Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Butterball Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Butterball Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Fry a turkey indoors with the Butterball Digital Electric Turkey Fryer Stainless Steel appliance. This remarkable kitchen tool can cook delicious turkeys up to 14 lbs in size in just a few minutes per pound. The Butterball electric turkey fryer has an adjustable thermostat temperature control, so you can easily manage the temperature of the oil. It also features a digital timer that allows you to keep track of how long the turkey has been cooking. The stainless steel construction is sturdy and designed to take up just a small amount of space on your kitchen counter. This Butterball turkey fryer comes with a porcelain-coated inner pot and a cooking basket with a drain clip for draining the turkey after cooking. The folding lid and window also allow you to see how the turkey is doing as it cooks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.551 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(543 Reviews) 488
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
416
4 stars
81
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation94%510 out of 543reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 164 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
416
4 stars
81
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Awesome Fryer

12/09/2009
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We looked around for a fryer and did not want to use butane, we found this one that could be used indoor and boy let me tell u this is the BEST turkey fryer i have ever seen, Very very safe and very easy to use and clean up. we placed in on the island in our kitchen and turkey was done in about 45 mins. it was soooo juicy and brown so beautifully. You have got to get one of these. I gave one to my brother for xmas because he was so impressed with it and wanted one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+126points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Excellent

12/30/2010
By ,
Watauga, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fries an excellent turkey althought the largest turkey that will fit the basket is 12 lbs. What is not said in the info-mercial is that it take 30 minutes to perpare the turkey to fry. This includes warming the turkey to room temperature and drying the inside and outside with paper towels. If you don't follow the prep, the turkey will not cook correctly. You can still inject marinade into the turkey so long as it is in the meat and below the skin. Otherwise the dripping will cause the oil to flash. One thing I used to help blot up the juices are new/clean puppy pads. You can sit the turkey on the puppy pads while you blot the turkey dry and any extra moisture you miss is captured by the pad. Wal-mart purchase online and pick up in the store is excellent, no lines and no hassles.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Great Cooker

11/29/2009
By ,
Ogden, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been wanting to deep fry a turkey for years and was happy to see this indoor cooker available. It has an automatic temperture control and a built in timer. Although not for turkeys over 14lbs, we cooked an 11lb turkey completely in about 45 mins. We did not add any spices or marinade -- best turkey ever.
The clean up is very easy with a valve provided to drain the oil when you finished. All parts are removable and easily washed with a sponge and warm soapy water. Highly recommend!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+220points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Fabulous Fryer!!

11/28/2011
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fryer was worth every penny. This was the first time making a fried Turkey and using an indoor fryer. I love love love this thing.
I fried a 13.5 lb turkey and it was done in 1-hour. Yes, you read it right 1-HOUR. It was thoroughly done and very juicy. I seasoned it with dry rub and dipped right into the fryer. Spent no time marinating and the flavor was fantastic.
Another great thing is that the clean up was easy and fast. I highly recommend this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Excellent product.

01/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did what it was designed to do.. and safe when following directions to the T. Excellent results and perfect cooked item every time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Brilliant Fryer

11/28/2010
By ,
LA, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Brilliant Fryer everyone. So easy and safe. It's design is also very nice. We used it for our Thanksgiving dinner and everything came out great. Clean up was very easy as well.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

A Must Have in EVERY Household!

01/04/2011
By ,
Corona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Butterball fryer was the talk of my Christmas party! It fryed the turkey to perfection and juiciness in a matter of an hour. It was easy to use, safe, and saved on peanut oil. I can't wait until craw fish come back in season so I can try out the steam and boil features too!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
s/e Louisiana
crawfish...
Posted 11/10/2013
you have crawfish in California?? lol...enjoyed your review, thumbs up-from Louisiana. thinking of getting one of these for my brother if he doesn't already have one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Great!

