Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Oster Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

This Black Oster DuraCeramic Griddle with warming tray is cleverly designed with a unique and innovative DuraCeramic non-stick coating. This new coating is capable of lasting up to four times longer than standard non-stick coatings and it won't flake or peel either. The safe and natural ceramic coating on this Oster griddle is completely PFOA-free and PTFE-free so you can feel free to safely griddle pancakes, eggs and more. The new coating can cook most items up to a full 20 percent faster than standard non-stick surfaces. This non-stick griddle wipes clean easily as well. This item features a warming tray to help keep foods warm until you are fully ready to serve them. Other useful features include a removable and adjustable temperature control device and a large cooking surface. This product is an attractive cooking appliance to add to your kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation82%60 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 83 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Doesn't Clean Well!!

01/21/2014
By ,
Florence, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband received this griddle for Christmas. The first two times he used it - the clean up was simple - wipe down with a rag and voila - good as new. The last time it was used - no ability to just wipe it down. It took a scrubbing sponge, comet, glass stovetop cleaner, and finally coconut oil and MAJOR MUSCLE power to get the brownish debris off the surface. Then, when he fixed pancakes after getting it clean, it was full of caked on pancake, etc. It doesn't look like this will be easy to clean at all!!! :-(
He is seriously considering returning it.
My husband lives to cook on a griddle and this has become a major disappointment.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florence, AZ
Returned for Refund!
Posted 01/23/2014
We returned this to Wal-Mart today and are very happy we didn't keep another inferior product in our arsenal.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Great Cooking Surface

12/03/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these griddles for a big family get together. I first cooked up a huge batch of bacon on both. The grease container just about filled up to overflow. It was a good test because this was the thick cut, full of fat, bacon.
After wiping down both we started on the eggs as pancakes. We used a bit of butter for the pancakes. However, we soon found out that the pancakes looked better using nothing. The ceramic top is truly non-stick.
The controls worked great, and it was easy to find the correct temperature for cooking. I didn't use the warming tray, but I think they should work fine. The griddles are easy to clean as well. The warming tray and grease trap container are not dishwasher safe. The griddle top is not removeable for cleaning.
My son-in-law makes Sunday breakfast for the family. He uses a griddle every week. The coating on his old griddle is just about gone in places. The ceramic surface should be a plus because it does not wear away. The manual included with the griddle explains how to keep them like new. I just purchased one for him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
oklahoma
harrah3
Posted 12/09/2013
Thanks to all that answered my question. I bought one of these griddles and love it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

My husband LOVES this griddle!

12/08/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this griddle for my husband, who loves to cook, as a Christmas gift a few days ago. We already had a different brand griddle but it's junk. I ended up giving it to him early because I knew he'd love it and save him the trouble of scrubbing the other griddle and using tons of Pam to prevent sticking. This griddle is AWESOME!! He has used it many times just in the past few days and hasn't needed any butter/oil of any kind for any of the things he has made on it. He said the food "runs away" when he's trying to flip/pick it up. Just use a second spatula and put it on the other side to hold it in place. The only thing we dislike about this is that we can't put it in water to wash, as we can with our other one, but it's not really a big deal since nothing sticks to it. Affordable, easy to clean, and by far the best griddle we have owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Save your money and your friends

03/30/2014
By ,
nebraska
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would NOT recommend to an enemy let alone to a friend. Like the ideas of the warmer and the surface material but to many major downs for 2 ups. Wasted my money, surface is not close to even so eggs run. Heating unit is not close to even bacon burns in one spot and close to raw in the next. Tried to make an omelet, ended up having scrambled eggs with ham, onions and peppers mixed in. Surface cleaning is not close to easy. Used unit 3 times hoping it was just me but surface does not clean up. I tried turning it down but then all it does is make it take twice as long(as it should) to cook. Contacted company and basically told it was something I was doing. Well is like my 5th or 6th griddle and this one was to replace one that I moved to my camper. Good company(have other Oster products that are very good) but this they missed the boat on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Best Griddle EVER!!!

11/01/2013
By ,
Apopka Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, Love, love this griddle!!! It truly is amazing....the food cooks nice and Fast!
Made my granddaughter French toast, eggs and sausage (with no oil or butter) and it was golden brown and not one speck left on the griddle......literally just wiped clean with a paper towel!!!
Everyone should have this item! Wow!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle
09/28/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, Love, Love this product. Finally something that really is non stick. Don't have to spray it with Pam. The pancakes slid right off and they were nice and fluffy. Easy clean up too. Hopefully it will stay non stick for the life of the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Love this Griddle!

