Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Schwinn Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Schwinn Fitness is the brand that brought the iconic Schwinn bicycling technology to home fitness. Since 1965, Schwinn Fitness has continued to help people live a healthy and active lifestyle by delivering high quality, innovative and industry awarded cardio product to the home user.
Average Customer Rating:
4.228 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(145 Reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation86%125 out of 145reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 82 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
29
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Unacceptable Condition

02/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item will not be rated until it is assembled - and who knows when that will be. The plastic casing surrounding the wheel is completely broken in at least 4 places. When I found the first break, I thought that doesn't look too bad... I can probably super glue and clamp it and it will be okay. But then I started looking closer and found four more major breaks: a piece completely broken off; parts broken and separated at the fasteners; and a a 6" jagged crack along the circumference of the wheel casing. Way too much to be repaired - it has to be replaced. So now I have the parts to a 200 pound machine laid out on my garage floor.
I'm going to contact Walmart and Schwinn and see how they respond. But so far I'm very disappointed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
-18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
SW MO
Ummm...
Posted 03/22/2014
You said "The item will not be rated until it is assembled..." But you did rate it; you gave it 1 star. ???
+5points
Customer Avatar
Response from company
Posted 03/11/2014
Have you received a response from either Schwinn or Walmart? Were you able to return the whole package to the store and order another one?
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Disappointing

02/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so disappointed with this elliptical I had to return it. I purchased it after reading many reviews that all seemed very positive. However, once we put mine together, it was not what I expected. First, I did not like the pedals. They are so slopped downward that my toes were constantly forced to the front making my feet sore by the time I got off. Second, I did not like the shape of the handles because every time I would let go of one to change a page in a book or on my phone, the bar would hit me on the elbow. So basically you can never let go. Third, my console was never correct on my distance or calories. I could go 30 min and it said I never even made a mile which I know is not accurate because the one at my gym shows 1.5 miles. The company offered to send me a new console but it would take two months! So I returned it and went to academy and tried out an xterra and I love it! It's just like one at the gym for the same price!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Very Happy So Far

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before purchasing this and I am very happy so far, however I've only used it twice. I've been doing a treadmill for over 20 years, but have plantar fasciitis in my heel and the treadmill was making it worse. The elliptical is a completely different beast! It works your legs much more and it takes a lot more effort, so I have a big learning curve in getting used to it. But this is nice and quiet, I like the MP3 feature, the speakers work just fine and are perfectly adequate. Assembly was a bit of a pain, but no more than typically when assembling a piece of exercise equipment. I wish the booklet was more helpful for instructions. It doesn't clearly state how to use the programs as opposed to manual quick start. Still not sure what all the buttons down each side of the console are for? I need to look online and see if I can find more information. For the cost I am very pleased with this piece of equipment.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Two left arms and loud sqweeks

03/29/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had to take time off from work twice as delivery company never made it for the first scheduled delivery. Box was on it's side on a pallet even though clearly labeled not to do that. Pieces have some scratches and dings but no breakage others have commented on.
Towards the end of assembly I realized that I had two left upper arm pieces even though one was marked as right. Called manufacturer and it took a month to get a right arm delivered. Now after a month of use, the bearings in the rubber rollers both squeak / squeal so loudly I can't use it in the early mornings like I am used to as it will wake the house. Don't think factory replacement will help so I may look at replacing these myself if they are not pressed in. Should probably have went ahead and spent more on a gym quality unit. Thought I could avoid that since this is used by just two people instead of hundreds, but lesson learned.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Lives up to its name "Schwinn"

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Elliptical was ready to be delivered a few days earlier than quoted, which was fine. I had the delivery person place the box in my garage as he stated he could not enter my home. The box was heavy, so two of us placed it on a rolling dolly and we rolled it into the exercise room. The elliptical was packaged well and there was a lot of Styrofoam packaging included. It took at least a half an hour or more to un-package and organize each part.
The elliptical was easy to assemble around 2 hours of taking your time and the directions were easy to follow.
On page 9, you will need to make sure you place the bottom of the #1 piece through the #12 piece hole and make sure each piece is facing the proper direction. Also make sure you plug in the electrical plug before snapping #12 into place.
It is possible to open the box in the garage or outside and carry each part to the proper location, as the box is too heavy to carry whole.
Very nice piece of equipment, runs smooth and gives you a good workout even at the lowest setting.
I've only had it for a week, but I would recommend purchasing this Elliptical.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Solid performer

