Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oster Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Oster Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

This Black Oster DuraCeramic Griddle with warming tray is cleverly designed with a unique and innovative DuraCeramic non-stick coating. This new coating is capable of lasting up to four times longer than standard non-stick coatings and it won't flake or peel either. The safe and natural ceramic coating on this Oster griddle is completely PFOA-free and PTFE-free so you can feel free to safely griddle pancakes, eggs and more. The new coating can cook most items up to a full 20 percent faster than standard non-stick surfaces. This non-stick griddle wipes clean easily as well. This item features a warming tray to help keep foods warm until you are fully ready to serve them. Other useful features include a removable and adjustable temperature control device and a large cooking surface. This product is an attractive cooking appliance to add to your kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.805 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(149 Reviews) 148
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation74%111 out of 149reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 108 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
33
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Doesn't Clean Well!!

01/21/2014
By ,
Florence, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband received this griddle for Christmas. The first two times he used it - the clean up was simple - wipe down with a rag and voila - good as new. The last time it was used - no ability to just wipe it down. It took a scrubbing sponge, comet, glass stovetop cleaner, and finally coconut oil and MAJOR MUSCLE power to get the brownish debris off the surface. Then, when he fixed pancakes after getting it clean, it was full of caked on pancake, etc. It doesn't look like this will be easy to clean at all!!! :-(
He is seriously considering returning it.
My husband lives to cook on a griddle and this has become a major disappointment.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Texas
A horror to clean
Posted 08/03/2014
Do not purchase. It is awful to clean. I am going to junk it and get a new griddle. To late for me to return it. I have thrown away the box and receipt.
0points
Customer Avatar
Florence, AZ
Returned for Refund!
Posted 01/23/2014
We returned this to Wal-Mart today and are very happy we didn't keep another inferior product in our arsenal.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Great Cooking Surface

12/03/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these griddles for a big family get together. I first cooked up a huge batch of bacon on both. The grease container just about filled up to overflow. It was a good test because this was the thick cut, full of fat, bacon.
After wiping down both we started on the eggs as pancakes. We used a bit of butter for the pancakes. However, we soon found out that the pancakes looked better using nothing. The ceramic top is truly non-stick.
The controls worked great, and it was easy to find the correct temperature for cooking. I didn't use the warming tray, but I think they should work fine. The griddles are easy to clean as well. The warming tray and grease trap container are not dishwasher safe. The griddle top is not removeable for cleaning.
My son-in-law makes Sunday breakfast for the family. He uses a griddle every week. The coating on his old griddle is just about gone in places. The ceramic surface should be a plus because it does not wear away. The manual included with the griddle explains how to keep them like new. I just purchased one for him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
oklahoma
harrah3
Posted 12/09/2013
Thanks to all that answered my question. I bought one of these griddles and love it.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

I love it!

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing, it was even better then I expected!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

mms

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is very good, would definitely recommend to others
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Love this Griddle!

10/08/2013
By ,
Bloomington, In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ceramic top has a wonderful nonstick surface. It does just want ti says no butter, spray or oil needed. Food really does not stick and will slide right off the griddle. Very quick heat up time. Much quicker then older griddle. Over all I great product. Would definitely buy another one and would recommend one to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

My husband LOVES this griddle!

12/08/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this griddle for my husband, who loves to cook, as a Christmas gift a few days ago. We already had a different brand griddle but it's junk. I ended up giving it to him early because I knew he'd love it and save him the trouble of scrubbing the other griddle and using tons of Pam to prevent sticking. This griddle is AWESOME!! He has used it many times just in the past few days and hasn't needed any butter/oil of any kind for any of the things he has made on it. He said the food "runs away" when he's trying to flip/pick it up. Just use a second spatula and put it on the other side to hold it in place. The only thing we dislike about this is that we can't put it in water to wash, as we can with our other one, but it's not really a big deal since nothing sticks to it. Affordable, easy to clean, and by far the best griddle we have owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

The Everything Appliance

01/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this griddle because I needed to make a lot of crepes in a hurry. After that event, I began experimenting with other foods. Steaks brown without overcooking, onions and peppers are gorgeous, I could go on and on. My favorite is scrambling eggs and spreading them on the griddle to make one big rectangle. The eggs cook quickly, afterwhich I put ham and cheese on top and roll the eggs into one big jellyroll-type omelet. I wait a few minutes for the ham to heat, then cut into serving-size pieces. One little tip: when using eggs like that, put a fork or something similar, under the front leg so the eggs don't disappear down the grease opening. Once the eggs are set, you can remove the object. I love it so much, my daughter and oldest grand daughter each got one for Christmas. They are thrilled with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle
09/28/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, Love, Love this product. Finally something that really is non stick. Don't have to spray it with Pam. The pancakes slid right off and they were nice and fluffy. Easy clean up too. Hopefully it will stay non stick for the life of the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Cheap! And not the good kind. . . .

