Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Butterball Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Butterball Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

The Stainless Steel Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer will let you cooking up a crisp and succulent turkey at home. It features a digital timer, a drain valve and drip clip. This Butterball extra-large turkey fryer has a powerful 1,650W electric heating element to quickly heat oil. It also uses less than 3 gallons of cooking oil. This fryer has a thermostat temperature control and a digital timer so you will get a delicious finished product. The stainless steel Butterball digital electric turkey fryer has a space-saving design and can handle a turkey weighing up to 20 lbs. You can also use it to prepare an endless variety of foods, like hot wings, fish and fries. In addition, you can fill it with water to boil or steam a variety of foods.
Average Customer Rating:
4.627 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation96%72 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 33 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Simple and easy to use

11/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First test turkey done. 11 pound 44 minutes cooking time. Best one I've ever cooked. I'm thawing my second bird a 17 pounder. I will try the injection of butter this time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Very good but leaked

11/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We cooked a whole chicken at 350 degrees to test our new fryer before Thanksgiving. The unit heated up in about 40 minutes and maintained the temparature throughout. From a Youtube video (and since the instuctions didn't have cooking time for a whole chicken), we cooked the bird for 5 minutes per pound plus 5 at 350 and it came out to a little over 165 degrees. Chicken was deliciious - crispy outside and juicy inside.
We had oil coming out all over the kitchen counter during cooking. After it cooled down, we found that the drainage spout (not the attachment) was lealing. We tightened it up and tested it with water which seemed to fix the problem. I hope it doesn't happen again on Turkey Day!
Overall it's a very good product. Cord is short. Instructions do NOT have much in the way of recipes. DON"T waste your money buying the "Dad-Gum" healthy book as it doesn;t have much in frying recipes at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

great frier

10/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used tis product one time but I am extremely impressed with the ease and quickness of the product. I fried a turkey breast and 4 days later the turkey was still moist. I could never say that with a baked turkey. I would highly recommend this product. I was always fearful of the old fashioned turkey fryer but this one was safe and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Bring on the Feast

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fryer can do the job. It is huge! Our last meal in it consisted of 6 chicken breast and a dozen chicken legs. It cooked all of these evenly and crisp in a matter of 20 minutes. Everything turned out golden brown. There weren't any hot or cold spots in the fryer; everything cooked evenly. It does take about 45 minutes to warm up so you have to plan ahead. Storage could be a problem, but we just sit it on top of upright freezer in garage. If you want to cook in kitchen you need a low table or a bottom cabinet without top cabinet because it does take a lot of space to open the lid. It plugs into regular wall outlet. I am looking forward to cooking that perfect turkey dinner in it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

It was so easy to use.

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The turkey fryer was so easy to use, It is light weight but
sturdy. I followed the instruction and it did cook in about 1hr.
I cooked 1 16lb turkey. Now I am ready for Thanksgiving.
Normally takes around 6 hrs to cook turkey & side dishes.
Not this year. Please try it us Peanut OIL cooks at a high
heat. Happy Thanksgiving
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Super Cooker

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does A Good Job As It Says...... Easy To Use .. Not Greasy .. A Value At The Price .
Looking Forward To Trying It For More Great Choices .
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Sweet Juicy Birds!

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fryer was so easy to use and absolutely the best chicken and turkey I've ever had. Even leftovers are soft and moist. Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Beats going outside to deep fry.

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used it once (Yesterday). Everything worked as designed. Clean up was easy. Not necessarily short but can be done without difficulty. I placed the deep fryer in a tub just in case of any spillage. Also, used a piece of cardboard on three sides of the fryer to minimize any chance of splatter when placing the turkey into the hot oil. No spillage and splatter was minimal. Now that the test on a 14 pound bird was successful, its on to a 20 pounder for Thanksgiving. My old propane deep fryer is now for sale.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

great buy

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used the fryer to fix our Turkey for our Thanksgiving dinner, worked great, was delicious.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

ONE STAR TO WALMART

11/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The one star is for Walmart, not the product! First of all we paid $149.99 and now I see the price is $139.00! Second, we walked into Costco and the exact same item was $129.99 and it included the gloves, 2 carving mats, injector, and Dadgum DVD! We bought the Costco fryer and returned the Walmart fryer! As for the fryer, haven't used it yet, but have heard nothing but good things. We're anxious to fry our first turkey. Five stars to the fryer, one star to Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Really Great Fryer!

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used different fryers, from small home fryers to restaurant fryers. This fryer is great! I’ve done French fries, chicken legs & thighs, whole chickens& it is a big time saver. Huge volume, most times I only ave to do one or two batches of food items. It works great. Just be sure to remember it takes 1 hour to heat up the 2 ¾ gallons of oil. Peanut is best, but I have used regular vegetable oil & it works just fine. I have done turkeys with it. So much better and safer than the propane and flames outside in the rain and snow. I give it 5 stars
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Wow!!!

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have deep fried our Turkey for years with the traditional propane cooker. You have to lug everything out, make sure you have enough propane, etc. This cooker is unbelievable. Plop it on the counter near a power source, heat up the oil and your off to the races. Fantastic, turkey was crispy and cooked all the way through. Has a drain plug with an extender arm to drain your oil, they thought of everything. Great deal and price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

works as advertised

11/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have fried turkeys for myself, friends and family for many years using a propane outdoor setup. That setup has its challenges because the single most difficult thing for me was to set the temperature and keep it uniform through subsequent batches. Also since you have to use propane outdoors at a comfortable distance from any structure inclement weather and high winds become a factor.
The greatest strength of the butterball xl is that its temperature control is rock steady. I fry at 350 degrees 2.5 minutes per pound and keep my turkeys 12 to 15 pounds. I tested the xl by frying some whole chickens. I found that the xl's recommended cooking time of 3.5 to 4 minutes per pound was right on and extended my cooking time somewhat. In retrospect I think that I may have been cooking at a higher temperature than I thought with propane. Note that the xl's maximum temperature is375.
The results however were outstanding. The first turkey to come out was as close to perfect as it could be. The second and third were equally good. By the fourth turkey the peanut oil was quite cloudy and needed to be cooled and strained and a little bit of fresh oil added to maintain uniform results.
I can not speak to durability since I have just got the unit and it will only be used once or twice a year. The only improvement I would make is to add a stand. Something like a mitre saw stand would be perfect. I found that the island was to high for me to feel I was working safely with hot oil and I did not like putting it on the kitchen or dining room table with all the cooking activity and the smell of the fryer. Cooking on the floor seemed equally in appropriate.
This unit is a winner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Pleasantly surprised, Love it!

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was kind of dubious that this thing could live up to what I had read and seen on the tv infomercials, but it performed exactly as advertised. My fourteen pound turkey turned out absolutely perfect. I highly recommend it and will be using it a lot.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

What'cha frying

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love the freedom it gave me to work on other tasks while it cooked my turkey
and the idea that I can cook other stuff in it really made me buy it. I wish I would have known about this fryer years ago.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

great fryer

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wow I love my butterball digital electric turkey fryer,fried my turkey to perfection every one who loves fried turkey should have one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Turkey saver

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Use it for thanksgiving, love it, my turkey was 20lbs and it was fully coked in one hour, and it was juicy
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

excellent product

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I made a 20 pound turkey for thanksgiving and it was awesome. I'll be using this every year from now on.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Deep fry a turkey !

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The most moist and delicious turkey we've ever made. I will used my deep fryer every year for thanksgiving.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Perfect turkey!

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cooked the perfect turkey ,so well my parents had me cook theirs the following day . Money well spent
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next