Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Butterball Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Butterball Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

The Stainless Steel Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer will let you cooking up a crisp and succulent turkey at home. It features a digital timer, a drain valve and drip clip. This Butterball extra-large turkey fryer has a powerful 1,650W electric heating element to quickly heat oil. It also uses less than 3 gallons of cooking oil. This fryer has a thermostat temperature control and a digital timer so you will get a delicious finished product. The stainless steel Butterball digital electric turkey fryer has a space-saving design and can handle a turkey weighing up to 20 lbs. You can also use it to prepare an endless variety of foods, like hot wings, fish and fries. In addition, you can fill it with water to boil or steam a variety of foods.
Average Customer Rating:
4.532 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%44 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Excellent product...

01/31/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used many different fryers, from small home fryers to restaurant fryers. This fryer is great! I’ve done French fries, chicken legs & thighs, whole chickens. It works great. Just be sure to remember it takes 1 hour to heat up the 2 ¾ gallons of oil. Peanut is best, but I have been using regular vegetable oil & it works just fine. Can’t wait to do a turkey with it. It does pull a lot of electric; so don’t try to use the microwave on the same circuit, like I did. You will pop the breaker, LOL. I give it 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Love the XL electric turkey fryer

11/08/2012
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After moving into an apartment several years ago, I've longed for a fried turkey. I use to fry a turkey for Thanksgiving and Christmas for friends and family. Sometimes frying up to four in a outdoor propane fryer. I looked online and found the electric turkey fryer and I must admit I was a little bit of a skeptic. I went from site to site reading as many reviews as I could. After reading many positive reviews I decided to order one for my mother and one for myself. I fried several one pound Cornish Hens and battered chicken wings that took less than 10 minutes to cook. Then as a trial I bought a 12.20 pound turkey fried it and had co-workers as my testers before I cooked the final product for thanksgiving diner at a friend's house. The turkey fit perfectly in the basket, dropped right in. The 2 1/2 gallons of peanut oil took about 40 minutes to heat and the turkey took 51 minutes took cook. I just flipped the turkey out of the pan (it didn't stick to the bottom at all), and the skin was nice and crispy every one loved it.
The only problem I see is, because this is an Extra Large unit make sure you look at the dimensions and take measurements to make sure you have adequate counter space. Unlike the regular size electric turkey fryer that fries up to 14 pounds the top doesn't fold in half so with low hanging cabinets, usage can be a problem. I had to purchase a small table to sit out from the counter, and because of the short cord I needed a 10 gauge extension cord (which isn't recommended) but I didn't have a choice with the small space of an apartment kitchen. Plus I wish it had the inset handles on the side like the regular version for easy pick up, but I was able to slide my hands under the bottom and move it with ease. Also, the XL fryer advertises that you can fry a 20 pound turkey but the directions recommend no more than an 18 pound turkey.
Also if you are like me and usually scan usage instructions, DON'T! Read the instructions carefully on set up, use and cleaning before you use this product. Plus Masterbuilt posted many instructional videos on their website and on YouTube that I found helpful while waiting for my product to be delivered.
Otherwise, I highly recommend the product and look forward to using it many more times.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

One of the better turkey fryers

11/04/2013
By ,
San Diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After 15 years of frying a turkey with propane, I went electric. What can I say, it's a lot safer and I can fry inside the house or garage. My only complaint is that the electric cord is too small..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Best turkey fryer available!

02/05/2012
By ,
Copperas Cove, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The fryer exceeded my expectations. It will fry a BIG bird and does it par excellance! The price was unbelievable. A real bargain for a great fryer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

ok not as good as the smaller fryer

09/24/2014
By ,
utica,ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would not recommend this one, but I love the smaller version. It seems to get hotter and fries better than the larger one.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

overall was what ai expected.

11/14/2013
By ,
Schnecksville, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is an item U would use occasionally in most households. Tried it with a large chicken first and turned out great. Excellent taste and very moist. Make sure you wait till it comes up to temp. before inserting food and fryer has correct amount of oil in it. Electric cord is very short and disconnects easily (for safety purposes) and make sure you have the space to set fryer close to outlet. Enjoy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Love this fryer!

04/04/2013
By ,
Central US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this product to anyone looking for an electric fryer. We bought it more for appitizers than for frying turkeys as the normal fryers cant cook enough for more than one person at a time. We can cook for a group of people and nobody has to wait. It does however take some time to heat up. Once it is hot you are good to go. Love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Didn't work as promised

09/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When trying to cook a turkey, and the firer got up to temp. Once putting the turkey in temp drop which is expected but it never recovered. This is a problem with the design. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel
05/14/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this item to use as a multifunctional small kitchen appliance. Not only does it deep fry turkeys but you can fry large batches of food such as fish, french fries or chicken. With this item you can also use for steaming crabs, etc. Thanks Butterbal!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel
02/19/2012
By ,
West Wyoming, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son's, and they both love it. They love deep fried turkey, and they are glad they don't have to go outside to fry it any more. It is good for a big gathering when making fried foods. I bought the Turkey frier XL, can fry a 20 lb. turkey.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
 
My Product Recommendations
Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Awesome!!!

12/18/2012
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most awesome appliance, bar none! Cooking is my passion, and have gotten many "gadgets" through the years. This is beyond wonderful! And the clean-up really IS so easy!! I am amazed! And the turkey is DELICIOUS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Great fryer for the winter

01/25/2012
By ,
Keystone, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great fryer for the winter time.. too cold to be outside and cook. i use it with my buddies and my wife uses it sometimes for dinners. food turns out great. haven't had any problems. got it last year and still going strong. can't wait to use it for the SUPERBOWL!!! great fryer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

So far so good

11/13/2013
By ,
Clovis, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this fryer for frying turkeys for Christmas dinner. So far I've used it for deep frying shrimp, fries and chicken wings and it has been excellent. The oil heated relatively quickly and the built in timer is great. Im looking forward to frying the turkeys next month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Better and safer Turkey fryer!

11/19/2013
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always used a propane fryer but no more. The Butterball fryer is so much easier for frying Turkeys or anything else you want to fry or even steam. Easier to clean and you can use it inside with no problems and you do not have to baby sit the fryer to make sure it doesn't overheat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Easy to use

11/16/2013
By ,
Leesburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as a gift for family. Have had one for a few years now and love it. I will never go back to deep frying outside with the gas burner style ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Great fryer

12/29/2012
By ,
Clinton, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for my husband who normally uses outdoor fryer, he loved it. He said it was easy to use and clean. Turkey came out beautiful and tasted great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel
08/30/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This will take care of all your deep frying needs, whether for a few people or large. Makes terriffic fried chicken. Very user friendly too. I would recommend anyone looking for a top quality fryer, than this is definitely the one for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

We love it!

11/16/2013
By ,
Antioch, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looking forward to frying our first turkey!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

excellent freyer the best of all

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the best fryer I have ever purchase im buying one for my brother it fryes perfect fish, chicken, shrimp whatever you like would refer to anyone looking for a deep fryer
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Butterball Digital Electric Extra-Large Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Great overall fryer

11/14/2013
By ,
KAPLAN, LOUISIANA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for the price. The large capacity allows for frying a large quantity of the same or assorted foods at one time. Draining the oil and cleaning the unit is very easy. If you allow time for the unit to reach the proper cooking temperature the food will turn out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next