Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Butterball Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Butterball Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

The Stainless Steel Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer will let you cooking up a crisp and succulent turkey at home. It features a digital timer, a drain valve and drip clip. This Butterball extra-large turkey fryer has a powerful 1,650W electric heating element to quickly heat oil. It also uses less than 3 gallons of cooking oil. This fryer has a thermostat temperature control and a digital timer so you will get a delicious finished product. The stainless steel Butterball digital electric turkey fryer has a space-saving design and can handle a turkey weighing up to 20 lbs. You can also use it to prepare an endless variety of foods, like hot wings, fish and fries. In addition, you can fill it with water to boil or steam a variety of foods.
Average Customer Rating:
4.627 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
125
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation96%151 out of 158reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
125
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Simple and easy to use

11/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First test turkey done. 11 pound 44 minutes cooking time. Best one I've ever cooked. I'm thawing my second bird a 17 pounder. I will try the injection of butter this time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Very good but leaked

11/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We cooked a whole chicken at 350 degrees to test our new fryer before Thanksgiving. The unit heated up in about 40 minutes and maintained the temparature throughout. From a Youtube video (and since the instuctions didn't have cooking time for a whole chicken), we cooked the bird for 5 minutes per pound plus 5 at 350 and it came out to a little over 165 degrees. Chicken was deliciious - crispy outside and juicy inside.
We had oil coming out all over the kitchen counter during cooking. After it cooled down, we found that the drainage spout (not the attachment) was lealing. We tightened it up and tested it with water which seemed to fix the problem. I hope it doesn't happen again on Turkey Day!
Overall it's a very good product. Cord is short. Instructions do NOT have much in the way of recipes. DON"T waste your money buying the "Dad-Gum" healthy book as it doesn;t have much in frying recipes at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Tender & Juicy

12/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a wonderful thing and I love it. For those whom like turkey during the winter holidays, this fryer is a must buy. I promise you won't regret it. FYI, there's packing material underneath the bottom of the oil pan at the base of the unit. I didn't know this until the day after I fried the turkey. I found cardboard and bubble wrap and needless to say, some of the bubble wrap melted. I noticed it when I started to dismantle the turkey fryer to drain the oil. After you remove the control panel, push up on the oil pan from the bottom to remove it with ease, then you will have access to the packing materials. The turkey cooks 3-4 minutes per pound. My ten pound turkey cooked for 35 minutes. Be sure to inject it with a marinade before you fry it. I used a store bought marinade. I also melted a half a stick of butter and added it to the marinade. I also seasoned the skin with olive oil and McCormick's Grill Masters chicken seasoning before the frying process. My fried turkey was tender and juicy. Good Luck!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

great frier

10/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used tis product one time but I am extremely impressed with the ease and quickness of the product. I fried a turkey breast and 4 days later the turkey was still moist. I could never say that with a baked turkey. I would highly recommend this product. I was always fearful of the old fashioned turkey fryer but this one was safe and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Bring on the Feast

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fryer can do the job. It is huge! Our last meal in it consisted of 6 chicken breast and a dozen chicken legs. It cooked all of these evenly and crisp in a matter of 20 minutes. Everything turned out golden brown. There weren't any hot or cold spots in the fryer; everything cooked evenly. It does take about 45 minutes to warm up so you have to plan ahead. Storage could be a problem, but we just sit it on top of upright freezer in garage. If you want to cook in kitchen you need a low table or a bottom cabinet without top cabinet because it does take a lot of space to open the lid. It plugs into regular wall outlet. I am looking forward to cooking that perfect turkey dinner in it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Leaks Oil

11/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First time I tried it there was a gathering pool of oil underneath the unit. Couldn't see where it was dripping from. Shut down the unit and drained the oil. Never used it. Requested refund/return from Walmart. Bad experience.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

It was so easy to use.

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The turkey fryer was so easy to use, It is light weight but
sturdy. I followed the instruction and it did cook in about 1hr.
I cooked 1 16lb turkey. Now I am ready for Thanksgiving.
Normally takes around 6 hrs to cook turkey & side dishes.
Not this year. Please try it us Peanut OIL cooks at a high
heat. Happy Thanksgiving
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Super Cooker

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does A Good Job As It Says...... Easy To Use .. Not Greasy .. A Value At The Price .
Looking Forward To Trying It For More Great Choices .
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Sweet Juicy Birds!

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fryer was so easy to use and absolutely the best chicken and turkey I've ever had. Even leftovers are soft and moist. Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Sad Turkey:(

11/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received my eclectic fryer and set it up the day before Thanksgiving. Could not use it because the thermostat would shut of the fryer at 275 degrees. I tried resetting 6 deferent times and it would not achieve max frying level of 375. I called the number on the manual and they said it was malfunctioning and to return it. I had to use the old reliable outdoor propane fryer. If you buy one, make sure you try it before you need it for your party.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Terrific Turkey

