Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Equate Beauty Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Equate Beauty Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse features a lightweight foam that gives skin that instant warm glow with an easy, even, all-over tan. This skin-nourishing formula features aloe vera and long-lasting color. Get that sun-bathed look without the sun!
Average Customer Rating:
1.833 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation25%3 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Don't get Excited - Not Even Close to St. Tropez

09/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have used St. Tropez for a couple years now and love it! I saw this and thought, well let's try the Equate version of the bronzing mousse. If it works, I will be so excited to save a lot of money! The Equate kind was very runny and dripped everywhere when I dispensed the mousse. I used St. Tropez on one leg and Equate on the other. I used double the amount of product on the "Equate leg" because I could see that it didn't appear to cover as well. When I washed the tanners off in the morning, the Equate version completely washed away and barely left any kind of color at all on my leg. The "St. Tropez leg" had a nice bronze tint like always and I had used half as much mousse as I had with the Equate product. I ended up throwing the bottle of Equate foam away. I am sticking with St. Tropez. It is worth the extra money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Great for fair to light skin.

06/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you're looking for a deep tan after the first application, you better look elsewhere.
But if you're very fair skinned, say a MAC NC20, this works very well in giving you a healthy sun-kissed glow that can be built up to a nice light to medium bronze. It is therefore a 'believable' tan for us pale gals.
With the mitt (sold separately) it is almost foolproof to apply. The mousse is a very dark (quite scary) grayish brown right out of the can, making it very easy to see where and how evenly you've applied the product, thus eliminating unwanted streaking.
This "color guard" is rather dark and gray on the skin, until you wash it off, leaving you with a much lighter, yet still definitely more bronzed color than what you started with before using the product. Which is perhaps why so many reviewers seem to be disappointed with the color pay-off. For an instantly darker tan, try the spray from the same line.
Again, it IS a comparatively gentle bronze. But it definitely works very well. If you're fair to light, I recommend giving it a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Such a disappointment :(

04/24/2014
By ,
Altoona, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product (the foaming mousse) because the bottle says compare to ST. TROPEZ. I was very excited to try this out. I followed the directions; I showered and exfoliated, then moisturized and waited for that to air dry. Once that was dry I applied the mousse with a mitt (so glad I did bc it would have dyed my hands). I waited for it to dry, which was very quickly, before getting dressed and going to bed. Since it was dry it didn't rub off on my sheets or clothing. The next part of the directions say to "shower in order to get the golden tan you desire", well all that did was completely wash off what I put on and left me with my normal, pale skin. This is pointless. I even tried to wear it the way it was before I washed it off and the second anything wet drips on your skin, game over because now there is a huge wet splotch on your arm. Ugh VERY DISAPPOINTED
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

I've never been tanner

03/14/2014
By ,
Salisbury, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have very fair skin and freckles, so as you would assume I won't tan, I BURN! With this it leaves a nice non streaky nor orange tan. I get so excited when I wake up the next morning to go wash it off. I use this product 2 times a week. However, if you do put this on at night and leave it on while you sleep and have light colored sheets I would recommend putting a towel down or an old sheet because it did leave a stain on my sheets(my sheets are white). The night I put it on it does have the typical fake tan smell with a hint of flowers, but the next day when I wash it off it's gone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Seriously?

09/14/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been using self tanners for 10+ years and have perfected the art of applying it to my body. I loved the foaming mousse self tanners when they first came out and was upset when they were off the market for a brief time and stopped looking for them. When I saw they had them at WalMart this week I was really excited and even more so when I saw the Equate version as I usually don't mind getting Equate brand. When I first started to apply the mousse I noticed it seemed very dark but most of them are and fade after drying but it literally made my hands black but I continued as I liked how it was looking after applying it on the rest of my skin. Stopping to wash my hands frequently I noticed if water dripped on an applied area there was a streak but I would just rub in with some more mousse to blend it in and that seemed to do the trick. When I was done I really, really liked the overall color (not orange at all, very natural brown color one would get from being at the beach) and how it seemed to cover/blend in areas that had a lot of freckles. I made sure I was completely dry before putting my pajamas on and went to bed. When I awoke, I had the same great color and was overjoyed at my results. I needed to take a shower due to the smell (as most self tanners do) but ate breakfast first. I spilled a little of my tea down my chin when I was drinking and then some dripped on my arm. Everywhere it got wet (mind you it has been 12 hours after application) the tan was completely gone! Streaks exactly where my tea dripped. I was really worried so I just jumped in the shower to see if I couldn't blend it in or something and it all just literally came off!!! All of it! Brown water just ran off my body and I was the same color as when I started. I have had spray tans, mystic booth tans, used lotions and foams for over 10 years (even with the orange stuff) and have never had this happen! I've had it streak shortly after applying if it got wet but never after it dried overnight and then got wet. Yes it really looks great after applying and if you plan to go out after applying you might look great as long as you don't get wet at all anywhere (don't sweat either). You would also smell funny. I also have had little red bumps all over my body (it's been 2 days now since application) and I've never had an allergic reaction to anything before (except pollen and I only sneeze). Again, I really like most of the equate stuff (I use their "compare to jergens" lotion, their face wash, fem products, etc...) so I was just disappointed at this product. I don't know why it would streak when it gets wet and come completely off with showering. It makes the product useless...I'm assuming the people with positive reviews wrote them before getting wet or showering as I'm not the only one this has happened to. If you still want to try it I would suggest applying a small area on your hip or back side and then splash it with one drop of water the next morning and see what I'm talking about...and if you see a streak then go get your money back. I like that WalMart accepted my return. Oh and having done this for so long I knew to shower and exfoliate before applying and you DON'T put regular lotion on either...you should put self tanning foam, spray, or lotion on clean, exfoliated, dry skin as some lotions might create a barrier to it sticking...so I did this routine and it still washed all off. Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

