Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Schwinn Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Schwinn Fitness is the brand that brought the iconic Schwinn bicycling technology to home fitness. Since 1965, Schwinn Fitness has continued to help people live a healthy and active lifestyle by delivering high quality, innovative and industry awarded cardio product to the home user.
Average Customer Rating:
4.197 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(152 Reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation86%131 out of 152reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 87 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
93
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Unacceptable Condition

02/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item will not be rated until it is assembled - and who knows when that will be. The plastic casing surrounding the wheel is completely broken in at least 4 places. When I found the first break, I thought that doesn't look too bad... I can probably super glue and clamp it and it will be okay. But then I started looking closer and found four more major breaks: a piece completely broken off; parts broken and separated at the fasteners; and a a 6" jagged crack along the circumference of the wheel casing. Way too much to be repaired - it has to be replaced. So now I have the parts to a 200 pound machine laid out on my garage floor.
I'm going to contact Walmart and Schwinn and see how they respond. But so far I'm very disappointed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
-18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
SW MO
Ummm...
Posted 03/22/2014
You said "The item will not be rated until it is assembled..." But you did rate it; you gave it 1 star. ???
+5points
Customer Avatar
Response from company
Posted 03/11/2014
Have you received a response from either Schwinn or Walmart? Were you able to return the whole package to the store and order another one?
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Disappointing

02/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so disappointed with this elliptical I had to return it. I purchased it after reading many reviews that all seemed very positive. However, once we put mine together, it was not what I expected. First, I did not like the pedals. They are so slopped downward that my toes were constantly forced to the front making my feet sore by the time I got off. Second, I did not like the shape of the handles because every time I would let go of one to change a page in a book or on my phone, the bar would hit me on the elbow. So basically you can never let go. Third, my console was never correct on my distance or calories. I could go 30 min and it said I never even made a mile which I know is not accurate because the one at my gym shows 1.5 miles. The company offered to send me a new console but it would take two months! So I returned it and went to academy and tried out an xterra and I love it! It's just like one at the gym for the same price!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Very Happy So Far

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before purchasing this and I am very happy so far, however I've only used it twice. I've been doing a treadmill for over 20 years, but have plantar fasciitis in my heel and the treadmill was making it worse. The elliptical is a completely different beast! It works your legs much more and it takes a lot more effort, so I have a big learning curve in getting used to it. But this is nice and quiet, I like the MP3 feature, the speakers work just fine and are perfectly adequate. Assembly was a bit of a pain, but no more than typically when assembling a piece of exercise equipment. I wish the booklet was more helpful for instructions. It doesn't clearly state how to use the programs as opposed to manual quick start. Still not sure what all the buttons down each side of the console are for? I need to look online and see if I can find more information. For the cost I am very pleased with this piece of equipment.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Lives up to its name "Schwinn"

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Elliptical was ready to be delivered a few days earlier than quoted, which was fine. I had the delivery person place the box in my garage as he stated he could not enter my home. The box was heavy, so two of us placed it on a rolling dolly and we rolled it into the exercise room. The elliptical was packaged well and there was a lot of Styrofoam packaging included. It took at least a half an hour or more to un-package and organize each part.
The elliptical was easy to assemble around 2 hours of taking your time and the directions were easy to follow.
On page 9, you will need to make sure you place the bottom of the #1 piece through the #12 piece hole and make sure each piece is facing the proper direction. Also make sure you plug in the electrical plug before snapping #12 into place.
It is possible to open the box in the garage or outside and carry each part to the proper location, as the box is too heavy to carry whole.
Very nice piece of equipment, runs smooth and gives you a good workout even at the lowest setting.
I've only had it for a week, but I would recommend purchasing this Elliptical.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Liking my new elliptical

05/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am pretty satisfied with my new Schwinn 430 Elliptical. I was a runner, who had to stop running due to stress on my knees, etc. I like the workout the elliptical gives me. Not quite as good as running, but I do still sweat, so I know I'm getting some benefit. And my joints definitely feel better. I'm 5'10", and the stride seems pretty good to me. I use my elliptical about 5 times a week, and have had it for a couple months. The only issue I've had is that I had 2 right arms instead of a left and a right (even though one of them was labeled left). I used it anyway, with the left arm just sitting in the pipe it is suppose to be screwed to. That was somewhat annoying, but doable, and it took a long time to receive the replacement part (a couple of weeks). Now that I have finally received it, all is well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Solid performer

