Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Butterball Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Butterball Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Fry a turkey indoors with the Butterball Digital Electric Turkey Fryer Stainless Steel appliance. This remarkable kitchen tool can cook delicious turkeys up to 14 lbs in size in just a few minutes per pound. The Butterball electric turkey fryer has an adjustable thermostat temperature control, so you can easily manage the temperature of the oil. It also features a digital timer that allows you to keep track of how long the turkey has been cooking. The stainless steel construction is sturdy and designed to take up just a small amount of space on your kitchen counter. This Butterball turkey fryer comes with a porcelain-coated inner pot and a cooking basket with a drain clip for draining the turkey after cooking. The folding lid and window also allow you to see how the turkey is doing as it cooks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(394 Reviews) 339
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
306
4 stars
56
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation93%368 out of 394reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 155 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
306
4 stars
56
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Great overall with one small problem

12/19/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the price? Yes, without question. Safe? You bet! No chance of fire. Easy to drain the bird? Absolutely! Easy to drain the tank? Oh yeah! Easy to clean? Also yes! This is a big plus for us.
Problems? Only one. Instuctions call for cooking a bird (Chicken or Turkey) for 3.5 to 4 minutes per pound at 375 degrees F. Either my unit doesn't get up to 375 or the instructions are wrong. At 4 minutes the meat is still under temperature and it bloody when sliced. Not good for poultry. We've cooked 4 large chickens now at 5 minutes per pound and the were perfect. Cooked all the way through and wonderfully tender. Bottom line, a great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

True Believer

11/30/2010
By ,
Lawrenceville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was going to let someone else deep fry my turkey, but I got back in town to late to take it to their house so I brought the Turkey fryer because of the commercial and I was very skeptical about how well this turkey fryer was going to fry my turkey. Well I fried my 1st turkey for Thanksgiving and used my own seasoning and I must say WOW!!! my turkey came out a nice golden brown very tasty and very moist, it took my parents and aunt by surprise. My family enjoyed the turkey. This fryer was a hit and now my parents and my aunt are going to purchase this fryer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

overall it is pretty good

01/19/2011
By ,
Panama City, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works good overall. I like the size a lot. But that is basicly all it is, is an extra large deep fryer. Looks good. I think for the price it could at least have a turn off button either separate from the temperture dial or built into it; rather than to unplug it. My old smaller deep fryer could be turned off without unpluging it. Guess maybe its a new safety feature. The built in timer is kinda chincy Looking and hard to see. I can see areas where there could be improvement in the design. But the main thing is it does cook more at once and does it well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

AWESOME!

09/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy to use and produces great results!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Great fryer!!!!

11/24/2013
By ,
Warner Robins, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about purchasing a turkey fryer since I've never used one before. All of my skepticism diminished after my first fryer experience. I prepared 4 Cornish hens that turned out to be not only great tasting but great looking also. The beautiful crispy golden color made for a wonderful presentation. I will be frying the Thanksgiving turkey with great confidence. I LOVE THIS FRYER!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Good Cooker

12/16/2012
By ,
Portsmouth, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't cooked a turkey in it to date. But, I have cooked chicken wings and potatoe wedges to get an idea of how well it cooks. I was very impressed. With the temperature heated up to 375 degrees F, it seers the chicken which locks in the seasonings and juices. I very much so like this product. I ordered it on line (because the stores had sold out it for Thanksgiving) and it came lightening fast. I think it was delivered in a couple of days. Very excited to try a turkey for New Year.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

MeFryTurk

12/01/2010
By ,
Upper Marlboro
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with this product. The assembly and safety of this product exceeded my expectations. The functionality of the operation was very simple. I can't wait to try the steaming feature. I love the convenience of frying a turkey indoors. I wasn't necessarily a turkey lover before but I am now. The turkey was totally moist and not dried out in the least. Although, the turkey was fried it wasn't greasy at all. Since time is very precious it only took a total of 44 minutes and it was done to perfection!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

DO NOT BUY!

11/24/2011
By ,
Waddell, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a total waste of money. I have been deep frying turkeys for over 22 years and this does not measure up. The heating element is no where large enough as the oil never exceeds 300 degrees F. When you lower the turkey into the oil, the temperature naturally drops, but does not recover above 275 degrees F. even after 90 minutes! May work with small chickens and french fries, but for turkeys, it's an EPIC FAIL!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

WORST PRODUCT EVER.......

11/26/2010
By ,
BRANDON, MISS.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HAD COMPANY AND PROCEEDED TO START UNIT. WOULD CUT ON FOR ABOUT 30 SECONDS AND TURN OFF..HIT RESET BUTTON, WHICH IS LOCATED IN A VERY STRANGE AND HARD TO GET TO PLACE..SAME PROBLEM....TRIED FOR OVER AN HOUR TO FIX THE PROBLEM.. NEEDLESS TO SAY SPEND 110 ON UNIT AND 35.00 FOR OIL AND DIDNT GET MY TURKEY COOKED FOR MY GUESTS UNTIL LATE AFTERNOON BECAUSE I HAD TO COOK IT IN THE OVEN....PROMPTLY RETURNED IT TO WALMART AND GOT MY MONEY BACK....AM CALLING MASTERBUILT FIRST THING MONDAY AND GIVE THEM A PIECE OF MY MIND...THIS IS A TERRIBLE PRODUCT.........
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Great for frying Whole Chickens too

12/15/2013
By ,
Huntley, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought my fryer at Walmart.com back in November and used it for the first time last night. We cooked a whole chicken in the fryer, and it came out pretty good. Very crispy skin and juicy chicken inside. When I pulled it out of the fryer after the suggested time ( 3 min per pound + 5 minutes), it was still a little "bloody", so it went back in for another 4 minutes. This time it was done. I'll definitely cook another chicken, but will add 3 to 4 extra minutes than suggested. Today I made my own potato chips. I'm glad I bought this product and am looking forward to using it more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Poor quality

11/16/2012
By ,
Cana, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Saw an info-mercial about the butterball turykey frier and decided to buy one. When I unpackaged it and plugged it in, it did not work. The digital display would light up, but the frier would not heat up. The cord on the plug was much too short, and the end that plugs into the frier does not have a good connection. I would not reccomend this product. It is very disappointing to buy something and get it home and it does not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Love the Fryer!

