Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Schwinn Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Schwinn Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Schwinn Fitness is the brand that brought the iconic Schwinn bicycling technology to home fitness. Since 1965, Schwinn Fitness has continued to help people live a healthy and active lifestyle by delivering high quality, innovative and industry awarded cardio product to the home user.
Average Customer Rating:
4.312 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation89%97 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 82 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
70
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Unacceptable Condition

02/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item will not be rated until it is assembled - and who knows when that will be. The plastic casing surrounding the wheel is completely broken in at least 4 places. When I found the first break, I thought that doesn't look too bad... I can probably super glue and clamp it and it will be okay. But then I started looking closer and found four more major breaks: a piece completely broken off; parts broken and separated at the fasteners; and a a 6" jagged crack along the circumference of the wheel casing. Way too much to be repaired - it has to be replaced. So now I have the parts to a 200 pound machine laid out on my garage floor.
I'm going to contact Walmart and Schwinn and see how they respond. But so far I'm very disappointed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
-18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
SW MO
Ummm...
Posted 03/22/2014
You said "The item will not be rated until it is assembled..." But you did rate it; you gave it 1 star. ???
+5points
Customer Avatar
Response from company
Posted 03/11/2014
Have you received a response from either Schwinn or Walmart? Were you able to return the whole package to the store and order another one?
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Solid performer

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit arrived quickly in perfect shape.
Assembly was easy - I did it in 90 minutes following the instructions.
The machine itself is a solid performer as an elliptical. It is pretty quiet in operation. I enjoy the fan and the speakers. I took some time to customize the display so it only shows elapsed time, RPM and heart rate.
This machine would be great if the computer tracked distance and calories correctly. Distance should be based on the number of revolutions of the wheel, not on the resistance level. Calories are way off as well. You have to crank up the resistance to see noticeable changes in distance and calories. I just ignore those figures (turned them off on the display) and use my Fitbit instead.
One other gripe - the way the handles are laid out it is not possible to use the book holder with a large book. I can use the book holder with an iPad or magazine only.
I would recommend this to anyone despite the computer and book holder issues.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

A great workout

01/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When the delivery guy dropped the elliptical off I noticed that the box had a big dent in it which he noted on the delivery invoice. As we were talking he told me that they contract out some of the shipping and delivery so apparently when you order your elliptical it goes though multiple shipper before it actually gets to you which is why you see so many reviews on dented/damaged elliptical machines.
The box it comes in is rather and large so even if you can carry it, it will probably be easier to move it in pieces which is what I did as I had to move it up two staircase with sharp turns. As for the reviews of the wheel part being two heavy to move, I'm a 5'5" 130lbs woman and was able to easily move it up two staircases just fine. Those who said it was too heavy might want to invest in a set of free weights...
The elliptical itself was easy to put together and I've been using it for a week now and absolutely love it. I find that with cheaper machines they can be frustrating to use which means that workouts are more of a hassle than an enjoying experience but with the Schwinn 430 it gives you a good workout for a great price and I find myself not dreading using the machine but enjoying the great workout it gives me.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Excellent In-Home Elliptical

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I received the shipment sooner than was stated which was a nice surprise. It took me just under 2 hours to assemble and only needed my wife's help a couple of times to help hold a couple of pieces in place for me. It is heavy so find the place you want it to be or it will be a good workout just to move it around.
Once assembled, I checked to make sure everything was tightened and I gave it a good test. Very smooth and I really like the incline settings. I have a relatively low ceiling of 8 feet but being 5'7", I have plenty of headroom. I found the panel simple to program and it is ready for years of use.
I have nothing bad to say as the instructions were easy to read and the elliptical was simple to install. It does take some time but I enjoyed putting it together.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Lives up to its name "Schwinn"

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Elliptical was ready to be delivered a few days earlier than quoted, which was fine. I had the delivery person place the box in my garage as he stated he could not enter my home. The box was heavy, so two of us placed it on a rolling dolly and we rolled it into the exercise room. The elliptical was packaged well and there was a lot of Styrofoam packaging included. It took at least a half an hour or more to un-package and organize each part.
The elliptical was easy to assemble around 2 hours of taking your time and the directions were easy to follow.
On page 9, you will need to make sure you place the bottom of the #1 piece through the #12 piece hole and make sure each piece is facing the proper direction. Also make sure you plug in the electrical plug before snapping #12 into place.
It is possible to open the box in the garage or outside and carry each part to the proper location, as the box is too heavy to carry whole.
Very nice piece of equipment, runs smooth and gives you a good workout even at the lowest setting.
I've only had it for a week, but I would recommend purchasing this Elliptical.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Heavy but Smooth