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit arrived quickly in perfect shape.
Assembly was easy - I did it in 90 minutes following the instructions.
The machine itself is a solid performer as an elliptical. It is pretty quiet in operation. I enjoy the fan and the speakers. I took some time to customize the display so it only shows elapsed time, RPM and heart rate.
This machine would be great if the computer tracked distance and calories correctly. Distance should be based on the number of revolutions of the wheel, not on the resistance level. Calories are way off as well. You have to crank up the resistance to see noticeable changes in distance and calories. I just ignore those figures (turned them off on the display) and use my Fitbit instead.
One other gripe - the way the handles are laid out it is not possible to use the book holder with a large book. I can use the book holder with an iPad or magazine only.
I would recommend this to anyone despite the computer and book holder issues.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Don't Buy

02/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchase from Walmart.com to save $50 vs buying from local sporting good store. Delivery was a pain because it ships from a 3rd party company. My window for delivery was 10am-2pm. It arrived at 5pm. It took my husband about 3hrs to put together. However, it didn't work. The display wouldn't track time, distance or calories. After working out for a minute or two it would say workout paused. Called Schwin and they indicated they would ship out a replacemrnt part. It was suppose to arrive 5-7 days. It took two weeks! Once I recevied the part a repair company scheduled for a service tech to come out. Another 3hr window of waiting. (We both work full time) the part they sent did not fix the problem so, I had to call Schwin again. Their customer service dept. gave me two options... 1) they could send out a new display unit which was on back order until 3/9 or a whole new machine which was on back order for 15-30 days. It's 2/13 I've had the unit since 1/20 and it hasn't worked yet! Therefore I choose option 3) return it to my local Walmart store. I received a full refund. To spend $590 and have a month worth of aggravation is NOT worth it!!!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Worth the Money

05/27/2014
By ,
Marlton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading review after review, we ended up purchasing the Schwinn 430 from Wal-Mart because it was immediately available for free in-store pick up. Many reviews referenced assembly time, which I found to be totally reasonable at just under 2 hours working by myself. I took my time, followed the well-labeled instructions and had no problems whatsoever. The packaging was very robust (almost too well-packed) and all parts were included.
The elliptical itself is fantastic. It's quiet, sturdy and smooth. The build quality is actually quite impressive. I expect this to last for many years. Our 3 1/2 year old son is also fascinated by it.
Would highly recommend this elliptical. My wife says it's actually way better than any of the units at her gym.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Schwinn 430 Elliptical BEST BUY

12/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried several Ellipticals at different stores and reviewed on-line before I purchased this machine. This machine felt great when I stepped on it. Shipment was easy and the shipment company's communication was great and friendly. It took 1 1/2 hours to set up. The bolts and screws were already on it. The speakers work fine. I use my headsphones instead and it works great! The fan has 3 speeds and is placed in the right place for me. I am 50 years old and over weight and this machine kicks my butt. I feel comfortable and safe on the machine. I really love using it and started with 5 minutes and now at 20. I look forward to using more options as I get stronger and thinner. I highly recommend this product. If you are looking for something good without spending a lot of money, this is the machine to seriously think about.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

A great workout

01/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When the delivery guy dropped the elliptical off I noticed that the box had a big dent in it which he noted on the delivery invoice. As we were talking he told me that they contract out some of the shipping and delivery so apparently when you order your elliptical it goes though multiple shipper before it actually gets to you which is why you see so many reviews on dented/damaged elliptical machines.
The box it comes in is rather and large so even if you can carry it, it will probably be easier to move it in pieces which is what I did as I had to move it up two staircase with sharp turns. As for the reviews of the wheel part being two heavy to move, I'm a 5'5" 130lbs woman and was able to easily move it up two staircases just fine. Those who said it was too heavy might want to invest in a set of free weights...
The elliptical itself was easy to put together and I've been using it for a week now and absolutely love it. I find that with cheaper machines they can be frustrating to use which means that workouts are more of a hassle than an enjoying experience but with the Schwinn 430 it gives you a good workout for a great price and I find myself not dreading using the machine but enjoying the great workout it gives me.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Excellent In-Home Elliptical

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I received the shipment sooner than was stated which was a nice surprise. It took me just under 2 hours to assemble and only needed my wife's help a couple of times to help hold a couple of pieces in place for me. It is heavy so find the place you want it to be or it will be a good workout just to move it around.
Once assembled, I checked to make sure everything was tightened and I gave it a good test. Very smooth and I really like the incline settings. I have a relatively low ceiling of 8 feet but being 5'7", I have plenty of headroom. I found the panel simple to program and it is ready for years of use.
I have nothing bad to say as the instructions were easy to read and the elliptical was simple to install. It does take some time but I enjoyed putting it together.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Love this machine!