12/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having never fried a turkey before, I was relieved to find that the instructions that came with the fryer were clear and it made the actual frying of the turkey, safe, simple and delicious. This fryer can also be used to fry other items, such as chicken wings, jalapeno poppers, onion rings, fries, etc. The suggested peanut oil is a little pricey, but can be used several times and other less expensive cooking oils can be used, however, they tend to smoke somewhat more than peanut oil. Clean up of the fryer has been made fairly simple with many of the internal parts able to be washed in the dishwasher, still a though cleaning for the remaining parts is probably a 20- 30 min task. The finished turkey was delicious, will have fried turkey as one of our main entrees Christmas .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

works as advertised

11/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have fried turkeys for myself, friends and family for many years using a propane outdoor setup. That setup has its challenges because the single most difficult thing for me was to set the temperature and keep it uniform through subsequent batches. Also since you have to use propane outdoors at a comfortable distance from any structure inclement weather and high winds become a factor.
The greatest strength of the butterball xl is that its temperature control is rock steady. I fry at 350 degrees 2.5 minutes per pound and keep my turkeys 12 to 15 pounds. I tested the xl by frying some whole chickens. I found that the xl's recommended cooking time of 3.5 to 4 minutes per pound was right on and extended my cooking time somewhat. In retrospect I think that I may have been cooking at a higher temperature than I thought with propane. Note that the xl's maximum temperature is375.
The results however were outstanding. The first turkey to come out was as close to perfect as it could be. The second and third were equally good. By the fourth turkey the peanut oil was quite cloudy and needed to be cooled and strained and a little bit of fresh oil added to maintain uniform results.
I can not speak to durability since I have just got the unit and it will only be used once or twice a year. The only improvement I would make is to add a stand. Something like a mitre saw stand would be perfect. I found that the island was to high for me to feel I was working safely with hot oil and I did not like putting it on the kitchen or dining room table with all the cooking activity and the smell of the fryer. Cooking on the floor seemed equally in appropriate.
This unit is a winner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

love that turkey

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The electric fryer was so much easier than the old outside conventional way. Turned out perfect and not dry. Nice not to have to watch the turkey every minute and had time to visit with family and watch football. You also couldn't beat Walmart's price received cheaper than tv price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Beats going outside to deep fry.

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used it once (Yesterday). Everything worked as designed. Clean up was easy. Not necessarily short but can be done without difficulty. I placed the deep fryer in a tub just in case of any spillage. Also, used a piece of cardboard on three sides of the fryer to minimize any chance of splatter when placing the turkey into the hot oil. No spillage and splatter was minimal. Now that the test on a 14 pound bird was successful, its on to a 20 pounder for Thanksgiving. My old propane deep fryer is now for sale.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

This is great!!

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to fry a turkey for Christmas dinner but wanted to try it before the big day. So, on Thanksgiving I fried a turkey as a test bird and it turned out great. The skin was crunchy and golden brown and the meat was so moist and delicious. I used a 10 pound whole turkey and it was done in 40 minutes!!!! This was the easiest holiday meal I ever made and I'm looking forward to doing this again on Christmas. There was very little smoke, I placed the unit on the island in the kitchen which has a plug. The fryer gets very hot on the outside so keep children and pets out the kitchen. It used about 2.75 liters of peanut oil. After cooking, I let the oil cool about 5 hours before draining it and also cleaned the inside of the fryer out. I highly recommend this fryer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Woulda gave it 5 Stars, but...

11/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cooked my first bird in it on T-Day. cooked it for the prescribed amount of time oer the directions. When it was done it looked wonderful and I checked the internal temp with a meat therm. The bird tasted excellent and everyone loved the juiciness. The reason I didn't give 5 stars is because it took 65 minutes for the oil to hit °375. Not 45 as the manufacturer states. The little green light that comes on is very dim but it finally came on. good thing I saw it because it went off after about 30 seconds. If i had waled away and missed seeing the light I guess I'd still be waiting. Not sure it that's a defect but nevertheless I will use my long stemmed temp gauge from my pot fryer next time and check it at 45 minutes. Otherwise no complaints. Easy to clean as well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Deep Fryin

11/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have to work on my timing some as it is different from the outdoor fryers. Overall with only one try, the turkey was tasty. The fact that I can use this fryer for so much such as deep frying fish, wings, ducks, etc. Also, not to mention the steaming capacity. I think it will be worth the investment.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

great buy

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used the fryer to fix our Turkey for our Thanksgiving dinner, worked great, was delicious.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

ONE STAR TO WALMART

11/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The one star is for Walmart, not the product! First of all we paid $149.99 and now I see the price is $139.00! Second, we walked into Costco and the exact same item was $129.99 and it included the gloves, 2 carving mats, injector, and Dadgum DVD! We bought the Costco fryer and returned the Walmart fryer! As for the fryer, haven't used it yet, but have heard nothing but good things. We're anxious to fry our first turkey. Five stars to the fryer, one star to Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Works to make it delicious

11/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We used it for the first time to cook our thanksgiving turkey this year. Although cooking turkey in the oven has been our tradition, we were pleasantly surprised with the taste and easy-user friendlyness of this product. We used the instructions. The Turkey came out perfectly: crispy (not over crisp at all which I was expecting for the amount of time it had to be in it). The best part was that it was so juicy in the inside! We are definitely going to try other meats with this product. Worked great! We would've given it 5 stars if it was an easier method to clean it, but in general it was easy to clean but it took a few steps to get every part clean to put away.
Overall, we love this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 154 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next