01/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As most others have commented this items is heavy and in some cases a second person could be needed to assist with assembly. After everything is together and you decide to take it for a test spin get ready for a surprise!! If you have used fancy gym machines this elliptical is deceiving...in a good way, I started off with the incline set at 50% and tried to do an hour on one of the hill programs. (Tried) As an Army veteran I'm definitely not a stranger to high intensity workouts, but this machine can easily provide a workout to meet ANY fitness level. Very impressed overall !!!
I did have to go back through after a few weeks and snug up a few of the fittings but I don't think it is due to cheap materials. There are always more metrics or bells/whistles that a machine can integrate but for the budget friendly customer I think this definitely hits the mark...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Not sure who to blame

01/22/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When the elliptical machine finally arrived the box had some damage but nothing seemed to be affected. When I unpacked the unit the final piece that came out was the flywheel. I immediately noticed that the shroud was broken and immediately called Schwinn customer support. They apologized for the inconvienence and told me that they didn't have the items in stock but they would be arriving Jan. 15th and I should have them by the 20th. I contacted them again on the 21st and they said that they shipped out all of the parts that they received and didn't have enough to go around. Now the next shipment is not coming until Feb 15 and I should have them by the 20th. If I do get them then I will have had my elliptical machine for almost 1 1/2 months and still haven't been able to use it. I also had to buy a $17 tool to remove the crank arms to get the shrouds off.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Schwinn 430 Elliptical BEST BUY

12/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried several Ellipticals at different stores and reviewed on-line before I purchased this machine. This machine felt great when I stepped on it. Shipment was easy and the shipment company's communication was great and friendly. It took 1 1/2 hours to set up. The bolts and screws were already on it. The speakers work fine. I use my headsphones instead and it works great! The fan has 3 speeds and is placed in the right place for me. I am 50 years old and over weight and this machine kicks my butt. I feel comfortable and safe on the machine. I really love using it and started with 5 minutes and now at 20. I look forward to using more options as I get stronger and thinner. I highly recommend this product. If you are looking for something good without spending a lot of money, this is the machine to seriously think about.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Getting healthy on the elliptical!

01/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been researching and shopping for an elliptical for quite awhile and found this one by accident. I read the other reviews which were all good and thought I'd give it a try, the price was too reasonable not too. It arrived safe and sound to my driveway and my husband used his power tools to put together. Less than an hour and it was up and running, or rather, I was up and running on it. The screen displays and programs are easy to figure out and the fan and speakers work perfectly. I love that I can plug my tablet into the speaker system directly and watch my shows on Netflix while exercising. Not having to worry about my earbud wires getting caught by the handles and ripped out of my head is nice. My only complaint is the calorie counter, I don't think it's exactly accurate, compared to other ellipticals with the same time and effort, this elliptical says I am burning way less. Not to concerned though, I know what I can do and the calorie count is not my goal. There is a minor squeak under the left footpad that is slowly quieting with each use. Other than that, I LOVE my new machine and am so excited to continue my new relationship with it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Horrible Shipping & Damaged Product

12/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although this model appears to be very solidly built, the display console doesn't work. I've tried reconnecting all of the connection points, but to no avail. Aside from this, the shipping process was horrible. Walmart gave the shipment to EFW with whom I scheduled a 4-hour delivery window, EFW then gave the shipment to North Park Transport (who apparently never received notice of the delivery time frame I had chosen). I waited long past my delivery window to then have a very rude NPK employee call me and say the delivery would need to be the following day. After 7+ wasted hours of waiting for the shipment, then 1.5 hours of setup, the machine doesn't even have power. I've read that this model has documented issues with display consoles not working.... If you can pick up a fully assembled elliptical at the store, you will save yourself a ton of time and energy. Otherwise, save yourself the headache.
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

The pressure is on! LOL

01/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So now that I have this thing, I have to actually use it :)
Assembly was actually not that bad. I'm a woman, and I put this thing together all by myself...with a little help from my mother when I needed to balance a heavy piece or two.
The instructions were very specific about tightening everything! I tightened so much that I actually stripped two of the sockets (not sure if that's the right term, but the thing that the screw screws into). I wasn't using a power tool, and I'm probably not the strongest of women, so I didn't think that was possible. The two screws weren't in areas of concern, but they did strip.
So anyway, I really love being on this thing. Good work out. I was a bit disappointed that it did not come with full instructions; I had to go online and download and print them myself. Also, I don't fully understand the 'Program' buttons, and neither booklet explains them very well (If anyone can help me that would be great). I assumed that work outs would be pre-programmed in the system...like one for heart health, or fat burning, etc. But no.
Good machine. Great features! Love the fan, love the incline, love the ease of use. Love the small space between the pedal things. Love the stride length. I did my research and for this price, this is the BEST elliptical.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Worth the Money

05/27/2014
By ,
Marlton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading review after review, we ended up purchasing the Schwinn 430 from Wal-Mart because it was immediately available for free in-store pick up. Many reviews referenced assembly time, which I found to be totally reasonable at just under 2 hours working by myself. I took my time, followed the well-labeled instructions and had no problems whatsoever. The packaging was very robust (almost too well-packed) and all parts were included.
The elliptical itself is fantastic. It's quiet, sturdy and smooth. The build quality is actually quite impressive. I expect this to last for many years. Our 3 1/2 year old son is also fascinated by it.
Would highly recommend this elliptical. My wife says it's actually way better than any of the units at her gym.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Smooth and sturdy machine

