Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Schwinn Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Schwinn Fitness is the brand that brought the iconic Schwinn bicycling technology to home fitness. Since 1965, Schwinn Fitness has continued to help people live a healthy and active lifestyle by delivering high quality, innovative and industry awarded cardio product to the home user.
Average Customer Rating:
4.339 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation89%50 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 78 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Unacceptable Condition

02/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item will not be rated until it is assembled - and who knows when that will be. The plastic casing surrounding the wheel is completely broken in at least 4 places. When I found the first break, I thought that doesn't look too bad... I can probably super glue and clamp it and it will be okay. But then I started looking closer and found four more major breaks: a piece completely broken off; parts broken and separated at the fasteners; and a a 6" jagged crack along the circumference of the wheel casing. Way too much to be repaired - it has to be replaced. So now I have the parts to a 200 pound machine laid out on my garage floor.
I'm going to contact Walmart and Schwinn and see how they respond. But so far I'm very disappointed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
SW MO
Ummm...
Posted 03/22/2014
You said "The item will not be rated until it is assembled..." But you did rate it; you gave it 1 star. ???
+5points
Customer Avatar
Response from company
Posted 03/11/2014
Have you received a response from either Schwinn or Walmart? Were you able to return the whole package to the store and order another one?
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

great machine for the price

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't have $1000 to spend on a elliptical so I put in my time trying to find the best machine to fit my budget. I went to the stores & got on the machines & read online reviews. I tried the schwinn 430 at a Walmart & even got a employee to plug it in so I could really see how the it felt. I bought the machine that same day. I was use to the $3000 Precor machines at the gym, & while I'm not saying the schwinn is at that level, the resistance was. And that was the most important feature I was looking for in a elliptical. When you change resistance levels its very smooth & strong. It has a nice long stride & the foot pads glide along nicely. Everything was packaged & labeled nicely. Took about a hour and one half to put together by myself. I have not tried all the programs yet, but the ones i used work fine & give a good workout. The charging dock is a nice feature & the speakers work ok. The only negative so far is that when the footpads are coming forward, your foot in a slight decline position & i find my toes sometimes getting pushed up into the front of my sneakers. Also the fan is useless. But for under $600 I am very pleased with it. It's a smooth running well made machine
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Worth the Money

05/27/2014
By ,
Marlton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading review after review, we ended up purchasing the Schwinn 430 from Wal-Mart because it was immediately available for free in-store pick up. Many reviews referenced assembly time, which I found to be totally reasonable at just under 2 hours working by myself. I took my time, followed the well-labeled instructions and had no problems whatsoever. The packaging was very robust (almost too well-packed) and all parts were included.
The elliptical itself is fantastic. It's quiet, sturdy and smooth. The build quality is actually quite impressive. I expect this to last for many years. Our 3 1/2 year old son is also fascinated by it.
Would highly recommend this elliptical. My wife says it's actually way better than any of the units at her gym.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

schwinn 430 is one of my better choices

01/25/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took me about 2 hours to put together and it was easy. All the screws and bolts were pre-attached to the location and holes so all you had to do was unscrew and re-screw this machine runs so quiet and so smooth I was seriously impressed and I am very happy I made this purchase and I did so knowing that this was an investment on my health and this elliptical was going to help me reach my goals. It is very sturdy and does "NOT" give you a cheap feel * I do have one complaint and that is I need to return the console I can tell it is getting power but I am not getting the display that I should. I will add to this after I get my console exchanged with an update I am not worried about the return cause Schwinn has always given me good product and service throughout my years. I'm 54.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Great performer, great value

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've only had it for a week. Assembling it was not as difficult as other reviewers have said, because it was logical, and all the parts are high quality, made to fit together easily. Both my wife and I have gotten into it, we enjoy it, and plan to use it all winter in the cold, snowy environment here in NW Wisconsin. I was surprised at the robustness and high quality of the construction. Lots of extra features such as built in speakers for your iPod, USB port, and even a cooling fan were a pleasant surprise. It seems to have the same level of quality and endurance of elliptical trainers I have seen at health clubs, and I would have expected it to cost a few thousand dollars instead of $600.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Discusting shipping