11/10/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We sampled frying a whole chicken right after we got the product and it turned out crispy on the outside and juicy inside. I'm sure the turkey will turn out just the same.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/13/2013
Chicken? Right, didn't even think about that. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Excellent buy

12/03/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was well worth the money....easy to use.....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Best kitchen supply I ever purchased :)

11/30/2013
By ,
El Paso,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to clean...and that my friend is a major plus!!!! :) my turkey turned out perfect!....just look at the pic! Speaks for itself ;)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Butterball Electric Fryer

01/11/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After seeing the Butterball Electric Fryer advertised on a Paid Commercial channel for upwards of $150, I immediately went to Walmart.com and found the same product for barely over $100. I ordered it and am so-o-o-o glad that I did. I received it within three days and fried a turkey in 36 minutes without any problems. It is so easy to use. Add the oil, plug it in an electrical socket, allow oil to heat, add food, set the timer, close the lid and when the turkey was done frying, a timer alerted me. The turkey was done and it was so delicious. I've also fried fish and it comes out so crisp. Food can also be steamed. Dessert pies fried and many other uses. Cleans in a snap and many parts are dishwasher safe. Believe me, this is the way to go for frying and steaming. I highly recommend the Butterball Electric Fryer. So safe, so easy, so grand!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Fast turkey

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this to feast and then have good turkey for sandwiches, etc. The cooking part went well, next time I might go the 4 minutes per pound. But it was all safe enough. I did an all natural Jennie-O 12 lb turkey because the local store had no small Butterball. I did it plain to see what the actual turkey tastes like. 45 minutes and 15 draining and let's eat. Turkey was the moistest I've had and that includes other fried turkeys. I'm not sure I'd go as far as "cleanup was a snap" It might be in an industrial size kitchen. But it was easier than it looked, no worse than say, detailing a school bus. There is no way I'm going to get that in _my_ dishwasher. The difficulty I'll leave to the ladies, I have no frame of reference. Used regular Crisco oil and didn't have a problem with smoke or taste. I think for the two of us and sandwiches, I'll do turkey breasts, but I wanted to do the whole thing first time out. Good turkey , fast. That's what it does.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Not Working

01/04/2011
By ,
Brewer, ME
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well i gave the indoor turkey fryer as a x-mas gift to my boyfriend who has been hinting since oct. that he would like so he was very happy x-mas morning...we tried the the fryer 4days after x-mas and it would not stay on! very frustrating. it appears it is a manufaturuing flaw the heat element although lined up where it should be so the protection lock could be nplace would not lay blunt against the base in turn allowing the power to cut in and out...i have been trying since Thursday the 29th of Dec. to get ahold of the people who make the item to find they are closed until today. Mark my words i will be calling today and demanding a new product or a full refund for the item plus the $15 turkey i bought and the $25 worth of oil...
aside from the fact the item i have purchased using the "site to store" feature walmart offers was dissapointing. the Walmart sight and site to store feature was awesome. very convinent and easy to use. thank you Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/13/2013
Did you but the extended warranty for $9.00?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

The best Christmas Present to myself EVER!

01/05/2012
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every year my family kept telling me that they wanted to try a fried turkey for Thanksgiving. For one reason or another I kept putting it off. Finally I broke down and purchased the Butterball Turkey Fryer for our Christmas dinner.
We didn't totally trust to fry the bird in the house so we set it up on our back porch. Which of course was unnecessary, but better safe than sorry. Other than a little oil splatter it went well. We decided to get the biggest turkey the fryer could handle which was 14 lbs. The turkey only took 56 minutes to cook and it was so juicy without being greasy and had the best flavor from the Butterball Smoky Mesquite marinade and seasoning rub.
One of my favorite things about this fryer is the spout at the back to drain the oil. It makes clean up alot easier. I will never go back to cooking my turkey in the oven. I am very happy that I purchased this fryer.
I have now used it to fry a smaller turkey, a chicken, french fries, okra, and anything else that I can think of. It really was a great investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
 
My Product Recommendations
Butterball Spice Kit with Gloves
4.8 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

A totally awesome product

12/07/2010
By ,
Lexington, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read on a local tv station website, after the fact, that Consumer Reports gave this product a good review, but it was more than awesome! The directions said it would take 25 minutes to heat the oil - and when the timer went off, the light turned green. Then we used the recommended minutes per pound - and when the timer went off - the meat thermometer was right on the money - for both turkey breasts. They turned out delicious. Much less fuss than frying the old way outside with propane, more oil, messy clean-up, etc. And then, there is the built-in drain! No more trying to lift the large, heavy pot to drain the oil thru a funnel back into the huge 3 gallon bottle. Very little splash while cooking and transferring, etc. Highly recommended! Oh, and after I went through all this, I find out my sister, who lives 3 hours away, has an old Masterbilt fryer and a newer one as well and has been using them for several years with the same success! Buy it and try it! You will love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

I may never roast turkey again!

