All of these products covers spider veins and age spots. I love them. I think the mousse gives the lightest color of the three but is still very pretty.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

washes right off

02/04/2014
By ,
Chambersburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I put the product on and let it sit for four hours like the directions say then showered and ALL of the product washed off there wasn't any color left on me .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Formula is too dry, causes MANY streaks

12/22/2013
By ,
Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The mousse was sticky and dry feeling, in fact WAY too dry. It dried within 5 seconds which gave me no time to rub it completely into my skin. I ended up with splotches all over my skin that were visible immediately. I wanted to test out the color without making myself look like a leopard, so I just used it on a few inches of my arm and left it on for 4 hours before showering, like the directions recommend. When I rinsed off my arm, there was no visible color. Hoping they will reformulate this since it is fairly new to the market. I will be throwing out my full bottle and will NOT repurchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

THIS STUFF IS HORRIBLE

02/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please do not even waste your money. I got this because I didn't want to pay a lot more for the st. tropez tanning mousse. This stuff turns your skin GRAY and it is super dry. I don't have any time so spread it out because it dries almost immediately. I have gray streaks all over my body now. Thankfully it's still winter so I have time for this stuff to all wash off. I think I'm just going to splurge on the St. Tropez when summer comes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.