Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Butterball Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Butterball Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

The Stainless Steel Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer will let you cooking up a crisp and succulent turkey at home. It features a digital timer, a drain valve and drip clip. This Butterball extra-large turkey fryer has a powerful 1,650W electric heating element to quickly heat oil. It also uses less than 3 gallons of cooking oil. This fryer has a thermostat temperature control and a digital timer so you will get a delicious finished product. The stainless steel Butterball digital electric turkey fryer has a space-saving design and can handle a turkey weighing up to 20 lbs. You can also use it to prepare an endless variety of foods, like hot wings, fish and fries. In addition, you can fill it with water to boil or steam a variety of foods.
Average Customer Rating:
4.573 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(206 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
158
4 stars
32
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation96%197 out of 206reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
158
4 stars
32
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Simple and easy to use

11/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First test turkey done. 11 pound 44 minutes cooking time. Best one I've ever cooked. I'm thawing my second bird a 17 pounder. I will try the injection of butter this time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Very good but leaked

11/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We cooked a whole chicken at 350 degrees to test our new fryer before Thanksgiving. The unit heated up in about 40 minutes and maintained the temparature throughout. From a Youtube video (and since the instuctions didn't have cooking time for a whole chicken), we cooked the bird for 5 minutes per pound plus 5 at 350 and it came out to a little over 165 degrees. Chicken was deliciious - crispy outside and juicy inside.
We had oil coming out all over the kitchen counter during cooking. After it cooled down, we found that the drainage spout (not the attachment) was lealing. We tightened it up and tested it with water which seemed to fix the problem. I hope it doesn't happen again on Turkey Day!
Overall it's a very good product. Cord is short. Instructions do NOT have much in the way of recipes. DON"T waste your money buying the "Dad-Gum" healthy book as it doesn;t have much in frying recipes at all.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Tender & Juicy

12/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a wonderful thing and I love it. For those whom like turkey during the winter holidays, this fryer is a must buy. I promise you won't regret it. FYI, there's packing material underneath the bottom of the oil pan at the base of the unit. I didn't know this until the day after I fried the turkey. I found cardboard and bubble wrap and needless to say, some of the bubble wrap melted. I noticed it when I started to dismantle the turkey fryer to drain the oil. After you remove the control panel, push up on the oil pan from the bottom to remove it with ease, then you will have access to the packing materials. The turkey cooks 3-4 minutes per pound. My ten pound turkey cooked for 35 minutes. Be sure to inject it with a marinade before you fry it. I used a store bought marinade. I also melted a half a stick of butter and added it to the marinade. I also seasoned the skin with olive oil and McCormick's Grill Masters chicken seasoning before the frying process. My fried turkey was tender and juicy. Good Luck!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

great frier

10/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used tis product one time but I am extremely impressed with the ease and quickness of the product. I fried a turkey breast and 4 days later the turkey was still moist. I could never say that with a baked turkey. I would highly recommend this product. I was always fearful of the old fashioned turkey fryer but this one was safe and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Bring on the Feast

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fryer can do the job. It is huge! Our last meal in it consisted of 6 chicken breast and a dozen chicken legs. It cooked all of these evenly and crisp in a matter of 20 minutes. Everything turned out golden brown. There weren't any hot or cold spots in the fryer; everything cooked evenly. It does take about 45 minutes to warm up so you have to plan ahead. Storage could be a problem, but we just sit it on top of upright freezer in garage. If you want to cook in kitchen you need a low table or a bottom cabinet without top cabinet because it does take a lot of space to open the lid. It plugs into regular wall outlet. I am looking forward to cooking that perfect turkey dinner in it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Sad Turkey:(

11/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received my eclectic fryer and set it up the day before Thanksgiving. Could not use it because the thermostat would shut of the fryer at 275 degrees. I tried resetting 6 deferent times and it would not achieve max frying level of 375. I called the number on the manual and they said it was malfunctioning and to return it. I had to use the old reliable outdoor propane fryer. If you buy one, make sure you try it before you need it for your party.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

It was so easy to use.