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit arrived quickly in perfect shape.
Assembly was easy - I did it in 90 minutes following the instructions.
The machine itself is a solid performer as an elliptical. It is pretty quiet in operation. I enjoy the fan and the speakers. I took some time to customize the display so it only shows elapsed time, RPM and heart rate.
This machine would be great if the computer tracked distance and calories correctly. Distance should be based on the number of revolutions of the wheel, not on the resistance level. Calories are way off as well. You have to crank up the resistance to see noticeable changes in distance and calories. I just ignore those figures (turned them off on the display) and use my Fitbit instead.
One other gripe - the way the handles are laid out it is not possible to use the book holder with a large book. I can use the book holder with an iPad or magazine only.
I would recommend this to anyone despite the computer and book holder issues.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Two left arms and loud sqweeks

03/29/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had to take time off from work twice as delivery company never made it for the first scheduled delivery. Box was on it's side on a pallet even though clearly labeled not to do that. Pieces have some scratches and dings but no breakage others have commented on.
Towards the end of assembly I realized that I had two left upper arm pieces even though one was marked as right. Called manufacturer and it took a month to get a right arm delivered. Now after a month of use, the bearings in the rubber rollers both squeak / squeal so loudly I can't use it in the early mornings like I am used to as it will wake the house. Don't think factory replacement will help so I may look at replacing these myself if they are not pressed in. Should probably have went ahead and spent more on a gym quality unit. Thought I could avoid that since this is used by just two people instead of hundreds, but lesson learned.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Schwinn 430 Elliptical BEST BUY

12/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried several Ellipticals at different stores and reviewed on-line before I purchased this machine. This machine felt great when I stepped on it. Shipment was easy and the shipment company's communication was great and friendly. It took 1 1/2 hours to set up. The bolts and screws were already on it. The speakers work fine. I use my headsphones instead and it works great! The fan has 3 speeds and is placed in the right place for me. I am 50 years old and over weight and this machine kicks my butt. I feel comfortable and safe on the machine. I really love using it and started with 5 minutes and now at 20. I look forward to using more options as I get stronger and thinner. I highly recommend this product. If you are looking for something good without spending a lot of money, this is the machine to seriously think about.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Buyer beware

05/10/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this elliptical in February based on the positive reviews I read on the website. Since assemble, which was a piece of cake by the way, I've had to have 2 technicians visit my home on 2 difference occasions. It's still not fixed and the company has agreed to ship me a new one. But guess what? They won't assemble it for me for free. They want to charge me >$200. Ridiculous I have to be inconvenienced because they make a poorly constructed product.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

GReat elliptical for the price

12/11/2013
By ,
Oswego,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took 2 hours to put together outer wheel cover rubs a little because it is out of round waiting on replacement cover. Very heavy so if you are shipping to store make sure you have a couple of people and a truck
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Solid value

05/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is well built and functions well. The instructions on how to operate the electronic output is sadly lacking. Even the instructions found on-line don't help much.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Worth the Money

05/27/2014
By ,
Marlton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading review after review, we ended up purchasing the Schwinn 430 from Wal-Mart because it was immediately available for free in-store pick up. Many reviews referenced assembly time, which I found to be totally reasonable at just under 2 hours working by myself. I took my time, followed the well-labeled instructions and had no problems whatsoever. The packaging was very robust (almost too well-packed) and all parts were included.
The elliptical itself is fantastic. It's quiet, sturdy and smooth. The build quality is actually quite impressive. I expect this to last for many years. Our 3 1/2 year old son is also fascinated by it.
Would highly recommend this elliptical. My wife says it's actually way better than any of the units at her gym.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

schwinn 430 is one of my better choices

01/25/2014
By ,
Iowa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took me about 2 hours to put together and it was easy. All the screws and bolts were pre-attached to the location and holes so all you had to do was unscrew and re-screw this machine runs so quiet and so smooth I was seriously impressed and I am very happy I made this purchase and I did so knowing that this was an investment on my health and this elliptical was going to help me reach my goals. It is very sturdy and does "NOT" give you a cheap feel * I do have one complaint and that is I need to return the console I can tell it is getting power but I am not getting the display that I should. I will add to this after I get my console exchanged with an update I am not worried about the return cause Schwinn has always given me good product and service throughout my years. I'm 54.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Don't Buy