for fair to medium skin

02/26/2014
By ,
bradfordsville ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When you use this make sure you rub it on not rub it in alot or you lose color. This product is best for fair to med skin tones. It gives a light golden brown color and lasts several days. It smells like hairspray and not like a self tanner and the smell goes away after about an hour. Does not rub off on clothes. Make sure you wear gloves or use a sponge because it will stain your palms. I have the equate mousse, the bronzing spray and the bronzing lotion all. Out of all of them I like the spray the best. All of these products covers spider veins and age spots. I love them. I think the mousse gives the lightest color of the three but is still very pretty.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

A waste of money.

01/19/2014
By ,
VA Beach, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for this product because I usually and fairly pleased with Equate products. Unfortunately this one let me down. It was a very dark foam, that I liked because I could see exactly where it was and if there were missed spots. But it went down hill from there.
The mousse was very sticky and dry with an unpleasant odor. After application, it took over ten minutes for it to feel "almost" dry enough to get dressed. I left it on over night (longer than the minimum of four hours recommended in the directions) and showered. EVERYTHING washed off with the black "bronze" coloring from the application. I was absolutely as pale as I was before applying the product the day before. No "Golden" color as promised on the bottle. Absolutely no color at all! I was very disappointed.
Unfortunately I will stick with my original theory when it comes to self tanners and that is "DO NOT VALUE SHOP!". In Equates defense, I have not found any inexpensive self tanners that meet my expectations.
From now on, I will either pay to have a salon spray me or pay for the more expensive brands.
On the plus side, I also bought the application mitt from Equate and I will be keeping it. It will be perfect for applying sunscreen on my 4 year old in the summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Washes right off, streaks

05/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unfortunately this is more like the tanning mousse from the old days. It streaks really bad and after you wait the 4 hours and rinse off it all comes off in the shower. Yes it is cheap but it is worthless, a waste of $8.00. There is a reason St Tropez is $40, it actually works and there are no extra steps involved, you just put it on and you are done.
I even used the St Tropez applicator with the equate and it still streaked like crazy. Terrible quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Don't Bother!

07/01/2014
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's a drippy mess that will stain your hands and leave you with ... nothing! The tint is the color of sheer dirt and the "tan" never appeared. Into the trash it went!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

washes right off

02/04/2014
By ,
Chambersburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I put the product on and let it sit for four hours like the directions say then showered and ALL of the product washed off there wasn't any color left on me .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

Formula is too dry, causes MANY streaks

12/22/2013
By ,
Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The mousse was sticky and dry feeling, in fact WAY too dry. It dried within 5 seconds which gave me no time to rub it completely into my skin. I ended up with splotches all over my skin that were visible immediately. I wanted to test out the color without making myself look like a leopard, so I just used it on a few inches of my arm and left it on for 4 hours before showering, like the directions recommend. When I rinsed off my arm, there was no visible color. Hoping they will reformulate this since it is fairly new to the market. I will be throwing out my full bottle and will NOT repurchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equate Beauty Self Tan Foaming Mousse, 4 fl oz

THIS STUFF IS HORRIBLE

02/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please do not even waste your money. I got this because I didn't want to pay a lot more for the st. tropez tanning mousse. This stuff turns your skin GRAY and it is super dry. I don't have any time so spread it out because it dries almost immediately. I have gray streaks all over my body now. Thankfully it's still winter so I have time for this stuff to all wash off. I think I'm just going to splurge on the St. Tropez when summer comes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Effectiveness
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.