Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Butterball Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Butterball Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

The Stainless Steel Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer will let you cooking up a crisp and succulent turkey at home. It features a digital timer, a drain valve and drip clip. This Butterball extra-large turkey fryer has a powerful 1,650W electric heating element to quickly heat oil. It also uses less than 3 gallons of cooking oil. This fryer has a thermostat temperature control and a digital timer so you will get a delicious finished product. The stainless steel Butterball digital electric turkey fryer has a space-saving design and can handle a turkey weighing up to 20 lbs. You can also use it to prepare an endless variety of foods, like hot wings, fish and fries. In addition, you can fill it with water to boil or steam a variety of foods.
Average Customer Rating:
4.535 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation95%55 out of 58reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Simple and easy to use

11/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First test turkey done. 11 pound 44 minutes cooking time. Best one I've ever cooked. I'm thawing my second bird a 17 pounder. I will try the injection of butter this time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Very good but leaked

11/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We cooked a whole chicken at 350 degrees to test our new fryer before Thanksgiving. The unit heated up in about 40 minutes and maintained the temparature throughout. From a Youtube video (and since the instuctions didn't have cooking time for a whole chicken), we cooked the bird for 5 minutes per pound plus 5 at 350 and it came out to a little over 165 degrees. Chicken was deliciious - crispy outside and juicy inside.
We had oil coming out all over the kitchen counter during cooking. After it cooled down, we found that the drainage spout (not the attachment) was lealing. We tightened it up and tested it with water which seemed to fix the problem. I hope it doesn't happen again on Turkey Day!
Overall it's a very good product. Cord is short. Instructions do NOT have much in the way of recipes. DON"T waste your money buying the "Dad-Gum" healthy book as it doesn;t have much in frying recipes at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Bring on the Feast

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fryer can do the job. It is huge! Our last meal in it consisted of 6 chicken breast and a dozen chicken legs. It cooked all of these evenly and crisp in a matter of 20 minutes. Everything turned out golden brown. There weren't any hot or cold spots in the fryer; everything cooked evenly. It does take about 45 minutes to warm up so you have to plan ahead. Storage could be a problem, but we just sit it on top of upright freezer in garage. If you want to cook in kitchen you need a low table or a bottom cabinet without top cabinet because it does take a lot of space to open the lid. It plugs into regular wall outlet. I am looking forward to cooking that perfect turkey dinner in it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

great frier

10/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used tis product one time but I am extremely impressed with the ease and quickness of the product. I fried a turkey breast and 4 days later the turkey was still moist. I could never say that with a baked turkey. I would highly recommend this product. I was always fearful of the old fashioned turkey fryer but this one was safe and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

It was so easy to use.

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The turkey fryer was so easy to use, It is light weight but
sturdy. I followed the instruction and it did cook in about 1hr.
I cooked 1 16lb turkey. Now I am ready for Thanksgiving.
Normally takes around 6 hrs to cook turkey & side dishes.
Not this year. Please try it us Peanut OIL cooks at a high
heat. Happy Thanksgiving
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Sweet Juicy Birds!

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fryer was so easy to use and absolutely the best chicken and turkey I've ever had. Even leftovers are soft and moist. Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

ONE STAR TO WALMART

11/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The one star is for Walmart, not the product! First of all we paid $149.99 and now I see the price is $139.00! Second, we walked into Costco and the exact same item was $129.99 and it included the gloves, 2 carving mats, injector, and Dadgum DVD! We bought the Costco fryer and returned the Walmart fryer! As for the fryer, haven't used it yet, but have heard nothing but good things. We're anxious to fry our first turkey. Five stars to the fryer, one star to Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Beats going outside to deep fry.

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used it once (Yesterday). Everything worked as designed. Clean up was easy. Not necessarily short but can be done without difficulty. I placed the deep fryer in a tub just in case of any spillage. Also, used a piece of cardboard on three sides of the fryer to minimize any chance of splatter when placing the turkey into the hot oil. No spillage and splatter was minimal. Now that the test on a 14 pound bird was successful, its on to a 20 pounder for Thanksgiving. My old propane deep fryer is now for sale.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Super Cooker

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does A Good Job As It Says...... Easy To Use .. Not Greasy .. A Value At The Price .
Looking Forward To Trying It For More Great Choices .
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Cooks Turkey Perfectly

11/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item works as described and cooks a perfect turkey.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

ok not as good as the smaller fryer

09/24/2014
By ,
utica,ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would not recommend this one, but I love the smaller version. It seems to get hotter and fries better than the larger one.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Didn't work as promised

09/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When trying to cook a turkey, and the firer got up to temp. Once putting the turkey in temp drop which is expected but it never recovered. This is a problem with the design. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

best turkey i ever tasted

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its great ,best turkey i ever tasted
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

One of the better turkey fryers

11/04/2013
By ,
San Diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After 15 years of frying a turkey with propane, I went electric. What can I say, it's a lot safer and I can fry inside the house or garage. My only complaint is that the electric cord is too small..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

overall was what ai expected.

11/14/2013
By ,
Schnecksville, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is an item U would use occasionally in most households. Tried it with a large chicken first and turned out great. Excellent taste and very moist. Make sure you wait till it comes up to temp. before inserting food and fryer has correct amount of oil in it. Electric cord is very short and disconnects easily (for safety purposes) and make sure you have the space to set fryer close to outlet. Enjoy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

So far so good

11/13/2013
By ,
Clovis, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this fryer for frying turkeys for Christmas dinner. So far I've used it for deep frying shrimp, fries and chicken wings and it has been excellent. The oil heated relatively quickly and the built in timer is great. Im looking forward to frying the turkeys next month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Better and safer Turkey fryer!

11/19/2013
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always used a propane fryer but no more. The Butterball fryer is so much easier for frying Turkeys or anything else you want to fry or even steam. Easier to clean and you can use it inside with no problems and you do not have to baby sit the fryer to make sure it doesn't overheat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Created the perfect turkey

11/30/2013
By ,
San Angelo, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this specifically to fry the. Thanksgiving turkey and it turned out exactly how directions said it would. We had a 19.81 lb turkey and although they say it holds a 20lb it would have been more perfect had we used an 18.5 lb turkey only because the top side of the bird wasn't totally emersed in oil even when filled to bottom of max fill line. It takes about 45 min to heat oil so allow for heating time. We gave the fryer a test run prior to cooking the turkey a week earlier by boiling water and cooking potatoes, corn and shrimp using the recipe that comes with the fryer. That turned out fabulous as well. Clean up is minimal too. Would definitely recommend to everyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Excellent product...

01/31/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used many different fryers, from small home fryers to restaurant fryers. This fryer is great! I’ve done French fries, chicken legs & thighs, whole chickens. It works great. Just be sure to remember it takes 1 hour to heat up the 2 ¾ gallons of oil. Peanut is best, but I have been using regular vegetable oil & it works just fine. Can’t wait to do a turkey with it. It does pull a lot of electric; so don’t try to use the microwave on the same circuit, like I did. You will pop the breaker, LOL. I give it 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+103points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Awesome!!!

12/18/2012
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most awesome appliance, bar none! Cooking is my passion, and have gotten many "gadgets" through the years. This is beyond wonderful! And the clean-up really IS so easy!! I am amazed! And the turkey is DELICIOUS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next