Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Butterball Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Butterball Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

The Stainless Steel Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer will let you cooking up a crisp and succulent turkey at home. It features a digital timer, a drain valve and drip clip. This Butterball extra-large turkey fryer has a powerful 1,650W electric heating element to quickly heat oil. It also uses less than 3 gallons of cooking oil. This fryer has a thermostat temperature control and a digital timer so you will get a delicious finished product. The stainless steel Butterball digital electric turkey fryer has a space-saving design and can handle a turkey weighing up to 20 lbs. You can also use it to prepare an endless variety of foods, like hot wings, fish and fries. In addition, you can fill it with water to boil or steam a variety of foods.
Average Customer Rating:
4.581 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
162
4 stars
32
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation96%201 out of 210reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
162
4 stars
32
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Simple and easy to use

11/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First test turkey done. 11 pound 44 minutes cooking time. Best one I've ever cooked. I'm thawing my second bird a 17 pounder. I will try the injection of butter this time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Very good but leaked

11/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We cooked a whole chicken at 350 degrees to test our new fryer before Thanksgiving. The unit heated up in about 40 minutes and maintained the temparature throughout. From a Youtube video (and since the instuctions didn't have cooking time for a whole chicken), we cooked the bird for 5 minutes per pound plus 5 at 350 and it came out to a little over 165 degrees. Chicken was deliciious - crispy outside and juicy inside.
We had oil coming out all over the kitchen counter during cooking. After it cooled down, we found that the drainage spout (not the attachment) was lealing. We tightened it up and tested it with water which seemed to fix the problem. I hope it doesn't happen again on Turkey Day!
Overall it's a very good product. Cord is short. Instructions do NOT have much in the way of recipes. DON"T waste your money buying the "Dad-Gum" healthy book as it doesn;t have much in frying recipes at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Tender & Juicy

12/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a wonderful thing and I love it. For those whom like turkey during the winter holidays, this fryer is a must buy. I promise you won't regret it. FYI, there's packing material underneath the bottom of the oil pan at the base of the unit. I didn't know this until the day after I fried the turkey. I found cardboard and bubble wrap and needless to say, some of the bubble wrap melted. I noticed it when I started to dismantle the turkey fryer to drain the oil. After you remove the control panel, push up on the oil pan from the bottom to remove it with ease, then you will have access to the packing materials. The turkey cooks 3-4 minutes per pound. My ten pound turkey cooked for 35 minutes. Be sure to inject it with a marinade before you fry it. I used a store bought marinade. I also melted a half a stick of butter and added it to the marinade. I also seasoned the skin with olive oil and McCormick's Grill Masters chicken seasoning before the frying process. My fried turkey was tender and juicy. Good Luck!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Excellent product...

01/31/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used many different fryers, from small home fryers to restaurant fryers. This fryer is great! I’ve done French fries, chicken legs & thighs, whole chickens. It works great. Just be sure to remember it takes 1 hour to heat up the 2 ¾ gallons of oil. Peanut is best, but I have been using regular vegetable oil & it works just fine. Can’t wait to do a turkey with it. It does pull a lot of electric; so don’t try to use the microwave on the same circuit, like I did. You will pop the breaker, LOL. I give it 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+128points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

So far so good

11/13/2013
By ,
Clovis, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this fryer for frying turkeys for Christmas dinner. So far I've used it for deep frying shrimp, fries and chicken wings and it has been excellent. The oil heated relatively quickly and the built in timer is great. Im looking forward to frying the turkeys next month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

great frier

10/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used tis product one time but I am extremely impressed with the ease and quickness of the product. I fried a turkey breast and 4 days later the turkey was still moist. I could never say that with a baked turkey. I would highly recommend this product. I was always fearful of the old fashioned turkey fryer but this one was safe and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Love the XL electric turkey fryer

11/08/2012
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After moving into an apartment several years ago, I've longed for a fried turkey. I use to fry a turkey for Thanksgiving and Christmas for friends and family. Sometimes frying up to four in a outdoor propane fryer. I looked online and found the electric turkey fryer and I must admit I was a little bit of a skeptic. I went from site to site reading as many reviews as I could. After reading many positive reviews I decided to order one for my mother and one for myself. I fried several one pound Cornish Hens and battered chicken wings that took less than 10 minutes to cook. Then as a trial I bought a 12.20 pound turkey fried it and had co-workers as my testers before I cooked the final product for thanksgiving diner at a friend's house. The turkey fit perfectly in the basket, dropped right in. The 2 1/2 gallons of peanut oil took about 40 minutes to heat and the turkey took 51 minutes took cook. I just flipped the turkey out of the pan (it didn't stick to the bottom at all), and the skin was nice and crispy every one loved it.
The only problem I see is, because this is an Extra Large unit make sure you look at the dimensions and take measurements to make sure you have adequate counter space. Unlike the regular size electric turkey fryer that fries up to 14 pounds the top doesn't fold in half so with low hanging cabinets, usage can be a problem. I had to purchase a small table to sit out from the counter, and because of the short cord I needed a 10 gauge extension cord (which isn't recommended) but I didn't have a choice with the small space of an apartment kitchen. Plus I wish it had the inset handles on the side like the regular version for easy pick up, but I was able to slide my hands under the bottom and move it with ease. Also, the XL fryer advertises that you can fry a 20 pound turkey but the directions recommend no more than an 18 pound turkey.
Also if you are like me and usually scan usage instructions, DON'T! Read the instructions carefully on set up, use and cleaning before you use this product. Plus Masterbuilt posted many instructional videos on their website and on YouTube that I found helpful while waiting for my product to be delivered.
Otherwise, I highly recommend the product and look forward to using it many more times.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+222points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Created the perfect turkey