12/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just received my elliptical yesterday morning. The box was so tattered and taped up. I do not know how it managed to arrive to my house. Started putting it together and found the whole casing around the peddles is broken, could not put it together. Called the rep on it and they are sending new casing for it and having a rep come and put it together. It will take a week or more to get it fixed and put together, not very happy. Also it looks like someone else had it and returned it. Should just take it back to wal mart and order another one. Will see how it operates and then make my decision. I gave it one star because I cannot use it right now
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

quiet and smooth

11/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did a lot of research and found this one to be in my range/quality. I him/hawed a bit over price due to budget and lucked out...I got this machine on sale and was really happy with that deal. Was worried about sounds as i live on the second floor of an apartment building...super quiet and very smoooth operation. Very easy to put together, instructions are very well thought out and easy to understand. I have used it everyday since receiving it...happy thus far. Note...it would be nice to have better instructions from Walmart as to how it will be delivered. I do not answer 1-800 numbers and realized later it was the shipper calling me to set up a time to deliver. it was delivered later than what was stated but because of my phone standards I received it later. My fault i am sure but would appreciate better instructions.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Schwinn wins

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, we have been quite happy with the Schwinn elliptical. The price was reasonable and it was shipped directly to our home. The box was somewhat damaged, but no damage was done to the contents, fortunately. The assembly was challenging but manageable; the directions were very clear. The machine is now in operation and is functioning very satisfactorily. We plan on giving it almost daily use, so needed a sturdy machine and this seems to be one.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Very satisfied

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchasing this Schwinn model is my first experience with an elliptical. After extensive research, I determined this model would best fit my expectations for value, for options and for durability. Quiet operation was important to me. At this point, the machine is exceptionally quiet and seems very sturdy and stable. Assembly was no problem for my husband who is a contractor. The required tools were included. The box had sustained some damage in shipping but it did not effect the contents. The trucking firm was very diligent about documenting the outer damage in case the contents were also damaged. I look forward to utilizing the elliptical for many years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

GReat elliptical for the price

12/11/2013
By ,
Oswego,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took 2 hours to put together outer wheel cover rubs a little because it is out of round waiting on replacement cover. Very heavy so if you are shipping to store make sure you have a couple of people and a truck
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Equipment does the job!

11/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not had the chance to put this equipment through a rigorous workout, but the Schwinn 430 Elliptical seems to be well made and sturdy. It is smooth and provides for a good workout for someone who is just trying to get in shape. However, the screw that was holding the left handlebar came off after a light workout. I don't know if it was because I did not securely tighten that screw, but I have since used a thinner washer to try to keep it in place since the screw does not tighten. I will contact Nautilus if the problem continues. The assembly instructions were good although some parts should have been more detailed. Otherwise, I checked out the machine a few times before buying and feel it should be a good basic machine for a home gym.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Easy to assemble, very stable for workout

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this model because it seemed high build quality and takes up much less space than other ellipticals with the flywheel in the back. I was concerned about the height, but it works in our room.
Assembly: This product ships in a refrigerator sized box. The parts are easy enough to take out of the box and carry separately by one person to where it needs to be assembled. The assembly instructions are well illustrated with many of the screws and washers already in the right places. I was able to assemble this completely by myself, but there are a couple of steps where having another person would have been very helpful.
Setup: The controls are not as intuitive as the professional gym models and look a bit dated. But, it has everything you need. I had to download instructions from the Schwinn website because the manual on using the equipment was missing. It only has settings for 2 users, and I have a family of 4. I don't know yet if this will be a problem, but I never use the personalized settings anyway.
Exercise: Even at the lowest setting, there is enough resistance to make you work. The operation is very smooth, and the platform is very stable. Even after a few minutes, I feel as if I worked out. Overall, I really like this, and I am looking forward to getting in better shape.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Excellent Value, Durable Equipment

