Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Oster Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

This Black Oster DuraCeramic Griddle with warming tray is cleverly designed with a unique and innovative DuraCeramic non-stick coating. This new coating is capable of lasting up to four times longer than standard non-stick coatings and it won't flake or peel either. The safe and natural ceramic coating on this Oster griddle is completely PFOA-free and PTFE-free so you can feel free to safely griddle pancakes, eggs and more. The new coating can cook most items up to a full 20 percent faster than standard non-stick surfaces. This non-stick griddle wipes clean easily as well. This item features a warming tray to help keep foods warm until you are fully ready to serve them. Other useful features include a removable and adjustable temperature control device and a large cooking surface. This product is an attractive cooking appliance to add to your kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.823 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation73%70 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 97 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Doesn't Clean Well!!

01/21/2014
By ,
Florence, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband received this griddle for Christmas. The first two times he used it - the clean up was simple - wipe down with a rag and voila - good as new. The last time it was used - no ability to just wipe it down. It took a scrubbing sponge, comet, glass stovetop cleaner, and finally coconut oil and MAJOR MUSCLE power to get the brownish debris off the surface. Then, when he fixed pancakes after getting it clean, it was full of caked on pancake, etc. It doesn't look like this will be easy to clean at all!!! :-(
He is seriously considering returning it.
My husband lives to cook on a griddle and this has become a major disappointment.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Texas
A horror to clean
Posted 08/03/2014
Do not purchase. It is awful to clean. I am going to junk it and get a new griddle. To late for me to return it. I have thrown away the box and receipt.
0points
Customer Avatar
Florence, AZ
Returned for Refund!
Posted 01/23/2014
We returned this to Wal-Mart today and are very happy we didn't keep another inferior product in our arsenal.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Great Cooking Surface

12/03/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these griddles for a big family get together. I first cooked up a huge batch of bacon on both. The grease container just about filled up to overflow. It was a good test because this was the thick cut, full of fat, bacon.
After wiping down both we started on the eggs as pancakes. We used a bit of butter for the pancakes. However, we soon found out that the pancakes looked better using nothing. The ceramic top is truly non-stick.
The controls worked great, and it was easy to find the correct temperature for cooking. I didn't use the warming tray, but I think they should work fine. The griddles are easy to clean as well. The warming tray and grease trap container are not dishwasher safe. The griddle top is not removeable for cleaning.
My son-in-law makes Sunday breakfast for the family. He uses a griddle every week. The coating on his old griddle is just about gone in places. The ceramic surface should be a plus because it does not wear away. The manual included with the griddle explains how to keep them like new. I just purchased one for him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
oklahoma
harrah3
Posted 12/09/2013
Thanks to all that answered my question. I bought one of these griddles and love it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Useless

11/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In a dry test it felt really hot at a setting of 320° so I put the temperature control at 270°. It burned everything! Tested the griddle top with my infrared thermometer. Back left corner, 384°, back center 530°, back right corner 375°, front left corner 440°, front middle 521°, front right corner 414°, the center of the cooking area ranged from 534° to a whopping 697°. Cooking eggs actually set off my smoke alarm! Needless to say this is a worthless cooking utensil. But if I wanted to melt lead to make fishing weights this thing might have some usefulness.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

BURNS EVERYTHING

11/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I COOK BACON, EGGS AND PANCAKES ON THE GRIDDLE AND IT IS VERY EASY TO BURN, EVEN AFTER THE FIRST TIME AND I ADJUSTED TEMP IT DIDN'T COOK AS WELL AS OTHER GRIDDLES I'VE HAD. SEEMS TO EITHER BE TOO HOT OR TOO COLD. ALSO IT IS HARD TO GET CLEAN, STAINS BADLY.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

very nice middle

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the griddle is all that is advertised. I burned some cheese on it and let it cool. The cheese came right off.
It cooks very good and cleans right up.
Perfect Griddle.
I do not care for the warmer as if you leave bread in too long it dries it out.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle
09/28/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, Love, Love this product. Finally something that really is non stick. Don't have to spray it with Pam. The pancakes slid right off and they were nice and fluffy. Easy clean up too. Hopefully it will stay non stick for the life of the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Love this Griddle!