12/22/2009
By ,
South Berwick, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I deep fried my first turkey for Thanksgiving last year using a propane cooker. It was the best turkey I'd ever eaten in my 42 years on this planet, but it was cumbersome, required 4+ gallons of costly oil, and the whole prospect was dependent on good weather -- a dicey gamble for late fall in northern New England. With the electric fryer, this year's bird was just as excellent, but required only 2 gallons of oil, was far less hands-on, AND I could do it indoors! We've done two birds since Thanksgiving, and we'll be frying another for Christmas. Also, the manufacturer's website (Masterbuilt.com) is loaded with great how-to videos. I can't praise this product enough!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Worth the Money

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this on Thanksgiving morning, and let me tell you. It was worth the hassle and time it took for us to get it. This machine will make cooking your turkey a breeze. We actually bought a Cajun Turkey from Popeyes thinking we were going to cook it in the oven. However, my husband heard some segment Steve Harvey did on these things and couldnt sleep without having one. We dropped the Cajun turkey in here (~11 lbs) and I kid you not it was ready in about 40 min later. It was absolutely delicious given that the turkey was already seasoned. It uses about 2 gallons of oil I believe for a turkey. We use Vegetable Oil and food tastes fine.
It holds up to a 14 lbs turkey. You can also steam in this thing. So instead of using oil, put in water and steam chicken, veggies, crab legs, lobster....amazing!!
It doesnt take up too much counter top space because it sits up tall, so you can put the food down in the metal bucket inside.
Give it a shot. It is worth the money and makes cooking so much easier and safer, as long as you follow the directions.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Every day can be fry-day!

11/15/2009
By ,
Sumrall, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My fryer came on Tuesday and my Wednesday became fry-day! I did turkey wings, catfish and a whole chicken.
Unbelievably good! The catfish was the best we’ve ever eaten, anywhere! The whole chicken was juicy and very tender! Should have fried at 375* and not the 350* found in an online recipe (not from Masterbuilt). The wings needed to be done at 375* and not the 350* I had used previously in another smaller fryer following another online recipe.
The oil drains out clean enough to put directly into the oil jugs. This machine breaks down easily for cleaning. A joy to use!
I am thrilled with my new Electric Indoor Butterball Turkey Fryer and recommend it heartily to anyone interested.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+289points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Wow!

12/01/2009
By ,
Maineville, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I contemplated purchasing a Fryer that requires an open flame. My friends used one to deep fry a turkey and I just loved the taste. I looked at reviews on them and watched video about them. I decided, for safety reasons, not to get one. I just happened to be on the WalMart website and saw they had electric ones. I looked at reviews and videos and ordered one. Well... it arrived very quickly, thank you WalMart, the setup was very simple, I used it in the house (Peanut oil will not smoke much at all) and the Turkey was worth it. There was not much left after Thanksgiving. I highly recommend this product. Oh, and the cleaning was very simple.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Butterball Electric Turkey Fryer, Stainless Steel (23011014)

Turkey Deep Fryer

12/27/2010
By ,
Oahu, Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The fryer works well. Had it for 3 weeks now & love it. So far we steamed veggies, deep fried a chicken, made veggie tempura, home made fries & and deep fried a 12 lb. Turkey. Everything came out good. The chicken & the turkey was moist & the steamed veggies firm! It truely does help that it has a timer. It is a good investment. The only down fall is the cleaning. It has a drainage in the back but you still need 2 people. One to tilt the fryer & one to hold the container for the oil. We don't empty the oil down the drain. Other than that it is pretty easy to clean. I highly recommend
it. The cost for the fryer isn't to bad if you get it on sale. Unfortunately Walmart in Hawaii only has a limited supply during Thanksgiving, so I had to order it online. Though the price online wasn't bad the shipping killed it. If you have store pick up in your state or free ship go for it! In Hawaii we had neither. But I am still glad we bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 489 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next