10/08/2013
By ,
Bloomington, In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ceramic top has a wonderful nonstick surface. It does just want ti says no butter, spray or oil needed. Food really does not stick and will slide right off the griddle. Very quick heat up time. Much quicker then older griddle. Over all I great product. Would definitely buy another one and would recommend one to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Great great great

10/01/2013
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe how well this works, how nice and shiny/slippery the coating is, and how CHEAP the price is :) :) :)
So well built, my George Frman grill is like a piece of junk compared to this. I hope the ceramic does not wear off in the dishwasher but for the price this is a winner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/28/2014
It doesn't suppose to be put in the dishwasher.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Excellent griddle for one who cooks

10/06/2013
By ,
Pelzer, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the ceramic surface, eazy to clean and the warming tray awesome addition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle
09/29/2013
By ,
SW Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace a Presto griddle that was wearing off on the cooking surface. It is gross knowing that worn off coating is going in your food. Anyway, this Oster Duraceramic griddle seems to do a great job, so far. I just got it so time will tell. But I'm glad the coating won't wear off like the other ones do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle
09/30/2013
By ,
New Ipswich, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very impressed with this appliance. It heated up quickly, the food did not stick, no need to oil the surface. Clean up was a breeze, just wipe and dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Best purchase i could make for myself

04/15/2014
By ,
Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This griddle is amazing! Nothing sticks, the control has an off position, comes with a cooking guide. It fills every purpose I can think of.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Avoid this item, despite the benefits of ceramic

01/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to replace a teflon griddle. There are not many that are ceramic so my choice was limited. Avoid this one. It doesn't cook bacon well, it will burn the edges and actually will cause the bacon to stick to the griddle. The thermostat doesn't regulate the temperature very well either. Cooking pancakes is not that simple. Once the batter is poured that temp of the griddle is cooled and takes a long time to regain and maintain the proper temperature. I have owned many electric griddles and cook pancakes and bacon every morning for my son before school. This is the worst investment I have made in a griddle.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Easy clean-up!!

04/05/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have, over the last 12 yrs, had several non-stick griddles. Griddles are used daily in our house and this one far supercedes any of the others. The ceramic surface is easy to clean and nothing sticks to it. We love it!!! Bonus ~ it doesn't flake or build up grime like the non-sticks have a tendency to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Chip out of ceramic under packing

04/04/2014
By ,
Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sounded good but when unpacking we found that under the styrofoam packing a piece was chipped out of the ceramic. There was nothing in the packing material so it most likely had to have been a manufacturing defect. Decided to take it back and go with something more tried and true.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Love this griddle

03/05/2014
By ,
Gilbert, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've purchased 4 griddles in the past 3 years. I do use them a lot but not so much that I feel the Teflon coating should have worn or flaked off like they did. I had purchased a ceramic 12 " pan and loved it. Extensive use and not a mark on it so I was thrilled when I saw this griddle on the shelves! I love it! I know it says that you don't need butter or oil but I use them still. Clean up is always a snap. Sometimes it takes a little of soaking. I'm not one of the geniuses that thought I could burn something and then just have it fall out. Duh! Besides, I like the flavor more when I cook with butter. I'm seriously considering the purchase of a second one just so I have it down the road or for camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Truly non stick

10/19/2013
By ,
Hampton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the help of Brenda from Customer Service, Hampton, VA, I was able to become the happy owner of this griddle. She located one and called me that she had it waiting for me to pick up. When I went to get it, she was on break, so it was quite a process to end up with it, but I have it. Thanks Brenda. I am very pleased with it and now anxious to replace anything else with this Dura ceramic material. Used it for the first time this morning for ham and eggs without any butter, spray, etc. Next time might use a little butter just for flavor.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Avoid this griddle

02/23/2014
By ,
Royse City, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to get this griddle because of the ceramic surface and warming tray. By the second use it was not working properly. It heats up initially but then just stops warming which is great when you have pancakes on the griddle. I had to unplug and wait for it to cool down then plug back in again. Had to do this twice to get a batch of pancakes cooked. Called Oster and they said it sounded like the thermostat was bad. They suggested I return it since it was recently purchased. I ordered another one and same thing happened first time out of the box. Two breakfasts ruined, not trying for a third.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Dream come true

02/06/2014
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product definitely lived up to its expectations. The ceramic-coated surface heats evenly and was the most non-stick product I have ever used. I lost three pancakes in the floor until I got used to it! And then - it wiped clean with a damp cloth. No scrubbing, no soaking, just wiped clean and looked like new.
Next, I cooked a batch of 15 hamburgers in two shifts, as I can only fit eight on at a time. Here the griddle again showed its resilience. The normal stuck-on charred bits remaining took more than a little wipe, as with the pancakes, but I simply laid the damp dishcloth over the pan for about ten minutes, then wiped clean. Amazing!
As others have mentioned, the degree markings on the temperature control are a little odd. However, it was simple to determine where I wanted to set it. There is not that much variance needed with the types of foods one would cook on it. For my large family of eleven, I had to make hamburgers in two batches and pancakes in four, but the warming drawer helped with that issue.
This was a fantastic product and priced less than many other griddles of similar size. I feel it is a far superior model due to the ceramic coating. I would highly recommend the Oster DuraCeramic Griddle over available options.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Oster DuraCeramic Griddle, Black

11/03/2013
By ,
Hahira Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit cooks a lot faster than my previous griddle, I not big on the fact that i cannot emmerse it to clean it. The spray oil turns black as it heats up but, I think it did on my other griddle I just couldn't see it. Overall does a great job, I cook eggs at 270 instead of 350 and they turn out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
spray oil
Posted 11/12/2013
if your using olive oil spray, it always turns brown/black with high heat. I recommend coconut oil. It doesn't come in a spray oil but it is the healthiest oil you can cook with, yes even more healthy than olive oil and it doesn't burn like olive oil.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next