02/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Right out of the box I was a bit concerned. The construction was very cheap. I wasn't expecting something super high end, I know how much I spent, but this was terrible. The black plastic border was warped and looked as if someone filed the edges (it was very scratched up). The thing I was most excited about, the ceramic non-stick surface, was not what I expected. It was rough, looked like it had very tiny bubbles in it. I cannot imagine how my food wouldn't stick to it. The trays are a great idea, but the trays in this one were a pain to slide in and out. Now, it is possible it is just a defective one that slipped through the customer quality check, but I'm not sure I want to take my chances and be completely out the money. Just too cheaply made to chance it. Just want to note, that I have not used it, so I cannot comment on its ability to cook. Just going to return it. GL
Recommends this product? No
From Oster Brand Team02/25/2015
Thank you so much for informing us of the defective model you have received. I can assure you this is this not a common occurrence. I would like one of our customer service representatives assist you. Please contact us at 1-800-334-0759, our hours of operation are Monday-Friday from 9am-6pm, EST. Oster
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle
09/29/2013
By ,
SW Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace a Presto griddle that was wearing off on the cooking surface. It is gross knowing that worn off coating is going in your food. Anyway, this Oster Duraceramic griddle seems to do a great job, so far. I just got it so time will tell. But I'm glad the coating won't wear off like the other ones do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle
09/30/2013
By ,
New Ipswich, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very impressed with this appliance. It heated up quickly, the food did not stick, no need to oil the surface. Clean up was a breeze, just wipe and dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Excellent griddle

05/02/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am reviewing the griddle with the cream colored surface and black trim. We have had this griddle for about a month. It truly is non stick!! We do use olive or grape seed oil when we cook eggs on it. It heats evenly and quickly and is quick and easy to clean! We use it daily...sometimes more than once per day. It is the best griddle we have owned. Our previous griddle was a George Foreman that cost twice as much and wasn't as nice. Pancakes cook very quickly....flip carefully as the surface is so slick it is easy to slide one right off! Buy this griddle! You won't be sorry!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Excellent griddle for one who cooks

10/06/2013
By ,
Pelzer, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the ceramic surface, eazy to clean and the warming tray awesome addition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

COATING CAME PRE-FLAKING OUT OF THE BOX

06/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The coating was not properly applied and flaking off around the edges.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Recieved as a Christmas present.

02/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a real review. I absolutely love this thing. I wasn't sure about it at first. Having never really used a griddle, it took me a couple times to figure it out. It has not flaked and I have cooked with it almost everyday this month. (January) .
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Nice Upgrade from non stick teflon

02/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical as I've not had anything with ceramic coating except pots and pans. Ceramic gets much hotter than regular surfaces so you need to keep that in mind and adjust the heat accordingly. I love the way it cooks, no stick for real, easy clean up. I have one issue with this product and all products I've had in the past with the hard plastic frames, handles, and trims, they are very easy to break. Do not hit the hard plastic against anything or tap on it when cooking, or it will break off. A corner of the warming drawer broke off when I was trying to install it into the bottom, but it works so good I can handle that. I have had this same issue with older model griddles and pots.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

03/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this griddle! Cleanup is super easy! What doesn't wipe off with a paper towel, comes right off with a nylon spatula. The size is just right to sit over one side of the stovetop. The warming tray is great for holding bacon or sausage while making pancakes, and it makes perfect pancakes, something a skillet won't do , heating unevenly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Good Value

02/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heat distribution across the surface is a little uneven, bands of higher heat where elements are at lower temps.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Smart design

03/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Son-in-law loves this and uses it regularly!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oster DuraCeramic Griddle

Didn't Meet Expectations

11/25/2013
By ,
Kansas City, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very excited to get this griddle. The ceramic top is indeed non stick. In fact it is so not stick that it is harder to get under a pancake to flip it than other models. I imagine I will get use to this.
My positive thoughts are:
The price is great for a griddle this size.
The size is great.
The DuraCeramic is very pretty and easy to clean.
I have only used it once so far (for pancakes) and was disappointed with a few things including:
The power cord is too short and using an extension cord on kitchen appliances doesn't seem safe to me.
After flipping a couple pancakes with a polymer spatula some of the DuraCeramic finish seems to have come off leaving black spots.
The heat distribution is terrible, leaving brown lines through the pancakes where the heating element was below the surface; this is not something I have had with past griddles.
The pancake warming drawer is a great idea, but poorly designed. the drawer slides are awkward to put the drawer into. With this drawer in the front and the grease-catch drawer in the back you are almost sure to have at least one drawer falling out when you are putting the unit away.
The heat setting chart in the manual seems to be off. I set the heat according to the manual and it was so hot that the pancakes were cooked in a strange way. I turned it down several degrees and they looked more like a pancake should.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 114 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next