07/03/2014
By ,
Shreveport, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just picked up the Schwinn 430 Ellipitical from my local store inventory. Was worried about broken parts, missing parts, and missing hardware. Box from their inventory was in immaculate condition. Sports Dept. Manager and an Associate put the box in my SUV. When I got it home I took it out of the carton in pieces and assembled in my spare room, leaving the box in the SUV which later went straight to the dumpster.
All parts and hardware were included and everything was in pristine condition. The machine went together in about an hour and works perfect. The motion is solid and very, very smooth. The action of the pedals, wheel, and arms is effectively noise-free. The console works perfectly and the speakers aren't as bad as I'd imagined they'd be based on prior user reviews.
In all, a very, very solid machine that I'd highly recommend to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

So far so good

01/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The machine was not difficult to build. A little strength is required to torque the bolts, but nothing crazy. I did it by myself (28 year old, 160 lbs, fit male) in about 2 hours (leisurely). I used Wal-mart's site to store option and grossly underestimated the size of the packaging box, so the Wal-mart employee and I had to take every piece of the elliptical out of the box to transport it in my vehicle.
The machine feels sturdy. Runs quiet and smooth.
I was missing one bolt that was supposed to be one of the pre-installed bolts, but the washers and nut were in the plastic, so maybe it fell out when we opened the box in the parking lot. I was able to find a replacement bolt easily at the local hardware store. This and the fact that I've only used it once so far is the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars.
I've done a lot of research and this seems like the best value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Is it transportable in a sedan?
Posted 01/23/2014
I'm curious to know, if I remove all of the elliptical's pieces from the carton, will it fit in a mid size sedan? I have a 4 door Acura sedan, and the rear seats do not fold down. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

all I have to say is "WOW"

08/17/2014
By ,
Plymouth, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this machine kicks my butt, in a great way thou, It wasnt to bad to put it together, it took a little time, but not bad. I have found muscles again, that I forgot I had
I have a treadmill..... But its not as good of a work out as this ellipical....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Great Value for a terrific workout at home

10/30/2013
By ,
Suburban Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this elliptical for 5 days, but my initial impressions are very favorable. I bought it based on the great reviews for previous generations of Schwinn ellipticals, plus I did have an opportunity to try one of the older models in a store so that I knew it would be comfortable for me to use.
Assembly was straight forward and I was pleased with how well everything went together to form a very solid unit that seems like it will last at least as long as the 10 year warranty on the frame. The instructions were easy to follow and the whole thing was done in a couple of hours with short breaks.
I'm not taking advantage of the console since I basically get on and go for 30 minutes plus warm up and warm down. The resistance levels are pretty tough for me even though I'm used to doing cardio every day. I keep the resistance pretty low for now so that I can get in the full amount of time. I hope to build myself up to being able to handle more resistance over time.
The fan and speakers must have been improved over the useless appendages they were reviewed as on older versions. The fan actually does move air decently, although I don't typically use it. The speakers are loud enough to hear over the little bit of noise that the machine makes, but their sound quality is not the best. If you have decent speakers near by and you prefer to listen while you work out, you would get better sound quality out of almost any other speakers and they don't have to be blaring to be heard over the sound of the elliptical.
So after 5 days of daily use, I am very happy with this purchase and I anticipate that I will enjoy it and benefit from it for many years to come. It replaces a Nordic Track ski machine that I used almost every day for 18 years that finally gave out beyond repair. That is the one thing that remains a mystery to me about these Schwinn ellipticals: reviewers, like myself, provide reviews soon after they have acquired the product. I've not seen any reviews that indicate how well they actually hold up after daily use over several years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Great machine, best price

11/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been wanting this elliptical for some time, and when Walmart.com had the one day sale, something told me to look to see if it was on sale, and it was. I assembled this machine with a little help from my 9 year old, and it's perfect. It's quiet, has a built in fan, cup holder, and you can also connect your MP3 player. I love it! Thanks Walmart.com!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Great Elliptical

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received it quickly, easy to put together. Love the fan, very easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Disappinted

11/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am unable to review the actual machine because it arrived at my house in a million pieces.
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Great beginner exercise machine

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good machine overall
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next