Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Funai Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Funai Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Watch movies, show pictures or slide shows or listen to your favorite music through your television with this Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player. It provides a full upconversion to 1080 full HD and features progressive scan for maximum performance. This DVD/CD player has fast forward, search, slow motion and zoom controls and is easy to hook up.
Average Customer Rating:
2.823 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation59%10 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Great bang for the buck

02/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this dvd player on sale for $28 over a year ago. I was working on the road and just wanted something cheap that I could take with me to hook up to motel TV's. I honestly didn't expect much, but figured I could take a chance for under $30. I absolutely feel that I got my money's worth. It has an HDMI port allowing me to use it as I needed and the playback is just as good as the more expensive dvd players that I currently have and have had in the past.
As others have said, it's slightly - and I do mean slightly - noisy when loading a disc, but once the disc starts playing, you can't hear it at all. The remote works well, but if needed, the player has a Stop and Play buttons on the unit itself, which surprised me, for being such a low end product.
Overall, I would very readily recommend this dvd player for those looking for a cheap 2nd room unit or wanting something for the kids, that might get rough treatment or, like myself, want something to take with them on the road.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Excellent player with special features

02/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine plays regular DVD's very well. It has features not found on other DVD players of zoom and pan which is great for reading small text on screen. I recommend this machine to any person who likes to watch DVD's.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Decent value but....

03/03/2014
By ,
Midland, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this to replace an old DVD player that was intermittently hangs at spots when watching DVDs. Player seems to play the movies just fine but there is one thing that is very annoying. I would like to use the zoom feature since I have this connected to an old tube TV but if you zoom a little display appears in the upper left-hand corner showing the zoom level but it will not go away. It will only go way when you loop back around to the no zoom level. The display still appears but goes away after a few seconds as it should at each zoom level. Called Funai support and they agreed that this wasn't desirable behavior but didn't have an answer other than they would report the issue and hopefully a firmware update would be released to address this but I'm not holding my breath. I guess this is the price of buying off-brand items.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

DONT BUY IT!

02/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this dvd player about a year ago from the store. Brought it home, and not but a week later it took in a dvd, and didn't spit it back out. So I brought it back to exchange for a new one (the same one again) and took the new one home. Here we are, 1 year later and for the last 6 months it has been making a really loud noise when it plays a dvd. Most recently its not been playing dvd's well at all, and appears we again need a new one. When I purchased this one, I assumed this brand would be a good brand, but without doing my research (my fault) I see this is a poor brand. Not once, but twice I have had issues with this brand. I will be purchasing a new dvd player, but not this brand again. Live and learn! Dont buy it!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Awful & poor quality, junk.

08/23/2014
By ,
Ms
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because it was cheap, I should have paid five extra dollars on the Sony DVD player but I didn't listen to my gut and bought this one. It's easy to set up like all players but there's 10 - 15 second delay before you get any response from pressing buttons. (Seriously go on your phone and start a timer and see just how long 10-15 seconds is especially when your trying to get a movie to play for an antsy child) so there's the button delay which means it takes the tray forever to open and then sometimes you will have to push the buttons three times before it even works, it also acts the same way when using the remote. It's just a very very poor quality player. I returned this one and just Payed the extra 5 dollars for the sony, it's deffinately worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Piece of junk, stay away.

04/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Three weeks after purchase. the DVD player no longer powers on, I have electricity and know how to plug in a DVD player but this DVD player is DEAD. Go with a more familiar name. Lesson Learned
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Good DVD player

03/25/2014
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does everything it says it does. I like the face that it's compact and doesn't take up a lot of space. The only thing I don't like about it is; it's a little noisy when your right near it when you first put the dvd in, but once you turn the sound up and are away from it you can't hear the noise, other than that it's a good player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Junk

10/17/2014
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this at Walmart about 6 months ago. Worked fine at first and then all of a sudden it would no longer power on. Dead as a door nail. Now have to buy another one but it sure won't be this one. Funai has lost me as a customer and I won't be buying any more products from them.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Stops working!

03/15/2014
By ,
Idaho
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Setup was easy, and the size of the DVD player is perfect. Got one and it stopped working about 2 weeks after having it. Went and got money back and purchased a new one. It stopped working also. Going to take it back and will NOT be getting another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Works At First

02/18/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My daughter got this for her birthday and about three months later it stopped working. it says unsupported disc when you put in a movie. it will go to the menu sometimes and then wont play the movie. very frustrating.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

don't waste your time or money with this machine!!

02/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the first one i got only worked for 3 days and then stopped. so i exchanged it for another one and that one always plays movies with the subtitles and when you try andtake them off it won't let you. also half of the time when you hit the play button it will stop and start every thing all over again!!! i will never waste money on this companys' products again!!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Double Check the box

02/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered 2, one for myself which I opened, #2 was a gift and it was missing the remote, instructions and came with someones disney dvd. how embarrassing! Since it was sent out of state, I didn't have the item to prove story and the person I sent receipt to, was told it didn't count.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Easy to connect and easy to use.

02/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like to easiness in connecting and operating this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Great value

12/17/2013
By ,
LOMPOC CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

Great price/Easy to install

12/10/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There seems to be a small background noise when I played a movie on it. I am not sure if it was the DVD or the player. It went away at times and this was a rented movie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CA Desert
What is the difference?
Posted 12/16/2013
I hope you will post again Unknown, so we can see if it was the rented disc or the player. My question is: How is this player different than a regular DVD player, exactly?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

I like it

12/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Really good
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Funai Full HD Upconvert DVD Player

nice just right

12/15/2013
By ,
fla
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works fpr me
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.