01/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this elliptical was a good buy. I use the machine in the mornings before going to work in the highway construction industry and seem to have more energy on the days I don't skip out (I've skipped 2 days since I got it). The only drawback so far for me is my legs are shorter than most 5'6" women and the stride is alittle long but, I'm sure I'll get used to it with time. It was somewhat simple to assemble. I love how quiet and sturdy it is. I haven't had it long enough to use the features on it, but the fan is nice. I've only owned it about two weeks and so far so good. If any issues come up I'll update my review.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Quiet dependable solid unit!

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The delivery was a couple of days later than promised in the original order but the delivery guys were good and got it into my garage.
The unit went together very well as described in the instructions. Assembly took about 2 hours, not rushing, all the parts were there. I would say it takes at least the basic assembly knowledge to accomplish the task.
The 430 performs just as described, it is quiet and solid and has all the basic features. I needed only the basic ones for my workouts.
Walmart had the best price by far and beat Amazon, if you can believe that.
Glad I had it shipped to my house and not the store.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Great machine, not so great shipping.

01/18/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My wife and I were really excited with our purchase of this machine. The elliptical seems like a great piece of equipment, however, the shipping and delivery left a lot to be desired. It was guaranteed to be delivered on January 12th, but the shipping company called and told me they could not deliver until the 15th between 1 and 5. I agreed to this and arranged to have someone waiting to accept delivery on the 15th, as I had to work that day. They called me on the 15th at 12:45 to tell me again they could not deliver and could not deliver until the 17th. I did not want to arrange again for someone to be waiting for delivery, so I ask could I drive up and pick it up myself on the 16th. So I made the 30 minute drive to pick it up and found the box to have numerous holes and tears in it. I felt that the holes were not bad enough that the contents would be damaged, so I accepted the package. Went home and began assembling the machine to realize that it had been dropped and that the plastic housing around the wheel was busted. We decided that this would not affect the working of the machine and after assembly applied strong glue to hold plastic in place. Our machine works fine and we are enjoying it, but we probably will not have an item such as this shipped again.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Solid Machine

02/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent elliptical for the price. I took my time assembling the unit - about 2 hrs and it was clearly better built than my previous Nordic Track. The console is basic but includes some connectivity features that I may use in the future. It has a comfortable stride and feels rock steady in operation. Looking forward to using it for years.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Great performer, great value

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've only had it for a week. Assembling it was not as difficult as other reviewers have said, because it was logical, and all the parts are high quality, made to fit together easily. Both my wife and I have gotten into it, we enjoy it, and plan to use it all winter in the cold, snowy environment here in NW Wisconsin. I was surprised at the robustness and high quality of the construction. Lots of extra features such as built in speakers for your iPod, USB port, and even a cooling fan were a pleasant surprise. It seems to have the same level of quality and endurance of elliptical trainers I have seen at health clubs, and I would have expected it to cost a few thousand dollars instead of $600.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

DON'T HAVE THEM SHIP IT.

01/17/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While we love the product, it was damaged in shipping. The shroud for the driver wheel was broken, as there is not enough clearance in the packaging for the stems that hold it in place to survive. We are both very skilled with repair work, and were able to super/hot glue all 9 broken pieces in place, and reassemble the unit.
Do NOT purchase this if you are having it shipped to your home. It will not come undamaged. All the reviews on this site and others complain about the broken shroud, and we were prepared to make the repairs upon arrival.
The unit is simple to use, and very effective. Have it shipped to store, and require them to assemble for you...or don't buy this.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

Money well Spent

01/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shipped promptly. Delivery people called for appointment to deliver. Box showed up in good condition. This equipment is packaged well and it takes a while to unpack the parts but the instructions where very good and all parts and bolts were there. It can be assembled by one person in a few hours.
This elliptical is built strong and solid and looks like a professional piece of equipment. It functions smoothly and my wife and I love it. The only negative for me is that the instructions for how to use the electronic display and exercise programs is pitiful and instructs you to go online for details.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Schwinn 430 Elliptical, Black

quiet and smooth

11/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did a lot of research and found this one to be in my range/quality. I him/hawed a bit over price due to budget and lucked out...I got this machine on sale and was really happy with that deal. Was worried about sounds as i live on the second floor of an apartment building...super quiet and very smoooth operation. Very easy to put together, instructions are very well thought out and easy to understand. I have used it everyday since receiving it...happy thus far. Note...it would be nice to have better instructions from Walmart as to how it will be delivered. I do not answer 1-800 numbers and realized later it was the shipper calling me to set up a time to deliver. it was delivered later than what was stated but because of my phone standards I received it later. My fault i am sure but would appreciate better instructions.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next