02/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine is everything they said it was; it is quiet, with a perfect stride and the foot pedals are roomy for even the biggest feet. It provides a great workout with little effort and allows you to adjust for incline to make it more challenging. It was easy to put together, although my only suggestion to them would be to provide more written instructions as most of the instructions were pictures only. However, all parts were there and it only took about 2-2.5 hours to assemble. The heaviest part was the flywheel, but I was able to lay the box on its side and slide the flywheel out onto the mat that I was using. Once I centered it where I wanted, the rest of the assembly was easy, as all of the other parts assemble to the flywheel. It is easy to operate and the console was easy to read. It should be noted that the user manual was NOT included; only the assembly manual was in my box. But I was able to download the manual online, so this was no problem. For the price, I feel I got more than what I paid for! Walmart delivery was excellent, item was delivered on time and no damage to the product. Would recommend this highly!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

GReat elliptical for the price

12/11/2013
By ,
Oswego,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took 2 hours to put together outer wheel cover rubs a little because it is out of round waiting on replacement cover. Very heavy so if you are shipping to store make sure you have a couple of people and a truck
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Great piece of equipment!

02/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to start working out at home, but didn't want to spend over a thousand dollars for a decent piece of gym equipment. I chose the Schwinn based on price and features.
It was fairly easy to put together. I had on issues with the condition of it upon arrival and all of the parts were included (even tools).
I've been using it for a couple of weeks now and it seems to be in really good shape. There is very little sound or wobble when in use. I am happy with the different levels of resistance and grade, which would suit any fitness level.
The only negative that I can say is that the electronics panel doesn't seem intuitive and doesn't come with any instruction. I have been trying to work out which buttons to push to get it to do what i want.
But all in all, i would say it's definitely good value; similar machines with the brand names are double the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Fitness center quality product at home.

03/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the machine. Works as advertised. Smooth operation. I assembled this unit in a little over an hour. This machine was well worth the money spent. This unit is built stout and operates smoothly.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Great performer, great value

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've only had it for a week. Assembling it was not as difficult as other reviewers have said, because it was logical, and all the parts are high quality, made to fit together easily. Both my wife and I have gotten into it, we enjoy it, and plan to use it all winter in the cold, snowy environment here in NW Wisconsin. I was surprised at the robustness and high quality of the construction. Lots of extra features such as built in speakers for your iPod, USB port, and even a cooling fan were a pleasant surprise. It seems to have the same level of quality and endurance of elliptical trainers I have seen at health clubs, and I would have expected it to cost a few thousand dollars instead of $600.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

schwinn 430 is one of my better choices

01/25/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took me about 2 hours to put together and it was easy. All the screws and bolts were pre-attached to the location and holes so all you had to do was unscrew and re-screw this machine runs so quiet and so smooth I was seriously impressed and I am very happy I made this purchase and I did so knowing that this was an investment on my health and this elliptical was going to help me reach my goals. It is very sturdy and does "NOT" give you a cheap feel * I do have one complaint and that is I need to return the console I can tell it is getting power but I am not getting the display that I should. I will add to this after I get my console exchanged with an update I am not worried about the return cause Schwinn has always given me good product and service throughout my years. I'm 54.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Heavy but Smooth

01/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As most others have commented this items is heavy and in some cases a second person could be needed to assist with assembly. After everything is together and you decide to take it for a test spin get ready for a surprise!! If you have used fancy gym machines this elliptical is deceiving...in a good way, I started off with the incline set at 50% and tried to do an hour on one of the hill programs. (Tried) As an Army veteran I'm definitely not a stranger to high intensity workouts, but this machine can easily provide a workout to meet ANY fitness level. Very impressed overall !!!
I did have to go back through after a few weeks and snug up a few of the fittings but I don't think it is due to cheap materials. There are always more metrics or bells/whistles that a machine can integrate but for the budget friendly customer I think this definitely hits the mark...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Workout calories not correct,

02/05/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It was delivered on time and assembled in less than 2hours. When I started for the first time I heard some squeaky sounds on left side, then I put lubricant on rails that came with package. After lubricant on rails, I didn't hear squeaky sound but still I feel hard with low/no resistance level. I tried pyramid program with high resistance , rigarously after 30 minutes of workout it shows only 110 calories burned. I think totally this calorie algorithm wrong, I used to work out in YMCA, for 30 minute workout usually I burn calories anywhere from300 to 400 calories based on the program.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Horrible Shipping & Damaged Product

12/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although this model appears to be very solidly built, the display console doesn't work. I've tried reconnecting all of the connection points, but to no avail. Aside from this, the shipping process was horrible. Walmart gave the shipment to EFW with whom I scheduled a 4-hour delivery window, EFW then gave the shipment to North Park Transport (who apparently never received notice of the delivery time frame I had chosen). I waited long past my delivery window to then have a very rude NPK employee call me and say the delivery would need to be the following day. After 7+ wasted hours of waiting for the shipment, then 1.5 hours of setup, the machine doesn't even have power. I've read that this model has documented issues with display consoles not working.... If you can pick up a fully assembled elliptical at the store, you will save yourself a ton of time and energy. Otherwise, save yourself the headache.
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 145 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next