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The turkey fryer was so easy to use, It is light weight but
sturdy. I followed the instruction and it did cook in about 1hr.
I cooked 1 16lb turkey. Now I am ready for Thanksgiving.
Normally takes around 6 hrs to cook turkey & side dishes.
Not this year. Please try it us Peanut OIL cooks at a high
heat. Happy Thanksgiving
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Don't waste your time

12/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the Butterball fryer to fry a turkey for Christmas Dinner. I got the oil up to 375 placed the turkey in the fryer and 5 minutes later it shut off. I made sure it didn't trip a breaker. No, I wasn't the breaker, the fryer is just a big piece of junk. Don't waste your time with this.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Leaks Oil

11/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First time I tried it there was a gathering pool of oil underneath the unit. Couldn't see where it was dripping from. Shut down the unit and drained the oil. Never used it. Requested refund/return from Walmart. Bad experience.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

I fell in love

12/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this fryer and fell in love. It worked wonders! I am extremely happy with it! I didn't fry a turkey in it yet, we had a fish fry. Hands down everyone loved it
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

turkey deep fryer

12/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works very well, just wished had some form of handles kinda hard to move around when it has fluid in it, but i love it!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Butterball Turkey Fryer XL

01/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used this fryer for the first time on Thanksgiving Day. Turkey was delicious, but could not eat the wings of the turkey because they were to crisp. I think the breast side of the turkey should be turned down and the wings should be up. Since this was my first time, I followed all of the directions given and they suggested the breast of the turkey be turned up. Also, I need to say that my turkey was only ten pounds, maybe a 17-19 pound would have been different. Also this does not fit comfortable on countertop, a very snug fit and lid could not be opened unless I moved it toward the edge, which I think would be dangerous. Wish I had bought the large. Next time I use it will be in my garage.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Super Cooker

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does A Good Job As It Says...... Easy To Use .. Not Greasy .. A Value At The Price .
Looking Forward To Trying It For More Great Choices .
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Sweet Juicy Birds!

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fryer was so easy to use and absolutely the best chicken and turkey I've ever had. Even leftovers are soft and moist. Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Works as advertised

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn't know what to expect from a item that says it will fry your turkey right on the kitchen counter top. Tried it on a turkey, 2 chickens and a pork roast!! this fryer is a gem. I have brought a few items that are suppose to be easy but by far this was surprising and very easy, the only hard part was eating all that food!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Safe, great and affordable!!

12/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for Thanksgiving, did a test run with a 14 lb whole chicken and it came out great. For Thanksgiving I fried a 20 lb turkey and it came out beautiful. This was a great purchase and is perfectly safe for indoors as long as you follow the instructions as with anything. I will definitely be frying a turkey every holiday!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

OUTSTANDING

12/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item the Butterball Fryer was just perfect. It was easy to understand and use. Once I got the oil heated up I put my turkey in. At first I made a mistake and hooked the basked on the rim (for drain) which was wrong. I couldn't understand why my bird did not get fully emerged in the oil. However, I realized what I had done wrong. I need to unhook the basked from the rim and let it go down in the oil. After that mistake of mine was solved. My turkey was crackling finger licking gooood! My family loved it so much they want me to go into business frying turkeys for people.
BUY IT, YOU'll LOVE IT!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

best Turkey

01/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this I had the small one, waneed the XL one to use a bigger turkey. Love it cause you can use in the house.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

Fantastic Purchase

12/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchase this item after Thanksgiving to use for Christmas dinner. I was a little skeptical using the fryer for the first time. Once, the fryer reach the required temperature everything was smooth sailing. I fried two turkeys and 40 lbs of drumettes. Had a few family members that are going to make a purchase of the fryer after seeing the great results for themselves. My mom says " You really got your money worth". I truly agree!! I just wanted buyers to know it really gets hot and be careful of the steam when you open the lid.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Butterball Digital Electric XL Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011114)

So far so good

11/13/2013
By ,
Clovis, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this fryer for frying turkeys for Christmas dinner. So far I've used it for deep frying shrimp, fries and chicken wings and it has been excellent. The oil heated relatively quickly and the built in timer is great. Im looking forward to frying the turkeys next month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 202 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next