12/09/2012
By ,
Clarksdale, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this fryer!! I have been waiting on this proce to come down so that I can purchase it for family and holiday gatherings instead of having my mother n law transport hers to and from her home. It comes in very handy with my larger than normal family for quick meals that may include french fries, or chicken strips or tenders; larger meals with larger entrees such as turkeys or whole birds. Love it love it love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Works Great!!

12/03/2010
By ,
Hazel Green, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We tried this for the first time tonight and made some hot wings. We made sure we followed ALL the directions while setting it up, and then we set the temperature for 375 degrees expecting it to take about 30-35 minutes; it only took about 25 to heat up the oil. We then put our prepared wings in the basket and lowered it slowly into the oil and closed the lid. We set the timer for 15 minutes, and when this was done, we looked to see if the wings were done to our liking; we like them really crispy so we put them back in for another 10 minutes. They were perfect!!! We let them drain a little and took them out. They were delicious and not a bit greasy. The only thing we did do was to put the vent fan on in the kitchen while we cooked the wings; other than that, it was really simple to use and we highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel
11/21/2012
By ,
Rockford,IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using a gas turkey fryer for years and this unit is so much easier. Turn it on, set the temp,wait for the ready light and 45 mins. Later a perfectly done 12 lb. bird. No muss,no fuss and clean up is a breeze. The only negative I have seen is that the timer is hard to read, no big deal. Would recommend this to anyone who likes to fry Holiday turkeys and is tired of standing out in the cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Follow Directions, Works as Advertised

12/06/2013
By ,
Lampe, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have found very few gadgets work as well in the home as they do on TV. The Butterball turkey fryer is an exception. I purchased the small model (14 lbs max) from Walmart.com because of the Walmart’s phenomenal customer service and return policy.
Along with the fryer I purchased 2 gallons of Vegetable Oil (Peanut Oil recommended but too expensive for a test).and a fresh Butterball 12.5 pound turkey. I did not season the bird in any other way besides the oil. The cooking time is between 3.5 and 4 minutes a pound. I figured 4 minutes and rounded it to 54 minutes.
The oil should heat in 40 minutes. It took my oil 35 minutes to come to temperature. At this point you must be sure your turkey is free of any ice and/or moisture and at room temperature. Two gallons of fry oil brings you to the MAX fill line. Do Not exceed this line.
I lower the turkey SLOWLY into the unit and the oil rose to three inches below the top and settled down. I shut the lid and 54 minutes later the bird was GD&D (Golden Brown and Delicious). I took it to my son’s house and did not tell anyone it was fried. My daughter in law tasted the turkey as it was being carved and she said how great it tasted. Remember, no seasoning. My son said it’s the best turkey I ever made. At that point I told them it was fried.
You must following the safety instructions. Especially the preparing of the turkey before frying. I hope you success.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel
01/03/2012
By ,
Prince George, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!! My first experience with online purchase from Walmart and I'm totally satisfied! They texted continuously to let me know the status of my merchandise. The electric turkey fryer was even better than I expected. Walmart kept their promise and delivered a few before promised. Online shopping at Walmart......................OH YES!!!!!! Keep up the great work Walmart and keep rolling back those prices!!!!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

This is the 1!!!!

11/23/2012
By ,
Chicago,IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok y'all if you're like me you think turkey frying is for the professionals but think again! Just cooked my Thanksgiving day bird in this fryer and my family (as well as I) were very pleased. This unit worked just as the advertisement said it would. Buy this unit without fear! Just follow the directions. O' don't forget the Butterball seasoning kit. That's what I used and loved it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Great Fryer, Steamer, Boiler

12/10/2011
By ,
Pflugerville, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used it several times for boiling and steaming, have not used the fry feature as of yet, I will use it to fry our Christmas Turkey this year, so I know if it fryes as good as it does everything else then it is a great product that has eliminated three different item's from our kitchen counter, as of now I would definately recommend this product to anyone, every friend and family members that we have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

Good unit for an experienced cook.

01/03/2012
By ,
Northern Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife does a lot of deep frying and requested a larger capacity unit so she wouldn't have to use the oven to keep things warm while frying the amount of food needed for a meal. She also wanted one that was easier to change the oil and also remove it for filtering. It's construction makes it easy to clean all parts of the fryer. She Has used it twice since purchase and is quite pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel

First Time Fryer

12/26/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my doubts and concerns but everything went well! No grease fires, accidents or mishaps. And although my turkey didn't look like I expected it was freaking delicious! I have to fry another one to try to get something that looks better, but it was my first time ever and it was pretty simple, producing a great turkey! I would recommend... and I'd like to add I have never prepared a turkey in my life (I'm 36 married with children, but the big stuff was never my job).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 340 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  17 Next