11/30/2013
By ,
San Angelo, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this specifically to fry the. Thanksgiving turkey and it turned out exactly how directions said it would. We had a 19.81 lb turkey and although they say it holds a 20lb it would have been more perfect had we used an 18.5 lb turkey only because the top side of the bird wasn't totally emersed in oil even when filled to bottom of max fill line. It takes about 45 min to heat oil so allow for heating time. We gave the fryer a test run prior to cooking the turkey a week earlier by boiling water and cooking potatoes, corn and shrimp using the recipe that comes with the fryer. That turned out fabulous as well. Clean up is minimal too. Would definitely recommend to everyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Awesome!!!

12/18/2012
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most awesome appliance, bar none! Cooking is my passion, and have gotten many "gadgets" through the years. This is beyond wonderful! And the clean-up really IS so easy!! I am amazed! And the turkey is DELICIOUS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

One of the better turkey fryers

11/04/2013
By ,
San Diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After 15 years of frying a turkey with propane, I went electric. What can I say, it's a lot safer and I can fry inside the house or garage. My only complaint is that the electric cord is too small..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)
05/14/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this item to use as a multifunctional small kitchen appliance. Not only does it deep fry turkeys but you can fry large batches of food such as fish, french fries or chicken. With this item you can also use for steaming crabs, etc. Thanks Butterbal!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Great fryer

12/29/2012
By ,
Clinton, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for my husband who normally uses outdoor fryer, he loved it. He said it was easy to use and clean. Turkey came out beautiful and tasted great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Easy to use

11/16/2013
By ,
Leesburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as a gift for family. Have had one for a few years now and love it. I will never go back to deep frying outside with the gas burner style ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Better and safer Turkey fryer!

11/19/2013
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always used a propane fryer but no more. The Butterball fryer is so much easier for frying Turkeys or anything else you want to fry or even steam. Easier to clean and you can use it inside with no problems and you do not have to baby sit the fryer to make sure it doesn't overheat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Easy to use

12/02/2013
By ,
Manhattan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use is great however the cleanup proved more difficult. Without adequate space the cleanup phase can get cumbersome and messy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Bring on the Feast

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fryer can do the job. It is huge! Our last meal in it consisted of 6 chicken breast and a dozen chicken legs. It cooked all of these evenly and crisp in a matter of 20 minutes. Everything turned out golden brown. There weren't any hot or cold spots in the fryer; everything cooked evenly. It does take about 45 minutes to warm up so you have to plan ahead. Storage could be a problem, but we just sit it on top of upright freezer in garage. If you want to cook in kitchen you need a low table or a bottom cabinet without top cabinet because it does take a lot of space to open the lid. It plugs into regular wall outlet. I am looking forward to cooking that perfect turkey dinner in it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)
08/30/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This will take care of all your deep frying needs, whether for a few people or large. Makes terriffic fried chicken. Very user friendly too. I would recommend anyone looking for a top quality fryer, than this is definitely the one for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

overall was what ai expected.

11/14/2013
By ,
Schnecksville, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is an item U would use occasionally in most households. Tried it with a large chicken first and turned out great. Excellent taste and very moist. Make sure you wait till it comes up to temp. before inserting food and fryer has correct amount of oil in it. Electric cord is very short and disconnects easily (for safety purposes) and make sure you have the space to set fryer close to outlet. Enjoy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Love this fryer!

04/04/2013
By ,
Central US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this product to anyone looking for an electric fryer. We bought it more for appitizers than for frying turkeys as the normal fryers cant cook enough for more than one person at a time. We can cook for a group of people and nobody has to wait. It does however take some time to heat up. Once it is hot you are good to go. Love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)
02/19/2012
By ,
West Wyoming, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son's, and they both love it. They love deep fried turkey, and they are glad they don't have to go outside to fry it any more. It is good for a big gathering when making fried foods. I bought the Turkey frier XL, can fry a 20 lb. turkey.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
 
My Product Recommendations
Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 206 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next