02/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchase from Walmart.com to save $50 vs buying from local sporting good store. Delivery was a pain because it ships from a 3rd party company. My window for delivery was 10am-2pm. It arrived at 5pm. It took my husband about 3hrs to put together. However, it didn't work. The display wouldn't track time, distance or calories. After working out for a minute or two it would say workout paused. Called Schwin and they indicated they would ship out a replacemrnt part. It was suppose to arrive 5-7 days. It took two weeks! Once I recevied the part a repair company scheduled for a service tech to come out. Another 3hr window of waiting. (We both work full time) the part they sent did not fix the problem so, I had to call Schwin again. Their customer service dept. gave me two options... 1) they could send out a new display unit which was on back order until 3/9 or a whole new machine which was on back order for 15-30 days. It's 2/13 I've had the unit since 1/20 and it hasn't worked yet! Therefore I choose option 3) return it to my local Walmart store. I received a full refund. To spend $590 and have a month worth of aggravation is NOT worth it!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Excellent Value, Durable Equipment

07/03/2014
By ,
Shreveport, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just picked up the Schwinn 430 Ellipitical from my local store inventory. Was worried about broken parts, missing parts, and missing hardware. Box from their inventory was in immaculate condition. Sports Dept. Manager and an Associate put the box in my SUV. When I got it home I took it out of the carton in pieces and assembled in my spare room, leaving the box in the SUV which later went straight to the dumpster.
All parts and hardware were included and everything was in pristine condition. The machine went together in about an hour and works perfect. The motion is solid and very, very smooth. The action of the pedals, wheel, and arms is effectively noise-free. The console works perfectly and the speakers aren't as bad as I'd imagined they'd be based on prior user reviews.
In all, a very, very solid machine that I'd highly recommend to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Better than you would think for the price

04/30/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A bit noisy but a solid product and quite steady. You will be surprised how good this is compared to other products similarly priced.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Base machine excellent...Console still waiting...

04/30/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is difficult to rate this item. The base of the machine is very durable. I have yet to be able to use the console. I have been using the machine without being able to program the console. I purchased my elliptical and received it at the end of February. It has a very smooth motion and quiet. The problem is that the console to program workouts has never worked. I immediately contacted Nautilus and they determined what was wrong over the phone and ordered parts. They are in no hurry to get these parts to you. It is 5-7 days to process the order and 5-7 days to receive them. There was a screw up on one of the parts (never shipped) so it took 4 weeks to receive that item. I then had to schedule the repair. Four days later they came. They did not appear confident nor friendly. They replaced all the parts and it still didn't work. They ordered more parts (new console and wiring). That took 2 more weeks to receive. Now I am having trouble scheduling a repair appointment. I am very flexible...any day of the week in the morning or afternoon until 4:00. I do not want them coming as late as 8:00 PM so I keep telling them not the 4-8 pm time slot. They keep scheduling it for that time. Three times they have done this via automated scheduling. I have contacted Nautilus directly to request a different company or to intervene. I am waiting to hear back from them. Since the first repair appointment, I have not been able reach the repair company to speak to someone. I have left 2 messages and have sent 3 emails. They will not answer their phones. This has been very frustrating and now I am past the return time to take it back to Walmart, which would be very difficult as it has considerable weight. Buy with caution...customer service is terrible. It has been over two months that I have been working to resolve this problem for a $600 item.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Excellent In-Home Elliptical

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I received the shipment sooner than was stated which was a nice surprise. It took me just under 2 hours to assemble and only needed my wife's help a couple of times to help hold a couple of pieces in place for me. It is heavy so find the place you want it to be or it will be a good workout just to move it around.
Once assembled, I checked to make sure everything was tightened and I gave it a good test. Very smooth and I really like the incline settings. I have a relatively low ceiling of 8 feet but being 5'7", I have plenty of headroom. I found the panel simple to program and it is ready for years of use.
I have nothing bad to say as the instructions were easy to read and the elliptical was simple to install. It does take some time but I enjoyed putting it together.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Great performer, great value

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've only had it for a week. Assembling it was not as difficult as other reviewers have said, because it was logical, and all the parts are high quality, made to fit together easily. Both my wife and I have gotten into it, we enjoy it, and plan to use it all winter in the cold, snowy environment here in NW Wisconsin. I was surprised at the robustness and high quality of the construction. Lots of extra features such as built in speakers for your iPod, USB port, and even a cooling fan were a pleasant surprise. It seems to have the same level of quality and endurance of elliptical trainers I have seen at health clubs, and I would have expected it to cost a few thousand dollars instead of $600.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Good purchase

04/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was easy to assemble. Very quiet. Only negative for me is that the seat seems to tilt forward somewhat. I am able to read my kindle by having it on the ledge.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next