10/08/2013
By ,
Bloomington, In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ceramic top has a wonderful nonstick surface. It does just want ti says no butter, spray or oil needed. Food really does not stick and will slide right off the griddle. Very quick heat up time. Much quicker then older griddle. Over all I great product. Would definitely buy another one and would recommend one to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Ceramic surface comes off

09/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After 15 years of use, I tossed out my old Griddle after it finally died, and bought this new ceramic griddle from Oster. I had high hopes. But was very disappointed.
First, the tray below the griddle does not slide easily. It always jams. Our old one worked perfect for 15 years. On the first use, we got so frustrated with it constantly jamming, we just tossed the whole drawer back in the box. We put a small cookie sheet below the griddle and just used that.
Second, the instructions said you could clean it with a plastic scouring pad, just not a metal one. The ceramic surface cleans easily unless you burn something. Burning is easy to do, because this ceramic surface gets very hot. Much hotter than my old one anyway. On my first use, I burnt the pancakes. So, I had to clean it. I soaked it first with water to loosen the burnt material. Then after 5 minutes or so, I wiped off what I could and used a plastic scouring pad on the rest. It immediately scratched the surface. After one cleaning! After 2 uses, the surface is more scratched than my 15-year old one that I had thrown out. The ceramic must be micro thin to scrub off so easily. I am very disappointed. I already know this griddle will not make it more than another few uses before I need to buy a new one. I will not buy this brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Best Griddle EVER!!!

11/01/2013
By ,
Apopka Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, Love, love this griddle!!! It truly is amazing....the food cooks nice and Fast!
Made my granddaughter French toast, eggs and sausage (with no oil or butter) and it was golden brown and not one speck left on the griddle......literally just wiped clean with a paper towel!!!
Everyone should have this item! Wow!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

COATING CAME PRE-FLAKING OUT OF THE BOX

06/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The coating was not properly applied and flaking off around the edges.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

My husband LOVES this griddle!

12/08/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this griddle for my husband, who loves to cook, as a Christmas gift a few days ago. We already had a different brand griddle but it's junk. I ended up giving it to him early because I knew he'd love it and save him the trouble of scrubbing the other griddle and using tons of Pam to prevent sticking. This griddle is AWESOME!! He has used it many times just in the past few days and hasn't needed any butter/oil of any kind for any of the things he has made on it. He said the food "runs away" when he's trying to flip/pick it up. Just use a second spatula and put it on the other side to hold it in place. The only thing we dislike about this is that we can't put it in water to wash, as we can with our other one, but it's not really a big deal since nothing sticks to it. Affordable, easy to clean, and by far the best griddle we have owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

easy to use

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My product was damaged when received, therefore I have to reoder it.
I'm very familiar with using ceramic cookware and it's really the best.
So yes I would recommend this product because once you start cooking
on that type of surface you'll never go back to the other one.
One more thing, cleaning it is even better. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Excellent griddle for one who cooks

10/06/2013
By ,
Pelzer, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the ceramic surface, eazy to clean and the warming tray awesome addition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle
09/29/2013
By ,
SW Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace a Presto griddle that was wearing off on the cooking surface. It is gross knowing that worn off coating is going in your food. Anyway, this Oster Duraceramic griddle seems to do a great job, so far. I just got it so time will tell. But I'm glad the coating won't wear off like the other ones do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

my pancakes never looked so good

10/18/2014
By ,
eatright
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
makes excellent pancakes, i'm able to flip it over without destroying it like i used to when i was using just a pan
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Excellent griddle

05/02/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am reviewing the griddle with the cream colored surface and black trim. We have had this griddle for about a month. It truly is non stick!! We do use olive or grape seed oil when we cook eggs on it. It heats evenly and quickly and is quick and easy to clean! We use it daily...sometimes more than once per day. It is the best griddle we have owned. Our previous griddle was a George Foreman that cost twice as much and wasn't as nice. Pancakes cook very quickly....flip carefully as the surface is so slick it is easy to slide one right off! Buy this griddle! You won't be sorry!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle
09/30/2013
By ,
New Ipswich, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very impressed with this appliance. It heated up quickly, the food did not stick, no need to oil the surface. Clean up was a breeze, just wipe and dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Awesome griddle...

10/12/2014
By ,
jerome,mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first bought one last year to use for our annual bacon burn for the neighbors and it worked so well I ordered another one, and one for my daughter. No worries of scratching it and it is awesome to clean up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Great great great

10/01/2013
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe how well this works, how nice and shiny/slippery the coating is, and how CHEAP the price is :) :) :)
So well built, my George Frman grill is like a piece of junk compared to this. I hope the ceramic does not wear off in the dishwasher but for the price this is a winner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/28/2014
It doesn't suppose to be put in the dishwasher.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

The ceramic coating came off on first use.

07/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this griddle and the ceramic coating started coming off after the very first use. I followed the instructions about washing with soap and warm water before first use and let it dry, completely. We made some french toast and allowed the griddle to completely cool. The instructions say not to use cold water to clean the griddle while it's still hot. So, we let it cool off completely and then wiped it down with a warm paper towel. It did come clean easily. When I went to dry the griddle with a kitchen towel it look like there was a dirt spot still on it. After closer examination it was a hole in the ceramic coating!!!
I should have listen to the many complaints in the reviews here about this griddle. It's really not a good product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next